Back to Gemini page
Gemini free download for Mac

Gemini Reviews

2.6.1
16 March 2020

Locate and eliminate duplicate and similar files.

Y-Guy
25 February 2012

Most helpful

No demo, no dice.
Like (10)
Version 1.0.2

Read 40 Gemini User Reviews

Rate this app:

bohdanz-1
04 January 2020
Constant application hangups - and non-existent customer service=bad product. I paid for this application and find that customer service doesn't have time to help with the issues. Instead I receive 'We're swamped' messages that are nonsense. Moving to PhotoSweeper instead.
Like
Version 2.5.7
ShotBlocker
18 November 2019
This 1-star review and rating refer ONLY TO THE PRICING POLICY, which is (perhaps deliberately?) confusing. As with so many apps these days, there are multiple pricing options depending on where you acquire the product (e.g., Mac App Store, or download) and whether you make any of those deceptive, poorly documented "in-app" purchases. If you get Gemini II from the Mac App Store, IT'S YEARLY SUBSCRIPTION ONLY. You discover (in the fine print, from the app itself, and only after you open it) that the terms are "3-day free trial, then $19.99/year." There, I just made it explicit, something neither the vendor nor the Mac App Store bother to do. Had MacPaw (the vendor) simply done that in the first place, I'd have given it 5 stars for pricing clarity. But no. Like all pricing on the App Store, what you will eventually pay to get full functionally isn't immediately obvious. You have to scroll down to the inevitable "In-App Purchases" to find the cost, and even then it's ambiguous. It's becoming more and more obvious that much "free" Mac App Store software is barely functional, something you don't find out until AFTER you download it. And then you're almost obligated to make the "in-app" purchase, at which point you finally find out how much it really costs. I have no idea what the $19.95 price listed here on MacUpdate means. Is it a license for a downloaded version? And if so, how long is it good for? Who knows? For more and more software listed on this site, the price listed is ALMOST MEANINGLESS. Not until you download and run it to find out the real price. Shame on MacUpdate. I can't comment on the efficacy of this software. $19.99 PER YEAR is way to high for a duplicate finder, no matter how good it is, so there's no sense in even bothering to try it out. It it's 5-stars at finding duplicates, wonderful, I hope the next reviewer will point that out. -SB
Like (1)
Version 2.5.7
PaulWilkinson9977
18 July 2019
Nice idea, but a very slow piece of software! Takes ages for it to open also! Expected better from MacPaw.
Like
Version 2.5.6
gse
20 January 2019
The learning effect is very poor. One has to go trough ALL the files every time to select and special selections, for example files with exif-data, are not to select. In practice: the AI-claim is not found by me!
Like (1)
Version 2.5.4
panshy77
31 December 2018
A few duplicates is fine to comb through manually but when it finds TONS(9G's worth or more, which is great to find and isolate) BUT i have to go through EVERY SINGLE ONE TO BE SURE(some have 5-7 dups if different locations serving different things i.e songs in different playlists with actual dups in Library not belonging to any playlist(and thats just songs), which is where AND STILL DELETE FILES I'D RATHER KEEP, kinds of defeats the purpose. I might as well have used Finder and dont the same tedious work...FOR FREE. Not impressed. More drill down filtering options is needed...the SMART delete part is NOT so smart if i have to go through each and every single line item!!!
Like (1)
Version 2.5.4
LuukLuuk
04 April 2017
I've been using Gemini for a two years. My current version is 1.5.15, because I didn't bother upgrading a year ago; the version 2 of the program didn't seem so different. I just ran the program on a certain folder which only give 1 duplicate. Because of that, I closely inspected the result and I noticed that the two TIFF files were absolutely different! The filesize is exact to the amount of bytes (probably because it are two similar microscope photos of a small object and a lot of black in the photo), but checking the MD5 hash gave a different result. Also visually it is clear that they are different, at least because one of the photos is annotated in the Microscope software. This false positive is enough for me to give the program a bad rating and delete it all together. Who knows how many data I have lost due to this sloppyness?
Like (5)
Version 2.3.6
jerry-turi
04 February 2017
This is useful. I'm using the trial right now, but will be buying for sure. It works well, I also like the UI a lot!
Like
Version 2.3.0
mjd5000
03 November 2016
MacPaw make great software, and this is a very useful dupe file cleaner. The UI of all of their apps are just gorgeous. Their design team is outstanding, and Gemini, and their other apps have been smooth operationally too.
Like
Version 2.2.2
Stassi
04 June 2016
I haven't tried this on music or regular files yet (I do have tons of dupes there, too), but I've been using it to clean out duplicate photos which are in random folders within an overall folder in which I have all my photos. Due to my "backup neurosis", I have multiple files in multiple locations, some of which have altered names, some of which had corrupted creation dates (repaired with A Better Finder Attributes, once I saw them in my Gemini 2 review panel). The photo folder is a mess! Because running Gemini on the entire folder leaves me with a mile long list, I've been comparing some of my biggest sets of likely duplicates by individual folder. This makes the selection and review process more manageable. I LOVE that I can choose whether to find "similar" files, or exact duplicates (pixel by pixel comparisons), that it usually makes the right selections as to what to delete, that I can choose entire folders and subfolders and tell the app (with the latest update) to deselect or select the duplicates in those specific folders as a batch, that I can choose to save the deleted files to a folder, instead of the Trash for my ultimate review, and that I can automatically create Hard Links to files I'd like to find under multiple directories, without actually having to have the duplicates in there. Also, I had to call Customer Service for a question. They're in the Ukraine - so it was 4am there. They answered the phone quickly, their English was impeccable, and the gentleman with whom I spoke was friendly, pleasant, respectful of my intelligence and helpful. So far, I'm loving this upgrade! The ONLY two feature requests I'm making thus far are: 1) I'd like to see the ability to create symlinks instead of only hard links (as I use multiple volumes and move my files among computers), and 2) that I can still have it recognize files that somehow have different sizes (off by kilobytes for some reason), without having to have it find all "similar" files. Once those are in, my 4.5 becomes a 5!
Like (2)
Version 2.0.8
Henrik-Simonsen
16 May 2016
Gemini 2 is NOT laser precise! I did try the trial version first but didn't dig enough in to it, and bought a license for 2 computers on the MacPaw homepage, this 2 computer license is not an option at Macupdate?? I've digged into it a little more now and already found an unprecise result. 5 audio files was said to be the same but they are not, they don't even have the exact same name! I really don't understand how this can happen. I think this app is useless if you can't rely 100% on it. I would have liked to attach a screenshot of the result but can't find the option here.
Like (8)
Version 2.0.5
2 answer(s)
edgycat
edgycat
17 May 2016
Part of what it is supposed to do is find files that have different names, but might be the same file.
Like
Henrik-Simonsen
Henrik-Simonsen
17 May 2016
yes ok, but these audio files don't have the same name and the don't sound the same. One is called:
GAP TRACKS-1,2,3,4.waw, another is called:
GAP TRACKS-4xtrioler.waw
Like
perduemonocle
15 May 2016
Well. 1.x.x version was just removed from the App Store. And this new 2.x.x version (discounted, yes, but still not a free update) appeared. Isn't it against the App Store rules?
Like
Version 2.0.5
Jimw
14 May 2016
Money Saving Tip: If you go directly to the MacPaw website and are a member of ebates, it knocks off an additional 22% off the discount price as a rebate making the final cost a little over $5.
Like (3)
Version 2.0.5
Fillip
12 May 2016
This review comes from a Mac mini late 2012 OS 10.10.5 with a 1,000 GB SSD hard drive user.

Got this as an upgrade from v1. This App rocks. Quickly scanned and returned 14GB of dupe's. What really impressed me was the way the Auto Select selected the ones I definitely wanted to delete.

Another cool thing about this App is it "remembers" everything when you close the App. So I deleted the dupes in the Audio category. Closed the App, came back the next day, launched the App and everything was there with all the dupes from the OTHER Categories. Pretty cool.

Support is great. They'll come back with a solution. And they are very receptive to suggestions. I'd personally get this now before the price goes up. Or you'll have to wait for Cyber Monday. Even at it's full price it's a time saver and good investment.
Like (1)
Version 2.0
Derekcurrie
10 May 2016
New version 2. Upgrade price: $9.97. That's a whole 2¢ cheaper than buying it new! (0_o)
Like (2)
Version 2.0
Jess-MacUpdate
10 May 2016
I know, you’re thinking, “Another duplicate finder? ” MacPaw has delivered a completely new version of Gemini, and as one of the original duplicate finders, it deserves your attention….

First impression was that it has a nice interface, clean, minimalist. Though it has audio cues and animation, they’re not distracting, and they get out of your way very quickly. One of the nicest features is the app’s ability to scale its interface to the current process. You don’t start with a giant window, nor are you dumped into a tiny viewport when your duplicates are displayed. A lot of thought was put into the user interface, and I think you’ll like it.

Scanning was extremely fast: twelve seconds for a directory of images which totaled about 860 MB. Gemini found just under 260 MB of duplicates and similar images. And yes, Gemini has an option, found in its preferences, which allows you to have it search for similar images, not only for duplicates. And it works brilliantly.

The workflow is solid and logical, with a drag-and-drop or click-to-add interface; selection of duplicates and similar images using the pointer (mouse or trackpad) or keyboard (perfect for large numbers of files); display of file path, modification date, or size-on-disk for selection of similar images for removal; a review of moved or removed files, allowing you to put them back one-by-one or all-at-once; and an operations breadcrumb which allows you to step back to previous stages of scanning at any time.

Even if you use another duplicate finder, I think you’ll want to give Gemini a try at least. With options in its preferences which allow you to tailor the scanning process, and the ability to receive gentle reminders to clean up your… stuff, Gemini 2 is a highly versatile and extremely functional duplicate manager, which still manages to be very attractive. And how can you possibly ignore anything that’s both smart *and* sexy?
Like (3)
Version 2.0
4 answer(s)
Zx81
Zx81
10 May 2016
How dare MU call this a "review"?
Like (5)
Odysseus
Odysseus
10 May 2016
Is this sponsored review? It's really important when evaluating software to provide a comparison with similar products. How does Gemini 2 compare to Duplicate Detective, for example, or to Duplicate File Cleaner, currently marked down on the MAS from $29.99 to $0.99?
Like (2)
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
20 December 2016
Odysseus, that’s a rather silly opinion.
Reviews can stand on their own. I think the vast majority of reviews here only rate a particular app, without comparing it to others.

If the reviewer has used similar software and is able to provide a comparison, great. But if not, they are still free to leave their opinion based on experience using the app.

I haven’t used any duplicate-finder yet, but if I had I may want to leave a review, either to let others know that I had difficulty using the app and didn’t like it, or that I found it useful and did like it.

As for reviews from MU employees, you can find them on several apps and I agree they may look suspect. However, they’re just giving their opinion like anyone else (they should probably use a non-MU account for that).
Like (1)
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
20 December 2016
Oops - just found a review I’d left for DupHunter, so obviously I have used a dupe-finder before. Don’t remember doing so, but then I try a lot of software.

And I think my review, based on that one app only, will be helpful to others by informing them of the trouble I had using it.
Like (1)
marleybobby
27 April 2016
Not bad. I would spend 10 bucks on it. Already tested several duplicate scanners and this seems to be the cheapest one. Easy to use. Many customization options. Easy way to maintain your machine and free up the space on my SSD.
Like (3)
Version 1.5.17
greenwayrod
13 April 2016
This is probably one of the most popular apps for removing duplicates. The trial version, is sufficient enough to get rid of the duplicate files on the hard drive. Unfortunately nothing good in this cruel world is for free but it is definitely worth to spend 10$ on it.
Like (5)
Version 1.5.15
jostyee
10 December 2015
Still doens't support Apple Photos, disappointed.
Like
Version 1.5.13
1 answer(s)
MacPaw-Team
MacPaw-Team
11 May 2016
Gemini 2 does :)
Like
Alenz
25 November 2015
Powerful, easy to use, cost ⅓ of competitive products with quite exactly the same functionality. One suggestion for a future release: add the choice to replace a duplicate file with an alias rather than then deleting it. This would make this application THE choice
Like
Version 1.5.13
1 answer(s)
Odysseus
Odysseus
21 April 2016
Wonderful idea!
Like
Dawise
11 October 2015
Works fine.
Like
Version 1.5.12
TCalhau
21 October 2014
Great Application! My default tool to scan in search of duplicate files on my Mac and on my external HD.
Like
Version 1.5.6
Warren-Holmes
19 September 2014
Great app, the only issue is that i want clean my iPhoto library.
Like (1)
Version 1.5.4
Mondele
06 August 2014
For what this does, it does it very well. I have been migrating files to a larger data tank, and the ability to delete duplicates on a particular volume has been a huge time saver for me. I have several other duplicate finding programs, and they all have their uses, but Gemini is good looking, works well, and does what I need most of the time.
Like (1)
Version 1.5.4
Mikilc
20 July 2014
Developer not responding to query about problems.
Like
Version 1.5.4
Deoblo
26 November 2013
Love the program, worked well for me. I would like a link to my android phone that has lots of duplicates. Please advise.
Like
Version 1.5.4
1 answer(s)
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
30 December 2013
http://osxdaily.com/2013/05/26/mount-android-as-disk-drive/
Like (1)
Frankof
25 November 2013
This is a nice program that can hardly be criticized for the work it does - but there is something missing which would make the program SO much more useful: replacing files with aliases, rather then deleting them. I don't know about other people's workflow, but on my computer duplicate files are in certain folders for a reason. I don't want to simply delete them from there, because, for example, they belong to the project in that folder. But copies of the same files also belong to other projects in other folders. So, technically speaking, those are "duplicate" files. In principle I'd need only one copy of the file, but it makes no sense for me to delete the other copies either. It should be very simple to implement a feature to replace all duplicates with aliases. Then I can select one "master copy", and the files in the project folders would only be links/aliases to that master.
Like (3)
Version 1.5.4
3 answer(s)
aknewhope
aknewhope
13 December 2013
This problem should could be solved if Apple introduced a new file system such as ZFS instead of HFS. ZFS supports deduplication by default which means it's transparent to the user which is so awesome.
Like (1)
Mextex
Mextex
01 February 2014
I absolutely agree with Frankof: replacng with aliases (or even better: symlinks) is really missing. And I don't get it why, it's so obvious! It's like copy without past or ying without yang
Like
LuukLuuk
LuukLuuk
20 February 2014
TidyUp has the functionality of replacing with symlink or alias and has an active promo at the moment.
Like (1)
Runty
28 October 2013
I tried it. Looks ok for my first try. Cool interface. I wish the devs would remove those corny jokey things that appear during scanning. Humor is such a subjective thing. The dev imposing their own sense of humor can be irritating or at least unwanted. It's just corny.
Like (4)
Version 1.5.1
Thinking-Differently
18 September 2013
Does this only delete files, or will it replace duplicates with hard links? There are times, I'd rather do the latter.
Like (1)
Version 1.5.1
Mark3785
28 June 2013
I have no problem paying for an app that works, but this app doesn't give you much of an option, It selects the files and rather than a delete button there an activate (buy) button. I've been paying shareware fees for over 30 years and this type of nonsense is insulting.
Like (1)
Version 1.5
6 answer(s)
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
19 August 2013
I don't understand. You mean to tell us you paid $9.99 and was asked again to pay? If you think that Gemini would work fine and you try out the app in demo mode, then what's the bother if it doesn't work full on during the demo period? You should evaluate the app itself and how it works rather than your dissatisfaction with the licensing/demo. Which is very suitable for comments instead. If you can't evaluate it, then don't. You're doing the readers of Macupdate a disservice writing uninformed "reviews".
Like (5)
Evatar
Evatar
06 February 2014
I don't consider this an "uninformed review" at all. It's pretty straightforward: He can't properly evaluate the software because they've hobbled the demo. You know what's nonsense? Bagging on users who "can't evaluate" software when the dev makes it impossible to properly evaluate it. THAT'S nonsense.
Like (2)
Mark3785
Mark3785
06 February 2014
I pay for software I use. If it’s a demo then it should be a timed demo so I can evaluate the full functionality. I really have no qualms about spending money on software that will make my life easier. After the brief and disappointing ’test’ of this software, I couldn’t tell if it looked at file names or file contents. The developer’s demo decision also provided me with clues as to how much the developer valued users. A lot of the software I use is shareware, all paid for, and I even donate to freeware developers. A demo like this is so insulting that it gets deleted immediately. Apple's App stores are killing the idea of shareware and causing the creation of one-trick-pony apps. You either pay a cheap price for software you can't fully evaluate, go to a site like MU and get a functional copy or timed demo to evaluate. A crippled demo isn't worth evaluating, especially if only does one thing.
Like (1)
Evatar
Evatar
06 February 2014
I agree with you 100%, Mark3785. My reply was to Mikael B, who I think is being unnecessarily aggressive and out of line. I just wasted an hour on the Gemini Duplicate Finder only to discover there's a brick wall at the end of the scan and I'd have to pony up money to "evaluate it further." WTH? This after watching it DEVOUR 8 GB of RAM during the scan until my computer was almost locked up. Due to that restriction there's no way I could make a judgment to whether the program was competent or not. I have no idea what the developers are thinking but this went right in the trash. In the end I had much better luck with the Araxis Find Duplicate Files program (which I bought) and even the fairware, DupeGuru. Basically, this crippled Gemini demo cost them the sale.
Like (3)
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
06 February 2014
@Mark3785, don't try and evaluate apps — as in grade them — when you can't run them in full mode. Comment away all you want, but if you grade it you better have either run it properly in full mode for a time or you had good reasons to expect to run on your platform. You grading the full app now because the demo doesn't work the way you want it is tantamount to someone giving a half star because an app for OS X 10.6 and later doesn't run on OS X 10.5. It's a whine piece, not an enlightening and honest review. While developers decide how a demo should work that is not what you grade in an app. You grade its functions and performance. Also it's not MAS tactics we grade but the app themselves.
Like
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
06 February 2014
@Evatar, you last comment does illustrate, perhaps inadvertently, what I think is the proper way to address the situation that you're discontent with a demo, a lack of demo, or whatever it is that's preventing a proper review: You comment what you have a problem with, clearly describe how you arrived at your conclusion (the background), give some alternatives you've found and finally you don't skew the grading by giving a grade on something you haven't properly evaluated. That's informative, helpful and fair to everyone. That's all I can hope for from the members at Macupdate.
Like
Prince-Isaac
22 June 2013
It's a rainy day so I decided to go through my Pictures folder and organize things a bit. I realized that I had uploaded a lot of duplicates from my camera so I went to ACDsee's Duplicates Finder. I selected my Pictures folder and it didn't respond after about 20 seconds. Had to force quit several times. Gave up. Came to MU and searched for "duplicate finder" and found Gemini. I went to the MAS and bought it* and gave it a whirl after reading reviews here. After my frustration with ACDsee, this app just worked. One trick pony, yes, but it did for me what I was looking for, and did it fast. It searches through the folder you designate and brings up a window showing each instance of each duplicate (with a preview), giving you the chance to review and select which one(s) to delete. This is important in my case as they were in different folders and have different filenames. *I really wish that those who don't like dealing with the MAS address their concerns with developers and not vent your frustrations here on MacUpdate or give poor ratings based on that criterion.
Like (1)
Version 1.4
smtips
29 December 2012
Two minuses: Must purchase from Mac App Store, and no Snow Leopard version. Stupid Macpaw.
Like (5)
Version 1.4
1 answer(s)
Memphisbird
Memphisbird
05 June 2013
They must have taken your comment to heart (or similar comments), because you can now buy this app directly from their website. I got an email with a $3.00 discount to buy from the App Store, but I would rather pay the full $9.99 and buy directly from the developer. I just want to say for about the 150th time that I do not like the Mac App Store.
Like (3)
Xenophile
07 September 2012
Ten bucks for this one trick pony? LOL.
Like (5)
Version 1.3
2 answer(s)
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
19 August 2013
If you have tens of thousands of media files, like photographers and musicians can get after a year of working (and being rather sloppy) then it's a very nice one of a trick. Some of us create and know this feeling and think 10 bucks is so worth it.
Like (1)
Xenophile
Xenophile
29 December 2013
Well don't I feel like an arsehole. If I could delete my comment I would.
Like (1)
SchmittM
06 September 2012
Here is the fine part: it beautiful. I'm not sure is it worth to spend so much time in visual details for such program. But this is vision of the company that made it. At the end it founds some copies. It works as it describes. But It just near 100MB on my drive. So, does it worth it ?
Like
Version 1.3
Stickman67
18 August 2012
MacUpdate Desktop tells me that Gemini 1.2 was released on 8 August. It's now 19 August and no sign of an update on App Store. I found this was a problem with CCleaner as well, but at least I could fix that by downloading from the developer's site. Is anyone else having this problem, or is App Store insane on my computer?
Like
Version 1.2
7 answer(s)
Kentr
Kentr
20 August 2012
I have accepted that if I purchase from the App Store I will have to wait weeks for an update. I wrote a publisher once about this topic and they said that's how it works. If you buy through the actual developer site you get updates right away. I don't really like the App Store that much.
Like (5)
Zoidbert
Zoidbert
21 August 2012
Same here; you'd think updates might go through quicker but nope.
Like (2)
Droopysignal
Droopysignal
29 August 2012
I also contacted the developer and got the same response about purchasing through the App Store.
Like
Macpaw
Macpaw
30 August 2012
We had to delay the update for 2 months because of the AppStore. But this is madness, we decided to release updates separately from the AppStore.
Like (5)
Droopysignal
Droopysignal
30 August 2012
Guess this means we'll have to wait out since the App Store purchase means your out of luck on registering updates from the developer.
Like
Stickman67
Stickman67
04 September 2012
I contacted the developer to check out Apple's official story – that delays in releasing updates were down to the developer providing updates in the first place. Turns out (as expected) that there might be more than one side to that story. MacPaw says they've submitted the update(s) and are waiting, waiting ... But when I contacted MacPaw they resolved the issue for me quite neatly. If you're having trouble with App Store, let them know. Top marks for speed and helpfulness! Very impressed!
Like (2)
Droopysignal
Droopysignal
05 September 2012
Also contact the developer and the response was fast and friendly. The publisher resolved not being able to update through the App Store and not being able to license the version from their site. I forwarded my App Store receipt to them and I'm more than satisfied with the update and customer service!
Like
Y-Guy
07 August 2012
Kudos goes out to the developer for releasing a trail version. I don't know if you decided to because of comments here or not, but thank you for providing a working version to demo. The interface is unique the blue progress wheel makes it pretty obvious how much is left to scan, though hard to say its accurate. The first 90% of the scan whizzed by but the last 5% just seemed to hang. Finally gave up and hit stop to review what was found. Found a large number of duplicate files, some were really dups some were not, pretty easy to select and compare. I may have missed it but noticed that it doesn't show the file size when comparing. I'd want a detail file size to see if they were exact or a possible minor change. The evaluation version doesn't allow you to actually delete any files, so while I could look them up I couldn't do anything. Allowing 5 files per run would have let me fully test it, but without giving it away. One final thought. The name comes up as MacPaw Gemini, I'd suggest keeping it as Gemini Duplicate Finder, as for a program like this that I won't use often I will totally forget about what it does with its current name.
Like
Version 1.2
1 answer(s)
Cottser
Cottser
26 November 2012
I just purchased 1.3.1 from the MAS (on sale, otherwise I would have bought direct) after downloading the trial. The app does show file size, must have been an update. The application name of the demo (and presumably the non-MAS version) is "MacPaw Gemini", but after purchasing from the App Store it's simply "Gemini".
Like
RebeccaOnWheels
20 June 2012
I bought this from the App Store (didn't yet know about MacUpdate) when I first got a MacBook Pro in February 2012. Transferring old files from 20 years on Windows with ga-zillion duplicates. This is a pretty program, easy to use, relatively quick to scan. My complaints are that it is tedious to click the box for every duplicate file. I would like to group mark and then deselect the one file I prefer to keep. When I tried that feature it told me the files were too sensitive - and I would like to do that one grouping at a time. The other BIG issue is that I can scan the same folder multiple times and it will continue to pop up duplicates. I don't understand why all of the duplicates in that single folder don't come up on the first scan.
Like (1)
Version 1.1
Ccarter
12 April 2012
It's sad that people are rating this without even trying it. I have bought it and it does what it says it does. It's good, it's easy and it's not expensive.
Like (3)
Version 1.1
Blamanche
03 March 2012
I have no use for the crApp Store...No thanks. Since it is not available on MU; it therefore lacks a key feature, is not usable and is valueless....
Like (1)
Version 1.0.2
6 answer(s)
Briand
Briand
25 May 2012
Wait. Let me see if I have this straight. You have some reason to dislike the Mac App Store such that you "have no use for it." Further, you state that this software "lacks a key feature" but you do not identify the feature. And even further, you claim this software is "not usable and is valueless" but you do no describe your reasons for making such statements. You expect MacUpdate users, and everyone else who reads your comments, to take you seriously? Your "review" of this software sounds more like a critique of the Mac App Store than Gemini, but even that lacks any sort of real information and comes off as being mostly bluster.
Like (7)
Blamanche
Blamanche
27 May 2012
@briand - NO, you Do Not have it straight. The point is that if we allow Apple to take away our choice to purchase software outside of the CrApp store then you are going to end up with only the choices that Apple allows you to have. You may not care and that is your choice. As much as I do like Apple products and the design thereof, as far as I'm concerned I want to decide how and what I am going to do with the product after I pay my money for it. The key feature I said that is lacks is that I can not purchase it directly. If we do not put pressure on the developers to keep that line open it will die. Equally the developers are loosing in the CrApp store since software prices are plumeting. That might sound good but what talented developer is going to invest his time and education in something that sells for a dollar. Not to mention the hair splitting that Apple puts the developers through to get applications "approved". Ultimately the CrApp store will also kill MacUpdate. There are several reviewers here that I watch to help me decide what I am going to buy. It is a huge help. I don't want to see that go away because devs don't want to make the effort to make purchasing directly an option. So no You do not have it straight.
Like (2)
Mikebenda
Mikebenda
29 May 2012
You've given this application (which you haven't used) 1/2 star because you don't like the App Store. Looking through your posts, you've given 1/2 star for every one of your reviews and complain more than once that you don't like the App Store. That's unfair to the developer and to those of us looking for reviews before purchasing. This is not a forum for your opinions on the App Store and a developer's to utilize it for distribution.
Like (6)
Blamanche
Blamanche
30 May 2012
@mikebenda - I disagree and yeah it seems to be since others have made pretty much the same point.
Like (1)
Ntd
Ntd
07 August 2012
Blamanche, please don't star rate an app if you are not doing a sincere review, as it skews things for someone like me who needs all the honest guidance in purchasing an app I can get. Your issue with the App Store is yours, and may or may not be valid, but the workings of the app is what the review is about. Thanks.
Like (1)
Y-Guy
Y-Guy
07 August 2012
I'm one that took the time to make sure I didn't use the rating system since I couldn't evaluate it without buying it. But to give it 1/2 star without using is unfair to the developer and to MU as well. If you have a comment then take the 1/2 second to use it and not a review.
Like (2)
Y-Guy
25 February 2012
No demo, no dice.
Like (10)
Version 1.0.2
2 answer(s)
f-rol-orange-fr1926
f-rol-orange-fr1926
09 May 2012
Hi, No try, forget it ! Not honest for me. Regards, F Rol (France)
Like (1)
Y-Guy
Y-Guy
07 August 2012
Replying to my own comment since the developer has now released a demo. Not sure why but hopefully AppStore developers are realizing they need to provide a demo with or without the AppStore.
Like (3)
Normtkd
20 February 2012
This is now $9.99 (£6.99) in the app store.
Like
Version 1.0.1