Back to HyperSwitch page
HyperSwitch free download for Mac

HyperSwitch Reviews

0.2.589-dev
17 June 2019

Keyboard-focused window switcher (beta).

Arie15
08 November 2012

Most helpful

Great find! CMD+Tab often left apps like finder out. Now with hyper switch installed it works properly. FEATURE REQUEST: please provide an option to leave certain apps out of view. I don't want to cycle through Spamsieve, for instance.
Like (2)
Version 0.2.107-dev

Read 25 HyperSwitch User Reviews

Rate this app:

PaulWilkinson9977
18 December 2018
I am using Version 0.2.585-dev: however I am not receiving trial expiry issues! Please fix.
Like
Version 0.2.585-dev
Noraa
03 September 2018
This shows a lot of potential, and for a beta version is impressively stable. My biggest suggestion would be having the ability to see tabs as windows. As it currently stands, Hyperswitch will show you the current active tab in a window, but not the other ones. Witch will display tabs as windows, but the interface isn't nearly as slick as Hyperswitch - and it costs $14.
Like
Version 0.2.585-dev
gibfahn
12 June 2018
Adds a lot to the default Cmd-Tab experience.
Like
Version 0.2.584-dev
KenFu
13 January 2018
Why is this feature not build into mac yet, its super convenient . However, the thumbnail still does not refresh instantly when menu is activated. I have to wait 3 seconds for it to refresh. This bug? still persist since the version for Mavericks.
Like
Version 0.2.584-dev
FreeWizard
06 January 2018
Easy to use; stable like rock.
Like
Version 0.2.584-dev
JamesHarrisPhoto
01 September 2017
It's confusing that it says it's free, but the latest bug fix says it fixes the trial expiry? So, if it's free, why does it expire?
Like
Version 0.2.577-dev
SawtoothRising
21 July 2016
I really love this, I'd love it more if options would work. One thing I'd love to do, I'm not sure if its possible but cmd tab would change just the app then a different key would start changing windows for the app that is currently selected. Please just update the application, there's nothing else quite like it.
Like
Version 0.2.565-dev
TheBloke
28 November 2015
Wow! This is superb, and nearly perfect already. I've been using Witch for years, which I always thought was really good, but this is immediately better in several ways. Lately Witch has suffered from an annoying issue with OSX's new(ish) "Desktop as Spaces" feature, whereby the Witch UI disappears really slowly when you switch to a window that's on another monitor (and therefore on another space). I contacted Witch about this and they told me it was an inevitable workaround to a system issue that 'might' be fixed in Witch 4. Well, HyperSwitch fixes that immediately! Not only that, HyperSwitch is showing me windows that I have been missing from Witch for years! I always found it annoying that I couldn't see certain types of windows in Witch switch, usually preference panes. They also don't show on uBar, a Dock replacement I use, so I figured maybe it was just a system limitation. Nope. HyperSwitch displays *all* my open windows, meaning I no longer lose them behind other windows and can switch easily back and forth. When I first installed HyperSwitch I had three such preference pane windows hidden under multiple other windows that I had no idea were still open. Wonderful. On top of that it's fast, looks pretty good, and I haven't found any of the expected beta bugs. Wow! I'm very impressed. This could easily be a v1.0 finished product already. Some minor feature requests: 1. Options for different styles of list appearance, in particular an optional Vertical Display. Witch displays a vertical list, and I think I might prefer that - it can be better when there are many windows, and it allows for longer display of window titles 2. Option to disable mouse input. I often switch windows with my left hand while holding the mouse in my right; if I accidentally move the mouse cursor over the HyperSwitch UI, it will change my place in the list. I never want to use the mouse to switch windows, so I'd like to disable all mouse input. 3. More keyboard shortcut options: it should be possible to bind any key to Witch activation, not just Cmd/Alt/Shift+Tab. Witch has a whole long list of options, such as "All applications' minimized", and actions like "Deminimize all minimized windows" and "Zoom frontmost window". I haven't used these much myself but some might find them useful. At the least, it should be possible to assign any shortcut to activate HyperSwitch. But these are only nice-to-have requests, this is already a wonderful app and I have stopped using Witch after 3+ years and am now using Hyperswitch as my only application/window switcher. Great job! PS. Some comments below ask for a merge windows option - if that is added, please do add it as an *option*. I definitely don't ever want that! I want every window separate, always. Two windows from the same app are always two separate windows to me.
Like
Version 0.2.555-dev
rockybelts97
18 September 2015
Not bad as for beta version. And really misses the "merge' option. Like it but it has minor bugs yet.
Like
Version 0.2.533-dev
matus-lestan
28 April 2015
Very good, but I miss option to 'merge' windows of the same application into one. I mean, when I have open 2 Finder windows by pressing CMD + Tab I want to see only one and then by pressing CMD + ` I would switch between those 2 Finder windows.
Like
Version 0.2.481-dev
Cowicide
27 March 2015
I love this app, but it hobbles the behavior of my Application Switcher keyboard shortcut in a critical way I loathe. Normally when I hit command-tab, I can continue to hold down the command key, then tap the tab key repeatedly to move forward through open app icons. I can also hold down the command key and tap the tilde key to reverse direction through the running apps. HyperSwitch kills this for me even after fiddling with the HyperSwitch shortcut options. No matter what I do in the HyperSwitch preferences, the tilde key does nothing and I can't move backwards through my open apps within the App Switcher, only forwards in one direction. This dramatically hurts my workflow speed when I have many apps open. Within the HyperSwitch preferences it has an option to use the Shift key to "cycle backwards", but that only seems to work for the windows within the apps, not cycle backwards through the App Switcher's open apps. I don't see how to change these settings. I want the tilde key to cycle backwards through apps in the App switcher. Until then, I regrettably can't use this app despite it's advantages otherwise. Mac OS 10.9.5
Like
Version 0.2.436-dev
Quantumpanda
19 March 2015
And in less than 24 hours, there's an update that fixes the expiration! That's awesome. I'm upping my rating by a half-star for that. (The last half-star is only because this is still a beta.)
Like
Version 0.2.436-dev
Quantumpanda
17 March 2015
Really excellent for a beta. This does exactly what I want from a window switcher without any of the extraneous features other such apps have. I can choose to switch between apps (OS X default CMD-Tab behavior), all open windows, or just the frontmost app's windows as I wish. That's really all I want: a simple enhancement to the already-existing app switcher. It still lacks the ability to switch to hidden or minimized windows, but the developer says on his web site that this is next on his list, so I'm looking forward to that. Occasionally it crashes, but that's not unexpected from a beta. My only real issue at this time is that upon launch today, HyperSwitch gave me a message saying that the beta was expired, but when I had it check for updates, there were none available. It still ran after that check, and it seems to be working as usual, but it always bothers me when a developer puts an expiration date into a beta and doesn't have a new version available by that date. There are other ways to keep users from running an out-of-date beta indefinitely without crippling functionality if the next update isn't ready when it was expected. If you can't commit to a firm release schedule for updates, don't code in firm expiration dates. So a half star off from perfect simply because it's a beta and therefore unfinished, and another half star off for the expiration problem. Otherwise, a wonderful yet simple utility. I eagerly await the 1.x release.
Like
Version 0.2.420
abuzettin-hudaverdi
03 January 2015
Very promising utility, but lacks (crucial) minimized/hidden window switching, which I use very often.
Like (1)
Version 0.2.420
Mikoi
27 March 2014
Dear dev, some months ago you promised to put a Snow Leopard compatible older version of HS(not to be updated but working). Any news?
Like (1)
Version 0.2.314-dev
Richard-Blumberg
02 November 2013
Tried downloading (11/2/13), both from MacUpdate and from developer site. Got message when I tried opening it, "File is damaged and should be thrown into Trash."
Like
Version 0.2.262-dev
3 answer(s)
Richard-Blumberg
Richard-Blumberg
02 November 2013
Sorry, this should have been filed under Troubleshooting, not Review; please ignore the low rating. I wish MacUpdate would permit me to edit reviews or remove them.
Like
Jess-MacUpdate
Jess-MacUpdate
02 November 2013
Richard, I downloaded it this morning (Saturday 2 November 2013), and the ZIP archive expanded without error. Are you getting this error message when you try to unarchive? Or when you try to run the application? If it's the latter, try contacting the dev about the problem at: hyperswitch [at] bahoom [dot] de
Like
Richard-Blumberg
Richard-Blumberg
02 November 2013
It's when I try to run the app. Thanks, Jess; I've taken your suggestion and emailed the developer.
Like
DManG
13 October 2013
I use HyperDock and find this even more useful as I am a App Switcher guy over a dock guy. I love this, the switching, previews, and closing/minimizing apps. Cant wait til this matures as I foresee this as an everyday utility for me. Im impressed.
Like (1)
Version 0.2.222-dev
Fishscale
06 March 2013
@dev, Would like to get a roadmap or your thoughts on this apps future if you do not mind. Obviously HyperDock is your breadwinner but HyperSwitch seems to be a side project. Posting this here because I think everyone who uses this app would like to know if they can count on it down the road before it's a major part of their workflow and if it is already, and it is for lots, we can start shifting our attention to alternatives if need be to not be caught off guard when an OS update breaks usability or something of the sort. Thanks, look forward to hearing back and even the opinion of other users. Am I the only one who is curious to know where this app is headed?
Like (2)
Version 0.2.107-dev
Arie15
08 November 2012
Great find! CMD+Tab often left apps like finder out. Now with hyper switch installed it works properly. FEATURE REQUEST: please provide an option to leave certain apps out of view. I don't want to cycle through Spamsieve, for instance.
Like (2)
Version 0.2.107-dev
Kohoutek
14 May 2012
I'm looking for a functioning coverflow switcher like the "shift switcher" in Compiz, but haven't found one yet. In the meantime, this one does its job very well. And, at least while it's in beta, the price is right.
Like
Version 0.2.32-dev
Fishscale
11 May 2012
This app is extremely promising. I just hope development keeps up, if it does I am definitely buying a license as this is one useful and well thought out app. Between this and alfred, I'll never have to use the mouse again!
Like
Version 0.2.32-dev
Ashnet
16 April 2012
Finally, a app switcher that works as I expected. Coming from Windows to a mac developer environment I'm switching all the time. I didn't want heaps of options, layout managers or a vertical list of apps I needed a familiar, two fingered swapper that just works... and this does. The few options it does offer allow for personalised taste in how and what your cmd tab experience offers. Great job!
Like
Version 0.2.32-dev
Revco
14 February 2012
Couple of problems. When I select "new window" it creates two new documents. Also. it doesn't bring these new document windows to the front. The "all windows" switcher seems to pick up some faceless background apps that don't have any windows.
Like
Version 0.2.30-dev
2 answer(s)
Chris1
Chris1
14 February 2012
Hi Revco, Do you remember which app you selected "new window" for and the names of the background apps? Best, Christian
Like
Revco
Revco
14 February 2012
Adobe Illustrator gave me two new docs. Acrobat gave me the "Open Document" dialog. Some apps, like HyperSwitch, have a "new window" option even though it's not applicable. The background app thing was weird. One of the apps was called "send registration" but when it was selected it opened the Microsoft Entourage maintenance dialog.
Like
Alex1986
08 February 2012
For me it's a very useful app for navigate in active windows, and it's perfect in combination with hyperdock. I attend the final release.
Like
Version 0.2.17
jppinto
08 February 2012
Mutch better than the native switcher!
Like
Version 0.2.17