Back to PDFScanner page
PDFScanner free download for Mac

PDFScanner Reviews

1.15.1
02 November 2019

Scan and archive documents.

ich-net
01 November 2016

Most helpful

Very good app, very good responding(!) developer and very good support for the app. Using it since years.
Like (1)
Version 1.11.5

Read 11 PDFScanner User Reviews

Rate this app:

ramankour169
06 August 2018
This most recent variant 1.10.1 has an auto-white foundation revision include, which is turned on of course. It may create comes about that you don't care for. In the wake of filtering my significant other's most recent pay stub in the wake of refreshing PDFScanner, I saw that the shading appeared to be exceptionally unique from all my past outputs of more seasoned pay stubs. This issue was settled by unchecking the inclination for auto-white foundation amendment. for more information visit this link https://hpetechnicalsupportnumber.com/fix-hp-printer-error-code-messages/
Like
Version 1.12.1
anonymous-skink-3164
03 January 2017
pro: - nice Interface - fast and reliable ocr - straight forward - works with most Scanners - deskewing; but no auto-rotate (read below) cons: - no automatic deletion of white pages (so you can't scan in duplex mode as standard)!! - no auto-rotate option (pages written in landscape format aren't getting ocr'd)!! Hoepfully the cons are fixed in a future update!
Like
Version 1.11.6
ich-net
01 November 2016
Very good app, very good responding(!) developer and very good support for the app. Using it since years.
Like (1)
Version 1.11.5
lacwbo
20 September 2016
I will never pay for something from the app store without a free trial first. Too difficult to get a refund if the app does not meet my needs. What's so difficult for a developer to supply a free trial copy?
Like
Version 1.11.1
Panocha
25 October 2015
It's really a shame that there is no way to get it other than MAS. I will never use MAS for anything other than free again. They have screwed me too many times. I like the 99% of other companies that are smart enough to have more than one purchase option. Most of them that do this find that their customers convert from the bad MAS version over to a direct download from their companies. Apple has way to many problems with restrictions and accounting. MAS is a MASsive can of worms.
Like (1)
Version 1.10.1
1 answer(s)
lacwbo
lacwbo
20 September 2016
I agree with you. I can't understand why the developer does not offer a free trial copy to download from his web site.
Like (1)
mikes429
18 October 2015
This latest version 1.10.1 has an auto-white background correction feature, which is turned on by default. It might produce results that you don't like. After scanning my wife's latest pay stub after updating PDFScanner, I noticed that the color looked very different from all my previous scans of older pay stubs. This issue was fixed by unchecking the preference for auto-white background correction.
Like
Version 1.10.1
CDavid
23 September 2015
PDFScanner offers a lot more features than other similar applications. Moreover, it makes the process of searching for the scanned documents much easier, so if you need a fast and simple tool to use for work - I believe this app will be a perfect choice. The price of $15 may seem a bit high at first, but once you install and start using PDFScanner, you understand that the program is worth the money spent.
Like (4)
Version 1.10.0
Doncolore
14 June 2014
Very efficient app for archiving tasks ! Launch the app, scan settings are remembered from last time, click Scan, perhaps sort the pages if necessary, save, done. OCR happens in the background and is good as long as all pages are upright. If they are not, you have to manually rotate them and reapply OCR. On the other hand: if you need to scan a single page or picture at the best quality possible you might want to look for a different app.
Like
Version 1.8.0
MnogoMnogo
11 July 2013
When it works, it works well. For me, that is with small jobs (< 30pp), b&w. Set it on grayscale or color, and scanning slows to an astonishing crawl: a red cover-page with a little bit of text that i wanted to scan in color took 6 minutes -- that's one page. And even on small jobs, b&w text, saving the file after it's scanned sometimes is instantaneous and sometimes takes 3-4. I can't figure out what that problem is about, but it's dire. Why can't there be even one consistently good software solution for scanning on OS X? Adobe Acrobat actually works the smoothest, but it takes over my screen and won't let me do other work. Vuescan works well with one of my scanners (an ancient Epson multifunction device), but with my newer Epson sheet-feed scanner works 1 out of 10 times. And this program, which is what I've ended up using for lack of something better, wastes so much of my time. Arrgh.
Like
Version 1.5.2
pandora-1
04 November 2011
Neat! After reading the review by @Nicksloan I gave this some serious thought. Even though the dev's website was down, I got a good rundown of features on the App Store page. There was one thing that nearly stopped me in my tracks: Needing a scanner that Image Capture recognized. I have a Fujitsu S500M that's been very good to me for a couple of years. However, Image Scanner doesn't recognize it. Well, the software that comes with the Scansnap is pretty versatile and I decided to risk the $15. At this point, I'm glad I did. It took a couple of minutes to configure a new profile for the Scansnap that would send scans to PDFScanner. Though PDFScanner doesn't pop up as it would with an Image Capture scanner, it does work and does the OCR and saving in a straightforward manner. I'll still use DTPO for the heavier research but for scanning the odds and ends of daily life, this app is great. Recommended - an excellent application (one star off due to the Image Capture limitation).
Like (1)
Version 1.4.1
Nicksloan
19 September 2011
Before someone says “no demo, no sale” (and no, I’m not a fan of the App Store either) I’d like to say that this is actually a very nice app, and something of a bargain compared to most serious OCR apps. It has a very specific remit: to turn scanned images into searchable PDFs with hidden text. The workflow from scan to output is very quick and simple, and it does not require specialist document scanners. It does however offer limited control over the scan, with no previews, so while it works fine with predictable originals in standard sizes, I generally prefer to pair it with VueScan or throw prescanned images at it. (They don’t have to be PDFs; most formats seem to work fine.) The OCR is no more perfect than any other OCR, but it is good, and easily good enough for the intended purpose. Acrobat probably does a marginally more accurate job, but at a much higher price and in a klunkier way. OCR-ed text may be copied and pasted from the main window without saving the file, so it can be used as a quick route to text, but don’t expect clean formatting. You have to watch file sizes: PDFScanner can downsample images, and provides a useful estimate of file size in the Save DB, but in some cases these can unaccountably balloon. The dev, who is very responsive, is working on this and other things. I don’t think this is going to be one of those apps that is cobbled together for the App Store and then forgotten.
Like (2)
Version 1.4.1
1 answer(s)
pandora-1
pandora-1
04 November 2011
@Nicksloan: Nice even-handed review. I'm a big user of Devonthink Pro Office but this dedicated app might well fit into my workflow of simply archiving lots of monthly papers (financial statements, reports, magazine articles, etc) that don't need to be run through the power and functionality of DTPO.
Like