Back to Boxcryptor page
Boxcryptor free download for Mac

Boxcryptor Reviews

2.28.995
11 July 2019

Secure the files in your favorite cloud-storage solution.

Pmcarrion
09 May 2013

Most helpful

This sounds nice but there are huge tradeoffs with this implementation: - No Spotlight support - No web access from dropbox.com - No support for Dropbox-enabled apps
Like (5)
Version 1.2.1

Read 22 Boxcryptor User Reviews

Rate this app:

macjogi
10 April 2018
In a cloud-connected world a very good tool for iOS, macOS and Windows (Linux also available but never used it) to en- and decrypt smoothly your data before you upload it into „someone else computer“ (cloud). Integration in Finder or in Windows system as well as in iOS very easy and smoothy. I use a closed software eco system to have the quality (Apple with iTunes and App Store) and also for my secured stored data I want to have a commercial company standing behind it - quality is not coming from elsewhere…. Love it since many years!
Like
Version 2.21.923
Lounge-Deluxe
12 December 2017
With each new version I hope for some more security measures such as auto logout when the system goes into sleep or lock or after a certain amount of inactive minutes/hours but no such thing. Also it keeps logging in automatically whenever I start the app manually (I have not configured it to start automatically upon system start) despite removing all Boxcryptor keychain entries each time it logs in without my user password. .

I have stopped using it as it is unsecure IMO due to the above.
Like
Version 2.18.902
2 answer(s)
Meiner2er
Meiner2er
25 April 2018
"Also it keeps logging in automatically whenever I start the app manually."

Got to Preferences -> Security -> Protection. Check "Password" or "PIN".
Like
Lounge-Deluxe
Lounge-Deluxe
26 April 2018
Obviously I've tried that already many times including deleting any reference to Boxcryptor in KeyChain... Boxcryptor support doesn't respond or fix it.
Like
Jimw
21 March 2017
The free version only supports a single cloud service and 2 devices. Anything more is $50 a year for the average user. FYI: its a subscription service
Like
Version 2.8.800
1 answer(s)
Lounge-Deluxe
Lounge-Deluxe
24 June 2017
It's a subscription service indeed and personally I have nothing against that as long as I can justify the annual / monthly fee, however Boxcryptor's pricing for consumers is too steep IMO, as Jimw says it's either free or 48 Euro (only annual fees here), there's nothing in between. Personally I would appreciate 12 euro per year as there are free alternatives too.

On the positive side Boxcryptor has always worked flawless, it's an excellent product and from that perspective highly recommended..YMMV with regard to pricing.
Like
anonymous-turtle-2891
10 February 2016
I'm using the free version with Dropbox on Mac and iPhone. Works flawlessly. Easy to use, too.
Like (1)
Version 2.1.465
3 answer(s)
Wts
Wts
14 February 2016
Sounds too good to be true. Can't help but wonder if this " free " version will last or is a gimmick that will evaporate like several other " free " cloud storage solutions i signed into only to find that within a year or less the " free " service floats away and i have to scramble to move my files somewhere else. The situation here could be even worse because who knows what encryption programme they are using so that i can reverse the encryption.
Like
Wts
Wts
04 June 2016
Reading your reviewI signed up for Dropbox and soon realized that Dropbox keeps a running tab of how much " free " space is used and when you hit that " free " limit you now have to pay to continue using Dropbox. So it is like a bank account . Once you spent all your " free " space you now pay.
Like
Michael-Vilain
Michael-Vilain
20 April 2017
I found their implementation with MacFuse to constantly freeze my system. I specifically got it to use my AWS cloud storage (not S3) but it never gave me any respectable performance on 10.8. They refunded my money and I wiped their stuff off my machine. Your concerns are well founded--free stuff that stops being free when a business model changes. That's why I pay for stuff I'm gonna use 24x7. I get right to complain and make it better. So far, I've not found something to service all the cloud providers under one app. They all do their own thing and you're left to manage each with their own proprietary app. Someday, market forces will make everyone use the same protocol for cloud storage and it will be consolidated. Until then, I think we'll see Bulkanization.
Like
Michael-Vilain
26 January 2016
Seemed to work OK for Google Drive and Dropbox. I was able to create an encrypted folder inside the folders that's updated to the remote server by the apps. But I originally bought and paid for it so it would sync with Amazon Cloud Drive (which is not a S3 bucket). Their support said to mount the drive with the WebDAV mount feature but Amazon only allows using their client or the web. So I couldn't sync. Got my money back and they removed all references to Amazon Cloud from their product description. Having it sync in "free" mode wasn't worth it so I went back to SpiderOak which I was trying to replace. It just works.
Like (1)
Version 2.1.465
icadev
19 December 2015
Catastrophically buggy. With the latest version I lost data on waking back up from sleep. Boxcryptor volume couldn't be mounted, so everything unsaved on Word was lost. Separately, I've had occasion to contact support; they work German hours, with suitably generous holidays, so don't expect any immediate response. Shame, as it's a much-needed kind of product.
Like (3)
Version 2.1.461
Aargl
08 December 2015
The best solution I've found to protect Dropbox data! You've got a virtual BoxCryptor folder containing your Dropbox (or any other box you're using), inside which you right-click files/folders and select encrypt. It's as easy as that! You keep the ease of use of Dropbox and you get peace of mind about your data for free, why not using it? I see comments down here saying OSXFUSE was needed: well, maybe some time ago but not (any more?), BoxCryptor installed as any other app (OS 10.9.5). I absolutely recommend it. :-)
Like
Version 2.1.459
Sergesouszero
10 September 2015
Version number is wrong. Actual version is 2.1.447.
Like
Version 2.1.445
Lounge-Deluxe
30 October 2014
Fresh install of Yosemite and OS X Fuse version 2.7.2 (latest) yet Boxcryptor keeps on whining about downloading OS X Fuse first... Annoying because the otherwise perfectly functioning Boxcryptor becomes useless as of it.
Like (1)
Version 2.0.411
1ness
14 August 2014
Please add Boxcryptor Classic as a separate app in MacUpdate. As of now, I do use Boxcryptor Classic (and like it a lot) and do not use Boxcryptor (2.0). Now however an update always shows in MacUpdate Desktop (as an option to go to v2), however it MacUpdate does not show updates for Boxcryptor Classic (app is still getting updates). Please make two separate apps on MacUpdate so that particular update shows for particular app. Thanks!:-)
Like (3)
Version 2.0.411
1 answer(s)
epatrick
epatrick
05 October 2014
Agree with 1ness
Plus, in Related Links, you always specify the 1.3.4 version of the August 28, 2013, while the latest version 1.4.403 was released September 26, 2014
Like (1)
Mondele
01 August 2014
Boxcryptor requires OSXFUSE 2.6.2 or newer, but doesn't work with 2.7. Unable to test it without downgrading OSXFUSE.
Like
Version 2.0.411
1 answer(s)
Mondele
Mondele
08 August 2014
There is a new update that addresses this issue. Follow the link to the developer's page for the most current download.
Like (1)
Dan-D
06 December 2013
Version 2 is out. Version 1.x is called "Boxcryptor Classic" now.
Like (2)
Version 1.2.1
Nuttawut
06 December 2013
Finally deleted the app. Don't know why it did not delete straight away but its gone now after several attempts.
Like (1)
Version 1.2.1
Nuttawut
06 December 2013
I give up. I cannot delete this from my Mac. I followed the instructions but it keeps coming back. In my documents folder and on the top of my desktop. Help please.
Like (1)
Version 1.2.1
Derekcurrie
11 July 2013
Here are two client-side encrypted cloud services that are entirely Mac-friendly: Arq SpiderOak I suggest you look at their services. I have no experience with BoxCryptor. But I can tell you that both Arq and SpiderOak provide access to your files on iOS devices while providing 100% privacy, no illegal, unconstitutional snooping allowed. But be sure to do your homework and read about them as both services have their quirks. Also note: Apple's iDisk app provides the ability to make your own encrypted, expandable disk images. They are called sparsedisk and sparse bundle images. I use them via Dropbox. They aren't accessible via iOS, but they let you essentially do what BoxCryptor does for you. There are a lot of tutorials on the net to help you set them up.
Like (2)
Version 1.2.1
1 answer(s)
Rasputinsrevengereloadet
Rasputinsrevengereloadet
13 November 2013
I use Arq for many years now and I'm still very happy. Saved me once, so for me Arq is priceless ...
Like
H3L0
11 May 2013
The big problem is if you use Dropbox, Box, etc on iPad or iPhone you can not decrypt!
Like (2)
Version 1.2.1
2 answer(s)
Damian Weiss
Damian Weiss
30 October 2013
I'm sorry to say that, but there are mobile versions of Boxcryptor for iOS and Android. Please have a quick look at their site: https://www.boxcryptor.com/en/download
Like
H3L0
H3L0
30 October 2013
Thanks for the info,b but at the time I posted that there was not an iOS version.
Like
Pmcarrion
09 May 2013
This sounds nice but there are huge tradeoffs with this implementation: - No Spotlight support - No web access from dropbox.com - No support for Dropbox-enabled apps
Like (5)
Version 1.2.1
1 answer(s)
manleyPower
manleyPower
27 June 2013
How should Spotlight be able to access your data when it is encrypted? To such a feature Boxcryptor would need to provide an interface to Spotlight that lets Spotlight access your plain text data. That would totally undermine the whole point for encryption.
Like (4)
Tony2013
23 February 2013
Now I can feel secure knowing all my photos on Dropbox are encrypted. Very Happy!
Like (1)
Version 1.2.1
Bioxy
23 February 2013
Works well... except Spotlight isn't supported. 5 stars when it is.
Like (1)
Version 1.2.1
bbw7
23 February 2013
So what's the difference between the free and the $39.99 personal edition? Went to the developer's site and there is no obvious explanation of this. Really don't care for webpages of applications that intentionally obscure or hide these matters. Users and potential users like transparency.
Like (3)
Version 1.2.1
2 answer(s)
Bioxy
Bioxy
23 February 2013
Paid versions allow file and folder names to be encrypted, in addition to encryption of file contents provided by the free version.
Like (1)
Bioxy
Bioxy
23 February 2013
Paid version also allows multiple BC drives to be configured, which someone else noted below.
Like (1)
Monkeyjunkey
22 February 2013
1.2.1 is out.
Like (1)
Version 1.0.4
1 answer(s)
Regular-Warren
Regular-Warren
22 February 2013
Thanks. Updated!
Like
Abisinthe
14 November 2012
I've been searching for a cross platform and cross device encryption app for ages and for my the clincher was: 1. Can be used across OSX and Linux easily 2. Can access the data on my iPad/iPhone easily 3. Auto mount on login and easy access to drives Yes it may be a little bit pricey but I have some shared info that I really do not trust to be up on 3rd party servers but I need access to across all my devices. The free version is great if you only want one huge encrypted drive but with the paid version £25you can have multiple drives (easier to manage in the advanced mode section). I love the fact it auto mounts the drives upon login and there is an easy access menu item for each drive (one of the clinchers for me buying the app). I created a few drives and was able to access them easily on Linux and my iPad, once the free iPad app unlocks the files you can open it using the normal app. The forum is very active and their support seems very quick to reply. Overall a great app for use with Dropbox if you value your information.
Like (3)
Version 1.0.4