Back to Yate page
Yate free download for Mac

Yate Reviews

5.0.1.3
13 October 2019

Tag and organize your audio files.

Amgwanagitbhuti
26 August 2014

Most helpful

I had been using three or four other apps to handle my FLAC library workflow but recently I wanted to tidy up all metadata and artwork from my entire collection, around 39,000 tracks. I contacted the developer, Barry, and he confirmed that Yate could handle what I wanted to do. He even provided script files for one of the actions I was setting up and the three actions I eventually executed in batch mode literally saved me hundreds of hours of effort! Whenever I ran into an issue, Barry was quick to provide a new build. I also like the fact that this stable app is Cocoa-native. If you're meticulous about maintaining tags on a large library of audio tracks, I would give this app serious consideration. I'm really glad that Yate can handle ALL my library maintenance tasks going forward.
Like (4)
Version 2.7.7

Read 38 Yate User Reviews

Rate this app:

Bart-Pans
11 September 2017
Does this also supports MP2? I cannot find any info about this.
Like
Version 3.17.1.2
2 answer(s)
2ManyRobots
2ManyRobots
12 September 2017
Well, having never been asked I went and checked. mp2 files will be opened and processed correctly. Currently you will have to rename the files to have an mp3 filename extension. I will add support for the mp2 extension in the next release.
Like
2ManyRobots
2ManyRobots
12 September 2017
The upcoming v3.17.2 release supports the .mp2 filename extension. The Stream property correctly reports mp2 files as MPEG-1, Layer 2. No change was required other than allowing the .mp2 extension.
Like (2)
franticfreddie
21 July 2017
The best full-scale audio tagger for MacOS. With good support, too.
Like (1)
Version 3.16.2.3
neil-21
30 July 2016
Does it have the ability to perform file relocation operations on items in a folder other than music files? For example, in Tag & Rename under Windows, I could do something like convert a file structure that looks like \Music\Genre\Artist\Album\01 - songname.flac into a single folder layer like Music\Genre - Artist - Album\01- songname.flac by including the folder layout in the rename files from tags expression. It works, but only for the music. If you have jpegs, logs, pdf's, or anything else in the folder with the music, that all gets left behind in the old folder structure. It would be great if there were a way of rebuilding the folder structure of a library based on album level tags, and have the file relocation include all files in the folder with the album, so nothing gets lost by rebuilding an entire folder structure. This would be such a big improvement over simple file renaming.
Like
Version 3.13
2 answer(s)
2ManyRobots
2ManyRobots
01 August 2016
Nothing need be left behind :-) The 'Move Non Audio Files' statement allows you to selectively move non audio files files and folders. It can also delete empty folders when done.

Rename, Move and Move Non Audio Files can pretty much relocate anything anywhere.
Like
neil-21
neil-21
01 August 2016
Thanks for that. I wish I had found this software sooner!
Like
matt-sephton
23 June 2016
Great, full featured tagger. Let's you browse different directories without reloading the app.
Like
Version 3.12
Dudirowski
23 May 2016
My favourite app for sure and Barry's support is the best. 5 stars for sure!
Like
Version 3.12
persecutor
20 May 2016
Amazing pice of work. 2000+ albums to manage, and I could not ask for a more efficient tool. Kudos mate!
Like
Version 3.12
Lounge-Deluxe
26 March 2016
I'm looking for a tag app that can extract data from the file name for tag fields (i.e. the date) but Yate seems not able to do that. MediaRage can, but its horrible UI makes it an annoyance rather than a pleasant tool. So I have to continue looking, pity as Yate looks promising.
Like
Version 3.11.0.1
1 answer(s)
2ManyRobots
2ManyRobots
26 March 2016
Yate can extract metadata from the containing folder and filename via the File to Tag functionality. Further it can extract information from the entire file path via any combination of action statements...such as Scanner, etc. If you need assistance, please reach out at support@2manyrobots.com
Like
Mikael-B
07 July 2015
Can any user please advice if the current Yate is reliable in repairing a crashed library where some hundred files lack tags all together, several other hundreds are faulty and many are in fine shape? Does it work equally well on any format like ALAC, AIFF, WAV as well as MP3?
Like
Version 3.7.1.1
1 answer(s)
2ManyRobots
2ManyRobots
28 October 2015
Well this answer is not from a user but if you still need help reach out to us at our support email address. We definitely handle all the formats mentioned and we'd be glad to give you a hand.
Like (1)
Igor-Freiberger
10 May 2015
I use Yate for almost three years and consider it the best tag editor available by a large margin. The set of features is impressive. You can use it just for the basic tasks (normalize artist name, album, genre), add artwork (with customizable search criteria) or edit even the more obscure information (beyond the average need but fundamental for serious library management). Renaming files from tags and vice-versa are easy to make. Renumbering track is just two clicks away. List of artists, composers and genres could be recorded from the changes you do. Even the play counts or private info, not editable in iTunes, can be changed in Yate. The app is fast and stable even for large collections, and it can handle iTunes database with direct linking and adding. About all tasks could be batched through easy-to-make actions, all saved with a very convenient export/import preferences option. Developer keeps a frequent update policy, with continuous improvement and quick support answer – although you will rarely need it. Some users say the interface is subpar. I disagree: Yate is clean and all usual controls are logical and intuitive. Maybe just the advanced field panel (where you can normalize capitulation, do find and change, trim or add strings) seems a bit clumsy. Anyway, it is functional and powerful. If you want to keep an organized music library, Yate is a great choice.
Like (1)
Version 3.6.0.2
Alkeran
12 February 2015
Tried so much tagging softwares. Yate does the job, flawlessly, specially on my NAS with more than 25000 mp3/flac/alac/aac files. Can tag, insert album front cover, insert so many informations, even connect to musicbrainz, etc... Deserves every buck. Thanks to the developer !
Like (1)
Version 3.3.0.1
mmac79
03 November 2014
Great feature set. Easy to use. I personally think a lower price tag (10$) would make the decision to buy it easier :-)
Like (2)
Version 3.1
youra
27 September 2014
The most powerful tagging software I've tried, and version 3 is just awesome
Like (1)
Version 3.0.0.2
Mcclough
25 September 2014
Good audio tagger but too expensive. Tagger is almost as powerful and free.
Like (2)
Version 3.0.0.1
2 answer(s)
hmurchison
hmurchison
28 September 2014
This is an advertisement not a review
Like (2)
Mextex
Mextex
09 January 2015
No offense, but your review just shows that you didn't understand Yate at all. That comparison is so ridiculous...
Like (1)
Flavum
23 September 2014
The v3.0 upgrade appears to be free (my 2.x license is still working). How generous is that? Wow.
Like (2)
Version 3.0
Mikael-B
22 September 2014
Anyone use Yate for tagging their Sample library files? I need some workflow ideas there. I use Live 9 as a DAW, which is great, but I'd prefer an independent Sample Library system.
Like
Version 3.0
Amgwanagitbhuti
26 August 2014
I had been using three or four other apps to handle my FLAC library workflow but recently I wanted to tidy up all metadata and artwork from my entire collection, around 39,000 tracks. I contacted the developer, Barry, and he confirmed that Yate could handle what I wanted to do. He even provided script files for one of the actions I was setting up and the three actions I eventually executed in batch mode literally saved me hundreds of hours of effort! Whenever I ran into an issue, Barry was quick to provide a new build. I also like the fact that this stable app is Cocoa-native. If you're meticulous about maintaining tags on a large library of audio tracks, I would give this app serious consideration. I'm really glad that Yate can handle ALL my library maintenance tasks going forward.
Like (4)
Version 2.7.7
Cantello
15 August 2014
Very good app that handles everything you can throw at it due to its flexible scripted actions. Might look intimidating at first but once you get used to it, it is very powerful and easy to use. Only the UI is a little clunky, but this is something that can be safely ignored due to the app's capabilities.
Like
Version 2.7.6.1
Liam-
08 June 2014
Overall good audio format tagger. The GUI needs some update quickly - it is just looking outdated. Supports all important formats and the badge processing is fast. I would give it 5 stars if the price is more reasonable. $20 is a bit too expensive for such simple tool. $10 would be more fair.
Like
Version 2.7.5.2
1 answer(s)
Mextex
Mextex
02 August 2014
Though you gave it a high rating, the average reader might get a wrong idea of this app. The most important fact is, that this is definitely NOT a simple tool. Yate is the holy grail in tagging software. I haven't seen a tagging app that comes close to Yate. It is pretty complex and powerful, if you want to. But that some users don't notice the complexity means that the GUI can't be that bad at all: Yate is as simple or complex as you want. It seems to be just a simple tagger at first. So new and unexperienced users can use the basic functions directly. There is no need to read a manual first. It just works. But that's just the basic functions, other tagging apps can do the same. The fun begins when the experienced user automates his workflow with custom keyboard shortcuts that trigger custom actions. Surely this is not easy to learn and to set up. After all the time I have used Yate and have set up a bunch of complex automations I would say that I understood and use about 70 or 80 % of it's features. I also needed a long time to get into the more complex features. You'll be rewarded with an extremely efficiant tagging workflow.
Like (3)
I have tried an abundance of free ID3 editors on my iMac and they have all angered and failed me. But with "Yate" I was thrilled to see evidence of it working immediately during my trial use. I was so thrilled that I went and purchased an activation key right away. Every time that I had used other taggers, I never saw the icon change to the album artwork that I added in the tagging editor. Using "Yate" was the first time that I instantly saw my .mp3's change to the album cover in question, immediately after I hit "Save" button in the application. As I said, that was the moment I knew I was going to purchase and activation key for this app. Plus, a full month for a trial is awesome I think. The app seems to have many more advanced features besides the basic ones that I used. But honestly, I am just so happy that the basic function of the app works so well, that I might not ever even get around to using those other great functions. To me that speaks loads about the base quality of this application. So, to the developer: you have my sincere thanks and gratitude for building such a wonderful application and for finally putting my mind at ease, in regards to editing tags for my digital music. Though, I am still confused as to the name choice? I saw how to pronounce it in the application. Is it a family name, or rather what language is it, and what does it mean exactly? I could not really care less what it is called, it could be called "Swamp Gas" for all I care, I was just concerned with how it performed. But I am still curious about the origin of the app name? Anyways, thanks again and God Bless.
Like (1)
Version 2.7.2.4
2 answer(s)
2ManyRobots
2ManyRobots
06 May 2014
Unfortunately the origins of the name Yate are lost in time :-) However, if you are interested in other somewhat related information you can look at the About Yate panel and click on the robot's head.
Like (1)
pmorpurgo
pmorpurgo
06 November 2014
@richarddickjohnson
Maybe "Yet Another Tag Editor"?
@2ManyRobots ;-)
Paolo
Like
Phantasm
15 March 2014
I spend a lot of time keeping my iTunes library organized and maintained. I've tried the majority of tagging software available but Yate is my favorite by far. Easy enough for simple tagging but can be advanced enough for the power user. With the Discogs and MusicBrainz integration tagging albums is generally quick and fairly accurate. When you do have to do some editing the actions feature or the even just the multi-field editor make it so much easier. I've been using this app for almost a year now and I consider it money well spent.
Like
Version 2.7.0.1
ThierryN7785
05 March 2014
Congratulations for this application. I have been struggling with DFF and DSF files for years. My only regret is to not have known your software earlier!
Like
Version 2.6.0.1
Mextex
16 January 2014
I am using Yate for exactly one year now intensively and it never let me down. It never crashed, never messed up my audio files or mp3 tags or showed some other strange or unwanted behaviour. The app has been regulary updated, so obviously the developer is working hard to improve the app, I really appreciate that. If you are serious about your very large itunes library and correct tagging, this is the best app to go. I think it is the most powerful app of it's kind on the mac platform. To me the killer feature is the "discogs wizard" to import data from discogs.com. Especially if you are more into underground music you will really love this feature. However, as this is a powerfull app there is a moderate learning curve, of course. But it's really not bad at all, it just takes some time to find your own workflow with it... The current pricing is an absolute bargain in my eyes.
Like
Version 2.5.4
Ang
16 October 2013
This is the most powerfull tag editor. I have tried all the other software, on PC and mac. The actions system is a little complicated, but so intuitive after few minits ! The developper is very reactive in the forum. A very big thanks !
Like
Version 2.4.0.1
JeremyC9641
22 September 2013
Fantastic App. Does everything I need and more. Amazing support as well. Wrote back within a couple of hours and fixed a bug and added some new features (WAV support) I suggested within a few days. This guy's built an amazing piece of software and supports it better than I could have possibly expected or hoped for. Worth the $20 and more. Thanks!!!
Like (1)
Version 2.3.2.2
Uhuburu
21 April 2013
Tried many taggers and gave up on all of them. Discovered Yate a few weeks ago and bought it. Because it works as I want to, it is complete and cooperates nicely with iTunes This is one for keeps :)
Like (2)
Version 2.1.0.2
Shallowp
09 April 2013
Any reason why this app is ignoring codecs like vorbis, opus and alac ?
Like (1)
Version 2.1
1 answer(s)
2ManyRobots
2ManyRobots
09 August 2013
As someone just pointed out to me...I should read more carefully. While vorbis and opus is not currently supported, ALAC has been supported for a long time.....long before this thread started. :-)
Like
ecdltf
18 March 2013
Wow, this is absolutely the best tagger! I don't kow why I didn't find it earlier. It does everything except retrieving lyrics, beats and keys. It works without crash and without corrupting the tag data, and very fast! It has a plethora of functions, including Discogs and MusicBrainz. It works with Flac and m4a. It has programable actions! It replaces and outperforms Tagr, Tagger, The Tagger, Tag and Picard etc. altogether. It's not free, but considering all the small annoyances I had with each of the forementioned programs, it's a bargain. There is a generous 2-week trial period but I bought it after 1 hour of use. (it's on sale for 20$ till the end of march.) If you have Yate and Beatunes, you have everything you need! (Optionally add in MPFreaker for better lyrics).
Like
Version 2.0.2
Loop
27 February 2013
I have 20k FLAC files and this program has already paid for itself while demoing it the past 2 weeks. It manages FLAC files really well - the tagging is quite detailed. Conforming almost 1,000 Beatles tags in a couple minutes was nice. It's worth the purchase.
Like
Version 2.0.1.2
BiggieSin
25 February 2013
I'm back to change rating after inform my problem and 2ManyRobots Team. Fix and Support my Problem suddenly. Love This App.
Like
Version 2.0.1.1
BiggieSin
24 February 2013
Use Version 2.0 it's Ok. But Now i'm just update to 2.0.1 Cash every time when open file to edit. T___T
Like
Version 2.0.1
1 answer(s)
BiggieSin
BiggieSin
25 February 2013
Thank 2ManyRobots Team. Fix and Support my Problem suddenly. Good app. & Good Company & Good care problem of Costumer. ^________^
Like
Haliomaster
20 February 2013
Crashed often while converting. I am on OSX 10.8.2
Like (1)
Version 2.0.1
1 answer(s)
Haliomaster
Haliomaster
20 February 2013
BTW to be more precise: happens almost every time when saving.
Like
-Olivier
12 February 2013
"If you just need to organize your music and get an out of control iTunes library cleaned up, Yate doesn’t give you any more tools than iTunes. Everything you need is available in the Get Info pane; add a little elbow grease, and you’ll have a music library anyone can be proud of. However, if you need to keep track of lots of extra information, beyond what’s available in the Get Info fields, that’s where Yate’s going to do you a lot of good. Its tagging functionality goes far and away beyond what’s available in iTunes, and provides real value if you need to keep track of copyrights, publishers, and additional URLs." http://mac.appstorm.net/reviews/music-reviews/yate-tag-and-organize-your-itunes-library/
Like (3)
Version 2.0
Bru9
02 February 2013
Very nice app. It is easily better than the 4 or 5 other taggers I used before Yate. It does virtually everything I can imagine. The dev is very responsive to suggestions in my experience - quickly adding a feature I requested. I've had none of the crashing problems others have mentioned with this version.
Like (1)
Version 2.0
Cjbolland
01 February 2013
The previous version worked fine but this version crashes randomly when open several at the same time. Downloading art does not work as it should. It sometimes gives wrong album covers and locked the app on several occasions. This is intended to tag audio files and in some extend it does this good. But the unstable v2 is dreadful and a big step backwards. ATM not recommended to drop some coins.
Like
Version 2.0
2 answer(s)
Cjbolland
Cjbolland
01 February 2013
I can highly recommend Metadatics which is much much better and very stable and only costs $9 - a steal.
Like (1)
Liam-
Liam-
02 February 2013
Same here. Crashes at random on my MBP Retina
Like
Whateverrrr
06 October 2012
Seems like a great tagger & is as ALMOST as good as the tagger I used to use when I had a PC, and which to this day I still use as a Wine Bottled package on my Mac, Tag&Rename. Yate has virtually everything that Tag&Rename had but two things: 1) When renumbering the files, please give the user the option in the Preferences section, the ability to add a leading 0 or 00 to track numbers as well as retaining the current format that you use, as currently it's renumbering them "1 - Track Name". Sorry but not everyone likes that format, as I & other's prefer "01 - Track Name", etc... Obviously when you get to double digit numbers this is not needed... just for single digit numbers. I tried looking to see if there was another way round this using the "Multi Field Editor", but I couldn't work it out. If there is a way can you let us know ? 2) When using the "Rename" function the changes SHOULDN'T happen instantly, just in case you muck up & overwrite the original file name & lose the info from the file name before you even tagged the file properly first. Let the "Rename" happen on screen, and then give the user the option to "Save" it in exactly the same method as when you change the tag properties, e.g. Rename the file & the green status indicator changes to red & doesn't turn back to green until it's saved. It's a safer method. For me it would be a perfect replacement for Tag&Rename & I would happily purchase it, but only if & when these 2 requests can be made.
Like (1)
Version 1.1
1 answer(s)
Barryl
Barryl
11 October 2012
Hi, Thanks for you comments. I also used Tag&Rename back in my 'Windows days'. 1) Are you interested in the way track numbers display in the file list or how track numbers are applied when files are renamed? The file list currently displays numbers with no padding, although that could easily be a display option. When you rename files, track numbers can currently be inserted unpadded, padded to two characters or padded to three characters. In Preferences-Rename click on the '+' button to the right of the template field. You'll see options for 'Track', 'Track Pad2' and 'Track Pad3'. 2) There is a preview for rename. In Preferences-Rename choose the template you want to apply and have the files you want to test selected in the main file list. Click on the Preview button. You will be shown the effects of the rename on the files...including what will happen if the resultant path already exists and you have an ifDup tag in your template. If you like the displayed results you can do the rename from the preview. The status indicator changes to red when changes are detected to the tag information in the file. The act of renaming a file in itself should have no effect on the indicator. See if the field validation slider in Preferences-General is all the way to the right. If it is, the indicator will change immediately a change is detected. That being said, you are absolutely correct that Yate does not force you to rename on save and imposes no restrictions on the order of the rename and save operations. You can rename your files and then still back out of tag changes. Hopefully this answers your questions. If I'm missing something please let us know. You can reply here or contact us at support@2manyrobots.com.
Like (1)
iJohann
03 October 2012
Yate bills itself “for people who are serious about tagging”, and that sums it up pretty well. Yate has the most powerful feature set of all taggers I have tried. In particular its “actions” (in essence, macros you set up) let you quickly perform cleanup tasks and other repeating modifications. Yate can work on one folder of files at a time – the classical tagger mode – or it can work on arbitrarily large file selections, up to your whole collection. I am in the process of ripping my CD collection, and find this a lot easier with Yate than with iTunes or other taggers I’ve looked at – even though the interface, while OK, is not as slick as some other Mac apps’, and there is a moderate learning curve. The best feature of the application, however, may be the support. So far, I have contacted the developers with one payment problem (which was not their fault), two bugs and two enhancement requests. In each case, they promptly solved my problem or implemented my request. For those who do a lot of tagging, I consider Yate well worth the price.
Like (1)
Version 1.1
guhpla
11 September 2012
Great app! Being able to extract the rating from iTunes is a really great feature. I also really love the actions. I've gone back and fixed a lot of my tags, and have had no problems. Also the developers are easy to reach, I thought I found a bug and they got back to me very quickly to help me out. They seem very open to feature requests.
Like
Version 1.0.2
Old-Peter
31 August 2012
First, the GUI is rather a windows looking GUI instead of a clean OS X. Second, when adding a cover picture to a flac it does not hold it. Thirth, two mp3 files I tried to change the cover picture got corrupted. Mediainfo says it isn't a mp3 file anymore and iTunes does not play it anymore. Stopped demoing it.
Like (2)
Version 1.0.1
1 answer(s)
2ManyRobots
2ManyRobots
31 August 2012
Hi Old_guy. I'd love to see one of the mp3 files that is corrupted if possible. I really want to fix whatever is happening to your files. Internally we ran well over a quarter of a million files through Yate and that doesn't count whatever external testers did. If you're willing I'd also like to see whatever FLAC file didn't retain the artwork. Please get in touch with us at support@2manyrobots.com
Like (1)