Back to Beamer page
Beamer free download for Mac

Beamer Reviews

3.3.4
08 April 2019

Stream any movie file from your Mac to Apple TV or Chromecast.

Patoche
18 April 2014

Most helpful

Beamer 1 was the best, Beamer 2 is perfect ;-) What I like the most, is the ability now to have playlist, quick forward and the pause and restart where left... Bravo the developer. Pat
Like (4)
Version 2.0

Read 113 Beamer User Reviews

Rate this app:

Don't waste your money and time on this app because the developer has clearly abandoned it. Beamer now offers virtually no functionality. It requires the user to constantly start and restart it and after awhile, the few controls built into it (play, stop, skip back, skip forward) have stopped responding.
Like
Version 3.3.4
Cortig
26 October 2018
The app works amazingly well for me. I can basically drop any video on it and get it on my AppleTV through AirPlay. No problem in Mojave once you add it to the Accessibility preferences.
Like
Version 3.3.3
TheRealHershey
10 October 2018
IT DOES WORK ON MOJAVE! You just need to use AppCleaner to uninstall it, then reinstall it, and manually go into System Preferences > Security & Privacy > Privacy > Accessibility and check Beamer, then launch it.
Like
Version 3.3.2
kosovarnye@yahoo-com
15 September 2018
Was once a very satisfied user, but am now sick of this app! Numerous bugs (on my 4g Apple TV, 2014 iMac and most recent OS) have already been mentioned and contacting support from this maker seems pointless since most who've tried report that they get no response. Worst of all, I've found Beamer sporadically refuses to play even common .mp4 and .avi movie files and if it does, it plays them only for a few minutes and then disconnects. At this price, there should be regular bug fixes and updates, but that doesn't seem to be the case. Shame on you Tupil!
Like
Version 3.3.2
1 answer(s)
kosovarnye@yahoo-com
kosovarnye@yahoo-com
07 December 2018
Every month that has passed since my last review of Beamer has only shown more bugs and unreliability to crop up. Beamer used to be "mostly stable," but now it barely ever fiunctions. Either iota chokes on certain file types, or it starts up never to stream ANY video to AppleTV or it will start to play most video formats, only to stop 1-2 seconds later. I regret the hours and dollars I have wasted on this app and wonder if the developer has no shame since (s)he appears to be incognito regarding updates or answering paying customers' appeals for assistance. All my software and hardware have been the most up-to-date. Moral of this story: Lillies that fester smell far worse than weeds!
Like
d9tokyo
25 July 2018
Contacted customer support 3 times and no reply - and I am a paying customer. Horrible, or should I say non-existent customer support. Crashes on installation with Mojave. Not recommended.
Like (1)
Version 3.3.2
Djefis
14 April 2018
My opinion is that this version does not work perfectly, it constantly loses the Wi-Fi connection with Apple TV 4K.
Like (1)
Version 3.3.2
1 answer(s)
lazr5943
lazr5943
21 July 2018
I am having the same problem and failed to get a reply from Beemer's customer support. Surprising!
Like
wboweng10
27 February 2018
This is a gem of a little application that comes in very handy on my 2010 MacPro which does not support AirPlay as fully as later generation Macs. It does what it is supposed to do and is a snap to use.
Like
Version 3.3.2
Bigboysdad
18 December 2017
"Just works" with Apple TV and also works perfect with Chromecast - but make sure you tick the Googlecast Use Multichannel AAC Audio box or it won't work.
Like
Version 3.3.2
Purps
07 July 2017
Simple and intuitive. Thanks.
Like
Version 3.3.2
Remi
23 June 2017
I use Beamer from the day one and I pay for every Upgrade. I love it, but, I tried the Airflow app of my girlfriend because she have bought Chromecast and Beamer app crashed every 30 minutes.
Airflow app is awesome. It's free at the moment and works perfect. Has live preview and many more. I love Airflow. Its really great. Beamer is not free and don't have many functions what Airflow.
http://airflowapp.com
Like
Version 3.3
1 answer(s)
Purps
Purps
07 July 2017
Dude, what are you talking about? You sound like an Airflow shill. You lost me at "and don't have many functions what Airflow" ... which isn't a sentence and I'm assuming you meant it doesn't have the functions that Airflow has, which is utter crap. Airflow has zero functions. It's basically a drag and drop app. It does work, but it doesn't have nearly as many functions as Beamer does, which leads me to believe your review is garbage.

Beamer does sometimes crash, but rarely. Airflow is okay, but sometimes won't even recognize my Apple TV. Beamer is worth every penny, but if you're short on cash, definitely give Airflow a try. But don't try and downplay Beamer. The two don't compare.
Like
Pjn
03 June 2017
Installed the beta pre release version, and this one works on my 4th gen Apple TV. I'm very happy, got my beamer app back :)
Like
Version 3.2
Mindplay
02 May 2017
The app looks nice and is very intuitive. Finds my chromecast no problem, but performance is very bad. I mean, it's worst than any other software, commercial and open source that I tried. The stream interrupts every couple of seconds and makes casting almost any media a nightmare... All other apps streamed the very same media without an issue. I own a license since v2, and I hoped v3 would change but unfortunately I can never use it.
Like
Version 3.2
HowardN6107
29 March 2017
The current version of Beamer will not work with the 4th generation Apple TV running the latest update of Apple TV OS. After much time digging around the developer's website, I found their solution: download and reinstall a previous version of Apple TV's operating system. Of course you have to have a USB C cable, which I don't. Even if I did have the cable, their solution is not for me. Very disappointed that the software is not updated and especially disappointed that their support does not reply to questions submitted to them. Beamer WAS a great app (5 stars plus), but without an update, it's dead. I have installed the VLC app on my Apple TV and set it up for drag, drop and play of my videos. It works like Beamer used to work.
Like (1)
Version 3.2
3 answer(s)
HowardN6107
HowardN6107
29 March 2017
The developer finally did respond and indicated that they are investigating a fix for the problem. That's good news.
Like
Fightingcat
Fightingcat
23 April 2017
I ask the dev. over Mail around a week ago and didn't get any answer yet. Still waiting for a fix :-(
Like
HowardN6107
HowardN6107
23 April 2017
There seems to be no news of an update. Very disappointed. I'm getting used to the VLC Apple App and actually like the fact that the entire file you are viewing is cached on the Apple TV and easily removed when done viewing. This completely releases my laptop from process after it is cached. The only thing I don't like is that you can't resume a video without instructing Siri to skip ahead to the point which you last were viewing.... have to remember the time when interrupting the viewing process.
Like
Mvcl
16 March 2017
The current version as of this writing (3.2) is great! It reliably beams my videos from my laptop to the Apple TV in my house (gen 3) perfectly. One Feature they are totally missing is a control over ASPECT RATIO. My TV is unable to change its display well enough to compensate for the occasional video which is at 1280 pixels but gets displayed at 1920. UGH... people are stretched horizontally to look totally like fat robot android creatures. Beamer makers/Tupil guys Ben Lenarts & Eelco Lempsink: Give us some settings for this, please!
Like
Version 3.2
Remi
25 December 2016
I love this App!
Like
Version 3.2
kosovarnye@yahoo-com
02 October 2016
Problem solved.
Like
Version 3.1.2
JohnnyFave
16 August 2016
Outstanding piece of software for running movies from my Mac directly to my AppleTV. VERY EAST to use!
Like
Version 3.1.2
Jcourtland
09 July 2016
I really like it. A piece of software that does one thing... but does that one thing really well. I think it's a little costly, but ahhhh what can you do. If I could request a feature, it would be: ability to play files by providing a http location
Like (1)
Version 3.1.2
Djefis
20 March 2016
Fantastic software, exactly what I needed.
Like (1)
Version 3.1.2
Dana-Sutton
19 January 2016
I don't understand how this app. works. Say your Mac is in one place in the house and your Apple TV in another (let's say your rec room) -- do you have to start the video from your Mac and then make a mad dash for your rec room, or can you access videos from your Apple TV?
Like
Version 3.0.4
1 answer(s)
AustenP1338
AustenP1338
04 February 2016
You can't view videos from your ATV (Unless it's a 4, and you use Plex). But you can pause the video from the app and so you can un-pause it with the ATV remote when you get to the TV. Thus, avoiding the need to make a mad dash.
Like
ashishmm
06 January 2016
Issues resolved, Thanks Beamer.
Like
Version 3.0.3
Lopoz
24 December 2015
Been a Beamer user since v1 and loved it all the way :) Plays any video/audio format I throw at it, uses external and/or internal subs, playback picks up where you left off. It's awesome.
Like (2)
Version 3.0.3
ashishmm
11 December 2015
Unlike mirror option on apple TV, this requires broad band internet connection. If you don't have one it won't play. I can't use it over a 1 Mbps connection where apple TV mirroring works perfectly.
Like
Version 3.0.2
2 answer(s)
Lopoz
Lopoz
24 December 2015
An Internet connection is not even required for the app to work, so I'm not sure why you're having trouble... You do need a proper WiFi network.
Like
AustenP1338
AustenP1338
04 February 2016
An Internet Connection isn't required, but a good router and stable LAN connection is.
Like
LKN G-Man
02 December 2015
This is the way you want to stream video. I had another application that I was happy with, but it didn't seem that intuitive to me. It worked well, so I wasn't looking to replace it. I purchased a software bundle that included Beamer. As soon as I tried it I never went back. A couple of months later version 3 was released. I possibly was the first person to upgrade. Version 2 had no deficiencies, but it was so great I wanted to see what the next level was like: smoother, faster. If you just want to drag and drop your video file and watch it on your player device then Beamer is for you.
Like
Version 3.0.1
anonymous-crocodile-3203
01 December 2015
Great solution for streaming directly from a Mac to an Apple TV or Chromecast. Easy to use and great picture and sound quality.
Like
Version 3.0.1
Noivad
23 November 2015
I upgraded to V3 after the snag was ironed out. This version is as reliable (maybe more) than the prior version. The picture quality is very good when fed a good quality file. Frankly the UI, and ease of drag and drop list re-org and additions make this a true “Mac” Application. The UI’s feedback is great and snappy. It works fine with the Apple Remotes, and scrubbing back and forth is accurate as well. On my 802.11AC network (even though the laptop has only 802.11N), reload times after scrubbing are fast enough to avoid that annoying delay one gets when streaming Netflix or Hulu when you jog back a few seconds.

About the only thing that would make Beamer better is if it could be launched from the 4th Gen AppleTV via a tvOS app, and load a preset folder to chose videos from so you could leave the computer locked or alone. But this “wish list/bonus” feature would probably a v3.5 or v4 feature, or maybe a $2–5 tvOS companion app?

FYI:
I occasionally get dropouts where the App disconnects from the device or it initially can’t access the device until I reboot my 4th Gen AppleTV or the laptop, but this happens across all streaming from both the net and my computer, and even my Bluetooth Gamepad controller has problems initially connecting sometimes. (This I blame on xOS 9’s & OS X 10.10+ known problematic network stack.)

So, I can’t ding a developer for flakey network reliability of the AppleTV, nor the occasional 2.4gHz band noise spikes in my area (which seem mostly responsible for the disconnects). In case you’re wondering: I have a good 802.11AC router with beam forming going through 2.25* walls and a noise floor below ~-80dbm with average RSSI of <-60 (-54 to -58). So noise spikes can sometimes drop it below the ~12dbm S:N it seems to require to prevent dropouts. (I’ll probably mount the router in a better place if noise increases in my area & I get knocked off more frequently—that or go back to the 90s Ethernet setup I had a few residences ago.)

* the .25 means one “wall” is a cabinet wall less than half the thickness of a wall.
Like
Version 3.0
joe-exp
21 November 2015
IF you have Videos or Movies you want to stream to your Apple TV or Google Chrome, this is the App you need. Works fantastically well with a whole range of formats. Could not live without it!!
Very responsive developer!
Like
Version 3.0
Dominique
20 November 2015
very good software !
Like
Version 3.0
1 answer(s)
Baannongdong-Kap
Baannongdong-Kap
23 November 2015
The posting is not "free," it says $30 for the app.
Like
ew-1
10 November 2015
i just updated my beamer 2 to version 3 with a pay what you like upgrade. After updating my late 2009 mac mini to OSX Yosemite, i now have the smooth functionality i hoped for in streaming video to apple TV. This is a very much improved result from my previous config, with no buffering lags during play and full resolution on streaming a 4Gb avi movie. I have not updated my AirParrot app to do the same function because beamer now finally works fine, highly recommended.
Like (1)
Version 2.1.3
Noivad
07 November 2015
Not version 2. Only offers version 3 on site and through the DL link here. Seems like an oversight to not make old versions available for DL. My old HD died, and my apps were not backed up (since you can usually re-DL apps). But, You can’t DL the older 2.0 version. So I can't reinstall and reregister to get the upgrade (and the 3.0 upgrade process requires me to drag in some sort of license file that might or might not be among my backups). I am stuck until the developer gets back to me. (sad since I would qualify for a free upgrade.) Until now, this was my favorite Mac-to-AppleTV streamer of the 4 or 5 others I tried. Will be sad if I can’t use it anymore.
Like
Version 2.1.3
2 answer(s)
ew-1
ew-1
10 November 2015
i saw a link on the upgrade page for reverting to pre version 3 editions
Like (1)
Noivad
Noivad
23 November 2015
That was added after contact with the developer, FYI. So, it is more an example of how responsive the developer is, than my experience at the time of posting. The good news is the Dev & I had a series of messages back and forth which helped him modify the site for those people in my situation.
Like
Dominique
06 November 2015
La version 3.0 vient de sortir en beta. Upgrade gratuit pour ceux qui ont la 2.0. Support de Apple TV 4, semble-t-il...
Like
Version 2.1.3
seba-szwarc
05 November 2015
Not working with new Apple TV. Device is not detected.
Like
Version 2.1.3
Dominique
26 October 2015
Very good product. Simple. Efficient. Very useful ! I recommend.
Like
Version 2.1.3
J. A. G.
06 August 2015
a must for most
Like
Version 2.1.3
Purps
24 July 2015
Perfect. This is my favorite way to play ripped/downloaded movies on AppleTV. There is no lag AT ALL ... even when playing huge, lossless MKV rips from Blu-ray from MakeMKV. Worth every penny.
Like
Version 2.1.3
Jonstuck
24 July 2015
Works every time. Does exactly what it says it will do and it does it well.
Like
Version 2.1.3
pedrotaquelim
28 June 2015
Anyone with the queue in Beamer (to watch videos in succession) not working?
I put 2 or more videos in the queue and when the first one ends, Apple TV screen just goes black and nothing happens. I to click "back" on the Apple TV remote and leave the couch to go to the Mac click Play on the next video.
Thanks!
Like
Version 2.1.2
PS6096
17 April 2015
simple, elegant, versatile. Must have for Apple TV owners.
Like (1)
Version 2.1
delrei
28 March 2015
Well... Am I the only one disappointed with Beamer 2? The older version (Beamer 1) have a much better image quality. I bought Beamer 2, but still use the older version. Already sent lots of emails to Beamer Support, but no answer yet. Comparing the 2 version's image, you can clearly see the difference.
Like
Version 2.1
Jweisbin
15 March 2015
Fantastic app, love it. Under Yosemite though, sometimes it can't connect to my Apple TV (3rd gen) unless I restart the Apple TV and the computer. Otherwise, perfect.
Like (1)
Version 2.1
1 answer(s)
J0rn0r
J0rn0r
23 July 2015
Most of these issues should be gone if you update your mac to 10.10.4 (better yet all your macs). Has to do with the network stack (don't really understand these things but you can google it) that apple reverted back to the one used before yosemite. Just update your macs and I'm sure it helps a lot. If I remember correctly, the developer of beamer even mentioned to do that himself...
Like
richb1993
28 February 2015
Absolutely fantastic companion app to the AppleTV and essential if you own one. Beamer is beautifully simple. Drag a media file - any media file, be it an MKV with weird formats inside it, an MP4, an AVI; pretty much anything you can think of, and watch it play on your TV. Beamer re-encodes the file to play on your AppleTV. The quality of encoding is excellent, and allows obscure formats to be watched on the big screen with ease. Furthermore, if your file is already in a format that AppleTV natively supports, it'll simply pipe the file to it without re-encoding, resulting in higher quality and less workload on your Mac. Simply put, this software is a must have.
Like
Version 2.0.7
Morlo
27 January 2015
i agree with bigboysdad, the 2.0.7 version works sometimes, but mostly doesn't.. it shows the apple tv but can't play the video... you click on the play button but nothing happens... tried changing preferences , restarting, playing different videos without success.
Like (1)
Version 2.0.7
3 answer(s)
pedrotaquelim
pedrotaquelim
01 February 2015
It works for me. I just have to wait a few seconds before it starts streaming. Sometimes it takes more then 10/15 seconds, depending on the size/quality of the film.
Like
Kobalt
Kobalt
17 February 2015
@ pedrotaquelim

Glad it works just fine for you, but I'm with walo. Mostly Beamer 2.0.7 won't do anything when I get back from making a cuppa between shows, or plays the last second of the last played show.

I have to go back to my Mac in another room, close the Beamer window with the last show, open a new window and drag the next show into it.

Yeah, when Beamer works, it works fine, but when it doesn't, it's a PITA.

However, reading some of the previous comments, I might try making a playlist, although I prefer to just randomly browse through my Mac video folder.
Like
Kobalt
Kobalt
17 February 2015
Oh, forgot to mention, I'm using Beamer via my iPad. Just in case that makes a diff somehow.
Like
Forn
17 December 2014
Playlists? Since when? Can I now add more than one video? The missing playlist and the steep price was the reason for me to not buy it. To Macupdate: plz move that stupid INSTALL NOW MACUP DEKTOP thing away an replace it with the link to de developer.
Like
Version 2.0.7
1 answer(s)
Genis
Genis
17 December 2014
Playlists since v 2.0...
Like
Bigboysdad
13 December 2014
Version 2.07 just doesn't work. I would hate to see anyone throw $15 away, trial it first..
Like
Version 2.0.6
1 answer(s)
Genis
Genis
17 December 2014
It works for me (like always since version 1.x, by the way). Of course, it's best to try it first.

I've only have had problems when my router messed up with a dozen DHCP addresses (Macs, iPhones, iPads and AppleTV). I solved it with manual addresses.
Like
Poppayanke
06 December 2014
None of MacUpdate's listings are showing reviews or comments.
Like
Version 2.0.6
Danmarc
25 August 2014
Love the simplicity of the device, drag and drop works very well for this kind of app. There are basic features like subtitles audio track (similar to VLC). Not much but all that is needed to transfer to Apple TV. Nice not having to convert some of the files and go via iTunes as in the past (Handbrake etc).
Like
Version 2.0.3
Pipkato
24 August 2014
How do I apply the licence? I like the app but there's no info on applying the registration code and all attempts don't work. When I try to import the licence code from an exported PDF of my licence code the file is greyed out.
Like
Version 2.0.3
1 answer(s)
Molamola
Molamola
26 September 2014
If you order you get an email which links to a licence file, download it and open it with beamer. If you lost the licence file, you can receive a new mail / licence file on the beamer homepage using your order number. It s pretty simple and most people seem to be able to master this - I don't see why this is a reason for a 1 star rating.
Like (4)
OlegT2047
13 July 2014
One of my favorite apps. Just works. I can watch almost any video on my TV without iTunes
Like
Version 2.0.3
When you need movies fast and easy with 100% reliability use BEAMER to send them to your Apple-TV. This is my go-to app for sending video to my Apple-TV. Beamer has never let me down. Thank you for a great product.
Like (2)
Version 2.0.3
ylluminate
28 June 2014
Just started trialling this, but am very impressed so far by not only the robust simplicity, but also very happy with the capacity to use the standard remote control to control playback. That one point about the remote control had me quite concerned until I just simply tried it on the Apple TV and it did indeed work. Really nice job! Having said that, the remote control is lacking in a couple of areas. I found that I had to hit play on the app itself first on my Mac in order to get the remote to actually start working. Kind of odd. Further, I don't see any way to use the menu or playlist from the remote. It would sure be nice if we could skip videos and click specific ones in the playlist. At the moment none of that seems possible via a remote... Which ultimately left me disappointed.
Like
Version 2.0.2