Keep your data private! Install Clario for mobile and desktop.
Try NowAd
Back to Dashlane page
Dashlane  free download for Mac

Dashlane Reviews

10 July 2021

Password manager and secure digital wallet.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
Sampler
Sampler
May 22 2021
6.2119.0
0.0
May 22 2021
0.0
Version: 6.2119.0
Does Dashlane allow entry of the master password with touch id?
crm2471
crm2471
Jan 5 2021
6.2048.0
3.0
Jan 5 2021
3.0
Version: 6.2048.0
Its good but the instructions for use don't always work for some essential albeit rare functions (like updating the master password after I was Phished for security reasons). If it allowed me to enter addresses as well (so it doubles as an address book where I could store everything) it would be perfect.
cathy247
cathy247
Sep 15 2020
6.2037.0
4.0
Sep 15 2020
4.0
Version: 6.2037.0
Works fine for me although I still use Contacts as well, it does things Dashlane doesn't. I need something that combines both of them.
drjeffreymaloney
drjeffreymaloney
Jan 27 2020
6.1948.0
1.0
Jan 27 2020
1.0
Version: 6.1948.0
They advertise that it is so easy to use. But I can’t figure it out and there’s no customer service. Just frustrated.
hmfwic47
hmfwic47
Oct 21 2019
6.1942.0
0.0
Oct 21 2019
0.0
Version: 6.1942.0
Does anybody know how to "Follow" an app like in the old system?
WetNet
WetNet
Oct 10 2019
6.1937.0
1.0
Oct 10 2019
1.0
Version: 6.1937.0
No thanks. . .crappy customer service made me consider other alternatives. I found that BitWarden is faster, simple to set up AND can import "vaults" from apps like 1Password.
Hanstyo
Hanstyo
Sep 22 2019
6.1935.0
5.0
Sep 22 2019
5.0
Version: 6.1935.0
I finally moved from 1Password to Dashlane after I got tired of the problems of the former with each upgrade. The change was much smoother than I had anticipated and I was set in a couple of hours. There is room for improvement - the site icons are way too big and thus making the list and gallery view inefficient but these are minor quibbles. The password insertion is much better than with 1Password and the price for unlimited devices per person at currentl4 $40 a year for premium is much more reasonable than 1Password. And most important: no problems with the Safari 13 upgrade.
orsobou4
orsobou4
Sep 4 2019
6.1935.0
1.0
Sep 4 2019
1.0
Version: 6.1935.0
The first time I ran Dashlane after installing it, it would not work. It just kept alerting me to fill in my name and birthdate, and then, the procedure repeated itself until infinity.
zlazkow
zlazkow
Sep 4 2019
6.1935.0
1.0
Sep 4 2019
1.0
Version: 6.1935.0
Not related, but I have to comment on the new MU format. It is BAD. what was wrong with the previous forum format??? It was compact, easy on the eye, inviting.. This current style is toooo spread, hard to concentrate, and I'll think twice before every visit. I have a shop on Etsy, they also did this ugly thing with the forums. Most people are extremely not happy with that, and stopped coming all together.
swalt
swalt
Aug 16 2019
6.1931.0
5.0
Aug 16 2019
5.0
Version: 6.1931.0
Very happy with this app. Easy to use, works like charm.
Sleek
Sleek
Apr 4 2019
6.1913.0
0.0
Apr 4 2019
0.0
Version: 6.1913.0
Why People want to give their Login/Password Information to others when they can save with Stickies, Text edit, or any other Text, RTF, or Doc on their Computer, Smart Phone or Tablets? Are People turning Caveman that without thinking use this kind of app.
Paganel
Paganel
Feb 13 2019
6.1905.1
0.5
Feb 13 2019
0.5
Version: 6.1905.1
I recently had problems with registration, wrote to the support service and had not received an answer for two weeks already ... How do you think you should trust them?
CH2985
CH2985
Jan 31 2019
6.1903.0
5.0
Jan 31 2019
5.0
Version: 6.1903.0
a great app for someone that has had brain surgery like me & can't remember very many thing anyway...
ShotBlocker
ShotBlocker
Nov 5 2018
6.1841.0
0.0
Nov 5 2018
0.0
Version: 6.1841.0
"Free?" Please. The crippleware (or "dumb down" if you prefer) version is "free." It stores "up to 50 passwords." Dear friends, if all you have to manage is 50 passwords, a password manager is way overkill. Keychain Access, the password storage function in your browser, or even an Excel spreadsheet should be more than sufficient. For everyone else, the "Free" Dashlane is just a deceptive come-on, because you'll need, at minimum, the "Premium" version for which you'll pay an annual fee. As someone below noted, the price for the "Premium" version is pretty much in line with 1Password's. Why MacUpdate lets companies indulge in such deceitful advertising is beyond me. And the reviews: which version, "Free," "Premium," or "Premium Plus," do the Dashlane reviews pertain to? Surely no one could give a 5-star review to a password manager that manages a max of 50 passwords. Such a review is worthless. Of course, this isn't limited to Dashlane. MacUpdate allows vendors to post the price of the least expensive alternatives of their software. And the reviewers don't need to specify which version their comments apply to. Also, I am more than willing to pay for software. I don't expect quality software to be free, or that someone else's hard work should be uncompensated. But please be honest about the real costs and let the buyer decide.
Romalasa
Romalasa
Oct 2 2018
6.5.0
5.0
Oct 2 2018
5.0
Version: 6.5.0
Fastest, easiest to use, completely secure (I forgot the master password & had to reinstall & re-input all my data, no way to hack it) & really friendly, my wife can use it, and she is a luddite as far as computers are concerned.
Erickb
Erickb
Aug 9 2018
6.1.0
5.0
Aug 9 2018
5.0
Version: 6.1.0
After using for about a week, I can say I am very happy with the program and the way it works automatically filling in passwords. Works much better and easier than 1Password which I used for many years.
Just-Fred
Just-Fred
Aug 9 2018
6.1.0
3.0
Aug 9 2018
3.0
Version: 6.1.0
A once-terrific password management program has become terribly buggy as of v6.x. The ability to login in at startup using the Touch Bar has been rendered useless. The requirement to sync the browser extension with the app doesn't work most of the time. Leaving a comment on the website results in a "we'll get back to you" auto-response and nothing more. Like @Edeerly, I've been a -paying- customer for years, so this latest development is disheartening. C'mon, Dashlane, stop succumbing to "feature creep" and get back to a solid, secure password manager!
Robns
Robns
Aug 7 2018
6.1.0
5.0
Aug 7 2018
5.0
Version: 6.1.0
Works well for me, storing my important information on a variety of platforms.
Megavolt17
Megavolt17
Aug 2 2018
6.0.1
0.5
Aug 2 2018
0.5
Version: 6.0.1
Since 1Password moved to a subscription basis I've been looking for an alternative. This gets 5 stars in all the magazine reviews (although PC UK disclaimed they were paid to advertise for Dashlane) This program is definitely not "The One" for me. First, it does NOT work with Microsoft Edge. They want you to switch back to Internet Explorer (which is not even supported by Microsoft any longer). 1Password is not perfect syncing with Edge, but at least it usually works and is supported. Second any atypical login screen stumps it. And if it THINKS it can log in it will submit again and again when you you go to the login screen, ultimately locking you out of your account. I have many web sites that have a button to click saying you agree with their terms - sorry, Dashlane can't help you on these. Does your login require an access, then a verify key? Sorry, can't do that either. If you type it manually is saves it, but now you have 2 logins with the same domain name and it has no clue which to use (usually guesses wrong) the next time you try to login. Now I am locked out of another account. The automatic password change feature is nice, but out of 335 passwords I have it only found 6 that were supported by that feature. 2 factor login is the "newest thing", but it's a royal pain to have to pull up your phone, the code app, type the code in your computer. Then I was thinking this makes it harder for me, and someone hacking into my account (unless they also stole my. phone), but the master password I selected was 8 characters with numbers and symbols - not really secure for anyone who broke into the Dashlane server and tried to hack my account using brute force. 1Password has a complex key and a master password. Nobody knows my complex key, but it's stored on my password secured devices. Even if people broke into 1Password and told date, then used brute force to break my master password they could NEVER guess my 16 digit complex key too. That and it's a lot easier to use on my computer, iPhone, etc. 1Password lets me click an "I accept" button without getting confused about how to fill in the password. If something has an access and a verify code I save it at normal password, and call the next screen something like "verify code" which 1Password then keeps track of for me.
hossenie
hossenie
Jul 28 2018
5.17.0
5.0
Jul 28 2018
5.0
Version: 5.17.0
Excellent App for password storage - very user friendly and thanks for keeping it free.
Zapp-Brannigan
Zapp-Brannigan
Jul 26 2018
5.17.0
1.0
Jul 26 2018
1.0
Version: 5.17.0
I've tried LastPass and Dashlane. Both are very similar except pricing. Also, Dashlane is now at v6. They also changed their pricing structure to $4.99 a month (about $60/year) and there's no way to contact them about pre-sales questions. It's also not very good compared to LastPass. Very buggy. I set preferences and it just ignores them. The free version does everything but sync your accounts between devices. So if you make any password changes on your Mac and then use Dashlane for android, it won't see those updates/changes. You get a 30-day trial period with all features, so use that time to sync your accounts and then just stay with the free version. Until they lower the price to what other password managers charge, avoid this and find a more reasonable solution. You can export your passwords and accounts and import them into another program (at least I think you still can).
rickkman-2
rickkman-2
Jun 9 2018
5.13.1
5.0
Jun 9 2018
5.0
Version: 5.13.1
Great program, too expensive
ben-marko
ben-marko
May 28 2018
5.13.1
3.0
May 28 2018
3.0
Version: 5.13.1
It works very well, just as advertised. But I am sticking with 1Password for now. 1Password has more ways to organize your information (passwords, bank accounts, etc.) Dashlane is much more simplistic in its GUI. Also, Dashlane only offers synchronization across devices (between macOS and iOS) with the paid subscription model. 1Password offers this feature for free. That is a huge advantage for 1Password, IMHO. So only 3 stars for now. Cross-device sync shouldn't be a paid feature.
StrictlyR
StrictlyR
May 1 2018
5.10.0
0.5
May 1 2018
0.5
Version: 5.10.0
Freezes Mac all the time when importing PWs from Google Chrome. Payment model also not a real alternative to 1Password, basically the same. User friendliness a real pain...
anonymous-squid-3114
anonymous-squid-3114
Feb 13 2018
5.5.0
4.5
Feb 13 2018
4.5
Version: 5.5.0
Just great app for passwords, id`s or cc info
Edeerly
Edeerly
Sep 6 2017
4.8.4
5.0
Sep 6 2017
5.0
Version: 4.8.4
I've been a dedicated 1password user for so long, I can't remember how many years. That said, their new subscription model made me consider evaluating other apps. Dashlane has come out far and away on top, with 2-factor auth, intelligent sharing, automatic password changing, and responsive automatic logins across all devices.
Jlock
Jlock
Mar 23 2017
4.7.0
5.0
Mar 23 2017
5.0
Version: 4.7.0
This app is amazing. It takes the complexity of remembering passwords and takes it right out of my life. Not only that, but it does so much more. Want to have your receipts saved without even having to think about it? Done. Want it to autofill your information? Done. When you decide to change the password of an account you don't even have to login, put the old password in, and then change it. All of this is done FOR YOU within the app. 10/10 would recommend this app to everyone.
James
James
Mar 14 2017
4.6.8
0.0
Mar 14 2017
0.0
Version: 4.6.8
Product comes in to flavors. Paid version, which is subscription based, is $40 a year. Unlike many such products the free version is more than a trial version and is not just crippleware. It has many useful features. The paid version simply adds additional features that might interest some users.. I suspect that the free version may be all that's needed for many users. They do have a web page that compares the 2 versions.
anonymous-gerbil-5319
anonymous-gerbil-5319
Mar 3 2017
4.6.6
4.0
Mar 3 2017
4.0
Version: 4.6.6
After using 1PassWord for a decade, I switched to DashLane. I was not happy with 1Password customer service and implementation of their subscription model. Switched to a paid premium account for DashLane. Imported my 1PW records in less than a minute. Had one question for support and was answered within a day and to the point. Have not found any issue with DashLane so far and perfectly happy using it on 3 macs and 2 iOS devices. There is an issue with installing it on iOS < 10, but there is a workaround for that.
Hendricx
Hendricx
Feb 10 2017
4.6.6
5.0
Feb 10 2017
5.0
Version: 4.6.6
Uber great app. Great for keeping your password aligned. The devs could easily ask money for this. Thank you for keeping this free. Kudos for the devs
Big Boy
Big Boy
Nov 1 2016
4.6.1
4.5
Nov 1 2016
4.5
Version: 4.6.1
The service is awesome! Helpful and reliable. I have only positive experience with it so far.
bookerrey
bookerrey
Sep 27 2016
4.6.0
5.0
Sep 27 2016
5.0
Version: 4.6.0
This app facilitated my work a lot. Now I do not worry about my passwords and my private information. Excellent.
Nuttawut
Nuttawut
Jun 22 2016
4.0.1
5.0
Jun 22 2016
5.0
Version: 4.0.1
Awesome software. Makes life so much easier. i wish I had found it ages ago. Highly recommended.
RogerKatz
RogerKatz
Jun 11 2016
4.0.1
0.0
Jun 11 2016
0.0
Version: 4.0.1
version 4.5.00 is available
alexis-5
alexis-5
May 15 2016
4.0.1
4.5
May 15 2016
4.5
Version: 4.0.1
Works every time and saves a lot of time.
Djefis
Djefis
Mar 29 2016
4.0.1
4.0
Mar 29 2016
4.0
Version: 4.0.1
Good application, but the safari extension often freezes.
Shooters
Shooters
Jan 26 2016
4.0.0
5.0
Jan 26 2016
5.0
Version: 4.0.0
Only discovered this app today and boy, why on earth did I missed this in the past. atm I use 1Password with varying success but in general 1Password is not bad and works fine but always disliked the GUI. Anyhow, now that I discovered Dashlane I will not look back and forget about 1Password. Dashlane does the same but with style. I mean, the GUI is absolutely bang on! Very nice, simple to use and above all you get the feeling you have FULL control over your password and where it is used. Every 1Password users should try this for sure. BRILLIANT APP !!
James
James
Jan 16 2016
4.0.0
0.0
Jan 16 2016
0.0
Version: 4.0.0
At $40 a year to access all its features, including some very useful ones, it is just to expensive for me compared to some other products.
Steinar-Helgesen
Steinar-Helgesen
Oct 1 2014
3.0.3.70921
4.0
Oct 1 2014
4.0
Version: 3.0.3.70921
I like the program but needs update for Yosemite 10.10 soon, GM is out.
Hal2007
Hal2007
Feb 24 2014
2.4.0
0.0
Feb 24 2014
0.0
Version: 2.4.0
Still a great, useful and trustworthy software. I wonder though, why the MacAppStore version is at 2.2.5 whereas the free version (that I cannot use because of the installed MAS version) is already at 2.4.0. Is there an update in the works that is still in Apple's approval queue...?
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
Feb 24 2014
2.4.0
5.0
Feb 24 2014
5.0
Version: 2.4.0
I like it! It is free and it is a good app.
James
James
Feb 23 2014
2.4.0
0.0
Feb 23 2014
0.0
Version: 2.4.0
Wonder if it is really needed for OSX 10.9 (Mavericks). Safari Autofill puts in the shipping and billing information with a single click on its icon and fills in the credit card info when the field is clicked, except for the security code, which is good.
Rjmorita
Rjmorita
Nov 17 2013
2.2.5
4.0
Nov 17 2013
4.0
Version: 2.2.5
It keeps me from having to enter the same information over and over again. I'll be lost without it.
Maylbu
Maylbu
Oct 15 2013
2.0.0
1.0
Oct 15 2013
1.0
Version: 2.0.0
It doesn't work well at all. Deleting after 3 months, wasted my money. It hardly gets the pw and user name right.
Dushi
Dushi
Sep 2 2013
2.0.0
4.0
Sep 2 2013
4.0
Version: 2.0.0
Longtime 1Password user, but was looking for something different, Dashlane is very simple to use, nice interface.
TR2
TR2
Jun 6 2013
2.0.0
2.0
Jun 6 2013
2.0
Version: 2.0.0
it does'nt work with OS X 10.6 (Dashlane 2.0.0) is it only for Lion and/or Mountain Lion ? ;-(
SickTeddyBear
SickTeddyBear
Jun 6 2013
2.0.0
0.0
Jun 6 2013
0.0
Version: 2.0.0
"The other big change in Dashlane 2.0 isn’t quite so joyous. True, Dashlane can wirelessly synchronize all your passwords between your computer and phone, so that the phone, too, automatically enters them as you surf. But in 2.0, that feature now costs $20 a year." http://nytimes.com/2013/06/06/technology/personaltech/too-many-passwords-and-no-way-to-remember-them-until-now.html
Solefald
Solefald
May 28 2013
1.7.5
4.0
May 28 2013
4.0
Version: 1.7.5
Long time 1Password user here. Tried to import all my data from 1Password and the only thing it imported were my web passwords. No secure notes, no credit cards, no software serial numbers, no regular server/unix logins. Just web passwords. Emailed support with no response as of yet. Interface is OK, but rather simplistic. I dont need huge tiles to display my password. I'd like to see a compact list. I also don't want the app to nag me about insecure passwords. Some of them are insecure for a reason. I want to be able to ignore that. Some site icons are huge. Some are tiny. Please fix it. Not a bad app, needs some work though. I am looking forward to using it when it matures, but for now it provides no benefit to me.
macus
macus
Feb 12 2013
1.7.5
0.0
Feb 12 2013
0.0
Version: 1.7.5
The current version crashes on launch on my system (Mac Pro with 10.8.2) Have any other experienced similar difficulties. Happens even with a smart boot and extensions disabled.
Robtpatrick
Robtpatrick
Sep 13 2012
1.4.0
5.0
Sep 13 2012
5.0
Version: 1.4.0
Most of the reviews have exhibited "skepticism" instead of fact and a valid reason. After downloading and putting Dashlane in the applications folder, I signed up and set up my account; like Clipperz and others, this program uses AES-256 encryption which means it not only is stored on your computer, but Dashlane does not retain or know your password; what you created you must remember; it works with the major browsers except Opera, by storing what is in the browsers password file, and user names. Since this program is like IPassword, Last Pass, and others, it works the same way in retaining your save information. Thee is no need to exhibit "skepticism" when Last Pass, I Password and others do a similar or same job; this is another program which makes saving information and making a purchase easy; either CNet or a similar source gave it a 4.5 out of 5; that is not exhibiting "skepticism" it is giving me facts which I used; you also have the option to save your purchase receipt!