Back to Backup and Sync page
Backup and Sync free download for Mac

Backup and Sync Reviews

3.47
02 November 2019

File backup and sharing tool; 15 GB free (was Google Drive).

ylluminate
14 June 2018

Most helpful

Man Google is infuriating. There is NO FREAKING WAY TO REACH ANYONE!!!!!!! Google, you really know how to make a user ANGRY. I have attempted to troubleshoot and your forums flat out suck. Your support folks are just entirely lame; they cannot help and they cannot get in touch with development engineers. I've worked incredibly hard to track down issues for you via `dtrace` and digging into the guts of your app as best I can, but even what I find cannot be shared! USER BEWARE: If you do anything interesting at all with your Photos.app library or use ZFS, STAY AWAY FROM THIS until they get their heads out of their rear ends. Google, you sure know how to be dysfunctional as far as users needs go. Disgusting.
Like (4)
Version 3.42.9858.3671

Read 109 Backup and Sync User Reviews

Rate this app:

andi-koall-1
04 November 2019
I tried to install the latest version on my Mac Pro and it doesn't work. it gives an error message saying: "Backup and Sync has encountered a fatal error, and will now terminate. An uncaught exception was raised during execution of the main script. This may mean that an unexpected error has occurred, or that you do not have all of the dependencies for this application. See the Console for a detailed traceback." not sure how to fix it. Please help!
Like
Version 3.47
mrsidoric
06 June 2019
ABSOLUTE TRASH. If you value your data and documents – NEVER TRUST GOOGLE.
Like (1)
Version 3.44
Eyeless
11 January 2019
I told them when they auto-upgraded users from Google Drive to this new app that Offline files did not work with it. – They had no clue about that at all.
Like
Version 3.43
ylluminate
14 June 2018
Man Google is infuriating. There is NO FREAKING WAY TO REACH ANYONE!!!!!!! Google, you really know how to make a user ANGRY. I have attempted to troubleshoot and your forums flat out suck. Your support folks are just entirely lame; they cannot help and they cannot get in touch with development engineers. I've worked incredibly hard to track down issues for you via `dtrace` and digging into the guts of your app as best I can, but even what I find cannot be shared! USER BEWARE: If you do anything interesting at all with your Photos.app library or use ZFS, STAY AWAY FROM THIS until they get their heads out of their rear ends. Google, you sure know how to be dysfunctional as far as users needs go. Disgusting.
Like (4)
Version 3.42.9858.3671
1 answer(s)
hayes-1
hayes-1
19 July 2018
Hi. This is Google. Like we give a ****?

Or that's been my experience, anyway.
Like (1)
jostyee
30 May 2018
release notes: https://support.google.com/a/answer/7573023?hl=en
Like
Version 3.42.9747.1898
1 answer(s)
Odysseus
Odysseus
18 June 2019
There have been no new release notes since then. ?
Like
Marlo-R
11 May 2018
This one works and doesn't seem to bog down my system as do some apps that I want to keep running in the background. The feature I've found most valuable (from this free app ;-) ) is the ability to sync some folders from my Mac to my Drive without creating a new Drive folder. Instead, it slides it into a spot in my Drive that is labeled with my Mac's name. I can see this being even more valuable if I had multiple machines and I wanted to backup all the "Documents" folders and not get them mixed up. The Google Drive folder that shows up in my Finder is sometimes useful for uploading files, but pretty useless for opening Docs as there is no local app and the file just opens up a browser window and fails to load if I'm not logged in with the correct account in my default browser. Once I made peace with that part of using this feature I was able to fully enjoy the features it does provide!
Like (1)
Version 3.41.9267.0638
IvoryBlues
10 May 2018
I hate when they say "Release notes were unavailable when this listing was updated." Come on Google! How is it that you can't create a reliable app to work properly with your own cloud?
Like
Version 3.41.9267.0638
cjred
21 March 2018
Crap app... Just a suggestion, subscribe to G Suite and use Google Filestream and wuallaaaaa!!
Like
Version 3.40.8921.5350
1 answer(s)
Eric•Woehler
Eric•Woehler
22 September 2019
presume you mean "voilá!"...
Like
Version 3.46
BartoszP1513
13 March 2018
Takes 30 minutes to start syncing. I has to process all the files (90GB) before staring to sync.
Like
Version 3.39.8297.0200
norbi-mme
01 December 2017
slow, loosing files from both of my computer and from the Google Drive cloud, skipping files when downloading parent folders, can't fetch folder names from the cloud faster than 2 minutes when I want to choose the ones to sync from my computer, etc etc etc. Pain in the ass.
Like
Version 3.38.7642.3857
lazk
01 December 2017
deleted
Like (1)
Version 3.38.7642.3857
Thosbecker
30 November 2017
I wish it were possible to give neg. starts. This is total garbage.
Like
Version 3.38.7642.3857
ylluminate
30 November 2017
I really wish Google would express some concern and care about long term users. The problems with not supporting other filesystems or network drives is a horrible problem that must be resolved before this service is usable again. I'm working on migrating away presently.
Like
Version 3.38.7642.3857
Quiiick
11 November 2017
Despite all the negative comments in this thread, I must confess, I'm quite happy with "Backup and Sync". Works flawless for me.
Like (3)
Version 3.37.7411.4599
1 answer(s)
Gazman
Gazman
15 March 2018
Same, I’ve never had an issue with it.
Like (2)
BartoszP1513
04 November 2017
I moved all my 100GB archive to Google Drive (bought paid plan), but the Backup and Sync app processes all of the files every time I reboot. It eats up to 50% of CPU and 1-2GB RAM, making it totally unusable for me.
Like (2)
Version 3.37.7121.2026
Bupkis
27 October 2017
Still the same story: after install, takes an ETERNITY (now several hours and counting) to "process" files, 99.9% of which are not being synced to the mac. During this time, processor use is sky high and fans are running full out. Hard to believe that it couldn't be done much better than this, especially given the existence of Dropbox, etc.
Like (1)
Version 3.37.7121.2026
2 answer(s)
Bupkis
Bupkis
21 November 2017
Replying to my own review: my organisation is trialling Google Drive File Stream. The experience is like night and day. Because nothing is syncing until you need it, the app is up-to-date immediately upon installation. It's using very little RAM and very little CPU. So far at least, File Stream is the way to go.
Like
IvoryBlues
IvoryBlues
08 February 2018
I like the way GDFS works, but, I can't upload anything with Google Drive File Stream, nor I can back it up to and external HD. What I like about Google Drive 2.34 ( I never updated to Backup & Sync), is that I can drag anything to/from the google folder and upload and delete files. Also, every month I backup the google folder to an external hard drive as an extra step of safety.
Like
Cortig
24 October 2017
Extremely high CPU load, and ridiculously low upload speed. They clearly have to work on this :-\

On top of everything, for at least an hour after I’ve launched the app, the whole Mac becomes unresponsive as Backup and Sync is “processing” my files. Ridiculous!
Like (1)
Version 3.35.5978.2967
Odysseus
10 October 2017
Beware if you intend to use it to upload files to Google Photos. It will upload everything again, put photos in Drive even through you set a preference not to do this, use your quota … A total nightmare.
Like (1)
Version 3.36.6721.3394
robfol
10 September 2017
Not ready for primetime, can't paste password on login, no network control to stop uploads on mobile data, if you dare remove a synced drive you get bombarded with redundant messages. Upload speed OK. Hope Google work to rapidly improve this, then I can use my G-Suite data.
Like (3)
Version 3.36.6721.3394
1 answer(s)
Septimus
Septimus
10 November 2017
You can use the right mouse button to paste your password :-)
Like
Fra
09 September 2017
- Krash regularly - Settings not available anymore after 2nd launch - have trashed Google drive - Google drive is now obsolete and not working anymore Thanks Google !
Like (1)
Version 3.36.6721.3394
Bupkis
07 September 2017
Awful. Even in a situation where most of the data on Google Drive is not to be synced to the machine running this program, it still takes hours and hours of "processing" (with fans on max and system load high) every time I restart the computer or the app. What's it doing?!? Fortunately, the backups that make up the vast majority of my data are all encrypted because I don't trust Google or this program and cannot understand why it has to "process" my data so often and why that processing takes so long and consumes so many resources. If Drive weren't what we use at work, I'd be ditching this turkey. And one doesn't get the impression that Google cares too much. Their attitude would appear to be: it's free software and we're mining your data and you and your computer can bear the costs of that.
Like
Version 3.36.6721.3394
ylluminate
07 September 2017
This release is crap. They added APFS, but entirely left out the option for other file systems like ZFS. This is absolutely absurd given that ZFS is 100% compatible with HFS+ and should never have been disallowed in the first place. Has completely stopped us from using our Google backups.
Like
Version 3.36.6721.3394
Sampler
06 August 2017
Tried to copy and paste email and password into the registration screen and couldn't. Rather than type in a 50 character PW by hand., I just uninstalled.
Like (1)
Version 3.35.5978.2967
persecutor
22 July 2017
Doesn`t work on my System(10.11.6). Was bad before but now it`s useless. What a waste of time...
Like
Version 3.35.5978.2967
Harv
20 July 2017
Other than a name change and modifying the license (to MS's advantage?) are there new benefits to the user? I'm beginning to think that one is better off just paying Apple the few bucks and not worrying about your data being compromised.
Like
Version 3.35.5978.2967
Sanchai
20 July 2017
Cannot be used on APFS volume. Can only be used on HFS+ volume only!
Like
Version 3.35.5978.2967
Volcanus
20 July 2017
There is a new version, and the name has changed to “Backup & Sync”.
Like
Version 2.34.5075.1619
1 answer(s)
higherterrain-com
higherterrain-com
20 July 2017
Why change it
Like (1)
Eveningclouds
02 May 2017
Terribly unreliable. Half the time it fails to synch, so I've learned to always check the synch before I leave work for the day. Kind of defeats the purpose. Dropbox is much more reliable (also not 100%) and has a lot more built into it.
Like
Version 2.34.5075.1619
BuffaloJohn
03 January 2017
Dumped this garbage long ago. Dropbox is so much better. Using Google stuff is a dangerous proposition. They steal from anybody who uses their stuff. They abandoned their do no evil slogan many years ago. Even their search engine is manipulated data. You see what they want you to see.
Like
Version 1.32.4066.7445
mrbenbrown143
23 November 2016
We are use it for work. Very simple.
Like
Version 1.32
isaac-5
03 November 2016
This is a hopeless app as it does not support proxies. Google have known about this for years but don't care to insert the code needed (they have it).
Like
Version 1.32
ANDRESson
04 October 2016
Being a Google Chrome users I always use Google Drive for everyday work. Having this app and the Internet, there is no need to use Numbers, or Office. Easy access to any documents makes the app very useful. I like also the simple way of sharing the docs. Excellent application, everyone who tried it, will be satisfied I suppose.
Like
Version 1.31
Bee-Shop
19 September 2016
As my job demands endless sharing and syncing documents, I use Google Drive app mostly on my workplace. However, this way is very convenient, especially when you need to involve in syncing process a large group of people. It's easy to create and share new doc. Additionally, I think Google Drive is secured enough with an option of giving permissions.
Like
Version 1.31
waveform
14 August 2016
The latest version seems to cause my Finder windows to appear garbled. Can't click inside of them, either. I'm running Mavericks on a 2009 Macbook Pro. When I remove this version of Google Drive and log out/restart, the problem goes away. When I install Google Drive again, the problem comes back almost instantly.
Like
Version 1.31
Guinho
12 August 2016
Excelente serviço da Google, vale ter!
Like
Version 1.31
lqcindy
15 July 2016
I love Google Drive because it is simple and intutive. Among all cloud storage services, I love Google Drive and Dropbox.
Like (2)
Version 1.30
Quiiick
24 May 2016
On first launch of the new version 1.30 I got a strange dialog-box asking me to choose a missing component, Unfortunately I can't remember the name of said component. After dismissing the dialog-box without choosing anything the app started just fine. On subsequent restarts I never got the dialog-box again. Anyone experienced a similar behaviour?
Like
Version 1.30
oladavidgomez
27 October 2015
I actually use the whole pack of different cloud storages and Google is among of those. Lags from time to time but has a enough storage.
Like
Version 1.25
nafoiuz
06 October 2015
Among all cloud storage services I find Google Drive the best. Everything works fine, no lags, no issues at all.
Like
Version 1.24
Android-Fan
21 September 2015
I use Google Drive every day and so far I haven't faced any problems.
Like (5)
Version 1.24
canvasdevelopers
29 August 2015
Not so good for me
Like (2)
Version 1.23
MichaelHaeusler
28 August 2015
Syncing with Google Drive should never be suspended/paused, because after a while, the app, even though it's in suspended mode, apparently still tries to connect to Google's servers and immediately maxes out the CPUs in Yosemite (10.10.5), fans spinning like crazy. This app is programmed very badly. But that's to be expected of Google apps for OS X; see Google Earth as another amateurish example. Stay away, if you don't need it.
Like (2)
Version 1.23
eljeffe58
15 August 2015
Google Drive used to live in the Mac OS menu bar. Now, it is embedded in the browser. When did that happen? No more access from the menu bar? Really?
Like
Version 1.23
CDavid
13 July 2015
For me, using Google Drive app to sync stuff across all of the devices I own is a perfect choice. I don't care many people say Google gets access to every singly file I create. I have nothing to hide. Pros: - Simple and intuitive - Easy to set up - Easy to use - Free Cons: - Some say it's not a good idea to share personal information with others (Google, for example) Bottom line: Great app to sync files across different platforms.
Like (7)
Version 1.23
2 answer(s)
Prlab
Prlab
17 October 2015
Always works for me. I don't put anything sensitive on it anyway.
Like (1)
alzoub
alzoub
29 August 2016
I don`t dig this attitude. If somebody is renting you a room, would you agree to him peeking into your inimacy?
It`s not about secrecy, but privacy - no matter how free it is, and how good and handy is the app..
After all, privacy is a thing that does not fit in the views of the makers of this app (& Google in general). This app is spitting in your machine (without asking permission) the infamous Google Software Updater (almost impossible to get rid of it, you unintsall it and there it is back alive & kicking).
You know... G commits so many abuses on its users, morality means nothing for them.
But as long as it`s free, we should not care much, right? How about making money for them without even being aware?
Like (1)
Sir1963
10 July 2015
Like all "FREE" stuff there is a real price to pay.
1. Google snoops through your files, if you have anything personal then encrypt it first before putting it on Googledrive.
2. Free to you means free to every criminal, scammer. con man out there. Googledrive is such a regular host for malware and scams we have firewalled it at work, and there is no easy reporting to get these malware sites shut down.

Googledrive maybe OK to host your own files on (see point 1) but never trust random links to googledrive.
Like (2)
Version 1.23
1 answer(s)
ososX
ososX
11 July 2015
Aware of the "free" stuff by croocgle I never installed croocgle-drive on any of my devices. There are 3rd party software such as cloud-commander, expandrive and webdrive enabling to use various cloud-spaces without installing the individual cloud programs. I'm using the first one as it is fairly cheap, it works so nice that I even removed the "native" DropBox app from my computer.
Like (1)
Volcanus
24 June 2015
Now version 1.22 is offered by Google. Google software update fails to update Google Drive, although it updates Chrome. Unfortunately there is no error message. One has to scan the log files to detect the problem.
Like (1)
Version 1.22
Sgginc
12 June 2015
Download link and Google's website downloads v1.2.1. MU Desktop keeps trying to update it to v1.2.2 which currently cannot be done. Thanks ... Ken
Like
Version 1.22
1 answer(s)
Sgginc
Sgginc
15 June 2015
I've left Google Drive open for 2 days and its not updated to 1.2.2.
Like
Broz
12 June 2015
I had some serious stability issues with versions prior to 1.22. CPU hogging, network hogging, and it messed with Path Finder. Path Finder would just stall, and quit responding for a long period of time. I'm not sure whose fault that is, but when I quit running Google Drive, I could again use Path Finder without incident.
Like (2)
Version 1.22
Michael-Vilain
12 June 2015
Google Drive had been broken for most of this week on my 10.8 system. Google Drive won't run, saying I need to update to the most current version. According to this page, the app is supposed to autoupdate, but that's not happening. So, I'm stuck with a non-functioning Google Drive. If I paid for extra storage, I'd be out of luck I guess. I've been told that if I had Google For Business, I could at least contact support. I've done that when we used it at my last job. Great support, but when stuff is broken like this, I can't imagine a company being happy with their entire software department of 50 engineers spread across the globe having to email stuff back and forth instead of using Google Docs.
Like (2)
Version 1.22
1 answer(s)
4KarmicJustice
4KarmicJustice
12 June 2015
I can't launch the latest versions at all, I get a "you are running an outdated version of Google Drive" message. I have the latest version possible.
Like (1)
BDog
20 May 2015
If your Google Drive always says "Error-Click here to sign in again" when you open it after you've configured it you have to allow all applications access to the saved username/password for Drive in Keychain Access. I hope they fix this...
Like (1)
Version 1.20
2 answer(s)
BDog
BDog
20 May 2015
Oh, and since they haven't updated their macupdate listing, FYI this is still an issue in the latest version (1.21.9226.6034)
Like
BDog
BDog
28 September 2015
1.25 fixes the keychain issue.
Like