Back to XtraFinder page
XtraFinder free download for Mac

XtraFinder Reviews1.6.1

23 March 2021

Add tabs and more to Finder.

MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
GianMarco.Tavazzani
GianMarco.Tavazzani
Mar 24 2021
1.6.1
5.0
Mar 24 2021
5.0
Version: 1.6.1
I would like to restart to collaborate with Trần Kỳ Nam in advising him about some little and rare bugs and also to make XtraFinder even easier to use 'as finder'. I recommend anyone to become addicted to it, the best way to can't even imagine to switch on a losedoz 10!
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
Dec 6 2020
1.6.1
5.0
Dec 6 2020
5.0
Version: 1.6.1
Works great in Big Sur, unlike TotalFinder.
Rjmorita
Rjmorita
Dec 5 2020
1.6
5.0
Dec 5 2020
5.0
Version: 1.6
I'm pleasantly surprised this app is still being maintained. Unfortunately, it does not work in the current beta of Big Sur.
mike-pepper1947
mike-pepper1947
Nov 19 2020
1.5.3
0.0
Nov 19 2020
0.0
Version: 1.5.3
Having difficulty installing Xtrafinder on Catalina 15.7 I can't copy Xtrafinder OSAX file into ScriptingAdditon. I don't have permission to write to the file. Only System can write to the file.
jasper-12
jasper-12
Jul 26 2020
1.5.3
2.0
Jul 26 2020
2.0
Version: 1.5.3
After installing xtrafinder files aren't shown in some folders hence it is completely defeating it's own purpose. Need to Force Quit Finder and restart Finder to see the files. Do some testing before releasing please. It was crappy 5 years ago and sadly not much has changed.
warmup72
warmup72
Apr 4 2020
1.5.3
0.0
Apr 4 2020
0.0
Version: 1.5.3
Grmpf after updating to 10.15.4 xtrafinder only works with disabled SIP :-(
bigredbombproductions
bigredbombproductions
Apr 3 2020
1.5.3
2.0
Apr 3 2020
2.0
Version: 1.5.3
High Sierra. Disabled SIP, copied XtraFinderInjector.osax to /System/Library/ScriptingAdditions. Copied XtraFinder.app to directory /Applications, re-enabled SIP. Run XtraFinder, get this: could not find file /system/library/scriptingadditions/xtrafinderinjector.osax Check directory, it is there. Disable SIP just in case, same error message. Uninstaller works as intended.
dwp-1
dwp-1
Feb 22 2020
1.5.2
5.0
Feb 22 2020
5.0
Version: 1.5.2
I am actually amazed at what this app does and does very well. I purchased it on day one at $4.95. I have been running for almost a couple months and have not experienced a single crash. I have to believe the developer is a genius. My fear is he will give up on development. I hope it gets the user base it should get for the terrific features. I no longer need Pathfinder. Keep up the tremendous work, Trần Kỳ Nam
Brooklyn-Al
Brooklyn-Al
Jan 16 2020
1.5.2
5.0
Jan 16 2020
5.0
Version: 1.5.2
I recently installed XtraFinder on my computer running Mojave 10.14.6 and I am not clear how to launch it. There is no longer a program icon in the application folder to click on so what I have done is click on xtrafinderplugin in the sub folder of the System folder. What am I missing? BTW, it does not automatically launch with Finder in any consistent way. As recommended I disabled SIP/placed the plugin in the OverrideBundles folder/re-enabled SIP.
Rjmorita
Rjmorita
Nov 23 2019
1.5.2
5.0
Nov 23 2019
5.0
Version: 1.5.2
It finally works in Catalina.
Rjmorita
Rjmorita
Oct 21 2019
1.5.1
5.0
Oct 21 2019
5.0
Version: 1.5.1
The app adds a lot of extra functions to the Finder, but unfortunately, it does not work in Catalina. It worked during the Catalina beta, but quit working when I installed the official version of Catalina. I tried to reinstall, but it would not even install. No response from the author when I reported the problem. It's such a shame.
GianMarco.Tavazzani
GianMarco.Tavazzani
May 24 2019
1.4.2
5.0
May 24 2019
5.0
Version: 1.4.2
I hardly can follow the fast upgrade (yes, not just 'update'!) that Trần Kỳ Nam keeps introducing.
I dared even to suggest some improvement that I considered just DREAMS like the number labelling of the tabs to make easier the (quicker!!) switching between them with the 'control + number' shortcut (⌘ + number is used to change the finder view, so it's not an option for me) and BAMM, HE DID IT!!!!
And I became bold and am 'challenging' him to do even more (to let temporarily 'pop up' a new window with the two tabs we like to link to compare and transfer and then let them go back to the window where they were before).
I fear he will soon hate me as more as I admire him more and more!!! :-D
recuerom
recuerom
May 12 2019
1.4.1
5.0
May 12 2019
5.0
Version: 1.4.1
Love this utility, makes the Finder super charged with a heap of new options. Exactly what native Finder should be. Best $5 you will ever spend to improve your Mac.

Disclaimer :- I use this product with SIP disabled.
Maclover1-1
Maclover1-1
Apr 27 2019
1.3.10
4.0
Apr 27 2019
4.0
Version: 1.3.10
I had not tried this for loooong time (it used to be rather unstable, ages ago). I would go back and forth between Regular Finder, PathFinder and TotalFinder for years. TotalFinder is not as polished as XtraFinder (used to be the opposite XtraFinder has improved a lot). PathFinder is overkill, that ends up geting in the way of my efficiency rather than help it and it’s full of bugs.

Ultimately all I need is DefaultFolder to create sets.. and Finder.. however we all know Finder lacks in many ways and that’s where XtraFinder pretty much fills the gap quite well and elegantly.

I wish it could work with Default Folder’s Drawer and support FullScreen and I’d give it 5 stars.
Madmacmad
Madmacmad
Apr 23 2019
1.3.10
5.0
Apr 23 2019
5.0
Version: 1.3.10
best 5€ i've spend on software! well well done and many thx for fixing and supporting so quick!!! not often this times... keep coming :-)
Brooklyn-Al
Brooklyn-Al
Apr 22 2019
1.3.10
5.0
Apr 22 2019
5.0
Version: 1.3.10
Do I have to buy a license for each of my 3 computers?
Dougster
Dougster
Mar 29 2019
1.3.9
5.0
Mar 29 2019
5.0
Version: 1.3.9
Brilliant, isn't it. And it is now even better how I can change the background colour across all Finder windows in icon mode. Apple's ridiculous system of doing this whereby even on clicking Use as Defaults, did not change the colour of all the Finder window backgrounds. It hardly changed any. But now Xtra Finder has come to the rescue. Thank you soooooo much! Appreciated.
GianMarco.Tavazzani
GianMarco.Tavazzani
Mar 27 2019
1.3.9
5.0
Mar 27 2019
5.0
Version: 1.3.9
Just another 'THANK YOU' Trần Kỳ Nam for your ENTHUSIASM in making ever better the responsiveness of the tabs and the whole Xtrafinder in so frequent updates!
GianMarco.Tavazzani
GianMarco.Tavazzani
Mar 23 2019
1.3.8
5.0
Mar 23 2019
5.0
Version: 1.3.8
Another (very needed for the tabs switching!) great and quick update!! THANKS, I will 'buy it' again to show you my grateful and admiring appreciation! ;-)
JD-1
JD-1
Mar 23 2019
1.3.8
5.0
Mar 23 2019
5.0
Version: 1.3.8
First class app from a first class developer. So glad that i bought this app last year to support what Tran is doing. Best $5 I've spent in years! I too was a registered user of TotalFinder and have nothing but good things to say about it. I used it for years. XtraFinder is simply a better fit for me and I'll be using it for as long as it exists!
Gilby101mu
Gilby101mu
Mar 16 2019
1.3.7
5.0
Mar 16 2019
5.0
Version: 1.3.7
I found a minor bug, reported it and fixed - all within 4 hours. Tran Ky Nam is certainly on the ball with support.
GianMarco.Tavazzani
GianMarco.Tavazzani
Feb 27 2019
1.3.6
5.0
Feb 27 2019
5.0
Version: 1.3.6
I can only be more and more happy for the continuous enhancements that Tran Ky Nam puts into this GEM, this MUST-HAVE!
EliseS5988
EliseS5988
Feb 19 2019
1.3.4
5.0
Feb 19 2019
5.0
Version: 1.3.4
Best solution, currently, for seeing custom icons in sidebar -- which is a major issue for visual orientation ever since somebody at Apple decided we should have to slow down to read the text beside minimalist identical icons (and search visually for tiny dots to indicate label color), rather than scan for color and images while navigating sidebars. Quite a variety of other functions are convenient, too, but the difference made by custom icons is what had me wanting to support this developer right away.
GianMarco.Tavazzani
GianMarco.Tavazzani
Feb 18 2019
1.3.4
5.0
Feb 18 2019
5.0
Version: 1.3.4
The development of Xtrafinder is continuously going ahead, quickly and successfully, and I'm more and more happy to use it, a 'must have GEM'!!!
fenkoff
fenkoff
Feb 11 2019
1.3.2
3.0
Feb 11 2019
3.0
Version: 1.3.2
Are the icons XtraFinder uses the standard icons from OS X through Snow Leopard? If not, can they be changed somehow like replacing the icns's without plist editing? Do you need SIP to be disabled for install on Yosemite? thanks
Graphic-Mac
Graphic-Mac
Jan 27 2019
1.3.1
3.5
Jan 27 2019
3.5
Version: 1.3.1
Works great under Mojave... if you can keep it running. It crashes a LOT when performing Finder tasks (using the app's functions). XtraFinder has been a great app for a long time. Great features, and mostly stable until Mojave came along. Now XtraFinder is buggy to the point of being not usable. I don't necessarily blame Tran Ky Nam or Apple—but the end result is the same regardless. It's extremely unstable.
GianMarco.Tavazzani
GianMarco.Tavazzani
Jan 26 2019
1.3.1
5.0
Jan 26 2019
5.0
Version: 1.3.1
I, after having paid for this in fact 'donateware' (!!!!) can only keep thanking Trần Kỳ Nam for the splendid job and his continuous striving to make it better and solve the problems that Apple are giving to genial and talented developers like him!
Thank you once more Trần Kỳ Nam!
Max-G
Max-G
Jan 22 2019
1.3
3.5
Jan 22 2019
3.5
Version: 1.3
Useful functions, good UI, use it for years already. However, under High Sierra (10.13.6) it crashes a lot, usually more than once a day. And usually when I do Finder tasks.
Aargl
Aargl
Nov 30 2018
1.2.3
5.0
Nov 30 2018
5.0
Version: 1.2.3
I've been using TotalFinder for years, and now I discover that XtraFinder has many more options! :-o Also, now that FinderPop won't be updated any more, it offers some interesting features to kinda replace it! Originally I've used Side Effects, XtraFinder then TotalFinder and each of them ended up crashing the Finder at some point (maybe some interaction with other software, I still can't tell...) Time will tell if the current version of XtraFinder is the panacea... ;-)
GianMarco.Tavazzani
GianMarco.Tavazzani
Nov 23 2018
1.2.3
5.0
Nov 23 2018
5.0
Version: 1.2.3
Did I already tell you how much I do LLOVE Xtrafinder? Yes???? Oh, then sorry... I'm growing definitively old :-)
Dougster
Dougster
Nov 17 2018
1.2.2
5.0
Nov 17 2018
5.0
Version: 1.2.2
-
artie505
artie505
Nov 16 2018
1.2.2
5.0
Nov 16 2018
5.0
Version: 1.2.2
Also happy that I can finally compensate Tran Ky Nam for his efforts! :) I don't even use a whole lot of XtraFinder's functionality, but it's invaluable all the same.
Kobalt
Kobalt
Nov 16 2018
1.2.2
5.0
Nov 16 2018
5.0
Version: 1.2.2
"On OS X 10.14 Mojave, you can re-enable SIP after installation if you install Beta version for OS X 10.14 Mojave with SIP enabled."

YES! Now we're talking.

Although I'm a little confused – is 1.2.2 a beta? That should be properly reflected in the name, surely? (To avoid confusion.) Or is there a separate beta for Mojave, and if so, where?
Dougster
Dougster
Nov 15 2018
1.2.2
5.0
Nov 15 2018
5.0
Version: 1.2.2
Nice to see a beta version is available for Mojave. Apple's Finder sidebar is so boring to look at at without XtraFinder.
GianMarco.Tavazzani
GianMarco.Tavazzani
Nov 15 2018
1.2.2
5.0
Nov 15 2018
5.0
Version: 1.2.2
I belong also to the folk who was HAPPY to can contribute to sustaining the development of this PEARL by paying for it and informing all my friends about it and I'm proud to have fought to for it also in the dark times when I had to renounce to upgrade to Sierra as long as it couldn't be enforced by the use of Xtrafinder! Maybe I will NEXT YEAR also switch from High Sierra to Mojave (also the names of the systems after the end of the list of felines is discouragingly tasteless! Poor Apple, poor Macintosh!) if someone will explain me the superiority of it (if any) but not before the X.15 will come out! ;-)
Brooklyn-Al
Brooklyn-Al
Oct 15 2018
1.2
5.0
Oct 15 2018
5.0
Version: 1.2
Don't feel real comfortable disabling SIP. Can it be re-enabled after load Xtrafinder and Xtrafinder still work?
RunTime
RunTime
Oct 3 2018
1
5.0
Oct 3 2018
5.0
Version: 1
Finally able to $uport dev! V1 crashes as before on 10.9.5 but I got an instant fix by a slightly patched version that now works fine! I figure that will be a v.1.1 soon. Maybe even an ability to adjust the colors!
bill-built
bill-built
Sep 27 2018
1
0.0
Sep 27 2018
0.0
Version: 1
Love the app but after going to mojave, it simply refuses to run. Installs fine, followed all instructions, but will not launch. It launches briefly, then crashes finder. Sad.... i would gladly pay for it if it would simply work!
Kobalt
Kobalt
Sep 27 2018
1
5.0
Sep 27 2018
5.0
Version: 1
Just paid my $5 now that I finally can support Tran Ky Nam after years of using the app. But still 'System Integrity Protection must be disabled for XtraFinder to work', so there's that. I'll give it a shot, though.
Filchescat
Filchescat
Sep 26 2018
1
0.0
Sep 26 2018
0.0
Version: 1
Less a review than a comment - correct me if I'm wrong, but just like TotalFinder, when running MacOS 10.14 Mojave, SIP has to be PERMANENTLY disabled now for XtraFinder to continue working. Unfortunate.
Rjmorita
Rjmorita
Sep 26 2018
1
5.0
Sep 26 2018
5.0
Version: 1
I'm glad to know this app is still alive. XtraFinder had some strange problems with every OS release in the past, but it looks like the developer put a lot of work into this version. $4.99 to register? That's cheap! It's worth every penny.
Retired Under Attack
Retired Under Attack
Aug 28 2018
0.28
1.0
Aug 28 2018
1.0
Version: 0.28
I run a MacBook Pro 17" mid 2010 under MacOS 10.12.6.

I execute the commands as they described in the web page and NOT in the text document in the .dmg file I download from here, since in the "Installation Instructions.rtf" the command "csrutil disable" lacs the parameter " --without debug", but result remains the same. XtraFinder refuses to run. The first time I follow the instructions i found in the .dmg document and i fell on the wall. The second time i try with the instructions from the web page. No result. It runs very fine when SIP is disabled but refuses to run under SIP enabled.

I am sorry because it's fantastic with all these parameters working as they described. I hope to see a version without compatibility problems.

i am affraid to use it without SIP, so....
Rjmorita
Rjmorita
Jul 7 2018
0.28
5.0
Jul 7 2018
5.0
Version: 0.28
Sadly, XtraFinder no longer works in macOS Mojave. It launches and runs, then suddenly quits.
alxdvc
alxdvc
Jul 4 2018
0.28
2.0
Jul 4 2018
2.0
Version: 0.28
I can't use Xtra finder. I am on High Sierra OS, I have disabled the SIP, but when I add XtraFinder.dmg to my apps ( latest update Apr 2018 ) I get the following error: “XtraFinder.app” is damaged and can’t be opened. You should eject the disk image. Can anyone help?
gwmjedi
gwmjedi
May 2 2018
0.28
0.0
May 2 2018
0.0
Version: 0.28
Does anyone have an annoying thing where XtraFinder runs beautifully - except for totally hosing the OS-level File-Search functionality? I'm on XtraFinder 0.27 on a late-2012 MacBook Pro running OS 10.11.6.
hwgray
hwgray
Apr 30 2018
0.28
5.0
Apr 30 2018
5.0
Version: 0.28
"Couldn't find XtraFinderinjector.osax."
You can work around this by doing a manual install. It tells you how to do that in the installation package. After you do it, the error message will change to:
“XtraFinder” is damaged and can’t be opened. You should move it to the Trash.
?
Max-G
Max-G
Apr 25 2018
0.28
3.5
Apr 25 2018
3.5
Version: 0.28
Glad to have back the colored 'legacy' labels with v. 0.28. However, dual panel mode, one of the main features in previous versions, is still not working. Would love to see that coming back too.
RunTime
RunTime
Apr 24 2018
0.28
5.0
Apr 24 2018
5.0
Version: 0.28
Finder does not behave anymore with 0.28 on 10.9.5. Two machines went bad, had to return to 0.27. (And those annoying reminders). No responce from dev, ever...
GeogProf
GeogProf
Apr 24 2018
0.28
4.0
Apr 24 2018
4.0
Version: 0.28
Still requires disabling System Integrity Protection before installation for macOS 10.11 or higher, though you can supposedly reenable it afterward.

I’m afraid that’s a bridge too far.
bateeks
bateeks
Apr 23 2018
0.28
4.0
Apr 23 2018
4.0
Version: 0.28
Soooo...I have been running version 0.27 on MacOS Sierra 10.12.5 for quite a while. When I originally installed it, I followed the instructions to disable SIP, install, launch, then re-enable SIP. This worked successfully and I've been using it ever since. I just tried updating to 0.28, but "accidentally" uninstalled the old version first. So, I tried installing 0.28 from scratch, using the same process as before. I am now unable to turn SIP back on and still have XtraFinder work. This is the error message I am getting: "Could not launch XtraFinder. System Integrity Protection may be enabled. On OS X 10.11 El Capitan, System Integrity Protections prevents XtraFinder from working. Please visit support page for workaround." I really prefer NOT to permanently disable SIP. Does anyone have some advice or similar experience with resolution? ****My 4-star rating is because I LOVE this application, but the installation/updating has been a pain ever since Apple launched SIP. I know it's their fault, but it is still a hassle after all this time.****