Back to Tweetbot page
Tweetbot free download for Mac

Tweetbot Reviews

3.3.1
22 July 2019

Popular Twitter client.

JD-1
18 October 2012

Most helpful

Before I start, just want to clear my throat. Hold on a minute… Fuck You Twitter! There, that's better. I'm not usually a martyr, for any reason, least of all with commercial purchases, but in this case I felt I wanted to be. Because of Twitters insane new policy, Tapbots will have only so many of these that they can sell to try and make a decent return on all the work that have put in. As I already love my iOS versions of this app & even emailed them requesting a Mac version about 8 months ago, I'm glad to be able to purchase it. Sure, it would have been cheaper if Twitter, you know, just didn't, but they did. So yes, it's defiantly worth it. The other reviews here tell you all about how good the app is itself, I just wanted to chime in on the pricing. The one thing that concerns me is Twitter's new policies might turn off allot of folks and that with that, we might see Twitter become like My Space in the next 5 or so years, only to be replaced with something else. So be it. Somethings are worth it and this is one of them. Supporting Tapbots is also my way to say thanks for caring about what your customers think & thanks for creating & improving this great app!
Like (9)
Version 1.0

Read 77 Tweetbot User Reviews

Rate this app:

MacDefender
08 March 2019
Just would have bought it if right now it wasn't AppStore only. I won't pay for an app that phones home or uses the AppStore.
Like
Version 3.2.1
Annie-Walker
08 November 2018
Need Demo, please.
Like (3)
Version 3.2
tomwats
23 August 2018
For me, Tweetbot delivers the best experience when it comes to using Twitter on my Mac. I've been using the app since it first came out. I can also highly recommend the iPhone app.
Like
Version 3.1
Odysseus
18 August 2018
Removing features, even if necessary, does not justify an increase in the version number to 3.1.
Like (3)
Version 3.1
2 answer(s)
Odysseus
Odysseus
18 August 2018
My point is that .1 implies big improvements. It could have been incremented by .01
Like (1)
tx517
tx517
18 August 2018
If the version number is not changed, how can we distinguish it from the previous version?

A new version number is necessary. As the soft does not appear to have minor version numbers (e.g. 3.0.1), 3.1 is the only option.

Besides, even if it did have minor version numbers, this may not fit as the changes involved are important..
Like (2)
mberrios27
16 June 2018
Great
Like
Version 3.0.4
Marlo-R
11 June 2018
Why would I pay to use Twitter with this app when I can use Twitter for free on my phone and browser?
Like
Version 3.0.3
3 answer(s)
Annie-Walker
Annie-Walker
12 June 2018
Great question. Especially when there is no demo to try.
Like (1)
Odysseus
Odysseus
18 August 2018
Because Tweetbot and Twitterrific offer a much better experience of Twitter than the Twitter web site and apps.
Like (1)
tx517
tx517
18 August 2018
Why would you pay for a car when you can walk for free?

Twitter provides a more limited and cumbersome user experience.
Like (2)
SawtoothRising
24 May 2018
what's been improved in version 3 over version 2?
Like (2)
Version 3.0
Dr-Wingnut
22 May 2018
Upgraded to Tweetbot 3
Like
Version 3.0
Tripod2
16 May 2018
Nice upgrade to my favorite Twitter client. Twitter has delayed their API changes that would have changed the way 3rd party clients operate, so Tweetbot will live on!
Like
Version 3.0
1 answer(s)
Odysseus
Odysseus
18 August 2018
The days appear numbered, unfortunately.
Like
Nice follow Twitter new API with classic style. Tweetbot is a mental successor of Tweetie.
Like (1)
Version 2.5.1
TCalhau
04 May 2016
Simply perfect!
Like
Version 2.3.4
Donmontalvo
07 February 2016
2.3.4 works beautifully on 10.11.3.
Like
Version 2.3.4
Steve Payne
29 January 2016
The latest version (2.3.2) quits on startup every time on Yosemite. Definitely my favourite Twitter app, I hope this is fixed very soon
Like
Version 2.3.2
2 answer(s)
Bytes
Bytes
29 January 2016
Crashes on startup for me too. Thankfully I could revert to previous version. Wish I had seen Stevepayne's warning first.
Like
JD-1
JD-1
29 January 2016
Same here, crashes on startup.
Like
donikatz
31 December 2015
Great Twitter client. Until today, it was the only really good and actively-developed one for OS X left. But with Twitter for Mac 4.0 finally released today, I wouldn't have paid for this (yesterday!!). -0.5 because it's too expensive.
Like (1)
Version 2.3.1
dn-doss
22 December 2015
Cool! Just as the description.
Like
Version 2.3.1
StevensPeter
14 December 2015
My fav twitter client. Works smooth and fast. I bit expensive though and therefore 4.5/5 stars
Like
Version 2.3
Despicable-me
28 July 2015
The app isn't bad, but the price is too high, I guess. Twitterrific is cheaper, but offers similar if not identical functionality.
Like (1)
Version 2.0.2
Donmontalvo
01 July 2015
Thanks for the quick image preview fix in 2.0.2! Tweetbot has always been my favorite Twitter client! Smart design, easy to use, awesome!
Like
Version 2.0.1
CDavid
23 June 2015
I like the new design and the functionality of the updated Tweetbot. As it was mentioned in the comments, it is probably the best Twitter client on the market. For those who may think the price is too high, I would say it isn't. You will understand this immediately after you start using this application.
Like
Version 2.0.1
evilinstone
04 June 2015
New Design! Let's try this!
Like
Version 2.0
kingofnerds
03 October 2014
Best Twitter client ever!
Like
Version 1.6.1
JoeL4181
21 January 2014
Best Twitter client ever!!!! It's loaded with features and is easy to use. Love it!!!! At first I regretted paying the steep price of $20 but it's well worth it. Trust me!!!! I use it everyday!!!! So 5 Stars
Like (2)
Version 1.4.1
Donmontalvo
31 December 2013
IMHO the best Twitter client out there, compatible with OS X and iOS. Highly recommended.
Like (3)
Version 1.4.1
Spudboy
30 December 2013
After being a long time Twitterific fan, I broke down and bought Tweetbot. It's just so much better. See ya Twitterific.
Like (1)
Version 1.4.1
Mark-Lee
16 May 2013
15 bucks without even being able to try first? No thanks.
Like (8)
Version 1.2.2
3 answer(s)
Melman-Flink
Melman-Flink
31 May 2013
Reviews like yours are less than worthless.
Like (9)
F451
F451
01 June 2013
Mark, There is legitimate reason for the price: http://tapbots.com/blog/news/tweetbot-mac Also, they more than makeup for this forced discrepancy through generosity with their mobile Netbot for App.net and their mobile Tweetbot pricing. Tapbots is a solid and respected company.
Like (5)
Zephyris
Zephyris
12 July 2013
I agree on the pricing, I won't go as far as calling Tapbots respectable. Lets take their IOS app weightbot for example, completed ditched since 2010 and people are still buying it. It was last updated for IOS5.
Like (3)
larrymcj
14 March 2013
While I fully agree that Tweetbot is the best Twitter app in existence...it doesn't come without problems. The biggest is that it will not hide on login. I have it configured to open on login, and in my user settings have it checked to hide when opening. It ignores this and is the only app open on my desktop every time I restart. For as much as this app costs...it should behave a little better. Oh, and forget about email support...the folks at Tweetbot have yet to answer my support email question about this problem.
Like (5)
Version 1.2
asimo
06 March 2013
The best Twitter client currently on the market
Like
Version 1.2
wickedsp1d3r
14 December 2012
Thanks for the "All Tweets" -notification feature. However, I found a bug (or a feature?): "Pin timeline at top when at top" doesn't work when the app is hidden. Something like "Keep scrolled to top" -preference like in Osfoora would be really acceptable.
Like (2)
Version 1.1
anonymous-parakeet-3167
27 November 2012
Tried all the other Twitter clients, including Tweetdeck. None had all the features I wanted and they would often direct me to the Twitter web site to login to do certain things. This almost has it all, is easy to use and works well with its iOS companion. The only feature that I think is needed is scheduling tweets. You can save drafts, but you can't schedule.
Like (2)
Version 1.0.1
wickedsp1d3r
20 November 2012
There are two things that prevent me to use this as my primary Twitter client: ❗→ No notification when someone tweets ❗→ No "Keep Scrolled To Top" -behavior
Like (1)
Version 1.0.1
Woodjoe
12 November 2012
Tweetbot is the best native Twitter client on Mac. It is too expensive but this move was obvious because of the new API. I tried all clients available for Mac: From YoruFukurou, which is nice, but ugly to Osfoora, which is also very nice but has some flaws right now. I cannot use another client than Tweetbot. It is functional, it has sync options, it is beautiful. But it is expensive. So expensive that I, as a student, cannot afford to buy it. And this makes me sad. Shame on Twitter for this. I can definitively recommend this app to everyone who can afford the 20 bucks, though.
Like (1)
Version 1.0.1
Bigboysdad
10 November 2012
Happily paid for the upgrade, if you use Twitter a lot, then Tweetbot running side by side on Mac and iPhone is very good however, I do hope the following will eventually occur: 1) Better unread tweet notification from the Menu Bar/ Dock, that seems a bit limited at the moment. 2) Viewing of conversation threads automatically as opposed to this being a 2 step process. 3) The ability to always scroll to top with Tweetmarker, as this isn’t always consistent. I know that the developers work hard, so am confident the above features will happen sooner or later.
Like (1)
Version 1.0.1
WisdomL0RD
09 November 2012
Wonderful and easy to use Twitter client. Though not free everyone using Twitter should own this. Topper
Like
Version 1.0.1
Michel-Tribet
08 November 2012
Correct version is 1.0.1 not 1.1 ! Please correct that ! Thanks a lot !
Like (2)
Version 1.1
3 answer(s)
sjk
sjk
08 November 2012
The "Add/Update Listing" link at the bottom of each product listing page can be used to submit correct version#s and other changes.
Like
Michel-Tribet
Michel-Tribet
08 November 2012
OOOPS ! Seems I will need to change my eyes (and/or) glasses ! Sorry ! Michel
Like (1)
sjk
sjk
08 November 2012
I never noticed that link until someone's comment mentioned it. :)
Like
Fishscale
08 November 2012
@MU staff, I think the main title should be version 1.0.1 not v1.1… Updates has it correct but the main listing is incorrect. Thanks.
Like
Version 1.1
1 answer(s)
sjk
sjk
08 November 2012
The "Add/Update Listing" link at the bottom of each product listing page can be used to submit correct version#s and other changes.
Like
Rollerdl
25 October 2012
I've tried every twitter desktop app over the past couple of years looking for one that satisfied my taste. Full keyboard control was #1 on my list of things I looked for. Filters being #2. No matter which app I tried I always returned to Yorufukurou's twitter app. Yorufukoru was/is unsurpassed for keyboard control AND filtering by any other twitter app I've tried. Even when I used the Alpha and Beta versions of Tweetbot they kept me reaching for my trackball/mouse more than I wanted to and filtering was almost nonexistent. I still kept returning to Yorufukoru. Tapbot's Tweetbot for Mac finally left beta and was released as a paid final version. I had a big decision to make. Risk that the improvements to the final version be enough to warrant buying it and be satisfied and set Yorufukoru aside or get disappointed, lose my money and still again return to Yorufukoru? I decided to take a chance and bought Tweetbot for Mac a few days ago. I must say I'm impressed with the improvements to the final release. The keyboard control comes in an extremely close second only to Yorufukoru. Good enough for my liking. Filter still doesn't match Yorufukoru's but again it is good enough for what I want. I REALLY like Tweetbot for Mac. Enough so that I haven't opened Yorufukoru but only once since I bought tweetbot and that was on the first day when I bought tweetbot and wasn't fully familiar with it's improvements over tweetbots beta. Thanks Tapbot for a GREAT twitter app! :D
Like (1)
Version 1.0
enigma2k
20 October 2012
How does this API limitation impact having multiple accounts and using it on different computers? So if I buy it from the Appstore, am I still able to use it on different computers and can I still have multiple twitter accounts?
Like
Version 1.0
pershin
20 October 2012
Tweetbot has been awesome for years on iOS, and I've been using this since the alpha. the verdict? The competition doesn't come close - you can tell these guys have worked on every tiny detail to make this the best client for Twitter. When I saw the price tag I was a bit apprehensive, but we shouldn't let Twitter's restrictions force app developers out of the market leaving only Twitter's own…not so good alternatives. Getting this not only gives you the best experience of Twitter on the Mac, it supports folks who really need supporting as Twitter moves towards a more hostile developer environment.
Like (1)
Version 1.0
DBrown72
19 October 2012
I'd buy it right now if it could schedule tweets.
Like (1)
Version 1.0
stratmancj
19 October 2012
Syncs seamlessly with iOS apps ... beautifully done!
Like (2)
Version 1.0
JD-1
18 October 2012
Before I start, just want to clear my throat. Hold on a minute… Fuck You Twitter! There, that's better. I'm not usually a martyr, for any reason, least of all with commercial purchases, but in this case I felt I wanted to be. Because of Twitters insane new policy, Tapbots will have only so many of these that they can sell to try and make a decent return on all the work that have put in. As I already love my iOS versions of this app & even emailed them requesting a Mac version about 8 months ago, I'm glad to be able to purchase it. Sure, it would have been cheaper if Twitter, you know, just didn't, but they did. So yes, it's defiantly worth it. The other reviews here tell you all about how good the app is itself, I just wanted to chime in on the pricing. The one thing that concerns me is Twitter's new policies might turn off allot of folks and that with that, we might see Twitter become like My Space in the next 5 or so years, only to be replaced with something else. So be it. Somethings are worth it and this is one of them. Supporting Tapbots is also my way to say thanks for caring about what your customers think & thanks for creating & improving this great app!
Like (9)
Version 1.0
4 answer(s)
JD-1
JD-1
18 October 2012
Sorry, that should be "Definitely" not Defiantly.
Like (1)
SickTeddyBear
SickTeddyBear
18 October 2012
Actually, I think the word "defiantly" was appropriate to express your feelings, in this situation. ;-)
Like (3)
JD-1
JD-1
18 October 2012
You know I was thinking that as I was writing my correction. It DOES fit, doesn't it!
Like (1)
Egirao
Egirao
19 October 2012
agree 100% with you
Like (1)
Dmnelson
18 October 2012
I have to admit I was put off at first when I saw the price tag. But after reading their blog entry I understand. Due to Twitter's new API rules there is a very real limit to the number of copies they'll be able to sell, so it has to be worth their while. In an ideal world without Twitter API limits it would have been more like $10, but it's still a top-notch app and I am happy to support Tapbots by buying it. As for the app itself, I was already trying out the betas and have been using Tweetbot on my iPhone and iPad. Definitely a fan. It's easy to use but very functional. Supports the latest bells and whistles such as iCloud sync and Notification Center alerts.
Like (2)
Version 1.0
MacUpdate-Ryan
18 October 2012
Unfortunately because Twitter is now limiting the number of API tokens available, Tapbots has to charge a relatively high price for this wonderful application. This also means, that once the limit is reached, Tweetbot will no longer be for sale. It's absolutely worth the $19.99, and I'd recommend picking it up before it's no longer available.
Like (2)
Version 1.0
3 answer(s)
MrPeeps
MrPeeps
18 October 2012
How will updates come through the Mac App Store once the app is no longer for sale? I've never seen this before.
Like (1)
MacUpdate-Ryan
MacUpdate-Ryan
18 October 2012
It's possible for an item to be removed from sale, and still receive updates. Panic did this when they released Coda 2. The original Coda, while not available in the MAS anymore, can still receive updates. At the same time, Coda 2 is the only item a new customer would see as being available for purchase.
Like (3)
::mile::
::mile::
18 October 2012
Personally I don't really care why they (have to) charge such a high price, it's just too much for me spend on a twitter app…! :(
Like (6)
Bigboysdad
22 September 2012
It was excellent anyway, but has now overtaken Osfoora for me, simply because it correctly syncs my favourites. It’s little things like that make the difference in this crowded Twitter client market. The final version is going to be great, which will hopefully include the option to have the number of unread tweets shown in the Dock/ Menu Bar.
Like
Version 0.8.0
Jazzyguy
09 September 2012
I have Tweetbot and I never reviewed it . I ALSO have it in my iPad. It is a great app on both. I don't know why I am getting frowns because there is a Tweetbot app and it is a terrific one. It is for iPad and it is great. There was a little confusion on my part which is understandable. It in my opinion the best app for Twitter and I prefer it to the others for its style and GUI.
Like (1)
Version 0.8.0
SawtoothRising
04 September 2012
just some words of advice for the beta. If you didn't use the alpha version then the beta is closed to you as the developer has saw fit to limit the amount of users on the Mac version citing Twitter api limitations. Secondly if you run 10.8.0 there's a bug in the keychain access which may prevent you from accessing Twitter through TweetBot and will make it seem like your account has been de-authorised, ie take you to the blog page which tells you all about the beta and where you download the beta. There's 2 ways of fixing this, either update to 10.8.1 or go to keychain and allow all com.tapbot.Tweetbot.* keychains to be accessed by all applications which isn't secure.
Like (1)
Version 0.8.0
2 answer(s)
Odysseus
Odysseus
04 September 2012
I'm running 10.8.1, and Tweetbot takes me to the beta page. So will there be another beta that works around this?
Like
Gl0tzk0wski
Gl0tzk0wski
05 September 2012
Same issue, Tweetbot starts, opens the Beta-Page in browser and closed immediately (crashed?). Any ideas? =(
Like
Jazzyguy
03 September 2012
I bought the Beta and it is not in my application folder. I don't understand why I don't have it.
Like (1)
Version 0.7.0
3 answer(s)
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
04 September 2012
I got it and I am happy. The beta i bought was iOS not this one.
Like (1)
Kkthompson
Kkthompson
04 September 2012
The beta is free. How did you 'buy' it?
Like (2)
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
04 September 2012
The IOS beta is not free. I corrected my posting indicating that I installed the IOS for my iPad.
Like (1)
Jazzyguy
03 September 2012
Well it was good while it lasted. I really liked this app and am sorry to see it go.
Like (1)
Version 0.7.0
lance2355-1
22 August 2012
It's Tweetbot. For Mac. Which in itself is statement enough however what these guys put out as Alpha beats what others throw out as an actual release. Love this!
Like (1)
Version 0.7.0
d-tisdal
18 August 2012
Great app! Tweetbot is by far the best Twitter app for the Mac!
Like (1)
Version 0.7.0