Back to Magican page
Magican free download for Mac

Magican Reviews

1.4.8
12 August 2013

Optimize your Mac.

pandora-1
26 October 2011

Most helpful

Never trust a piece of software that garners so many rave reviews that all sound the same, and all sound like the writing on the developer's web pages, especially the tutorials and help. These all sound as if they were run through the same translation application and they all sound juvenile. This may indeed be a great pieces of software but I'll hold off on using it until some creditable reviews come in from reliable sources. Incidentally, my ISP flagged an incoming email announcement from this outfit as failing its very reliable spam tests. In other words, it was in the same category as all the genital enhancement and Nigerian scam emails. I welcome intelligent and reasoned dialog with the developer and with legitimate commenters here on Macupdate.
Like (13)
Version 0.9.51

Read 48 Magican User Reviews

Rate this app:

laith43d
26 September 2014
Great app.
Like (1)
Version 1.4.8
Tony2013
24 March 2014
Is this safe to install? It doesn't send any private info back to the developer does it?
Like
Version 1.4.8
Djefis
16 March 2014
Something did not work properly, not everything is perfect. ...
Like
Version 1.4.8
GeogProf
13 June 2013
This is the weirdest collection of functions in a single app that I've ever seen. The fact that it's distributed as a .pkg file that must be installed (with no clarity at all about what's being installed and where) makes thuds an absolute no-brainer MUST AVOID app.
Like (9)
Version 1.4.4
3 answer(s)
SMcCandlish
SMcCandlish
17 October 2013
Only a rather non-power user thinks that "a .pkg file must be installed...with no clarity at all about what's being installed and where". What was that you were saying about "no-brainer"? Heh.
Like (2)
SMcCandlish
SMcCandlish
17 October 2013
Hint: Download Pacifist.
Like (3)
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
22 November 2013
GeoProf, proofread before submitting. "thuds" :-) Smccandlish, or should I call you Einstein? Guess what? MOST users are "non power users" who don't know about such things. That's like saying someone is a rather non good-driver because they don't know how to program the stereo controls. Some people just want to turn the key and go, they don't need to know the intricacies of every system. Hint: Why don't YOU buy Pacifist for GeoProf?
Like (2)
Marcossi
01 May 2013
Magican was a pleasant surprise, and I will continue using it. I only miss a schedule function to run some function as scheduled.
Like (2)
Version 1.4.3
SxB
22 March 2013
This software is perfect. Sure, it has yet to evolve but it is quite stable, free (no ads) and despite the number of options it is very easy to use. Congratulations to the developers for this great work!
Like (3)
Version 1.4.2
anonymous-dingo-653
05 February 2013
I'm posting this only as comment, for I haven't had time to truly put it through its paces. Overall, I found it to be thorough for what it offers and certainly for the price. But I would never trust it for full AV protection. I have Symantec corporate and public level packages, as well as the Sophos AV (which is a memory hog, by the by) as well as others. [I was once a partner in a private IT consultancy where I spent some time in duties related to proactive and retroactive network / workstation defense.] Both Symantec and Sophos AV were able to detect more live sandboxed viruses / worms than this package. And I found the package not very good with trojans (malware delivery units for viruses and worms). Yes, those three things are different. I'm not saying this is a worthless package. As freeware it does very well for general protection. But I will say that if you want maximum defense, this may not be the way to go in the long run. Still is far better than being unprotected at all and stands well for its intent. So give it a try. You'll be happy with it for general use, so long as you are smart about where you go and what you do on the Internet... or with your email.
Like (3)
Version 1.4.1
4 answer(s)
Tony2013
Tony2013
05 February 2013
You don't need AV protection on Mac. There is not a single active virus in the wild today.
Like (5)
Penguirl
Penguirl
12 February 2013
Balogna. There are Java, Flash, and Acrobat vulnerabilities, trojans, phishing attacks, Windows virus' that can be passed on, and so on… To say you don't need A/V protection on a Mac is short sighted and incorrect.
Like (6)
Jurassic
Jurassic
22 March 2013
@Penguirl: "Balogna" Technically, Tony2013 is correct. We don't need AV (anti-virus) protection, because there are no Mac viruses. But there is Mac malware as you point out. As for Java and Flash vulnerabilities, if you don't need the Java and Flash plug-ins, don't have them installed. Windows viruses only affect Windows installations. So if you have Windows installed on your Mac (in Boot Camp or virtualization), you should be running Windows AV in it. Trojans and phishing are forms of malware... but they are not viruses. These forms of malware require the user to be tricked into installing or using them. If you are installing software from untrusted sources, or if you click on unusual links in email or the web, you should run software (for example ClamXav) to check your Mac. But overall, Mac users have never had viruses to worry about, and they have nothing like the plague that Windows users must worry about and deal with every day.
Like (6)
zo219
zo219
27 June 2013
Let me know when a virus appears on a Mac. Gave up that game -- which profited Symantec, mostly--years ago. Meanwhile, this experienced user is not exactly living in fear.
Like (2)
Candyfde
27 November 2012
Thank you for all your reviews here, no matter its good or bad. Magican is freeware and that may violate benefits of some paid apps, then causing some criticism. We do not local in English customer service, because she comes from Malysia. But that do not means we do nothings on making progress. So as we told in the first sentence, thank you for all your criticism reviews that helps Magican grew up more quickly.
Like (13)
Version 1.3.0
Atomicb
26 October 2012
This is a real fresh take on monitoring software. I have MacKeeper, Onyx, Cocktail and MLCC and all the bells and whistles. To me MLCC is the king of the crop for under the hood, but on a GUI, Magician is so beautiful and easy to use that I have stat menus over my desktop, weather and CPU / RAM. not only is it a good app up against MacKeeper the download and scan feature and the ability to open apps as they are downloaded after being scanned is worth $4.99. Just my 2 cents.
Like (2)
Version 1.2.2
1 answer(s)
GianMarco-Tavazzani
GianMarco-Tavazzani
22 March 2013
You, stingy man, prefer to type in 3 digits more, than paying one cent more? Tsk-tsk-tsk... :-)
Like (1)
mag01
06 October 2012
First, I've tried slightly older version 1.1.4 than current 1.2.0 but haven't noticed any related changes in the changelog so it shouldn't be too much off. It looks like a promising piece of software given some of its features that could be otherwise found in paid applications, but to me it feels too much like some sort of circus. I don't want the whole monitoring and weather stuff but couldn't find any simple way to get rid of it. And I don't actually understand why such things have to be in that sort of app. They could make separate applications so that only who really wants them would get them. Then those ubiquitous "hints" briefly explaining all features... Why it couldn't be kept simple? It's just too much of "all in one" to my liking. What I'd like to see: - simple and clean (minimalistic) UI purely focusing on the related functionality - at least as an option - ability to switch of all those additional floating windows such as monitors/weather tools - and I'd actually like to see a separate tiny app with just the Cleaner tool functionality, perhaps combined with the Software Uninstall part at maximum
Like (1)
Version 1.2.0
SickTeddyBear
06 October 2012
Misha Sakellaropoulo, the COO of MacUpdate, said: "In the last couple years a number of Mac utilities have emerged from developers who are relatively new to the platform. Long-time Mac users (I've been one for 20 years) rightly seem to greet these newcomers with a healthy dose of skepticism... especially the ones who are not familiar with what I'd call "proper Mac etiquette" (annoying marketing tactics, astroturfing [posting fake reviews], etc.) or for whom English is not their native language." Well, Misha, it's not just a matter of proper "etiquette", as you refer to it, but one of trust and security. The posting of multiple reviews by the same people, or ones that have been solicited by the developer, is the most egregious example of a violation of trust that has not one single thing to do with the Mac platform specifically, but is a general signifier of villainy that all computer users recognize. In addition, and this is Mac specific, long-time users of this platform have had to endure numerous changes to the virtual ecosystem that they need for support -- from the swallowing up and destruction of MacFixIt and VersionTracker, to the imposition of the crippled and dumbed down phone ethos in the form of the Mac App Store -- that we have come to depend more than ever on the independence and guidance of sites like MacUpdate, to assist us in identifying the riffraff and thugs who would seek to molest our normally pleasant experiences with our computers. What that means is that you, along with the staff you supervise, have a responsibility to this community to not sugarcoat or downplay the nefarious actions of companies like Magican Software. While your primary responsibility is a fiduciary one, to the LLC that is MacUpdate, a failure to take care of the former, could lead to a decline in the value of the latter. I'm not trying to be an internet curmudgeon or troll. This is serious. MacUpdate is all we have left. Don't mess it up. Please.
Like (11)
Version 1.2.0
1 answer(s)
Prince-Isaac
Prince-Isaac
16 October 2012
@Negritude: Thanks for your lucid and informative rebuttal to Misha. I totally agree with your points. Unfortunately for all consumers of material goods, whether computers (whether Mac or Windows), whether automobiles or lawn mowers or electronic appliances, it's near-impossible to police comments or reviews on sites that allow such. If sites like MU would implement the means of detecting astro-turfers (looking for different user names from same/similar IP addresses is one method, comparing reviewer IPs with the IP of the developer, there are many techniques), then we wouldn't be having this discussion. More and more I'm disinclined to visit MU simply because of the degradation of standards of both applications submitted and in the multiple glowing reviews posted within hours of the listing of an app (and using similarly awful English spelling/construction as the developer's description).
Like (5)
-M-S-
27 September 2012
In the last couple years a number of Mac utilities have emerged from developers who are relatively new to the platform. Long-time Mac users (I've been one for 20 years) rightly seem to greet these newcomers with a healthy dose of skepticism... especially the ones who are not familiar with what I'd call "proper Mac etiquette" (annoying marketing tactics, astroturfing [posting fake reviews], etc.) or for whom English is not their native language. I've decided to try them out myself and see how they stack up against platform stalwarts like Cocktail and OnyX. Magican is, in a word, good. It's far from perfect, but it's one of the more promising of these newer utilities to emerge. Playing heavily in Magican's favor is the fact that it is, truly, free. It's not free for a limited time, or free if you want to use just a limited featureset... it's free-free. I can't even find a way to give them money if I wanted to, and the optional modules they provide via the Toolbox feature are also free. Perhaps there is a plan to charge for Magican down the road when it's more robust and polished, but at the moment it's completely free, like OnyX. Magican's interface is both a strength and a weakness. Some UI elements are unconventional, like overlaying "helpful" text that points out features of the app, but that you must click an X to dismiss. I also couldn't understand why the app had seemingly become unresponsive to my clicks until I discovered the culprit was the weather status at the top of the window, which was prompting me to confirm my location as Austin TX, and prevented any other UI elements from being active until I did so. A conventional dialog box would be a better implementation for this. If you're like me, you also probably are wondering why the weather is even in a utility like this... not that it detracts from anything, it just seems a bit unrelated. The Cleaner tools comprise the bulk of Magican's features. There's nothing groundbreaking here (duplicate remover, logs & cache cleaner, languages/binaries remover, etc.) but the implementation is surprisingly good. Want to search for duplicates in a specific folder? Just drag that folder over. Magican also very clearly shows file and folder sizes for every tool, like Logs & Caches, which is an improvement over Cocktail (which can do the same tasks, but doesn't display file sizes). The Security tool is for monitoring trojans, apparently. Like 99.99% of Mac users (and hopefully 100% of seasoned Mac users), I've never encountered a trojan in the wild so this feature is more FUD to me than anything else, but there are plenty of people who just feel more comfortable knowing a utility is looking over their shoulder at every file that enteres their Mac... so assuming it works, I can see the value to some users (Magican and its daemon didn't consume very many system resources in my testing). The Stats feature compiles data from Activity Monitor for the most part, but Magican sports a small, elegant floating window where you can quickly see what's going on (including, naturally, your local weather). This floating window is both useful and quite well presented. Unfortunately, it requires Magican to be running... it would be more useful as its own background process. The Software feature includes "Updates", which is basically useless and scrapes what your Mac App Store app is showing (so it's not checking any non-MAS apps), and it can't download or install from Magican, it just loads up the Mac App Store app for you. I didn't thoroughly test the Uninstaller so I can't comment on how it compares to others like App Delete or iTrash (both of which cost money and are regarded as the best of their kind). The ToolBox has three optional modules at present that you can download and install within the app; these are actually just separate apps (you can find them on MacUpdate). Two are document and file managers and at present seem to be quite lacking... I'm not sure I'd ever use either. The third reminds you to take periodic breaks from the computer (like MacBreakZ). Again, nothing new or groundbreaking, but not bad given that it's free. With an improved interface and some bug fixes (if I click a sidebar item with my trackpad's button, it often just selects the item above whatever was selected at the time [bizarre], although if I tap the trackpad to click, it works fine), Magican could have a long future ahead of itself. OnyX is the best tool to compare it to since OnyX is also free, but OnyX is much more of a "Pro" tool... meaning power users will likely prefer its basic interface and expanded feature set, but newer users will feel more comfortable with Magican (I have set many casual Mac-using friends up with OnyX and explained it to them, only for them to declare to me months later that they never use it because they don't understand how it works, are overwhelmed by all the features and jargon, and are afraid of screwing something up).
Like (6)
Version 1.2.0
RobairSF
25 September 2012
Well, I really like this app. I puts a lot of info in a convenient place. The Hard Drives window is great. I have most of these types of services, but in disparate apps/utilities. I'll dig in deeper over the next few weeks, but out of the gate, this is impressive. Thanks.
Like (2)
Version 1.2.0
G-money
25 September 2012
I'm sure the developer won't mind me linking the Softonic review on this site. One of three, this should help MAC users with deciding about this app. . . http://magican.en.softonic.com/mac
Like
Version 1.2.0
iodrew
25 September 2012
This app appears to be as sinister as the comments left by the developer's cronies. It looks interesting but way too much controversy. The feature set is so vast. I feel like I'm being lured in for something else. The responses by the developer are just too weird and cryptic.
Like (3)
Version 1.2.0
EudoraBryant
07 September 2012
You do a great job to develop such a multi-function app for us. It saves me much space. The weather forecast is not very accurate, hope you can make some improvements on this part.
Like (1)
Version 1.1.6
1 answer(s)
Magican Software  Ltd
Magican Software Ltd
12 September 2012
It's our honor to get your supporting, and we will make forecast more accurate for users. Sorry for this inconvenience caused to you. Should you have any questions, please just feel free to email us.
Like (1)
Candyfde
04 September 2012
Statement Recently, we got many malicious comments on Macupdate. Some of these reviews even have nothing to do with Magican. These bad reviews often took place in the same period and they almost come from the several duplicate ID. Magican is a free product. To add function and optimization, it has updated for 25 times in a short span of less than a year. If there are any operating or technical problems on Magican, we are willing to accept and improve them. We also respect any criticism given by users who have actually used Magican. However, any malicious comment unrelated to Magican published on Macupdate is unfair to us. Perhaps the Free Magican has affected the interest of some billing software, therefore adverse comments were caused constantly. But we will continue adhering to the "Free, Shared, Freedom Spirit”, we also hope the majority of users will not be affected by these intentional odium.
Like (2)
Version 1.1.6
1 answer(s)
Psychos
Psychos
04 September 2012
Please, then, explain one of the very simply shady things noted: Do a whois on magicansoft.com. Note phone number: +1.2122102100 Google the phone number, and you end up at http://www.nydailynews.com/services/contact-us where it is listed as the main phone #. So, are you owned by the NY Daily News (it'd be rather odd for a news organization to be distributing this type of software, given phonehacking scandals and the like), or are you just submitting invalid whois data? Noting apparent shady business practices IS related to your software. It's not a "malicious comment" to wonder how secure security software actually is. Especially when it looks suspicious.
Like (4)
zo219
01 September 2012
Newbs, you do NOT need this. Try any of the similar apps listed above.
Like (3)
Version 1.1.6
OSX-FTW!
31 August 2012
As some one else said. Half-star ratings dont seem to work in voting this crapware down. So, a 1 star rating it is.
Like (3)
Version 1.1.6
1 answer(s)
Magican Software  Ltd
Magican Software Ltd
04 September 2012
You have repeatedly marked Magican with one or a half star with no program problem mentioned. For any problem of Magican, we are willing to improve them. But you did not put them forward, but just maliciously gave us a low grade. For example: For our product Magican AntiTrojan, you gave it a half star and commented as “Already covered by more reputable vendors”. But for the same function program “Flashback Malware Removal Tool”, you wrote comments as: “I think Apple has handled this issue in a responsible and timely manner. I think they deserve some credit for that” and then you gave it 5 stars. You comment on Magican does not warrant a negative star rating, and your reviews about “Flashback Malware Removal Tool” is not worth 5 stars neither. So I believe your comments are worthless. This also expressed your irresponsibility on reviews and rating. For such of your bad behavior, we will report to Macupdate and report your account.
Like (4)
Tom-bovo
31 August 2012
This company has a web site at magicansoft.com, so I did a basic WHOIS lookup of the company. They registered their company's web site at a New York City street address, use their own dns name servers (that's no small company), and yet their contact email is a hotmail.com address. When you Google their contact email address, it starts showing up in Chinese language documents. Who is behind this company? At times they leave a trail like a major corporation, and they cover up the identity of the people involved.
Like (6)
Version 1.1.6
3 answer(s)
Psychos
Psychos
31 August 2012
Small companies can't run their own DNS servers? I have zero employees yet I run my own DNS servers just fine... No reason to assume they're a large company. But in Magican's case, their whois info is rather shady overall, as you point out. The phone # they're using is for the New York Daily News. Google it, it's the main # there. I doubt they're related, of course, past Magican submitting fake whois information. Wouldn't be surprised if the street address is fake too. (Btw, it's a requirement that whois information be valid, or that you use a private registration if you do want to hide it. You can theoretically lose your domain if the whois info is fake.)
Like (4)
Magican Software  Ltd
Magican Software Ltd
04 September 2012
For the problem of Magican address and phone number, we have made the detailed explanation repeatedly. We have neither ripped users off nor asked users for money with this address and phone number. (Please read the Statement on our official website carefully, Magican is a free application developed by a group of Apple enthusiasts from all over the world. We just want to provide a better Mac experience for Apple users. Magican has been providing users with help but never asked users for anything. So please stop any of your malicious attacks on Magican, otherwise, we will report you to Macupdate.) We hope you can use Magican firstly, only reviews and comments about Magican are welcomed here. In addition, we stumbled across that your last reviews on MAGICAN were behind the OSX-FTW! too, and you two guys also commented on the same day. This leaves us suspicion that you are the same one. I will also report this to Macupdate.
Like (1)
Psychos
Psychos
04 September 2012
No. You haven't explained why you have apparently fake whois data, other than vague non-explanations. I noticed I'm replying to you the same day you posted as well. Perhaps I am also the same person as Magican Software, based on your own logic! (Not.)
Like (2)
ithang
24 August 2012
i love this app when it open beta :)) now its greater than. why only 3 stars :(
Like (3)
Version 1.1.5
1 answer(s)
Magican Software  Ltd
Magican Software Ltd
27 August 2012
It's our honor to get your long time support, hopes our continued improving could help Magican get the 5-star. Thanks a lot.
Like (1)
Grinson
16 August 2012
You would be the best one if you can help get rid of my body fat.
Like (2)
Version 1.1.4
2 answer(s)
EmmaLynne
EmmaLynne
20 August 2012
Thank you to give Magican the 4-star. We will continue update the app, to make it fit for your 5-star.
Like (2)
Psychos
Psychos
31 August 2012
So, you're saying that you'll update this app so it helps get rid of Grinson's body fat, so he or she can give it 5 stars? I'm confused. (Well, not really, since it's just another generic reply that doesn't actually answer the comment.)
Like (2)
using-Mac
06 August 2012
Easy to use! It integrates with many tools! Antivirus software, Mac data view (fan, temperature, battery, ram and CPU), Fan speed control, Software management, App store, Clear space...... And with this you can delete a pile of application!
Like (4)
Version 1.1.4
1 answer(s)
Magican Software  Ltd
Magican Software Ltd
07 August 2012
Thanks for your support. We will optimize all the features and make it more easy to use. Thank you.
Like
Fotodivr
04 August 2012
I installed this, let it run for duplicates and it found dups with similar names but really did not go any further. It found dups of files that I had sent in my email programme to various clients and suggested I delete all but one. These were legal docs with the same name (didn't matter that they were different sizes, modification dates, check sum, or any other criteria) I immediately used AppZapper and got rid of this POS. I cannot recommend this app for any reason.
Like (2)
Version 1.1.4
3 answer(s)
Magican Software  Ltd
Magican Software Ltd
07 August 2012
We are so sorry about the error you got. Normally Magican judge duplicate files through the same content, but not from the name. And we test Magican again, find the situation you met is caused by a bug, thank you to point out the error to us. We will fix it in the coming updates. Thank you.
Like (2)
Jeff-H-
Jeff-H-
17 August 2012
Maybe I always use dup finder functions/apps the wrong way but they ALWAYS, WITHOUT FAIL delete music/pictures/emails, etc...that I need in the near future. I steer WAY clear of "dup finder/cleaners" and do that stuff manually. Its a pain and time consuming but I got tired of seeing "song cannot be found"! Grrrrr....
Like (1)
EmmaLynne
EmmaLynne
20 August 2012
Hello, Jeff H, So sorry to let you suffer this. Would you please contact our support team to tell us more? We hope to help you solve this problem. Looking forward to hearing from you.
Like (2)
I-love-Apple
31 July 2012
A well organized application. Though plenty of functions it contains, to my surprise, it is simply to operate. Love it. Thanks for sharing on Macupdate.
Like (1)
Version 1.1.3
1 answer(s)
Magican Software  Ltd
Magican Software Ltd
01 August 2012
Thanks for your support, we will optimize Magican to make it more easy to use. Thanks a lot.
Like (3)
GeogProf
24 July 2012
Ignoring for the moment the bizarre and unrelated feature set of this app, any system utility developer who includes a “Purge RAM” function and claims it "helps expands your Mac memory by keeping data in order” is a charlatan. Such drivel should be avoided with the same robust fervor as is spent evading STDs.
Like (4)
Version 1.1.3
2 answer(s)
EmmaLynne
EmmaLynne
25 July 2012
Thanks for your critical comments about the "Purge RAM"; we will improve the description immediately. The "Purge RAM" is aimed to help release inactive memory into fee memory. All the features added in Magican are aimed to help user maintain Mac easily and make operation on Mac smoothly and easily. Hopes you could connect our support center and tell us your idea about features in Magican.
Like (1)
EmmaLynne
EmmaLynne
25 July 2012
so sorry, it should be free memory
Like (1)
Lord-Lightning
05 July 2012
"My Mac all right. It better now. Much better now." "Thanks so much for you even take the risk of being" Got to be wary of an app where the users post laudatory comments using EXACTLY the same semantic structure the developer uses. Am I suspicious - you bet!
Like (5)
Version 1.1.2
2 answer(s)
SickTeddyBear
SickTeddyBear
05 July 2012
I can't tell, but you did get the joke of my post, right?
Like (1)
Candyfde
Candyfde
05 July 2012
What if I use the same semantic structure you mentioned there? Does that mean you are suspicious? Anyway, we need to apologize for making you feel suspicious; we will try to improve Magican to make it more acceptable to you.
Like (2)
Kappe
19 June 2012
this app is still here i'm almost tempted to try it lol
Like (2)
Version 1.1.0
1 answer(s)
Magican Software  Ltd
Magican Software Ltd
20 June 2012
Thanks for showing your interest, we will try our best to continue update Magican to make it more suitable for you.
Like (3)
SickTeddyBear
19 June 2012
"My Mac all right. It better now. Much better now." ---Magican Users
Like (3)
Version 1.1.0
1 answer(s)
Magican Software  Ltd
Magican Software Ltd
20 June 2012
Thanks so much for you even take the risk of being suspected as Magican developer, you still support on Magican.
Like
EmmaLynne
08 June 2012
This is a statement from Magican Software Ltd. The predecessor of Magican is developed by several app designers who are gathered with same hobbies and based on the common goal: Delivering an easy-to-use and high-effective app, not only helps solving system problems but also simplifies Mac using. After beta version is out, we set up a small company in Virgin Islands. At present, many of our developers are SOHO and distributed into different areas of different countries. We believe in Internet sharing spirit and insist on developing user favorite free apps. But lacking of experience at the very beginning made us not that perfect in marketing promotion. Up till now, we have declined many sponsor support for insisting on our original goal.Still we never force putting advertisement to any users or get paid from our users, even if it could help us afford expensive house rent and staff's payments. Many of Magican apps are available on App Store, like Magican Rest and Magican File. Magican Anti-Trojan, which is released out right after Flashback breaking out and has got Softpedia's security certification. Collection of user experience and installation statistics is not allowed unless getting user's permission, let alone the users' privacy information. Even if registering as member is volunteered to our users. From October 2011 till now, Magican has updated 18 times and nearly 200 thousand users have used Magican series apps. Magican will continue updating by adding more features, like antivirus and firewall. We are sorry for the bothers we brought, no matter for the weakness in app or having not answered all your questions. We will fix that and improve ourselves. Your support are really meaning to us.
Like (1)
Version 1.0.1
1 answer(s)
bbw7
bbw7
03 August 2012
Alright! A software company set up in the Virgin Islands. I'm definitely trying out this bad boy now! Between the dodgy, poor-syntax (not unlike the developer's) positive reviews and the negative, clearly legit reviews and the comments about the phone # and google results, I'd stay clear of this Magic.
Like (1)
Penguirl
01 June 2012
I installed Magician.app the other evening, when launched it gave me a little system monitor window in the lower right corner that displays any one aspect of your system of your choice. Which is cool but I already have iStat Menu in my menubar showing all of my most important system stats. So I started poking around trying to see what the app is all about. What did I find? Essentially nothing, apparently you let it go to work and at some time in the future it will let you know what it's done to your system. Maybe it will even ask your permission, I don't know. What I do know is that I became uneasy about this new, foreign process running that I didn't seem to have control of so I decided to delete it. In the Magician menubar there was a Uninstall item. I tried to select it but the menu would disappear before I could get down to the Uninstall entry. Over and over I tried, sometimes getting it and sometimes not. But even when I did get it, it did not uninstall itself. Finally I turned to AppCleaner.app which found a lot of files and put them in the trash. On a whim I fired up Activity Monitor.app and sure enough there was a leftover daemon running. I force quit it and looked in /Library/LaunchAgents and /Library/LaunchDaemons and found something in one of the two. I checked /System/Library and didn't find anything there but I'm not sure I used the right term to search for because the daemon file had a name other than Magician or the developer's name. Unfortunately I don't remember the name of the daemon. So my experience with Magician is over. Or at least I hope it's over. I have to say I was not impressed.
Like (3)
Version 1.0.1
1 answer(s)
Magican Software  Ltd
Magican Software Ltd
04 June 2012
Thanks for using Magican. According to your second paragraph, it seems that you have not found the main window of Magican. There are three ways for you to get into the main window: 1. Click our Logo in the top menu bar, then click "Open Magican" at the drop-down list. Then you could open main window of Magican 2. Move your mouse to the weather icon at the left side of floating window, then the icon would turned into Home icon, you could click that to open main window of Magican. 3. Right-click the floating window by your mouse or click the floating window by two fingers on your Trackpad, you could open the main window of Magican. After opening the main window of Magican, you could clean up Mac, uninstall app, get toolbox and get discounts information from Mac App Store. For the uninstall part, we are really sorry, but would you mind to email our support team to give us some more details? Then we could figure out the reason and make updates.
Like (1)
P=NP
31 May 2012
I looked up the number for Magician Soft so I could get more information on the app. What I found associated with the phone number indicates what appears to be very shady activity. There's no magic here folks; just some type of hoax. Google this phone number (with quotes): "+1.2122102100"
Like (2)
Version 1.0.1
1 answer(s)
Magican Software  Ltd
Magican Software Ltd
01 June 2012
We have never called any user by that phone number for any reason. Each of our users would get reply through our support email. Hopes you could move your focus to the app, and then we will thank you for your valuable criticism.
Like (3)
Darukaru
31 May 2012
Nothing says "my product is legitimate and you should pay money for it" like googling the name and seeing forum spam and content farm results. That's sarcasm, by the way.
Like (4)
Version 1.0.1
2 answer(s)
P=NP
P=NP
31 May 2012
oh come on! don't you buy Cialis at the same place you buy software?
Like
Magican Software  Ltd
Magican Software Ltd
01 June 2012
Thanks for not rating. For the forum spam you mentioned, we will deal with that immediately. And if you don't mind, we hope you could email our support team to tell us more details about the contents that annoyed you. Sorry for any inconvenience caused. And please don't have a bias to free app. If you used Magican before, you would know we are trying our best to maintain the app.
Like (1)
Pir-anha
25 May 2012
*sniff*sniff*. yeah, smells bad. maybe your program really is legit, "emma", but the glowing reviews are incredibly suspicious. don't do this; it's called "astroturfing", and when people find out, you will discover your product gets trashed everywhere, and rightly so. astroturfing cheats, and makes us distrust our fellow reviewers, which damages the review system. if your product is good, it can stand on its own.
Like (4)
Version 1.0.0
1 answer(s)
Magican Software  Ltd
Magican Software Ltd
28 May 2012
I’ve no idea what have caused your distrust; I just thank the users who give their support to us and help to solve problem about the app here. Sincerely hopes you could use the product first, then leave your reviews about the product.
Like
amir6020
08 May 2012
woooow it's perfect . ilove magican thank u so much macupdate
Like (2)
Version 0.9.82
1 answer(s)
Magican Software  Ltd
Magican Software Ltd
23 May 2012
Thanks for liking our Magican. And it just updated to version 1.0.0 with entire new interface. Hopes you could enjoy it. Thanks again.
Like (1)
Ironman
16 April 2012
"I like this free utility, especially the new added uninstall feature." lol @ Allenwil You made my day more seriously, I had this tool installed due to Menu Meters not updated for Lion. But since it was updated, I've trashed Magican due to bad comments here,. And yes, I hate MacKeeper too.
Like (1)
Version 0.9.82
1 answer(s)
Magican Software  Ltd
Magican Software Ltd
23 May 2012
Sorry for causing your misunderstandings. But I need to declare that, Magican is not MacKeeper.
Like
JacobsIvan
16 April 2012
Reminds me of Mackeeper. A hoax really.
Like (3)
Version 0.9.82
1 answer(s)
Magican Software  Ltd
Magican Software Ltd
23 May 2012
We have not cheated anyone. If you don't mind i suggest you to use the latest Magican. Because you could see our hardworking.
Like
476429
20 February 2012
This app has a very un-Mac-like interface. I prefer to use CleanMyMac simply because it looks like a Mac app rather than a Windows port.
Like (1)
Version 0.9.72
1 answer(s)
Magican Software  Ltd
Magican Software Ltd
23 May 2012
To the version 1.0.0, Magican has redesigned the whole UI and our logo. Hopes this interface could fit for your need.
Like
Tom-bovo
20 February 2012
Did a whois lookup for magicansoft.com, this company's web site. This is who registered the domain: Magican 450 W. 33 Street, New York, NY New York, New York 10001 United States Administrative Contact: Magican Studio That address is a big, new corporate building where the AP has its NYC offices, and the listed phone number for this company is the same as for the NY Daily News, a newspaper in New York (thank you, Google). Something odd is going on here.
Like (8)
Version 0.9.72
1 answer(s)
Sherlockbones
Sherlockbones
31 May 2012
You should read some of what that newspaper prints.. if the software is anything like it, well.. ;)
Like (1)
Old-Peter
20 January 2012
This smells like Mackeeper stuff. Avoid.
Like (8)
Version 0.9.70
Baron0902
23 December 2011
Respectable Emma (I do hope You're not only the beautiful Lady, but the main person of he Firm also!), here is Waldemar Edler von Rennenkampf ; do not listen to all those poor calumniators, who do not like Your nice Product. I see You do Your best for Mac users, so pay no attention to crowd's opinion.With Esteem, W.E.v.R.
Like (1)
Version 0.9.66
1 answer(s)
Magican Software  Ltd
Magican Software Ltd
26 December 2011
Many thanks for your support and understanding for Magican. We will focus on powerful feature developing to thank you and all our users.
Like
anonymous-coral-4086
04 December 2011
This app was really slow and eating ressources for no apparent reason. After uninstalling I still get the message "com.apple.launchd: (com.magican.castle[540]) posix_spawn("/Library/Application Support/Magican/McDaemon", ...): No such file or directory " in Console. Really annoying and I can't get rid of it.
Like (5)
Version 0.9.63
4 answer(s)
Paolo-Cordone
Paolo-Cordone
07 December 2011
I found that a good way to get rid of software like that is to download EasyFind and then search the entire disk for stuff related to the offending software (you can also search for invisibles and package contents). It always does the trick!
Like (5)
Magican Software  Ltd
Magican Software Ltd
09 December 2011
Sorry for the bothering we brought to you. This is Emma from Magican Software Ltd. The problem you met may caused by files incompletely uninstalled. You can delete the file: /Library/LaunchDaemons/com.magican.castle.plist Then restart Mac. This will help you solve uninstall problem caused by Magican. For the "eating resource" problem, we sincerely hope you can email to our support team, we will try our best to quickly solve the problem. Sorry again for the troubles caused to you. Your suggestions are welcomed to us.
Like (1)
jessica@jessicawilliams-com
jessica@jessicawilliams-com
19 December 2011
Notice how Emma's syrupy reply reads a LOT like SanaPaul? And where are all the ads for Mackeeper??? Careful, my friends...
Like (5)
zo219
zo219
20 January 2012
Get the invaluable AppTrap preference pane!
Like (2)
pandora-1
26 October 2011
Never trust a piece of software that garners so many rave reviews that all sound the same, and all sound like the writing on the developer's web pages, especially the tutorials and help. These all sound as if they were run through the same translation application and they all sound juvenile. This may indeed be a great pieces of software but I'll hold off on using it until some creditable reviews come in from reliable sources. Incidentally, my ISP flagged an incoming email announcement from this outfit as failing its very reliable spam tests. In other words, it was in the same category as all the genital enhancement and Nigerian scam emails. I welcome intelligent and reasoned dialog with the developer and with legitimate commenters here on Macupdate.
Like (13)
Version 0.9.51
9 answer(s)
Aeschylus
Aeschylus
27 October 2011
The developer seems to be Russian. If he is legitimate, well, his English is better than my Russian. If he isn't, then we need to be careful. How to tell?
Like (4)
Hal2007
Hal2007
27 October 2011
So right you are. What makes me especially suspicious is that before October 21th, there were no reviews on here. All of a sudden, this formerly empty space has magically filled with rave reviews. And the wording of these reviews does sound like babelfish-translated, indeed. I'd be very cautious when using it. Please prove me wrong and show me how great this app really is, and I'll use it.
Like (3)
alas!
alas!
27 October 2011
The sudden appearance of rave reviews is a tactic of another developer of dubious ethics....Macpaw, from the same neck of the woods as Magican. Wonder if the developers are related?
Like (2)
Heymini
Heymini
27 October 2011
Would also appear that all the rave 'reviewers' join on the same date. Call me cynical if you will..........
Like (2)
Cheops
Cheops
28 October 2011
The developer's website has the option to view in either English or Japanese.
Like
alas!
alas!
28 October 2011
@Heymini OK, CYNIC! CYNIC! Ha, Ha, Ha!
Like (1)
xati-ba
xati-ba
31 October 2011
I like how there is a review on their front page and there's no name underneath.
Like
Shiraga
Shiraga
07 December 2011
The Japanese version of the developer's web site is a crap.
Like
anonymous-dingo-653
anonymous-dingo-653
07 December 2011
Of course now that everyone has discussed all of the tell-tale details of these face reviews, the individual in question has a nice list of what to do differently the next time s/he tries this trick. In the end, there are only two ways to combat this kind of nonsense. The site host / administrator finds somewhat to stop it. The reviewers spend time reviewing the software for real so that we all know its exact issues before deciding to give it a try.
Like
Allenwil
24 October 2011
I like this free utility, especially the new added uninstall feature.
Like
Version 0.9.51
lemontree11
23 October 2011
I tried this app and it makes my Mac works very well. Since I choose this app, my computer stays clean and fast. I’m satisfy with the item of clean, Magican help me get rid of junk for my Mac. The only thing bother me is this app running slow.
Like (1)
Version 0.9.51
OSX-FTW!
16 October 2011
This app looks shady as hell! Installs 'run at start' deamon. Follows no Mac GUI guidelines. As another pointed out, the grammar used on their website is a red flag, if there ever was one. C'mon? Have enough Windows users made the "switch" to Mac to have a crappy, sketchy app like this get 5 Stars? WOW!
Like (9)
Version 0.9.5
4 answer(s)
Slob
Slob
21 October 2011
I agree. There'll be more attention to the mac os these days. Whois sees the site registered through godaddy.com. (?) The site languages are english & chinese. Hmm.
Like (2)
Widber
Widber
21 October 2011
I agree! 2Slob: Just to be correct - I assume that the site-languages are English and Japanese :) At least the flag looks like Japanese
Like (1)
Slob
Slob
21 October 2011
@Widber - yes it is. I was too lazy to look. ;)
Like (1)
Bloobie
Bloobie
21 October 2011
Poor spelling/grammar just like the latest glowing "reviews". LOL.
Like (1)
Tfindlay
14 October 2011
This looks like a great alternative to MacKeeper and it's free. Also the developers do not engage in the over-the-top marketing that the MacKeeper developers do. Contrary to another review here Magician does so cleaning. Just click the big Clean button.
Like (2)
Version 0.9.5
Acuraice
14 October 2011
looks interesting,but lacks cleaning features,only shows information which is readily available in the finder. also like the way that nobody at the company proofreads there descriptions and comments,they must be chinese! EXAMPLE TAKEN FROM THEIR WEBSITE ""Mac is marked as safe computer, then someone may thought Mac don't need any system utility to protect Mac. This is a misunderstanding to Mac computers. As a matter of fact, Mac has lots of system utilities to help it marked as safe computer and Magican is one of them.""
Like (3)
Version 0.9.5
1 answer(s)
ohmmmmmm
ohmmmmmm
14 October 2011
"nobody at the company proofreads there descriptions" I suppose you mean "their descriptions..."
Like (4)