Back to PDF Nomad page
PDF Nomad free download for Mac

PDF Nomad Reviews

2.4.2
05 September 2015

PDF editor built for Mac.

iPoopStore
18 June 2012

Most helpful

Thanks but no thanks. I'll stick with PDF Pen Pro. Too bad some developers are choosing to ignore users with 10.6. I will never update to 10.7 or 10.8. I'd sooner build a hackintosh or buy a older Mac than put up with those unproductive OSes laden with iOS junk.
Like (5)
Version 1.4

Read 31 PDF Nomad User Reviews

Rate this app:

mark-363
25 January 2019
Why would I want to spend money with SintraWorks when I already paid for a PDF editor which they almost immediately abandoned and cant use. How dcan I know they won't do the same with this application? God Co trick Sintraworks what goes around comes around.
Like
Version 2.4.2
Discontinued? No updates for almost 1 1/2 years. Looks dead.
Like (1)
Version 2.4.2
1 answer(s)
Jytx
Jytx
19 December 2018
Now its clearly mentionned on the editors' website
Like
reltm
03 November 2014
Does this program use PDFKit to save PDFs? I find apps that use PDFKit (like Preview) typically increase the file size by 2x - 5x of the articles I read. This is a problem for syncing my PDF library because it gets too big. Adobe Reader preserves the original file size, but the interface is awful and buggy. I tried Skim and other alternatives, but they seem to use the same engine for saving as Preview and increases the file size (even when no annotations are made). See here for an example: https://www.sonnysoftware.com/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=3528s
Like
Version 2.4
3 answer(s)
reltm
reltm
03 November 2014
Darn it - accidentally added an "s" to the link as I hit comment:
https://www.sonnysoftware.com/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=3528
Like
reltm
reltm
03 November 2014
Downloaded the trial to test: Saving a 2.7 MB document in PDF Nomad resulted in a 7 MB file so my guess is this program uses PDFKit to save and render PDFs.
Like
TomLoredo
TomLoredo
23 March 2016
I use PDF Nomad pretty much for only one thing: splitting scanned pages into two (i.e., splitting a 2-pages-side-by-side book scan into two separate pages). The resulting files are always a bit over twice the size of the original, even though the total image area (number of pixels) is the same before and after the split. I can't say whether it uses PDFKit, but it is a nuisance that it doubles the file size. I use Acrobat Pro for subsequent processing, and it dramatically reduces the file size without visibly reducing quality.
Like
Rickzeman
29 August 2014
Has ceased to launch under Yosemite PB2.
Like
Version 2.3
2 answer(s)
sintraworks-1
sintraworks-1
19 October 2014
Works fine under Yosemite.
Like
Iamdorian
Iamdorian
01 January 2017
Works fine under El Capitan as well
Like
Pusfarm
05 May 2014
After watching the tutorials, this app appears to have some great features. However, it succeeded in irritating me early and often. I configured the toolbar and preferences, then opened a number of PDFs, but couldn't get past the fact that there's no option for Fit Page, which is how I prefer to view PDFs. And no matter where you reposition the window it always opens in the same place at the same size (unless you've already opened a document in which case it remembers the last setting), and it's smaller than a typical document size. Rather than tweak the window of every PDF I open or use a window manager (I have Breeze, which has its own annoyances, and Stay which, due to its apparent ADHD, means I don't benefit from its roughly 60% success rate), I can do without this app for now.
Like (1)
Version 2.3
3 answer(s)
Pusfarm
Pusfarm
05 May 2014
I forgot one thing: open a PDF and try paging through it with the keyboard. It doesn't work until you click on the document. No, no, NO!
Like
sintraworks-1
sintraworks-1
14 May 2014
Open a document and press the down arrow key: first page is selected. Press down arrow key again: second page is selected and displayed. No need to click the document to page through it with the keyboard.
Like
Pusfarm
Pusfarm
18 May 2014
I reinstalled the trial to test this. At it's default with the left panel open, pressing the down arrow did nothing. I changed the setting in preferences to not open the left panel by default, but this time I got a pop-up with Text and Forms options. Not even page down works. Until I click the document. Sorry, this won't work for me.
Like
Bordwehr
27 January 2014
Contrary to the other reviewers, I'm not so impressed with PDF Nomad. Particularly not after discovering that its so-called 'static text boxes' can only be added but not subsequently edited or deleted (which means you'd need a program such as Acrobat to get rid of them again).
Like
Version 2.3
3 answer(s)
Thyx
Thyx
25 March 2014
I read the same or a similar complaint on their forum. It sounds a little bit irritated that "static" is used in its dictionary sense …
Like (1)
sintraworks-1
sintraworks-1
14 May 2014
If you want text boxes that remain editable, you should use dynamic annotations. That's what they're there for.
Like
Bordwehr
Bordwehr
14 May 2014
No matter what you call them, the fact remains that you need another piece of software to edit or delete PDF Nomad's static text boxes.
Like
markd1
22 January 2014
I picked up this app in July last year when it was the promo of the day, and just saw it was the promo of the day again today. I wrote a comment on that post, but thought I should come and do a quick review here too. I had a couple of issues when I first got the app last year, but the developer responded so quickly and had an update to me the same day which fixed the issue! Unprecedented level of support -- I'd never experienced anything like it. I've been happily using the app for annotating pdf's ever since. It's been stable and works perfectly for my needs. I have PDF Pen Pro also, but prefer PDF Nomad. This is the first review I've done here on MacUpdate, even though I've bought a bunch of apps from here. I know when I considered purchasing PDF Nomad last year, I was on the fence, so figured I'd review it to help anyone having trouble deciding. Great support. Great app. I definitely recommend it!
Like (1)
Version 2.3
jackybrief2141
16 November 2013
„Wonderful PDF - APP! This is exactly what I needed! The developer is a very nice person and has an unbeatable fast service! I had a question and the next day he offered me the perfect solution for my problem. This nice tool and the excellent service are thoroughly recommended!
Like (1)
Version 2.2
mmac79
11 November 2013
I just upgraded my pdfnomad version from 2.1 to 2.2 which seemed to be a paid upgrade. Unfortunatelly annotating pdfs doesn't work so well: - Textbox in "edit"-mode renders text way bigger than in "view"-mode (when textbox is defocused again) - Can't make fonts bigger in those text annotations at all! This sucks. Neither the font menu seems to work, nore the menu item has an impact. Dissapointed. BTW.: Using pdfnomad 2.2 with macbook retina on Mac OS X 10.9.
Like
Version 2.2
3 answer(s)
sintraworks-1
sintraworks-1
26 November 2013
Updating from 2.1 to 2.2 is of course not a paid upgrade. Only upgrades from version 1 to version 2 are paid. You may want to contact us at our SintraWorks address if there is any confusion.
Like
sintraworks-1
sintraworks-1
26 November 2013
Oh, and version 2.3 fixes the edit mode issue that occurred in Mavericks.
Like (1)
mmac79
mmac79
26 November 2013
Thanks at Sinatraworks for the clarifications! Meanwhile the edit mode is fixed: HURRA! And strangely enough it seems that my License for Version 1 worked until i upgraded from 2.1 to 2.2... so everything's sorted!
Like
Ozron
30 August 2013
I also purchased this through MacUpdate and was most disappointed to discover that I couldn't edit text within the pdf, which is my main requirement. OK my fault for not checking this out thoroughly first. It's got some nice features which I might eventually get around to using, but for now it's not of much use to me. So can someone please recommend an app which is not too expensive which I can use to edit text in a pdf? Thanks.
Like (1)
Version 2.1.1
3 answer(s)
sintraworks-1
sintraworks-1
30 August 2013
There are PDFPen from Smile Software and PDF Editor from Wondershare. Note that this is by no means a recommendation, as I have very little experience with either. I suggest you read the user reviews on them here on MacUpdate, and then download and test them both and see if any of them meets your needs. Write to me directly on the SintraWorks contact email, if you want more info.
Like
Ozron
Ozron
30 August 2013
Thanks for the prompt reply. I have found a temporary workaround which appears to be working, although it's labour intensive. I'm cropping the pdf to include the text I want, and then using OCR extraction to rtf, which I'm then importing into Word. It allows me to edit and reformat the text. There are 33 pdf's which I need to process and then compile into 1 document, but at least I'm getting what I'm after. Will also check out the other apps you suggested. Thanks!
Like
sintraworks-1
sintraworks-1
03 September 2013
From your original comments, I understood that you already had searchable text in the PDF. If you are working from scanned images which need to be OCRd though, then you can edit the OCR results before finalising the OCR process. In that case PDF Nomad may be all you need. If exporting to RTF is fine for you, as you indicate, than also, no need to look further than PDF Nomad. You can export searchable PDF documents directly to RTF. No need to OCR first to get to that step.
Like (1)
protagonistic
05 August 2013
I just purchased this program through MacUpdate a few days ago and I have to say I am very happy with it. It is far and away the best at scanning to a searchable PDF of the programs I have tried. I tried Abbey, Prismo and several others and was disappointed with the results. Thanks for a great program and it was worth every penny I paid for it.
Like
Version 2.1.1
GaryPaca
30 July 2013
Does PDF Nomad enable one to batch edit meta data? I'd like to be able to edit the meta data of several PDFs at once.
Like
Version 2.1
1 answer(s)
sintraworks-1
sintraworks-1
30 July 2013
There is no batch editing of metadata for multiple documents through the UI, but you may be able to do it through AppleScript. Email us with a more detailed description of what you need, and we'll see if we can accommodate.
Like
esspii
30 July 2013
This looks very tempting - I am moving from paperport on windows to (potentially) this on mac. As I scan a lot of marked (dirty) documents it has been very useful to be able to delete marks and areas of the scan, for example page creases, in paperport. Can I do something similar here? If not, then my search for a comparable mac program continues, and windows stays......
Like (1)
Version 2.1
2 answer(s)
sintraworks-1
sintraworks-1
30 July 2013
The OCR feature can turn scanned documents into regular text. If you choose to replace the original with the recognised text, then you won't have any creases or other marks on your pages. If you need something else, then contact us directly via email, to see if it is something that we can add in an upcoming update.
Like
ylluminate
ylluminate
26 August 2013
I too would like to see this. If I could edit the original bitmap by cleaning up certain areas and then also provide OCR for the text so that we would have the recognized text and the original image contents and have them selectable like in Acrobat, this would be excellent.
Like
Cmoon
17 June 2013
I tried PDF PenPro before but it seems to have some performance problems. PDF Nomad works without any problem. Like it.
Like (3)
Version 2.0.1
1 answer(s)
David1
David1
05 July 2013
This has been my experience, too. Recently, I switched my workflow over to PDF Nomad. It does everything I need, and it’s rock solid.
Like (1)
elpito
12 June 2013
Very good to add outlines using existing table of contents. I can recommend this app for everybody....
Like (1)
Version 2.0.1
taja
07 June 2013
I frequently need to split and crop PDFs of scanned books, as well as adding outlines (permanent Bookmarks) to break them up into easily navigable chapters. I also read and annotate lots of journal articles. Post-Snow Leopard, Preview has been a buggy, constantly crashing mess, so its useless even for reading and annotating. Skim is great, but offers no PDF editing features. I wanted one PDF app that could do all the above: I tried Adobe Acrobat Pro and PDF PenPro. Acrobat Pro is hopeless: clunky, slow to scroll and with a counterintuitive non-standard UI. PDF PenPro has significant stability problems. PDF Nomad, on the other hand, works great. The UI is attractive and carefully well thought out, and the dev is friendly and responsive to feature requests. Most importantly, its very stable – can’t remember it ever crashing on me – and fast. Much faster to perform editing (rotating, deskewing, saving) functions than the above apps, actually. It’s also the only app I’ve found that allows splitting pages vertically en masse; very useful when you have book scans consisting of double pages. You can edit PDF metadata very easily, which is rare, and again, very helpful for academic researchers. It’s also excellent value: the latest version 2.0 adds OCR, which though I rarely use (I normally get documents already scanned off colleagues), is good to have and normally entails a much more expensive app. PDF Nomad normally $50, but is $25 till the end of June; 1/2 the price of Prizmo (the slick scanning app that was in the last Macupdate bundle), 1/4 the price of PDFpenPro, 1/12 of the absurd Adobe Acrobat Pro. Ideally, I’d like the OCR function to be faster, and to use less RAM, and to have some example Applescripts provided for batch processing documents, but I can’t find much to fault. More generally, I’m excited to see an efficient PDF editing app that gets the basics right (speed and stability), has lots of features and is in very active development. I don’t normally post long reviews, but I really think PDF Nomad deserves more exposure. And more selfishly I hope this leads to an even better app.
Like (5)
Version 2.0
sjk
23 May 2013
I couldn't find any info about v1 to v2 upgrade pricing but on the http://sintraworks.com/index.php/sintraworks/purchase_pdfnomad page it says: The regular price is $49.99 (€39,99), but until the end of June 2013 PDF Nomad 2.0 can be purchased for the introductory price of $24.99 (€19,99)!
Like
Version 2.0
4 answer(s)
sintraworks-1
sintraworks-1
23 May 2013
That's correct. After June the upgrade price for existing customers is $24.99 (€19,99), whereas the price for new customers then is $49.99 (€39,99).
Like (2)
sjk
sjk
23 May 2013
Thanks for that quick clarification!
Like
Big77
Big77
05 July 2013
I'm asking here since Sintraworks seems so responsive and others may have the same question: HOW does one upgrade from Version 1 for $24.99? I can't find an upgrade link in the store and Version 2 will not even recognize a version 1 license file.
Like
sintraworks-1
sintraworks-1
05 July 2013
If you have a registered copy of version 1 (or of PDFClerk Pro for that matter) on your system, then when version 2 is run, it will present the discounted upgrade. (If for whatever reason this didn't work, please email us directly.)
Like
Honey-Crenshaw
06 December 2012
I cannot download this.
Like (1)
Version 1.5
dwp-1
07 November 2012
PDF Nomad keeps getting better and better. Highly recommended for reading, editing and annotating PDF files.
Like (1)
Version 1.5
Ferdoe
03 September 2012
I just purchased PDF Nomad instead of upgrading PDF PenPro 3.x. My job sometimes demands that I edit pdf files for clients. I'm not a power user but the nature of the work demands that what I produce appear very clean--much cleaner than I know how. I never had the inclination (read $$) to upgrade Adobe AcroPro 7, nor the time to master its counterintuitive interface. I also found PDF Pen's UI a little quirky. It made me click on the tool I had been using every time I stepped back to see what the final product would look like. PDF Nomad has a mellow learning curve and a real user friendly UI. It is the most elegant app I've come across for editing pdfs. No one will regret buying this app. Disclosure: I am in no way related to the developer or the company.
Like (3)
Version 1.4.2
iPoopStore
18 June 2012
Thanks but no thanks. I'll stick with PDF Pen Pro. Too bad some developers are choosing to ignore users with 10.6. I will never update to 10.7 or 10.8. I'd sooner build a hackintosh or buy a older Mac than put up with those unproductive OSes laden with iOS junk.
Like (5)
Version 1.4
9 answer(s)
sintraworks-1
sintraworks-1
19 June 2012
PDF Nomad requires 10.7 because that allows us to take advantage of some of the architectural advances made available in that system. There is no question of ignoring users. For users of 10.6 and even for users of 10.5 we offer PDFClerk Pro, which is still being maintained and compatible even with 10.7, and which has a largely overlapping feature set.
Like (13)
Prince-Isaac
Prince-Isaac
01 August 2012
One person's junk is another person's gold. I find that there are quite a few things to like about first Lion and now Mountain Lion. That's the good thing about life: There are choices. You have yours and I have mine. One thing, though: I fail to see how they can be unproductive. They might contain some new twists but they are certainly not unproductive. And no, I didn't click on your frowning face to the right. I don't believe in such things when we each are entitled to our own opinions.
Like (4)
Wikno
Wikno
28 August 2012
Dear Sintraworks, I don't think that's what I would call 'fair'. Yes, a developer has a 'right' to stop supporting ANY platform or version. But they, should deal with the fall out without complaint. There are still a bunch of developers still releasing products for free or as shareware that have universal binaries, or release PPC/Intel binaries side by side, or just continue to support older platforms on intel (i.e. 10.6) regardless of future compatibility, and create a new branch with a new binary to satisfy the the rest. This essentially means maintaining two very similar products, yes, which is more work, yes… however, using the analogy of a car: you can take your car to the dealer if it was made in the last 20 years, yes you can. And, sometimes this means they are hanging on to specialized tools that only fit one model, just like a dev would need to dual-boot or hang on to a machine that is old enough to run a platform to continue development. You're welcome to stop development, or refuse to work on those cars, but this means the customer also has the right to become outraged and to seek business elsewhere instead of buying a new engine, and to freely spread the disappointment and lack of 'customer care' they received by your company, especially when the the ceasing of development or ending of support/bug fixes is arbitrary.
Like (3)
sintraworks-1
sintraworks-1
28 August 2012
@Wikno I don't see your point: 1. We did not stop supporting any platform or version. We still sell an excellent PDF editor for 10.5/10.6, for which we released an update as recently as March this year. 2. Where's the complaint? We simply responded explaining we still offer a PDF editor for 10.5 and 10.6 for those who can't or won't upgrade, for whatever reason. There was no complaint in our response, which was written to be helpful both to the poster and to anyone else who might happen to read it. 3. The car analogy doesn't apply. Software doesn't wear and tear. It might eventually not be compatible with newer systems, but PDFClerk Pro is compatible all the way up to 10.8, so nobody is getting left behind. And as far as buying new engines is concerned, the vast majority of current users, and all future users of PDFClerk Pro can cross-grade to PDF Nomad for free if and when the need arises. No buying involved: they get the new engine for free.
Like (5)
Wikno
Wikno
28 August 2012
Hi, firstly, I'm not trying to troll, you're offering this app as part of a MacLegion bundle and I hadn't heard of it so I thought I'd check it out on MU, where I usually go for SW opinions when considering a purchase. Good points, sounds like you run a pretty nice business! However, I have a question: can people cross-grade from PDFNomad to PDFClerk Pro for free? That would seem to be what this customer would need (iPoopStore)? You already said in your original reply (which I thought I had read fully, but apparently forgot part of when writing mine, oops! Sorry!) that the feature set overlaps largely. Still, your customer may have to learn something new? You get a new car, the wiper settings are different, so you still have to adjust, even though it's small. Of course we do that with major version upgrades, but often there is outcry about that too! Also, sometimes people won't/can't fix a car anymore because they got rid of a special, proprietary tool for a specific part to be removed/maintained/replaced., probably to make room in the toolbox for a new special/proprietary tool. The trick is, when do you ditch those old tools that might only be used on one model for one generation (~3-4 years) of that model? So, I understand the desire to let go some hardware to de-clutter the office, etc. (it's clear this doesn't apply to you Sinatraworks!), what dev wants to own every iPodTouch/iPhone/iPad? That's expensive, and not very useful other than as a dev tool, b/c you need them handy and can't be loaning them out to your family 24/7. That's what I was trying to get at with the car analogy, sorry for being obtuse! Also, everyone seems to down vote people that don't want their $2k computer to work like their $200 phone. Why isn't that a valid opinion here? (I don't think that question is for you Sintraworks, hehe). Do you want your nissan skyline to work just like your 600cc Sport Bike? Lol..hmmm… well, maybe you do, maybe you don't, the point is personal taste is hard to fault in my book. Doesn't seem to be the case in others'. Don't get me wrong, lots of things I like in ML (especially the stuff they took out in L and put back in as 'new features'… LMAO!!!). But I sympathize with iPoopStore, even if that's not my situation!
Like (1)
sintraworks-1
sintraworks-1
28 August 2012
Those who buy the bundle but can't run PDF Nomad on their system, can contact us directly to obtain a license for PDFClerk Pro, without incurring extra costs.
Like (2)
Prince-Isaac
Prince-Isaac
28 August 2012
@ Wikno wrote: "Also, everyone seems to down vote people that don't want their $2k computer to work like their $200 phone" OT response: I think those smilies / frownies are counterproductive as the encourage ad hominem behavior (attacking the person rather than the argument). One could troll endlessly through MU and arbitrarily click up or down based on one's own criteria that have nothing to do with whether the software meets a need or doesn't fit in.
Like (1)
Wikno
Wikno
29 August 2012
OT:+1 to you sir! HAHA! You asked for it! Yes indeed. I just realized how easy it is.. in fact Prince_Isaac, I just clicked on your profile and hovering over a smile on each comment, i WOULD have been able to click up or down on each one! That makes it so easy to target an individual… you only have to go to one page! Typically… (though not just now… teehee, you just made me laugh so hard I couldn't resist) I don't Up/down comments that I am involved in a reply or series of replies with.
Like
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
24 September 2012
Anyone saying Lion and ML are like IOS are both blind (Launchpad can be safely ignored) and ignorant (It's still a Mac and the OS works like OS X always has, except for additional features, of which all you don't want can be ignored). I moved from Leopard to Lion. There was no learning curve at all. It's a Mac! It just works! Get over it!
Like (4)
dwp-1
15 May 2012
I am very impressed with PDF Nomad. It provides all the features I need to edit, annotate and read all my pdf files. You can even watermark pages with PDF Nomad. It is very feature rich for editing and is even nice just for reading pdf files. I actually switched PDF Nomad to open as my primary PDF application instead of Preview. With PDF Nomad I no longer have to install the bloated Adobe Acrobat anymore. The developer is quick to answer questions and with so many developers giving poor customer service these days it is great to have a developer who actually responds to your questions in a timely manner. Give PDF Nomad a try, I believe you will be very happy.
Like (2)
Version 1.3
Flawwwless
09 May 2012
I'm building a digital archive of all my personal and business administration in Evernote. That means scanning a lot of documents. I do this by scanning large paper stacks into PDF's and cutting them into smaller bits. I tested PDF Nomad for cutting the documents up and found it to work well. What would really make this a killer app for me personally is the ability to send a selection of pages as one document to Evernote directly. It's pretty stable up until now, so I don't recognize it's buggy as others have mentioned. I made it my default PDF viewer on my Mac.
Like (1)
Version 1.3
Prince-Isaac
08 May 2012
I took advantage of the MU Promo and would like to share my very positive experiences with this app and its developer. I had a couple of questions regarding a function that I needed and Antonio responded within an hour - and that was evening his time! We exchanged several emails to pin down my needs and it turned out that PDF Nomad was just the thing for my work. I'm currently putting together a book comprised of three sections; each section is a separate Pages doc. When finished I can export to PDF, then assemble everything in Nomad, do the ToC, set up the page numbering, and then export it as a booklet-sized document ready for a physical print shop to print. Nomad has an outstanding feature set and has within one day become an indispensable tool for me. This is highly recommended if you create small editions, directories, catalogs, whatever. Developer support is top-notch. I couldn't be happier.
Like (1)
Version 1.3
Odysseus
07 May 2012
How does this compare to PDFPen, which has been around a very long time?
Like
Version 1.3
4 answer(s)
sintraworks-1
sintraworks-1
07 May 2012
Have a look at the comments on today's MuPromo where PDF Nomad is featured at a 50% discount. It contains a thread with some answers and links to a forum thread with more answers. Or simply follow this link: http://sintraworks.com/index.php/forums/viewthread/293/
Like (1)
iPoopStore
iPoopStore
18 June 2012
It doesn't compare. This useless software will not work with 10.6!
Like
sintraworks-1
sintraworks-1
19 June 2012
As is made clear in the requirements section above: PDF Nomad is for Mac OS X 10.7 and later. If you can't or won't run 10.7 SintraWorks offers PDFClerk Pro which has a largely overlapping feature set.
Like
Calmeforet
Calmeforet
22 November 2012
Re. iPoopStore: When I see the question "how does this compare to PDF Pen", I want an answer for people who have up to date OS and equipment. Whether it works on somebody's old computer with an outdated OS is irrelevant.
Like (1)
tatami
27 February 2012
I've been experimenting with PDF Nomad since early this year. During that time I've been in regular contact with the developer, highlighting shortcomings and suggesting ideas. I've found hi to be courteous, helpful and responsive. I've now bought the application and made it my default .pdf viewer. I recommend it.
Like (1)
Version 1.2.1
1 answer(s)
Forn
Forn
12 April 2012
Can PDF Nomad compress, optimize or shrink PDFs?
Like
Istra
20 February 2012
does this app. allow importing from the scanner?
Like
Version 1.2
2 answer(s)
sintraworks-1
sintraworks-1
27 February 2012
Currently there is no such option. You can use Preview to import from the scanner and process the PDF produced by Preview in PDF Nomad.
Like (1)
sintraworks-1
sintraworks-1
26 May 2013
Starting with version 2, you can scan directly into PDF Nomad.
Like
chowza
20 January 2012
Functions well and provides the capabilities I need. Oddly, nowhere within the app (inc. under About, Prefs., Help, etc.) have I been able to find a payment/registration link, or for that matter, even a link to the owner's site. I had to search for the product on MacUpDate, then click on the developer's link there to get to it. Guess you folks aren't too eager for us to buy your product, huh?? ;-)
Like
Version 1.1
1 answer(s)
sintraworks-1
sintraworks-1
02 February 2012
That has was remedied in 1.1. We are actually quite keen on people buying our products. :-) Thanks for the heads-up.
Like (2)
ScienceGuy
19 January 2012
Tried it and found it very, very buggy. Crashed several times in a few minutes on pretty innocuous operations on a small PDF. I found the program limited - customization of the toolbar, ability to fill annotations, the inability to add individual pages from an external file without adding the whole file, etc. I was unimpressed.
Like (1)
Version 1.1
1 answer(s)
sintraworks-1
sintraworks-1
19 January 2012
There are indeed some teething problems, which we apologize for. Hard work is being done to squash them. As regards the annotations: they can be filled. The color menu on the annotation toolbar has a "Fill Color…" menu item, which brings up the color panel so that you can choose a fill color. To add individual pages from another PDF document, open the other document in PDF Nomad and then drag the desired pages from its page list to the page list in the target document.
Like (2)
Phylo
13 January 2012
Tried it, does what it says, efficient . Bought it to fill my subscriptions.
Like (1)
Version 1.0.1
Lumac52
12 January 2012
Looks excellent. I tried loading a 5000+ page PDF and I am delighted to report that it loaded and handled briskly (much faster than other PDF software I've tried). Saving changes to the document also suprisingly quick. My only criticism so far is that the demo version adds an obtrusive watermark upon save without any warning (that I could discern). Luckily I edited a backup copy. But no matter --- this looks like good, solid software that would probably be worth buying.
Like (1)
Version 1.0
4 answer(s)
sintraworks-1
sintraworks-1
12 January 2012
Indeed, that was an unfortunate oversight on our part. We will shortly release an update that addresses this issue.
Like (2)
sintraworks-1
sintraworks-1
13 January 2012
To clarify: In demo mode direct saving is actually disabled. Only Save As is available. In version 1.0.1 we will change Save As to issue a warning and append the string "(Demo)" automatically to the filename to minimize the possibility of mistakenly overwriting the original file while running in demo mode.
Like
Lumac52
Lumac52
13 January 2012
Thanks for the clarification. While you're correct that saving directly from the file menu is disabled in demo mode, there is a loophole: after making changes to a document, if I close it, a dialog window comes up asking whether I want to save the changes. If I select "OK", then the original file gets saved with the watermark.
Like (1)
sintraworks-1
sintraworks-1
13 January 2012
Version 1.0.1 is now available: among other things, it fixes the Save As issue, as well as the behavior when closing a modified file.
Like (2)