Back to Windownaut page
Windownaut free download for Mac

Windownaut Reviews

1.3.1
11 September 2016

Lightweight window manager.

E101
06 March 2012

Most helpful

Next to TotalFinder the most useful addition to Mac OS X in the last years, bringing a great feature of other OSes to the Mac Desktop. Detailed and understandable settings. Nice developer, emailed me today about a fixed issue I reported some time back. I use it every day for more than a month without any serious issues, both issue fixed with version 0.9. No doubt that I will pay for it if it has a reasonable price tag.
Like (3)
Version 0.90

Read 12 Windownaut User Reviews

Rate this app:

Tachy0n
20 October 2015
Windownaut still runs in Yosemite, except you can't use the function where you click on the green button to get the dropdown menu. Because this hasn't been updated and Yosemite just thinks you wanted to use full-screen mode. Maybe if there is a hack to turn that off, Windownaut’s function might work again. For now I will stick with the keyboard shortcuts.
Like
Version 1.2.6
1 answer(s)
hisham-1
hisham-1
11 September 2016
Thanks for your feedback! This issue has been fixed as of version 1.3.1. I've also fixed some other minor issues with 10.10 and 10.11.


Like
Maudlin
31 July 2014
I bought this for the move and resize functions. Unfortunately, these freeze every few minutes and can only be brought back to life by quitting and restarting Windownaut. I can't be doing this every 10-15 minutes throughout the day . The problem occurs with both Mavericks and Snow Leopard. I've emailed the developer for suggestions, but had no response after 3 weeks. I've now bought Zooom2 which costs more - but works, unlike this product.
Like
Version 1.2.6
Aargl
05 June 2014
The last post on the dev's blog being from april 2012, I fear it's another abandonware... :-/
Like (1)
Version 1.2.6
1 answer(s)
Aargl
Aargl
29 August 2015
They don't seem totally dead, though: they were still occasionally posting things on Twitter until last October...
Like
jamessezhi
04 March 2013
Love this application!!
Like
Version 1.2.6
Aargl
22 February 2013
Wow! This little thing does so much! It does more than Cinch and Divvy together for 1/4 of the price! Shortcuts for moving windows to specific positions or even the next Space. Indispensable! (and to answer Mmueck: BTT doesn't seem to do the same things, BetterSnapTool looks more adequate but is not free and only available through Apple Store ;-)
Like
Version 1.2.6
OhEssex
17 May 2012
I haven't tried this software, but I would like to say that a lot of these features are already in BetterTouchTool. BTT also does a lot more neat things with your trackpad and magic mouse, and it's also free :-).
Like (2)
Version 1.2
Hi, excuse me, the 5 stars rating in my review, was for "Shiftit" and not for "Windownaut". For me, Windownaute is overpriced, when i see what i can do with Shiftit for FREE. I had to write a comment, and not a review. A problem of language for me ! F Rol (France)
Like
Version 1.2
1 answer(s)
pcharles
pcharles
15 May 2012
Shiftit appears to be a dead app!
Like (1)
Hi, I tried "Windownaut". Nothing really new in this app. Since years, I use "Shiftit", a great FREE app. very easy to use, doing the same work, without any crash. A simple clic in the menu bar, done ! My Mac OS X SL works very fine with this app. Have a look at : www.shiftit.grapewave.com regards, F Rol (France)
Like
Version 1.2
2 answer(s)
Pir-anha
Pir-anha
08 July 2012
alas today that link ends at a parked domain on hostmonster, with no information whatsoever about "shiftit".
Like
bbw7
bbw7
21 May 2013
Late to the party, I realize, but this app can still be found. Here is one location: http://mac.softpedia.com/progDownload/Shift-It-Download-72219.html Looks like there are google code and github forks for it too.
Like
RavenNevermore
09 May 2012
This is a cool idea, but what I didn't like about it is I was looking for someone that would snap the window to the upper left cover, but leave it the same size. This snaps the window to half the screen, which is smaller than I want. What I wanted this for was to snap Safari back to the upper left when it starts creeping. But still a nifty little app.
Like
Version 1.1
2 answer(s)
hisham-khalifa
hisham-khalifa
10 May 2012
Thanks for your comment. The option you request sounds compelling and we may be able to implement it in a future version. Please contact us via email (support (AT) binarybakery.com) to discuss/test implementation further. Thanks!
Like
Frankns
Frankns
10 May 2012
Have to agree ... this is precisely what I want too. I tend to "pin" my apps the the upper left hand corner, leaving enough room to the right to see a column of icons on my desktop. Then I cycle thru windows as needed. Be great if Windownaut would facilitate this.
Like
iPoopStore
15 March 2012
The only feature I would be interested in was the minimize-in-place feature Windowshade X has. But no such feature in Windownaut. Sorry, I'm old fashioned and like stacking my window title-bars instead of open windows everywhere.
Like
Version 0.965
1 answer(s)
hisham-khalifa
hisham-khalifa
15 March 2012
Thanks for your comment. I'm in fact investigating the possibility of window shading or a similar paradigm (that doesn't depend on system hacks) with Windownaut.
Like
E101
06 March 2012
Next to TotalFinder the most useful addition to Mac OS X in the last years, bringing a great feature of other OSes to the Mac Desktop. Detailed and understandable settings. Nice developer, emailed me today about a fixed issue I reported some time back. I use it every day for more than a month without any serious issues, both issue fixed with version 0.9. No doubt that I will pay for it if it has a reasonable price tag.
Like (3)
Version 0.90
X-User
30 November 2011
I have been testing/using it for about 3 weeks. Seemed stable and could be a useful tool. 1) I sent a email with suggestion to the developer a few weeks ago. NEVER heard back. NO RESPONSE at all. 2) Description says "This beta version is usable until 30-Nov-2011. An updated beta will be released before then so that you may continue using it. " It's 11/29/11 and it won't let me use it. Went to the developer's site to download and there was no new version. Same problem on MacUpdate. Wondering if this developer is serious about this app. BUYERS BEWARE: Think carefully before spending the $8.99 for this app - if the developer plans to follow through and charge that amount for this app.
Like (1)
Version 0.31
3 answer(s)
hisham-khalifa
hisham-khalifa
30 November 2011
Hi there, Thanks for testing out Windownaut. To answer your questions: 1- You're right, I should answer each and every email. While I did answer most emails received, my apologies if I didn't respond to yours. Rest assured that I read each and every email. I've been slowly getting up to speed with the emails sent regarding Windownaut. Are you Phil btw? If so, thanks for all the feedback and suggestions. 2- I'm actually releasing an update tonight. Again, apologies for the delay and inconvenience this may have caused. I will endeavor to push updates faster and sooner than the beta expiry. Also - if any of you need a quick, immediate response, please feel free to GTalk with me at hisham.khalifa [at sign] gmail . com. Kind regards, Hisham @ Binary Bakery
Like (1)
hisham-khalifa
hisham-khalifa
30 November 2011
Please note that a new version (valid up to 30-Dec-2011) has been released a few minutes ago and is now available for download.
Like
X-User
X-User
23 March 2012
I'd like to follow up on my previous comment: 1) Version 0.97 is very stable. Stability was not a problem when I tried before either. 2) The feature I find most useful and most used is the "Move and Resize" (shown in the Preferences > Window Layout). It's so amazing having the ability to move a window many layers behind the front window without having to bring it to the front. It's great to take a quick peek at some background info while you're typing something in the front most window. 3) It may be a little bit overwhelming at first if you enable all the features (Quick Draw Snap, Layout Hotkeys). You may want to disabled them at first then enable them one at time later. 4) Hisham (the developer) responded to me below and he incorporated a "feature" request. It's working very well. THANK YOU!! If you try this app for a couple weeks, chances are you may not be able to use the Mac without it. It has a good chance of being added to the list of my must-have tools.
Like (1)