Back to AirParrot page
AirParrot free download for Mac

AirParrot Reviews

2.8.1
11 October 2019

Mirror your Mac's display on your Apple TV.

Mikaelf
17 February 2012

Most helpful

Unlucky timing with the announcement of Mountain Lion...I'll wait for it.
Like (3)
Version 1.0

Read 20 AirParrot User Reviews

Rate this app:

Bob Jacobson
21 December 2015
Having now gone through Mavericks, Yosemite, and finally (for the moment) El Capitan, my results are still mixed. My Macbook Pro (mid-2009) max'ed out with 16 GB RAM can sort of get a good transmission from a copy onboard. If I have to stream an item (as with Netflix), forget about it. It staggers. On my Macbook Air (2010), there's no way this will work with a streaming source. Also, I use Boom for sound amplification. AirParrot seems unable to send the sound to the Apple TV 3 and the TV. Best bet: buy a new or recent Macbook Pro or Air and use the native Airplay with Apple TV 3 or 4.. AirParrot 2.2.1 is now only for older Macs.
Like
Version 2.2.1
PeterFrank1606
11 February 2015
It works but I found that X-Mirage displays it even better/sharper..
Like (1)
Version 1.5.5
1 answer(s)
Tim27
Tim27
21 November 2015
X-Mirage is only for mirroring iOS devices to your Mac. Air Parrot is for mirroring a Mac to Apple TV.
Like (2)
Derekcurrie
23 November 2014
The price of AirParrot for Mac, single user license, is now $14.99. It is not $9.99.
Like
Version 1.5.5
4 answer(s)
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
23 November 2014
Oh and version 2.0.0 is now available.
Like
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
25 November 2014
AirParrot version 2.0.1 for Mac is now available.
Like
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
26 November 2014
And now v2.0.2 is available...
Like
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
09 December 2014
AirParrot version 2.0.4.1 is now available.
Like
fayskelley
19 August 2014
I have had no problems with the app, just wish I could open on login rather than have to hunt for it each time in app folder ~ love it!
Like
Version 1.5.4
3 answer(s)
fayskelley
fayskelley
19 August 2014
I also meant to mention, for those with AppleTV some programs on Hulu do not play on TV (some do) so it is a must for us having no cable or such ~
Like
judas1012
judas1012
03 October 2014
Why not add AirParrot to your Mac OS X user account's "Login Items?"
Like
sjk
sjk
04 October 2014
Have you tried what judas1012 suggested? Or put AirParrot's icon in Dock. Or use Spotlight to launch it. There are other ways to open apps instead of hunting for them in folders. :)
Like
Bob Jacobson
12 December 2013
Since installing Mavericks (OS 10.9) on my late 2009 MBP and early 2010 MPA (which formerly ran Snow Leopard), AirParrot has become less useful. it's staggering, often out of synch, and with mismatched video. It's simply incapable of mirroring streaming content as it did before. I'd rather have mirroring than Mavericks' few other nice but unnecessary features, so unless Apple or AirParrot comes up with a currently workable solution, I may have to remove Mavericks and reinstall Snow Leopard. Apple would no doubt wish me to buy newer machines, but those I have are serviceable, familiar, and enable my high-productivity workflow. Plus they don't cost $2000 apiece. However, I would prefer a solution to reinstalling Snow Leopard.
Like
Version 1.5.3
Bob Jacobson
12 December 2013
Since installing Mavericks (OS 10.9) on my late 2009 MBP and early 2010 MPA (which formerly ran Snow Leopard), AirParrot has become less useful. it's staggering, often out of synch, and with mismatched video. It's simply incapable of mirroring streaming content as it did before. I'd rather have mirroring than Mavericks' few other nice but unnecessary features, so unless Apple or AirParrot comes up with a currently workable solution, I may have to remove Mavericks and reinstall Snow Leopard. Apple would no doubt wish me to buy newer machines, but those I have are serviceable, familiar, and enable my high-productivity workflow. Plus they don't cost $2000 apiece. However, I would prefer a solution to reinstalling Snow Leopard.
Like
Version 1.5.3
Xandra
16 June 2013
This is MUST HAVE For ATV users (at least those without ML - and and probably those whose computers don't meet Apples' requirements) It's a simple, elegant way to mirror your computer monitor via ATV on your TV: Great for things that don't play in iTunes (use VLC or other), and an excellent way to do demonstrations (assuming you've got a larger TV screen than monitor) EASE of USE: Very simple setup (although I recall something of a 2step process in earlier versions under Snow Leop. to get audio working) PERFORMANCE: I have a reliable, pretty fast network, and must say that at least under these conditions there's no lag at all. IF you want to try to see how well it'll work on your system, get the demo at devs site at: http://www.airsquirrels.com/airparrot/
Like (1)
Version 1.5
Gent99
15 February 2013
If you'd like to view dvd from mac os x to appletv: forget it. Won't work
Like
Version 1.5
1 answer(s)
Molamola
Molamola
25 April 2013
DVDPLayer seems to have issues, maybe related to some copy protection. But watching a DVD f.e. using VLC works perfectly. Maybe 1/2 a star just because you have problems to get AirParrot to work with one specific app is a little harsh?
Like (9)
Fred3rd
01 February 2013
Doesn't work at all with Xbmc 12
Like (1)
Version 1.5
1 answer(s)
Jolly-joker
Jolly-joker
19 March 2013
The app is having problems.. the audio is not synced with the video.. Fix needed!
Like
Bob Jacobson
28 December 2012
The audio fix was simply to delete the driver as indicated below in the comment on audio and then to restart AP, let it reinstall the driver, and voila!
Like
Version 1.5
Bob Jacobson
28 December 2012
I tried out the new 1.5 version of AirParrot and generally am satisfied. It works as well on my old MacBook Pro as AirPlay does on my more modern Air -- and without all the distasteful ads, commercial crap, and unnecessary embellishments. I'm still missing audio, though I guess Support will find me the right drivers to make it work with Snow Leopard. (I'm also glad not to have to use Mountain Lion or similar junk OS on my MBP which is easier to use than an ML-"enabled" Mac. What a step backward for Apple!) For $10, I'm giving AirParrot a 4-star rating and if they solve the audio issue, I'll amend it to 5. So there.
Like
Version 1.5
jreffner
02 October 2012
I must admit that I'm very impressed with this software. AirServer may be great for AirPlaying my iOS source to my Mac, but I needed something to AirPlay a video from a web browser to my Apple TV. Air Parrot does it, and does it well! I don't have to, (but can) Mirror the Mac or PC to the AppleTV, but even better is that I can AirPlay a specific app (such as Safari) so that I can watch an episode on regular Hulu, or a major network site such as ABC. Why would I do this? Simple, if it isn't on Hulu Plus, NetFlix, or Amazon, and it is on Hulu or a netwok site, I can watch it on my TV! Yes, I tried watching it on the Boxee browser from a Boxee box, but it has some massive Flash limitations. Air Parrot works with it all!
Like (2)
Version 1.4.3
Cowicide
09 August 2012
MacUpdate, this is 1.4.3, not 1.4.1 as of 08-08-2012
Like
Version 1.4.1
1 answer(s)
MacUpdate-Ryan
MacUpdate-Ryan
09 August 2012
Thanks Cowicide, I've updated the listing :)
Like
Thomas39
04 August 2012
This is a great App. Downloading and getting it set up is tricky.when asked, download the extensions.You really should go to the web site and read all the instructions.Also the latest Version there is 1.4.3. I'm using a 2008 iMac and the picture and streaming are fantastic.
Like (1)
Version 1.4.1
1 answer(s)
pedrotaquelim
pedrotaquelim
10 September 2012
" I'm using a 2008 iMac and the picture and streaming are fantastic." Say again? What kind of resolution/quality, frame rate are you calling "fantastic"? I'm using a iMac early 2009 and the picture and streaming quality is lousy, terrible. The video lags, jumps frames, etc. Tried all resolutions and quality, and altought the speed gets a little better the video quality goes down to the "pixel crappy world" and it still jumps frames all over the place and that does not happen only when theres is many pixels moving on the screen, in this case it just gets a lot worse. If you want to get some internet/browsing mirroring in your HDTV, well, it useful, but not for cinema. Please.
Like
dmu
02 August 2012
The video works great and I would be very satisfied... but no audio?Seriously? Why would I pay to watch my screen on the TV and still have to listen through my pathetic laptop speakers? It installed "drivers" and restarted, but it made no difference. I have tried everything with every combination of settings. The only option left would be to send all of my system audio to airplay speakers (which I can and is all the more reason that this app should be able to supply audio), but why should I have to go through that trouble for software that is supposed to mirror my Mac to the TV painlessly? Until there is audio support, this serves no real purpose for me.
Like
Version 1.4.1
3 answer(s)
dmu
dmu
02 August 2012
and the plot thickens... after installing the "drivers" (which, by the way, there is no option to reinstall or uninstall... they just magically are there or not there with no tracing them to anything), mountain lion is no longer able to drag and drop anywhere in the system. it can drag, but it can no longer drop. this is in safari with bookmarks and pics, etc. in the finder with files, the dock with icons. you can pick things up, you cannot drop them. the only thing i have done from before and after the problem was open airparrot and install the "drivers" which i cannot uninstall because there is no option and i don't even know what they are.
Like
dmu
dmu
02 August 2012
Got a reply from AirParrot support, and a fix to the problem! To remove the driver in question, simply take the following steps: 1. Open the "Terminal" application from Spotlight 2. Run the following command. You will be prompted for your system password sudo rm -rf /System/Library/Extensions/APExtFramebuffer.kext 3. Reboot It did, in fact, resolve the problem.
Like (3)
Adewo
Adewo
14 August 2012
Thanks for steps sharing!
Like
Cyber
14 June 2012
I love it!
Like
Version 1.0
-d-ecay
17 April 2012
EXCELLENT product! Easy to install, easy to use, and does *exactly* what we need from it. Nice job, David, you have created an exceptionally useful utility that makes our life just that much easier. Best $10 I've spent on software in a LONG time. Thank you!
Like
Version 1.0
Organik
25 February 2012
For $10 it's just not worth it. The quality over wired lan is really bad. I'd image wifi even worse. It works - but it's hardly usable. Can't even read fairly large text it's so bad. Tried mountain lion preview however, and that mirroring is quite usable.
Like (1)
Version 1.0
1 answer(s)
Organik
Organik
26 February 2012
Actually, if you set your Mac to the resolution of the Apple TV (1280x720) it looks quite nice. And you can extend your desktop to the Apple TV as well. If I could redo the review I would give it 5 stars. My own ignorance in reading the FAQ. Sorry Dev!
Like (4)
Bob Jacobson
25 February 2012
Installed the application, but could not get it to run by clicking the icon in ~/Applications/Airparrot.app. Finally, I clicked the icon in the disk image. AirParrot asked me for my registration key. Of course, I didn't have one, having just downloaded the demo. AirParrot then told me my trial time was up and shut itself down. A very unsatisfying experience.
Like
Version 1.0
1 answer(s)
Bob Jacobson
Bob Jacobson
07 April 2012
I have a new version of AirParrrot thanks to the developers. I have yet to give it a try. We shall see....
Like (1)
Mikaelf
17 February 2012
Unlucky timing with the announcement of Mountain Lion...I'll wait for it.
Like (3)
Version 1.0
1 answer(s)
Spectral7
Spectral7
27 July 2012
not unlucky as Apple have made sure Airplay does not work unless you have a 2011+ Mac.....not good at all IMHO!
Like