Back to Pixa page
Pixa free download for Mac

Pixa Reviews

1.1.10
04 December 2016

Quickly and easily organize your images.

Graphic-Mac
23 March 2013

Most helpful

My full review of Pixa at The Graphic Mac: http://bit.ly/11RVAhb In short, it's awesome! Well worth the $30 if you need image management.
Like (4)
Version 1.0.4

Read 32 Pixa User Reviews

Rate this app:

JamesHarrisPhoto
30 November 2018
Pixa has been discontinued (along with Delibar). http://www.pixa-app.com/
Like
Version 1.1.10
AugusChen
17 September 2018
I used Pixa to manage my picture material before, but it has not been updated and maintained for a long time and is not recommended. If you're looking for a more powerful and easier product, maybe try the Eagle App. https://en.eagle.cool/ Here are a few features I love : 1. Browser Extension 2. Screenshot 3. Auto Tagging 4. Use folders to classify your assets 5. Auto classify by Smart Folders 6. Tag on images 7. Search image by colors 8. Annotate on image 9. Powerful search engine and much more.
Like (1)
Version 1.1.10
Tim27
04 December 2016
Wow, an update!
Like (2)
Version 1.1.9
RogerKatz
03 December 2015
The current version which the developer provides, is now version 1.8.1.1. The version available at the Mac App Store is now 1.8.1.
Like
Version 1.1.8.1
mikokim
19 February 2015
Sadly, I fear this app is on the verge of becoming abandonware. The Nov 2014 update was a minor fix without fixing major issues — such as, for example, the apps inability to keep files in a naming/numbering hierarchy (e.g., if you have images numbered fig 1, fig 2, fig 3, ... fig 10 ... it will sort them fig 1, fig 10, fig 2, fig 3). Also, Live folder sync has become temperamental and slow, especially with large libraries. Its auto-tagging can become a nightmare, and the Finder will pick up those tags; when you try to remove some none-sensical tags and then reopen the app, the Pixa Library starts to choke and the familiar spinning ball will never leave your sight. Plus, its look at this point is a bit dated (and rather ugly on Retina displays (iMac and MBP) — not what you want in an app geared to designers. On the developer's website, the app has been on sale for "20% off" for some time — I'd say, save your money, this is becoming abandonware, there seems to be no effort on behalf of the developer to keep generating interest in this app (just look at the developers Twitter feed: last tweet for PixaApp dates back to Feb 21, 2014 — no teasers in terms of what may be underway etc). I'm regretting having bought it.
Like (4)
Version 1.1.5
1 answer(s)
cjred
cjred
04 June 2015
yah abandonware confirmed
Like (1)
RogerKatz
26 November 2014
The current version is 1.1.7
Like
Version 1.1.5
Hugobeng
07 July 2014
Do not trust this app! I had a complex hierarchy of hundreds of files and when I included them as a live folder, Pixa completely rearranged them, dumping bunches into an arbitrary folder on the physical disk drive. I've spent hours trying to put things back where they belong.
Like (3)
Version 1.1.5
1 answer(s)
Hugobeng
Hugobeng
11 November 2014
I concur... same experience!
Like (2)
Greglux
20 April 2014
I replaced Sparkbox by Pica and I'm happy with it. Well thought little tool! Ideal to keep track of my icons, wallpapers, etc. The snapshot plugin also works very well!
Like (2)
Version 1.1.4
Runty
15 April 2014
I kinda hate the folder name/item count bar floating over the viewing pane. It looks glitchy and it's pointless. Redundant. Why is it there, wasting space and looking ugly and annoying?
Like (1)
Version 1.1.4
1 answer(s)
Runty
Runty
15 April 2014
Oh and the image preview [double click] keeps going back to 'fit to screen' zoom size. I want it to remember the last used zoom setting.
Like
Macscooter
15 February 2014
Well, downloaded it and tried and like others it simply won't run without purchasing a license. Buried on their website is a complicated process to download another app, run it, get a string of hex codes to copy and paste "Here" wherever "here" is and they'll reply. This is utterly MORONIC. Another thing... don't watch the demo on their site unless you want to hear loud and severely annoying canned music. Was looking for something like this by you just lost a potential sale and not because I can't run it but because your approach is so idiotic I can only imagine the software is the same.
Like (2)
Version 1.1.3
2 answer(s)
Kitmos
Kitmos
25 March 2014
Agreed. I get the same message and did what they say to do with the code and still won't run. Makes you wonder if they really want to sell software.
Like (1)
Kitmos
Kitmos
25 March 2014
I did hear back from the dev. And he did fix the issue. Still an annoying way to demo software.
Like (1)
A1D
12 February 2014
Just want to say few good words about support team and product. I really like the atmosphere and environment on the user forum, the way how Pixa team deals with their customers. Very good, friendly attitude. And the product is awesome as well. But there is always room to expand and improve :)
Like
Version 1.1.3
JasonE
11 February 2014
While not a full review, the first day working with this program has been wonderful. But, even better than that has been the experience of working with the developers. Questions were answered quickly and provided context, which is missing in a lot of developer communications these days. The effort to get a demo up and running on a finicky machine really showed the effort they will go to provide the best experience. Very pleased with Pixa so far and look forward to putting it through a workload. So far, we have about 30k assets and it seems very responsive. We might finally have a good contender for now absent Extensis Portfolio!
Like
Version 1.1.3
Iaian7
27 January 2014
Some of the paradigms are a little odd (projects, folders, smart folders?), and the tabs haven't been particularly useful yet, but overall it's a great app for organising stock photography or similar collections. After testing a number of other options last year, Pixa was my choice for managing texture libraries both at work and at home (though less than 2000 images, so not particularly impressive!). Two features I hope are added: • Browser extension or OSX service that can add items to specific groups with minimal input (I usually have to manually add the source URL and other info, which could easily be automated for speedier data collection). • Support for more media (video, audio, or really any media types other than plain images). That said, there's a careful balance needed in terms of responsiveness and features, and Pixa is currently at the just-fast-enough-it's-ok point. Any slower and it'll be frustrating to use.
Like (1)
Version 1.1.3
Essadee
06 December 2013
Downloaded the "demo" and it demands a license key or exits. Interesting demo.
Like (1)
Version 1.1.3
2 answer(s)
Drdul
Drdul
25 December 2013
Try again. The demo worked for me (but it was so crashy crashy that I gave up and uninstalled it).
Like (1)
nerolapis
nerolapis
10 January 2014
If the demo demands a license key it means that your trial period is expired (you've opened it at least one time some time ago). You can try to ask for a trial reset in the support form: http://help.shinyfrog.net/
Like (1)
robioto
28 October 2013
I love this app. The browser extensions are great and the developers update it on a regular basis. It's also competitively priced.
Like (1)
Version 1.1
JasonE
30 September 2013
What size of gallery can this app handle? I have to manage hundreds of thousands of images. Can it handle it?
Like
Version 1.1
3 answer(s)
nerolapis
nerolapis
10 January 2014
Some users have reported to handle libraries with 1 million of files. The best thing to do is to try the trial version and see if it fulfils your needs.
Like
JasonE
JasonE
10 February 2014
I finally got around to installing it and it tells me it is expired. I dot not recall even installing the app before. Wish there were a way to reset the trial period once.
Like
nerolapis
nerolapis
10 February 2014
Try asking for the trial period extension at http://help.shinyfrog.net/discussions/pixa/ - we will be happy to help :) Have an awesome day!
Like
Almostwise
13 August 2013
I love this app! I have thousands of stock photos, PSD's and Pixelmator assets, and this makes storing them and sorting them a breeze! Features like Dropbox integration, sorting by tags, screen capture etc. The only thing on my wish list is the ability to sort the tags alphabetically. Other than that, great work guys, keep it up!
Like (1)
Version 1.0.4
Graphic-Mac
23 March 2013
My full review of Pixa at The Graphic Mac: http://bit.ly/11RVAhb In short, it's awesome! Well worth the $30 if you need image management.
Like (4)
Version 1.0.4
Tony2013
28 February 2013
Doesn't support Snow Leopard and using Picasa instead. No need for Pixa.
Like (2)
Version 1.0.3
Stormchild
11 December 2012
I'd like to give this a try, but unfortunately I installed it a few weeks ago and didn't really get a chance to check it out. Went to have a look now — the demo is already expired, and there's apparently no way to reset it. This is why many developers use a "# of launches" approach instead of a strict deadline. I basically never even got to try this. You guys have lost yourselves a potential sale with these overly aggressive trial restrictions. Good luck with that.
Like
Version 1.0.1
4 answer(s)
Matteo-Rattotti
Matteo-Rattotti
14 December 2012
Hi there, I'll be really happy to provide you with an extended trial, just get in touch at http://help.shinyfrog.net and I'll send you the app :) Regards.
Like (3)
Stormchild
Stormchild
23 December 2012
Okay, done. Thanks.
Like
Stormchild
Stormchild
28 December 2012
Haven't heard back about this yet. :/
Like
Prlab
Prlab
15 September 2013
Me, too.
Like
cjred
14 November 2012
Fantastic simple app for cataloging all my graphics, images, artworks etc. Hoping to have a thumbnail printing function...well print function
Like (1)
Version 1.0.1
1 answer(s)
cjred
cjred
21 March 2013
I'm still hoping on "PRINT" functions.
Like (1)
Appscout
06 October 2012
Which is more disappointing? That this is 10.7 only, and I'm still on 10.6? Or, that this is yet more "free while in beta", DEMOWARE?
Like (1)
Version 0.9.6
Vyselegend
24 September 2012
A great app. With a few more tweaks it will be the best image browser. I for one would like to see more image viewing arrangement options – like Finder-style list view or some of the others in Lyn.
Like (2)
Version 0.9.5
Xenophile
21 September 2012
Not a bad viewer, but ViewIt is still the best pr0n viewer.
Like (3)
Version 0.9.5
tot
14 September 2012
updating via pixa app.. gives ''error'' after downloading and extracting new version. downloadin and replacing app helps only. just sayn, i understand it's beta, but good to know if you want know.
Like (1)
Version 0.9.4
AlexisDhooge
04 September 2012
Very nice and usable alternative for iPhoto. I like the nice looking GUI! Looking forward to all the updates. ;) 5 stars
Like (2)
Version 0.9
Garyi
16 July 2012
Hi nice app, however illustrator and pdf docs with no background fill are transparent with the background of the pixa app showing through and no outline of the page area either. It would be great if it could pick up the page area and outline it at least, or like quick view deliver a 'paper view' of what that PDF would look like. as it stands now its of limited use because I cannot make out half my images!
Like
Version 0.7.1
1 answer(s)
Tim27
Tim27
06 October 2012
I personally like having transparency in my Illustrator illustrations. However, an alternative would be to allow the user to choose a background option for the thumbnails.
Like
Prince-Isaac
30 June 2012
The dev's web page is totally awesome with that pink arrow that you drag! Well done, Shiny Frog!
Like (2)
Version 0.7.1
mckmck
30 June 2012
don't work nothing import screenshot
Like
Version 0.7.1
gatovadio
19 May 2012
cool website. pull the pink tag on the screenshot to change. there's still creativity, i like that.
Like (2)
Version 0.6
Joop-Vos
18 May 2012
It's a beta so I did have some troubles when updating to 0.6 ... old lib didn't load ... but throwing away .plist file (corrupt I presume) gave me back all my icons. It will be a fantastic app ... in time. And a most needed one. Thanks for all the hard work.
Like
Version 0.6
Tim27
31 March 2012
This is a fantastic beginning to an app! I am very impressed so far, even in the beta. Looking forward to seeing how this progresses.
Like (2)
Version 0.3