Back to OS X Mountain Lion page
OS X Mountain Lion free download for Mac

OS X Mountain Lion Reviews

10.8.5
13 September 2013

The final update for OS X 10.8.

Mysticalos
19 April 2012

Most helpful

Apple isn't taking pre sales yet, I'm not sure why MU is posting developer seeds like this, and not even labeling the main title as a beta (but instead making it sub text). this is misleading, someone might see the 99 dollar thing and think they are buying a retail lion that's expensive, and not and ADC membership and access to a beta with a ton of known issues still, not intended for consumer use. By no means was i confused on what it is, i always read the subtext and keep up with ADC anyways, but just stating as someone who also does mac tech support, the average user isn't going to read the subtext. heck, 23% of people infected with flashback haven't even run software update yet, certainly there are going to be a few mislead by this being on macupdate.
Like (17)
Version 10.8

Read 201 OS X Mountain Lion User Reviews

Rate this app:

LeeL7158
17 December 2013
One more thing Mountain Lion 10.8.5(not earlier versions) is the Best.. I used Ethernet for download.. and yes it took a while.. but worth it. If you're not sure, then Don't! I upgraded from SnowLeopard 10.6.8.. using my Time machine from 10.6.8.. keeping both my Pic, Docs, and Most Apps from SnowLeopard.. LL
Like
Version 10.8.5
LeeL7158
17 December 2013
Mountain Lion v10.8.5, has got to be the BEST since Snow Leopard.. I'm very Pleased with most everything about this OS! YES, the download is worth every penny ! the download has a habit of stalling in App Store.. I Hit ComMand-R.. and it continued fine. it took about 9 1/2 hours, but that's just me. Thank You apple!
Like
Version 10.8.5
Penguirl
15 October 2013
Oveall I think that Cougar has a lot of nice touches. I still miss Rosetta, and the drab Finder sidebar is atrocious (I find it harder to spot what I'm looking for than SL's sidebar) but overall it's a lot better than I expected. One thing I sorely miss, besides Rosetta, is the zero-out option in Disk Utility. With this option gone how are we supposed to write out bad sectors now?
Like
Version 10.8.5
Brooklyn-Al
15 September 2013
The combo updater on the link provided below has a file size of ~ 871mb verses 831mb from the apple support website (http://support.apple.com/kb/DL1676). Why the file size difference?
Like (1)
Version 10.8.5
3 answer(s)
Jess-MacUpdate
Jess-MacUpdate
15 September 2013
Hey, Brooklyn_Al! Glad you asked about the file-size difference, 'cause it's one of my pet peeves. :-) Back around the age of OS X 10.6, Apple decided that we needed to use decimal kilobytes and megabytes and gigabytes (oh, my!) rather than the mathematically correct binary versions of same. That means that, in Apple's wisdom, on our systems anyway, a kilobyte is 1000 bytes rather than 1024 bytes (2^10 [two to the tenth power] = 1024). As you can imagine, as numbers grow, the difference grows, um, well, logarithmically. The download, whose uncontested size is 871,498,431 bytes, looks like 871,498,431/1,000,000 is 871.498431 MB or 871.5 MB when it gets to our machines, but 871,498,431/(2^20) is 831.1256704 MB or 831.13 MB is the size in binary, and that's the way Apple posts it on their servers. So, we apologize for the confusion. And I apologize for the math class, but I had to get it out of my system. :-D
Like (3)
Brooklyn-Al
Brooklyn-Al
15 September 2013
Jess thanks for the explanation---very helpful and informative!
Like (1)
Prince-Isaac
Prince-Isaac
16 September 2013
@MacUpdate-Jess No problems with the math lesson. I'll wager that 98% of the people who are basically computer-literate (myself included) either weren't aware of the change or simply forget about difference in notation. Thanks for getting this mini-lecture out of your system.
Like (1)
MacUpdate-Lon
14 September 2013
Well, I took the plunge and upgraded my late 2011 MBP running OS X 10.7.5 to OS X 10.8.5. The App Store experience was not good as far as downloading goes, the download quit several times and an alert window popped up that gave an option to "retry". It took the better part of a day to get this beast downloaded (yes, I have broadband). As for the OS itself, I'm not so crazy about it. More bells and whistles, seems to me.
Like (2)
Version 10.8.5
3 answer(s)
DocOnMac
DocOnMac
16 September 2013
Did you use an Ethernet or Wi-Fi connection for the download? Apple are very specific in recommending ethernet over Wi-Fi as the former is much more stable. I have never had any drop outs since adopting this advice from AppleCare
Like (1)
MacUpdate-Lon
MacUpdate-Lon
19 September 2013
I did indeed use Wi-Fi to download it, was unaware of Apple's recommendation to use Ethernet. Thanks for the tip. The OS has given me no problems. I'm still not excited about it and don't like that it eats a lot more RAM. Oh well, every major Mac OS X update has eaten more RAM, so no surprise.
Like
MacUpdate-Lon
MacUpdate-Lon
01 October 2013
After some use, I have to say that OS X 10.8.5 shouldn't be installed on Macs with less than 8 GB of RAM. I've got 4 GB RAM and I get swapfiles galore after a relatively short time of use, and I don't use any monster apps like Photoshop.
Like
Gregm
13 September 2013
Lost all of my iCloud services mail failed, calendar & address book would not sync, -- even trying to log on via browser failed. Solution was to log off of iCloud via System Preferences>>Internet and Wireless>> iCloud> sign out --- then sign back in (being mindful of the service checkmarks)
Like
Version 10.8.5
Mcr
13 September 2013
My pointers for OS system upgrades. These should be fairly obvious and logical, but surprisingly I see and hear of people who will try to run an upgrade, with 5 apps running, downloading files, and so on, then wonder/complain that the upgrade 'screwed up' my system. 1. Perform Verify Disk AND Repair Permissions BEFORE upgrade. 2. Boot from another partition or drive, other than the one being upgraded. This ensure the partition to be updated is completely accessible and no files are open or in use. In this day and age of inexpensive supersize hard drives, there's no reason not to have an extra partition to boot from for situations like this. It doesn't take much space. A bare bones install of Mountain Lion will fit on a 10 GB partition. What's 10GB on a 500 GB or 1 TB drive? Disconnect all other external drives/unmount other partitions, other than one you booted from and the one to be updated. 3. If unable to boot from another partition or drive (i.e. you are updating the same installation you booted from), then before starting the installation, shut down all apps, including any of the apps that run on the menu bar if you can. (us old Windows people will remember the old saying about quitting all TSR - Terminate and Stay Resident- programs before doing any Windows updates, this is kind of the same thing, turn off all those third party apps running in the background). Go have some coffee while the upgrade is in progress, really you don't need to be working at the same time, those 15 minutes are small compared to the time you will waste if the install goes bad. 4. Perform Verify Disk AND Repair Permissions AGAIN AFTER the upgrade finishes and the system reboots. 5. I run the Combo updater, even if I'm just upgrading from one point release to another. For newbies, Apple releases OS updates in two forms, 1) a smaller update that updates from the immediate prior release, like if you have 10.8.4 installed and want to upgrade to 10.8.5, and 2) a combo updater that updates any prior version. For example the 10.8.5 combo updater will update any version from 10.8.0, .1 , .2, .3 and .4. Why run the combo, even if just upgrading from the previous point release? There have been times when Apple has forgotten files in the point upgrade, and the point upgrade is based on just covering the delta between the two points releases. The combo makes no such assumptions and includes all files changed since the dot zero release, and during the upgrade, a simple date/time and version check tells the updater whether to copy over or not. When you consider that OS X has HUNDREDS of THOUSANDS of files, the possibility of human error in packaging when applying cumulative point release updates on top of each other is likely higher, versus a combo which makes no assumptions about what got changed in between. I do not have any proof of that, this is a personal opinion, I could be wrong, but in my experience I have had good results always using the combo. Besides if you read any of the Mac publications and tech pundits, nearly all of them recommend using the combo as well. If you have multiple Macs, or work in a multi Mac shop, it's also a lot simpler to keep one combo updater on hand, than multiple point updaters. Hopefully, if you follow these steps it will minimize the possibility of those spurious, hard to pin down, system hick ups that are often reported here. Lastly, laptop users with smaller drives that feel they can't afford to set aside 10 GB for a boot partition, invest in an external drive, it's well worth it. If you have a Time Machine drive, you can even partition off 10GB on that. Good Luck!
Like (10)
Version 10.8.5
6 answer(s)
Prince-Isaac
Prince-Isaac
13 September 2013
@mcr: It's astounding that a couple of people have given you "frownies" for this great set of upgrade tips. What's not to like about what you wrote? I'm an old-time Mac user and remember these tips being written in stone in the System 6 and 7 days, with additional steps once the Mac was unix-based. Thanks for taking the time to put these in the comments here.
Like (1)
Anon-Bud
Anon-Bud
14 September 2013
FWIW: Maybe I'm just lucky, but I quit doing all this sort of thing with each incremental update. I've not had any hint of a problem with software updates and things run as smoothly as can be. I am not suggesting that folks don't go through what you've listed here. All good stuff. It's just that I only do this with major updates. BTW I'm running on an early spring 2009 17-inch Macbook Pro.
Like
DocOnMac
DocOnMac
16 September 2013
I boot into Recovery Partition, run Disk Utility Disk First Aid and then boot into Safe Mode to install either the Combo or the smaller Update. As mentioned in an earlier post, Apple recommend an ethernet over Wi-Fi connection for the large 4+ GB download. Since adopting this method I have had no problems at all. I prefer the Combo updater to use for all my Macs.
Like
Tim27
Tim27
19 September 2013
While this is a good list of what to do for OS updates, it clearly outlines the major problem with all operating systems today and for the past 30 years. Humans that program these OS's don't think about the end user. Jobs did to an extent, but still we as customers are left with trying to do all these steps manually before a software update that Apple tells us is available and has a "Click Here to Update" button flashing us in the face. I am unsure why it would be so incredibly difficult for programmers to automatically do all of these steps before installing an update. And while I think about it, WHY should we have to do these steps anyway? You would think that by the year 2014 computers could optimize their own hard drives and rebuild their own permissions when they become frazzled. And speaking of permissions, why do I need to rebuild permissions when I am the ONLY person using my computer? Why would permissions even get screwed up? All of this comes down to making the best possible user experience. To date, no computer company has done it. Some day some company will. I had high hopes for BeOS when that was in development in the 90s, but then that got canned.
Like
Prince-Isaac
Prince-Isaac
19 September 2013
@Tim27: You are absolutely correct on all points. Upgrading an OS should not have to entail so many steps of caution, much of which smacks of ritual and voodoo based on nothing more than memories of past horrifying experiences. An upgrade, not matter what its magnitude is, should consist of the user answering one question: "Do you want to install the upgrade?" Answering "yes" directs the installer to do everything from repairing permissions, cleaning out the .trashes and other detritus, backing up to whatever medium you've selected as your backup, an fsck and other CLI diagnostic/repairs, reset PRAM and whatever else, and then put everything possible into a quiescent state, and install the upgrade. And flash a message every so often that it's time to stop staring at the progress bar and get a life, say in the nearest coffee shop. Did someone mention the dark arts of chaining SCSI devices and terminators? Something i'd really like to forget.
Like
Prince-Isaac
Prince-Isaac
19 September 2013
Somewhat off topic but since we're discussing upgrading, what the heck! I plan on upgrading to Mavericks when it is released. This will be the first upgrade on my current Mac (late 2012 Mini). I usually upgrade by backing up (with SuperDuper or CCC), then booting into the backup, then erasing my normal boot volume, and installing clean with migration. However, this time I'm faced with a different setup: My normal boot volume is a 240MB SSD combined with a 500GB HDD, "combined" as in they are a Fusion Drive (not a hybrid). So I'm curious if anyone here has experience cleaning off a Fusion setup and then installing the OS clean? What are the things to watch out for? Thanks! -PI
Like
freddyfrog
13 September 2013
Apple need to fix Software Update. Every time I try to use it to update OSX it grinds slowly away for a short while and then gives up the ghost and declares a fault. I suspect that the Software Updater cannot handle the load on it. I find it is far faster to download updaters for OSX directly from the Apple download site.
Like (1)
Version 10.8.5
RTouris
13 September 2013
Is it **just** me or is the Finder window zoom-to-fit function **still** broken in 10.8.5? I've been sending out feedback reports to Apple with regards to this particular issue (i.e. Finder windows DO NOT ZOOM properly when viewing contents in list-mode cmd-2) ever since 10.7, but oh my..this is getting lots of Apple M$-like love for the last couple of years now :/Other than that, pretty stable and all.
Like
Version 10.8.5
anonymous-snipe-287
13 September 2013
Smooth upgrade, no apparent issues on rMBP (2012).
Like (1)
Version 10.8.5
Kenm22
13 September 2013
There seems to be a bug in that the option to use F1, F2 etc. as standard function keys has been removed. In addition, the sound volume keys on the keyboard don' t work. I have gone back to 10.8.4 until the bug is fixed.
Like
Version 10.8.5
3 answer(s)
Jmsuijkerbuijk
Jmsuijkerbuijk
13 September 2013
All function keys working normally here. Your problem may be related to your setup rather than the update.
Like
anonymous-snipe-287
anonymous-snipe-287
13 September 2013
Option still exists (at least on my MBP), and volume keys are working.
Like
Fyreflye
Fyreflye
13 September 2013
All function keys working on my mid-2012 MBP.
Like
Frosty
13 September 2013
Make sure your drive verifies and your permissions are fixed and you should never have any problems.
Like (1)
Version 10.8.5
Fyreflye
13 September 2013
A simple upgrade with no apparent problems.
Like
Version 10.8.5
RavenNevermore
12 September 2013
Very smooth update. Mountain Lion has been very fast and stable on my machine. The only exception—and this seems to only be related to my user login, and not others on this mac—is a very long wait after the desktop loads, before I can do anything. Several minutes at least. But since I unusually put it to sleep, that hasn't been a big issue. I'm guessing this is the last update until 10.9 Mavricks. It's been a fine ride so far. :)
Like (3)
Version 10.8.5
14 answer(s)
Prince-Isaac
Prince-Isaac
13 September 2013
@davidravenmoon: Your problem of long login times sounds like you've got a lot of login items (apps, extensions, MBIs) that can indeed slow down login. There are several things you can do to help speed things up: 1. Get a Solid State Drive and use it as your boot volume. This alone will go lightning fast. 2. There are a few login scripts or apps that can be found on MU (I can't think their names at the moment) that will allow you to schedule the startup items so that the most necessary ones are loaded, then after a few minutes, other apps are launched, another pause, then whatever else. That will allow you to get right to work without the screen clutter of apps and such flashing their initial windows on the screen. 3. Pare down the startup items.
Like (1)
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
13 September 2013
Yes I do, but it stated after one of the updates to ML. What actually happens if the Finder, and a few other things stop responding for a while. The other ML issue I forgot about was it broke TimeMachine. I actually had an Apple engineer call me up and we went through a bunch of things, but never found the cause. I don't know if they fixed it, because I switched to CCC.
Like
Pusfarm
Pusfarm
13 September 2013
The delay app I use is called DelayedLauncher and has been great. And it's free. This is not so much an issue with me since getting a new MBP with 16GB, but on my old 2006 MBP this app made a huge difference. https://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/29931/delayedlauncher
Like (2)
wintermute
wintermute
13 September 2013
There is definitely something wrong with your OS if it takes "several minutes" before you can do anything after the desktop loads. That is not normal, even when dozens of start-up items. Try checking the logs in Console and see what errors are being reported. Also, I am a die-hard mac-user, but 10.8.x lacks much of the refinement of previous releases. Quality control has gone downhill. There are numerous problems with Contacts, Calendar & Mail, especially when it comes to iCloud synchronization, which has broken on occasion and which cannot be easily reloaded with a "master" data back-up like in previous incarnations (MobileMe, etc.). Want a prime example of the loss of quality control? How about the fact that System Preferences still allows for setting Keyboard key repeat rate, but that function has been superseded by the iOS-like pop-up accent symbols? Try it. Hold down any vowel and try to invoke the key-repeat. The only way to re-enable it is through Terminal. The lack of an option button/switch within System Preferences to choose between key-repeat or the pop-up accent-symbol-menu is a glaring omission... and leaving the Key-Repeat option in place when the function has been replaced is just sloppy work on Apple's part.
Like (1)
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
13 September 2013
@Rezstudios, yes something is wrong, but only on my login. My son and daughter have their own accounts, and everything is fine there. It could just be the amount of startup items I have, but since I rarely shut down it's not an issue. And 10.9 is right around the corner. I have Activity Monitor open all the time, and can see open files, and I have checked the logs. Nothing abnormal. It wasn't always like this, and just started one day. Maybe when I install 10.9 I'll start fresh. This 2009 iMac has stuff that was transferred from two G4s, going all the way back to 2000. So I'm sure there's a lot of junk on there. I have not had any issues with iCloud and synching. I do it every day, back and forth from my iPhone, in Contacts and Notes, etc. I use Mail now since Outlook wasn't working well with ML. That works fine. I have my iPhone set up to check two IMAP accounts, and then on Mail I set it for POP, and it removes the mail from the server. This Mac is nice and fast, and stable. Gives me no problems at all. The ONLY two issues have been the startup thing, only on my user account, and TimeMachine, which I'll assume Apple might have fixed for 10.9, since they are aware of it. I don't use TM anymore so I don't care about that. :) And both of those problems were fairly recent. They were working fine for a long time.
Like
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
13 September 2013
I will add however, that Apple seems to get software out the door faster now, and often there are bugs. More bugs than in the past, and I have used every version of Mac OSs going back to System 7.5. :) Of course there were lots of bugs back then too. So I agree they need to take a little more time before they push something out the door. When they stopped doing annual major releases, and went to every two or so years, it seemed to work better. But I understand that they have to keep current for the market.
Like
DocOnMac
DocOnMac
16 September 2013
I find that resetting the SMC and zapping the PRAM will often speed up my boot time. I also have very few Login Apps. The number of external devices will also alter the boot time. If I disconnect my USB hub and all backup disks, USB, Firewire or Thunderbolt, my Mac starts in 1/2 the time, but of course it is not much use in that state. It does however sometimes show which device is holding up the boot process.
Like
DocOnMac
DocOnMac
16 September 2013
I would also recommend checking LaunchAgents and Daemons in the Library and User Library. It is possible that some Apps you have installed in the past and no longer want or use are trying to launch. Delete the ones you no longer need if you find any.
Like
Prince-Isaac
Prince-Isaac
16 September 2013
@ Doconmac: Interesting points. For the uninitiated, could you follow up and explain how to reset the SMC and to zap the PRAM? I would myself but I honestly can't recall at the moment.
Like
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
16 September 2013
@Doconmac, I did try resetting the SMC and zapping the PRAM. That didn't help. My Mac starts up fast, the problem is loading my desktop takes forever. I have other logins on this Mac and they load up quickly. It's something with my startup items, and when I upgrade to Mavericks I'm going to get it sorted out.
Like
Prince-Isaac
Prince-Isaac
16 September 2013
@RavenNevermore:So you've tried everything others have suggested and you are certain that it has to do with your own account. My advice, then, would be to create a new user, which will become your regular day-to-day account. Make sure it's set up as an admin account. Then on a slow day, start customizing its settings and login items to match your old slow account. In order to accurately pin down the file or daemon that's causing the slowdown, you'll need to log out and log back in after each step you take. That's why you need a slow day! :-) It's up to you how you want to order your customization steps but I'd say to add things in order from most important to you to least important. That is, if MS Word is the most important login item, start with it. If iCloud is the least important, don't set it up right away. This review could be done when you upgrade to Mavericks, and you just might want to do a clean install and create each account fresh by not migrating anything. This could be a long process but might help cleaning out the leftover remains of apps that are no longer used (or even on your machine). This will mean installing your apps from downloads and re-entering serial numbers and license keys from License Keeper or some such database. This would be the perfect time to evaluate your collection of apps to see what you use often, those you rarely use, and those you haven't used for ages (which can be discovered by going to your Applications folder and select ing "View > Show View Options" (or cmd-j). Then select the checkbox for "Date Last Opened." I was surprised at how many of my apps had lain in the closet for years without having been opened). Apps bought from the MAS will automatically get downloaded so you don't have to reinstall them. **Please note: Make a bootable backup of your boot volume with all accounts using SuperDuper! or CarbonCopyCloner before doing a clean install.**
Like
DocOnMac
DocOnMac
16 September 2013
To reset SMC http://support.apple.com/kb/ht3964 PRAM http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1379 I would be doing an erase and Clean Install also
Like (1)
Prince-Isaac
Prince-Isaac
18 September 2013
@Doconmac: Thanks for the links to the Apple KB. I found it pretty funny that for a Mac Mini to do an SMC reset you have to disconnect the power cord for a while and nothing else! :-)
Like
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
06 October 2013
Just wanted to update this and say that the problem I was having with the long time for the desktop to load (apps not responding, including the Finder) has resolved itself with the last update to ML. :)
Like
Libertyforall1776
12 September 2013
So far so good, no issues on MBP 17" late-2011.
Like (3)
Version 10.8.5
Jazzyguy
12 September 2013
The update went in but not so smoothly. I clicked the restart button and it restarted but after seeing the Apple logo I got a blank screen. I waited about 6 or 7 minutes and it still didn't resume the restart I just sat there with a blank screen. I finally did a "hard shutdown" and after i did I started my MacBook Air and it restarted and all appears just fine. I don't know why it did what it did but all appears to be OK.
Like (2)
Version 10.8.5
Incredible number of problems, new ones every day, not limited to but especially in Mail, Calendar and Contacts and constantly if/when you are at work trying to use MS Exchange servers. Generally speaking it seems it is rarity if you report a bug (radar.apple.com) it gets fixed, especially in Mail/Calendar/Contacts. Reported bugs do get dismissed as "duplicates" of someone else's report and then not only are they not fixed, there is no visibility of them any longer. I have bug reports in the Apple reporting system that have been there since 2006, open, lingering.
Like (3)
Version 10.8.4
4 answer(s)
Pik80
Pik80
02 August 2013
That's odd I haven't had any problems with ML at all.
Like (3)
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
12 September 2013
I have had zero problems with it since day one. Sounds like you have directory corruption on your hard drive.
Like (1)
Cerniuk (Hates Captcha)
Cerniuk (Hates Captcha)
12 September 2013
I thought of that too. Reformatted reinstalled so many times I lost count. Used 3 different drives, 750GB Toshiba, 256GB Crucial 4M SDD, 256GB SanDisk SDD. it just malfunctioned faster on the SDDs. Have been running 10.9 since DP5 nope as my primary system. I can't say exactly but I will say it is definitely not Mountain Lion. That cat is stuffed and in my den as a place to wipe my feet ;-)
Like (2)
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
12 September 2013
That's weird. Bad RAM maybe?
Like (2)
Zevrix
13 June 2013
This update (10.8.4) fixes some serious Finder issues that were introduced in 10.8.3. In short, if you updated to 10.8.3 this update is essential to bring your Finder back to normal.
Like (1)
Version 10.8.4
GeogProf
11 June 2013
Funny, 10.8.4's new qtkittrustedmoviesservice process does not appear at all in the list of What's New, but it appears in Activity Monitor every time I open any Finder window containing movie files using more than 100% of the CPU for a loooooong time. I'm not sure what this piece of shtako does, but it behave suspiciously similar to the QuickLook process that also used to crank up the CPU for an inordinate amount of time to make movie files QuickLook-able. I hope Apple dumps or better tunes this loser as soon as possible.
Like (1)
Version 10.8.4
1 answer(s)
GeogProf
GeogProf
13 June 2013
Is no one else having a problem with the qtkittrustedmoviesservice process cranking up your CPU whenever a folder containing movie files is opened in the Finder? Anyone?
Like
MacUpdate-Lon
10 June 2013
Sheesh, I must be getting old... Still running OS X 10.7.5 and Apple is expected to announce 10.9 at the WWDC today. I just don't want to upgrade, but I suppose I will have to eventually.
Like (1)
Version 10.8.4
umaromc
09 June 2013
Terminal.app chflags nohidden ~/Library
Like (2)
Version 10.8.4
M85
08 June 2013
Apple, what gives? My desktop's hung at the grey linen screen with jsust a cursor showing after this update. I repaired permissions and updated using the combo updater - as I always do with point updates. Don't know what to do next...
Like
Version 10.8.4
Ronl
05 June 2013
Like butter!
Like (2)
Version 10.8.4
Jazzyguy
05 June 2013
The update went extremely smoothly and I like the new version of Safari. I expected more for this release of ML and I agree that something should have been done about the "fuzzy icons" which are a pain at times. But on the whole this is a good update and I detect that Safari is running a little faster with this update or is it my imagination?
Like (1)
Version 10.8.4
1 answer(s)
Cerniuk (Hates Captcha)
Cerniuk (Hates Captcha)
13 September 2013
I've noticed snappier safari but the response to input is very poor. I enter something as a search or URL and nothing happens. Put insertion point in the URL, press return, dead. I hold command key and press return to get another tab and the tab opens and the URL resolves. I'm on a 60Mb/s FiOS connection so the lack of any response is not my line speed. But more important, safari should show some feedback after the return is pressed to show it is doing something. Right now the only feedback seems to be when the data comes back or the page fails to load. But aggravatingly, sometimes it just sits there and does none of the above but you don't know it because there is no activity indicator, just data inbound progress indicator. Want that spinny gear thing back that says "yea boss, I'm on it!" Just need a "woof!" Confirmation from that old CyberDog....
Like
Wade-Smith
04 June 2013
Still ain't fixed the fuzzy icon problem, or the inability for Quicktime Player to make recordings or stay on top of open apps.
Like (1)
Version 10.8.4
Libertyforall1776
04 June 2013
So far so good on a 2011 MBP 17" - finally fixed that annoying iMessage out of order problem! Finally! Now, why can't we get AirPlay buttons in Mac apps like in iOS?!
Like (1)
Version 10.8.4
Donmontalvo
04 June 2013
So much for a Time Machine "Can't create folder" fix. :(
Like (3)
Version 10.8.4
2 answer(s)
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
04 June 2013
My Time Machine has been broken for a while now. I think ever since 10.8.2. I had to stop using it and move to Carbon Copy Cloner. That's been working great. I even had a guy from Apple call and had me run through a bunch of things to see if we would get it working, but to no avail. He said they were aware of issues, but I haven't heard anything since.
Like (4)
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
05 June 2013
Wow, I comment that TimeMachine is broken, and acknowledged as such by Apple, and someone votes down my post? WFT is wrong with your dimwits? Go on the Apple support forum and look it up. Thread, after thread talking about broken TimeMachine. I'll repeat, an engineer from Apple looked up my number and called me about the problem after I posted in a thread on the support forum. Then we set time on a Saturday (yeah he went into work on a Saturday for this) and we spent about an hour trying to make it work and collecting system diagnostic reports. We did not get it working. It was going to take 30 days to do one of the incremental hourly backups. So it's a known problem and Apple has assigned people to call customers and to try and fix the problem.
Like (4)
Vulcan-
29 May 2013
pet peeve warning .. i have no idea how mountain lion is 'cause i don't have it installed on anything yet .. but it does irk me that Macupdate shows the component apps as needing an upgrade in the M-up Desktop app .. without saying the update is bundled in the OS upgrade .. and failing with no message when you click the download + install button .. it just breaks and says nothing when i try to upgrade iCal to 6.0 .. the download just fails.
Like (2)
Version 10.8.3
2 answer(s)
Anon-Bud
Anon-Bud
04 June 2013
Seems like your rating ought to be for MacUpdate, not for Mountain Lion. Too bad, as your rating brings the overall rating down.
Like (16)
Vulcan-
Vulcan-
05 June 2013
i agree iMacintosh .. but there is no product sheet for MacUpate itself
Like
iMacintosh
20 April 2013
Got an Older Mac? MLPostFactor Installs OS X 10.8.3 on Old Unsupported Macs http://osxdaily.com/2013/04/20/mlpostfactor-installs-os-x-mountain-lion-old-unsupported-macs/
Like (2)
Version 10.8.3
1 answer(s)
Vulcan-
Vulcan-
05 June 2013
but there is an entry for macupdate desktop .. i will put my complaint there.
Like
GeogProf
13 April 2013
On all MacBooks, the ‘Empty Trash’ and ‘Secure Empty Trash’ commands should be separated because most people use the Trackpad to navigate the interface, but it’s VERY easy to accidentally select ‘Secure Empty Trash’ instead of ‘Empty Trash’ simply because your finger slipped, or more frequently because the Trackpad (especially the one on my current model) doesn’t detect fingertip heat/moisture with perfect accuracy or timeliness — and I’m a professor (not a brick layer), so my fingertips are not particularly thick, cold or dry. This is especially annoying when there are many files, very large files (like movies), or many large files in the Trash can, in which case ‘Secure Empty Trash’ takes a very long time to finish. And when you accidentally click ‘Secure Empty Trash’ and you want to click the “Stop’ icon so you can try again to select ‘Empty Trash’ so you don’t have to wait for the secure-empty process to finish, it frequently takes just as long for the OS to stop securely emptying the trash as it would to simply wait for the secure-empty process to finish. This has annoyed me ever since OS 10.0 was introduced (and probably with OS 9 too, though I don’t remember that far back) — even on my iMacs and Mac Pros when I use a mouse instead of the Trackpad, but it is a more frequent affliction with laptops because the Trackpad is their primary interface device. I currently use OS 10.8.3 on my Mid-2012 13” 2.9 GHz i7 MacBook Pro, OS 10.6.8 on my Mid-2006 20” 2.16 GHz Core2Duo iMac, and 10.8.3 on my Mid-2012 2.4 GHz 12-core (dual 6-core) Xeon Mac Pro at work, and they are all very well maintained with DiskWarrior, Disk Utility, iDefrag, etc. But, this has always been an easily fixable problem. All that needs to change in the operating system is separating these two commands with some other existing command from the File menu, or more elegantly, separating them with a dashed or hyphenated line. Whaddyasay?
Like
Version 10.8.3
4 answer(s)
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
04 June 2013
I never use the mouse to empty the trash with the Finder menu. I either right click on the trash, or use Command-Shift-Delete. That's my advice.
Like (1)
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
05 June 2013
I should point out that I also use a trackpad, and not a mouse. LIke TGBX says, I never have this problem, and you should have the empty trash warning on if you are doing it by mistake. Learn to use the keyboard more, and the trackpad less and you can over shoot a command. You can even move items to the trash that way.
Like (2)
GeogProf
GeogProf
05 June 2013
TGBX, you've completely misunderstood. That's OK, it's your pattern.
Like
LastOneUp
LastOneUp
05 June 2013
Geo man, what he misunderstood that you don't know how to use a mac? LOL
Like (1)
iMacintosh
04 April 2013
Apple's iMessage encryption trips up feds' surveillance http://news.cnet.com/8301-13578_3-57577887-38/apples-imessage-encryption-trips-up-feds-surveillance/
Like (3)
Version 10.8.3
Koukoish
18 March 2013
Fixed Safari flickering issues and also surprisingly seems to have a positive affect on battery usage. So far so good, at least for me!
Like (1)
Version 10.8.3
wintermute
18 March 2013
Seems to have introduced a nasty bug where my display configuration is automatically changed and a phantom VGA monitor is configured in addition to the two monitors actually hooked up to my system. Googling about, I found reports of a similar bug in previous incarnations of OS X. This is a show-stopper for me since adding that third phantom display degrades performance to an unusable state, especially in relation to video playback. It seems to be affecting my secondary ATI Radeon HD 2600 XT card. I am guessing it is a problem with the updated graphics card drivers in this OS release. I've zapped the PRAM, trashed windwoserver.plist files & cleaned cache files, and tried a clean install... the problem returns repeatedly. Very aggravating.
Like (1)
Version 10.8.3
Spudfry
18 March 2013
All good (so far) on my 2007 iMac, been using it for a few days now & seems to be running smoother than 10.8.2 - no crashes or kernel panics to date, Safari seems more stable and all the apps I use for work are behaving well - great! Was a little apprehensive after reading some of the comments, but all seems to be well here.
Like
Version 10.8.3
Libertyforall1776
17 March 2013
Still having THIS issue on 10.8.3: http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1412191
Like
Version 10.8.3
1 answer(s)
Libertyforall1776
Libertyforall1776
17 March 2013
THIS is the fix: sudo kill `ps -ax | grep 'coreaudiod' | grep 'sbin' |awk '{print $1}'`
Like
Foulger
16 March 2013
Why worry about shutdown time? Maybe its being thorough so that on restart potential problems are fixed . Looking on the positive, Messages for me finally logs in correctly at each startup, Safari appears to be snappier and things look to be working a little bit faster. I had hoped for more drivers so that my MacPro E2008 could run an HD6970 Graphics card but one cant expect a 100% every time. After 14 beta's its probable that Apple have fixed many little niggly bugs, aka undocumented features and overall I feel that this update has been worth the wait
Like
Version 10.8.3
Peter-Van-Den-Einde
15 March 2013
Finally fixes the slow shutdown time !!
Like (1)
Version 10.8.3
5 answer(s)
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
15 March 2013
Oh that's good. I started putting mine to sleep because of that.
Like
Ollie1972
Ollie1972
15 March 2013
The slow shut down time is still +20secs on my iMac. Still not fixed properly. :/
Like
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
15 March 2013
Mine takes longer than that. Been that way ever since they did the thing where it saves the state of the open documents.
Like (2)
banana-joe
banana-joe
16 March 2013
exactly David! with snow leopard the shutdown time on my macbook was < 10sec, now it takes like 30sec and more to shutdown......
Like
sjk
sjk
16 March 2013
Shutdown times vary on my ML systems (including 10.8.3) depending on what state they're in; it's probably 20-30 seconds average. My guess it was only temporarily faster on Peter's. Using verbose mode startup (by holding Command-V or having it enabled with NVRAM boot-args) will also display some stuff happening during shutdown that can make it take longer.
Like
Jimmy-D
15 March 2013
Does anyone know if it fixes the data loss and volume corruption issues that started with 10.80? A few comments today sound positive about 10.83: https://discussions.apple.com/thread/4218970 If so the next big question is can volumes be formatted under 10.6 and work fine in 10.8, or must everything be formatted with the 10.83 Disk Utility?
Like (1)
Version 10.8.3
4 answer(s)
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
15 March 2013
I haven't heard of that issue. Why do you need to format them under 10.6?
Like
Jimmy-D
Jimmy-D
15 March 2013
I'm still running 10.68 and have a lot of external drives formatted with that. I'd rather not transfer everything off and reformat under 10.83.
Like
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
15 March 2013
I don't think that's an issue. I have external drives I formatted with every earlier versions of Disk Utility, and I didn't have to reformat them.
Like
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
15 March 2013
Damn auto correct.. that should have read "even earlier"
Like
Eric•Woehler
15 March 2013
Has the update fixed the Graphics bug with HDMI output? It's a big issue for everyone using external screens with HDMI feed. Big issue, well documented in the Apple Fora (Forums)
Like
Version 10.8.3
2 answer(s)
SickTeddyBear
SickTeddyBear
15 March 2013
Which bug and which model machine? The flickering and blackouts via HDMI on 2012 minis were fixed by the firmware update which was issued several months ago: http://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/23297/mac-mini-efi-firmware-update The 10.8.3 update is supposed to address an issue with crushed whites via the same models, and it seems like it does that. Start reading here: http://forums.macrumors.com/showpost.php?p=16996450&postcount=62 If you're talking about other issues in regards to HDMI and the 2012 Airs, I'm not sure about that.
Like (1)
SickTeddyBear
SickTeddyBear
15 March 2013
Oops. The MacRumors link should be: http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?p=16996450#post16996450
Like
ApplesGuy
15 March 2013
mac os x10.8.3 fixed a whole bunch of bugs including now the ability to use my self built usb enclosure dvd burner that didn't get detected or worked in 10.8.2 that works fine now with 10.8.3. kudos to apple inc!
Like (1)
Version 10.8.3
umaromc
15 March 2013
As usual with Apple's OS updates, ~/Library is designated as hidden. Terminal.app chflags nohidden ~/Library
Like (2)
Version 10.8.3
1 answer(s)
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
15 March 2013
I just stick mine in the sidebar. I'm guessing they got tired of tech support calls when people broke things. You have to remember there is a big influx of former PC users on Macs now. ;)
Like
dmu
15 March 2013
10.8.3 has turned my computer to half speed and gives me spinning beachballs for everything I do. I repaired permissions and the Library itself had to be fixed. That helped, but it is still noticeably slower than 10.8.2.
Like
Version 10.8.3
4 answer(s)
Libertyforall1776
Libertyforall1776
15 March 2013
Which computer model/year would that be?
Like
dmu
dmu
15 March 2013
Late 2010 MBP
Like (1)
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
15 March 2013
This is the issue I was having with 10.8.2. Clearing caches fixes it. In fact I had to do it just minutes before I saw the update. I haven't had it happen yet with 10.8.3. Keeping my fingers crossed.
Like (1)
dmu
dmu
15 March 2013
yes, that did the trick! i did onyx automation with all the settings turned on and things were much better after restart. thanks vinnyg & davidravenmoon.
Like
iMacintosh
15 March 2013
I don't know why there is nothing about WIFI problems.
Like
Version 10.8.3
1 answer(s)
iMacintosh
iMacintosh
15 March 2013
http://osxdaily.com/2012/08/02/fix-os-x-mountain-lion-wireless-connection-problems/
Like
Libertyforall1776
15 March 2013
So far so good, but time will tell if the bugs on 10.8.2 are squashed! My biggest request still missing -- NO AirPlay button in QuickTime Player -- seems like a quick win! Come on Apple!
Like (1)
Version 10.8.3
RavenNevermore
15 March 2013
Does anyone know if this fixes the super slow Time Machine issue people are having?
Like (1)
Version 10.8.3
5 answer(s)
Donmontalvo
Donmontalvo
15 March 2013
Now that it's been released I guess it's safe to say a fly on the wall whispered that the last three seeds (out of what, 100+? LOL) didn't have the Time Machine slowdown issue. Whew!
Like (2)
J-w-
J-w-
15 March 2013
If it's the same problem I had, I was able to fix it in 10.8.2 with a safe boot. That is, after getting safe boot to work, with the fix from this thread: https://discussions.apple.com/thread/3750015?start=120&tstart=0
Like (1)
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
15 March 2013
I wish that fixed. I tried safe booting, and a lot of other things including a fresh install of 10.8.2. I have to safe boot to empty caches when ML starts acting up. I had to do it today. I was on the phone with an Apple engineer who had me try a bunch of things, and my backup was going to take over a month. He had me collect data and send it to Apple. For me it all started sometime after the 10.8.1 update, and my hourly backup went for three days without completing. There's another very long thread on the Apple forums discussing it, and for most people nothing fixed it.
Like (1)
DocOnMac
DocOnMac
15 March 2013
What slow Time Machine problem? I have never had any problems in that area with my iMacs or MacBook Pro. I use a LaCie d2 Firewire drive, for my 27" iMac, portable Toshiba USB 2 for the 21.5" iMac, and WD Firewire desktop drive for the MB Pro, Have you tried a Clean Install on your Mac and/or reformatted your Time Machine external drive, trashed the Time Machine Preferences and re selected the disk? 10.8.2 on 27 "mid 2011 iMacs 10.6.8 on 21.5" mid 2011 iMac and 10.8.2 on the 13" mid 2011 MB Pro
Like
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
15 March 2013
Doconmac, a bunch of people, including myself, suddenly had Time Machine grind to a halt. My hourly backups stopped working one day, and after I left it for three days to finish, I decided to see if anyone else is having the problem. Head over to the Apple support forums, and you will see a bunch of threads on it. Apple had been reading the threads, and decided to start calling people. They contacted me and I spent about an hour on the phone with the engineer while we tried out a bunch of things. He had me delete my previous backup and start a new one. It said it was going to take over 30 days. We could not fix it. He had me download and run some diagnostic tools to collect data. He said something was obviously wrong, and this was being reported lately so they were working on a fix. Here's the thread I was posting in: https://discussions.apple.com/thread/4145494?start=0&tstart=0 But there are many more. I went so far as to do a clean install of ML to see if that helped.
Like
Ikir
14 March 2013
I'm already doing some fast test on 10.8.3 and it is quite faster in 3D vs 10.8.2, specially Cinebench saw a big leap. I'm also testing Unigine Heaven and valley, both see a good improvements in speed compared to 10.8.2 which was already the fastest OS X ever in 3D gfx. I will soon post a graph like this old one: http://ikir.ikirsector.it/newsitem.php?id=38
Like (3)
Version 10.8.3
3 answer(s)
Themik
Themik
14 March 2013
Great! Did you get a chance to test on NVidia graphics? I see you are using the 2011 iMac with Radeon HD 6970M.
Like (2)
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
15 March 2013
I hope so. I stopped using Time Machine and had to switch to Carbon Copy Cloner, but I hadn't heard any word that they were working on a fix, although I did get a call from Apple which had me run some diagnostic routines.
Like (1)
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
15 March 2013
My reply here was for the posts above... sorry about that!
Like
Fvdg
14 March 2013
10.8.3... and STILL the blurry icons problem!!
Like (2)
Version 10.8.3
Palmharbor
14 March 2013
Apple is still consumed with sending pictures etc between iphone, ipad, imac...this is for the teens but what about improving BASIC functions like apple mail...on line, off line at will...copy/paste not updated since OS 7 in the 1990's etc. I will pass on this update I have no interest in the esoteric issues of such high concern to apple geeks in Cupertino, CA
Like (5)
Version 10.8.3
Edgarcabrera
14 March 2013
On my side, I didn't have problems with 10.8.2 and this update to 10.8.3 has been smooth and Safari feels faster. So far, no problems and the system seems a lil more responsive. I updated via App Store.
Like (2)
Version 10.8.3
Jeff55434
11 March 2013
When Apple comes out with a new operating system, I usually wait a few revisions before I install it to make sure Apple has worked out most of the kinks. I've been running with Lion for about a year now and have been generally satisfied, learning to live with the perplexing decisions Apple made with the interface. Yesterday, I decided to give Mountain Lion a try. I have been satisfied in the past with the few amount of problems I have encountered migrating to a newer version of OS X. This time was different. I have never encountered a more problematic update experience. Problems with Mail, general slow performance and high resource usage, constant spinning beach balls, all of my addresses disappearing from my Address Book (or Contacts, as it's called in Mountain Lion). The really surprising part of it all is I tried to do many internet searches to find answers to all the issues and even though OS X 10.8.2 has been out there for a good six months, I could find little to no information. I appears that Apple just doesn't care and the user community doesn't seem to much care either. Today, I downgraded my system back to Lion by restoring it from backups. I do not intend to upgrade to Mountain Lion again in the near future, if ever. I seems that Apple has completely dropped the ball on this one as it's a complete disaster. I would strongly advise anyone considering upgrading to Mountain Lion to instead avoid it at any cost. If your system aint broke, for Gods sake don't try to fix it. If this is the kind of shoddy product Apple is putting out now, I'm afraid their best days are behind them and it won't be too many more years before Windows is the only game in town.
Like
Version 10.8.2
2 answer(s)
Jonsi
Jonsi
14 March 2013
You should check your system. I haven't seen any of those problems you describe on my mid 2010 MacBook Pro. 10.8.2 rock solid from day one and I still got all my contacts...
Like (2)
DocOnMac
DocOnMac
15 March 2013
I don't like the iOS mess of Mountain Lion, but it is very stable. I don't think it is as fast as Snow Leopard as it is dragged down with all the iOS crap that it loads and runs in the background. Just look at the launch Agents and Daemons! The best way to fix most problems is to do a CLEAN Install. Not a re-install which I rarely find fixes anything. Yes it takes time and you need a reliable backup. An erase, install and restore from Time Machine is NOT a Clean install. All files have to be restored manually in a Clean Install, and Applications reinstalled, not just copied. This is the only way that I have found to cure persisting problems. Any other method simply re- copies the problems, as many of them are hidden files.
Like