Back to XtraFinder page
XtraFinder free download for Mac

XtraFinder Reviews

1.5
31 May 2019

Add tabs and more to Finder.

Forn
25 November 2013

Most helpful

Cannot leave Celms BullSh*t on top of the list. This App is on of the best free apps. Tran Ky Nam thank you and go aheat. You're good.
Like (15)
Version 0.18.2

Read 420 XtraFinder User Reviews

Rate this app:

I hardly can follow the fast upgrade (yes, not just 'update'!) that Trần Kỳ Nam keeps introducing.
I dared even to suggest some improvement that I considered just DREAMS like the number labelling of the tabs to make easier the (quicker!!) switching between them with the 'control + number' shortcut (⌘ + number is used to change the finder view, so it's not an option for me) and BAMM, HE DID IT!!!!
And I became bold and am 'challenging' him to do even more (to let temporarily 'pop up' a new window with the two tabs we like to link to compare and transfer and then let them go back to the window where they were before).
I fear he will soon hate me as more as I admire him more and more!!! :-D
Like (1)
Version 1.4.2
recuerom
12 May 2019
Love this utility, makes the Finder super charged with a heap of new options. Exactly what native Finder should be. Best $5 you will ever spend to improve your Mac.

Disclaimer :- I use this product with SIP disabled.
Like (2)
Version 1.4.1
Maclover1-1
27 April 2019
I had not tried this for loooong time (it used to be rather unstable, ages ago). I would go back and forth between Regular Finder, PathFinder and TotalFinder for years. TotalFinder is not as polished as XtraFinder (used to be the opposite XtraFinder has improved a lot). PathFinder is overkill, that ends up geting in the way of my efficiency rather than help it and it’s full of bugs.

Ultimately all I need is DefaultFolder to create sets.. and Finder.. however we all know Finder lacks in many ways and that’s where XtraFinder pretty much fills the gap quite well and elegantly.

I wish it could work with Default Folder’s Drawer and support FullScreen and I’d give it 5 stars.
Like (2)
Version 1.3.10
Madmacmad
23 April 2019
best 5€ i've spend on software! well well done and many thx for fixing and supporting so quick!!! not often this times... keep coming :-)
Like (2)
Version 1.3.10
Brooklyn-Al
22 April 2019
Do I have to buy a license for each of my 3 computers?
Like
Version 1.3.10
Dougster
29 March 2019
Brilliant, isn't it. And it is now even better how I can change the background colour across all Finder windows in icon mode. Apple's ridiculous system of doing this whereby even on clicking Use as Defaults, did not change the colour of all the Finder window backgrounds. It hardly changed any. But now Xtra Finder has come to the rescue. Thank you soooooo much! Appreciated.
Like (1)
Version 1.3.9
GianMarco-Tavazzani
27 March 2019
Just another 'THANK YOU' Trần Kỳ Nam for your ENTHUSIASM in making ever better the responsiveness of the tabs and the whole Xtrafinder in so frequent updates!
Like
Version 1.3.9
GianMarco-Tavazzani
23 March 2019
Another (very needed for the tabs switching!) great and quick update!! THANKS, I will 'buy it' again to show you my grateful and admiring appreciation! ;-)
Like (2)
Version 1.3.8
JD-1
23 March 2019
First class app from a first class developer. So glad that i bought this app last year to support what Tran is doing. Best $5 I've spent in years! I too was a registered user of TotalFinder and have nothing but good things to say about it. I used it for years. XtraFinder is simply a better fit for me and I'll be using it for as long as it exists!
Like (1)
Version 1.3.8
Gilby101mu
16 March 2019
I found a minor bug, reported it and fixed - all within 4 hours. Tran Ky Nam is certainly on the ball with support.
Like (2)
Version 1.3.7
GianMarco-Tavazzani
27 February 2019
I can only be more and more happy for the continuous enhancements that Tran Ky Nam puts into this GEM, this MUST-HAVE!
Like (3)
Version 1.3.6
EliseS5988
19 February 2019
Best solution, currently, for seeing custom icons in sidebar -- which is a major issue for visual orientation ever since somebody at Apple decided we should have to slow down to read the text beside minimalist identical icons (and search visually for tiny dots to indicate label color), rather than scan for color and images while navigating sidebars. Quite a variety of other functions are convenient, too, but the difference made by custom icons is what had me wanting to support this developer right away.
Like (5)
Version 1.3.4
1 answer(s)
GianMarco-Tavazzani
GianMarco-Tavazzani
24 February 2019
THOUSAND TIMES AGREE!!!! :-)
I remember the sad time when 'somebody @  (at Apple) decided' to make everything grey, (iTunes 3, Safari, Tiger, our beloved  logo itself!) because of that crazy downgrade to 'brushed metal' the 'themes' of the  programs (renamed 'applications'!).
But can someone remember the 'classic' environment with Menulet, Kaleidoscope and more ways to make smartly short the menubar (now a heap of LOOONG texts lile 'file, edit, view, history...' crowding it and overlapping the more useful iStat menus and so on?
Like (2)
GianMarco-Tavazzani
18 February 2019
The development of Xtrafinder is continuously going ahead, quickly and successfully, and I'm more and more happy to use it, a 'must have GEM'!!!
Like
Version 1.3.4
fenkoff
11 February 2019
Are the icons XtraFinder uses the standard icons from OS X through Snow Leopard? If not, can they be changed somehow like replacing the icns's without plist editing? Do you need SIP to be disabled for install on Yosemite? thanks
Like
Version 1.3.2
Graphic-Mac
27 January 2019
Works great under Mojave... if you can keep it running. It crashes a LOT when performing Finder tasks (using the app's functions). XtraFinder has been a great app for a long time. Great features, and mostly stable until Mojave came along. Now XtraFinder is buggy to the point of being not usable. I don't necessarily blame Tran Ky Nam or Apple—but the end result is the same regardless. It's extremely unstable.
Like
Version 1.3.1
1 answer(s)
Gilby101mu
Gilby101mu
16 March 2019
Have you tried recently? I agree there was a bad patch - but seems stable now.
Like
GianMarco-Tavazzani
26 January 2019
I, after having paid for this in fact 'donateware' (!!!!) can only keep thanking Trần Kỳ Nam for the splendid job and his continuous striving to make it better and solve the problems that Apple are giving to genial and talented developers like him!
Thank you once more Trần Kỳ Nam!
Like (5)
Version 1.3.1
Max-G
22 January 2019
Useful functions, good UI, use it for years already. However, under High Sierra (10.13.6) it crashes a lot, usually more than once a day. And usually when I do Finder tasks.
Like (2)
Version 1.3
1 answer(s)
Cartoonasaur
Cartoonasaur
27 January 2019
Thanks so much for your comments - I just paid $5 and I LOVE the Dark Mode aspect to my file system. Definitely I will pay attention to any crashes that might happen. But I have to say, the Finder on my High Sierra (10.13.6) had JUST started crashing more than once or twice a day BEFORE I installed XtraFinder - DefaultFolder could have been the culprit, I dunno. But I suggest running Onyx or Cocktail and purging caches to see if that doesn't help, and don't forget to hold down the shift key once a month to force the OS to check and fix things that otherwise would only happen after a major crash... I will comment here again if I experience any Finder Failures from moving files (a daily and substantial thing).
Like
Aargl
30 November 2018
I've been using TotalFinder for years, and now I discover that XtraFinder has many more options! :-o Also, now that FinderPop won't be updated any more, it offers some interesting features to kinda replace it! Originally I've used Side Effects, XtraFinder then TotalFinder and each of them ended up crashing the Finder at some point (maybe some interaction with other software, I still can't tell...) Time will tell if the current version of XtraFinder is the panacea... ;-)
Like (2)
Version 1.2.3
1 answer(s)
Aargl
Aargl
30 December 2018
One month later: I had a few Finder crashes under OS 10.11 but nothing like TotalFinder under 10.9.5, just all windows closing, Finder restarting without XtraFinder. In the end, it's very satisfactory.
Like (1)
GianMarco-Tavazzani
23 November 2018
Did I already tell you how much I do LLOVE Xtrafinder? Yes???? Oh, then sorry... I'm growing definitively old :-)
Like (2)
Version 1.2.3
Dougster
17 November 2018
-
Like
Version 1.2.2
1 answer(s)
hwgray
hwgray
24 November 2018
I concede the point. Nobody ever explained it to me that way, before.
Like (1)
artie505
16 November 2018
Also happy that I can finally compensate Tran Ky Nam for his efforts! :) I don't even use a whole lot of XtraFinder's functionality, but it's invaluable all the same.
Like (1)
Version 1.2.2
Kobalt
16 November 2018
"On OS X 10.14 Mojave, you can re-enable SIP after installation if you install Beta version for OS X 10.14 Mojave with SIP enabled."

YES! Now we're talking.

Although I'm a little confused – is 1.2.2 a beta? That should be properly reflected in the name, surely? (To avoid confusion.) Or is there a separate beta for Mojave, and if so, where?
Like
Version 1.2.2
Dougster
15 November 2018
Nice to see a beta version is available for Mojave. Apple's Finder sidebar is so boring to look at at without XtraFinder.
Like (2)
Version 1.2.2
GianMarco-Tavazzani
15 November 2018
I belong also to the folk who was HAPPY to can contribute to sustaining the development of this PEARL by paying for it and informing all my friends about it and I'm proud to have fought to for it also in the dark times when I had to renounce to upgrade to Sierra as long as it couldn't be enforced by the use of Xtrafinder! Maybe I will NEXT YEAR also switch from High Sierra to Mojave (also the names of the systems after the end of the list of felines is discouragingly tasteless! Poor Apple, poor Macintosh!) if someone will explain me the superiority of it (if any) but not before the X.15 will come out! ;-)
Like (1)
Version 1.2.2
Brooklyn-Al
15 October 2018
Don't feel real comfortable disabling SIP. Can it be re-enabled after load Xtrafinder and Xtrafinder still work?
Like (1)
Version 1.2
1 answer(s)
Kobalt
Kobalt
24 October 2018
Apparently it will work in Sierra and High Sierra after re-enabling SIP, but Mojave needs SIP to be permanently disabled for XtraFinder to work.

http://www.trankynam.com/xtrafinder/doc/index.html#line4
Like (3)
RunTime
03 October 2018
Finally able to $uport dev! V1 crashes as before on 10.9.5 but I got an instant fix by a slightly patched version that now works fine! I figure that will be a v.1.1 soon. Maybe even an ability to adjust the colors!
Like (5)
Version 1
2 answer(s)
Aargl
Aargl
30 November 2018
Hi! Are the crashes you're talking about something like this: search window suddenly blank while (invisible) results are still clickable? or becoming a semi-transparent mess with cascades of window borders or excerpts from other windows like if your video memory got crazy? — all that especially with secondary drive or external ones?
I have these from time to time with TotalFinder...
Are you still facing those crashes with the current version of XtraFinder?
Like
RunTime
RunTime
30 December 2018
Hello! 'search window' if that is related to Spotlight, no. That is dead on all machines as I need the cpu cycles to other stuff (recommend Find Any File). And with 1.2.3 all is fine (even got the possibility to remove the menu :-) Bought several new licenses...
Like
bill-built
27 September 2018
Love the app but after going to mojave, it simply refuses to run. Installs fine, followed all instructions, but will not launch. It launches briefly, then crashes finder. Sad.... i would gladly pay for it if it would simply work!
Like
Version 1
2 answer(s)
manifold-sky
manifold-sky
11 October 2018
You have to disable SIP (System Integrity Protection) for it to run.
Like
bill-built
bill-built
11 October 2018
Yes, i know this and have it disabled per the instructions. I was stuck on 0.26. No version after that would ever install. I am happy to say though that finally 1.1 works for me on both High Sierra and Mojave.
Like (2)
Kobalt
27 September 2018
Just paid my $5 now that I finally can support Tran Ky Nam after years of using the app. But still 'System Integrity Protection must be disabled for XtraFinder to work', so there's that. I'll give it a shot, though.
Like (2)
Version 1
Filchescat
26 September 2018
Less a review than a comment - correct me if I'm wrong, but just like TotalFinder, when running MacOS 10.14 Mojave, SIP has to be PERMANENTLY disabled now for XtraFinder to continue working. Unfortunate.
Like
Version 1
5 answer(s)
Dougster
Dougster
26 September 2018
Yes, it certainly looks that way, that SIP has to be permanently disabled. This is not something I am willing to do just to make my Mac look prettier. A shame, but there ya go.
Like
Mcr
Mcr
28 September 2018
Just to be clear though, that is not the deveoper's fault; the reason is due to changes made by Apple. TotalFinder and XtraFinder work only because they actually make changes to how Finder runs; if you look at the bigger picture, that is the very definition of malicious software behavior. The difference is that we 'trust' these programs and the developers that nothing bad is being done. From a programming perspective, the same methods used by these programs to modify the macOS can just as easily be used by people with bad intent to cause damage.

The purpose of SIP is to prevent such behavior. For the average user, I wouldn't disable SIP or recommend it. For techies or geeks, who are knowledgable about what to look for, the source of their software, what they download etc, it's less of a risk (but not zero risk). It's all about the user and how much risk they are willing to accept. Other options that don't require SIP to be disabled, include PathFinder and Forklift; they are written as separate apps that don't modify Finder
Like (3)
Jianni
Jianni
03 October 2018
SIP went introduced by Apple because they want also brainless users as a customers,LOL. First thing I do when installing a new OS is kill the two non sense annoyances: Gatekeeper and System Integrity Protection!
Like (2)
Mcr
Mcr
04 October 2018
@Jianni
SIP was introduced to protect the 99%+ of common users who do NOT need or want to be technical experts to simply use their Macs daily to get their work done and for entertainment, in a relatively safe manner without having to be paranoid....basically most of my family and coworkers, which include people who are doctors, Lawyers, artists, Ph.D's, heads of Fortune 50 companies, etc.....the very same people you just labeled 'brainless'.

I guess you should be grateful that you fall in the less than 1% with superior intelligence and technical knowledge over the rest of us 'common folk' that you can simply look at a program and know whether it has any malicious intent or code in it. If so, what are you doing wasting your time reading posts on MacUpdate? Someone with your superior abilities should be SO BUSY working for a tech security giant, making BIG MONEY, you wouln't have time to browse a user forum like MacUpdate. Heck, I think I'll call the NSA, CIA, etc and tell them the guy they need to have working for them is Jianni! Why are you even using Macs, sounds like it is beneath you?
Like (2)
GianMarco-Tavazzani
GianMarco-Tavazzani
15 November 2018
Dear Mcr, ignorant, intellectually lazy people are not 'brainless' but -as any believer- they simply don't use that 'brain' (or use it rarely or wrongly.. ) ;-)
Like (1)
Rjmorita
26 September 2018
I'm glad to know this app is still alive. XtraFinder had some strange problems with every OS release in the past, but it looks like the developer put a lot of work into this version. $4.99 to register? That's cheap! It's worth every penny.
Like (1)
Version 1
Retired Under Attack
28 August 2018
I run a MacBook Pro 17" mid 2010 under MacOS 10.12.6.

I execute the commands as they described in the web page and NOT in the text document in the .dmg file I download from here, since in the "Installation Instructions.rtf" the command "csrutil disable" lacs the parameter " --without debug", but result remains the same. XtraFinder refuses to run. The first time I follow the instructions i found in the .dmg document and i fell on the wall. The second time i try with the instructions from the web page. No result. It runs very fine when SIP is disabled but refuses to run under SIP enabled.

I am sorry because it's fantastic with all these parameters working as they described. I hope to see a version without compatibility problems.

i am affraid to use it without SIP, so....
Like
Version 0.28
1 answer(s)
GianMarco-Tavazzani
GianMarco-Tavazzani
26 September 2018
THANNKKSSS!!!
Xtrtafinder version 1 is out and THERE IS THE POSSIBILITY TO PAY FOR IT, as I EVER wanted to do because it's fair, is right, is good as the 'app' itself and i will do my best to tell it to anyone!
It solved the couple of problems still there with High Sierra and NOW I start to hope to can see it running well also under 10.14!
Like (1)
Rjmorita
07 July 2018
Sadly, XtraFinder no longer works in macOS Mojave. It launches and runs, then suddenly quits.
Like
Version 0.28
1 answer(s)
GianMarco-Tavazzani
GianMarco-Tavazzani
26 September 2018
THANNKKSSS!!!
Xtrtafinder version 1 is out and THERE IS THE POSSIBILITY TO PAY FOR IT, as I EVER wanted to do because it's fair, is right, is good as the 'app' itself and i will do my best to tell it to anyone!
It solved the couple of problems still there with High Sierra and NOW I start to hope to can see it running well also under 10.14!
Like (1)
alxdvc
04 July 2018
I can't use Xtra finder. I am on High Sierra OS, I have disabled the SIP, but when I add XtraFinder.dmg to my apps ( latest update Apr 2018 ) I get the following error: “XtraFinder.app” is damaged and can’t be opened. You should eject the disk image. Can anyone help?
Like
Version 0.28
2 answer(s)
Retired Under Attack
Retired Under Attack
24 August 2018
Open Terminal and Copy-Paste the command:
sudo spctl --master-disable
YOU MUST REMEMBER THE ADMIN PASSWORD because terminal needs to know that you are the Admin of the computer.
Open the app, setup the parameters and quit the app. Then in Terminal again paste the command:
sudo spctl --master-enable
and quit the Terminal.
I wrote the commands in separate lines to help you Copy-Paste them exactly as i wrote them. Don't forget to execute the second command, if you want the system to remain safe in future. Attention, allways scan for mallisious software the packages prior and after instalation of the program.
Like (1)
GianMarco-Tavazzani
GianMarco-Tavazzani
26 September 2018
THANNKKSSS!!!
Xtrtafinder version 1 is out and THERE IS THE POSSIBILITY TO PAY FOR IT, as I EVER wanted to do because it's fair, is right, is good as the 'app' itself and i will do my best to tell it to anyone!
It solved the couple of problems still there with High Sierra and NOW I start to hope to can see it running well also under 10.14!
Like (1)
gwmjedi
02 May 2018
Does anyone have an annoying thing where XtraFinder runs beautifully - except for totally hosing the OS-level File-Search functionality? I'm on XtraFinder 0.27 on a late-2012 MacBook Pro running OS 10.11.6.
Like
Version 0.28
1 answer(s)
hwgray
hwgray
24 May 2018
@Chepry. Well, I'm willing to try that and see what happens.
Late 2014 iMac running OS 10.13.5b.
Like
hwgray
30 April 2018
"Couldn't find XtraFinderinjector.osax."
You can work around this by doing a manual install. It tells you how to do that in the installation package. After you do it, the error message will change to:
“XtraFinder” is damaged and can’t be opened. You should move it to the Trash.
?
Like
Version 0.28
1 answer(s)
Chepry
Chepry
22 May 2018
I tried both installer and manual installation. I've ended with the same message "XtraFinder is damaged and can’t be opened. You should move it to the Trash". My SIP is disabled. I was able to override this warning only by executing this console command:

sudo spctl --master-disable

Basically it disable the assessment subsystem altogether. Operations that would be denied by system policy will be allowed to proceed. Use it with caution.
Like
Max-G
25 April 2018
Glad to have back the colored 'legacy' labels with v. 0.28. However, dual panel mode, one of the main features in previous versions, is still not working. Would love to see that coming back too.
Like
Version 0.28
RunTime
24 April 2018
Finder does not behave anymore with 0.28 on 10.9.5. Two machines went bad, had to return to 0.27. (And those annoying reminders). No responce from dev, ever...
Like (1)
Version 0.28
1 answer(s)
Badgerone
Badgerone
25 April 2018
Yes, major problems after going from 0.27 to 0.28 on 10.9.5 (followed instructions). Long story, but afterwards the Finder began the most bizarre behaviors, so much that I had to re-install 10.9.5, which fixed things. This has been my only major system problem since 2014. Curiously, the Mavericks Install report listed a single problem: Couldn't find XtraFinderinjector.osax.
Like
GeogProf
24 April 2018
Still requires disabling System Integrity Protection before installation for macOS 10.11 or higher, though you can supposedly reenable it afterward.

I’m afraid that’s a bridge too far.
Like
Version 0.28
bateeks
23 April 2018
Soooo...I have been running version 0.27 on MacOS Sierra 10.12.5 for quite a while. When I originally installed it, I followed the instructions to disable SIP, install, launch, then re-enable SIP. This worked successfully and I've been using it ever since. I just tried updating to 0.28, but "accidentally" uninstalled the old version first. So, I tried installing 0.28 from scratch, using the same process as before. I am now unable to turn SIP back on and still have XtraFinder work. This is the error message I am getting: "Could not launch XtraFinder. System Integrity Protection may be enabled. On OS X 10.11 El Capitan, System Integrity Protections prevents XtraFinder from working. Please visit support page for workaround." I really prefer NOT to permanently disable SIP. Does anyone have some advice or similar experience with resolution? ****My 4-star rating is because I LOVE this application, but the installation/updating has been a pain ever since Apple launched SIP. I know it's their fault, but it is still a hassle after all this time.****
Like
Version 0.28
1 answer(s)
GianMarco-Tavazzani
GianMarco-Tavazzani
24 April 2018
Keep us updated IF you will find a solution; in the meantime I don't give a damn to the presumtuous Apple policy to force us to transit on its store using that IMPOSSIBLE 'app' named 'App Store' instilling us paranoid fears like the .. 'Patriot Act': "FORGET your freedom; WE will PROTECT you!"
Like (1)
onlyuser
22 April 2018
indispensable tool
Like (1)
Version 0.28
Sherwood
22 April 2018
The upgrade is straightforward. Perfect!
Like (1)
Version 0.28
Lucubration
22 April 2018
WARNING: Maybe you shouldn't update the app! XtraFinder 0.26 has been running OK for me (in Mavericks), and today I made the mistake of responding to the MacUpdate email and updating it to version 0.28. Big mistake. No matter which installation method I used (the instructions give a few), the installed application would never actually run. The Finder kept alerting that the file is corrupted and should be trashed. Eventually I was able to "downgrade" successfully back to 0.26, and now it's working again. BTW, on the other issue people have mentioned, about its alerting that the "beta has expired"... it has _always_ said that when I launched it, then it checked for updates (but only if I turned off my application firewall), then it said it's up-to-date, then ran OK. In other words, the "beta has expired" warning was always meaningless, on my system Also I emailed the developer a couple of times in the past, and never got a response.
Like
Version 0.28
2 answer(s)
Endymion0000
Endymion0000
22 April 2018
After copying/installing the new version to the Applications folder, in the terminal type:

sudo xattr -cr /Applications/XtraFinder.app

enter your password and then the App should launch fine. Same thing happened to me in High Sierra.
Like (2)
GianMarco-Tavazzani
GianMarco-Tavazzani
24 April 2018
I've found online a kind of review of compatibility of Xtrafinder in the different OSX and it would be greatly useful if all of us would give a kind of feedback like your one to optimize the use on them (and IF an 'upgrade' to a following OS X -which often is in fact a DOWNGRADE in performances and features!!!!- makes sense).
Yes, the developer seems to bee a bit shy... it happens to GENIUSES!!!) :-)
Like
mday108
22 April 2018
Have used mac exclusively since 1989...
I'm coming from many years on totalfinder...
I would really like to learn how to use certain xtrafinder features that I am not familiar with.
If anyone would like to teach me, I would really appreciate that...
I'm a quick study:-)
mday108 dot news at gmail dot com
Like
Version 0.28
1 answer(s)
GianMarco-Tavazzani
GianMarco-Tavazzani
24 April 2018
Learn by doing, Monday (Monday??? :-( ) atarting by RE-colorizing the sidebar icons (a fresh Springtime breeze in the greying Apple world by Tiger with the ugly 'brushed metal sad look, depressing iTunes and till now making Safari UNUSABLE for its us interface 'URSS-like'!)
Then I do consider INDISPENSIBLE the 'Copy and move' contextual menu feature: once you start using it, you wonder what kind of miserable, blind and deaf developers are warming their chairs in Cuppertino instead to refresh the obsolete Finder!
By the way, my good friend, I was using EXCLUSIVELY Macintosh by... 5 years before you: June 1984! (Lisa, renamed 'Macintosh XL later) :-)
Like
Johnny-K
21 April 2018
Yay! No more expired splash! A gotta have app!
Like (1)
Version 0.28
GianMarco-Tavazzani
21 April 2018
THANKS, THANKS AND AGAIN THANKSSSSS!!!!! NOW can I upgrade to High Sierra (I stood 3 version behind JUST because I COULDN'T LIVE without Xtrafinder!!! I really can't understand why all the crowd of software GENIUSES of Apple coudn't make what this guy made! I can't understand why the 'marketing GENIUSES of Apple' couldn't recognise the infinite better way the obsolete Finder works refreshed by this FANTASTIC utility! I could become quite unagreeable comparing the CLEVER INTELLIGENCE of this Vietnamese guy with the one on the other side of the Pacific Ocean, good just to send B52 with Napalm to Vietnam!
Like (1)
Version 0.28
MacHock
26 March 2018
Really like Tran Ky Nam's XtraFinder's features (that should be available in ALL Mac operating systems) but version 0.27 has started giving me the "beta has expired" every time on startup for about six weeks now. In the past when this occurred, Tran usually posted a new version but not this time. Sent him an email about a month ago but no response. I hope Tran does even a minimal update to eliminate the "beta expired" warning.
Like
Version 0.27
4 answer(s)
Lee B.
Lee B.
31 March 2018
XtraFinder 0.27 Beta no 'has expired' patched files.dmg: https://www.insanelymac.com/forum/forums/topic/313846-xtrafinder-0258-latest-build-dec-2015-say-beta-has-expired/?page=3&tab=comments#comment-2606761
Like
katiaella
katiaella
03 April 2018
I sent Tran Ky Nam an email also, but I got no response either. Perhaps he passed away? Ever since I upgraded to macOS 10.13.4, XtraFinder stopped working and I get that message also, about it expiring. All I get now, even with the work around (csrutil enable) are black labels. You ever wonder why Apple can't accommodate their fans with colored labels, like they use to 25 years ago?
Like
MacHock
MacHock
06 April 2018
Lee, thanks for the link. Joined the Insanely Mac user forum, downloaded the dmg with the patched XtraFinder files, followed the instructions, and it worked perfectly -- no more "beta has expired" warning upon startup. Again, thanks for the link!
Like
Max-G
Max-G
19 April 2018
@ katiaella. If he passed away, that would have to be after April 2nd. As then I received his latest update of his excellent 'aText'. That said, I would love to see a new update too, as with High Sierra some of the key features disappeared. Like dual panels and colored labels. Maybe he will be soon coming up with a new and stunning (paid) version?
Like
mesianic_fart
15 March 2018
Long XtraFingers' fan here. Not at 120% but, together with flashlight (https://github.com/w0lfschild/Flashlight) it is still working within high sierra; crsutil enabled after the fact. Go tranks!!!

![](https://s18.postimg.org/5mv7fupmx/xtrafinder_flashlight_mysimbl_web.jpg)
Like
Version 0.27
Lvdoc
26 January 2018
Interesting. I'm 10.11, and I gave this a try. But I did not disable and re-enable SIP. I just installed it. And it's giving me all the features I wanted (sidebar color icons; legacy color labels; light text on dark background). I don't use all the features it offers, so maybe some of those won't work without the SIP thing. But on the whole, it's behaving quite nicely.
Like
Version 0.27
1 answer(s)
Lvdoc
Lvdoc
10 February 2018
Whoa! Let me correct that! It appears that, at some point in the past, I had disabled SIP and never re-enabled it. No wonder it was working.
Like
fleur2metaline-1
20 January 2018
Even if there are a few small graphic imperfections, it works like a charm with OSX El Capitan (aka 10.11.6). Thanx to the dev to enhance the poor Apple Finder.
Like (1)
Version 0.27
Max-G
14 November 2017
The instructions on the developers site on disabling/enabling SIP are wrong. You should use the instructions within the installer instead (installation instructions.rtf) instead.

The function Dual Panes no longer seem to work in High Sierra (the Dual Windows as 'replacement' are OK however). Even so, still very worth installing for the other functions.
Like (1)
Version 0.27
5 answer(s)
YHC
YHC
19 November 2017
The "Tabs" function was broken on my MacBook (10.13.1).

How about yours?


Thanks!
Like
Max-G
Max-G
19 November 2017
YHC ; At first it was broken here too. But after restart it worked again. Btw, check your settings for this.
Like
YHC
YHC
20 November 2017
Thank you for the reply.

Yesterday I tried it (restarted my Mac once) before your reply, but it still cannot work, so maybe I will try it twice.

Thanks again.
Like
Max-G
Max-G
21 November 2017
Uncheck tabs (prefs) and restart XtraFinder. Tabs will then probably work on your Mac too :) Use cmd+t for a new tab.
Like
YHC
YHC
21 November 2017
Thank you, but "Tabs" and "Background Color of Label" still cannot work.

Anyway, thanks!

Like