Back to Sync Folders Pro page
Sync Folders Pro free download for Mac

Sync Folders Pro Reviews4.5.4

20 September 2021

Bootable backup on an external drive (SSD, HDD).

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
Muck-Raker
Muck-Raker
Aug 18 2021
4.4.5
0.0
Aug 18 2021
0.0
Version: 4.4.5
I've used this app for the last three years, and have had no issues with it. It does its job in a simple, reliable way - not intrusive, no constant notifications or comment from the app. Started to use it for sytem backup as well, and while I have not had to renew the system from the backup, it has copied all important files well.
Fishboy
Fishboy
Jul 25 2021
4.4.2
0.0
Jul 25 2021
0.0
Version: 4.4.2
MacUpdate should delete all of the obviously fake 5-star reviews posted for this app. It reflects poorly on the website when this is continually allowed.
chris-461
chris-461
Apr 11 2021
4.3
5.0
Apr 11 2021
5.0
Version: 4.3
I have been using Sync Folders Pro for some time now and it is so useful for keeping all my important files synchronised both on my off-site storage and my local storage. It is so extremely easy to use, and you can keep older versions of your files it's so easy in the settings. Keeping your important files safe is key to ensuring that you don’t loose anything and because of the multiple features available you can use it simply or get more complicated. A great product and well worth the reasonable cost of the app.
drfredn-1
drfredn-1
Apr 10 2021
4.3
5.0
Apr 10 2021
5.0
Version: 4.3
I use Sync Folders Pro to check multiple "Very Important" folders on my schedule and then duplicate them to an external backup drive as an additional backup in combination with Time Machine and Carbon Copy Cloner. This assures that my most valuable files are always backed up multiple times, to multiple destinations. It even provides backup for my iCloud folder. Excellent.
Kolba
Kolba
Mar 1 2021
4.3
5.0
Mar 1 2021
5.0
Version: 4.3
I've been using Sync Folders Pro routinely for many, many years. It has always worked for me. Now I use it to back up and sync my work folders to five different locations, with never an error. I truly rely on it. Once you set it up, it works at the touch of a button, or you can automate it (I use both ways for different sets of folders). I strongly recommend it!
ilckbh
ilckbh
Mar 1 2021
4.3
4.0
Mar 1 2021
4.0
Version: 4.3
Jeg har brugt dette program i lang tid, som en sikker backup / sync af mine data. I have used this program for a Long time as a Secure Way to backup / sync all my data.
mnasiris
mnasiris
Jan 31 2021
4.2
5.0
Jan 31 2021
5.0
Version: 4.2
This is the app that make your life easy. With this app, I can just updates all my cloud storages such as Box and Dropbox and my local as well as external drives with just a single click. I have not found any other app that could do the same. So, believe me, if you invest in this app you won't regret at all, just like me. Thank you developer(s).
Nakane
Nakane
Jan 26 2021
4.2
5.0
Jan 26 2021
5.0
Version: 4.2
I've been using various backup software for many years, but at the moment this software is the easiest to use. I use this software for daily backup. I recommend this software to anyone looking for a good backup software.
ken-129
ken-129
Sep 24 2020
4.1
5.0
Sep 24 2020
5.0
Version: 4.1
I had beern using a competitors product for years and I thought it was doing an adaquate job. Then I noticed that some of the date data was not being synchronized. I then gave several synchronizing applications a more thorough testing. Many just didn't perform as expected. I wanted a synchronization application that was intuitive and would simply run in the background without me having to constantly babysit. I found that in Sync Folders Pro, hands down above the rest. It takes a bit of getting used to if you have been using something else, but it just works, and all by itself. I am a happy camper and I highly recommend Sync Folders Pro if you want to automate the synchronization processes on your computer.
hansnieuws
hansnieuws
Sep 23 2020
4.1
4.0
Sep 23 2020
4.0
Version: 4.1
I've been looking for a good app to synchronize my photos from external drive to my NAS. This app fits the purpose. Very handy to schedule to synchronize. Take your time to set it up properly.
izaks09
izaks09
Sep 22 2020
4.1
5.0
Sep 22 2020
5.0
Version: 4.1
What a brilliant App. I recommend it and consider it a NEED to HAVE app. Well done to the dev team
kosovarnye@yahoo-com
kosovarnye@yahoo-com
Aug 12 2020
3.5.3
1.0
Aug 12 2020
1.0
Version: 3.5.3
Too bad I can't give this a half-star rating! I paid for the Pro version of this app and it more or less worked ONCE, syncing 2 folders, but then it stopped working altogether. Ever the optimist, I worked for hours over a period of months, tinkering with the settings and trying every power-user trick in the book to get it to work, but to no avail. In an ideal world, the developer would owe me a refund and an apology for wasting my time.
joko9220
joko9220
Jul 3 2020
3.5.3
4.0
Jul 3 2020
4.0
Version: 3.5.3
I am very happy to use Sync Folders Pro. I highly recommend this program. I now only use the program to backup my drives, it is very easy and fast and can be learned quickly. The program works very fast and error free on my Mac. But the program can also be set to perform very advanced tasks with copying and synchronizing large amounts of files, there are a lot of possible settings, but this requires getting to know the program better. The program provides a link to a very good online manual at http://www.greenworldsoft.com.
duddleyworldwide
duddleyworldwide
Feb 7 2020
3.5.2
4.0
Feb 7 2020
4.0
Version: 3.5.2
Love SyncFolders. Clean, fast, easy to use — unlike many other solutions. The interface is a little "oldy worldy" and thankfully its feature set more than makes up for this I wonder this: is Sync Folders Pro FASTER?
duddleyworldwide
duddleyworldwide
Feb 7 2020
3.5.2
4.0
Feb 7 2020
4.0
Version: 3.5.2
Love SyncFolders. Clean, fast, easy to use — unlike many other solutions. I wonder this: is Sync Folders Pro FASTER?
pal-refvem
pal-refvem
May 28 2018
3.4.4
3.0
May 28 2018
3.0
Version: 3.4.4
SW is not so easy to use in my opinion. I have used it to sync an external drive with a NAS. I am missing the possibility to preview files that is going to be copied in a sync.
Jeff-h
Jeff-h
Sep 15 2017
3.3.7
4.5
Sep 15 2017
4.5
Version: 3.3.7
Works great. I use it to sync folders on my iMac to a windows machine on the same network and it works like a charm.
cjred
cjred
Jul 27 2017
3.3.7
1.0
Jul 27 2017
1.0
Version: 3.3.7
NO
fonzie2405
fonzie2405
Jun 18 2017
3.3.5
4.5
Jun 18 2017
4.5
Version: 3.3.5
Sync Folders Pro is a great app. It helps me to archive my photo’s on a NAS without me having to worry that it goes right. I’m using is for a few years now and it is worth every penny I paid for it. It’s easy to operate, even has my language, Dutch.
vidmedek
vidmedek
Jun 9 2017
3.3.4
5.0
Jun 9 2017
5.0
Version: 3.3.4
The small app with big possibilities! Fast, simple visual synchronization and backup. All settings are easy and very usable. For me it's real almost everyday helper. Great!
Y-Guy
Y-Guy
May 18 2017
3.3.4
5.0
May 18 2017
5.0
Version: 3.3.4
I've used the free version for months, it did a great job for my needs, but as I began to use it more I realized the pro features would make my life even easier, quicker and reduce time I was spending. After upgrading I couldn't be happier, it's doing everything I need. Allows me to back up several folders from my Mac to our Server once a day, protecting me better then just my local Time Machine backups. I should have upgraded months ago!
dominic-sagar
dominic-sagar
May 9 2017
3.3.4
5.0
May 9 2017
5.0
Version: 3.3.4
I couldn't be happier with this software. I used Sync Folders for about a year to back up my photographs. It was easy to use but it could not back up multiple folders. I decide to upgrade to the full version to get that functionality. It works like a charm and makes backing up multiple folders a breeze. My next objective is to set up synchronization across multiple machines.
TobySimkin
TobySimkin
Mar 19 2017
3.3.3
5.0
Mar 19 2017
5.0
Version: 3.3.3
This best of breed app greatly simplifies backup synchronization of over 1 million files in thousands of folders from my RAID0 32TB thunderbolt drive to an array of 8TB thunderbolt drives. Gives peace of mind to know that all are in perfect sync. For me a better solution than losing up to 50% of the TB space in a different RAID configuration. Simple to use, highly recommended.
norbert-mikolajczyk
norbert-mikolajczyk
Mar 10 2017
3.3.3
5.0
Mar 10 2017
5.0
Version: 3.3.3
Really great, better and more reliable than my old syncing apps. I'm syncing projects folder from my NAS to my Mac Pro, works very fast, highly recommended!
frank824
frank824
Feb 12 2017
3.3.3
5.0
Feb 12 2017
5.0
Version: 3.3.3
I have duplicate versions of every file, every folder, on my Mac or external hard drives - music, photos, documents, movies, etc.. When you are dealing with thousands of items it is easy to forget to backup a file or folder. Or you can wind up with triplicates. This can be a very frustrating and time-consuming process. I first tried the free version of Sync Folders but very quickly upgraded to the Pro version because to the additional synchronization modes. It's a great app It does exactly what I need it to do and does it easily. The feature that I really appreciate it the folder that is created to save deleted files. It provides a feeling of safety that files or folders are not going to be accidentally be eliminated. Highly recommended.
EnricoBara
EnricoBara
Jan 27 2017
3.3.3
5.0
Jan 27 2017
5.0
Version: 3.3.3
I use SFP for sharing the photos' archive of the amusement park where i'm working in, from my drive to the NAS, so the other people in the organisation can view and use the photos without the risk of delete or rename something and keeping the fastness of my thunderbolt drive. SFP is really simple to use and it can be adapted to any use. I also use it to transfer print files from the FTP folder (in the same NAS) to my drive, for archiving my print files and the agency files in the same location. I had some problems interfacing correctly the NAS with the app, but the FAQ support already have the solution of every problem. I really happy about my purchase, thanks GreenWorldSoft!
h-faller
h-faller
Jan 25 2017
3.3.3
5.0
Jan 25 2017
5.0
Version: 3.3.3
Had already tried several apps, but was always dissatisfied with the performance, the operation or the functions. With Sync Folder Pro 3.3.3 I have exactly what I expect from such App at a fair price. I backup all data from my Mac to USB or Network disk in addition to Time Machine. The app is like I find easy to use and doesn't kill me with infinite settings and parameters. Manuel and cyclic backups are quickly configured. Files that are deleted on the backup volume can be temporarily saved separately in an extra folder. This gives me much more security, control and overview about all files and changes.
JamesHarrisPhoto
JamesHarrisPhoto
Jan 21 2017
3.3.3
0.0
Jan 21 2017
0.0
Version: 3.3.3
A lot of 5-star reviews from users who never reviewed any other software. Things that make you go "hmmm....".
Larry-Phillips
Larry-Phillips
Jan 20 2017
3.3.2
5.0
Jan 20 2017
5.0
Version: 3.3.2
This app does a great job of synchronizing all my data and photo files. I use it primarily to sync my genealogical research files that I generate both at home and in the field while doing research. Once you read the documentation it’s easy to set up the exact type of synchronization that is needed for your special circumstances.
abhmac
abhmac
Jan 8 2017
3.3.2
5.0
Jan 8 2017
5.0
Version: 3.3.2
Absolutely perfect and easy. I have all my document safed. Quick, safe, easy and cheap. Who can give me more?
Nexdone
Nexdone
Jan 5 2017
3.3.2
0.0
Jan 5 2017
0.0
Version: 3.3.2
Great piece of software. Fast and very easy to use. Super application. Très rapide et très facile d’utilisation.
Carlosinter
Carlosinter
Jan 4 2017
3.3.2
5.0
Jan 4 2017
5.0
Version: 3.3.2
Funciona bien, es sencilla, aunque tiene muchos parámetros para confugurar ampliamente si se desea un mejor control de las operaciones que realiza la aplicación. Tiene varios modos para realizar la sincronización, desde una simple copia de seguridad de un disco a otro (incluido borrado de archivos y actualización de los modificados) hasta la perfecta sincronización bidireccional. Usa una carpeta especial para depositar archivos movidos o borrados, opción interesante y configurable para recuperar datos en caso de error o acción involuntaria. Muy recomendable.
whidbeyben
whidbeyben
Dec 31 2016
3.3.2
5.0
Dec 31 2016
5.0
Version: 3.3.2
Sync Folders Pro is well worth the money for making backing up data and synchronizing data across various platforms simple and reliable. It is easily able to synchronize folders between my local hard drive, networked Airport Disk, Drop Box and Transporter Sync volumes. This allows me to set up data redundancy between these platforms that allow access remotely. While you can supposedly do this through Terminal commands and Applescript, I found this to be a much simpler and more reliable way to set up recurring and scheduled synchronizations across these various platforms. It is also helpful in consolidating data that has been warehoused in various volumes to syncronize content so that a copy of everything is preserved in the location of your choice. The Sync modes take a little bit of figuring out at first, but the pro version allows significant control over what to copy and in which directions.
ZGR
ZGR
Dec 27 2016
3.3.2
4.5
Dec 27 2016
4.5
Version: 3.3.2
In terms of usability and price Sync Folders Pro is far best solution for sync any file anywhere. Sync Folders Pro is very versatile. It has a lot of customization options. I mainly use it to sync plugins and scripts of some applications between my two Macs. I also use it for backing up my kindle highlights file. Additionally, I use to backup my iTunes Media folder to NAS. There are multiple sync options available, so anyone can find a way to use SyncFolders Pro to fit ones needs. It keeps a detailed log, so user can check for errors, if any
busy-1
busy-1
Dec 27 2016
3.3.2
4.0
Dec 27 2016
4.0
Version: 3.3.2
I use Sync Folders Pro to synchronize dirfferent parts of my system to an Airport Extreme drive. It really does what it is supposed to and I can configure my sripts in many different and finely differenciated ways, what I really like. Excluding certain folders from sync is very useful, too. Unfortunately, the German UI seems to have been translated via Google Translator, it is really misleading at certain points. So I switchted to the English UI and have been using it ever since. With a reasonable German UI and according manuals in German I would rate Sync Folders Pro 5 stars.
domingo-guerra
domingo-guerra
Oct 16 2016
3.3.2
5.0
Oct 16 2016
5.0
Version: 3.3.2
I've using Sync Folders Pro for sometime now and I can report this app is very useful. I use it to sync my home folder in my Mac with OneDrive. The process is very smooth and you can set it and forget it. It just works as it should.
business544
business544
Oct 11 2016
3.3.2
5.0
Oct 11 2016
5.0
Version: 3.3.2
Sync Folders Pro has just about every feature you could look for. My needs were more modest and the app easily can addresses those needs. A very worthwhile app. I would like to be able to preview what is about to be synced, just to be safe the first few times syncing, so I will also be trying out Compare & Sync Folders.
JeanPhilippeHamon
JeanPhilippeHamon
Oct 10 2016
3.3.2
5.0
Oct 10 2016
5.0
Version: 3.3.2
This other GreenWorldSoft App is very useful to backup documents. Save your Job works and keep your old files to feedback onto external device. Save your Personal data to another device. GoodBye rsync.... Great App for all the days. The much more
gremlin33
gremlin33
Oct 8 2016
3.3.2
5.0
Oct 8 2016
5.0
Version: 3.3.2
This is the greatest app ever if you do any file and folder organizing AND it’s also a great backup app as well. I have 10 hard drives with hundreds of thousands of photos and movies alone and got to the point where I had copies scattered everywhere over many hard drives. This app saved me centuries of time trying to figure out what I had and where—there’s simply way too many files. I also use it to back up my home directory without deleting previously saved files that no longer reside on the main drive. The many choices of how you want to sync folders is remarkable and you can schedule it to keep folders in sync or backup or whatever it is you do. If you have a billion files of any kind and use multiple drives this is a must have app. The simple backup operation is really a must have too I would never rely solely on Time Machine.
wmazari
wmazari
Sep 3 2016
3.3.1
5.0
Sep 3 2016
5.0
Version: 3.3.1
After using the Free version I got the Pro version of Sync Folders and am using it since few days. It is an amazing application for a non tech like myself. Extremely easy to setup and start using. I have synced over 3 GB data with Dropbox from my hard drive without any problem. Now I have set it up in backup mode (A +> B) and know for sure whatever is saved on dropbox will remain there whereas any new file or modified file will be synced to dropbox (No files will be deleted from dropbox if deleted, by mistake, from Hard Drive). I don't have to remember to copy and paste modified files to dropbox everytime, this app does this for me. It syncs the source files from a deep folder tree on hard drive with, predefined, subfolders of dropbox. With Pro version I am running 5 tasks at same time without slowing my computer (the app can handle unlimited number of tasks). I never even notice the task starting and completing because it does it very fast, I am on an old Mac Book Pro (2012 model). This app is worth the money it costs.
FallDawn
FallDawn
Aug 25 2016
3.3.1
5.0
Aug 25 2016
5.0
Version: 3.3.1
我是个多设备用户,但是许多应用程序并不提供配置同步功能,我就主要用于多设备间的配置备份和自动部署,使用起来非常方便。
JPM57
JPM57
Aug 9 2016
3.3.1
4.0
Aug 9 2016
4.0
Version: 3.3.1
Benutze das Programme um Daten, viele Daten zwischen MAC und NAS zu Synchronisieren. Habe es erst mit der NAS mitgelieferten PRG versucht und mir nur ÄRGER, NERVEN sowie 3 Tag aufräum’ Arbeit eingehandelt. Mit Sync Folder Pro habe ich es in den Griff bekommen den es mach Genau das was ich will… Sync Zwischen MAC - NAS - und NetzLaufwerke. Prima PRG bin seht zufrieden. Danke
JPM57
JPM57
Aug 9 2016
3.3.1
4.0
Aug 9 2016
4.0
Version: 3.3.1
Benutze das Programme um Daten, viele Daten zwischen MAC und NAS zu Synchronisieren. Habe es erst mit der NAS mitgelieferten PRG versucht und mir nur ÄRGER, NERVEN sowie 3 Tag aufräum’ Arbeit eingehandelt. Mit Sync Folder Pro habe ich es in den Griff bekommen den es mach Genau das was ich will… Sync Zwischen MAC - NAS - und NetzLaufwerke. Prima PRG bin seht zufrieden. Danke
terry-swait
terry-swait
Aug 9 2016
3.3.1
5.0
Aug 9 2016
5.0
Version: 3.3.1
I have been using this for several months on my laptop and server and it dose what it says on the tin, it’s very reliable and very efficient doing it’s job. I would heartily recommend this to everyone. Terry Basingstoke
david-186
david-186
Jul 27 2016
3.3.1
5.0
Jul 27 2016
5.0
Version: 3.3.1
I’m a photographer and use Sync Folders Pro all the time. I’m not a computer geek, so know little about all the matching stuff. I use Sync Folders Pro to keep my library of images backed up to an NAS. It runs every night (‘casue I scheduled it that way, easy) and my images, and LightRoom catalog are backed up in the morning. I’ve been told, by those computer geeks, that this method (using Sync Folders Pro) rather than dragging and dropping is a more accurate way to accomplish this task we all forget about, backing up! I’ve started using it for all my personal data as well. Thanks guys, great product.
mark-shupac
mark-shupac
Jul 23 2016
3.3.1
5.0
Jul 23 2016
5.0
Version: 3.3.1
I have used the app to sync thousands of photos and music tracks from my Mac to a micro SD card. It worked perfectly but seemeed to be a bit slow. I emailed the developer and received an answer within an hour! Problem solved - it was due to my lack of understanding of the settings. I have one suggestion that might or might not be feasible: either have a ‘basic’ mode or perhaps create scenarios on the website of what users might want to do and how to best configure this powerful app. Or, just kepp on providing excellent support! :) Great app. Very pleased with it.
6170
6170
Jul 22 2016
3.3.1
4.0
Jul 22 2016
4.0
Version: 3.3.1
Great app for beginners and experienced users. I use it to sync some folders from my Mac SDD to an external harddrive (backup) and then for syncing to Dropbox (with Boxcryptor for encryption). This works really great and for all ...... EASY !
mattlancey
mattlancey
Jul 22 2016
3.3.1
5.0
Jul 22 2016
5.0
Version: 3.3.1
This is one of those apps that runs quietly in the background and does a really good job, without you even knowing it’s there. I use it for syncing a USB drive connected to my Mac Mini (running Kodi) to back up my movie library to a RAID backup server, just in case the USB drive ever fails on me. It’s simple to set up, and it just works, without any intervention at all unless I need to change something. Highly recommended!
ybarra-beltran
ybarra-beltran
Jul 22 2016
3.3.1
5.0
Jul 22 2016
5.0
Version: 3.3.1
Great app! Folder scanning and syncing work very fast. When I get back from my work trips, all file changes are immediately stored in my NAS and I can use them with my home computers. It also works in the background for real time sync without even noticing it. Really handy!
sameramhaz
sameramhaz
Jul 22 2016
3.3.1
5.0
Jul 22 2016
5.0
Version: 3.3.1
I use to sync folders between different macs at work and as a backup tool at home. works great and is very easy to use. five star