Back to MacX DVD Ripper Pro page
MacX DVD Ripper Pro free download for Mac

MacX DVD Ripper Pro Reviews6.6.0

13 October 2021

Copy DVDs to digital, single-file format.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
atwell7268
atwell7268
Sep 29 2021
6.5.9
0.0
Sep 29 2021
0.0
Version: 6.5.9
As described, this software is easy to use. However, it is NOT a five minute rip as they advertise!! I select the software recommended rip, but it can take upwards of 40 minutes to rip a DVD, clearly much longer than they advertise! I have contacted them about this, and as expected, they offer so many reasons why DVD's don't rip in 5 minutes that I can't keep up with them. Tho I am happy to rip DVD's with their software, they fail to explain to me how to rip a DVD in 5 minutes! So for ease of use 5 stars, for truth in their propaganda, '0' stars.
chris-timotheou
chris-timotheou
Apr 27 2021
6.5.6
4.0
Apr 27 2021
4.0
Version: 6.5.6
I've used this program for many years and its always my first port of call for ripping DVDs - I can't understand why so many users have negative views. The interface is clear, ripping is fast and I'm able to save movies in a variety of formats - the software can also rip many files from the same DVD one after the other during the same session. Over the years, this app has successfully ripped many hundreds of DVDs and some do, of course, fail but there have not been that many! However, one slight niggle - subtitles from foreign language DVDs are always a bit fuzzy at the edges so Digiarty or anyone else out there, please help! With regard to customer services, they could be better - after formatting my drive and re-installing MacX DVD Ripper the serial number was not accepted despite me paying for a lifetime licence for one computer. I contacted customer services who soon sorted the problem, although it was kind of suggested in the email that I had attempted to install the software on more than one computer (which I most certainly was not, Digiarty!) - as I understand, MacX DVD Ripper must be uninstalled from your system prior to formatting your drive otherwise the software is still associated with the old system and the serial number will not be recognised after re-install on the newly formatted drive - this is all a bit technical and is explained somewhere in the Help section, although it's not that clear. Anyway - the good thing is that you don't always have to pay for this software (although I did) because Digiarty often gives out free licences for many of their products, so keep a look out for these.
NedC
NedC
Apr 14 2021
6.5.6
2.0
Apr 14 2021
2.0
Version: 6.5.6
Not to be confused with MDRP.
tru6794
tru6794
Dec 16 2020
6.5.5
2.0
Dec 16 2020
2.0
Version: 6.5.5
Unacceptable customer service. The program was working fine till it got an update, then I lost the license code, which I tried to activate again but it shown that it’s invalid license. I contacted the support team and got a reply to push me to pay some extra money for a family pack. I only have got one computer. Why do I need 2 licenses??? It’s not a professional at all. It won’t remember the user. Also the support team is really pushing me to get something that I don’t need. Just make your mind up if you want to get this software that it’s one time service after you have paid.
JonStuck
JonStuck
Dec 4 2020
6.5.5
1.0
Dec 4 2020
1.0
Version: 6.5.5
Made in China.......
Uberfiend
Uberfiend
Oct 9 2020
6.5.3
1.0
Oct 9 2020
1.0
Version: 6.5.3
I bought this to rip a DVD Region 2 disc a friend gave me. It sort of worked, but was glacially slow and buggy af. The progress meter stalls at 23% and never moves past that. On my latest rip attempt it froze several times and I had to force-quit. I also noticed the timer estimate countdown was really, really wrong, and when it went to 00:00 remaining, instead of finishing, it just started counting upward. Suspiciously, they also chose to name the software "MacX DVD Ripper Pro" despite a well-known app called "MacDVDRipper Pro" pre-dating it by at least a year. Digiarty employees have claimed that it's not a scam and that they adopted this name "only" a year or two after Mac DVDRipper Pro was released, which is an idiotic claim, as it's not a defense at all. Digiarty clearly appears to be trading on the confusion between the good software that works and theirs, which is a steaming pile of trash.
coriolanusmagnus
coriolanusmagnus
Sep 22 2020
6.5.3
1.0
Sep 22 2020
1.0
Version: 6.5.3
It takes 3 hours to convert a DVD with the Pro. Totally unresponsive customer service, they give you the run around. If you make the mistake of purchasing this you should go through your credit card company to reverse the charges ASAO.
Dan-Buchan
Dan-Buchan
Sep 6 2020
6.5.3
2.0
Sep 6 2020
2.0
Version: 6.5.3
[I had to give it some rating just to post this] You guys should try the other DVD ripper....that's also called Mac DVD Ripper Pro (but without the X), from these folks: https://www.macdvdripperpro.com Been using it for years, works like a charm.
BruceB4807
BruceB4807
Aug 21 2020
6.5.3
1.0
Aug 21 2020
1.0
Version: 6.5.3
As of 21 Aug 2020, I am not satisfied with DIGIARY's MacX DVD Ripper Pro {VER 6.5.3}. Ever since installing macOS 10.15.5 (and 10.15.6), MacX DVD Ripper Pro has not successfully ripped any of my DVDs. I even tried ripping a DVD that I successfully ripped prior to installing macOS 10.15.5, and that effort failed. I have been in contact in DIGIARITY and answered their questions, plus forwarding the rip reports for the latest failure. Supposedly, my issue was given to the Support Team. But I have not received any updates. My attempts for status updates have been stalled or ignored. I have a life-time license for MacX DVD Ripper Pro, having purchased the product in June 2016. (Prior to June 2020 & using macOS Catalina, I was immensely satisfied with MacX DVD Ripper Pro.)
cmounit95
cmounit95
Jul 17 2020
6.5.3
5.0
Jul 17 2020
5.0
Version: 6.5.3
Im not sure why everyone is having so many problems and hates this program. Ive had it for 7 years now and its always worked well. i recently had a problem and contacted support and the fixed my licensing issue for me pretty quick. occasionally it does crash or not rip the right title from the dvd but it pretty easy to fix just rerip the dvd and pick the right title and your all set. really happy with the program.
pjmsailor3
pjmsailor3
Jan 22 2020
6.5.1
0.0
Jan 22 2020
0.0
Version: 6.5.1
Excellent software. Easy to use does exactly what I wanted. Good support staff
BillyDee203
BillyDee203
Oct 7 2019
6.2.4
2.0
Oct 7 2019
2.0
Version: 6.2.4
Software works well, but was upset to have their support team accuse me of installing it on three computers when I only have one. When performing clean MacOS installs this software must be using GUID instead of the machine's hardware MAC address for identification and it blitzed my activations. The "hidden" button labelled Remove License is very well hidden and not mentioned anywhere on their website product support pages as of the date of my post. The button's existence should be better documented on their website and perhaps better labelled as "Deactivate License" like other developers have done. This recent support experience really leaves a bitter taste in my mouth, especially when they attempt to sell me a family license for my one lowly Mac!
candiceeve
candiceeve
Mar 6 2019
6.2.0
0.0
Mar 6 2019
0.0
Version: 6.2.0
Hi guys, this is Candice from MacXDVD Software. Thanks for your reviews about MacX DVD Ripper Pro and I’d like to give some explanations regarding your misunderstandings about this tool and Mac DVDRipper Pro. First of all, the product name of MacX DVD Ripper Pro is based on our product line and is absolutely NOT the plagiarism of the respected Mac DVDRipper Pro. MacXDVD is a branch of Digiarty Software, Inc. which was established in 2006. And we released our first Windows DVD ripping tool under the name of WinX DVD Ripper Platinum in the same year. Then in 2010, we decided to provide the DVD ripping service for Mac users and thus MacX DVD Ripper Pro came out as the counterpart for macOS. That is just one year after the release of Mac DVDRipper Pro. Secondly, there are lots of obvious differences between these two programs, from the user interface, software features to core technology. For instance, We suggest you download and try these two applications to make a deep comparison. If you have any suggestion or ideas about MacX DVD Ripper Pro, please feel free to contact media@macxdvd.com. MacX DVD Ripper Pro VS Mac DVDRipper Pro https://www.macxdvd.com/mac-dvd-ripper-pro/macx-dvd-ripper-pro-vs-mac-dvdripper-pro.htm
OhEssex
OhEssex
Dec 23 2018
6.2.0
0.0
Dec 23 2018
0.0
Version: 6.2.0
I just don't understand why the developer was so galactically stupid as to name this product just one letter different to a well established and respected competing app - Mac DVDRipper Pro. Most of the negative comments here are from people justifiably drawing the conclusion that the developer is trying to intentionally draw an income my disguising his product as somebody else's. IF this product is so good and the developer actually cares about it, then in the name of all that is good and holy just rename the darn thing so that it can distinguish itself and stand on it's own. Of course, if the whole point was to deceive then please just ignore this comment and continue to bask in all the well deserved self-inflicted negative comments...
Discerning
Discerning
Jul 2 2018
6.1.0
1.0
Jul 2 2018
1.0
Version: 6.1.0
Back when RipIt was still being developed, it was excellent. Unfortunately it won't work anymore. This program (previous version and 6.1.0) we have had for a number of months. It seldom will rip anything, the program often crashes and sometimes it will lock up the whole computer. What a waste of time and money. Shame on you Digiarty for producing such a worthless app. My guess is the positive reviews are fake, like the other reviewer. They were likely paid by the developer for positive reviews, like the fake reviews on Amazon. Oh, it also goes by another name: WinX DVD Ripper for Mac. Let the buyer beware.
JonStuck
JonStuck
Oct 18 2017
5.6.0
1.0
Oct 18 2017
1.0
Version: 5.6.0
NEVER use this!!
Dgerzeeboy
Dgerzeeboy
Aug 30 2017
5.5.1
1.0
Aug 30 2017
1.0
Version: 5.5.1
To repeat: This is NOT the excellent Mac DVDRipper Pro. This is the terrible (MacX DVD Ripper Pro), still attempting to fool you into thinking otherwise. You may want to take a look at the fake 5-star reviews below, surrounded by actual reviews of this junk. Check the icon list above under "Similar Software." You'll find the authentic Mac DVDRipper Pro there. The real deal.
Flavum
Flavum
Aug 30 2017
5.5.1
0.0
Aug 30 2017
0.0
Version: 5.5.1
Not with a ten-foot pole.
zsoftsmt2
zsoftsmt2
Mar 14 2017
5.0.0
5.0
Mar 14 2017
5.0
Version: 5.0.0
Wow.. it really can rip my damaged DVDs! Very impressive!
antoniooscarperez
antoniooscarperez
Jan 17 2017
4.9.5
4.5
Jan 17 2017
4.5
Version: 4.9.5
unos de los mejores que he visto
Macintosh-Sauce
Macintosh-Sauce
Oct 17 2016
4.9.5
0.0
Oct 17 2016
0.0
Version: 4.9.5
I just love how this app is trying to make it look like the awesome "Mac DVDRipper Pro" application. :/
Guest
Guest
Oct 16 2015
4.5.8
0.0
Oct 16 2015
0.0
Version: 4.5.8
Avoid this software and its agents in crime at all costs.

MacX DVD Ripper Pro and the company that spawned it [Digiarty], is what is known in the English idiom as a nasty piece of work.

Buying this software was a very stupid thing to do. I can only assume that I was suffering from a momentary lapse of reason when I fell for this rip off.

After installation the software wouldn't work - the activation key was invalid - it never worked. So I contacted Digiarty and Avangate their merchant processor for a refund as per their 30 day money-back guarantee and found myself sucked into a twilight void of unspeakable horror. To begin with the company had no record of the purchase so I had to prove I had paid for it by forwarding a copy of the order confirmation email. After a subsequent lengthy correspondence it soon became apparent that no refund would be forthcoming so I contacted my bank.

It turns out that both companies are well known fraudsters. The fraud department of my bank has advised me that an investigation is ongoing into the dubious business practices of Avangate and Digiarty.

As a goodwill gesture my bank has refunded the purchase price and advised me to cancel the card I used for the transaction.

In light of what I have learned, I am surprised that this company is able to list its software on MacUpdate.

Truly vile.
Yoshita
Yoshita
Aug 29 2015
4.5.8
0.0
Aug 29 2015
0.0
Version: 4.5.8
How come there are no copyright rules for the naming of apps? I'd say It's obvious that everyone who searches for "DVD Ripper Pro" is looking for DVDSuki's software title, yet it seem like it has somehow become okay for everyone and their sister to name their shoddy app after a best selling title without facing any kind of consequences. In Apple's AppStore there are currently 13 different DVD Ripper Pro (just not the proper/original one!). Apple doesn't seem to care either.
Jerry-T
Jerry-T
Jul 19 2015
4.5.8
0.0
Jul 19 2015
0.0
Version: 4.5.8
We have very interesting comments here. I'd think I came to politicsupdate.com. Someone thought the product is a copycat of another "superior" product, without any solid evidence. Regarding the similar naming, Digiarty Software also has another line of products on winxdvd.com. Also, which countries do you guys live in? Why do you need such a DVD ripper to begin with? I mean "Ripping copy-protected DVDs is illegal..." (at least in US) (http://lifehacker.com/5978326/is-it-legal-to-rip-a-dvd-that-i-own)
rrt1966
rrt1966
Jun 23 2015
4.5.8
1.0
Jun 23 2015
1.0
Version: 4.5.8
At first I thought this was a new version of Mac DVDRipper Pro with a different interface. But this is clearly an inferior ripoff with a name that is deliberately similar to confuse people. The Real Deal: "Mac DVDRipper Pro" (latest version is 5.0.5) This fake crap: "MacX DVD Ripper Pro" (Note that in the ripoff there is a "X" in "MacX" and "DVD Ripper" has a space and the better product does not have a space.) Get the better product here: http://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/31118/mac-dvdripper-pro I don't know why MacUpdate is doing a promo for a deliberate ripoff. It should be called "MacX DVD Ripoff Pro".
tmo1138
tmo1138
Jun 23 2015
4.5.8
1.0
Jun 23 2015
1.0
Version: 4.5.8
Mac DVDRipper Pro and MacTheRipper (aka MTR5) both do a far better job than this thing does. Avoid it.
Fleegs
Fleegs
Mar 13 2015
4.5.8
5.0
Mar 13 2015
5.0
Version: 4.5.8
Works as it describes, Very happy with the software. MacBook Pro.
ovillarr13
ovillarr13
Feb 27 2015
4.5.8
0.5
Feb 27 2015
0.5
Version: 4.5.8
If I could give it zero stars I would. Unfortunately for me I found this page too late. Bought their software and boy was that a waste of money. Sure it works, but it takes 2hrs to rip a DVD. Just get DVD Ripper Pro. It does it in less than 30min.
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
Feb 5 2015
4.5.8
0.5
Feb 5 2015
0.5
Version: 4.5.8
You'd think we were all living in China. NO, this isn't Mac DVD Ripper Pro. It's just a ripped off name with an 'X' added, and that's about all.
Vancurren
Vancurren
Nov 29 2014
4.5.7
0.5
Nov 29 2014
0.5
Version: 4.5.7
Doesn't work at all as advertised. Application launches and recognizes DVD. Rip will start, then ends after ripping 100Kb or so, telling you it's completed. The free Thanksgiving 2014 give away isn't even worth the price.
-M-S-
-M-S-
Jan 21 2014
4.4.4
0.0
Jan 21 2014
0.0
Version: 4.4.4
Due to complaints from members regarding the quality of MacX apps, we are removing their listings from MacUpdate.
Gary30
Gary30
Dec 24 2013
4.4.4
0.5
Dec 24 2013
0.5
Version: 4.4.4
I feel like a complete idiot. I purchased this app by mistake. It failed to convert or copy any DVD I tried including my own homemade DVD's from past projects. It seems to me that this is deceptionware to be sure.
Xplicit
Xplicit
Oct 29 2013
4.4.2
0.5
Oct 29 2013
0.5
Version: 4.4.2
The name is a total rip-off. Also my eyes hurt so much from looking at the screenshot for just about two seconds. Have a look at Mac DVDRipper Pro instead.
Winco
Winco
Aug 13 2013
4.3.0
0.5
Aug 13 2013
0.5
Version: 4.3.0
You have been warned folks! DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT - This product is a deliberately named ripoff of the outstanding Mac DVD Ripper Pro. It is inferior in many ways over Mac DVD Ripper Pro.
Penguirl
Penguirl
Apr 7 2013
4.0.0
2.5
Apr 7 2013
2.5
Version: 4.0.0
I set out to rip a DVD 9 (?) of a popular comic book turned movie with new style DRM that made the disc appear to be 50GB or so. MTR 3 crashed, Fairmount claimed it couldn't find VLC (v0.9.10 is in /Applications), and HandBrake claimed that libdvdcss was not installed when I know that it is, and scanning 'without' it resulted in a crash so I decided to try MacX Ripper Pro. First of all, the interface. The screenshot above is outdated, the new UI looks nothing like that. The interface is pretty simplistic, you have preset options (VIDEO TS H264, VIDEO TS MPEG4, MOV H264, MOV MPEG4, MP4 H264, MP4 MPEG4, DIVX/XVID AVI, etc…) for different devices - including Windows compatible presets. Each preset has a quality slider and that's the extent of your options in that window. Make sure you have what you want on the first window, because there's no way to go back to it. The second window gives you a choice of "titles" to rip and recommends the correct one. From here you can add subtitles, and apparently for TS only you get some more detailed options - frame rate, bit rate, resolution. The list of all the "titles" has a edit button for each one where you can preview, add subtitles, trim the beginning and/or end, and crop & expand. The final window offers "Use High Quality Engine" but there's no explanation what exactly it does, deinterlacing, "Safe Mode" again with no explanation, and you can select how many cores to use. You can also select the destination on this page too. What does all this boil down to? Using MP4/H264 set to highest quality, the first thing I noticed was that the progress bar went to 100% in about 20 minutes even though it was still an hour or two from being done. What It produced in the end was a 2.1GB file with fair to good picture at 1920x1200. It starts with an extra and then plays it 2 or 3 more times for good measure. Up next is an advertisement that plays repeatedly for good measure. I'm 1:09:33 into the video and the opening credits have just started. It did better than MTR3, Fairmount, or HandBrake but the results are not exactly impressive. Definitely not $40 impressive.
seba-szwarc
seba-szwarc
Mar 19 2013
4.0.0
1.0
Mar 19 2013
1.0
Version: 4.0.0
Avoid this developer at all cost. They don't want to provide from their site old version of their software. So I participated legally in give away and canot get my 3.9 version back :/
seba-szwarc
seba-szwarc
Mar 17 2013
4.0.0
1.0
Mar 17 2013
1.0
Version: 4.0.0
I tried ripping something from dvd and it worked. However interface is very clunky and definitely not mac-like. Having things worst, I am entitled free upgrade to 4.0 version but when I dwonload this version from their site my serial number is wrong :/ And I cannot download my 3.9 version back :/
Penguirl
Penguirl
Feb 7 2013
4.0.0
2.5
Feb 7 2013
2.5
Version: 4.0.0
I received this app free from some promotion, I launched it at the time but never ripped a disc. Today I see there is a new promotion for the app free so I launched my copy to see what version I have - surprise surprise the app said that the way it reads SNs has changed and I need a new SN. The only problem with this is that I use Little Snitch, so how did it call home when it was only launched the day I got it? How did it magically change the way it reads SNs? I can't prove it but I suspect the app has delay code and they planned from the start to force people to get new SNs and thusly drive sales. I can't prove it but something is rotten in Denmark. Or rather China.
blobber
blobber
Dec 31 2012
4.0.0
0.5
Dec 31 2012
0.5
Version: 4.0.0
I had this software as give away in a forum. I think it's a scam. I installed it and tried to rip a DVD. NOTHING happened. No error, no ripping, nothing at all. Now I'm worried I installed some crap on my mac. DO NOT EVEN THINK ABOUT THIS.
Dave-A
Dave-A
Dec 22 2012
4.0.0
0.5
Dec 22 2012
0.5
Version: 4.0.0
This is indeed a TERRIBLE product and I suspect an underhanded attempt to rip off a very good app called "Mac DVDRipper Pro". Don't be fooled by their insertion of an "X" in the name. Even if offered for free, I strongly recommend that you stay away from this. On the other hand, "Mac DVDRipper Pro" (without the "X"), or 'MDRP' for short, is a quality product that does what it says, and for a great price.
Merlixir
Merlixir
Nov 23 2012
3.9.12
1.0
Nov 23 2012
1.0
Version: 3.9.12
Awful. I too got this as a "freebie" in some give-away. Looks and acts like a half-baked Windows port. Interface is laughably bad. The name of the product is dubious imitation at best and outright fraud at worst.
Nigel2112
Nigel2112
Nov 14 2012
3.9.12
1.0
Nov 14 2012
1.0
Version: 3.9.12
I too fell for the giveaway on Cult of Mac. That's the last time I go to that site! I started a rip but the app just sat there, so I gave up. The UI is, erm, dated. Honesty chaps, just go with Handbrake! Just pop in a DVD, open Disk Utility and click New Image. That will make a cdr file you can then rip multiple times with Handbrake without the DVD in the drive.
smtips
smtips
Oct 23 2012
3.9.12
0.5
Oct 23 2012
0.5
Version: 3.9.12
Childish interface. Purposeful name to trick people, this is NOT Mac DVD Ripper Pro. Hard-locked my machine the first time I tried it. Suspicious giveaway just to get downloads and try to promote a lame unuseful product. Probably one of those windows devs that includes ad-ware in their windows apps...just my opinion, but this smells foul. Into the trash with you...it's a ripoff even for free.
Winco
Winco
Oct 22 2012
3.9.12
0.5
Oct 22 2012
0.5
Version: 3.9.12
DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT - This product is a deliberately named ripoff of the outstanding Mac DVD Ripper Pro.
Waveman
Waveman
Aug 23 2012
3.9.9
0.0
Aug 23 2012
0.0
Version: 3.9.9
worth $15 U.S., nothing more.
JamesHarrisPhoto
JamesHarrisPhoto
Aug 23 2012
3.9.9
0.0
Aug 23 2012
0.0
Version: 3.9.9
So how many reviewers here give the app 4-1/2 stars? Just look at each reviewer's profile to see exactly what else they've reviewed besides this developer's products. MacUpdate should investigate this and ban the developer. Fake reviews to drive up star ratings aren't fooling anybody!
Powercc
Powercc
Jul 7 2012
3.9.6
5.0
Jul 7 2012
5.0
Version: 3.9.6
One of the best DVD rip-Tools and the only I found that can rip Disney protected DVD's
JamesHarrisPhoto
JamesHarrisPhoto
Jun 11 2012
3.9.6
0.0
Jun 11 2012
0.0
Version: 3.9.6
They should change the name to MacX DVD Ripoff Pro to avoid confusion from the honest competitors.
Filchescat
Filchescat
Jun 10 2012
3.9.6
0.0
Jun 10 2012
0.0
Version: 3.9.6
Can you say chronic off-shore rip-off? Give 'em a call and have them explain their business model. Domain name: macxdvd.com Registrant Contact: HanZhicai Han ZhiCai () Fax: Guojia street #6,C-7-6 ChengDu, P 610061 CN Administrative Contact: HanZhicai ZhiCai (softsupport@vip.sina.com) +86.2885258636 Fax: +86.2885258636 Guojia street #6,C-7-6 ChengDu, P 610061 CN Technical Contact: HanZhicai Han ZhiCai (softsupport@vip.sina.com) +86.2885258636 Fax: +86.2885258636 Guojia street #6,C-7-6 ChengDu, P 610061 CN
Virtualruffy
Virtualruffy
May 23 2012
3.9.5
0.5
May 23 2012
0.5
Version: 3.9.5
This product is a deliberately named ripoff of the outstanding Mac DVD Ripper Pro. They attempt to sucker you into purchasing it by mistake by adding the 'x' into the name. It is a poor implementation and they sell numerous oddly named derivatives that are subsets of the program: ipad dvd ripper?!? iphone dvd ripper? ipod dvd ripper? itunes ripper? Really? Not to mention the 'converter' products for each of the device categories.And let's look at the magical price of only $34.95 PER ITEM. They frequently have 'giveaways' which state only that no updates or tech support are provided for the giveaways. They do not state the following which you receive if you contact them because the serial does not work "code from the giveaway is only able to activate the program during the giveaway only. You can keep the full version unless you try to update, remove the license yourself, format/replace the hard drive or reinstall the whole system once you registered the program before the deadline." None of these caveats are listed on the website, in the 'documentation' or anywhere at all. Avoid this lousy product and use Mac DVD Ripper pro.