Back to HyperSwitch page
HyperSwitch free download for Mac

HyperSwitch Reviews0.2.592

22 December 2020

Keyboard-focused window switcher (beta).

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
Krupnix
Krupnix
Jul 7 2021
0.2.592
0.0
Jul 7 2021
0.0
Version: 0.2.592
Beta expired on June 26 2021. No point in installing it as it just quits. Update says it's the latest version. Contacted developer twice - by email and on site customer service form. No response. Too bad. It was a great app.
PaulWilkinson9977
PaulWilkinson9977
Dec 18 2018
0.2.585-dev
5.0
Dec 18 2018
5.0
Version: 0.2.585-dev
I am using Version 0.2.585-dev: however I am not receiving trial expiry issues! Please fix.
Noraa
Noraa
Sep 3 2018
0.2.585-dev
4.0
Sep 3 2018
4.0
Version: 0.2.585-dev
This shows a lot of potential, and for a beta version is impressively stable. My biggest suggestion would be having the ability to see tabs as windows. As it currently stands, Hyperswitch will show you the current active tab in a window, but not the other ones. Witch will display tabs as windows, but the interface isn't nearly as slick as Hyperswitch - and it costs $14.
gibfahn
gibfahn
Jun 12 2018
0.2.584-dev
4.5
Jun 12 2018
4.5
Version: 0.2.584-dev
Adds a lot to the default Cmd-Tab experience.
KenFu
KenFu
Jan 13 2018
0.2.584-dev
3.5
Jan 13 2018
3.5
Version: 0.2.584-dev
Why is this feature not build into mac yet, its super convenient . However, the thumbnail still does not refresh instantly when menu is activated. I have to wait 3 seconds for it to refresh. This bug? still persist since the version for Mavericks.
FreeWizard
FreeWizard
Jan 6 2018
0.2.584-dev
5.0
Jan 6 2018
5.0
Version: 0.2.584-dev
Easy to use; stable like rock.
JamesHarrisPhoto
JamesHarrisPhoto
Sep 1 2017
0.2.577-dev
0.0
Sep 1 2017
0.0
Version: 0.2.577-dev
It's confusing that it says it's free, but the latest bug fix says it fixes the trial expiry? So, if it's free, why does it expire?
SawtoothRising
SawtoothRising
Jul 21 2016
0.2.565-dev
0.0
Jul 21 2016
0.0
Version: 0.2.565-dev
I really love this, I'd love it more if options would work. One thing I'd love to do, I'm not sure if its possible but cmd tab would change just the app then a different key would start changing windows for the app that is currently selected. Please just update the application, there's nothing else quite like it.
TheBloke
TheBloke
Nov 28 2015
0.2.555-dev
5.0
Nov 28 2015
5.0
Version: 0.2.555-dev
Wow! This is superb, and nearly perfect already. I've been using Witch for years, which I always thought was really good, but this is immediately better in several ways. Lately Witch has suffered from an annoying issue with OSX's new(ish) "Desktop as Spaces" feature, whereby the Witch UI disappears really slowly when you switch to a window that's on another monitor (and therefore on another space). I contacted Witch about this and they told me it was an inevitable workaround to a system issue that 'might' be fixed in Witch 4. Well, HyperSwitch fixes that immediately! Not only that, HyperSwitch is showing me windows that I have been missing from Witch for years! I always found it annoying that I couldn't see certain types of windows in Witch switch, usually preference panes. They also don't show on uBar, a Dock replacement I use, so I figured maybe it was just a system limitation. Nope. HyperSwitch displays *all* my open windows, meaning I no longer lose them behind other windows and can switch easily back and forth. When I first installed HyperSwitch I had three such preference pane windows hidden under multiple other windows that I had no idea were still open. Wonderful. On top of that it's fast, looks pretty good, and I haven't found any of the expected beta bugs. Wow! I'm very impressed. This could easily be a v1.0 finished product already. Some minor feature requests: 1. Options for different styles of list appearance, in particular an optional Vertical Display. Witch displays a vertical list, and I think I might prefer that - it can be better when there are many windows, and it allows for longer display of window titles 2. Option to disable mouse input. I often switch windows with my left hand while holding the mouse in my right; if I accidentally move the mouse cursor over the HyperSwitch UI, it will change my place in the list. I never want to use the mouse to switch windows, so I'd like to disable all mouse input. 3. More keyboard shortcut options: it should be possible to bind any key to Witch activation, not just Cmd/Alt/Shift+Tab. Witch has a whole long list of options, such as "All applications' minimized", and actions like "Deminimize all minimized windows" and "Zoom frontmost window". I haven't used these much myself but some might find them useful. At the least, it should be possible to assign any shortcut to activate HyperSwitch. But these are only nice-to-have requests, this is already a wonderful app and I have stopped using Witch after 3+ years and am now using Hyperswitch as my only application/window switcher. Great job! PS. Some comments below ask for a merge windows option - if that is added, please do add it as an *option*. I definitely don't ever want that! I want every window separate, always. Two windows from the same app are always two separate windows to me.
rockybelts97
rockybelts97
Sep 18 2015
0.2.533-dev
4.5
Sep 18 2015
4.5
Version: 0.2.533-dev
Not bad as for beta version. And really misses the "merge' option. Like it but it has minor bugs yet.
matus-lestan
matus-lestan
Apr 28 2015
0.2.481-dev
4.0
Apr 28 2015
4.0
Version: 0.2.481-dev
Very good, but I miss option to 'merge' windows of the same application into one. I mean, when I have open 2 Finder windows by pressing CMD + Tab I want to see only one and then by pressing CMD + ` I would switch between those 2 Finder windows.
Cowicide
Cowicide
Mar 27 2015
0.2.436-dev
0.0
Mar 27 2015
0.0
Version: 0.2.436-dev
I love this app, but it hobbles the behavior of my Application Switcher keyboard shortcut in a critical way I loathe. Normally when I hit command-tab, I can continue to hold down the command key, then tap the tab key repeatedly to move forward through open app icons. I can also hold down the command key and tap the tilde key to reverse direction through the running apps. HyperSwitch kills this for me even after fiddling with the HyperSwitch shortcut options. No matter what I do in the HyperSwitch preferences, the tilde key does nothing and I can't move backwards through my open apps within the App Switcher, only forwards in one direction. This dramatically hurts my workflow speed when I have many apps open. Within the HyperSwitch preferences it has an option to use the Shift key to "cycle backwards", but that only seems to work for the windows within the apps, not cycle backwards through the App Switcher's open apps. I don't see how to change these settings. I want the tilde key to cycle backwards through apps in the App switcher. Until then, I regrettably can't use this app despite it's advantages otherwise. Mac OS 10.9.5
Quantumpanda
Quantumpanda
Mar 19 2015
0.2.436-dev
4.5
Mar 19 2015
4.5
Version: 0.2.436-dev
And in less than 24 hours, there's an update that fixes the expiration! That's awesome. I'm upping my rating by a half-star for that. (The last half-star is only because this is still a beta.)
Quantumpanda
Quantumpanda
Mar 17 2015
0.2.420
4.5
Mar 17 2015
4.5
Version: 0.2.420
Really excellent for a beta. This does exactly what I want from a window switcher without any of the extraneous features other such apps have. I can choose to switch between apps (OS X default CMD-Tab behavior), all open windows, or just the frontmost app's windows as I wish. That's really all I want: a simple enhancement to the already-existing app switcher. It still lacks the ability to switch to hidden or minimized windows, but the developer says on his web site that this is next on his list, so I'm looking forward to that. Occasionally it crashes, but that's not unexpected from a beta. My only real issue at this time is that upon launch today, HyperSwitch gave me a message saying that the beta was expired, but when I had it check for updates, there were none available. It still ran after that check, and it seems to be working as usual, but it always bothers me when a developer puts an expiration date into a beta and doesn't have a new version available by that date. There are other ways to keep users from running an out-of-date beta indefinitely without crippling functionality if the next update isn't ready when it was expected. If you can't commit to a firm release schedule for updates, don't code in firm expiration dates. So a half star off from perfect simply because it's a beta and therefore unfinished, and another half star off for the expiration problem. Otherwise, a wonderful yet simple utility. I eagerly await the 1.x release.
abuzettin-hudaverdi
abuzettin-hudaverdi
Jan 3 2015
0.2.420
4.5
Jan 3 2015
4.5
Version: 0.2.420
Very promising utility, but lacks (crucial) minimized/hidden window switching, which I use very often.
Mikoi
Mikoi
Mar 27 2014
0.2.314-dev
0.0
Mar 27 2014
0.0
Version: 0.2.314-dev
Dear dev, some months ago you promised to put a Snow Leopard compatible older version of HS(not to be updated but working). Any news?
Richard-Blumberg
Richard-Blumberg
Nov 2 2013
0.2.262-dev
2.5
Nov 2 2013
2.5
Version: 0.2.262-dev
Tried downloading (11/2/13), both from MacUpdate and from developer site. Got message when I tried opening it, "File is damaged and should be thrown into Trash."
DManG
DManG
Oct 13 2013
0.2.222-dev
4.0
Oct 13 2013
4.0
Version: 0.2.222-dev
I use HyperDock and find this even more useful as I am a App Switcher guy over a dock guy. I love this, the switching, previews, and closing/minimizing apps. Cant wait til this matures as I foresee this as an everyday utility for me. Im impressed.
Fishscale
Fishscale
Mar 6 2013
0.2.107-dev
0.0
Mar 6 2013
0.0
Version: 0.2.107-dev
@dev, Would like to get a roadmap or your thoughts on this apps future if you do not mind. Obviously HyperDock is your breadwinner but HyperSwitch seems to be a side project. Posting this here because I think everyone who uses this app would like to know if they can count on it down the road before it's a major part of their workflow and if it is already, and it is for lots, we can start shifting our attention to alternatives if need be to not be caught off guard when an OS update breaks usability or something of the sort. Thanks, look forward to hearing back and even the opinion of other users. Am I the only one who is curious to know where this app is headed?
Arie15
Arie15
Nov 8 2012
0.2.107-dev
3.5
Nov 8 2012
3.5
Version: 0.2.107-dev
Great find! CMD+Tab often left apps like finder out. Now with hyper switch installed it works properly. FEATURE REQUEST: please provide an option to leave certain apps out of view. I don't want to cycle through Spamsieve, for instance.
Kohoutek
Kohoutek
May 14 2012
0.2.32-dev
4.0
May 14 2012
4.0
Version: 0.2.32-dev
I'm looking for a functioning coverflow switcher like the "shift switcher" in Compiz, but haven't found one yet. In the meantime, this one does its job very well. And, at least while it's in beta, the price is right.
Fishscale
Fishscale
May 11 2012
0.2.32-dev
0.0
May 11 2012
0.0
Version: 0.2.32-dev
This app is extremely promising. I just hope development keeps up, if it does I am definitely buying a license as this is one useful and well thought out app. Between this and alfred, I'll never have to use the mouse again!
Ashnet
Ashnet
Apr 16 2012
0.2.32-dev
5.0
Apr 16 2012
5.0
Version: 0.2.32-dev
Finally, a app switcher that works as I expected. Coming from Windows to a mac developer environment I'm switching all the time. I didn't want heaps of options, layout managers or a vertical list of apps I needed a familiar, two fingered swapper that just works... and this does. The few options it does offer allow for personalised taste in how and what your cmd tab experience offers. Great job!
Revco
Revco
Feb 14 2012
0.2.30-dev
0.0
Feb 14 2012
0.0
Version: 0.2.30-dev
Couple of problems. When I select "new window" it creates two new documents. Also. it doesn't bring these new document windows to the front. The "all windows" switcher seems to pick up some faceless background apps that don't have any windows.
Alex1986
Alex1986
Feb 8 2012
0.2.17
4.5
Feb 8 2012
4.5
Version: 0.2.17
For me it's a very useful app for navigate in active windows, and it's perfect in combination with hyperdock. I attend the final release.
jppinto
jppinto
Feb 8 2012
0.2.17
5.0
Feb 8 2012
5.0
Version: 0.2.17
Mutch better than the native switcher!