Back to iRamDisk page
iRamDisk free download for Mac

iRamDisk Reviews

3.6.15
22 August 2019

Create a RAM disk.

MisterE
27 August 2012

Most helpful

Why would I pay anything for a front end to some simple terminal commands? There's also free GUIs that will make you a RAM disk.
Like (5)
Version 3.2.3

Read 16 iRamDisk User Reviews

Rate this app:

Aargl
22 August 2019
As a tribute for this great utility; I'll write a last review: If you have more than 8 or 16 Gb of RAM, chances are you rarely use it at full blast, so creating a small RAM disk with iRamDisk is a nice option that can be useful (search the Internet for typical uses...) iRamDisk is very easy to use, works perfectly (here on 10.11.6, but chances are that it runs as well on recent OSes). I have 8 Gb and never met a situation where my 1 Gb RAM disk could be an issue. I use it in combination with a RAM utility such as Memory Clean 3. Perfect!
Like
Version 3.6.15
1 answer(s)
yjstyle
yjstyle
04 December 2019
Could you share v.3.6.15? because the developer site seem to be closed.
Like
Version 3.6.15
Aargl
26 January 2019
The dev's site raises a security alert, except in Safari, where you can see it has turned into the most basic html page! I can even paste its content here: <html><br><a href="iRamDisk.zip">iRamDisk</a><br><a href="MailSatellite.zip">MailSatellite</a><br><a href="popCalendar.zip">popCalendar</a><br><a href="SpotFiles.zip">SpotFiles</a></html> I've downloaded iRamDisk to check if it's ok and while I haven't tried it, it looks a real app saying version 3.6.15... Does anybody have information about that?
Like
Version 3.6.12
2 answer(s)
magnesium-app
magnesium-app
26 January 2019
Please, download and save these versions.
Like
Aargl
Aargl
26 January 2019
Oh, I now see your message "End of story. You can download my apps for free."
So sad to hear that, but thank you for making your apps free, not many devs do this move when they stop their activity.
I wish you the best! :-)
Like
RogerKatz
30 July 2018
The current version is 3.6.12
Like
Version 3.6.10
mariemorton
25 February 2018
Great application :) 4.5/5
Like
Version 3.6.8
appimatic
05 January 2018
Just perfect!
Like
Version 3.6.6
Aargl
31 July 2017
I've tried a few ways of using ram disks and here is my best trial: Browsers' caches can use a large amount of disk space and have a lot of read-write tasks on your SSD — which in the end are not that useful... 1) I deleted the caches of Safari and Firefox in ~/Library/Cache 2) ran those apps and went to my most used websites, then quit the apps. 3) moved those folders to a 512 Mb ram disk 4) created the necessary symlinks in ~/Library/Caches So now, I've got my basic web caching working in RAM for the sites I use most and all the rest gets deleted at shut down (I think that caching a website where you go every six month, wearing out your SSD and wasting space is nigh on useless ;-) ) It's hard to tell if its faster or slower, as the bottleneck is generally the site itself, the server or your connection, so I haven't noticed a huge difference, but at least I'm saving a few gigs of space and may hopefully extend a bit my SSD's lifetime. Of course, this is not for basic users and everybody can live without. But I'm quite sure it may be useful for apps using cache a lot.
Like (1)
Version 3.5.9
Jimw
01 January 2017
RAM disks are always a compromise as creating a RAM disk reduces the amount of memory available to applications and the operating system, and should their be a power interruption, everything in the RAM disk is usually lost. Instead I recommend saving the monies you are thinking about putting into a RAM disk and purchase an SSD (Solid State Disk Drive) instead for your computer. Prices have come down significantly and this purchase can effectively add years of life to your existing computer given the dramatic performance increase you obtain for your entire machine for all your tasks.
Like (1)
Version 3.5.7
7 answer(s)
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
02 January 2017
I agree, an external SSD would be a more stable alternative. And you wouldn't need a large one to equal the space you would dedicate RAM to. Still, either alternative is for power users. After all, who knows how to direct application caches to an alternative disk? As far as I know only Photoshop enables easy access to alternative disks for swap files.

A more useful application would be a GUI that enabled the management of selected application caches so that you could move them wherever you liked. In theory, of course, if you're using a laptop with an SSD there would be no significant advantage to a RAM disk anyway. Still, it would save read/write cycles to your internal SSD if you could direct cache files to an external drive. Now that would be worth $20. iRamDisk, not so much.
Like
Jimw
Jimw
02 January 2017
RE:B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc: I am not suggesting an external aux SSD. I am suggesting replacing you primary drive and running your machine from it. I just checked pricing and 512MB SSD's are less than $150, with some under $100. Many come with step by step instructions on how to install them. Even with an installation charge it still beats buying a new Mac for an performance upgrade.
Like
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
02 January 2017
@Jimw: OK. I misunderstood you. There was a time when upgrading the HD in a MacBook Pro was easy to do, and I've done just that. But upgrading the drive in an iMac is a tricky business best reserved for skilled hands. Meanwhile, Mac mini's have not been accessible for years. So perhaps a little clarity in your suggestion would have been helpful. But yes, if you are looking to upgrade performance on a Mac that can be upgraded, replacing a standard hard drive with an SSD will do the trick. And it would alleviate the need, supposing there is one, for a RAM disk.

That said, I just had another idea: Use an SD card, as most macs, until recently, have SD card slots. SD cards are even less expensive than SSDs and come in appropriate sizes for the kinds of things you would use a RAM disk for. This would be simpler than upgrading the hard drive, particularly on an iMac. Of course there is still the issue of the technical expertise necessary to direct application caches to an alternative drive. An app with a UI for that would be really useful.
Like
Jimw
Jimw
02 January 2017
Your last comment is a "Hot Button" for me. Apple is now making most of their products as closed systems, even the MacPro Desktop. In my opinion this policy makes the Mac significantly less attractive to prospective buyers. It my be a good tactic to immediately appease short term stockholders, but I believe it is a long term ticket for product failure. Professional users demand open systems. That is why I mentioned the professional installation option in my last reply.
Like (1)
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
02 January 2017
@ Jimw: for the code to create a RAM disk, see https://www.tekrevue.com/tip/how-to-create-a-4gbs-ram-disk-in-mac-os-x/. It's pretty simple—and doesn't cost $20. Make a text clipping of the code and you can use it as easily as any app: just past it into Terminal.

This page also has benchmarks for an SSD compared to a RAM disk. Hint: the SSD is way slower.
Like
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
13 January 2017
@ Jimw: I agree with you that Apple is no longer serving its "pro" users very well. It's been over three years since the "new" Mac Pro came out and it hasn't received a single update in that time. However, you are mistaken about it being a closed system. It is in fact upgradeable, though components for it are not cheap. But then it's not a cheap computer. The shell pops right off providing easy access to everything. None of the main components are soldered in, as they are with most new Macs. But the Macbook Pros are hardly pro machines, closed and limited as they are, and with non-standard ports all around. With dongles or a Thunderbolt 3/USB-C Dock the cost of ownership is significantly increased. This whole thin-is-in thing is driving Apple down a dead-end street. What's more, once Microsoft's Surface Studio grabs some mind-share, even the iMac is going to look parochial.

As for Macs being hard, or impossible, to upgrade, from day one Steve Jobs frowned on user access to the Mac's internals. From time to time this barrier was lowered, particularly with the old Mac Pros. But this has been a tide that ebbed and flowed. Right now it's ebbed big time, no doubt thanks to their design guru Jony Ive, whose genius has faded, though Tim Cook hasn't noticed. But then he was never much more than a bookkeeper.

All this is, of course, way off topic. But for anyone who want's or needs to create a RAM disk, they are easy to make, though not so easy to use. Twenty dollars is too much to pay for a tool that only does the easy part.
Like
Jimw
Jimw
13 January 2017
My understanding is that the only things that can be upgraded by the average user after purchase in the MacPro "Coffee Can" is the RAM and the main 'hard drive' which is very expensive and proprietary(sole source-OWC). Unlike the 'Tower' machines here is no provision or room in the machine for any other cards or drives and that all such items must be external via Thunderbolt. That intrinsically excludes graphic cards and while Thunderbolt may be fast, it is not as fast as PCIe. An person with advanced hardware experience might also be able to upgrade the processor or have OWC do it for them at a significant cost. Given I do not have one of these machines I have no actual experience with them.
Like
Kt2
02 December 2016
I love this app!
Like
Version 3.5.6
RogerKatz
18 May 2016
The current version, which is 3.5.4 is available at the Mac App Store today (for free).
Like
Version 3.5.3
northernmunky1981
03 April 2016
WARNING: As soon as I downloaded this Avast! warned me that this file contains MacOS:InstallCore-R virus.
Like (1)
Version 3.5.3
2 answer(s)
magnesium-app
magnesium-app
05 April 2016
Are you sure that you have downloaded app from direct link and not from another download site or other fake store application ?
App is developer signed. Zip file on my server is ok. Please, sends me more information about this problem.
Like (1)
northernmunky1981
northernmunky1981
05 April 2016
I used the MacUpdate link. Warning flashes up immediately after download completes.
Like (1)
Ford-P
18 November 2014
Very convenient App, nice options like Browser Cache etc. Personally i never had any Problems with "user Caches" in the Ramdisk ...
Like
Version 3.5
davert
14 February 2014
At first this seemed great, but I realized all it does is create the RAM disk. I could have done that myself with a few lines of code in a batch file — based on the description, and I realize this was implied but not stated, I thought it would have some option to actually divert the caches to the RAM disk rather than have me search all over the Internet to figure out how to do that. $10 seems like a lot for a program that adds a GUI to a few lines of code... a very nice GUI I admit.
Like (1)
Version 3.3.9
cka3o4h1k
30 December 2012
Only iRamDisk able to create RamDisk protected from unmount when lost network or sleep
Like
Version 3.3.0
3 answer(s)
Agordona
Agordona
02 September 2013
Does your post express: 1. I wish iRamdisk was able to ...... or 2. Only iRamdisk is able to ....... Please clarify Tnx
Like (2)
cka3o4h1k
cka3o4h1k
02 September 2013
little "is" is changing sense? :) Already "is able to"
Like
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
13 January 2016
I understood their "Engrish."

It's clear that they meant "only iRamdisk is able to ......."
Like
MisterE
27 August 2012
Why would I pay anything for a front end to some simple terminal commands? There's also free GUIs that will make you a RAM disk.
Like (5)
Version 3.2.3
1 answer(s)
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
13 January 2016
Then don't buy it.
I use Terminal when I need to, but prefer a GUI.
Some users avoid Terminal like the plague and for them a GUI is a necessity.

That's like asking why some people pay for Cocktail when Onyx does essentially the same things for free.
I prefer Cocktail.

I haven't used this app, just sayin'.
Like
reves
13 April 2012
Great evolution for this application : you can now create separate RAMdisks to put the user's cache or Safari's cache. Very useful to preserve your SSD for example.
Like
Version 3.2.0
1 answer(s)
M-Luther
M-Luther
31 August 2012
Why not one larger RAM disk instead of a bunch of separate ones? On Jan 17 you say you can't put Safari's cache on a RAM disk, but now you are saying this app is useful for Safari's cache, so which is correct? I downloaded the freeware TmpDisk and plan to find a way to put Safari's cache in there, making a symbolic link. Any reason this can't be done?
Like (1)
reves
17 January 2012
Nice and simple application, specially useful if you want to spare your SSD. Same principle as Esperance DV, from the sam developer. The good point is that you can exceed the 2 GB limit. The bad point is that you can no more put Safari's cache on the RAM Disk. This is very sad, from my point of view.
Like
Version 3.0.0