Back to Sip page
Sip free download for Mac

Sip Reviews

2.2.1
21 October 2019

Simple color picker for developers.

Gl0tzk0wski
08 January 2018

Most helpful

I reactivated Sip on my Mac after installing High Sierra from scratch but it seems to be gone, and found out that its not distributed anymore in MAS. No problem, I can understand that you moved away from Mac App Store, and i would buy the new version, but making MAS version useless e.g. by removing the color dock to force them to buy the new version is worst. You didn’t leave the MAS version in a good state, you left it in a broken state. If you made this already in past, i think you will make it always again in future and thats why i will not buy the new version. You should not handle existing customers like this!
Like (3)
Version 1.0.6

Read 24 Sip User Reviews

Rate this app:

hatata84
11 June 2019
The ultimate color picker and manger for mac , very easy to use and stunning design with very powerful and convenient tools . This application helped me manage and discover new colours for my projects and presentations, just drag and drop , the dock pallets is very reliable to get access when I need it . The developers also are very helpful and appreciate feedback . This is the most convenient color picker I ve ever come across .
Like
Version 2.0.7
Harry Flashman
01 March 2019
The function to send palettes to others by email seems to be completely dead. It appears to send but nothing ever arrives and I contacted the developers about this over a year ago. No reply was received, so maybe they just don't like email. I tried the demo of version 2 and nothing seemed to work like before, so I uninstalled it and I'm going to look for an alternative.
Like
Version 2.0.2
thegodfather
20 February 2019
just uninstalled it... I think version 3 will have new payment method also...goodbye.. I will rather use affinity designer color picker..
Like (2)
Version 2.0
YHC
19 February 2019
A Very Greedy Developer Reason: I bought this app on 2018-11-24 (Black Friday Sales). At that time, the developer said this app can be upgraded for a lifetime. On 2019-2-18, I got an e-mail about the newest version 2.0, and this upgrade needs to pay! The Same Case: A developer of BetterTouchTool app, also changed his sales plan, but he gave users time buffer! so Ola Brothers team is VERY GREEDY, and I will keep away from all products by them.
Like (1)
Version 2.0
Maclover1-1
28 June 2018
I use this daily but I wish it could be connected to the Apple ColorPicker and show SIP collections in it.. like this "another one bites the dust" app has.. https://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/51793/colors-pro or like this great "once upon a time" app had https://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/23124/tangerine IP would then be 10 stars.. Please do it !!!
Like
Version 1.0.9
1 answer(s)
SweetP Productions
SweetP Productions
25 September 2018
ColorWell v7 now syncs with the macOS colorpicker
:)
Like
Gl0tzk0wski
08 January 2018
I reactivated Sip on my Mac after installing High Sierra from scratch but it seems to be gone, and found out that its not distributed anymore in MAS. No problem, I can understand that you moved away from Mac App Store, and i would buy the new version, but making MAS version useless e.g. by removing the color dock to force them to buy the new version is worst. You didn’t leave the MAS version in a good state, you left it in a broken state. If you made this already in past, i think you will make it always again in future and thats why i will not buy the new version. You should not handle existing customers like this!
Like (3)
Version 1.0.6
Harry Flashman
15 October 2017
I had the free version from the App Store, but never really used it. On the recommendation of others I just purchased this and it seems pretty fantastic if you do web design or other graphic work. The standard color picker in Mac OS is rather limited and this has just opened up a lot of flexibility, especially if working with others. It's too early to leave a full review with stars, but so far I'm impressed.
Like
Version 1.0.4
Maclover1-1
17 August 2017
Wow, was frustrated with my current Color Swatches app, came sniffing around MU, and stumbled onto Sip, which I had gotten ages ago.. but hardly ever used, was too basic and I ended up using Colors Pro. I saw an update date not so far back, decided to launch my copy out of curiosity.. got a message asking to check their news.. and saw they have this new non AppStore version with numbering restarting at 1.. I gave it a spin and bought it minutes later. The tabs on the edge are very practical. Shortcuts to switch color spaces etc.. great features. Kind of wish I could drag and drop onto Adobe apps color selectors, but.. still, very well thought out. So it still get a well-deserved 5. Always nice to see devs improving their apps.
Like (1)
Version 1.0.3
wickedsp1d3r
18 January 2017
Calls home. Goodbye.
Like
Version 4.5.1
2 answer(s)
joelamueller
joelamueller
10 March 2017
You can ask it not to check for updates automatically.
Like
George6
George6
22 February 2018
lol, which app doesn't?
Like
Dan-D
11 December 2016
Free, but ALL of the features/functions in the screenshots are available via in-app purchase only! :)
Like (2)
Version 4.4.2
RogerKatz
08 July 2016
the current version is 4.2.6
Like
Version 4.2.5
1 answer(s)
joelamueller
joelamueller
10 March 2017
Thanks for the heads-up. They went to non-MAS so now the version number is 0.9.9. ;) Pretty funny.
Like
BobbyThompsonRocks
21 March 2016
The version drops support for a shared history, favoring shared pallets in their place...

Seeing as I have no need for pallets, and generally prefer to copy history between machines, the update means this app is no more useful to me than any other color picker on the market, for which there are many.

Seeing as I had purchased pro after paying for other color pickers, I'm effectively out the cost I paid for pro since it no longer gives me any features I don't already have.
Like
Version 4.0
Grug
30 November 2015
The best color picker I tried, with shortcut to pick directly to Photoshop™or illustrator.
Like
Version 3.2.1
Rochade
01 March 2015
I really like SIP so far but it still won't get the best rating as it lacks some important features like: - sync only works with their own sync service. I would like to see a file based library sync like owncloud, bittorrent sync, … - I can't choose a color profile. It uses a generic profile while in most cases other profiles are more accurate (e.g. Device RGB or sRGB). This actually is a huge "no go" for me. - No help is included. I had to find the way to use SIP on my own - Renaming the colors, so I can give them more meaning (e.g. project dependent) - export/import library (e.g. ASE, AI, …) The GUI and handling are OK and the feature to integrate it with PS and AI is very nice. The best tool I ever used was tangerine which did almost everything right, but the development of this app is stalled and there are some problems using it with the latest versions of os x.
Like (1)
Version 3.0.2
clinton-d-skakun
04 February 2015
BEST color picker tool I've ever used. I've installed 2-3 on both Mac and Windows and most user experience issues and didn't work very well. I've also tried ones inside Chrome but that doesn't work if you're picking a color outside the browser. Sip is awesome. I even included it in my recommendations: http://kickassinwebdesign.com/blog/30-minute-color-palette/
Like
Version 3.0
centzon
23 October 2014
All but perfect. Small great looking, unobtrusive, fast, and free! Tiny nit picks: 1. call up Color Picker with cmd+shift+c 2. offer shortcut to close 3. show the loupe/picker on application launch
Like
Version 2.2
1 answer(s)
pd10081
pd10081
25 January 2016
Point 2
Pressing escape closes
Like
wickedsp1d3r
15 May 2014
This the best color picker I've used (tried ColorSnapper, Hues, Pochade, Little Picker and Color Picker). Usability and neatness are in perfect combination in this app. I recommend it to everyone!
Like
Version 2.1.5
Derekcurrie
26 February 2014
FREE at the Mac App Store, at least at this point in time. Just note that it requires OS X 10.8 or higher.
Like
Version 2.1
Mindplay
09 January 2014
The only missing feature is a shortcut for the color picker.
Like
Version 2.0
2 answer(s)
Mindplay
Mindplay
10 January 2014
I mean... the color palette :P
Like
centzon
centzon
23 October 2014
Agreed. Should support shift+cmd+c, otherwise a fantastic app.
Like
MackinTush
07 May 2013
Sip is the most easiest, convenient, intelligent, best looking, versatile color picker on the Mac. I enjoy it using it and if you are a designer, especially for web, looking for color picker, look no further. Sip is the King for now. This is another gem for the mac that gets me get up looking forward to using a mac. Kudos to the developer who saw what was missing on frequent quick color sampling. The price is absolutely reasonable at under a $1.
Like
Version 1.2.4
MackinTush
07 May 2013
Sip is the most easiest, convenient, intelligent, best looking, versatile color picker on the Mac. I enjoy it using it and if you are a designer, especially for web, looking for color picker, look no further. Sip is the King for now. This is another gem for the mac that gets me get up looking forward to using a mac. Kudos to the developer who saw what was missing on frequent quick color sampling. The price is absolutely reasonable at under a $1.
Like
Version 1.2.4
Elegraphy
15 July 2012
It's listing $4.99 in MacAppStore, NOT FREE! I am also annoyed this is in MAS. If you going to let your app on MAS, then stop listing your app supporting OS X 10.5 and under. Before I received my new MacBook Pro yesterday, I was still using Leopard on my PowerBook Pro, and developers who did this really is a teaser. Not very nice!
Like
Version 1.1
1 answer(s)
Fishscale
Fishscale
18 July 2012
Well it was free...
Like
NotUsed
08 July 2012
Does absolutely nothing under 10.6.8. Nothing. I guess you get what you pay for. Good thing it's free.
Like
Version 1.1
Velomac
05 June 2012
This looks like a clever app. However, I am unable to try it. The requirements state that minimum OS is 10.5, which I am using, but it is apparently available only through the Mac App Store, which requires OS 10.6 or 10.7. The Ola Brothers are artificially restricting potential users from trying their app. (BTW, I wrote to the devs directly, but they have not taken time to respond. And I am posting a comment rather than a review since I am not able to give it a try.)
Like
Version 1.0