Back to BlueStacks page
BlueStacks free download for Mac

BlueStacks Reviews

4.140.12
05 December 2019

Run Android applications on your Mac.

aquenoki
06 December 2018

Most helpful

Fantastic product. I didn't think I could ever achieve the level of lag and general non-compliance with a software that I had come to familiarize with my shotty android tablet. It being on my Mac and being even more difficult to download was a nice perk as well... after a lot of trial and error, troubleshooting, research on the new and "improved support" for Mac High Sierra; I had to go into system preferences, security and force allow the permission of this app. log in took a while, I thought "fine, I'm sure that's a one time thing as it's logging into my google account," but even thereafter the apps were just as long-loading, buggy and with all the lag and unexpected errors I had come to endear while playing on my droid device. TL;DR: If you're doing this to transfer clash Royale from a nonfunctioning droid to iOS, do this once and only once to log into facebook and then save the hard drive space and uninstall Bluestacks
Like (3)
Version 2.0.1

Read 51 BlueStacks User Reviews

Rate this app:

James
06 October 2019
Tried multiple times to install with the latest version from their website. Will not install properly as MacOS thinks it is corrupt. Overrode by installing as Root User. Crashes on launch. This used to work but no longer seems to. Suggest not wasting your time with the current version but waiting for an announcement of a new release after Oct 6, 2019 if there ever is one.
Like
Version 4.130.1
lugagu
16 August 2019
I am using High Sierra and the application is always "Starting the Engine". It doesn't work fine. Don't waste your time.
Like
Version 4.110.0
Starman535
01 August 2019
This app never works, so I just deleted it. Its a real waste of time.
Like
Version 4.110.0
alifarah427
31 December 2018
c keine Ahnung
Like
Version 2.0.1
aquenoki
06 December 2018
Fantastic product. I didn't think I could ever achieve the level of lag and general non-compliance with a software that I had come to familiarize with my shotty android tablet. It being on my Mac and being even more difficult to download was a nice perk as well... after a lot of trial and error, troubleshooting, research on the new and "improved support" for Mac High Sierra; I had to go into system preferences, security and force allow the permission of this app. log in took a while, I thought "fine, I'm sure that's a one time thing as it's logging into my google account," but even thereafter the apps were just as long-loading, buggy and with all the lag and unexpected errors I had come to endear while playing on my droid device. TL;DR: If you're doing this to transfer clash Royale from a nonfunctioning droid to iOS, do this once and only once to log into facebook and then save the hard drive space and uninstall Bluestacks
Like (3)
Version 2.0.1
iGMX
08 November 2018
Not worth the trouble. Even on an i7 MBP, Bluestacks is slow and buggy. I can't believe they even market this to play games with. It just amplifies the performance problems and general lag inherent in Android.
Like (3)
Version 2.0.1
jagonzalezh9
02 September 2018
well
Like
Version 2.0.0
gumbini
19 August 2018
worst thing i ever seen
Like (2)
Version 2.0.0
Starman535
12 July 2018
This app stinks, Tried to install ATT/Uverse app, and everytime it launches, it immediately crashes when you try to select a channel to watch. I have OS 10.13.6, (latest)
Like (1)
Version 2.0.0
diltajkhan123
23 June 2018
i . m be thank full
Like
Version 2.0.0
steven_colins
20 May 2018
I need bluestack to be install on my mac desktop
Like
Version 2.0.0
tannabusch
23 February 2018
Good app. Used it to play some android games.
Like
Version 0.9.30
daniele-ghedini
20 February 2018
È UNA FREGATURA, NON FUNZIONA
Like (1)
Version 0.9.30
anitramarchand
14 February 2018
great idea. but it hangs a lot
Like
Version 0.9.30
MichelInDaHouse
01 January 2018
Another failed Android emulator (Andy also does not install on High Sierra) - waste of time and effort :(((
Like
Version 0.9.30
Eebee
27 December 2017
impossible to install under High Sierra. BlueStacks says they no longer support Mac versions since as they put it: 'the number of Windows users is so much higher...'
Like (1)
Version 0.9.30
1 answer(s)
BryanatMU
BryanatMU
27 April 2018
New update available now for version 2.0.0. Currently works on High Sierra, though I had an issue getting it to load my Gmail account when I tested it today.
Like (1)
holabisi46
21 December 2017
Great
Like
Version 0.9.30
mcleanscott9498
25 January 2017
Hi Have an iMac version 10.12, I've installed blue stacks and when i open Mobdro, click on sports channel it quits Mobdro and goes back to blue stacks with no error commands at all....if anyone can help, thank you
Like
Version 0.9.30
1 answer(s)
steve2150
steve2150
02 February 2017
Having the same problem, soon as I click on any channel goes right back to mobdro
Like
Vyjvyjvhj
27 September 2016
fine but slow
Like (1)
Version 0.9.30
1 answer(s)
Ari-Tj
Ari-Tj
19 January 2017
I've tried Andy OS which much slower than Bluestacks. Still, no update since Aug 2015.
Like
jalboukhari
11 September 2016
I think that this program is good
Like
Version 0.9.30
theelevan
13 July 2016
When I'm using Mobdro on an imac, the gray shadowy bar at the top of the screen that says the name of the show on the left and has the resizing button on the right does not go away. When using an andriod device, it disappears when you touch the screen. I'll give this an easy 4 stars if someone can help me get rid of it. Thanks.
Like
Version 0.9.30
alloysiustristan
13 July 2016
i downloaded bluestacks on mac but i try to run it usuallyPlease login with an administrator account and try again..pls how do i go about with this?
Like
Version 0.9.30
1 answer(s)
Ari-Tj
Ari-Tj
19 January 2017
You have to login using a user with administrator's privilege. Once it get installed, you can run it using your current user..
Like
janmourik46
05 July 2016
Keyboard settings are not same as MAC, can't find the @ button
Like
Version 0.9.30
1 answer(s)
Kpgh554
Kpgh554
12 June 2017
try the ' button caps
Like
mariannebarmakellis
26 March 2016
I need help.. i think I might have downloaded the wrong blue stacks (not for mac) because whenever I want to chose a picture from my laptop it says that the 'windows' can't proceed! please help????
Like
Version 0.9.21
1 answer(s)
harry-smith226
harry-smith226
13 May 2016
I really appreciate your work because you have done really good work. Please update some more great great post and i really very enjoy this post. Buy new Playground tiles from http://playgroundtilesuk.co.uk/
Like
Lookky
16 October 2015
Some games don't work at all ie: "The Simpsons Tapped Out" I definitely recommend Andy OS very stable
Like
Version 0.9.21
mjroxasyumyumyum
22 July 2015
why I cant find clash of clans in my bluestacks? i used mac os x. please someone help me
Like
Version 0.9.21
1 answer(s)
Charles-Pickrell
Charles-Pickrell
26 July 2015
BlueStacks hides the Play store by default. I don't recall how I did it anymore but I got the Play store running and was able to find Clash of Clans just fine there. I think I changed the launcher by opening BlueStacks settings and then going to Advance Settings and then the Home option.
Like
adamsanto
13 July 2015
Great update. works beautifully on Yosemite. I used the previous version of Bluestacks which hadn't been updated in years and over time it became unusable; it would crash often, hang and eventually it would not allow me to even search for apps/games.

I resorted to a Windows VM, to run bluestacks to emulate android. Nightmare. I've only had the new update a few days, but I noticed a difference right away. The install is relatively quick, but the app itself is fast, responsive and just flat out works. That seems to be rare these days. Thank you, thank you, thank you for making this available for mac.
Like
Version 0.9.21
gregory-halgas
20 April 2015
Vainglory om mac
Like
Version 0.3.6.102
1 answer(s)
szh2006
szh2006
13 May 2015
hi, i have problem synch my apps and make mac hang. please help me out.
Like
georgeman
13 April 2015
Great!
Like
Version 0.3.6.102
charlie-bennett49
13 April 2015
SO so much better than the other crap out there. Good Good Good! Keep it going!
Like (1)
Version 0.3.6.102
Jake-Dodger
13 April 2015
Been using this for several months now. A bit resource-heavy but gets the job done when I'm trying to play Clash of Clans on my Mac (which is awesome btw). To the BlueStacks people - we want Showbox! Works on my friend's BlueStacks but flickers on my Macbook Air.
Like
Version 0.3.6.102
1 answer(s)
charlie-bennett49
charlie-bennett49
13 April 2015
Good stuff!
Like
Nevermore84
13 April 2015
Any program that lets me play my favorite phone games at work is alright with me. Bluestacks rocks.
Like (1)
Version 0.3.6.102
1 answer(s)
charlie-bennett49
charlie-bennett49
13 April 2015
Thats what Im saying!
Like
mattchurchill
13 April 2015
Thanks to BlueStacks, I can go hammer and tongs on Tinder while at work without anyone knowing what I'm up to! Looking forward to the latest version.
Like
Version 0.3.6.102
danny-dhillon
13 April 2015
Whaat, where did this come from? Love this app. Good stuff!! Gimme more, BlueStacks!
Like
Version 0.3.6.102
1 answer(s)
charlie-bennett49
charlie-bennett49
13 April 2015
Yea buddy!
Like
JohnnotJon
13 April 2015
Was looking for a way to run WhatsApp on my Mac and this is it. Better than Keanu Reeves in John Wick. Really awesome. Now if they can just make my Mac run faster...
Like (1)
Version 0.3.6.102
1 answer(s)
charlie-bennett49
charlie-bennett49
13 April 2015
John Wick is such a good movie!
Like
yyarovoy88
13 April 2015
This application lets me play Clash of Clans all day at work. It's really awesome. Can't wait for an updated version!
Like
Version 0.3.6.102
1 answer(s)
mjroxasyumyumyum
mjroxasyumyumyum
22 July 2015
hi how can i find clash of clans im using mac os x
Like
a-singh142
13 April 2015
Sweet, now I can get games on Mac!
Like
Version 0.3.6.102
Sorry - my ratings were accidental. (Would be nice if MacUpdate had a Cancel button!)
Like
Version 0.3.6.102
1 answer(s)
yossi-1
yossi-1
02 March 2015
Try Andy OS, www.andyroid.net, instead of an app player it emulates the entire OS.
Like
SaeedMI467
18 September 2014
Best Software
Like
Version 0.3.6.102
1 answer(s)
GodzFire
GodzFire
12 October 2014
Obviously a fake profile just trying to inflate it's rating.
Like (2)
Cowicide
24 July 2014
Aside from the other major issue I brought up below, I've noticed they don't update this thing for Mac at all. It's an afterthought for the Mac apparently and they even admit it within their own FAQ: " ... Why Has The Mac OS X Version Not Been Updated? Several MacOS X users have pointed out that our investments in the Windows version greatly exceed those for the MacOS X version. We can only apologize to you for our lack of support for the Mac platform. We do care about people who are using our Mac software. However, the growth in the number of Windows users has surpassed all expectations and it has indeed become a primary focus for our product organization, which has growing in a very measured way, unlike the explosive growth of our installed base. Thank you for your consideration, understanding and support. We do appreciate it very much. ... " Also, I haven't been able to copy and paste text between Bluestacks and my Mac which makes it pretty useless for a lot of apps unfortunately. Does anyone know of an alternative to Bluestacks? I'd love to find one that works properly and keeps up with Mac development. I wonder how long before this becomes abandonware for Mac.
Like
Version 0.3.6.102
2 answer(s)
Cowicide
Cowicide
24 July 2014
CowTip: This is pretty much useless on the Mac. I just installed this in a Windows virtual machine in Parallels and Android apps that refuse to run on this Mac version run fine there on the Windows version (except I can't get tilt to work, so that stinks). But, anyway, if you want to run Bluestacks on your Mac it's probably just best to install it on Parallels in Windows and run it there or some apps simply won't work.

This is just half-baked for Mac. On another note, I was unable to install the Windows version within Crossover unfortunately, so I had to use Parallels.
Like
GodzFire
GodzFire
12 October 2014
You're luckier than me Cow, I can't get a single version of Bluestacks to run on both my 32 and 64 bit versions of Windows 7 on Parallels. It installs, then just sits forever at Initializing and pegs the system to 100%. I've tried it with numerous versions they have.
Like
I-Love-Techno
05 January 2014
Not bad but takes minutes to load up and updates all the time. The app player itself hasn't updated in about a year though - at this rate they'll reach 1.0 in around a decade.
Like
Version 0.3.6.102
Ry-ma
15 September 2013
Even in the current version: this emulator definitely does not work as it should.
Like
Version 0.3.6.102
Cowicide
01 July 2013
BTW, MacUpdate this is now up to 0.3.6 As I mentioned, it DOES work at least in my limited testing with Google Play apps. It even works with my iSight camera, etc. But, there's a huge bummer that I can't ignore... WARNING: After further testing, I found that they install (without any option, notice or warning) a menubar app that runs nonstop on your Mac every time you start up your computer (you can quit it from the menubar at least). So far I've found that they've decided that I must want uHD-Agent in my Login Items which launches that menubar app every time I run my computer. Even after disabling the uHD-Agent from my Login Items, the Bluestacks app forced it BACK as a startup item AGAIN after I launched the app. Um, bluestack, we Mac users aren't like Windows users. You do that and we tend to get very angry. Make it OPTIONAL. Once this apps stops trying to force its unwanted menubar, etc. through its uHD-Agent, I'll consider rating this again perhaps. Bluestacks, ditch the uHD-Agent login item or make it OPTIONAL. I don't need more stuff cluttering up my computer. That's why I use a Mac.
Like (3)
Version 0.2.5.107
4 answer(s)
Jess-MacUpdate
Jess-MacUpdate
01 July 2013
Thanks for the heads-up, Cowicide. I backdated the listing to match the timestamp on the application: 21 March 2013.
Like
Strumsky
Strumsky
14 July 2013
This doesn't in any way exonerate BlueStacks but, for anyone curious and reading this thread, you can disable the memory-hogging uHD- programs by (1) quitting BlueStacks from the taskbar menu bar at the top of your screen - under the little BlueStacks icon; (2) opening Activity Monitor, then finding and "Quitting" the processes there; or maybe (3) during installation don't allow it to add it to the Dock - maybe that will stop the hitchhiking of this app. Note: Sophos labels the uHD programs as "trojans" for Windows machines (http://www.sophos.com/en-us/threat-center/threat-analyses/viruses-and-spyware/Troj~Agent-UHD.aspx).
Like (2)
rjjcvb
rjjcvb
21 November 2013
Just trash the following file: /Applications/BlueStacks.app/Contents/Runtime/uHD-Agent.app Problem solved.
Like
Cowicide
Cowicide
26 November 2013
rjjcvb, doesn't the app put if right back in there again after you run it again?
Like
Cowicide
30 June 2013
Tried again with 0.3.6 and it seems to be working quite well. It's still a confusing set up but I followed along slowly and now I'm running Android apps through Google Play on my Mac. Be aware it will install some launchagents on your Mac after you first launch BlueStacks called: logrotator, service, uninstallagent and updateragent. I will come back with a full review after further testing for stability, etc.
Like (1)
Version 0.2.5.107
Cowicide
03 February 2013
Buggy Hell on ANY platform. Even on Windows 7 this app is a nightmare. I keep getting stuck where it simply demands that you go "next" after telling it you do NOT want to sync to your Android phone. If FORCES you to put in an email again EVEN if you have previously already done so and it REFUSES to allow me to change the phone to to being off. Extrememly frustrating. It seems the developers are the type of devs who don't actaully USE what they make. Quality Assurance is out the window. BOO.
Like (2)
Version 0.2.5.107
Ry-ma
14 January 2013
Currently this software is useless on macintosh system.
Like (2)
Version 0.2.5.107
Bioxy
28 December 2012
Does BlueStacks make Mac OS X as insecure and allow privacy violations as much as Android? more so?
Like (2)
Version 0.2.5.107
1 answer(s)
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
11 January 2013
The Android apps themselves, malware or not, don't have a clue about OS X and couldn't do anything to it. HOWEVER, any Mac app could be a trojan. Considering Robio's malware report below: uHD-Agent is a WINDOWS-ONLY Trojan. So if uHD-Agent really is being installed, it's INERT on OS X, dead code. BFD if it's in your 'StartupItems' folder. Therefore: HUH? http://www.sophos.com/en-us/threat-center/threat-analyses/viruses-and-spyware/Troj~Agent-UHD.aspx
Like (1)
Robio
27 December 2012
Downloaded. Started up. But it never finished loading, even after 5m. And its various processes were sucking up huge amounts of CPU. I'll just keep using my Android for my Android apps. (Not sure what I was going to do with this anyway.)
Like (1)
Version 0.2.5.107
3 answer(s)
Robio
Robio
31 December 2012
UPDATE & ***WARNING***: This thing installs a TROJAN called uHD-Agent, which cannot be found in the Finder (even with hidden files turned on) to uninstall, and places it in your Startup Items. DO NOT DOWNLOAD!
Like (1)
Yuzver'
Yuzver'
09 January 2013
You are sure that it's trojan ?
Like
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
11 January 2013
Robio: I don't see the point of BlueStacks installing uHD-Agent on a Mac, seeing as uHD-Agent is a Windows-Only Trojan. It's inert on OS X, incapable of running. Even if it did magically run, it's looking for Windows and has not-a-clue about OS X. PLEASE: Post your source for this malware report or detail how you discovered the uHD-Agent infection. This isn't making sense so far.
Like
Tachy0n
05 October 2012
This is still a work in progress, so it's unfair to comment on the fact that you can't load any old Android executable in there, and you are using a mouse/trackpad where touch support is required. However I can comment that this app makes a background process called uHD-Kal run when you login and then a bunch of others called uHD-Pal. Each one uses up resources and I don't normally mind but this is up to 5% of my memory. Currently seeking the instructions on how to uninstall this.
Like (3)
Version 0.2.3.151
Awado
29 June 2012
Well, it actually DOES install on 10.7.4, at least on my MBP. It installs a kind of Android virtual machine, some launchd items and a bunch of android apps. Note that there is an menu item providing an uninstaller. But somehow all this is nothing I would call user friendly or "mac like".
Like (1)
Version 0.2.1.17
2 answer(s)
Acuraice
Acuraice
29 June 2012
even when i got the installer to complete,i was left with a folder called android apps in my applications folder,with a bunch of apps,none would open,no bluestacks app at all to launch,no menu item to uninstall since the menu item never ran correctly. Totally useless on 3.4 ghz intel quad core i7 27 inch imac,10.7.4,16 gigs of ram
Like (1)
edrin
edrin
05 July 2012
hi guys do u have any idea when ll come an update for installing ur android apk coz there are only 8 games. also i wanna say that i have mountain lion developer preview 4 and it works fine.there is no app apart in lunch pad or applications there is a folder on ur dock that has this apk that they ll open only if u click on them.if ur unistaller doesn't work u have app delete that delete all directories and folders that are related with that application
Like (1)