Back to Macgo Blu-ray Player page
Macgo Blu-ray Player free download for Mac

Macgo Blu-ray Player Reviews

05 December 2020

Blu-ray player.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
droscar
droscar
Nov 4 2020
3.3.19
0.0
Nov 4 2020
0.0
Version: 3.3.19
I can't leave a rating for this app because it lacks features that I need. I own the Pro version and it plays every disc I own. This includes one disc that won't play in any other app I've tried (including this non-Pro version) but works fine in a regular Blu-ray player (the kind that sits next to your TV). Four stars for Macgo Blu-ray Player PRO. I just checked the developer's site and the pro version is on sale.
janky83
janky83
Oct 30 2020
3.3.19
1.0
Oct 30 2020
1.0
Version: 3.3.19
This app is a mess. Avoid!
dwfaber29
dwfaber29
Oct 11 2019
2.17.4
0.0
Oct 11 2019
0.0
Version: 2.17.4
Worked fine, then I downloaded OSX 10.15 Catalina. And now it won't work and it looks like it can't update. Only option appears to be buying a new version. I have ver. 2.17.4
Stef-Vandenabele
Stef-Vandenabele
Nov 19 2016
2.17.0
3.5
Nov 19 2016
3.5
Version: 2.17.0
Good Bluray player. But it does not always plays convent smoothly. Playback is choppy at times.
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
Nov 19 2016
2.17.0
3.0
Nov 19 2016
3.0
Version: 2.17.0
Note that Sony often updates their Blu-ray DRM (Digital Rights Manglement) which ends up changing how a 'player' accesses the encrypted data. This means that often, when you attempt to play a newly released Blu-ray disc, your 'player' requires an update to work properly. I've run into this a couple times. With Blu-ray hardware, the update is performed via the Internet. With MacGo Blu-ray Player we have to wait for an update from the developer.

If you run into recent releases that don't play in Blu-ray Player, I'd suggest contacting the developer for an update.
Spudboy
Spudboy
Aug 21 2016
2.16.16.2419
0.0
Aug 21 2016
0.0
Version: 2.16.16.2419
I'm confused. Pro is Free but Standard costs money? Shouldn't that be the other way around? Not sure which one I should get.
Bart-Pans
Bart-Pans
Mar 31 2016
2.16.10.2268
4.0
Mar 31 2016
4.0
Version: 2.16.10.2268
Nice Blu-ray player. Works fine but still has problem with displaying subtitles which is a bug present from v1.00
Bryce-Parker
Bryce-Parker
Sep 16 2015
2.16.4.2069
4.5
Sep 16 2015
4.5
Version: 2.16.4.2069
A powerful and basic blu ray player for mac. Does Mac bluray player not be developed by Apple?
Mlsteve
Mlsteve
Sep 11 2015
2.16.4.2069
5.0
Sep 11 2015
5.0
Version: 2.16.4.2069
Macgo Blu-ray Player is $39.95 on their own website, $30 on MacUpdate. I have downloaded and run Mac Blu-ray Player, surprised to find it can play my BDAV. Mac Blu-ray Player is about the only thing I can get to play my BDAV discs. It deserves my 5 stars.
Tandfg
Tandfg
Sep 8 2015
2.16.4.2069
4.0
Sep 8 2015
4.0
Version: 2.16.4.2069
I have used the Macgo Blu-ray Player from Macupdate for some time, apart from the words unregistered version plastered across the screen, this media player is fine.
Mac-30
Mac-30
Sep 7 2015
2.16.4.2069
3.0
Sep 7 2015
3.0
Version: 2.16.4.2069
I've had this app for some time and occasionally re- try it. Then I go back to VLC. every time. It's free and it works well.
mephisto4
mephisto4
Sep 7 2015
2.16.4.2069
0.0
Sep 7 2015
0.0
Version: 2.16.4.2069
I got a free key for 6 months with purchase of a CD/DVD player. I have very few Blu Rays as I stream 95% of my content but for a few shows I decided to purchase BR so I was happy to see an application to play what little physical media I have but I was mistaken. I really wanted to love this app however most of time discs don't eject, UI is atrocious with clunky fast forward and rewind controls. Still no Blu-Ray menu support with chapters being one big glob of hours. Don't waste your money. I'd rather have nothing than this.
TylerGrace
TylerGrace
Sep 7 2015
2.16.4.2069
5.0
Sep 7 2015
5.0
Version: 2.16.4.2069
Thanks MU for holding this excellent discount activity, this software appeared properly. After tried Macgo Mac Player, and had a carefully look at their function. Compared with VLC, they are totally different. Macgo could be found on BDA and the BluFast MX makes my Mac process faster. Got one with such lower price , I appreciate Mu so much.
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
Aug 20 2015
2.16.2.2044
3.0
Aug 20 2015
3.0
Version: 2.16.2.2044
v2.16.3.2057 is out.
Revco
Revco
Aug 3 2015
2.16.0.2030
1.5
Aug 3 2015
1.5
Version: 2.16.0.2030
As much as a love the fact that it plays blu-rays discs just fine I really hate using this software. The interface is so bad and it's missing basic functions. There is no FW or RW. It doesn't recognise chapters. You can't scrub through a movie. That pill shaped area that appears when you play a movie is too small to show the full title. You have two colour choices for the interface highlights - bright blue or orange. Far too bright and distracting. The orange social media icon placed next to the controls is tacky (I paid enough for the software, you do your own marketing). And so on.
JacobsIvan
JacobsIvan
Jul 29 2015
2.16.0.2030
3.0
Jul 29 2015
3.0
Version: 2.16.0.2030
Sometimes plays a Blu-ray, sometimes it doesn't. But when it plays, it offers good quality and fast navigation.
Bidule
Bidule
Jul 28 2015
2.16.0.2030
0.0
Jul 28 2015
0.0
Version: 2.16.0.2030
Crashes on 10.6.8. V.2.15 works fine on the same mp4 files.
rosieee1234
rosieee1234
Jul 28 2015
2.16.0.2030
3.5
Jul 28 2015
3.5
Version: 2.16.0.2030
The app is not so bad, and works well. But i think it's a little expensive and the interface is not beautiful enough.
Macinman
Macinman
Jun 27 2015
2.15.3.1995
0.0
Jun 27 2015
0.0
Version: 2.15.3.1995
Since upgrading, Opening 1080p Videos seems to cause the app to unexpectedly crash on open. Haven't had this issue in the past. Specs Late 2013 Macbook pro 13" 8 GB RAM Yosemite, 10.10.3 Mac is connected to a 32" Sony Bravia HDTV by HDMI, for external display.
tvalleau
tvalleau
Jun 23 2015
2.15.3.1995
4.5
Jun 23 2015
4.5
Version: 2.15.3.1995
I don't have any problems with this software, running on my desktop. It works just fine. I'm leaving this starred review to counteract the completely useless 4-word reviews one finds here.
Steve-Frawley
Steve-Frawley
Jun 3 2015
2.15.0.1977
4.0
Jun 3 2015
4.0
Version: 2.15.0.1977
Works well playing copy protected and ripped blu ray movies. Have used for years Minus one star for: Licensing prevents use on home and mobile unit, Interface sort of kludgy in handling extras and menus, Licensing requirement to 'phone home' for authorization on copy protected disks hampers mobile use
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
Apr 14 2015
2.11.3.0000
3.0
Apr 14 2015
3.0
Version: 2.11.3.0000
The actual current version number of Macgo Blu-ray Player, as of today is: v2.11.3.1929. That's what you'll be downloading.

In the past, Macgo never bothered to provide the version number in its metadata, aka what shows up in 'Get Info'. Now they are providing a version number, but not incrementing it! Therefore, it's stuck saying '2.11.3.0000' when it is NOT. The actual version number is available in the About box when running the application. - - Why can't certain developers get the hang of doing this right? 99% of other Mac developers don't have this problem!!! Sheesh.
Jean-Jacques-Ardoino
Jean-Jacques-Ardoino
Mar 30 2015
2.11.2.1858
2.5
Mar 30 2015
2.5
Version: 2.11.2.1858
French translation is weird and the menus look like VLC :-) But the app is not so bad and works. But the license system is very bad : it's not allowed to activate it on more that a computer, even for the same user which could use it at home or at work, only once at a time.
anonymous-rhinoceros-2947
anonymous-rhinoceros-2947
Mar 5 2015
2.11.2.1858
0.5
Mar 5 2015
0.5
Version: 2.11.2.1858
How do I give 0 stars to this company? Complete crap software with the worst customer support in the industry. Buyer beware. DO NOT say I didn't warn you.
Sidetracked
Sidetracked
Feb 9 2015
2.11.2.1858
0.0
Feb 9 2015
0.0
Version: 2.11.2.1858
I've been trying to buy this for a few days now while it's on sale. The web pages won't connect when I press 'buy' regardless of browser, my 3 emails have gone unanswered, and I only got voice mail when I skyped via their site, even thought it was in their stated 'office hours'. Not the most impressive way to encourage confidence in the company's support, or sell your product!
SunWolf
SunWolf
Feb 5 2015
2.11.2.1858
0.0
Feb 5 2015
0.0
Version: 2.11.2.1858
Good program, but it is annoying that EVERY TIME MacUpdate announces a new version this is nowhere to be found. The one you can download here as well as the one you find at the Macgo web site both have the number 2.11.2.1848 and NOT 1858. This happened with every single update that I can think of. I do not know whether this is MU's fault or Macgo's, but it is annoying.
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
Jan 5 2015
2.11.1.1824
3.0
Jan 5 2015
3.0
Version: 2.11.1.1824
[Preliminary apologies for after this post turns into a pumpkin] - Today's the day kids! MacGo Blu-ray Player is on sale, thanks to MU, at $29.95. (Thus I updated my review to 3 stars). I'm posting this not to shill, but because this is what I consider to be the reasonable price. (I've laughed at everything higher). I bought it! I did because they're making a decent effort to play BR disc GUIs inside their player. I've actually seen it work on the recent Pink Floyd BR disc! Not kidding. I'll pay $30 for that. If you don't care and just want to play disc files, VLC is adequate. (VLC's attempts so far to play BR disc GUIs is crap). Buy now before the much-too-much higher prices set in again.
Pusfarm
Pusfarm
Dec 30 2014
2.10.12.1797
0.5
Dec 30 2014
0.5
Version: 2.10.12.1797
So the "demo" doesn't let you actually play a blu-ray unless you let it connect to their verification server. Same for their clone app, Aurora. Is that the dev being obnoxious or is it decryption via server? (Neither one is acceptable to me.) Even at 50% off today, why would I buy this if I need to be tethered to their servers to watch a blu-ray? Today is my first foray into blu-ray, but I'll get a stand-alone player if this is the garbage we have to deal with.
Tandfg
Tandfg
Dec 27 2014
2.10.12.1797
4.0
Dec 27 2014
4.0
Version: 2.10.12.1797
Mac blu-ray Player plays my blu-ray discs and other formats. It runs stably and I am Satisfied with this tool. What's more, it is a region-free one.
AUSTINIA
AUSTINIA
Dec 23 2014
2.10.12.1797
5.0
Dec 23 2014
5.0
Version: 2.10.12.1797
I’ve been using this program for a long time, this player works well.
sdsfdf
sdsfdf
Dec 17 2014
2.10.12.1797
5.0
Dec 17 2014
5.0
Version: 2.10.12.1797
Having used the trial version for some days, I decide to pay for it. As I know, Macgo has a promotion these days, maybe I can save some money. The Blu-ray Menu is amazing.
tjekov37
tjekov37
Dec 7 2014
2.10.12.1797
4.5
Dec 7 2014
4.5
Version: 2.10.12.1797
The LAST update for this App is "....1785" !!!! NOT HAVE this update in official site "...1797" ??!!!!! And this player dose't read yet x265 codec . Pleas FIX that. I love this player.
sdsfdf
sdsfdf
Dec 4 2014
2.10.12.1797
5.0
Dec 4 2014
5.0
Version: 2.10.12.1797
In order to celebrate the upcoming Christmas Day, Macgo Mac Blu-ray Player is holding a giveaway promotion during 1st- 5th, 8th - 12th, 15th -19th in December 2014. You can get Free iPhone Data Recovery. It can retrieve the lost Photos, Call History, deleted Messages, Contacts through Mac OS X 10.5 / 10.6 / 10.7 / 10.8 / Mavericks 10.9 / Yosemite 10.10 with clear interface. No matter caused by system crash, smash, upgrade, jailbreak or even breakage, it can get lost data back completely. http://www.macblurayplayer.com/macgo-christmas-promotion.htm
Mahdizadeh
Mahdizadeh
Dec 3 2014
2.10.12.1797
3.0
Dec 3 2014
3.0
Version: 2.10.12.1797
When do we get Atmos support ???
TCalhau
TCalhau
Dec 1 2014
2.10.12.1785
0.0
Dec 1 2014
0.0
Version: 2.10.12.1785
When do we get DTS 7.1 support???
tjekov37
tjekov37
Nov 16 2014
2.10.11.1767
4.5
Nov 16 2014
4.5
Version: 2.10.11.1767
I love this app :-))
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
Nov 12 2014
2.10.11.1767
3.0
Nov 12 2014
3.0
Version: 2.10.11.1767
Addendum to my review below: I've been playing with the preliminary menu support on a different Blu-ray disc (The Blu-ray version of Pink Floyd's 'The Endless River') and am having surprising success with MacGo's Mac Blu-ray Player. VLC, despite being properly setup with MakeMKV, spat out this disc with lunatic errors. But MacGo runs the fairly complicated menu system for the disc with surprising skill. I managed to BOMB MacGo attempting to figure out its own player icons. But I managed to tiptoe around that problem in future use and am actually PLEASED to see menu support progress!!! So I'm upping my review to 2 stars. It's usable. Would I pay $60 for MacGo? :lol: No bloody way! What a ripoff of a price! Good gawd. If they'd simply left the price at $30, I'd have given it 3 stars. That's the most its worth, ever. Hopefully, they'll have another of their frequent 'sales', at which point I'll reconsider buying it. $60! HAHAHAHA!
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
Oct 29 2014
2.10.10.1760
3.0
Oct 29 2014
3.0
Version: 2.10.10.1760
Having actual access to the menus on Blu-ray discs would be great. You can't get there from here. This is, like the many 'competitors', a bare-bones hack that is very unsatisfactory as well as annoying to use. Among the proliferation of trash in the field of Blu-ray players on Mac, this one may be the best! But it's not worth the asking price by any means. A special I HATE YOU to Sony for making Blu-ray such a DRM (digital rights manglement) infested PITA. Steve Jobs was entirely right when he called Blu-ray 'A Bag Of Hurt'.
Sanchai
Sanchai
Oct 29 2014
2.10.10.1760
3.0
Oct 29 2014
3.0
Version: 2.10.10.1760
2.10.10.1760 not available. It's 2.10.10.1756 on the Dev website. Fix please Misha!
IlianaV2066
IlianaV2066
Oct 8 2014
2.10.8.1715
2.0
Oct 8 2014
2.0
Version: 2.10.8.1715
I rip my Blu-rays. They are expensive, and scratch easily, so I'd rather not play the actual disks when I can avoid it. As such, this software is useless to me because playback of ISO and directory rips is choppy well over half the time (as it turns out after 2 days of tests, even though the rips in question play just fine on my Windows system). As importantly, I don't even get to experience choppy if I decide to play them in full menu mode. 8 times out of 10, the player just crashes or freezes. I should have experimented a hell of a lot more before shelling out $30 because this purchase was far from worth it, even at 50% off. ($60 is too expensive even if the software worked as advertised, which it does not - the ISO and directory playback of Blu-ray rips is it's listed as a feature in that glowing description, when in reality, it's still just a bug.) Avoid, unless you don't mind using this as an overpriced alternative to VLC that looks better, but works worse.
Fightingcat
Fightingcat
Sep 17 2014
2.10.8.1715
3.5
Sep 17 2014
3.5
Version: 2.10.8.1715
I bought this software after I decided to buy an external BD Player (Samsung SE 506) for my iMac. It works great and problems to play a BD are rare and often they fixed it with one update who are not seldom. Also a criteria for me was to play movies outside from Europe. With the quick play mode I can do that. But if you enable the beta feature to show the regular BD menus, you need to setup the area code and can change it only for several times. If you switch back ti the quick play, you are back in the code free business ;-) What I didn't like is the control when I watch a movie. I didn't need any button to post my movie on social networks, but I want to have a simple button to fast forward a movie. This option is totally missing in the complete player, whats be strange because they want in the first setup that you handle all media files from your mac with this tool. Also I didn't like the way how the support multiple devices. The license works only on one device. You need to deactivate it first, if you will use it on another mac. So if you have more than one Mac, you need to buy a family license or upgrade your existing one for around 10$. I can understand that developers will stop sharing licenses with unlimited of friends, but it's not ok to block exactly after activating one device for this price. Lot of developers give you the option to register the software on two devices like a desktop and laptop. Well done.. Pros: • Play a lot of media files from the Mac OS and support DVD and BD Playback • Good support with updates to safe the playback of new BD's • Code free mode for BD's in quick play • Taking Screencaps from the App directly from you movies (including DVD and BD) • Playlist (only one and not safeable) • Individual background for the main (if you like to personalize it a bit) Contra... • One license for only one device with activation in the background. Want more? Pay for it! • No fast forward or backward button in the player. Also no options or shortcuts for that • AirX never work for me in different test's. Can see the sharing page on my iPhone, but if I select the movie, nothing happens on the iPhone. Only in the player I see that it start's to play. Well, I still prefer Air Video (Server) for that ;-) So for around 40 $ you get a working player for your BDs. It's not a very special one with amazing features, but it does what it say and for that it's good enough :-) And sometimes you get this app a bit cheaper than 40$ like around the christmas time.
Macinman
Macinman
Aug 26 2014
2.10.6.1693
0.0
Aug 26 2014
0.0
Version: 2.10.6.1693
I had been looking for a blu-ray solution for a while after I got my new retina macbook pro and a blu-ray burner back in Feb, of this year. I found Macgo Mac blu-ray player to be the most stable out of all available options at this point. The quick mode where it just plays the m2ts files has worked great without issue, and the menu mode being developed looks to have a lot of potential, even though it's not stable yet. I don't own a copy of windows so I can't comment on blu-ray support, and linux doesn't have a lot of support so mac os x seems to be ahead there. The only thing I have to compare is my sony bdp-s3100 which is a dedicated stand alone BD player which is always going to work better for full disc playback just because of the nature of blu-ray. Still, as a third party solution, I still think this app is good step forward. especially since apple doesn't officially support blu-ray disc,
Pik80
Pik80
Jun 10 2014
2.10.3.1568
0.0
Jun 10 2014
0.0
Version: 2.10.3.1568
They finally added an opening menu that looks the same is if you put the disc in your TV. Unfortunately when you are in this mode it becomes very unstable and crashes almost immediately. Oh, well. I guess it's progress though.
Drsfg
Drsfg
May 10 2014
2.10.3.1568
1.0
May 10 2014
1.0
Version: 2.10.3.1568
I've had nothing but problems with this software. I've contacted support as suggested by the company and not a single person has replied.
Flowheater
Flowheater
May 9 2014
2.10.3.1568
4.0
May 9 2014
4.0
Version: 2.10.3.1568
With the handful of popular BD titles I have tried, this is quite a good software movie player. People should be aware of a licensing policy that's highly unfriendly to portable external disk drives. You can move this software to a new computer 5 times... and that's it, you've made your last move. (Macgo's servers are keeping count.) This is not like an iTunes registration where you can use your purchases on any of 5 systems! So if you were wanting to share a single BD drive between a desktop Mac and a laptop... you're going to buy this app twice before long. Since the full asking price is close to a low-end hardware BD player... I consider that a little harsh. Surely there's a better way to keep customers from abusing the developer.
Cortig
Cortig
Apr 24 2014
2.10.3.1568
4.0
Apr 24 2014
4.0
Version: 2.10.3.1568
The app works well and had no trouble with any of the Blu-Ray disks I tried. A few updates ago though it started launching automatically every time I inserted a BD in my drive and I simply *cannot* figure out how to prevent this. Changing the preferences does nothing (I even played with the UTIs association through RBDefault Apps without success). I contacted the support and they never ever got back to me… (not a good sign overall) If anyone has the slightest clue… I'm open to suggestions.
Cgc
Cgc
Apr 18 2014
2.10.3.1568
0.5
Apr 18 2014
0.5
Version: 2.10.3.1568
Not worth the asking price.
tjekov37
tjekov37
Mar 28 2014
2.10.2.1547
4.5
Mar 28 2014
4.5
Version: 2.10.2.1547
UNIC Media player :-)
Emile-b
Emile-b
Mar 8 2014
2.10.0.1526
0.0
Mar 8 2014
0.0
Version: 2.10.0.1526
Bug Bug Bug ! Only playing audio, and completely frozen for the picture display... The last playing release was the 2.8.x. ! DO NOT UPDATE !
JamesHarrisPhoto
JamesHarrisPhoto
Mar 7 2014
2.10.0.1526
4.5
Mar 7 2014
4.5
Version: 2.10.0.1526
My ONLY complaint is that it can't update itself. Downloading the entire app and replacing the old version with the new version is ever-so-slightly irrating. Other thant this minor gripe, it's my favorite video player on the Mac platform.