Back to aTV Flash (black) page
aTV Flash (black) free download for Mac

aTV Flash (black) Reviews

2.6
13 October 2016

Supercharge your second-generation Apple TV.

Most helpful

A l-o-n-g t-i-m-e a-g-o, I suggested maybe FireCore was promoting vaporware because it was promising their software will be compatible with the version 3 AppleTV and if you buy the version compatible with the 2nd gen AppleTV, you would be able to upgrade at no extra charge when the ver 3 software that would work with AppleTV emerges. I got a huge amount of criticism for that and was voted down many times. (I can guess by whom and for what reason!) Now how many years have passed? The very minor functional upgrades like "New! Croatian localizations" and "New! Improved metadata fetching"? FireCore used to even advertise the words "COMING SOON!" but they took that down, I suppose they were concerned about legal difficulties. Some said, "But FireCore can't do it without the JB!" The answer, again, is why is the developer promising something over which they have no control and they're not offering to do a JB of their own. Anyone who shells out $30 for this , hoping one day to actually use it with hardware that isn't 4 or 5 years old is, well, they probably voted for Mamma Grizzly.
Like (6)
Version 2.3

Read 35 aTV Flash (black) User Reviews

Rate this app:

hugelshofer
10 January 2014
Useless if the Seas0nPass Jailbreak is broken!
Like
Version 2.3
1 answer(s)
hugelshofer
hugelshofer
10 January 2014
btw, speaking about Seas0nPass 0.9.5
Like
Lounge-Deluxe
05 January 2014
Overall I'm satisfied with aTVFlash but now I'm at a point where I have to extend my 'subscription' for yet another 30 bucks. No discount or anything for existing customers, and I have to admit I'm annoyed by this business model. I would drop aTVFlash instantly because of this and run to a suitable competitor when it does show up on the market, surely this isn't the business objective of aTVFlash I presume.
Like
Version 2.3
A l-o-n-g t-i-m-e a-g-o, I suggested maybe FireCore was promoting vaporware because it was promising their software will be compatible with the version 3 AppleTV and if you buy the version compatible with the 2nd gen AppleTV, you would be able to upgrade at no extra charge when the ver 3 software that would work with AppleTV emerges. I got a huge amount of criticism for that and was voted down many times. (I can guess by whom and for what reason!) Now how many years have passed? The very minor functional upgrades like "New! Croatian localizations" and "New! Improved metadata fetching"? FireCore used to even advertise the words "COMING SOON!" but they took that down, I suppose they were concerned about legal difficulties. Some said, "But FireCore can't do it without the JB!" The answer, again, is why is the developer promising something over which they have no control and they're not offering to do a JB of their own. Anyone who shells out $30 for this , hoping one day to actually use it with hardware that isn't 4 or 5 years old is, well, they probably voted for Mamma Grizzly.
Like (6)
Version 2.3
3 answer(s)
Essadee
Essadee
03 July 2013
To be fair, they have to wait for other people to actually make a jailbreak possible. There hasn't been enough traction on an exploit for Apple TV 3 and they can't very well launch a product that can't be installed, can they?
Like
Slyrobber
Slyrobber
03 July 2013
Kosovar dude!!!! let it go. I also bought it, I'm a little disappointed but I blame Apple for making it hard to JB and thus greatly limiting the sales os ATV3. too bad for Apple. You are acting like the idiot who took a fit at the movie theatre one day cause I was whispering to my friend about this bad movie. He kept on insisting on hushing us so I took a 20$ crushed it threw it at him and told him to go buy a copy of the shitty film and go screw himself. Need I say more?
Like
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
15 July 2015
@ Skyrobber, you blame Apple for making it hard to jail break an ATV? lolol

Did it ever occur to you that Apple doesn't want you to do that?

And here we are two years later...
Like
KWESTboogieNYC
02 July 2013
while this app is excellent for most 2nd gen apple tv people....the question still remains: where's the JB for 3rd gen apple tv? ....
Like
Version 2.3
Several more months pass and neither FireCore nor anyone else can produce a JB that will allow ATV Flash (black) to work with the 3 gen Apple TVs. Seems my predictions were correct and even my critics who backed up FireCore have fallen silent. If I accomplished nothing else, my vocal criticism might have persuaded FC to take the deceptive promise, "Coming soon!", off their website. They will not (and probably cannot) produce software that will work with the 3 gen AppleTVs.
Like (3)
Version 2.2
Forn
12 April 2013
Sorry, but installing FC results in pure stress. And when you finally have it, you cannot install Media Player etc. on 10.7.
Like
Version 2.2
kosovarnye@yahoo-com
26 February 2013
The latest version of the Evasion jailbreak didn't even attempt to jb the AppleTV. Firecore promised on its website ("Coming Soon!") that a version of aTV Flash that works with the 3rd Generation was forthcoming even though they're not the ones making the jailbreak. I don't care if the entire staff of Firecore votes me down for speaking the truth, but nothing changes the fact that aTV Flash is useless for any AppleTV preceding Gen 2. (Incidentally, the next version of iOS (6.1.3 version 2 beta) breaks Evasion. I feel sorry for all the peeps with a 3 gen AppleTV who bought aTV Flash in advance, expecting the imminent release of a version of the software that would work for them. It's not as if Firecore didn't lead them on, small print caveats notwithstanding.
Like
Version 2.2
Christel1987
20 January 2013
IMO the best for jailbreak AppleTV2. Now I wish we could do the same to the 3th gen ATV.
Like (4)
Version 2.1
kosovarnye@yahoo-com
12 January 2013
NewsFlash: aTV Flash Black 2.1 has just been released. The folks at FireCore have been promising ("Coming soon!") an update to this utility that would work with the 3rd Generation AppleTV. The truth is that the developer cannot--or never intended--to produce a version of ATV Flash that could work with the 3rd generation AppleTV, despite all their promises. I think they lied to us to make more money and a lot of customers are screwed. Someone should bring a class-action lawsuit against LiarCore.
Like (2)
Version 2.0
9 answer(s)
MacUpdate-Ryan
MacUpdate-Ryan
18 January 2013
They absolutely do intend to provide a working version for the 3rd Generation AppleTV. However the software requires a jailbreak, which Firecore does not develop. Once a jailbreak is available for the new Apple TV, Firecore will update their software to support it.
Like (6)
Scorpio995
Scorpio995
18 January 2013
Don't agree Like other said, need a jb first, if no one can jb (coz iphone 5and ATV3 still are hard to jb), there is no aTV flash for ATV3
Like (4)
kosovarnye@yahoo-com
kosovarnye@yahoo-com
18 January 2013
Ryan, I appreciate your optimism, but it's still unconscionable and a deception to promise that aTV Flash will work with the 3rd Gen AppleTV when the company that makes aTV Flash is dependent on someone else to make the product work. What is a JB is not forthcoming? What if it's not even possible with the 3G? Will FireCore apologize and return everybody's $30 or will they devise their own JB and include it with their product? I highly doubt it.
Like
ThatSoundGuy
ThatSoundGuy
18 January 2013
Kosovar1, fireCore is not to blame. You should have looked at the system requirements for the software before purchasing. On the home page for aTV Flash (black) they state that it is currently only compatible with the 2nd generation apple tv, but will work towards a compatible version for the 3rd generation. They made compatibility of their software clear to consumers, and it is not their fault if someone did not read the system requirements for compatibility. They owe you nothing
Like (2)
kosovarnye@yahoo-com
kosovarnye@yahoo-com
18 January 2013
Was it my imagination when, just a few days ago, I read the words "Coming Soon" on FireCore's website in regards to the "promised" 3rd Gen AppleTV-compatible update? It was there, plain as day, for at least six months. Today, I can't find those words written there anymore. If you guys are all wrong, defending FireCore for making a promise it can't ensure, and it turns out that no jailbreak is forthcoming, then I hope you will enjoy crow.
Like (1)
Chas-m
Chas-m
18 January 2013
The proof -- should any be needed -- that you are either a troll or a nitwit comes from your failure to report their response when you CONTACTED FireCore, explained that you bought the product hoping a 3G jb would come along soon, it hasn't and so you request a refund. You've never mentioned it, so I must assume you decided to behave like a spoiled brat rather than take the rational course of action that any normal person would. You're exactly the sort of customer most software developers (rightly) avoid marketing to. You don't understand the product requirements and bought it on the HOPE of something changing in the future, not because it met your present needs. Then, when it fails to be magical, you badmouth it when in fact the "problem" with it lives in your shaving mirror. Five bucks says they'd give you a refund if you asked, but of course you haven't because you prefer whining to actually following a logical course of action.
Like (5)
kosovarnye@yahoo-com
kosovarnye@yahoo-com
19 January 2013
Chas, without wasting time on details, I assure you that you're mistaken on every one of your assertions. That would make the nitwit...who? Also, you did not address the issue of what happened to the FireCore promise "Coming soon" that no longer appears on their website and the fact that they cannot promise this if they are depending on someone else for the jailbreak. Simple logic.
Like
kosovarnye@yahoo-com
kosovarnye@yahoo-com
04 February 2013
Oh dear, did the entire staff of Firecore vote me down? I feel so misunderstood! Anyway, Evasion 1.0.0 was released today. The developer claims it jailbreaks "all iOS devices," but...oops!... AppleTV is not listed among those devices. Guess you guys who've been depending on someone to jailbreak the Gen 3 AppleTV might HAVE TO WAIT ANOTHER YEAR (or a hundred).
Like
kosovarnye@yahoo-com
kosovarnye@yahoo-com
14 February 2013
Yee-haw, folks!!! FireCore sent me an advert today, trumpeting that they just released an updated version of ATV Flash (Black) and it works with the new AppleTV software. Big deal! IT STILL DOESN'T WORK WITH THE 3rd GENERATION APPLETV. When are you people (all 9 of you who probably work for a certain software developer and who obsessively vote me down) going to admit ATV Flash (Black) probably never will work with the shing new AppleTV? The developer still wants to sell you their software and promise you the moon. Coming soon! Coming soon!
Like
Sheagirl
21 August 2012
This software is the best. It took the Apple TV and made it worth having. I was not a fan of being locked into either buying all my movies from the iTunes Store or having to add all my movies to iTunes. I have a large (very large) library and I gave up on storing everything in iTunes a couple of years ago. It is just to bloated and lacking in features. iTunes is fine for music and movies at my desktop (even though I'd rather use VLC or Movist). I was just about to dump my old ATV when I bought aTV Flash and I just bought my second ATV. It adds navigation features, add on apps and streams from my network drive with all ease. In the beginning updating was not so intuitive but that has changed especially with the wireless updates. This well worth the price and they have a generous upgrade policy. My only complaint is that they have not released the program for the new 1080p ATV yet. I think this is because they are waiting on iOS 6 but while anxious I can't withhold from my review because of that.
Like (1)
Version 1.7
1 answer(s)
gimparoo
gimparoo
11 September 2012
I added all my movies to an external 1TB HD that is going through a FireWire/USB hub and all 650 movies converted fast and I aliased the library to the one on my Mac. it works like a charm and was so simple to convert 50 at a time. Let it go all night and start the next night doing the same. So adding the movies is a no issue..... But I will add this Flash and have that much more. Plus I am in the middle of converting/transferring another 300+ to a 2TB HD and transfer all to it. Just my 2centsworth! of course. I just picked up the ATV3 so it will look even better. Plus the new flash on the ATV2..... who needs to get all the services that are out there. Fantastic!!
Like (1)
Greedyfranky
01 June 2012
Injected new live into my "old" AppleTV AWESOME AWESOME AWESOME. Worth the low asking price. Thanks to the developers !!!
Like (1)
Version 1.6
piquadratpi2
26 May 2012
Wonderful! Finally it's available with an untehthered jailbreak of 5.1.1 too! Even if I don't like the new GUI very much. But I think as always: a very great work! Thanks to the developers...
Like (1)
Version 1.5.1
Dawda
18 April 2012
I hope it's ok to ask for features here. What would help me that don't live in sweden is the ability to connect directly to a VPN from the apple TV iOS it self. I'm doing it with my iPhone so wouldn't it be possible for the Apple TV to do so too?.. with a little help from your overcharged brains! :) B.R.
Like
Version 1.5
1 answer(s)
Dawda
Dawda
18 April 2012
hah.. Don't live in USA i mean :)
Like
RTouris
18 April 2012
This is an excellent piece of software of professional quality..It does at least what it says on the tin, maybe even more! Customer support is also a strong point, since a few quirks and bugs are squashed over continuous software updates that are rolled out on a steady basis... ...overall couldn't be happier! If only there was a way to install small apps on AppleTV on top of this polished Apple-like interface, this would have been a 5-star rating..
Like (1)
Version 1.5
Sp0radic
31 March 2012
If I install this does that mean I shouldn't install any apple updates on the apple tv?
Like
Version 1.4.1
1 answer(s)
Surfspirit
Surfspirit
31 March 2012
yes
Like (1)
Joochen
19 January 2012
Well, I cannot see any advantages from aTV Flash to the combination of nitoTV and XBMC - only those two are for free, zero bucks. This manual here guided me to the same features without paying 30$: http://pc.de/web/apple-jailbreak-xbmc-3038 (german only, google for english version)
Like (2)
Version 1.2
Ralph-Schwegler
18 January 2012
i bought atv flash (black) thru the mu specials. i got version 1.1.1 how can i download version 1.2?
Like
Version 1.2
3 answer(s)
MacUpdate-Ryan
MacUpdate-Ryan
18 January 2012
You can download the newest version from your account page here https://firecore.com/user
Like
Ralph-Schwegler
Ralph-Schwegler
18 January 2012
i cannot find it...
Like
JMAMA
JMAMA
25 January 2012
Hi, I opened a case w/ firecore as well, but I am not getting the response either. I am not sure why, but is it because we did not buy it directly from their website? When I login, it's showing no download, not even the 1.1.1. All the tabs are blank, only thing they allowed me is to change my password, my old posts are gone as well. Quite strange.
Like (1)
Libertyforall1776
23 December 2011
Until they add the ability to play HTML 5 replacement videos for Flash content, ala ClickToFlash, the Couch Surfer component is severely lacking...
Like (2)
Version 1.1.1
chrapp
16 December 2011
Beim installieren immer Error 9100. Nicht zum laufen bekommen!
Like (1)
Version 1.1
3 answer(s)
firecore-llc
firecore-llc
17 December 2011
Hmm, sorry about that. Please open a support ticket and we can help get you back on track. http://firecore.com/contact
Like (3)
chrapp
chrapp
18 December 2011
Wenn ich ein Programm kaufe und mehrere Stunden damit verbringe es erfolglos zu installieren habe ich keine Lust mehr auch noch eine unterstützungs Karte aufzumachen. Ich habe den Fehler ja mit error9100 beschrieben
Like (3)
Eff
Eff
18 January 2012
MacUpdate ist weder eine deutschsprachige Website, noch ist es ein auch nur annähernd adäquates Vehikel um technischen Support von einer von MacUpdate unabhängigen (ebenfalls nicht deutschsprachigen) Firma zu verlangen. Wenn man zu Besuch auf einer fremdsprachigen Website ist sollte man wenigstens soviel Anstand haben und in der Sprache kommunizieren, die das jeweilige Zielpublikum auch versteht. Und dennoch wundert sich so mancher deutsche Michel wieso die halbe Welt "die Deutschen" als verbohrt und/oder arrogant betrachtet.
Like (2)
Aprilmayjune
15 December 2011
One of the really good aspects of this app is that the jailbreaking and installation instructions are well written with plenty of screenshots. If you have some apprehension about the process check out the guide. The app itself is is exactly as described so there are no surprises. All in all a good experience.
Like (3)
Version 1.1
zaydon
13 December 2011
Doesn't mention, but I assume this offer is for one year of updates for aTV flash? FireCore has mentioned in several places that the full pricing on their website now, $29 for one year, et all is just a pre-release price. So before I get locked into this product, can I assume that in December 2012 I'll be paying a lot higher price to renew ? What happens if Apple TV 3 is released in say march 2012. Will my license transfer? Everyone expects the only difference to be the A5 processor. Which might end up being a challenge to jailbreak anyways.
Like (1)
Version 1.1
1 answer(s)
firecore-llc
firecore-llc
13 December 2011
Updates for one year are included. $19.95 was the pre-order price, but since the release of 1.0 in November the price has been set to the normal level of $29.95. The software will continue to work if your license has expired - you may just not have access to some of the newer features. When (or if) an ATV3 is released nobody knows, but when the ATV2 came out we allowed all ATV1 users to upgrade free of charge. It's likely we'll be doing something similar if the same scenario arises in the future.
Like
Tarentaise
12 December 2011
Before buying TV Flash (black) I would like to ask the developer if with the Couch Surfer Pro I would be able to open such a link http://www.hubb-tv.com/NET/xslt.aspx?typerubrique=1&rubriqueid=23&elementid=&enregistrementid=&firstenr=&nbenr=&offset=&nbrec=&firstrec=&sessionuniqueid=534d5e7f-26f7-43ed-a3ed-199b837700d6&mailaction=&changeday=&changemonth=&changeYear=&changehour=&changeminute= and install Ray TV in order to access HUBB-TV on Apple TV http://www.hubb-tv.com Thanks for you kind answer.A Alain
Like
Version 1.1
1 answer(s)
firecore-llc
firecore-llc
13 December 2011
HTML5 video streaming is supported, but unfortunately other plugins such as Adobe Flash , MS Silverlight, and Ray TV are not. Sorry.
Like
Lounge-Deluxe
09 December 2011
aTV Flash works like a charm, but I've had nothing but trouble with subtitles so far. It simply doesn't detect separate subtitle files although they have the exact same file name as the movie and the subtitle files are in the same folder as the movie. The same applies to dvd's (either as .iso files or .vob files). Hopefully it will de fixed soon, but again apart from that it works as advertised for me.
Like
Version 1.1
1 answer(s)
alanika
alanika
13 December 2011
I've the same experience before, but very easy to fix it, just go back and re-save the srt file in UTF-8 encoding, it's always works, try it!
Like
69number69
08 December 2011
Awesome for Apple TV 2 owners!
Like
Version 1.1
Popop
08 December 2011
Hmmm... I bought this app few weeks ago and now they want 30 dollars more? Is this an update or is it all new app i have to pay 30 dollars again? Don't get this. If the devs want us to pay ones again it's robbery if not, how do i upgrade my Aapple tv 2?
Like (2)
Version 1.1
2 answer(s)
firecore-llc
firecore-llc
08 December 2011
If you purchased from our site the new version will be available in your account. If the order was placed through MacUpdate the serial number you received will act as a coupon code, allowing you to download the new version at no cost.
Like (1)
Popop
Popop
08 December 2011
Ok, that's nice =) Thanks for quick respond !
Like
oldpoldy
24 November 2011
Ich kann es nicht herunterladen - mache ich etwas falsch? siggi
Like
Version 1.0
oldpoldy
24 November 2011
Ich kann es nicht herunterladen - mache ich etwas falsch? siggi
Like
Version 1.0
gama007
22 November 2011
Great:)
Like
Version 1.0
neetx
18 November 2011
kann es nicht downloden
Like
Version 1.0
3 answer(s)
cwolf
cwolf
21 November 2011
me too. cannot download it.
Like
Gijsbert
Gijsbert
21 November 2011
me too cannot dowlaod it
Like
manfredloe
manfredloe
27 November 2011
Same here: I purchased it but have not received instructions as to how to actually download it. Please help! Thanx a Lot !
Like
Trianoaj
17 November 2011
Unlocks the true potential of Apple TV
Like (1)
Version 1.0
tomkruk
17 November 2011
I purchased it but have not received instructions as to how to actually download it.
Like
Version 1.0
1 answer(s)
manfredloe
manfredloe
27 November 2011
Same here: I purchased it but have not received instructions as to how to actually download it. Please help! Thanx a Lot !
Like
MacUpdate-Mark
17 November 2011
Works great. Jailbreaking with Seas0nPass is super easy and aTV Flash (black) installs wirelessly. Love being able to finally playback all of my HD MKVs that are stored on my network drives.
Like (1)
Version 1.0
Shk747
17 November 2011
my atv2 flashed today shows less folders under mediaplayer, why ?! thanks for advice.
Like
Version 1.0
Bordsenius
17 November 2011
I just got an offer from FireCore to extend my subscription for $29, I payed them for this last year as well. And now I see they sell it for $19 here. It seems they are not big fans of their own customers. The software itself is quite good, it makes the apple TV very much better. You can watch moveis from the filesystem on your macs and pc's, and it has a lot of other functions as well. But it does tend to crash a bit too often, and the jailbreak procedure is not something I would recommend to anyone without a special interest for this sort of thing. But if you are willing to jailbreak your apple TV, it is very nice indeed
Like (2)
Version 1.0
1 answer(s)
firecore-llc
firecore-llc
17 November 2011
The renewal promotion you took advantage of was for both the original aTV Flash and aTV Flash (black). The $19.99 offer here is simply a last chance at the pre-order price - for aTV Flash (black) only - that has been on our site for the past few months
Like
Mcjf
17 November 2011
Been watching it for quite some time now. Looks pretty awesome and gets better (at a slow speed though). I'd buy it. No doubt. But won't just do it yet. A jailbreak is required and anything less than an untethered jailbreak is not for me. One power outage or pulling a plug and I'll have to connect my ATV2 to my computer to boot it. Not cool. Maybe Seas0nPass will be updated in the near future. Or maybe Firecore should release their own jailbreaking tools (untethered) if their software that they hope to make money from requires jailbreaking your ATV. Anyways it's seems like a good piece of work. Will buy it as soon as that untethered JB is out and working.
Like (2)
Version 1.0
5 answer(s)
MacUpdate-Mark
MacUpdate-Mark
17 November 2011
After jailbreaking and installing aTV Flash (black) there is no need to jailbreak again at every boot. I just went and started a movie (720p mkv) on my Apple TV running aTV Flash (black) and pulled the power cord and left it or a minute. Plugged it back in, it booted back up into the aTV flash system and even let me resume the movie from where it stopped. So I am not sure what you are concerned about, jailbreak it once install aTV Flash and you are done. Turn it on, turn it off, unplug it, it works.
Like
Mcjf
Mcjf
17 November 2011
Who said anything about JBing more than once? 'A tethered jailbreak requires that the device be connected to a computer each time it needs to be booted.' [http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/IOS_jailbreaking] What JB tool and version did you use to get an untethered JB of the latest FW? I thought that an >untethered< JB (I'd prefer Seas0nPass) had yet to be released for the >latest< FW of the ATV2. If you have one already, you may want to tell Firecore. I reckon they'll be happy.
Like
MacUpdate-Mark
MacUpdate-Mark
17 November 2011
I used Seas0nPass to jailbreak, then installed aTV Flash (black) wirelessly. Now my Apple TV2 boots and reboots even after a power-down with aTV Flash still installed on it. "One power outage or pulling a plug and I'll have to connect my ATV2 to my computer to boot it. Not cool." If you have aTV Flash (black) installed that is not the case. I have power-cycled my ATV2 several times since installing and everytime it boots still running aTV Flash. So I guess I don't understand why you think you would need to plug your ATV2 in to boot it if you inadvertently powered down.
Like
Lounge-Deluxe
Lounge-Deluxe
17 November 2011
I have to agree with Mcjf as I have to reapply the Seas0nPass jailbreak too every time power to the ATV gets interrupted. Quite annoying.
Like
firecore-llc
firecore-llc
17 November 2011
This will actually depend on the AppleTV software you're currently using. When jailbreaking with Seas0nPass the 4.3 version will be 'untethered' which is a bit more user friendly. For the time being the new 4.4 version is tethered, so it would exhibit the behavior you're describing. Full details on jailbreaking the AppleTV with Seas0nPass can be found here: http://support.firecore.com/entries/387605
Like