Back to MacX DVD Ripper Pro page
MacX DVD Ripper Pro free download for Mac

MacX DVD Ripper Pro Reviews

6.2.4
25 September 2019

Copy DVDs to digital, single-file format.

Winco
13 August 2013

Most helpful

You have been warned folks! DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT - This product is a deliberately named ripoff of the outstanding Mac DVD Ripper Pro. It is inferior in many ways over Mac DVD Ripper Pro.
Like (20)
Version 4.3.0

Read 40 MacX DVD Ripper Pro User Reviews

Rate this app:

BillyDee203
07 October 2019
Software works well, but was upset to have their support team accuse me of installing it on three computers when I only have one. When performing clean MacOS installs this software must be using GUID instead of the machine's hardware MAC address for identification and it blitzed my activations. The "hidden" button labelled Remove License is very well hidden and not mentioned anywhere on their website product support pages as of the date of my post. The button's existence should be better documented on their website and perhaps better labelled as "Deactivate License" like other developers have done. This recent support experience really leaves a bitter taste in my mouth, especially when they attempt to sell me a family license for my one lowly Mac!
Like
Version 6.2.4
candiceeve
06 March 2019
Hi guys, this is Candice from MacXDVD Software. Thanks for your reviews about MacX DVD Ripper Pro and I’d like to give some explanations regarding your misunderstandings about this tool and Mac DVDRipper Pro. First of all, the product name of MacX DVD Ripper Pro is based on our product line and is absolutely NOT the plagiarism of the respected Mac DVDRipper Pro. MacXDVD is a branch of Digiarty Software, Inc. which was established in 2006. And we released our first Windows DVD ripping tool under the name of WinX DVD Ripper Platinum in the same year. Then in 2010, we decided to provide the DVD ripping service for Mac users and thus MacX DVD Ripper Pro came out as the counterpart for macOS. That is just one year after the release of Mac DVDRipper Pro. Secondly, there are lots of obvious differences between these two programs, from the user interface, software features to core technology. For instance, We suggest you download and try these two applications to make a deep comparison. If you have any suggestion or ideas about MacX DVD Ripper Pro, please feel free to contact media@macxdvd.com. MacX DVD Ripper Pro VS Mac DVDRipper Pro https://www.macxdvd.com/mac-dvd-ripper-pro/macx-dvd-ripper-pro-vs-mac-dvdripper-pro.htm
Like (2)
Version 6.2.0
OhEssex
23 December 2018
I just don't understand why the developer was so galactically stupid as to name this product just one letter different to a well established and respected competing app - Mac DVDRipper Pro. Most of the negative comments here are from people justifiably drawing the conclusion that the developer is trying to intentionally draw an income my disguising his product as somebody else's. IF this product is so good and the developer actually cares about it, then in the name of all that is good and holy just rename the darn thing so that it can distinguish itself and stand on it's own. Of course, if the whole point was to deceive then please just ignore this comment and continue to bask in all the well deserved self-inflicted negative comments...
Like (1)
Version 6.2.0
Discerning
02 July 2018
Back when RipIt was still being developed, it was excellent. Unfortunately it won't work anymore. This program (previous version and 6.1.0) we have had for a number of months. It seldom will rip anything, the program often crashes and sometimes it will lock up the whole computer. What a waste of time and money. Shame on you Digiarty for producing such a worthless app. My guess is the positive reviews are fake, like the other reviewer. They were likely paid by the developer for positive reviews, like the fake reviews on Amazon. Oh, it also goes by another name: WinX DVD Ripper for Mac. Let the buyer beware.
Like (1)
Version 6.1.0
Jonstuck
18 October 2017
NEVER use this!!
Like (4)
Version 5.6.0
Dgerzeeboy
30 August 2017
To repeat: This is NOT the excellent Mac DVDRipper Pro. This is the terrible (MacX DVD Ripper Pro), still attempting to fool you into thinking otherwise. You may want to take a look at the fake 5-star reviews below, surrounded by actual reviews of this junk. Check the icon list above under "Similar Software." You'll find the authentic Mac DVDRipper Pro there. The real deal.
Like (13)
Version 5.5.1
Flavum
30 August 2017
Not with a ten-foot pole.
Like (5)
Version 5.5.1
zsoftsmt2
14 March 2017
Wow.. it really can rip my damaged DVDs! Very impressive!
Like (1)
Version 5.0.0
antoniooscarperez
17 January 2017
unos de los mejores que he visto
Like (1)
Version 4.9.5
1 answer(s)
Ronald-T-Belanger
Ronald-T-Belanger
04 September 2017
English please !
Like
Macintosh-Sauce
17 October 2016
I just love how this app is trying to make it look like the awesome "Mac DVDRipper Pro" application. :/
Like (9)
Version 4.9.5
Abra Melin
16 October 2015
Avoid this software and its agents in crime at all costs.

MacX DVD Ripper Pro and the company that spawned it [Digiarty], is what is known in the English idiom as a nasty piece of work.

Buying this software was a very stupid thing to do. I can only assume that I was suffering from a momentary lapse of reason when I fell for this rip off.

After installation the software wouldn't work - the activation key was invalid - it never worked. So I contacted Digiarty and Avangate their merchant processor for a refund as per their 30 day money-back guarantee and found myself sucked into a twilight void of unspeakable horror. To begin with the company had no record of the purchase so I had to prove I had paid for it by forwarding a copy of the order confirmation email. After a subsequent lengthy correspondence it soon became apparent that no refund would be forthcoming so I contacted my bank.

It turns out that both companies are well known fraudsters. The fraud department of my bank has advised me that an investigation is ongoing into the dubious business practices of Avangate and Digiarty.

As a goodwill gesture my bank has refunded the purchase price and advised me to cancel the card I used for the transaction.

In light of what I have learned, I am surprised that this company is able to list its software on MacUpdate.

Truly vile.
Like (14)
Version 4.5.8
Yoshita
29 August 2015
How come there are no copyright rules for the naming of apps? I'd say It's obvious that everyone who searches for "DVD Ripper Pro" is looking for DVDSuki's software title, yet it seem like it has somehow become okay for everyone and their sister to name their shoddy app after a best selling title without facing any kind of consequences. In Apple's AppStore there are currently 13 different DVD Ripper Pro (just not the proper/original one!). Apple doesn't seem to care either.
Like (5)
Version 4.5.8
Jerry-T
19 July 2015
We have very interesting comments here. I'd think I came to politicsupdate.com. Someone thought the product is a copycat of another "superior" product, without any solid evidence. Regarding the similar naming, Digiarty Software also has another line of products on winxdvd.com. Also, which countries do you guys live in? Why do you need such a DVD ripper to begin with? I mean "Ripping copy-protected DVDs is illegal..." (at least in US) (http://lifehacker.com/5978326/is-it-legal-to-rip-a-dvd-that-i-own)
Like
Version 4.5.8
rrt1966
23 June 2015
At first I thought this was a new version of Mac DVDRipper Pro with a different interface. But this is clearly an inferior ripoff with a name that is deliberately similar to confuse people. The Real Deal: "Mac DVDRipper Pro" (latest version is 5.0.5) This fake crap: "MacX DVD Ripper Pro" (Note that in the ripoff there is a "X" in "MacX" and "DVD Ripper" has a space and the better product does not have a space.) Get the better product here: http://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/31118/mac-dvdripper-pro I don't know why MacUpdate is doing a promo for a deliberate ripoff. It should be called "MacX DVD Ripoff Pro".
Like (13)
Version 4.5.8
tmo1138
23 June 2015
Mac DVDRipper Pro and MacTheRipper (aka MTR5) both do a far better job than this thing does. Avoid it.
Like (8)
Version 4.5.8
Fleegs
13 March 2015
Works as it describes, Very happy with the software. MacBook Pro.
Like (1)
Version 4.5.8
ovillarr13
27 February 2015
If I could give it zero stars I would. Unfortunately for me I found this page too late. Bought their software and boy was that a waste of money. Sure it works, but it takes 2hrs to rip a DVD. Just get DVD Ripper Pro. It does it in less than 30min.
Like (6)
Version 4.5.8
Derekcurrie
05 February 2015
You'd think we were all living in China. NO, this isn't Mac DVD Ripper Pro. It's just a ripped off name with an 'X' added, and that's about all.
Like (10)
Version 4.5.8
1 answer(s)
Jerry-T
Jerry-T
19 July 2015
We have very interesting comments here. I'd think I came to politicsupdate.com. Someone thought the product is a copycat of another "superior" product, without any solid evidence. Regarding the similar naming, Digiarty Software also has another line of products on winxdvd.com. Also, which countries do you guys live in? Why do you need such a DVD ripper to begin with? I mean "Ripping copy-protected DVDs is illegal..." (at least in US) (http://lifehacker.com/5978326/is-it-legal-to-rip-a-dvd-that-i-own)
Like
Vancurren
29 November 2014
Doesn't work at all as advertised. Application launches and recognizes DVD. Rip will start, then ends after ripping 100Kb or so, telling you it's completed. The free Thanksgiving 2014 give away isn't even worth the price.
Like (5)
Version 4.5.7
1 answer(s)
Monicatang
Monicatang
01 December 2014
Hi Vancurren,

sorry for the inconvenience. You are suggested to select "Safe Mode" on the main interface of the software and try again. If the problem remains, please send an email to support@macxdvd.com for further help. Your understanding is much appreciated.

Best regards,
Like
-M-S-
21 January 2014
Due to complaints from members regarding the quality of MacX apps, we are removing their listings from MacUpdate.
Like (6)
Version 4.4.4
5 answer(s)
Moxiesozo
Moxiesozo
26 November 2014
If you removed the listings of MacX apps, why is this listing appearing?
Like (4)
Dgerzeeboy
Dgerzeeboy
27 November 2014
My question, as well. Why is this shoddy app still being listed?
Like (2)
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
05 February 2015
Today is Feb 5, 2015. The new release version 4.5.8 of this victim ripping program is listed at MU.

Hello? Misha? You said over a year ago that...
Like (2)
Flavum
Flavum
05 February 2015
Is Misha really a MacUpdate staff member or just a prolific poster? I'm thinking the latter. MacUpdate wouldn't announce the removal of MacX listings - the listings would just disappear. I think he's pulling our collective leg.
Like (1)
-M-S-
-M-S-
05 February 2015
Hey everyone :) I served as COO of MacUpdate for 6 years but left the company at the end of October 2014. I can't speak to why MU has decided to list MacX apps again, I had disabled them (which maintains the listing but removes its appearance from the homepage + search, and disables the download links). Feel free to email updates@ support@ or macupdate@ if you want to dig deeper, I don't think comments are actively monitored (I got an email notification regarding this reply to my post).
Like (6)
Gary30
24 December 2013
I feel like a complete idiot. I purchased this app by mistake. It failed to convert or copy any DVD I tried including my own homemade DVD's from past projects. It seems to me that this is deceptionware to be sure.
Like (3)
Version 4.4.4
1 answer(s)
Gary30
Gary30
06 January 2014
I felt very lucky to have just received a full refund through their merchant processor, Avangate, who offers a 30 day refund guarantee. My attempts to contact the developer directly resulted in "Delivery Failure" notices. I see that there are other MacX prefix products that get better ratings here although there are not a lot of ratings for the other products. Those good ratings make me wonder who is writing the reviews. Caveat Emptor
Like (2)
Xplicit
29 October 2013
The name is a total rip-off. Also my eyes hurt so much from looking at the screenshot for just about two seconds. Have a look at Mac DVDRipper Pro instead.
Like (7)
Version 4.4.2
Winco
13 August 2013
You have been warned folks! DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT - This product is a deliberately named ripoff of the outstanding Mac DVD Ripper Pro. It is inferior in many ways over Mac DVD Ripper Pro.
Like (20)
Version 4.3.0
Penguirl
07 April 2013
I set out to rip a DVD 9 (?) of a popular comic book turned movie with new style DRM that made the disc appear to be 50GB or so. MTR 3 crashed, Fairmount claimed it couldn't find VLC (v0.9.10 is in /Applications), and HandBrake claimed that libdvdcss was not installed when I know that it is, and scanning 'without' it resulted in a crash so I decided to try MacX Ripper Pro. First of all, the interface. The screenshot above is outdated, the new UI looks nothing like that. The interface is pretty simplistic, you have preset options (VIDEO TS H264, VIDEO TS MPEG4, MOV H264, MOV MPEG4, MP4 H264, MP4 MPEG4, DIVX/XVID AVI, etc…) for different devices - including Windows compatible presets. Each preset has a quality slider and that's the extent of your options in that window. Make sure you have what you want on the first window, because there's no way to go back to it. The second window gives you a choice of "titles" to rip and recommends the correct one. From here you can add subtitles, and apparently for TS only you get some more detailed options - frame rate, bit rate, resolution. The list of all the "titles" has a edit button for each one where you can preview, add subtitles, trim the beginning and/or end, and crop & expand. The final window offers "Use High Quality Engine" but there's no explanation what exactly it does, deinterlacing, "Safe Mode" again with no explanation, and you can select how many cores to use. You can also select the destination on this page too. What does all this boil down to? Using MP4/H264 set to highest quality, the first thing I noticed was that the progress bar went to 100% in about 20 minutes even though it was still an hour or two from being done. What It produced in the end was a 2.1GB file with fair to good picture at 1920x1200. It starts with an extra and then plays it 2 or 3 more times for good measure. Up next is an advertisement that plays repeatedly for good measure. I'm 1:09:33 into the video and the opening credits have just started. It did better than MTR3, Fairmount, or HandBrake but the results are not exactly impressive. Definitely not $40 impressive.
Like (1)
Version 4.0.0
1 answer(s)
Spudboy
Spudboy
10 September 2013
What are you doing using MTR 3? When 4.2.9 is out. That said, I hardly ever use MTR anymore since MDRP works so well.
Like (1)
seba-szwarc
19 March 2013
Avoid this developer at all cost. They don't want to provide from their site old version of their software. So I participated legally in give away and canot get my 3.9 version back :/
Like (3)
Version 4.0.0
seba-szwarc
17 March 2013
I tried ripping something from dvd and it worked. However interface is very clunky and definitely not mac-like. Having things worst, I am entitled free upgrade to 4.0 version but when I dwonload this version from their site my serial number is wrong :/ And I cannot download my 3.9 version back :/
Like (2)
Version 4.0.0
2 answer(s)
Jess-MacUpdate
Jess-MacUpdate
18 March 2013
Sebastian, try writing to the company's support department and explain your problem. The address is support@macxdvd.com.
Like
Virtualruffy
Virtualruffy
09 September 2013
Support is a joke from this ripoff company. I downloaded it during a 'free giveaway' and did not 'activate' it during whatever extremely brief and unspecified period of time. I wrote them and received this: "You can keep the full version unless you try to update, remove the license yourself, format/replace the hard drive or reinstall the whole system once you registered the program before the deadline." I sent them the following and told them to FOAD. "At no point ANYWHERE in the giveaway is there anything said about a ‘time limit’ or how long that time limit is to install or that replacing the hard drive or reinstalling the Operating system invalidates the license!!!! I even downloaded your ‘press kit’ to see if there was anything concerning this there. There isn’t. The only stated restrictions are no updates and no tech support! As anyone expects, if I’m given a license it is mine to use for that version -not with UNSPECIFIED restrictions!" AVOID these ripoff creeps.
Like (3)
Penguirl
07 February 2013
I received this app free from some promotion, I launched it at the time but never ripped a disc. Today I see there is a new promotion for the app free so I launched my copy to see what version I have - surprise surprise the app said that the way it reads SNs has changed and I need a new SN. The only problem with this is that I use Little Snitch, so how did it call home when it was only launched the day I got it? How did it magically change the way it reads SNs? I can't prove it but I suspect the app has delay code and they planned from the start to force people to get new SNs and thusly drive sales. I can't prove it but something is rotten in Denmark. Or rather China.
Like (3)
Version 4.0.0
blobber
31 December 2012
I had this software as give away in a forum. I think it's a scam. I installed it and tried to rip a DVD. NOTHING happened. No error, no ripping, nothing at all. Now I'm worried I installed some crap on my mac. DO NOT EVEN THINK ABOUT THIS.
Like (1)
Version 4.0.0
Dave-A
22 December 2012
This is indeed a TERRIBLE product and I suspect an underhanded attempt to rip off a very good app called "Mac DVDRipper Pro". Don't be fooled by their insertion of an "X" in the name. Even if offered for free, I strongly recommend that you stay away from this. On the other hand, "Mac DVDRipper Pro" (without the "X"), or 'MDRP' for short, is a quality product that does what it says, and for a great price.
Like (4)
Version 4.0.0
Merlixir
23 November 2012
Awful. I too got this as a "freebie" in some give-away. Looks and acts like a half-baked Windows port. Interface is laughably bad. The name of the product is dubious imitation at best and outright fraud at worst.
Like (9)
Version 3.9.12
Nigel2112
14 November 2012
I too fell for the giveaway on Cult of Mac. That's the last time I go to that site! I started a rip but the app just sat there, so I gave up. The UI is, erm, dated. Honesty chaps, just go with Handbrake! Just pop in a DVD, open Disk Utility and click New Image. That will make a cdr file you can then rip multiple times with Handbrake without the DVD in the drive.
Like (5)
Version 3.9.12
smtips
23 October 2012
Childish interface. Purposeful name to trick people, this is NOT Mac DVD Ripper Pro. Hard-locked my machine the first time I tried it. Suspicious giveaway just to get downloads and try to promote a lame unuseful product. Probably one of those windows devs that includes ad-ware in their windows apps...just my opinion, but this smells foul. Into the trash with you...it's a ripoff even for free.
Like (8)
Version 3.9.12
Winco
22 October 2012
DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT - This product is a deliberately named ripoff of the outstanding Mac DVD Ripper Pro.
Like (8)
Version 3.9.12
Waveman
23 August 2012
worth $15 U.S., nothing more.
Like (2)
Version 3.9.9
JamesHarrisPhoto
23 August 2012
So how many reviewers here give the app 4-1/2 stars? Just look at each reviewer's profile to see exactly what else they've reviewed besides this developer's products. MacUpdate should investigate this and ban the developer. Fake reviews to drive up star ratings aren't fooling anybody!
Like (7)
Version 3.9.9
1 answer(s)
-M-S-
-M-S-
28 August 2012
We've cleaned some up. Feel free to email us if you ever notice this elsewhere. updates @ macupdate dot com Thanks!
Like (4)
Powercc
07 July 2012
One of the best DVD rip-Tools and the only I found that can rip Disney protected DVD's
Like
Version 3.9.6
1 answer(s)
Ibeme
Ibeme
12 December 2012
Seriously, you expect this comment to be taken at face value? Either you're an idiot or a liar--and possibly both. There are any number of free or low price alternatives to this lame piece of garbage that routinely rip Disney movies without a pause or a hiccup. Claiming it's the only thing that can rip is Disney movie is demonstrably false, and has been so for quite some time now,
Like (1)
JamesHarrisPhoto
11 June 2012
They should change the name to MacX DVD Ripoff Pro to avoid confusion from the honest competitors.
Like (9)
Version 3.9.6
Filchescat
10 June 2012
Can you say chronic off-shore rip-off? Give 'em a call and have them explain their business model. Domain name: macxdvd.com Registrant Contact: HanZhicai Han ZhiCai () Fax: Guojia street #6,C-7-6 ChengDu, P 610061 CN Administrative Contact: HanZhicai ZhiCai (softsupport@vip.sina.com) +86.2885258636 Fax: +86.2885258636 Guojia street #6,C-7-6 ChengDu, P 610061 CN Technical Contact: HanZhicai Han ZhiCai (softsupport@vip.sina.com) +86.2885258636 Fax: +86.2885258636 Guojia street #6,C-7-6 ChengDu, P 610061 CN
Like (12)
Version 3.9.6
Virtualruffy
23 May 2012
This product is a deliberately named ripoff of the outstanding Mac DVD Ripper Pro. They attempt to sucker you into purchasing it by mistake by adding the 'x' into the name. It is a poor implementation and they sell numerous oddly named derivatives that are subsets of the program: ipad dvd ripper?!? iphone dvd ripper? ipod dvd ripper? itunes ripper? Really? Not to mention the 'converter' products for each of the device categories.And let's look at the magical price of only $34.95 PER ITEM. They frequently have 'giveaways' which state only that no updates or tech support are provided for the giveaways. They do not state the following which you receive if you contact them because the serial does not work "code from the giveaway is only able to activate the program during the giveaway only. You can keep the full version unless you try to update, remove the license yourself, format/replace the hard drive or reinstall the whole system once you registered the program before the deadline." None of these caveats are listed on the website, in the 'documentation' or anywhere at all. Avoid this lousy product and use Mac DVD Ripper pro.
Like (16)
Version 3.9.5
1 answer(s)
OhEssex
OhEssex
10 June 2012
I haven't ever tried this product, so I won't review it, but I will definitely agree that it's a very dirty trick to name a product in such a deceptive manner. If this occurred in the commercial domain lawyers would be getting rich...
Like (6)
phillipbj
02 May 2012
Can someone please provide a review of this app.? How it compares to other apps of it’s kind?
Like (3)
Version 3.9.5
1 answer(s)
Y-Guy
Y-Guy
10 May 2012
Look at the interface, that will tell you everything you need to know. This one is trying to confuse users by using a name similar to a genuinely good product. Check out Mac DVDRipper Pro which is a great program and cheaper, and isn't trying to rip off somebody's name.
Like (8)