Back to Clarify page
Clarify free download for Mac

Clarify Reviews

2.0.11
05 February 2018

Capture multiple screenshots into a single document.

JADNC
27 April 2012

Most helpful

Purchased this application via MacUpdate, and obtained a cross platform license so I could run the app on Windows. Before discussing the actual software - the developer is very responsive to questions. And, most importantly the licensing model is perfect and very fair from a cost perspective. The application itself is a little different from a traditional screenshot program - e.g. SnagIt, which I have the most experience with. While I have not use the program extensively, it is an excellent program. Clarify is more focused on creating a "document" of screenshots. Versus grabbing a screenshot, then annotating, then copying into a destination document. Instead of the "normal" 3 shot process - Clarify will grab the screen, and place you into its editor to allow you to: annotate the shot (i.e. add text, arrows, shapes), then add text (i.e. instructions) as if it were a word document. You keep adding shots to the document - and text / information - until you are done. The finished product is a PDF with text, pictures, and instructions. Coming from a SnagIt 3 step process, there is some re-learning to do. So, minus one star since habits are hard to break. But, this is an excellent program and highly recommended. This is a slightly different - but extremely valuable - tool than a traditional screenshot/annotation program. When you add in the developer's responsiveness and the excellent licensing model - its a no brainer. If you need to use screenshots to communicate information to clients, users, or to remember stuff for later this program is well worth a buy.
Like (4)
Version 1.1.1

Read 25 Clarify User Reviews

Rate this app:

Funjoy
13 September 2017
"Clarify desktop software is going to move into maintenance mode." The files site associated with it is being shut down. They've decided to focus on business-oriented ScreenSteps, which now starts at a subscription price of $99/month. See the website for specifics.
Like (2)
Version 2.0.8
1 answer(s)
Bumbleb
Bumbleb
15 September 2017
Thank you for the heads-up. Sad they're discontinuing a unique app.

Fancy meeting you here, btw:)
(in reference to our Byword conversation)
Like
Maclover1-1
16 September 2016
Hello, is this "dying-ware" ? No update for over a year here or on Twitter and Facebook :/
Like (1)
Version 2.0.4
1 answer(s)
Raro
Raro
25 September 2016
Current version is 2.0.5
Like
marcosmoreno
11 February 2015
Just gave it a shot, very very nice!
Like
Version 2.0.3
Damian Weiss
06 August 2014
Warning for all previous users of ScreenSteps 2.9: I just got a mail from the developers of ScreenSteps and Clarify. They say, Clarify 2 was the upgrade path for both Clarify 1 customers as well as ScreenSteps 2 users. As good Clarify 2 may be, its features are far behind from the features offered by ScreenSteps 2.9. So actually, Clarify 2 is a downgrade path for all loyal users of ScreenSteps 2.9. Furthermore, I found no possibility to import lessions of ScreenSteps 2 – so all lessions I made before are lost. Unfortunately, ScreenSteps 3 is a cloud based service with monthly costs of at least 29 $. If I had known that I would never have bought ScreenSteps 2! Now I'm stuck with ScreenSteps 2. As neither Clarify 2 nor ScreenSteps 3 are acceptable upgrade paths for me, I will have to look for a replacement of ScreenSteps 2. Perhaps anybody has any suggestions?
Like (3)
Version 2.0.1
2 answer(s)
Trevor-Devore
Trevor-Devore
07 August 2014
Thanks for your feedback. It is true that Clarify 2 will not meet the needs of every ScreenSteps 2 customer. Here is some additional information to clear up a few things.

If you need to import ScreenSteps 2 content into Clarify take a look at this article from the manual:

http://help.clarify-it.com/m/clarify/l/239312-importing-screensteps-2-content

Clarify 2 doesn't have a concept of manuals like ScreenSteps does, but it will allow you to import all of your ScreenSteps 2 lessons. You'll find a lot of improvements to authoring documents but there are not as many 3rd party exporters (e.g. Confluence and Mindtouch). The WordPress exporter has been improved as it allows you to select any custom post types you have defined on your account. You could use Clarify to generate content and WordPress to organize the posts into a manual.

The PDF generator and the HTML exporter are significantly better. PDF templates are built on HTML and CSS so you have lots of customization options. The HTML exporter uses PHP so you can customize templates to feed Clarify content into any number of systems.

While ScreenSteps has evolved into a collaboration platform for documentation, ScreenSteps 3 does offer a solo plan for $120/yr. The solo plan is still a cloud solution so it won't be the right fit for everyone, but it does make it more affordable for individuals who want to use ScreenSteps.
Like (1)
Damian Weiss
Damian Weiss
07 August 2014
Thank you for your reply and for the link concerning the import of ScreenStep lessons. As Clarify cannot handle manuals and chapters, Clarify is useless for me. It's a pity: ScreenSteps was my favorite software to make manuals - I will use it as long as possible, i. e. as long as Apples OS will support it.
Like
bumper314
31 July 2014
I'm thrilled with Clarify 2.0. I've been a long time user of Clarify 1, but all the additions to 2.0 were sorely needed. Clarify is a great tool for providing support to customers, providing information when contacting support, documenting processes/procedures, or even just annotating images for social media.
Like (1)
Version 2.0.1
Widber
01 April 2014
Still no Retina support?
Like
Version 1.2.6
2 answer(s)
bumper314
bumper314
22 April 2014
I just tried the 2.0 beta and it too does not support Retina yet. Be sure to let them know via email that it's important to you.
Like
bumper314
bumper314
20 June 2014
The latest 2.0 beta just added Retina support. http://www.clarify-it.com/download/beta
Like
Schwity
16 September 2013
I use Clarify on Mac and on Windows and it works seamlessly for me. It is perfect for the daily documentation and communication. And with in a short time it is not really complicated to build your own PDF templates for the export. Perfect for corporate design rules in documentations.
Like
Version 1.2.4
Buggles
24 May 2013
I recently purchased this as part of a bundle, and have been meaning to get around to write a review. It's a decent app, but it could be so much better. There are some clear features that just feel strange that they are not included. For example you can't export as HTML. The UI is nice, but not great. This could be a very good tool, but they are let down by curious gaps (a desire to drive you to their hosting?) and an "almost but not quite" clever UI. Use it for sending a quick help file, but you can't actually develop help with it. It's pricey considering.
Like
Version 1.2.1
Digitalretouch
05 May 2013
Would be a 4-star app if it took full page screen captures. If I've got to keep track of full-page screenshots on my desktop and insert them into the document, it makes more work for me, especially since Voila and some others already do it. The Evernote function is amazing, but I'm still having a bit of buyers remorse.
Like
Version 1.2.1
dokliv
20 April 2013
totally useless for people who use fullscreen apps - it's not working and support said will not work in near future (is it really so difficult?!? look at competitors software - they can do it flawlessly, little snapper for example and so on) crashed few times didn't start from shortcut few times conclusion: - featureless - impossible to use in ordinary use cases (like fullscreen) - not stable my advice - buy something else
Like (1)
Version 1.2.1
1 answer(s)
bumper314
bumper314
21 June 2013
I'm a bit confused. Do you want to use Clarify in Fullscreen mode, or are you trying to take screenshots of other apps in Fullscreen mode using Clarify? Clarify might seem limiting (you say featureless), but it's built around a simple methodology: if you're document becomes complex, you probably haven't clarified or broken the topic down enough. Clarify is perfect for answering customer questions like "how do I enable universal access," it's not meant for building whole help manuals or overly complex procedures. You need to understand what/how/and why Clarify is designed for. It's a tool and it has a specific use model. You wouldn't pickup a hoe and try to dig a foundation to your house, you need the right tool for the job.
Like (2)
Mar6473
14 February 2013
Still no Retina support as of Feb 2013!! I want my money back.
Like (1)
Version 1.2.0
Irradiated-Software
19 January 2013
I'm a big fan of Clarify. It's all about finding the right workflow. Clarify is not designed to maintain entire manuals, just one-off documents. I rarely save Clarify documents, instead, I create instructions quickly and upload them to clarify-it.com to share. The tool can seem limited at times (e.g. no hierarchy for steps), but after I learned about the companies methodology behind Clarify (http://www.bluemangolearning.com/customer_support/), I've found a new way to approach my instructions which both fits the style of Clarify and is usually quicker/easier to make. Before, it was like swinging a hammer with the head sideways. You can probably get the job done, but it won't be easy. Now I know how to use the tool right and I'm much happier with the results.
Like (3)
Version 1.2.0
Mar6473
15 September 2012
Not updated for Retina displays. Bummer, it's been months. Snagit was updated in July. Otherwise, it has some nice features. The document idea is great. I hope the developer fixes it.
Like (2)
Version 1.2.0
smalag
15 September 2012
Great App. But I miss the possibility to create a screenshot of the full content of a browser window if this is bigger than my screen – or am I to blind to find this option?
Like (2)
Version 1.2.0
1 answer(s)
Trevor-Devore
Trevor-Devore
17 September 2012
Clarify does not have the option to capture the entire web page in a browser yet.
Like (1)
Denflinkegrafiker
15 September 2012
Bought Clarify quite some time ago - and use it regularly. It's simple and great... and I recommend it. But now ScreenSteps caught my attention. Absolutely gotta own that little piece of brilliant software too.
Like (1)
Version 1.2.0
vegasplayer
15 September 2012
Looks great. I wish there was a felt tip pen tool for circling, underling and natural note style writing. That really has appeal and utility. Any plans?
Like (2)
Version 1.2.0
Nullset
21 May 2012
A brilliant and simple app that does exactly what I needed it to do. Had to take hundreds of screenshots of an existing app and organize them into a readable document. What would have been a horribly painful task became almost easy and enjoyable (well, as enjoyable as busy work can be). Fantastic and stable app, even with hundreds of screenshots in a single document. My only request would be the ability to make images in the document clickable, perhaps taking the user to a different page with a zoomed in view (so the user can see both the reason why the screenshot was taken, and the context surrounding that screenshot). Honestly though, it's damn near perfect for my needs.
Like (2)
Version 1.1.1
JADNC
27 April 2012
Purchased this application via MacUpdate, and obtained a cross platform license so I could run the app on Windows. Before discussing the actual software - the developer is very responsive to questions. And, most importantly the licensing model is perfect and very fair from a cost perspective. The application itself is a little different from a traditional screenshot program - e.g. SnagIt, which I have the most experience with. While I have not use the program extensively, it is an excellent program. Clarify is more focused on creating a "document" of screenshots. Versus grabbing a screenshot, then annotating, then copying into a destination document. Instead of the "normal" 3 shot process - Clarify will grab the screen, and place you into its editor to allow you to: annotate the shot (i.e. add text, arrows, shapes), then add text (i.e. instructions) as if it were a word document. You keep adding shots to the document - and text / information - until you are done. The finished product is a PDF with text, pictures, and instructions. Coming from a SnagIt 3 step process, there is some re-learning to do. So, minus one star since habits are hard to break. But, this is an excellent program and highly recommended. This is a slightly different - but extremely valuable - tool than a traditional screenshot/annotation program. When you add in the developer's responsiveness and the excellent licensing model - its a no brainer. If you need to use screenshots to communicate information to clients, users, or to remember stuff for later this program is well worth a buy.
Like (4)
Version 1.1.1
Veryvito
26 April 2012
This is fantastic. I bought it as a MacUpdate promo, but having used it for only a couple days, I can honestly say I'd pay full price for it with no qualms. Can't wait to see how this app develops, but even if it doesn't, still worth the price!
Like (1)
Version 1.1.1
Michaeldar
21 April 2012
I bought it yesterday. Tried it out today. I am sold! I am glad that I purchased it. I tried it out without reading the documentation to understand how far I could proceed based on intuition and "mouse over" hints. I arrived at a complex printed PDF. I am now going to read the instructions learn where I might improve on these already satisfactory results.
Like (1)
Version 1.1.1
Pripyat
19 April 2012
Great app, very pleased. Would like to see two improvements though: - it would be superb if I could add a logo to the rightern side of the header. - If I make a screenshot of a window, it's always out of focus. Please change this, it looks better if the window isn't half grayed out.
Like
Version 1.1.1
3 answer(s)
Gdevore
Gdevore
19 April 2012
You can add logos to PDF templates. Go to Preferences > PDF templates. Here is some more info: http://help.clarify-it.com/m/clarify/l/58141-how-do-i-customize-the-look-of-the-pdf-files-i-export I am not sure what you mean about the window being out of focus. Could you send an example to support at bluemangolearning dot com?
Like (2)
Pripyat
Pripyat
19 April 2012
Found it & have contacted support. Now I am wondering - how can I have both a logo and the document title at the same time? Clarify only seems to support one at a time.
Like
Trevor-Devore
Trevor-Devore
19 April 2012
Currently you cannot have both the document title and a logo in the header at the same time. The document title will appear on the first page and you can have it appear in the footer. We are considering adding text in addition to the logo in a future update.
Like
Dudemanla
19 April 2012
I have tried many of the other screen capture utilities and this is the best. It's easy to use and the sharing options are fantastic. I like to send it to clarify and it gives me a link to send people to put it up on a personal webpage.
Like (2)
Version 1.1.1
Trinchet
19 April 2012
Once in a great while a product comes out that makes work actually fun. Fantastic product. Eliminates hours of tedious work. I will use this DAILY.... Thank you so much for creating a REAL productivity application.
Like (1)
Version 1.1.1
hced
28 February 2012
Does anyone know how well this operates with posting on online forums, such as any of the Stack Exchange ones, e.g. http://graphicdesign.stackexchange.com/ ? Would be great if it could auto-upload images and prepare a copy/paste chunk for your online posts.
Like (1)
Version 1.0.4
1 answer(s)
Blue Mango Learning Systems
Blue Mango Learning Systems
16 March 2012
If you upload a document to our free clarify-it.com sharing service then a "Copy HTML" button appears in the success dialog. This will copy HTML to the clipboard that contains the text and links to the images on clarify-it.com. You could try pasting this into a Stack Exchange forum.
Like (3)
F451
25 October 2011
Really need a side-by-side comparison of their products (ScreenSteps, ScreenSteps Pro) to demonstrate the differences.
Like (1)
Version 1.0.1
3 answer(s)
Blue Mango Learning Systems
Blue Mango Learning Systems
25 October 2011
Our pricing page has a chart with a basic comparison between the ScreenSteps products. The chart contains a link to a more detailed comparison between ScreenSteps Standard and Pro as well. http://www.bluemangolearning.com/screensteps/purchase/ We have put together a page in the Clarify manual that discusses the differences between Clarify and ScreenSteps. http://help.clarify-it.com/s/clarify/m/clarify/l/38657-What-is-the-difference-between-Clarify-and-ScreenSteps- I hope this helps.
Like (1)
drwebmail
drwebmail
19 April 2012
Is there an upgrade path from Clarify to the ScreenSteps Products?
Like
Blue Mango Learning Systems
Blue Mango Learning Systems
19 April 2012
No, there isn't an upgrade from Clarify to ScreenSteps. They are two separate products.
Like