Back to MoneyWiz page
MoneyWiz free download for Mac

MoneyWiz Reviews

3.6.3
30 October 2019

Personal finance solution.

alexander-robert
05 January 2020

Most helpful

Just upgraded to thePro version to link all my accounts in real time.... and Salt Edge is not working at all. Really want / need this function to work. Be great if MW provided phone support but Paul at support is being very helpful - just leaving this review in frustration to try and get MW to pay attention to this and will update back to 5 when everything is solved... ok, *if*...
Like (1)
Version 3.6.3

Read 43 MoneyWiz User Reviews

Rate this app:

alexander-robert
05 January 2020
Just upgraded to thePro version to link all my accounts in real time.... and Salt Edge is not working at all. Really want / need this function to work. Be great if MW provided phone support but Paul at support is being very helpful - just leaving this review in frustration to try and get MW to pay attention to this and will update back to 5 when everything is solved... ok, *if*...
Like (1)
Version 3.6.3
barkleyc
04 November 2019
I paid 50USD every year but I am thinking to leave it. The sync function is just like SHIT. It always stops syncing and even got duplicated or missing data. I've use several kinds of financial app. They have worst sync function and most expensive price.
Like
Version 3.6.3
1 answer(s)
SILVERWIZ LLC
SILVERWIZ LLC
20 November 2019
Contact support at hello@wiz.money and ask to have your sync account re-created. This will probably solve all such issues for good (as they sound like issues caused by very old bugs)
Like
Version 3.6.3
MrBass
19 December 2018
I took the plunge and upgraded to the subscription version mainly because I use a Windows PC at work so I thought it would be useful to be able to log items whilst at work. If anyone is thinking of doing the same, I'd say DON'T! The Windows version is absolutely awful! This may be down to the online banking element or it may just be because it's a p!ss poor port from Mac, but it's slow, and I mean reaaaaallly slow. Often locks up with 'database is locked' or other weird errors when you're simply editing a transaction. You're limited to the description length for some reason, perhaps a Windows restriction? Either way, annoying so I often have to re-edit on my phone or Mac. Finally, a minor thing, if you split a transaction over multiple categories, it'll only show one icon in the summary, unlike the Mac.
Like
Version 3.2.0
1 answer(s)
SILVERWIZ LLC
SILVERWIZ LLC
20 November 2019
So you are rating the Mac app based on your Windows app experience?
Like
Version 3.6.3
tim-j-mawson
09 August 2018
I'm currently still on MoneyWiz 2 but will upgrade eventually. It is by far and away the best personal accounting software I have ever used. It's like everything else, the more you get into it and learn all of it's features the more you get out of it. It works for me.
Like (2)
Version 3.0.4
Hermie
30 June 2018
Rubbish, cjred. Was good before and is still good.
Like
Version 3.0.4
cjred
14 June 2018
Was good before. Terrible now
Like
Version 3.0.1
1 answer(s)
SILVERWIZ LLC
SILVERWIZ LLC
19 June 2018
Hi,

Why is it terrible now?
Like (1)
gryphonent
05 June 2018
Just tried version 3 and now I cannot sync version 2 anymore!!! I'm asked to upgrade to a subscription plan on version 3. VERY DEVIOUS AND UNACCEPTABLE BEHAVIOR BY THE DEVELOPER! I'd have expected a warning when opening version 3. Anyway, I'm against subscription plans for software. Your mileage may vary, but I prefer shareware. Monthly payments won't encourage the developer to produce better features. Rather the opposite. Users get locked into the app and have to wait for fixes to appear, unable to switch to another software. No thanks. Sad to see MoneyWiz go down that route. As for features: I've been waiting since version 1 to mix expenses and transfers to no avail. It's still not properly implemented in version 3..
Like (2)
Version 3.0.0
1 answer(s)
SILVERWIZ LLC
SILVERWIZ LLC
19 June 2018
Hi,

We actually posted warnings in our announcements but it seems you didn't read them. We've now added it into the app as well. Also if you e-mail our technical support at hello@wiz.money they can revert your SYNCbits account back to MoneyWiz 2.

The migration is needed for technical reasons - because MW 3 adds new data structures (new type of currency, new type of account and some settings changes) which MW2 can't recognize.
Like
Rumineo
21 February 2018
OK, now I know the benefit of a small monthly charge instead of buying the software outright for $20-40 bucks. This software is constantly updated, improved, emails answered, problems solved, design changes implemented, needed tweaks made, etc. After 4 different personal finance software purchases over the past 8 years, always having complaints about almost everything including being charged for major upgrades - I'm through with that model (are you listening moneywell, moneydance, icompta?) . It's MoneyWiz for me. Funny how good things are when the developer makes money. Whatta concept. 5 stars for MoneyWiz - perfect rating
Like (1)
Version 2.7.6
mamunguia2011
04 January 2018
The download trial is not a trial. I clicked on this page on the "Download (Trial), downloaded the file, installed it. I opened the MoneyWiz and a small pop up window appears with the option to enter a license key and activate or buy. Please fix that MacUpdate.
Like
Version 2.7.1
Alvin-H
22 December 2017
I used this app since v1, adn pay upgrade price to v2. But now the developer decided to move to subscription mode (yes you can use one time purchase veriosn but 1 major version behind)? now it's time for me to find another alternative, home i can export and import to another app... still looking for alternative with reasonable price and good developer.. thank you for past time....but i'ts time to move to another app
Like
Version 2.7.1
Jurianatol
15 August 2016
Seems to have a lot of functionality, but when I want to add my bank account it suddenly needs a monthly subscription!? This it not advertised properly on their website... I am not paying for an application that needs a subscription for its main activity; keeping track of my money in my bank account...
Like (1)
Version 2.3.10
1 answer(s)
Hermie
Hermie
18 August 2016
It does not NEED a subscription, you can use it manually like other apps of this type, iCompta for instance.

The subscription is for Online Banking in the app itself and this is the only one that actually works for me and my European bank.

Compared with others I have tried and one I still use MoneyWiz is brilliant, absolutely brilliant!
Like (5)
Ochre
31 July 2016
I used v2.3.9 for about 30 minutes, and came away with a poor impression in that short time. Some of the flaws that mean I won't be investing in this app (even given its inclusion in an attractively-priced MacUpdate Bundle at this time): 1) Poor filesystem practice: for some reason, saves a plist file to the ~/Documents folder 2) The sidebar: has a gigantic font for no appreciable reason; it _cannot_ be hidden, or resized, which given its size is a significant flaw; group headings seem broken, comprising light-grey lettering on a white background, and an odd black square dead centre that serves no obvious purpose. 3) Poor UX: It's not possible to assign entries as Transfers in bulk; there is no keyboard shortcut or Menu Item for the "Edit" command!; the "New Entry" dialogue has no header indicating its purpose or nature; and, in the Account column, a colon between two account names appears to indicate a transfer between the two, which seems a very odd choice, though may be traditional, I don't know—it lacks spacing, so just seems a poor design decision. Bear in mind this was all noticed over only a thirty-minute review period. This was enough evidence for me of the software's lack of suitability at the present time. YMMV.
Like (6)
Version 2.3.10
How is this app for UK folks? Any users based in UK care to comment?
Like
Version 2.3.10
4 answer(s)
SILVERWIZ LLC
SILVERWIZ LLC
19 June 2018
It's great for UK folks :)
Like
johnny-douglas
johnny-douglas
04 July 2019
It has been working great, and I bought premium for a year, but now after only a few weeks I'm getting emails saying it's going to cut me off in five days if I don't pay more. I have eleven months left! And I think you pay for the app, and they still cut you off from the bank if you don't pay more somehow? But I have spent many hours and I can't figure out how! I guess I'll just let it turn itself off, and then I'll have to ask for a refund on the premium. I don't know why it's acting like this. It was good while it lasted.
Like
Viktor MacUpdate
Viktor MacUpdate
05 July 2019
Hey johnny-douglas,
I would suggest to refer to developer's support directly here:
https://support.wiz.money/hc/en-us
Or you could leave a support request describing your issue here: https://support.wiz.money/hc/en-us/requests/new
Like
SILVERWIZ LLC
SILVERWIZ LLC
05 July 2019
@Johnny-douglas - that sounds like an error which might happen if you used different billing & sync emails and didn't activate the license key after purchase. Just shoot us an email at hello@wiz.money and we'll resolve it for you.
Like
Supenguin
29 July 2016
I'm always on the lookout for great personal finance apps and recently gave MoneyWiz a try. It's a fantastic app, no fuss import of all my existing transactions from my bank (Chase checking, savings, and credit card accounts).

As you use the app, it remembers categories assigned to payees. It just doesn't have assigned categories at first so everything gets assigned to "Other" to start.

Pretty easy data entry, syncing across multiple platforms, calendar view of upcoming transactions, reports, and budgeting.

The developer is also very responsive and responded back within a day on a couple hiccups I had getting it set up.

Anyone looking for great personal finance app should give the free trial of MoneyWiz a try to see if it fits their needs.

Only reason for 4 stars instead of 5 is the budgeting features are missing some functionality I really want in my workflow, namely assigning different budget amounts month to month.
Like (1)
Version 2.3.10
Steve-Frawley
15 April 2016
duplicate posts are a pain this is edited because I can't delete my own duplicate
Like (1)
Version 2.3.4
2 answer(s)
iliya
iliya
18 April 2016
Hi Steve,

Is this related to posting comments here or to duplicates in MoneyWiz? If you have an issue with MoneyWiz please shoot our support an email at hello@moneywizapp.com and they will get right back at you to help.
Like
Steve-Frawley
Steve-Frawley
19 April 2016
I would have been a customer but MacUpdate refused to sell to me.
Like
angel4m
06 April 2016
I've tried iBank, Quicken and YNAB. MoneyWiz was the only app that was able to import everything from my bank correctly, so my rating goes to MoneyWiz. And the support team is the best. Thank you Pawel!
Like (2)
Version 2.3.3
Tolatomeow
03 April 2016
Looks like a reasonable price! Will try out.
Like (1)
Version 2.3.3
ben-marko
03 April 2016
Good app, but has some bugs that need to be fixed. It often will forget my PayPal login info - and I have to re-login each time I open the app. It also will fail to login to my bank about once every three tries (showing an exclamation point icon). It would also be nice if they could add Chase credit. But otherwise it is a good app, I would buy in now while it is on sale. I'm sure the bugs will be fixed soon.
Like (1)
Version 2.3.3
1 answer(s)
iliya
iliya
03 April 2016
Hi Ben,

Thank you for your feedback! If you mean to support Chase credit cards - we do support them via Yodlee actually. If you need help setting it up please let us know.
As for the PayPal asking credentials - that issue must have been fixed in the latest version. If it still happens for you could you please e-mail our support at hello@moneywizapp.com so they can look into it?

Thanks!
Like (1)
dimia
24 March 2016
MoneyWiz is only app that properly imports from Quicken and has more functionality than it.
Like (1)
Version 2.3.3
kocean
24 March 2016
I've been using MoneyWiz since version 1, and I can only say that it's getting better and better. It's the only app that's available on all major platforms and syncs properly + the only app that learns my categorization and properly categorizes transactions coming in from my bank.
Like (5)
Version 2.3.3
1 answer(s)
Steve-Frawley
Steve-Frawley
19 April 2016
My original post was about the flaky MacUpdate system that refused to sell me MoneyWiz repeatedly while it was on sale. You can blame MacUpdate for losing out on a customer. Emails were of no use.
Like
diana-i-yordanova
23 March 2016
Hands down the best app if you have tons of accounts to organize and monitor!
Like (1)
Version 2.3.3
Big Map Idea
05 February 2016
No trial? No deal.
Like
Version 2.2.1
1 answer(s)
iliya
iliya
07 March 2016
There is a trial. Go to our website (www.moneywizapp.com) to download it.
Like (2)
Powderpiggie
19 November 2015
60$ per year for online syncing? Ridiculous.
Like (1)
Version 2.2.1
2 answer(s)
iliya
iliya
17 December 2015
MoneyWiz downloads data via 3rd party providers that charge for the service. The fee is needed for pay to these providers + support future development and improvements of the service.
Like (1)
Tolatomeow
Tolatomeow
03 April 2016
Not associated with the developer, but I am a developer myself.

There are a lot of costs with software which end users don't realize. $60/yr is a small amount to pay to save you *time*.
Like (1)
Alvin-H
11 January 2015
it's updated to v2, and much better than v1, a lot of new update. But it's paid upgrade (both mac and iOS), just bought it. Plus: better app icon (match with yosemite) Auto online banking (My bank is available) Minus: Auto online banking need subscription ($5 per mo) have UI glitch; when we in put new transaction, if we want to enter the description the app window become blurred Migration is quite smooth even i found that silverwiz decided to change some of categories, but that acceptable , import run smoothly, all transaction is moved nicely. Try it, i recommend it.
Like (1)
Version 1.5.7
3 answer(s)
Stefaan-Degryse
Stefaan-Degryse
16 January 2015
Looks great, but i hold off for the moment as no support for Belgian banks yet. Hope Salt Edge can get to it sooner rather than later.
Like
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
11 June 2015
$60 per year for banking info transfers? NO WAY!
Like (1)
iliya
iliya
17 December 2015
@BigJohnson - MoneyWiz downloads data via 3rd party providers that charge for the service. The fee is needed for pay to these providers + support future development and improvements of the service.

@Stefaan - make sure you've submitted your bank to SaltEdge... They will add it sooner or later :)
Like
Anon-Bud
27 October 2014
I should have saved my money! Enter transactions is a pain in the a** if you want to enter categories and check numbers. Fields do not auto fill after entering a few letters and I really have not figured out how to enter a category with the drop down list. This may in fact be a good app for lots of folks, but I find it one of the most onerous apps I've ever wasted my money on! Wish I could get a refund...
Like (2)
Version 1.5.7
1 answer(s)
iliya
iliya
17 December 2015
Anon, all of the issues you mention are addressed in the recent versions.
Like
Hilbo60
29 September 2014
As a pensioner, it is important to know exactly where I am with my money from day to day, month to month. This little, easy to get to grips with App serves me perfectly! Certainly worth every penny, couldn't do without it now!
Like (1)
Version 1.5.7
John-Brown
10 July 2014
Thanks for this wonderful app! It really works. Great and easy-to-use software!
Like (1)
Version 1.5.7
Alvin-H
16 June 2014
This is the best finance app for me, it's simple, can record my money flow, have an iOS version that sync easily and smoothly. Have a report with graph. hope it can improve again, i like iOS icon better than mac one (mac icon is bit ugly), hope you replace it.
Like
Version 1.5.7
1 answer(s)
Gog4
Gog4
26 August 2015
How far back can do on the first sync?
Like
Basti79
05 March 2014
It simply "works" which is the most important for me. Of course, sync to online-accoounts would be nice, but I have tried other banking apps that had this feature and never found one, which supported all my accounts. So now I track purchases on my iPhone which get synced automatically, I have set up recurring payments in MoneyWiz caleder which I track with a single click and every now and then I sit down (maybe three times a month) to track online purchases. It is not the most efficient way, but it works well and intuitive, and this counts to me above all other.
Like
Version 1.5.2
gryphonent
22 December 2013
Version 1.5 still can't handle investments or loans. No use to me.
Like (3)
Version 1.5.0
2 answer(s)
G2702
G2702
05 March 2014
No investment accounts, no smart accounts.
Like
iliya
iliya
09 April 2014
This is a feature we'll be implementing in MoneyWiz 2.
Like
Dave-
18 December 2013
This is exactly what I have been looking for, a simple accounting app that runs on my MacBook iPad and iPhone with fast reliable sync between them all.
Like (1)
Version 1.5.0
Just-Annutha-Dewd
15 December 2013
I'm in the process of trying out a variety of finance apps after being disappointed yet again by an update to the one I have been using for a few years. In the course of my testing, I've needed these apps to do one simple thing: import a QIF file that was exported by my existing finance app. Every single piece of software has imported it flawlessly... except MoneyWiz. The balance was off by several hundred dollars. I have no idea why it was so far off, but if it can't handle something that basic, then I can't trust it. At all!
Like (1)
Version 1.4.5
1 answer(s)
iliya
iliya
09 April 2014
Please e-mail our support at hello@moneywziapp.com and we'll figure out what the problem is and fix it.
Like
Dentata
26 October 2013
Русский язык, приятный интерфейс. Купил в надежде на дальнейшее развитие программы с учетом интересов пользователей из России (а не только США, как делает большинство разработчиков подобных приложений). Создателям хочу сказать спасибо и пожелать дальнейших успехов.
Like
Version 1.4.5
Pistarino
21 October 2013
If your needs for financial tracks are really basic, this software is perfect for you; but if you need to track loans, investments, assets, stocks, bond, etc... you should search for something else. I miss also tags support.
Like (1)
Version 1.4.5
Lam-b3488def
12 June 2013
I haven't found a problem with this yet. Works the way I want it too. With the price decrease today. I've just purchased it at $12.99
Like (4)
Version 1.4.1
Gobra
09 October 2012
I have spent some time looking for a financial app and this one looked really interesting and promising. I liked the description, video and so on, but... Where is DEMO? You know, a big "Download" button on the website, did I miss it? Since Mac AppStore conquered the Mac world, this funny style "buy-before-you-try" became really annoying.
Like (4)
Version 1.3.6
5 answer(s)
Sliwkaj
Sliwkaj
30 November 2012
There is a demo on the dev's site: http://www.silverwiz.com/mac/. Wish it was here, too.
Like
M-Luther
M-Luther
07 December 2012
@ Sliwkaj, there currently is no demo. The dev's site says on the FAQ page: Is there a trial/demo version of MoneyWiz? - No. There is currently no trial/demo version of MoneyWiz. We’ll be releasing one later this year.
Like (1)
Levelbest
Levelbest
27 August 2013
No demo? - Not sure where this info is coming from? Maybe this wasn't how it was, but I am demo-ing MW now so yes, there is a demo. And, its a "good" demo which allows 100 transactions instead of discontinuing the demo after 30 days or some such. I have not yet purchased it but I am watching it to see how quickly and well it continues development. No ON-line bill pay yet for instance. Looks very nice. Gut feeling, this is a winner and I hope to move to it in the near future.
Like
Gobra
Gobra
27 August 2013
Levelbest, Original comment was written almost a year ago, the things could have changed during this period of time. The app looked fine even year ago, but demo should really help in order to make a decision, good if there is one now.
Like
iliya
iliya
09 April 2014
Hi Gobra, The demo is here: http://moneywizapp.com/mac/demo/
Like
Gerrit-Kruijer
05 September 2012
Not happy with the way it syncs. Prefer my own (webdav) server or dropbox.
Like (2)
Version 1.3.5
1 answer(s)
iliya
iliya
09 April 2014
We now have a brand new syncing platform - SYNCbits. We won't be implementing WebDav, as most users won't be able to set it up on their own, and maintaining two separate sync platforms is too much work. On top of that, WebDav is very limited compared to SYNCbits.
Like
ben-marko
23 July 2012
If there was a was to try before you buy, I would give it a shot.
Like (4)
Version 1.3.5
1 answer(s)
iliya
iliya
09 April 2014
Ben, we now have a demo. You can check it out here: http://moneywizapp.com/mac/demo/
Like
MikeArun
14 June 2012
First of all, the sync feature is a long expected feature for finance apps. I have been using iFinance for a last few years and syncing thru wi-fi is, i tell you A PAIN IN THE ASS ! As this app is fairly new to business .. I hope it will gradually evolve to the top. Please make the app more keyboard friendly. Thanks.
Like
Version 1.3.4
Ntrim
05 June 2012
- No field for check number. - No field for transaction comments. - No multiple database support - drop down lists works only with mouse. Very disappointed...
Like (1)
Version 1.3.4
1 answer(s)
iliya
iliya
06 June 2012
"- No field for check number." - We'll be adding full check book functionality later this summer "- No field for transaction comments." - There is a description field, for that purpose! "- No multiple database support" - You can have multiple sync accounts. " drop down lists works only with mouse." - Keyboard navigation for popovers will come in the next update (1.3.5) in several weeks from now.
Like (1)
Tschigg
20 May 2012
I'm not sure I understand the purpose of this app. If it would allow me to do transactions via HBCI with my bank and fetch transactions from my account then it would be useful. From what I see I have to enter each transaction manually. That would cause a lot of additional work. I can do that using excel... Maybe I'm missing something?
Like (3)
Version 1.0.0
1 answer(s)
iliya
iliya
04 June 2012
HSBC doesn't allow automatic downloading of transactions, but you can export the bank statements and import them into MoneyWiz. Besides that, MoneyWiz will soon support DirectConnect, the technology used to automatically download transactions from banks that support it (mostly US and Canada banks).
Like
gryphonent
14 May 2012
Demo please!!!
Like (6)
Version 1.0.0
1 answer(s)
iliya
iliya
15 May 2012
Demo version will come later this summer :)
Like (2)
Mhoutman
14 May 2012
This is for sure an awesome financial application for your Mac which is available in many languages. I also use the same app on both my iPhone and iPad and syncing data between Mac OS and iOS is without any problem. My questions were answered lightning fast by a very kind developer. Highly recommended !
Like (2)
Version 1.0.0