Back to WebKit page
WebKit free download for Mac

WebKit Reviews

250201
23 September 2019

Open-Source Web-browser engine.

Derekcurrie
09 December 2018

Most helpful

NOTE: These are open source code resources used to build the latest experimental alpha of WebKit. If you're not a developer, or don't want to compile your own WebKit, then don't bother. IF you'd like a compiled version of the latest client WebKit beta, what you want is Safari Technology Preview, which is available at Apple's Developer website at the link below. The current version is Release 71, aka Safari 12.1, WebKit 14607.1.15. https://developer.apple.com/safari/download/
Like (4)
Version 238951

Read 15 WebKit User Reviews

Rate this app:

Derekcurrie
09 December 2018
NOTE: These are open source code resources used to build the latest experimental alpha of WebKit. If you're not a developer, or don't want to compile your own WebKit, then don't bother. IF you'd like a compiled version of the latest client WebKit beta, what you want is Safari Technology Preview, which is available at Apple's Developer website at the link below. The current version is Release 71, aka Safari 12.1, WebKit 14607.1.15. https://developer.apple.com/safari/download/
Like (4)
Version 238951
Wade-Smith
29 September 2018
All right, consider me a dolt, but what the hell does one do with these files?
Like
Version 236590
1 answer(s)
Gazman
Gazman
26 January 2019
@Wade-Smith, if you don't know how to compile from source than I suggest that you use the more 'user-friendly' Safari Technology Preview (listed under 'similar software' above) or just keep using the version of webkit built into your version of macOS (which includes Safari).
Like (1)
Aargl
09 June 2018
They finally revamped their archives and classified them by OS version! — at least the last three of them: https://webkit.org/build-archives/#mac-elcapitan-x86_64
Like
Version R232578
5 answer(s)
Aargl
Aargl
09 June 2018
... but they've thrown away all the former builds! :-(
The link I mentioned in a comment below for OS 10.9 is (probably definitely) broken.
Like (1)
Leesa
Leesa
18 October 2018
My home computer is a 2008 Mac Pro and I'm having problems with Safari in el Capitan and some sites where I get "Safari can’t open page" "Protocol Error NSPOSIXErrorDomain:100..." Does this help with those issue?
Like
Aargl
Aargl
18 October 2018
I have no idea. But basically, these are development builds, I've used them as an experimental option for resolving issues when Safari stopped being supported in an OS — but after a while, you're a lot safer using a browser that gets updates such as Firefox or any Chromium based browser (Opera, Vivaldi or Marmaduke's Chromium — a really good Chromium build including codecs! Vivaldi is great but has historical issues with videos on Mac. I really like Opera and its integrated ads filter and free VPN!)
Out of curiosity, can you give an URL example that triggers that error?
Like
Aargl
Aargl
21 December 2018
Hi Albabe!
I'm just seeing your post right now... ;-)
In the meantime I've updated my OS 10.9 to 10.11, but that site loads perfectly here in Safari 11.1.2 with no such error in the Console neither.
Are you sure you've got that version of Safari?
If yes, I would check relaunching it with extensions disabled, then in a clean user account (a Guest account is good).
If it's a user issue: trash ~/Library/Safari (keeping a copy of the bookmarks file at hand), ~/Library/Preferences/com.apple.Safari.plist and com.apple.Safari.Extensions.plist, reboot dans see...
If it's a global issue (and not present in Firefox or any other browser), I'd try reapplying the last 10.11.6 OS update, and/or the last security update.
But I've already encountered issues in Safari 11.1.2 on other sites, so unfortunately, I think we can consider it a second-hand browser as it probably won't be updated any more...
Like
Aargl
Aargl
04 March 2019
Oops! Looks like my answer above was meant for some other post that has been deleted in the meantime... :-o
Like
Albabe
28 April 2017
"Note: Now requires OS X 10.9.5 or later" Not Correct! This Build does NOT SUPPORT 10.9!
Like
Version 215924
3 answer(s)
Aargl
Aargl
28 April 2017
See my warning from early 2016 below. ;-)
MU doesn't seem keen on correcting this...
Unfortunately, there was a page where you could DL an old version clicking on its number, now you have to select the URL in that list: https://nightly.webkit.org/builds/trunk/mac/all and paste it.
It would be so nice if they made a page with the latest nightly for each OS, but no. :-/
BUT, we're quite lucky on 10.9 as the last build (r192684) is running nicely — which is not the case for the last 10.8 build (r174642) that I tried recently for a friend on his old Mac.
Like
Leesa
Leesa
29 April 2017
It would be nice if they had a few links, one for the most Current for each OS. They do it on other Clients, why not this?
Like
Aargl
Aargl
09 June 2017
Here's the link for the latest 10.9 build: https://builds-nightly.webkit.org/files/trunk/mac/WebKit-SVN-r192684.dmg :-)
Like
Leesa
09 March 2017
Anyone know how to D/L this without the MacUpdate Trojans? I can't find a specific link at "Apple."
Like
Version 210498
3 answer(s)
Albabe
Albabe
09 March 2017
Oops, my bad. I'm looking for a WebKit that works for us folks who use Mavericks and can't afford to update to Sierra because of the cost to replace the apps I use.
Like (1)
Aargl
Aargl
10 June 2017
Albabe> I posted the direct link for the latest 10.9 build in my post here above. :-)
Like (1)
Christo777
Christo777
27 June 2018
Leesa,
What do yo mean by MacUpdate Trojans?
Like
Fyreflye
27 November 2016
Since Apple states on its own web site that the app for tracking and reporting bugs and testing new developments is Safari Technology Review, why is the current WebKit daily build appearing on MU?
Like
Version 208978
Aargl
04 November 2016
Just in case, I tried downloading this last version but though it looks like launching, I soon got a message that 10.9 is not supported. So don't lose your time trying if you don't run one of the latest OSes (I would even bet it only runs under Sierra...)
Like
Version 208323
Aargl
02 March 2016
The last version to date is 197354 and it's not compatible with 10.9 or earlier. You won't find any information on their site about which is the last version for a given OS! I've found empirically the last ones for the OSes I use: r192684 (20 november 2015) is the last for 10.9 meaning that the official Safari 9.0.3 is probably best for Mavericks (22 january 2016), even more if Apple realize a new update in the future (who knows?). Hard to say if there's a benefit in using the last Webkit, its launch time is 1s more than Safari but maybe in some situation it's beneficial... (I had the case in Leopard, when some site was not rendering well in Safari and it did well in Leopard Webkit)
Like
Version 127383
aholloahkate
22 September 2015
This browser isn't the best, but not bad. I don't like the new tabs' openings. not very user-friendly I'd say.
Like
Version 127383
Sgginc
17 July 2014
Get the latest nightly build here: http://nightly.webkit.org/ WebKit r171105 was built on 15 July 2014 and is a 59.3 MB download. Thanks ... Ken
Like (1)
Version 127383
Hyram
09 September 2013
I'm surprised that there is no mention of "WebKit Leopard" here. For those of use who prefer PowerPC (and we are legion) it is also possible to enjoy all the benefits of the latest Safari without sacrificing to the demons of Intel. Visit https://code.google.com/p/leopard-webkit/
Like (1)
Version 127383
3 answer(s)
Monkeyjunkey
Monkeyjunkey
27 October 2013
Try looking here: https://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/43456/leopard-webkit
Like
Leesa
Leesa
01 March 2014
And... What seems odd to me... Is that there is a brand New updated Webkit for my G5 every few months... but no New Webkit or Safari for my Safari in Snow Leopard since 2012.
Like (1)
Aargl
Aargl
24 August 2015
Looks like Tobias (dev of Leopard WebKit) has recently updated the 537 Snow Leopard branch : http://sourceforge.net/projects/leopard-webkit/files/537/%28Snow%29%20Leopard/
We're still far from recent webkits but I recently bumped into some site rendering badly in Safari<v5.0.5 and that fixed it!
(actually his 537-r169580 already fixed it, if you prefer: it's available on MU's page)
Like
bbw7
11 March 2013
OK, here's another possibly stupid question: If Webkit is the nightly build of Safari, how come the requirements for WK are 10.6+? I thought Safari is no longer supporting OS 10.6 in the Safari 6.x.
Like
Version 127383
4 answer(s)
MacUpdate-Nick
MacUpdate-Nick
11 March 2013
WebKit is the rendering engine used by Safari, Chrome, and Chromium (among others); Firefox uses Gecko, and Internet Explorer uses Trident. Safari is built upon and uses WebKit for rendering webpages and executing scripts, and Apple packs in other useful features like tabs and bookmarking. I hope that clears the distinction up.
Like (2)
Monkeyjunkey
Monkeyjunkey
15 March 2013
Nick, that is correct. But WebKit has tabs and also bookmarks / bookmark management afaik. If you want to switch from Closed Source Safari to OpenSource WebKit you'll even find all your extensions and bookmarks there ready for your use, since WebKit and Safari use the same pref files.
Like (4)
Yuzver'
Yuzver'
17 March 2013
It's old build ( March 2012 ) of Safari 5. New builds r14xxxx are not compatible with SL. In earlier post Zampom wrote that last build support 10.6 is r13027
Like (1)
bb553
bb553
18 February 2014
So, the download URL for WebKit-SVN-r13027.dmg for OS X 10.6.x is where ? (snip) Yuzver' replied on 17 Mar 2013 It's old build ( March 2012 ) of Safari 5. New builds r14xxxx are not compatible with SL. In earlier post Zampom wrote that last build support 10.6 is r13027 (snip)
Like
bbw7
13 February 2013
Pardon my ignorance, but I am confused. The description says it is a browser engine, yet one commenter says webkit is his/her secondary browser. Can you just download this and run it like another version of Safari, i.e. analogous to Chrome vs. Chromium, or is it more complicated than that? Went to both the Webkit page and the Webkit wiki page and -- surprise, surprise -- there are no simple explanations of what exactly web kit is and how to use it. And if it is just an engine, is there a straight-forward way to replace temporarily the installed webkit engine that comes with Safari with this one?
Like
Version 127383
2 answer(s)
Fyreflye
Fyreflye
15 February 2013
WebKit is the nightlies version of Safari. Yes, it's a browser identical to Safari except that it produces newer versions daily which the user is expected to download and report any bugs to the developers. Supposedly the improvements pioneered in WebKit will be incorporated into the next version of Safari. It runs off the Safari folder in Application Support so you retain all your bookmarks and history and you never have to do anything more than deal with the daily download requests, which you can ignore if you choose. Why use WebKit? It's marginally faster than Safari.
Like (6)
bbw7
bbw7
11 March 2013
@Fyreflye Thank you for the explanation.
Like
Zampom
06 February 2013
I have used WebKit as my secondary browser for quite some time. Be advised, however, that while the download listed here does work on Snow Leopard, more recent nightly builds will not. I believe the last build that supported 10.6 was r130273. As of today, current build is r141985.
Like (2)
Version 127383
Dana-Sutton
11 October 2012
Some people get pleasure out of using the most cutting-edge product available, and these nightly builds of WebKit contain stuff in advance of the most recent Safari version. But there are downsides: a.) every now and then you can get an unstable version which is a crasher. b.) They don't indicate to the general public what's new in any given version, so you never quite know what you're getting. c.) Since their updates are so frequent I'd like to see them implement pushed auto-upgrades or at least the same super-friendly dmg used by Dropbox. (Their seems to be no way for members of the general public to give feedback to their design team, I'd love to give them a piece of my mind about these last two issues).
Like (2)
Version 127383
1 answer(s)
Monkeyjunkey
Monkeyjunkey
11 October 2012
Hey Dana, WebKit does use Sparkle, so updates should be a breeze. The fact, that they don't point out changes during the process, is frustrating indeed. If you want to notify them about issues, there's a lin on the starting page: http://www.webkit.org which brings you here: http://www.webkit.org/quality/reporting.html (you need to sign up with bugzilla, then use that to report the bug).
Like (4)