Back to TotalSpaces page
TotalSpaces free download for Mac

TotalSpaces Reviews

2.8.6
06 November 2019

Brings back grid-style Spaces and more.

Rjmorita
29 August 2018

Most helpful

I cannot live without this app.
Like (1)
Version 2.7.2

Read 53 TotalSpaces User Reviews

Rate this app:

Andy49
06 February 2019
2.7.9 just destroyed everything that was saved. I can't switch spaces, I can't set apps except for all spaces, I can only use 16x16 setting. every preference is gone. Time Machine does not work for this.
Like
Version 2.7.7
Just-Fred
04 October 2018
Hooray! I upgraded to Mojave and had some issues with this. Like others, this is an indispensable app; it's become part of the way I use my Mac. Oddly, the in-app updater takes it only to v2.75. How is this different?
Like
Version 2.7.6
Rjmorita
29 August 2018
I cannot live without this app.
Like (1)
Version 2.7.2
ben-marko
28 June 2018
Mojave beta 1 kills it completely. Hope it is updated soon. <sobbing>
Like
Version 2.6.24
Foulger
22 February 2018
1013.4 beta 4 kills the app, causes all screens to flash together
Like
Version 2.6.13
1 answer(s)
rwebber
rwebber
22 February 2018
same issue ... 10.13.4 beta 3 definitely kills total spaces
Like
ben-marko
04 April 2017
Updating TotalFinder and re-enabling SIP has disabled TotalSpaces2. I had to disable SIP again to get it to work. Will there be an update to TotalSpaces2 that allows re-enabling of SIP?
Like (1)
Version 2.4.9
Andy49
03 April 2016
Why is this program listed as a new version when the version number is the same as the last one? where's the update?
Like
Version 2.3.9
1 answer(s)
BinaryAge
BinaryAge
04 April 2016
It was an update to listing itself (description, images, etc.)
Like
Jim-Leff
06 July 2015
Note that this app (like TotalFinder) has been discounted 50% (to $9) due to the fact that it will not work in El Capitan (though there is a workaround: turn off the new "System Integrity Protection"). More info at http://blog.binaryage.com/el-capitan-update/
Like
Version 2.2.20
Swo
28 April 2015
While I understand that developers need to eat too, the idea of almost paying $20 for an app that mimics the Spaces function from an earlier version of the Mac OS (I am currently running Yosemite) is nuts. I understand that some users may have been really enamored of that earlier functionality, but considering that that was a fifth or a sixth the cost of the entire OS (before Apple began giving it away) it strikes me as too expensive.
Like (2)
Version 2.2.20
1 answer(s)
BinaryAge
BinaryAge
02 April 2016
TotalSpaces also gives a large degree of control and customization to your Spaces (a.k.a. Mission Control) experience, including custom transitions and timing (the stock animations are tooooo slowwww), and more.
Like (1)
Michael-Vilain
28 January 2015
WARNING: Apples recent security update (2015-01) for 10.8 *breaks* TotalSpaces 1.2.11 which still worked prior to this update. Now it's gone and I'm stuck without a solution.
Like (1)
Version 2.2.9
1 answer(s)
Michael-Vilain
Michael-Vilain
28 January 2015
Let me amend this. I logged in after the update and a window said it couldn't start TotalSpaces and to contact BinaryAge Support. I activated Mission Control and my spaces came back. But if you run it on login, it doesn't display the window # in the menu bar until you run Mission Control. Weird.
Like
JamesHarrisPhoto
12 January 2015
Version 2.2.9 is not new. It was released last October.
Like
Version 2.2.9
Jazzyguy
17 October 2014
The GRID is not present in Yosemite.Instead it returns you to a window that signifies your start page. I wrote to the Developer and so far no answer.
Like
Version 2.0.17
3 answer(s)
Merighi
Merighi
18 October 2014
on the developer site there is TotalSpaces2 (!!) version 2.2.9 claim compatible with both 10.9 & 10.10
Like
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
18 October 2014
I have that version 2.2.9. The developer is working on the defect.
Like
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
21 October 2014
I reduced my Desktops to 15 from 17 and I got the GRID again. The DEVELOPER is working to find out why I didn't get the GRID.
Like
Stormchild
25 September 2014
I've used this for about a week now and it would already be painful not to have it. I'm a pretty heavy spaces user, and being able to switch desktops instantly with no transitions has taken a ton of friction out of my workflow. The grid overview makes it much easier to see what's on each desktop. If you love virtual desktops, I can't recommend this enough -- especially for Linux users who find the slow transitions frustrating. What really sold me on TS2 is that it works with Mission Control instead of trying to replace it. Makes it much more stable, and even allows you to keep using the regular Mission Control overview (which I do).
Like (1)
Version 2.0.17
Me2
21 September 2014
Screen Casts Onlline does a fantastic review of this app and this is the reason I'm buying it. Thank you PRC
Like (1)
Version 2.0.17
Stormchild
16 September 2014
The original never worked for me, but (at least for the 15 minutes I've spent with it so far) TS2 is awesome. The Mission Control integration is seamless. With a single row arrangement and all transitions turned off, it makes desktop switching super fast, but I can still swipe up to see the regular Mission Control view (which I still prefer for certain things, like moving all windows that belong to the same app in one drag). Very cool.
Like
Version 2.0.17
F451
26 October 2013
There are now two versions of TotalSpaces: 1) TotalSpaces is for OS X Lion and Mountain Lion only, 2) TotalSpaces2 is for OS X Mavericks. TotalSpaces2 for Mavericks is a paid upgrade from TotalSpaces. Please download it and test it before upgrading your licence. Existing TotalSpaces users get a 40% Discount. Upgrades for recent purchases (since 10th June 2013) are FREE. Upgrade price is $10.80.
Like (1)
Version 1.2.11
1 answer(s)
Henry-Duarte
Henry-Duarte
16 March 2014
Hi there. How do I get the upgrade price? I can't find the option anywhere
Like
Jazzyguy
20 October 2013
Excellent Software!
Like (1)
Version 1.2.11
1 answer(s)
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
20 October 2013
Hey some AH actually removed the 5 stars I gave to this application. Apparently they don't like this app or they are displaying their total ignorance. Moronic behavior doesn't work on MacUpdate.
Like (1)
Robin-Carmack
08 June 2013
Very nice app! I am not a fan of mission control. Workflow is much easier/smoother in this app ;)
Like
Version 1.2.9
Aargl
19 March 2013
Does anyone know of an app that lets you spread ONE window across at least TWO spaces? This is where Spaces would be useful to me. As it is, it's just a useless eye-candy. (don't yell at me, I understand the use if you have multiple apps on each space, but most of the time you've got one window > one space, so it's just a "transition effect" for switching apps, ain't it? ;-)
Like (2)
Version 1.1.3
7 answer(s)
sjk
sjk
05 May 2013
"Does anyone know of an app that lets you spread ONE window across at least TWO spaces?" Maybe with CodeTek Virtual Desktop Pro (orphaned by the developer about five years ago). I'm not aware of any current product that does. "I understand the use if you have multiple apps on each space" Virtual desktop apps are generally less useful to me that way, e.g. who wants to run a VM app in the same space with other apps? :) An exception is for multiple apps with windows small enough be displayed simultaneously (with minimal or no overlap) and interacted with in a single space. "but most of the time you've got one window > one space, so it's just a "transition effect" for switching apps, ain't it? ;-)" No necessarily. I keep more than one window open, for one or more apps, in multiple spaces. Leaving windows open in different spaces can be easier to visualize and interact with across that spacial plane than "traditional" app/window hiding/switching on a single desktop/space. It's sort of like having a larger virtual monitor, minus the support for windows to cross space borders (that you asked about). Using spaces lets me retain predictable window views/layouts that can't be achieved with single-space window shuffling.
Like (2)
Aargl
Aargl
05 May 2013
Thanks for those explanations! :-) I've tried for a while, at least two spaces, hoping I would slowly find how to take advantage out of it, but it doesn't bring nothing to my workflow. Like everything on earth, something is good for someone, something else for someone else, that's life. :-D
Like
sjk
sjk
05 May 2013
"… but it doesn't bring nothing to my workflow." That would be something. :) Maybe you'll find it useful in the future if your workflow changes. Thanks for the followup.
Like (3)
Cowicide
Cowicide
05 May 2013
>useless eye-candy Spaces save me time. Time is money. To each their own.
Like (2)
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
20 October 2013
I agree fully with Cowicide. He is right on! This app saves me time and as he stated "time is money"
Like (3)
Aargl
Aargl
22 October 2013
To avoid any confusion, I wasn't particularly talking about this app (the reason why I didn't make a proper "review" — no, I'm not the "AH that removed the 5 stars" ;-)), but about Spaces in general, though I wouldn't give bad names to people loving Spaces: "To each their own" as wrote Cowicide (being French, I didn't know how to say it in good English ;-)) My aim was to find an app to split windows across 2 spaces (specifically mixing a ProTools session with lots of tracks would be great, or putting the Mix window on a space and the Edit window on another one) but I still haven't found any. I'll retry Spaces some day, I swear! ;-D
Like
Cowicide
Cowicide
22 October 2013
Aargl, I'm not sure I understand exactly what you want to do with your windows, but it sounds like Mavericks might give you more options. Should be getting released pretty soon, but of course, YMMV.
Like
Jazzyguy
23 February 2013
I am registered with Total Spaces. I have been using it for a long time. Every now and then suddenly the GRID appears and I can not get off the Grid. I can't click on any thing on the grid and I can't use Force quit. It happens too often and I have to do a HARD Shutdown by holding the power button. It has gotten so bad that I can no longer have it as a log in item and I have quit it.
Like (2)
Version 1.1.3
3 answer(s)
Iliketrash
Iliketrash
09 July 2013
Binaryage: I described this very same problem on this page in Fall, 2012. I found TotalSpaces to be completely unusable for this very reason.
Like
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
09 July 2013
I haven't seen this problem again.The new update is good and I no longer have this problem with Total Spaces.
Like (1)
Iliketrash
Iliketrash
12 July 2013
Thanks, Jazzyguy. I'm now running 1.2.9 for a few days and this problem has not appeared. From their web site, it was possibly this, fixed 3 December 2012: "Activating expose in the overview grid with many windows present (> 20) on a single space caused excessive CPU and delay." Not sure that what i saw could accurately be described as "excessive CPU and delay" but, perhaps, inaccurately. And it happened every time, not every now and then. Anyway, things seem OK now. And the app uses less RAM than I would have guessed if you believe Activity Monitor.
Like (1)
Rad-Wagner
11 February 2013
Wow! I had an older version that I turned off because it was too buggy, but 1.1.3 is fantastic! I have only been using 1.1.3 less than a day, but I am so impressed that I wanted to submit a quick review. It is working well with OS 10.8.2 on a MacBook Pro and a Mac Pro. Setup, hotkeys, functionality, interface are all excellent so far. It brings back the functionality of Apple's old Spaces, and more.
Like
Version 1.1.3
1 answer(s)
Rad-Wagner
Rad-Wagner
26 February 2013
After about two more weeks I have had no problems. The hotkeys were easy to configure, vertical and horizontal window-drag to a different space, navigation and the grid view work well and I am very satisfied. I have a 4 x 4 grid (16 desktops) and use about 10 of those pretty regularly. This app brings back the pre-Mission Control interface - very nice, highly recommended.
Like
Jazzyguy
20 January 2013
I'm putting in a new review for this version and I am giving it 5 stars. I am doing this so that the developer should get the recognition and appreciation he well deserves.In addition this runs great in ML bringing the feeling of Spaces that I love in My Snow Leopard Macs.
Like (1)
Version 1.1.3
Jazzyguy
17 January 2013
Great App as Spaces looks a lot better on ML. In fact Spaces are more like my Snow Leopard Macs with this great app.5 stars for sure.
Like (2)
Version 1.1.0
Stormchild
07 January 2013
Didn't have much luck with this. Immediately after I installed it, my desktop turned gray, the Dock disappeared (and wouldn't relaunch), and the TotalSpaces icon in the menubar was beachballed and wouldn't respond. Pretty much just hosed my machine until I uninstalled it. Not recommended.
Like
Version 1.0.5
kapps
11 December 2012
Does this allow assigning a specific desktop to an external monitor ?
Like (1)
Version 1.0.5
Killer-Rhino
05 December 2012
FINALLY! Despite it being 50% of the cost of then entire OS, this app brings back everything that made OS X phenomenal during its "Leopard" phase, and even improves upon the nightmare which is "Mission Control". It's essential and undoubtably the best app I've ever purchased for my Mac.
Like (2)
Version 1.0.5
Regular-Warren
03 December 2012
Nice update. As of 1.0.5, transitions are incredibly smooth. I love it!
Like (1)
Version 1.0.5
Jazzyguy
03 December 2012
Great App in every way!
Like (2)
Version 1.0.5
Timo-Saloranta
03 December 2012
This app simply does what it promises and is what I needed to restore my productivity on OS X after Mountain Lion update did its best to destroy it. Also lately there have been great improvements in both usability speed and stability. Now it feels really snappy with 9 desktops that I have renamed and use for different purposes. With this pace of changes it's soon going to surpass my customized Linux Compiz setup that I have spent a lot of time tweaking with. Good job!
Like (1)
Version 1.0.5
Anna-Nordling
03 December 2012
total spaces really improves my workflow – recommended for all graphic designers and everyone else who works paralelly with multiple programmes! • 9 desktops, indesign in the middle, acrobat to the left, word n excell above, photoshop n illustrator below. mail n browser to the right. xtra stuff on the others. • things i wan't to pop up wherever i am unassigned. • with one or two alt+arrows i'm where i want – without digging in a jumble of windows. named desktops helps me remember where things are. • in over all view i drag windows manually if i need them to be beside each other while correcting texts or the like. i appreciate the neat lay out and the clear explanations on how to do what. and how TS has worked smoothly without even coughing once. showed it to a friend who said ”i want this”, obviously she needs a mac first...
Like (1)
Version 1.0.1
Iliketrash
20 November 2012
This program remains extraordinarily buggy in its final release. It worked OK for a few minutes but then, once again (see my earlier post), when I hit the space bar when in overview mode, I thought my computer froze. But I found out that it was just running really slowly, taking sometimes more than a minute to respond to key and trackpad presses. Further (very slow) investigation found that the Dock, to which TotalSpaces apparently hacks into, was taking 1.6 GB (out of 4 GB) and using 50-80% CPU! Furthermore, I had installed it immediately after a system reboot and I noticed that the swap space had jumped to 5 GB. This obviously is unacceptable in any program especially a small utility such as this. It is possible that I aggravated it by opening Text Edit with 15-20 small files but this is a mild test. I am basing my review on the need for a program to be at least minimally useful and TotalSpaces fails that test. Just awful.
Like
Version 1.0.1
Ludovic-Bubner
01 November 2012
This app is awesome! I feel like I'm back to Snow Leopard, though I'm running Mountain Lion.
Like (2)
Version 1.0.1
Jazzyguy
26 October 2012
I like this App. It may not be perfect (yet) but I feel I got my money's worth.
Like (2)
Version 1.0.1
Foulger
04 October 2012
Getting better and better and better. Please (Pretty Please), even grovel - can we have numbers option to be put on each desktop - that would really be the cream on the cake.
Like (3)
Version 0.11.4
Iliketrash
24 September 2012
Wow. This is really buggy. The app's preferences say, "Use the space bar to toggle exposé when using the overview grid." So—if you press the space bar when viewing the overview grid, you will have to reboot because _all_ keyboard input is ignored, as are clicks. The only thing that works is the cursor but clicking does nothing. I temporarily set the preference to use three-finger swiping. I then decided this was dumb and I set the pref back to four-finger swiping, but three-finger swiping was still in effect. I quit and relaunched the program and got back four-finger swiping but now THREE-FINGER SWIPING IN MY BROWSER DOESN'T WORK which used to implement the forward and back buttons and I have no idea how to get it back. You broke my browser. If you use TotalSpaces, Mission Control will continue to run which is confusing but I suppose that is an Apple constraint. Missing from Total Spaces is the ability to Shift-drag while in grid overview to drag all the displayed windows from one space to another. Consider this a feature request. (But fix the freaking bugs first!) The developer should not be charging money for this beta software. 10.7.4 2009 MacBook Pro
Like
Version 0.11.2
4 answer(s)
Iliketrash
Iliketrash
24 September 2012
I've tried to work with this program more, and can only report even more bugs. In overview, it also locks the computer when going into exposé mode by moving the cursor to a designated hot corner. I've now rebooted my computer for the fifth and last time because of this poorly-written software. And by reboot, I mean a _hard_ reboot by holding the power key down for five seconds because that it the only thing that works. And more about the three-finger swipe being permanently broken by TotalSpaces; not only is the three-finger horizontal swipe broken but so is the three-finger vertical swipe broken. It now acts identically to the two-finger horizontal and vertical swipes, which is simply to scroll the window contents. Let me be clear that this is happening even without TotalSpaces running. I have no idea how to get back the previous behavior since it is not settable by e.g. my browser which is OmniWeb or by the Trackpad preference pane. This developer has no business dumping this program on customers in this state. Even simple testing will reveal these bugs—it took me less than four minutes to get the first lock-up. I'm sorry I gave this a 2 1/2 star rating—my apologies to others who might think that this is acceptable software. Developer: Take this crap off the internet and fix it. This isn't even alpha quality.
Like (1)
Jonsi
Jonsi
24 September 2012
No problems here...
Like
JamesHarrisPhoto
JamesHarrisPhoto
24 September 2012
Yes, there will be bugs. That's why it's in beta. Hopefully you're reporting these bugs to the developer as you come across them. Remember, this is version 0.11.3, not version 1.0.
Like (1)
Mrchips
Mrchips
25 September 2012
I'm not having the exposé problem you've experienced. I can press the space bar while the overview grid is visible and exposé activates. Clicking works, nothing is locking up on my computer. I'm not using a trackpad, so perhaps that's part of the problem? I'm running a MacPro with 10.8.2, so also a bit different from your configuration. I don't know if you used this already, but the developer has an uninstaller on his web site, here: http://totalspaces.binaryage.com/faq. It's under the heading "How can I uninstall TotalSpaces?" Maybe running that would resolve some of the lingering issues with your trackpad? I should also mention that the developer isn't charging anything during the beta period. You can pay the $12 now if you want, but you are under no obligation to. John
Like (2)
Coolapic
27 August 2012
Awsome ! Thanks' a zillion for bringing Spaces back ! Tried it and purchased two licenses right away but feel I owe you more for giving me Spaces back ! Keep up the brilliant work
Like
Version 0.11.0
S/ash
26 July 2012
I guess something is wrong with the leanest version. The overview grid just shows a blank black screen with a cursor for me. Currently I have reverted back to 0.10.3 which works great. Please fix it so I can get the long awaited fullscreen features. A few minutes without TotalSpaces made me super restless, as I realized how crippled Lion's multi tasking/window management is!
Like
Version 0.10.6
2 answer(s)
S/ash
S/ash
26 July 2012
sorry I meant *latest* version.
Like (1)
Binaryage
Binaryage
26 July 2012
This is a concern - anything unusual in your setup? BTW you can also email us at support at binaryage.com, we'll likely see your message quicker.
Like
Heath1
26 July 2012
Excellent job so far! I love that I'm finally going to be able to move on from Snow Leopard, but what I really need is an option to switch desktops with a flick of the mouse combined with a modifier key. This is done beautifully in SL via Warp (http://www.ksuther.com/warp/). It's so quick to be able to just hold the option key down and move the mouse to the screen edge and switch over to a neighboring desktop. By having the modifier key you eliminate unwanted desktop switching and needing to add a delay. Thanks for considering!
Like (1)
Version 0.10.6
3 answer(s)
Binaryage
Binaryage
26 July 2012
Yes, this feature is on my dev list. I'll consider it voted up!
Like
Binaryage
Binaryage
17 August 2012
This was implemented in 0.11.0 as a somewhat experimental feature - please update!
Like
Heath1
Heath1
19 August 2012
Stephen - this is excellent!! So far it's working great. My only complaint is the slight delay before actually switching desktops, even with the transitions turned off. It would be great if it just switched immediately - especially when using a modifier key. Awesome work!!! Thank you so much!
Like
jamiethemorris
21 June 2012
Wow. I am just in awe of this app. I finally got used to mission control, but I missed some of the features of spaces. This is way better than either of them. my favorite part is the transition options. A few things to watch out for: -If you're using a Magic Trackpad/Mouse, it might freeze when you're changing the gestures in TotalSpaces, or also configuring the trackpad in system prefs with TotalSpaces open. Mine froze for about 2 minutes (although a regular mouse worked just fine while it was frozen). -After I enabled the gestures, every time I swiped it would switch 2 spaces. A simple shutdown and restart fixed the issue. A few suggestions to the developer: -This is obviously inspired somewhat by Compiz in Linux, it would be really cool to be able to change the way the full spaces view looks, for example under compiz you can view the desktop cube and spin it. Also, I don't know if it's just me but mine doesn't show a background in the full view, it looks like it does in the screenshots. Not a big deal but it would be cool. -Needs more gesture support, namely the ability to do a 4 finger swipe up for the full spaces view (as opposed to switching spaces that way, because I'm only using mine horizontally), just like mission control. -Any chance of a SL version? It seems like it's a mission control replacement rather than integration, so I feel like it should work. I tried some info.plist edits on 10.6.7 on my netbook but the app still remained crossed out. Really, really cool app. I have TotalFinder and TotalTerminal as well and I use them on a daily basis, this developer really knows how to make quality software.
Like
Version 0.10.3
1 answer(s)
jamiethemorris
jamiethemorris
21 June 2012
When I say "changing the gestures," I meant setting the amount of fingers etc. to swipe spaces, not the act of swiping the spaces themselves itself. After I got it set up how I wanted I have had no issues with it. I also forgot to mention, if you want to be able to swipe up for mission control, you can use bettertouchtool to assign a multi-touch gesture to a key command.
Like
Cowicide
20 June 2012
This developer is doing Apple a favor, this makes me almost want to upgrade to Lion after all this time. Apple should really take a long, hard look of why only 40 percent of Mac users are actively using Lion right now.
Like (2)
Version 0.10.3
1 answer(s)
Myka
Myka
20 June 2012
My sentiments exactly! When I saw this, I indeed *almost* upgraded to Lion.
Like
Dana-Sutton
10 June 2012
Just in case you think I was wrong to write a comment before trying the app., I tried it, and an obligatory Preference choice I had to make was to assign each open app. to a particular desktop. 'Nuff said. The developer of this app. doesn't Get The Point Of It All any more than anybody else does. I. m. h. o. every one of these apps., Apple's incuded, is a snare and a delusion.
Like (1)
Version 0.10.0
7 answer(s)
Shock-J
Shock-J
12 June 2012
Just because a particular application doesn't suit your particular "sensibilities" when it comes to workflow, doesn't mean that it's not an invaluable tool to others. To say that, "every one of these apps., Apple's incuded, is a snare and a delusion," is to almost imply that every single app written should be written for YOU and the way YOU WORK. Developers write apps to sell to the largest common denominator, not for those 2 percenters who does things "in their own way," which you clearly seem to fall. If you want an app that works YOUR way, then I suggest you pick up an Objective-C book and get to coding it yourself.
Like (1)
Dana-Sutton
Dana-Sutton
12 June 2012
Look here, friend, I'm not saying that an app should work EXCLUSIVELY my way, just that it should be able to work my way TOO. That's not too unreasonable, now is it? And if I were unique in my needs, yes, I'd be silly and unreasonable. But I am willing to bet there are plenty of people with the same needs I have. And I'll stick to my guns in saying that I think the authors of these programs don't have sufficient insight into the way many of us want to put them to real-world purposes.
Like (2)
Shock-J
Shock-J
12 June 2012
Of course I don't think it's unreasonable to want an app to work the way you do. But Virtual Desktop apps have been around for years, long before Apple's Spaces, with millions of VERY satisfied customers. What I DO think is unreasonable is for you to make a blanket claim that "the authors of these programs don't have sufficient insight into the way many of us want to put them to real-world purposes," just because YOU'RE not a satisfied customer. I, and numerous other users, are very satisfied with TotalSpaces. Is your opinion/needs more valuable, more "real world" than ours? I think not. A virtual "desktop" is just what it says, another desktop. Who says it's supposed to manage your projects/workflow as well? Perhaps if no virtual desktop app EVER has suited your needs, then maybe you've been looking at the wrong type of app to address your issues.
Like
Dana-Sutton
Dana-Sutton
20 June 2012
Sorry, Shock, I do not want a windows manager, if by that you mean a program of the Flexiglas type (I use one of those already, as it happens). I want a virtual desktop program where the windows behave with the same predictability, stability, and placement memory on virtual desktops that they do on the Finder desktop. Look at this way, Shock. If the Finder desktop behave, or rather misbehave, the way virtual desktops do on all the v. d. products ever produced, Apple or third party, the Mac community would be in an uproar. It's not enough to produce virtual desktops, we need good and reliable ones.
Like (1)
Shock-J
Shock-J
20 June 2012
DEFINITION: "In computing, a virtual desktop is a term used to describe ways in which the virtual space of a computer's desktop environment is expanded beyond the physical limits of the screen's real estate through the use of software. There are two major approaches to expanding the virtual area of the screen. Switchable virtual desktops allow the user to make virtual copies of their desktop view-port and switch between them, with open windows existing on single virtual desktops. Another approach is to expand the size of a single virtual screen beyond the size of the physical viewing device. Typically, scrolling/panning a subsection of the virtual desktop into view is used to navigate an over-sized virtual desktop." Nowhere in this definition (from wikipedia) does it say anything about managing/controlling window behavior. This is the point I'm trying to make. The core purpose of a virtual desktop is to expand screen real estate, that's it, NOT manage window behavior. And that's why I, and millions of other virtual desktop users, are satisfied with their virtual desktop apps, because we don't expect it to do something outside of the definition of what's it's supposed to do. You seem to be unable to separate this distinction and continue to assert that a virtual desktop app should control window placement as well. This is simply incorrect and outside the core purpose of the application. TotalSpaces does exactly what it's supposed to do. It's not the job of a virtual desktop to control window behavior in any way, shape or form. IF it happens to do that, then that's a bonus. Once you grasp this, you will understand that you ARE looking for window management, specifically, window management within the context of multiple virtual desktops. As soon as you say, "I want a ... program where the windows behave..." that's window management, period, end of story. You simply want window management INSIDE of a virtual desktop application. I'm not saying this is unreasonable, I'm simply saying you need to truly understand what a virtual desktop app is and shouldn't complain about it not having features that, at it's core definition/purpose, it's not supposed to have.
Like
Dana-Sutton
Dana-Sutton
21 June 2012
Shock, if we are going to consider definitions then we ought also to ask what "virtual" means. The general seems to be that something virtual imitates or mimics something else, right? Then I think we're very entitled to ask how good a job it does of imitating that thing. In this case the Desktop. If we have programs that create virtual desktops, then I think its very legitimate to ask how good a job these v. d.'s do of imitating the behavior of the real one. And, at least for me, windows management is a vitally important, highly desirable feature in any desktop, real or virtue.
Like (1)
Shock-J
Shock-J
21 June 2012
Ok, let's consider another definition... the Desktop. What is the Desktop? On the Mac, the Desktop is simply a folder on your hard drive. It is a very special folder, with a special presentation to view its contents, but a folder none the less. Being simply a folder, the Desktop does NOT manage windows, it simply displays the contents within its folder, albeit uniquely from every other folder. The FINDER manages windows. So if you want something to mange your windows better inside a virtual desktop, then perhaps you need a Virtual Finder that works in conjunction with the virtual desktop. By definition, by simply being a folder, the Desktop is at a "lower level" than a window (seeing as how windows can contain multiple folders, but not vice versa) and has no power to control/manage windows. So once again, a virtual "desktop" app is not the appropriate mechanism to manage windows.
Like
Dana-Sutton
10 June 2012
Here's what I want in a virtual desktop program (and I doubt I'm alone in this).I want a program that can work on a project-by-project basis as well as a program-by-program basis. What I mean is this. To support myself I have to churn out another children's book about that plucky little rabbit, and my hobby is writing anonymous death threats to public officials. And I use MS Word for both projects. I want a program that can handle this situation gracefully. I mean that, once I have my different desktops set up the way I want them for my different projects, I want a program that will accurately remember my chosen window preferences (on both my monitors). In fact I want a program which will accurately remember them across reboots. So far, I've tried 'em all, including Apple's various schemes, and none of them have come close to filling my needs. I'm about to download and try this one, maybe it will make me happier but I'm not very hopeful. Most of the people who write this kind of program seem out of touch with the way computer users actually work.
Like (1)
Version 0.10.0
7 answer(s)
Binaryage
Binaryage
20 June 2012
Sorry I missed these comments earlier. I think what you are asking for is a facility to remember which desktops all your apps are on at a particular time, and to be able to go back to that configuration later. If I were to add the possibility to go to a particular layout (of apps and desktops, saved from earlier) with a simple menu selection of some sort, would that help you? This is not totally impossible, I'd be very interested in your point of view.
Like (1)
Dana-Sutton
Dana-Sutton
20 June 2012
Dear developer: Thanks for your response. Yes, what those of us who work on a project-oriented basis need is a virtual desktop program with some sort of capacity to remember the placement of windows on various desktops. Finder's desktop can do this, I don't see why some of the responders on this thread think it's  unreasonable to expect that virtual desktops should be able to do it too? No virtual desktop program I've ever (including Apple's own) produces virtual desktops that adequately mimic the Finder in this respect. The ideal way would be to have this happen automatically "behind the scenes" like Finder. If that is not feasible, then a menu selection that has the program take "photographs" of current window placement would be an adequate workaround, as long as these "photographs" could be stored and remembered when the program is quit or the Mac is rebooted. Say, for instance, a program that took a "photograph" every 15 min. with a Restore Last Window Placement menu placement option. If you could do this, I think you'd have a winner (and, since this would be a valuable addition to my tooklit, I'd be very happy to pay a good deal more than twelve bucks for it).
Like
Binaryage
Binaryage
20 June 2012
Hi Dana, one quick question (so I more fully understand) - Does not Lion's "Reopen windows when logging back in" (dialog when you shut down) do something like this? - Stephen
Like (1)
Dana-Sutton
Dana-Sutton
20 June 2012
Well, yes it does (at least for the Finder, it doesn't work with Mission Control, though, does it?
Like
Binaryage
Binaryage
20 June 2012
Ok, I think I get it, the apps don't stay on the desktops they were before the shutdown UNLESS they have been assigned there. And I haven't really thought of this as a problem earlier because I always tend to keep my apps in the same places. Thanks for this, I'll have a think about how that could be done. TotalSpaces can already modify the app assignments, so it may not be so complex to do something useful here. -Stephen
Like (1)
Dana-Sutton
Dana-Sutton
20 June 2012
I played around with Mission Control for a few minutes, if you assign different windows from the same app. to different virtual desktops, it's horribly unstable, far worse than Spaces. The Finder does a great job of this. It can remember window size and placement, it can even re-open files to the same place they were at before a reboot. It must have some memory/photograph feature built into it. I'm not asking for anything nearly sophisticated, but I think that any virtual window should be able to reproduce the essential reliable stability of the Finder desktop.
Like
Shock-J
Shock-J
20 June 2012
My apologies for butting in but, after reading the additional comments it is pretty clear that Dana wants a WINDOW MANAGER, not really a virtual desktop app. There are already numerous applications out there that handle these tasks. If the excellent developers at Binaryage feel gracious enough to add window management into their already fantastic virtual desktop application, then that's just the icing on the cake. So, with clarification, I stand by my previous statement. It is unfair to harshly criticize a virtual desktop application because "it doesn't do windows." [Sorry, just couldn't resist. ;-) ] While obviously related, window management and virtual desktops are not the same animal, and not necessarily the same problem to be solved if you're an application developer. So before you go pointing your finger at an entire developer community saying they're not addressing your issues, make sure you've precisely defined what you're issues are and that you're pointing at the RIGHT community.
Like
S/ash
06 June 2012
Switching to a space from a fullscreen app using the grid view does not work, since this version. It keeps me on the full screen app.
Like
Version 0.10.0
heisenberg
05 June 2012
Wow, multiple monitors in Lion actually makes sense again! Bravo, BinaryAge! Thanks for this much-needed software. My only quibble: a short animation when triggering the overview grid would be nice, but this is just aesthetic. Functionally, TotalSpaces rocks!
Like
Version 0.10.0
Spaf
05 June 2012
Does everything I want it to do. Easy to set up. Seems to work flawlessly, at least so far. Spaces is back!
Like (1)
Version 0.10.0
Kohoutek
17 May 2012
I agree with everyone expressing thanks to the developer to bring back Spaces. I also agree with some users, such as Shock-J, who point out that more features are needed so that this can be ready for prime-time and big-time on the Mac. The effects themselves may seem cosmetic, but the result would be an app that fits well into the user's overall desktop experience. More integration is needed with Mission Control. Here are some things to aim for: (1) A default transition into the grid that zooms back from the current desktop, as Mission Control does. (2) An ability to override MC's default swipe transition between desktops, so that whether the user changes desktops from within the grid overview or MC overview, they can still get the same transition, such as cube. (3) Along with #2, an ability to assign the same keyboard shortcuts to TS as to MC.
Like
Version 0.9.10
Jazzyguy
16 May 2012
Excellent in every way! Reminiscent of Hyperspaces but has its own character and is very easy to use.
Like (1)
Version 0.9.10
Shock-J
16 May 2012
YES, YES AND YES! This is so close to perfect and can't even tell you. This developer is a superhero. Gestures have been added to the latest version. Two problems though... 1) Five fingers is a bit tough. Gotta get it down to at least four. 2) The swipe gestures are backwards!! Meaning the desktops change in the opposite direction of my gesture (and opposite of how Apple's gestures work, which is what we're all used to). To elaborate, if I have 3 desktops side by side and I'm on desktop 2, when I swipe from right to left, that means I'm moving desktop 2 offscreen to the left and bringing desktop 3 onscreen from the right. The desktops follow the motion of my hand. TotalSpaces is currently set up backwards where if I move from right to left (while on desktop 2), it moves me to desktop 1, presumably because desktop 1 is on the left and that's the direction I swiped in. But the desktop doesn't follow the motion of my hand. I moved from right to left, but the active desktop moved left to right... that's backwards. This needs to be flipped or give the end user a checkbox to choose which behavior they want. For people new to trackpads and gestures, this might be OK, but for experienced users, this will drive us crazy! I still totally love this app, but this has got to be addressed before it gets 5 star awesomeness.
Like
Version 0.9.9
2 answer(s)
Binaryage
Binaryage
16 May 2012
Actually the swipe gestures follow the same natural / unnatural setting as your scroll direction. I could add a checkbox for it also - I didn't because I thought it would feel right according to the system setting. But perhaps it does need it's own setting.
Like (1)
Shock-J
Shock-J
16 May 2012
Thanks for replying. I played with "Scroll Direction" checkbox in the trackpad prefpane. Very strangely, after toggling it on and off a few times and testing the behavior, TotalSpaces started to work in unison with the way Apple does. I SWEAR it was backwards after my initial install. Now it "feels" right to me. But I agree, a checkbox to clear up any confusion would be nice. :-)
Like
Shock-J
09 May 2012
Thank goodness someone has finally written some software that starts to fill the gaping whole Apple left with Spaces. This software is about two or three updates away from being awesome. Next steps to awesomeness are desktop labels and gestures. GOTTA have gestures. I use a trackpad at home and work and use the 3 finger swipe the change desktops. Going back to hotkeys will feel archaic. Thanks!
Like (2)
Version 0.9.8
1 answer(s)
Fishscale
Fishscale
10 May 2012
Totally agree about the necessity of labels and gestures. I need labels more than gestures but your spot on with what's needed. Good review.
Like
Myka
07 May 2012
Hey, cool. It's the same developer who created TotalFinder (which I absolutely love - can't imagine my Mac without it). I'm still on 10.6.8, and one of the reasons I'm refusing to switch is the absence of grid-spaces in Lion. I'll keep watching this thread. Great idea, and good luck! ;-)
Like
Version 0.9.8