Back to Adobe InDesign CC 2019 page
Adobe InDesign CC 2019 free download for Mac

Adobe InDesign CC 2019 Reviews

14.0
17 October 2018

Professional print and digital publishing solution.

D9
16 October 2008

Most helpful

Once again, Adobe had become a pathetic excuse of a Mac developer living on past credit. As usual, the Adobe Updater program does not recognize these updates on either Intel or PPC machines. You have to use these links to manually download and install the updates (Don't even get me started on how the Updater continues to say I need the Adobe AIR update for Flash but craps outs every time it tries to install!!). Add to this the long running yet still unresolved Adobe bug in InDesign that prevents keystroke Hide (Command + H) to work until you restart the program. It's just pathetic!! I really have no idea what, if any, improvements have been made. Just seems the same...still crashes on half our print jobs the first run. Overall, I like the Adobe products; Photoshop and Illustrator are indispensable. But let's be honest, there has been little truly advance development in these products for about 2 or 3 iterations, unless you want to count OS X & Mac Intel compatibility as advances. Adobe seems content to simply suck on the teet of its cash cows! /
Like (12)
Version 5.0.4

Read 100 Adobe InDesign CC 2019 User Reviews

Rate this app:

B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
16 October 2018
I won't need to upgrade from InDesign CS6 until I need a 64bit app, after macOS 10.15 comes out next year. By then Affinity Publisher will be out of beta. If it can handle my InDesign files, I will be switching. Assuming Serif follows the pricing policy they use with Affinity Photo and Affinity Designer, it will cost $50 for a single standalone license—no subscription necessary. I've used InDesign for years but cannot afford the Adobe tax. Though the blurb above says you can get InDesign for $9.99 a month if you're a previous InDesign customer, there is no way on their purchase page to get that discount. Maybe they'll lower the price once Publisher has stolen some of their customers, but I'm not holding my breath.
Like (1)
Version 14.0
incrzr
04 September 2018
2 many f. beachballs! Jesus Adobe!!!!
Like
Version 13.1.0.76
jshafiquej10
07 January 2018
Thanks for sharing it. you can also check other adobe products from: http://www.softngames.com/category/adobe-products
Like
Version 13.0.1.207
1 answer(s)
Kobalt
Kobalt
18 March 2018
<quote> Download the software from given links below.
After that you have to install the application on your computer.
During the installation, the setup will demand the serial key.
Just put the key provided with package.
And click on next.
Now follow the instruction, And in the last click on finish.
Done…Enjoy full activated software free…:):)</quote>

Really?
Like
Clark_One
10 November 2017
Meh.
Like (1)
Version 13.0.0.125
1 answer(s)
Kobalt
Kobalt
18 March 2018
Too much information! Please be brief next time.
Like
Pik80
19 July 2017
The new Quark $400 competitive update looks like a pretty good deal to me. It is certainly better then sticking with an old copy of InDesign CS6 I think.
Like
Version 12.1.0.56
4 answer(s)
RunHomeSlow
RunHomeSlow
21 October 2017
it's about time Quark lovers enter here... :)
+1 QuarkXPress 2017
Like (1)
Pik80
Pik80
21 October 2017
Since I wrote that post I have been using it for several months now and I can say that there are many parts of it I like a lot more then ID. This is the first version of Quark I have used so it is a bit hard for me to make too deep of a comparison between the two products. I have found that many of the ID features Quark can't do can be added by way of extensions.
Like
peterbreis
peterbreis
22 January 2018
The war between Indesign and Quark Xpress was over long ago.
Quark Xpress was always much better with extensions, but after having gone through a messy divorce with Quark long ago it is really hard to go back. I always liked the user interface in QXP 4.3 which allowed you to work really fast, but Quark trashed that.
They desperately want users back but I think there are far too many ex-users like myself who'd rather saw my head off.
A excellent alternative is VivaDesigner which is not listed on MacUpdate unfortunately. It has really great features for managing distributed templates and works with Indesign templates.
Like
Pik80
Pik80
18 March 2018
The new 2018 update looks really good. There is extra flexibility with the interface, for an example you can now put that bar on the bottom on the side if you like.

Here is a quick overview video:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z5olohxEasg&t=5s
Like
Kobalt
10 April 2017
I can't find it here at MU (which is weird), but feel I should post a link to VivaDesigner for all those who are getting fed up with the Adobe subscription model that simply isn't delivering its money worth of updates and improvements. At this stage I have no experience with VivaDesigner, but the info on their website sounds promising. http://www.viva.us/en/products/desktop-publishing/vivadesigner-desktop-version
Like
Version 12.1.0.56
1 answer(s)
peterbreis
peterbreis
22 January 2018
It certainly looks interesting enough to try out a Personal licence perhaps upgraded to Commercial later on. And it is not Rentware!

Things that catch my eye are great pdf export for commercial print, it opens and saves .idt and it uniquely has lockable whole or partial layouts in templates.
Like
Glenbo
07 April 2017
One star for one bug fix out of dozens! From CS6 Adobe introduced a range of bugs to torment book designers! The bug that is fixed at flaming last is the fatal error InDesign Must shut down if you dare to change the page size with anything locked on the page, but they have introduced an extra level to the main bug, as a book designer a mechanical is made by making the document the page width + page width + spine! the height is the height, to change the spine you add or take away from the default spine width, but whereas anything in the slug used to move randomly, the get around was to group the items, not bless their cotton socks they have made the App randomly move thing regardless of if they are grouped or not! This is a major BUG as far as book cover designers are concerned we have to change spines all the time, so this breaks every workflow out there, to have these bugs present for so long is a disgrace! But at least we do not have the fatal error now, instead if the folds are locked InDesign just moves them anyway - IDIOTS!
Like
Version 12.1.0.56
2 answer(s)
Kobalt
Kobalt
10 April 2017
I commiserate with you, Glenbo. I gave up on trying to use the InDesign inbuilt functions to make covers and downloaded CoverBuilder. With all its options and flexibility re cover and spine size changes, flaps, slugs, etc, I recommend that you go check it out here:

http://coverbuilder.brunoherfst.com/
Like
Glenbo
Glenbo
10 April 2017
Cheers Kobalt, I have this but the problem in the UK is that the printers here that Publishers use will not take PDFs from this approach! I use https://www.danrodney.com/scripts/makebookjacket.html instead, but it is a mess isn't it, all these tears later and not one software vendor supports book covers well!?
Like
Maclover1-1
30 March 2017
I despise Adobe on many levels. Their shitty application frame implementation and subsequent Houdini interface disappearing act is so aggravating over time. Will those corporate monopolistic thieves ever get in line with Apple's windowing system? I've wasted so much time fixing this issue over and over, year after year. I really hope Serif's desktop publishing offering (makers of Affinity Photo and Designer) will allow me to FINALLY FORGET ABOUT ADOBE ALTOGETHER. InDesign is really the only app left I cannot yet replace.
Like (2)
Version 12.0.0.81
2 answer(s)
Dlwhite
Dlwhite
07 April 2017
If InDesign is your last hangup, I strongly recommend trying the free demo of the current version of Quark XPress (2017 launches next quarter). If you've used Quark in the past, I think you'll be pleasantly surprised how much it has evolved over the past few years. They are really trying, actually listening to their users and doing a great job. And if you've never tried Quark, I think you'll find it very responsive and user-friendly, compared to InDesign.
Like
peterbreis
peterbreis
22 January 2018
Quark Xpress reminds me of Charlie Brown in Peanuts where Lucy promises she won't whip away the football at the last minute...

...but always does.
Like
jshafiquej10
27 March 2017
Thank you for sharing Information. https://www.cracksoftpc.com/2016/08/adobe-universal-patcher-adobe-cc-2015-free.html
Like
Version 12.0.0.81
1 answer(s)
Kobalt
Kobalt
07 April 2017
cracksoftpc? Seriously? Where are the moderators in this place?
Like (1)
Kobalt
04 November 2016
So CC 2017. A few miserable tweaks and this is a 'new and improved' version for all us suckers who are paying $100s a year for the pleasure. For now I'm stuck with it due to workflow and industry expectations, but I can't wait for Affinity Publisher to give Adobe a run for their (our!) money next year.
Like (1)
Version 12.0.0.81
Steve K
28 September 2016
Crashing on launch for me on new 5K iMac running Sierra. I would recommended not upgrading to Sierra if InDesign is part of your workflow. I've submitted bug reports to Adobe but no fixes yet, which is unacceptable considering they had access to the new macOS beta for months, just like every other developer.
Like
Version 11.4.1.102
jshafiquej10
27 August 2016
Thanks Fro information. It is best software from adobe. And thanks for sharing https://www.cracksoftpc.com/2016/08/adobe-indesign-cc-2015.html
Like
Version 11.4.1.102
2 answer(s)
Steve K
Steve K
28 September 2016
Did you seriously just post a link to a warez site?
Like
Mcr
Mcr
23 October 2016
Macupdate, please remove the post by @jshfiquef. It's bad enough that Macupdate is pushing its 'value added' installers, but if this site is going to tolerate posts on piracy and warez, that is the LAST straw.
Like (1)
Graphic-Mac
01 December 2015
I would give it 10 stars if I could... if for no other reason than to offset all the wining babies in here who probably don't even own a legal copy to begin with.
Like
Version 11.2.0.99
Shane-Smith
28 September 2015
Software has lots of features, if only they would behave the way they should. The bugs that were in CS6 are still present and introduced a whole slew of new ones. This program crashes constantly, to the point were I'm considering going back to Quark. Even when the program is working it feels like it's not. Indesign doesn't seem to like large documents which is ironic since thats what it's for. Redraw is slow, changes are slow, everything about this program is slow. Did anybody at Adobe even test this program before they released it? I'm trying to do a document that's 100 pages but can't because of a span bug. Come on Adobe, if you want my money build something I can use.
Like (2)
Version 11.1.0.122
Stevie24
17 June 2015
Our PlugIn-Developer: Unfortunately, we have run some tests, and our latest version of the inDesign Plugin is not compatible with ADOBE InDesign CC 2015. The reason for this incompatibility is that ADOBE has not released yet the SDKs corresponding to this CC 2015 version, and we need these SDKs to build our inDesign plugin. As of now, no schedule has been provided by ADOBE. In the past, it took several weeks for ADOBE to release these SDKs after the release of a new version of ADOBE inDesign. Once we have these SDKs, we will upgrade our inDesign plugin. Until then, the only thing you can do is to revert to the former version of ADOBE inDesign (if possible), or to use another computer where the ADOBE inDesign version has not been upgraded to CC 2015. Thank you ADOBE that we can always have a new version...that can't be used for weeks in the beginning.
Like (3)
Version 11.0.0.72
1 answer(s)
Kobalt
Kobalt
11 August 2015
I had a very similar response from a developer regarding a plugin of theirs that I use. Exceedingly annoying. And no answers on the Adobe Community boards that I can find.
Like
Dualie
27 September 2014
A serious crashing bug exists with this version (and perhaps others) that has been widely reported in the Adobe Forums and elsewhere, where InDesign reports that "the connection to the server has been lost" and then shuts down completely, generating a crash report. It will happen even if you are working locally and not using a remote server. It can happen at any time and happens fairly frequently for many people. In an 8 hour day it could easily crash a dozen times. Nobody seems to know the cause and least of all Adobe, which can't seem to fix the issue if it's even trying. I personally suspect that the server it is trying to connect to is Adobe's own validation server, which would explain why it happens even when not opening a document locally. This is VERY shoddy for high-end software, but I guess this is what we can expect from an arrogant manufacturer that enjoys a dominant position in the market. Shameful effort, Adobe. Just shameful. If ever there was a application what was ripe for serious competition (Quark dropped that ball long ago) it's InDesign.
Like (2)
Version 10.0.0.70
Kobalt
26 August 2014
I'm pretty sure v10.0.0.70 {really, Adobe?) has been around since July. So what's new that it's posted here on August 25?
Like
Version 10.0.0.70
Beige
25 August 2014
I don't rent my software
Like (11)
Version 10.0.0.70
Cowicide
25 July 2014
Use to be a big fan of InDesign over QuarkXpress, myself. But this CC licensing is a ridiculous insult to consumers' intelligence. It's the licensing, stupid.
Like (4)
Version 2014
Cowicide
25 July 2014
Listen to what the experts say: "Adobe’s abysmal Creative Cloud license policy has really shown the company's true colors when it comes to exploiting monopoly." - Dave Girard Dave has worked with major publishers for decades and has been a huge supporter of InDesign, but he knows a monopolistic cash grab when he sees one.
Like (3)
Version 2014
Mikebenda
19 June 2014
From the update notes: "Shortcuts and preferences are retained when you update to the latest version of InDesign, ensuring that you can easily and quickly get to work with the latest version." In other words, updating doesn't screw up your workflow. Now that's a fantastic new feature worth the monthly subscription price.
Like (2)
Version 2014
1 answer(s)
Fb-eye71
Fb-eye71
19 June 2014
Only problem so far is that this feature fails for most people...
Like
cjred
18 June 2014
InDesign still "IS" the best DTP tool available. Even though a lot of people complaining on the Adobe CC subscriptions I think this is all worth the money. I just hope they simplify the program and not over bloat it with worthless tools. Overall it works best with PS, AI, BR and Acrobat seamlessly. Love the dark menus.
Like
Version 9.2.2
Igor-Freiberger
03 January 2014
InDesign is by far the best DTP available. It still misses some long-text tools, as endnotes, and needs improvements on features like cross-references, variables and vertical alignment. Since version CS5 Adobe included several tools to eBook production, but the way they chose is somewhat bloated and confuse. There are several panels and some learning curve on this. Finally, the huge amount of panels (aka as palettes) must be reduced, with better management of design room. Anyway, the app is still great, with wonderful typographic controls, wide range of printing and color adjusts and nice drawing tools. InDesign works great with Photoshop and Illustrator and is very stable.
Like (1)
Version 9.1
Kobalt
02 January 2014
Hmm, at the time of writing the 'What's New' notes for v9.1 don't show anything but the generic sales spiel for CC (ie stuff that was 'new' when CC was first released) and the 'complete release notes' link is no better. So what's new in v9.1?
Like
Version 9.1
1 answer(s)
Igor-Freiberger
Igor-Freiberger
03 January 2014
Adobe site says 9.1 brings one new feature and several corrections. New feature: Sync settings using Adobe Creative Cloud. It enables users to sync their settings using Creative Cloud. If you use two computers, for example, one at home and another at work, the Sync Settings feature makes it easy for you to keep those settings synchronized. Also, if you have replaced your old computer with a new one, you can get the application set up quickly with all your settings in place. Corrections: InDesign only When a new document is opened with the Preview option on, the primary text frame column number fails to synchronize with the layout column number. (#3554328) The parent document setup dialog is dismissed when the warning message for page size smaller than columns and margins is invoked. Also, this leads to crash on using the document setup dialog again. (#3554324) InDesign crashes on changing the Intent and then clicking OK while the Preview option is off. (#3554322) If you launch the new document dialog box through a document preset having facing pages turned off and the number of columns is greater than 1, and turning the Preview option on or off and then clicking OK crashes InDesign. (#3565795) InDesign crashes on turning off the Facing Pages option and modifying the number of columns after turning off the Preview option in the new document dialog box. (#3554323) InDesign crashes on turning off the Preview option and then changing the intent with custom number of columns and modified margins. (#3568108) InDesign and InCopy Mac: InDesign crashes when you click any widget in any CSXS extension panel when another panel is in inline editing mode. (#3554318) Special characters such as ‘?’ or ‘=’ used in hyperlinks are converted to invalid characters and this results in broken links in the exported PDF. (#3554342) In a two columns text frame, if you select text with the mouse in a footnote placed in the left column text, the text disappears. (#3554333) Font search results are not correct when the ‘Show Favorite Fonts Only’ option is selected. (#3554337) If the ‘Show Favorite Fonts Only’ option is selected in the Font menu, InDesign crashes on closing a document with document fonts. (#3554334) InDesign crashes on selecting the text tool if there are specific fonts present in the system. (#3567444) InDesign crashes on selecting a row or column with drop shadow applied on it. (#3577944) Fonts having illegal Postscript characters in their names are crashing the application. (#3585880) There is a no easy way to identify whether the launched version of InDesign CC on Windows is 64-bit or 32-bit. (#3554339) A wrong cursor is displayed when using text drag-and-drop and creating a new frame. (#3574244) A Flash player object is not loading in ScriptUI. (#3590770) Windows: a user is unable to type text in a macro text field in the Text Macros Panel. (#3580114)
Like (1)
Achim-Gehrig
15 September 2013
Even though a lot of people just brag about the new Adobe rental scheme, InDesign itself is great.
Like (2)
Version 9.0
Edac2
19 June 2013
I've noticed some subtle UI improvements with InDesign CC, like scrollbar arrows (a la Illustrator). But every time I quit, I get an error message that InDesign has 'quit unexpecedly'. Same problem with separate installs on two computers (latest gen iMacs). I tried deleting the program (using the Adobe program deleter) and reinstalling it, and I get the same crash window.
Like (1)
Version 9.0
1 answer(s)
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
18 June 2014
I've gotten that error on quitting for years now... It doesn't seem to cause any problems though.
Like
BobDavey3378
19 June 2013
I need more than one app like Photoshop but not the rest of the crap which is the only other option. In the US the monthly cost is $49.99, in the UK £46.88 & in France €61.49. At the current exchange rate using the US price as a base UK should be £31.90 & France €37.28 give or take. The concept is fine but the pricing & structure will force a lot of small business to either not upgrade or as I suspect find a way around it unless they stop ripping us off, especially in Europe.
Like (6)
Version 9.0
1 answer(s)
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
18 June 2014
Adobe has a limited time offer of $9.99 for Photoshop CC and Lightroom. I think the subscription service should have been an option along with being able to buy individual programs. It's not a bad deal if you want access to everything, but I'd still rather buy them outright.
Like
Cowicide
18 June 2013
Quark went downhill in customer service over the years back in the day, but now that Adobe is trying this horrible RENTAL model for its software, it's time to switch back to QuarkXPress. Goodbye, Adobe. You suck. Like most other longtime Adobe customers, I am sickened by Adobe's greed with their Creative Cloud subscription model. The petition is over 30,000 signatures so far... https://www.change.org/petitions/adobe-systems-incorporated-eliminate-the-mandatory-creative-cloud-subscription-model
Like (5)
Version 9.0
3 answer(s)
Edac2
Edac2
19 June 2013
Quark still sucks. It is basically Quark 3 with some UI improvements and extra features shoehorned on. It's still overpriced. It still has awful service. And it still only works sometimes, especially with fonts. Oh, and it's still just Quark. Though Creative Cloud sounds expensive, Adobe service is still pretty good and the programs are constantly updated. If you only need InDesign it might not be worth subscribing, but the Creative Cloud subscription includes ALL of Adobe's programs, TypeKit (and soon to come TypeKit on the desktop), file sharing and Behance. Installation is a breeze, with no sixty character product codes to enter.
Like (3)
Cowicide
Cowicide
20 June 2013
>Though Creative Cloud sounds expensive Creative Cloud doesn't just "sound" expensive. It IS expensive. You can purchase Adobe CS6 Design Standard (includes Photoshop, Illustrator, InDesign, Acrobat Pro, etc.) from Staples right now with a perpetual license for $450.00 with free shipping on your business credit card and make monthly payments on the card. With that option you can pay less during lean months and pay more as the business grows to pay off the balance before the interest raises the price significantly. Meanwhile... with Creative Cloud, for those same apps you pay 50 dollars a month no matter what or you lose access to the apps. And, well before a year is up you've already paid more (and that's including avg. credit card interest on the Staple's purchase). Also, if the business fails, the Staple's Design Standard is an asset and can be sold. With Creative Cloud, you have... nothing. You have to factor that in for a VC, by the way. A business that likes to waste money and take unnecessary risks? No VC money for you. Also, what is your business going to do when Adobe decides to double the rent and you have to pay up the ransom or lose access to all your hostage apps and (by proxy) your proprietary format files? And, how long will your business survive when there's an inevitable bug, glitch or hack with the subscription server and all your apps go bye-bye when they phone home and it errantly shows your subscription is invalid? All this right in the middle of a critical project your business depends on for survival? You don't have to worry about any of that with a perpetual license and if your business is short on cash, you can use a credit card for the purchase. Creative Cloud only benefits Adobe. Don't be fooled.
Like (4)
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
18 June 2014
@Edac2, I like Quark. Maybe because I started on that and Pagemaker, which I didn't care for. InDesign still has some Pagemakerisms I don't care for, like the way you place an image. I use both of them, but often I start new projects in Quark. I find it faster to use. Do we really need new features? I'm not using these programs to do web sites or apps. For page layout they both do what you want them to do. :)
Like
Macguruguy
07 May 2013
Well, just when I go to know thee InDesign, and have finally bowed to your greatness, you have left me for another. I cannot follow thee. Be gone ye Adobe.
Like (1)
Version 8.0.1
Zoidbert
18 April 2013
Having just discovered how nice Spaces can be as an organizational tool, I'm a little surprised it's still not implemented in InDesign.
Like (1)
Version 8.0.1
Sanchai
27 September 2012
The latest update show itself as version 8.0.1x5 in Macupdate Desktop, where the latest version as stated by Macupdate Desktop is version 8.0.1 This is a bad match. Fix please Chad and Misha
Like
Version 8.0.1
4 answer(s)
MacUpdate-Ryan
MacUpdate-Ryan
27 September 2012
Fixed, thanks Sanchai.
Like
Pik80
Pik80
27 September 2012
Can someone explain to me what the version number 8.0.1x5 means? What is the x5 at the end for?
Like (1)
Cowicide
Cowicide
28 September 2012
I'm curious too what this x5 business is about. I updated and it says 8.0.1 and nothing more.
Like
MacUpdate-Ryan
MacUpdate-Ryan
28 September 2012
Sanchai, I just double checked and I'm not seeing any mention of x5 in here either (I apologize for making that change a bit too quickly!). Could you email ryan [at] macupdate with some more info about where you're seeing the discrepancy in MacUpdate Desktop. Thanks!
Like
Tony-Aguila
27 September 2012
After the Mountain Lion upgrade opening palettes in InDesign CS6 took an extremely long time, not evident in Lion. I even tried uninstalling and reinstalling InDesign, to no avail. I usually wait for Adobe Application Manager to alert me for an update but I was desperate for a fix to the problem so I downloaded and installed this update (8.0.1) anyway. Unfortunately it did not fix the problem. It's true that this was not on the list of bugs that the update addressed, but I'm wondering if others are experiencing a similar problem since the Mountain Lion upgrade.
Like
Version 8.0.1
Largesse
02 September 2012
Interesting new features. But is far too unstable for practical work. Time and time again when opening flies that CS5 or CS5.5 handle with no problem it breach-balls and must be forced to quit to use again.
Like (2)
Version 8.0
1 answer(s)
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
27 September 2012
Yeah, is that a list of current bugs, or fixed bugs?
Like (1)
Shraddha
29 June 2012
Adobe InDesign CS6: It’s a multi-screen world with your audience accessing content from various devices. InDesign now helps you create multiple versions (not multiple layouts) of your layout to adapt it to different screen sizes AND all this, from a single InDesign file. With all new Liquid Layouts, forget spending time on fitting your content into different sizes based on orientation. See these new features in action -> http://tv.adobe.com/watch/cs6-creative-cloud-feature-tour-for-design/getting-started-with-the-new-liquid-layout-and-alternate-layout-features-in-indesign-cs6/?sdid=JUMNA To know more http://cs6-adobe.blogspot.in/2012/06/what-is-indesign.html
Like (1)
Version 8.0
Xplicit
01 June 2012
Wow, it's quite a pain to work with InDesign. So not Mac-like. And then those constant UI glitches, I always fear the app isn't working correctly and might screw up my work.
Like (1)
Version 8.0
Cowicide
03 May 2012
Wow, these version numbers are stupid. Adobe InDesign CS5.5 7.5.3? What a great way to unnecessarily confuse and confound your customers.
Like (6)
Version 7.5.3
3 answer(s)
Amcarter3
Amcarter3
14 May 2012
Full agreement on this. Adobe has always made their product versions difficult and confusing to understand.
Like (3)
Amcarter3
Amcarter3
14 May 2012
What makes it further strange is that my ID 5.5 Ver 7.5.2 does NOT show an update is available.
Like (2)
LastOneUp
LastOneUp
28 September 2012
The CS number is the package (Creative Suite). Each application has a different number because they existed before there was a Creative Suite.
Like (1)
Rubaiyat
03 March 2012
To think we all thought that Indesign would save us from Quark! Now Quark looks the trim, fast option and Indesign looks like the grossly overweight nerd in the electric cart. Indesign is almost as bloated as the price! Adobe has crusted on feature after half thought through feature and buried it in the graveyard that is the current Indesign UI. I want just one more feature! A search tool for the UI! Adobe floated its new pay as you use option at a recent Indesign User Group and it went down like a lead balloon which is when all the other gripes about Indesign rapidly surfaced. I've never seen an Adobe representative backpedal so fast in my life, especially when I suggested they could be doing a Quark.
Like (7)
Version 7.5.2
5 answer(s)
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
06 March 2012
I use ID, but I kept using Quark all this time too. Quark is faster to use. People don't want to admit that, but it's true. Admittedly I have been using Quark longer (since 2.5), but I still find myself going to it when I'm starting a new project. InDesign is a great program too, but some of it reminds me of PageMaker too much. ;)
Like (4)
Charles-Miller
Charles-Miller
27 August 2012
The newer Quark versions must be better, but I was saved from bland Soviet-style Quark by InDesign. And, yes, it took me a bit longer because InDesign handled all the little touches that I wanted in my work -- that Quark was too stupid to know existed. My MacBook Pro 13 is 3 years old, but it handles ID CS6 without problem. If you assemble your pieces like a cheap suit, then ID has bloat. All you need is rudiments, and a set of eyes that aren't bothered by weakness. If you accept that print is a declining field, and that CS6 ID is evolving to do many other things, then maybe extra features make sense. Lastly, I was skeptical about Creative Cloud (it's a sea change in process and it sorta smells like entrapment) but I am now signed up for it. And I think I'm going to love it. Access to 17 apps. Lots of secondary features. Mini-Adobe-apps for the tablet I'm shopping for. It's like opening double doors to a roomful of goodies. Of course, it you're a minimalist, you don't want a big box of tools. You want to do everything with a screwdriver and hammer.
Like
Rubaiyat
Rubaiyat
27 August 2012
Well you know those All-In-One monster Swiss army knives that barely fit in your hand let alone let you saw, screw, scissor etc, much beloved by people who only pretend that they camp ,and someday they just might? Well that's the Adobe CS. It is also why I now turn to Pages for most of what I want to do. It doesn't pretend to do everything, but I don't get a hernia trying to make it do it.
Like (1)
Charles-Miller
Charles-Miller
27 August 2012
Well, Rubaiyat, different strokes for different folks. I like being fussy, and have gathered clients who want that of me (as well as others whose design philosophy cannot be put into words). I do the job, and then do a little more to please myself (often as not). It sounds like you do the job to the standards the job requires. And avoid hernias. I think both approaches are legit because I think diversity is healthy. I suppose Adobe will be judged on whether the tools they provide make sense and get work done. Adobe is a BIG company with many departments focused on specific activities. The Creative Cloud makes the tools produced by all those shops available. And lynda.com makes them all learnable. The abundance of tools doesn't make the situation a mess. It can mean that the Adobe graphics workshop is *very* well stocked. Using the right tool makes most jobs easier, makes some possible. I don't read your criticism as telling concerning the Adobe suites. I read it as you saying you are outside their tent. Not a member of their tribe. I'm not yet positive that I am a member of that tribe, but it's going to be fun finding out. It's a complex world out there. If Adobe tries to confront that complexity and gives us a range of tools to work with it, I judge that admirable. (Assuming they honor the implicit obligation: do a good job.) If you find it to be a simple world well handled by simple tools, that just suggests that you're a member of a different tribe.
Like (2)
Pik80
Pik80
19 September 2012
@Rubaiyat There is a searchable tool for the UI, hold down command-return and then type in whatever command you want. It's a very useful feature.
Like (1)
Mark-Lee
29 December 2011
Table styles are completely effed up in this version. When creating an empty table, all the cell styles are set as "none", but the footer row style is set to "none+". Even though in the table style everything is set up to have its own cell style and each cell style is set to have its own paragraph style.
Like (1)
Version 7.5.2
Xplicit
05 December 2011
Handling is complicated and not Mac-like at all, the UI is pretty bad and it's overpriced. Basically I think the same about InDesign as @Twisted below.
Like (2)
Version 7.5.2
Twisted
03 September 2011
I'm forced to use inDesign since the lack of alternatives. Adobe clearly takes advantage of its monopoly by selling overpriced low-quality software. Like every Adobe software, the user interface is unusable and the learning curve is really high. inDesign misses features we asked since years. It's slow and unstable. Keep your nerves, start inDesign and be ready to lose a lot of times just for doing basic stuff.
Like (3)
Version 7.5.1
7 answer(s)
Rsoldin
Rsoldin
20 October 2011
Hmm, maybe your not using the software for what its designed for. Small things, what are those? I have been building books for more than 20 years and find that InDesign has aided me in more ways than any of the other software of its type. Yes, I have used them all, the few (or only one) that is out there. If you are having trouble or time consuming experiences using it, then maybe you should choose software that is designed to do the ... little things ... that you require done. As far as price, look at the cost of the other software available in its category.
Like (2)
Kobalt
Kobalt
21 October 2011
A Twisted : If InDesign is giving you such a headache, check out the 'Similar Software' bar just above the 'Reviews/Comments' on this page (or just below the InDesign product description by the time this post has turned over to another page). Maybe one of those apps is more suitable for what you need to do.
Like
Twisted
Twisted
22 October 2011
As I wrote, and as Kobalt indirectly confirms, is the lack of alternatives that forces us to use inDesign: i’ve already tried other software and there we go from bad to worse. Yes, I’m using inDesign to design my first professional book: there’re also people who are starting from scratch out there :-) It's an arabic language manual: many professionals are working on it with a lot of effort, hard work and commitment, so I don’t understand why you are so prone to judge it as a “little thing”. We spent a lot of money to buy inDesign, as well months to study how it works. And exactly as Rsoldin suggests, it seems written 20 years ago. Computers, software, and Mac OS evolved a lot since then. Now, it’s a year I'm working with inDesign. Despite I’m 70% satisfied with the result and accepted all the compromises due to the software's limitations, after a lot of sleepless nights and blood, I feel I have the right to curse Adobe for its low quality software and horrendous user interface. It’s slow, crashes often, bugged, it misses basic features, it’s inconsistent and hard to use. I understand many old professionals want to keep their hard gained experience as an advantage on others younger publishers, but this doesn’t help to make a friendly community or a better software. It just gives Adobe a reason to keep their prices so damn high for such low quality products.
Like
Rsoldin
Rsoldin
22 October 2011
Twisted, I wasn't saying that the software is 20 years behind, I was stating that I have been creating books (designing and composing) them for 20+ years. I think InDesign is very much on top these days. I used the other big layout program for many, many years--since it was the only one available--through most of my career until InDesign was released. I am a book production specialist and after reading your last statement here, I think you are using ID for things that can be done outside the software. You are creating one book (your first), there are many frustrating things in creating your first book, I deal with first time authors understanding for hat they need to do. What I think you should do is concentrate on your book material (content) getting it just right...use a word processor...then contact a professional book designer and have them do the work that InDesign is designed to do. People just don't seem to get it, InDesign is a tool for book production and other things, its not a word processor. It has the story editor that can handle text changes and allow people to work together on the same book, but its not made for writing a book. Use a word processor, then use the import feature to get it in to InDesign. Then the magic will begin for design and layout.
Like
Twisted
Twisted
22 October 2011
Thank you again for your time answering me, but I don’t get why my review should become a discussion about my project. I understand many people confuse word processors with desktop publishing tools, but this is not the case. We are not writing the book with InDesign. I’m designing its layout since professionals are not wise enough to understand how an arabic manual should be made. They need to know the language and the method we developed to teach it. They need to know arabic typography. Are you, as professional, ready to learn arabic to write our book? It needs years. So I know I’m using the software as it is designed for, as Adobe publicize and as the manual teach me. I know what I’m talking about, as designer, author and Mac OS developer. By saying it is on top these days, you confirm again my review: is the lack of alternatives that makes InDesign a good tool: but sorry, this is not enough for me, in 2011 and for that price. This could be because the market for this kind of software is old and outdated, or the user community is made by old people, so Adobe customers are content with what they have: they don’t have the flexibility to change their approach. I’m not. I’m young, fresh and new. So I’m asking for a better designed software supporting my creativity, my knowledge and my needs. Software that follows the right HIGs and helps the not-yet-professionals to become professionals, by exploiting the last technology developed in the recent years. With recent developments in this area, it is time for Adobe and professionals give way to innovation, instead of fearing an honest opinion on the status quo.
Like
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
06 March 2012
@Rsoldin, for someone who has been doing books for 20 years, I'm not sure why you are saying there was only one page layout program. Before there was InDesign there was PageMaker. That was the first one. Then Quark came along and took over. But there was also FrameMaker, which was made for large documents. But probably most documents done in these kind of programs are single pages, or small booklets. I've done everything from business cards to large books in the big three, PageMaker, Quark and InDesign. I still like Quark better for many things, but ID is good also. But it's not the only option, and not "the best" either.
Like (1)
Donmontalvo
Donmontalvo
12 April 2012
I would have a qualified Mac tech survey your environment. Clearly something isn't right. Not sensible to blame Adobe, as we've got tons of production departments who have successfully transitioned from QuarkXPress to InDesign. Hint: stable, up to date Macs with lots of disk space and lots of RAM and stable/fast network...pretty standard stuff, look at that all first.
Like (1)
Kobalt
16 June 2011
I haven't installed it yet, but came across this at InDesignSecrets.com “We’re hearing a number of reports that there may be some significant problems with third-party plug-ins after you update InDesign CS5.5 to version 7.5.1.” http://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/4524/adobe-indesign-cs5
Like
Version 7.5.1
1 answer(s)
Robns
Robns
16 June 2011
But other than third party issues, would anybody recommend the upgrade (from CS5)? It's $399 and seems a bit steep. Thanks.
Like
Shock-J
16 June 2011
This updater is for InDesign CS5.5 NOT CS5. It should be titled accordingly.
Like (2)
Version 7.5.1
2 answer(s)
Robns
Robns
16 June 2011
No kidding! Thanks Shock-J, I didn't even KNOW CS 5.5 existed! I have CS5.
Like (1)
Regular-Warren
Regular-Warren
16 June 2011
Corrected. Thanks!
Like (1)
incrzr
19 October 2010
There's also a update for ID CS4 to 6.0.6: http://www.adobe.com/support/downloads/detail.jsp?ftpID=4878 Installed it but ID now doesn't launch anymore. Anyone else having trouble with it?
Like (1)
Version 7.0.3
1 answer(s)
Pik80
Pik80
18 May 2011
6.0.6 has been working fine for me.
Like
Zapp-Brannigan
11 June 2010
The cost to upgrade InDesign from CS4 is ridiculous. The new features just don't warrant it. InDesign CS5 is quirky at best. I have a top-of-the-line Mac Pro with a kick-ass video card, and the screen redraws are painfully slow. I actually went back to using InDesign CS4 because of this. I'm so tired of Adobe sending products out of the gate not ready just to keep some magical time-line they created at HQ. The new feature set is ridiculously tiny and improved features are barely noticeable. But the worst part: Having to keep Display Performance on the lowest setting just to make the product usable. Finally you still can't save it to an earlier version of InDesign! This is unacceptable. Not all print shops (in fact, most) can afford to upgrade to CS5. The inability to save it as CS4 or CS3 is utterly unacceptable. Having to export it as an .idml file, re-open it in CS4, export again to a CS3 .idml file is ludicrous. Shame on Adobe for not even allowing users this simple functionality AT THIS PRICE!.
Like (9)
Version 7.0
1 answer(s)
Beige
Beige
10 August 2010
what's wrong with Export to Indesign Exchange format? I can't say much in this release is extremely compelling - I don't need the Flash stuff but the performance is the same for me.
Like (1)
Version 7.0.2
Anon-Bud
12 December 2008
I'm just an average guy who is not a professional so I do not neet all the bells and whistles of many of Adobe's products. I purchased CS2 a couple of years ago and have really only used InDesign. This is a good product and has been instrumental in some of my workflow. That said: I will not be giving any more money to Adobe Systems. I am not allowed to upgrade just the InDesign app from the suite. I either have to purchase an upgrade to the whole suite of apps--most of which I do not use--or do a complete separate purchase of InDesign as a stand-alone (at a much higher price than the simple upgrade to the one app.). Add to this a customer service department that is antedated and ridiculous to navigate through and very customer un-friendly. Unfortunately, what this means is that I will have to trash all my Adobe apps when I upgrade to Leopard, since nothing before CS3 works with Leopard. Long story short: If you are a design professional and need to keep on top of the current app upgrades (and can use each purchase as a tax write-off) of if you are loaded with lots of money and don't mind spending hundreds of dollars on each upgrade, knock yourself out. But if you are not wealthy and do not need all the bells and whistles, forget Adobe and go with something else--Pages comes to mind.
Like (10)
Version 1.0
3 answer(s)
Photek
Photek
13 December 2008
CS1 works very well on Leopard... I use it to produce 4 magazines! As it happens... I am staying well clear of ID CS4... it offers little over CS3... except for more money in Adobes very deep pocket... I am gonna hold off for the 64bit versions of all the apps in CS5.
Like (4)
Version 1.0
Anon-Bud
Anon-Bud
13 December 2008
Thanks for sharing your good experience with CS1 & 2 on Leopard. Since I've only heard the opposite, I have more hope that, perhaps, when I get Leopard I can still use CS2! I appreciate your input on this…
Like (1)
Version 1.0
Oneblessedguy
Oneblessedguy
01 May 2010
I use all of the CS2 Suite on both my PPC Leopard machine as well as my Intel Leopard machine. So, I can 100% attest to the fact that they work well. : ] I would do a fresh install of the CS2 Library and such instead of migrating it. I think it just helps it work better. Hope this helps!
Like
Version 7.0
Richard-Hallas
17 October 2008
I'm cheesed off with the updater. I downloaded this to update InDesign 5.0.3 to 5.0.4 and ran the updater application. After giving it my password, it just sat there with the spinning blue/white barber's pole icon, not saying what it was doing, and that's how it remained for hours and hours. I left it doing this overnight in case it was actually doing something useful. But after maybe 16 hours of just sitting there with the twirling pole icon, I just quit it. (Note that pressing the Cancel button didn't work; I had to quit it from the Dock menu.) At that point (on quit) it popped up a box saying that the update had been completed successfully, which I don't believe. Now, InDesign identifies itself in the Finder and in its start-up banner as version 5.0.3, but once it's loaded and I open its Info window, it says it's version 5.0.4. So, what to believe? It's probably a partial installation of 5.0.4 with some components not updated, but it's impossible to tell because there's no log file, and there wasn't even any indication whatsoever of progress from the updater, or even any sign of what it was doing. I suppose I should be grateful that my copy of InDesign does at least still work (a previous updater once rendered it incapable of launching), but this is far from impressive. In fact, I've had no end of trouble with the CS3 installers in general. When I first installed CS3 on my brand-new 2.8GHz Mac Pro a few months ago, it took literally days to get everything installed successfully, with many forced restarts of the system, because the Adobe installers were so hopeless and just got stuck at different stages (and indeed locked up my computer - hence the forced restarts); I had to try most of them several times before they worked. And that was on a brand-new, 'vanilla' Mac Pro with no other software installed that might have interfered with Adobe's installer. (Oddly enough, I had no problems at all with installing on my previous G5, which died and forced the purchase of the new Mac Pro.) The software's great once it's installed and working, but I can't believe how much hassle I've had from Adobe's installers and updaters. They're an absolute nightmare, and who wants to risk their working installations being ruined by dodgy installer software? I remember having problems with Adobe installers before (e.g. with the original CS applications). Installers shouldn't be rocket science, and it's high time that Adobe made its installers much more robust and foolproof. There's thousands of pounds of software at stake, per user, in the Creative Suites, and it's mission-critical for the majority of its users. The last thing the customer needs is to have their system messed up by an unreliable updater application.
Like (9)
Version 5.0.4
D9
16 October 2008
Once again, Adobe had become a pathetic excuse of a Mac developer living on past credit. As usual, the Adobe Updater program does not recognize these updates on either Intel or PPC machines. You have to use these links to manually download and install the updates (Don't even get me started on how the Updater continues to say I need the Adobe AIR update for Flash but craps outs every time it tries to install!!). Add to this the long running yet still unresolved Adobe bug in InDesign that prevents keystroke Hide (Command + H) to work until you restart the program. It's just pathetic!! I really have no idea what, if any, improvements have been made. Just seems the same...still crashes on half our print jobs the first run. Overall, I like the Adobe products; Photoshop and Illustrator are indispensable. But let's be honest, there has been little truly advance development in these products for about 2 or 3 iterations, unless you want to count OS X & Mac Intel compatibility as advances. Adobe seems content to simply suck on the teet of its cash cows! /
Like (12)
Version 5.0.4
1 answer(s)
Polyfade
Polyfade
11 December 2008
Don't expect Adobe to fix the 3 most annoying bugs plaguing InDesign CS3: 1. lack of hiding the application (without a reboot) 2. randomly ceases to work, but still remains open 3. copying/pasting to Illustrator These seem like Adobe bugs as they have been fixed in InDesign CS4. Although, I wouldn't say Apple is completely blame free. So, for a $700 upgrade, you can have these bugs fixed.
Like
Version 5.0.4
Macsolu
01 July 2008
Does this fix the problems with the Hide command that InDesign has been having with Leopard?
Like
Version 5.0.3
8 answer(s)
Kobalt
Kobalt
01 July 2008
Why don't you install it and let us all know ...?
Like
Version 5.0.3
Macsolu
Macsolu
01 July 2008
Because I want someone else to be the Guinea Pig. How about YOU, for example?
Like
Version 5.0.3
MacUpdate-Lon
MacUpdate-Lon
01 July 2008
macsolu, I'm pretty sure anyone here at MU would be willing to be the guinea pig if we had the app, I'm also pretty sure that in our staff of five people, none of us has the app. Sorry. And I'd like to very sincerely thank you for your posts in the past, I believe you know which posts I'm referring to. Thanks again.
Like
Version 5.0.3
Macsolu
Macsolu
01 July 2008
MU admins, You're welcome. I switched over from VT (after getting more & more dissatisfied) and have been very impressed with your site and your responsiveness.
Like
Version 5.0.3
Neutralzone
Neutralzone
01 July 2008
macsolu, you may never see a fix for this from Adobe, because it is said to be a bug of Apple's. Some of the other Leopard bugs with InDesign did not have to be fixed by Indesign 5.0.3 because they WERE fixed by Apple in Mac OS X 10.5.4. I have been watching this blog for the latest info: http://blogs.adobe.com/indesignchannel/2008/06/indesign_leopard_1054_nav_serv.html The latest on the Hiding bug is at the bottom of that post.
Like
Version 5.0.3
gcoghill
gcoghill
01 July 2008
I do believe the issue is with Apple, and it was not fixed in the 10.5.4 update this week. If it was Adobe's fault, it was also not fixed in this update as I still see it here on the MacBook.
Like
Version 5.0.3
Kobalt
Kobalt
09 July 2008
Okay macsolu, I have installed it and found the hiding bug to be persistent ... BUT when combined with OS10.5.4 I can now at least use this work around: After starting up your Mac, open InDesign -> once open, immediately close it again (ie. don't hit any keyboard shortcuts or do anything at all in ID) -> then re-open ID and cmd+h should now work (it does for me). CAVEAT: should you happen to close ID again and re-open once more for a third time, the cmd+h shortcut ceases to work!
Like (1)
Version 5.0.3
Kobalt
Kobalt
09 July 2008
Just noticed that the work around has been posted in the next post. I came here via a MacUpdate Thread Response emailed msg and never saw it until I sent off my reply. Well, double-up is better than not at all, yeah? ;-)
Like
Version 5.0.3
Kobalt
10 October 2007
I had trouble installing this update, but worked it out in the end. Way back when, after installing CS3 for the first time, I changed the name of the folder containing the Suite from 'Applications' to a more descriptive 'Adobe CS3'. I was finally able to install this update by renaming the folder back to 'Applications'.
Like
Version 5.0.1
Polyfade
04 April 2007
indesign 4.05 does not work on intel mac. it will freeze up your system, and there is no option but to hold down the power button. wag of the finger to adobe!
Like
Version 4.0.5