Back to Pins page
Pins free download for Mac

Pins Reviews

2.1.4
25 March 2018

Simple and elegant bookmark manager.

Frankof
20 February 2014

Most helpful

"All your bookmarks in one place!" sounded like I really really need this program. I was happy to find it in a software bundle recently, and it was one of the reasons I bought the bundle. Downloaded, installed, opened: NO bookmark in one place! Not a single one. How can that be? I had a look in the documentation, and quickly realized: I misunderstood. This program does not organize anything FOR you. YOU have to organize the bookmarks in the program. What a disappointment. For years, decades even, every single browser I installed had an function to import bookmarks from other browser with a single click - or even fully automatically. Not so this program. To make your bookmarks "work" in this program, you have to manually export them from each of your browsers separately, then import it into the program. Which means, the bookmarks are NOT imported automatically, and also will NOT be synchronized automatically when I add a new bookmark in one of the browsers. In essence, the program creates a lot of work, rather than saving it. Maybe I just do not see the point. But why does this program not work like a self-synchronizing storage place for the bookmarks of my folders? In the sense that: I open the program, and ALL my bookmarks are in one place (as the slogan says). THAT would be really useful. I don't want to import stuff manually, or use a browser plugin to add the bookmark to the program AFTER I have also added it to the browser itself. The authors say you can synchronize the bookmarks between computers, but you have to register for an account. Why? We all have iCloud and/or Dropbox to provide platforms for cross-machine syncing - the program cannot work with either of it. So, the program should basically do three things: Get bookmarks from all browsers automatically, provide additional features for the bookmark handling, and allow synchronizing via iCloud and/or Dropbox. As it is now, the program can do only the second thing. What a disappointment.
Like (11)
Version 1.7.1

Read 51 Pins User Reviews

Rate this app:

Panocha
10 January 2018
Complete garbage. All it does is crash whenever you try to sync with DropBox.
Like
Version 2.1.3
bearister2746
18 November 2017
This app would be good if it worked. The backup feature doesn't work and it's not reliable with regard to setting new "pins."
Like
Version 2.0.9
Mirsky
22 October 2017
This is my favorite Mac app for storing and organizing bookmarks. I prefer it to the built-in bookmarks manager in Safari and other browsers. I also think it's better than Bookmacster, which I used to use. And for $9.99, Pins is reasonably priced.

There are a few quirks, but overall it's good.

Also the developer is very responsive and responds to emails promptly.
Like
Version 2.0.9
Jimw
08 October 2017
Just tried the trial version and sort of liked it but chose not to use it after finding out the developer is moving to a subscription model with the next major release.
Like
Version 2.0.9
2 answer(s)
ObjectiveSheep
ObjectiveSheep
21 October 2017
Hi there. Thanks for your comment.

I heard several users express their mixed feelings about a subscription model.

So I have decided to instead retain a per app upfront one time payment per major version model.

I hope this is good news :-)

http://pins.objectivesheep.com/pricing-questions-on-coming-version/
Like
Jimw
Jimw
22 October 2017
Thank you for your reconsideration. I believe that this is the proper paradigm wihen information is captured or stored in a format provided by the app. I believe is a place for subscription based paradigm where the capture or storage of data is not involved such as a tool that analyzes network performance but does not record the instance, or an antivirus or malware tool. These are true services, just like you power or phone service for making calls. But where data is involved, a subscription makes you hostage to the subscription so long as the access of the data is desired. In the case of Pins, it would be a database of bookmarks. There are grey areas if the app saves the data in a user readable format such as csv, rtf, or txt that can be input and stored in other common apps. Currently my bookmark app that I have used for over 10 years seems to be subsetted. If it were a subscription model, I would still be paying for it even though it has not been updated for years and will be rendered non-functional in MOS 10.14 as it is 32 bit, Is is right for me to be paying for it all these years then be unable to access my data in it in the future? If support for an app is terminated for whatever reason during the subscription period, then it often becomes a ticking time bomb in regards to the contained data when the subscription expires, especially if the developer fails to notify the customer base that support for the app is being withdrawn. With a tool, nothing is lost or jeopardized except the use of the tool and the money invested and the user is free to find a similar one. But during that investment the user had the use of the tool and had the option of switching to a different app if one was available that does approximately the same thing at a lower cost. Would you buy a refrigerator on a subscription basis - i.e. if you missed a payment or the manufacture goes out of business all you food spoils? Software that stores data or configures it in a proprietary format is the same paradigm.
Like
Jlgattis
03 October 2017
Great app.Finally a sensible booking method. I am moving and updating bookmarks daily with pleasure.
Like
Version 2.0.9
lb3541
26 September 2017
Does exactly what it says and is extremely helpful for me. I use it daily and am perfectly satisfied.
Like
Version 2.0.9
Daking
27 March 2017
Not very happy so far. I liked the idea of some of the features they showed, but it doesn't seem to work with Chrome, or at least that's been my experience so far. I tried sending a message to the developer, and the form on their website is busted, so I don't know if there's any way at all to get hold of them, even if to just let them know about the issue.

Sorry, but if it doesn't work with Chrome, it's a 1-star review for me. (I suppose I should include that I'm running macOS Sierra, version 10.12.3, and Chrome is the current version, but then Chrome automatically updates itself all the time anyway.)
Like
Version 2.0.9
1 answer(s)
ObjectiveSheep
ObjectiveSheep
27 March 2017
Hi Daking,
I replied to your support email. I'm checking if there's any malfunction with Pins and the current version of Chrome and I'll get back to you soon.
Like
Eugenev3565
20 October 2015
Decided to give it another go after disappointing experiences with previous (1.x.x) versions. Much has improved in version 2.0.4, but at least one issue has stayed: preferences retention. I must still reselect the 'Show bookmarks containing all of the selected'... option after every relaunch. And the software crashed while selecting tags (I am using OS X 10.11).
Like (2)
Version 2.0.4
ld92lleo2lp
23 August 2015
Why there is no auto-syncing with Google Bookmarks?
Like
Version 2.0.4
Svenster
03 August 2015
Hmmmm.... Bought Pins 2.0.2 and it just hung constantly. just upgraded to 2.0.3 hoping it would be resolved but its not much better. It functions for 2 out of 10 minutes at the most, most of the time its just "Not Responding" then quits.
Like
Version 2.0.3
1 answer(s)
ObjectiveSheep
ObjectiveSheep
19 August 2015
Drop me a line at support [at] pinsapp.com so we can troubleshoot together
Like
x0x0
02 July 2015
Developer' site appears to be blacklisted. I can't access it anymore. Upon verification, and as reported by the site below, McAffee and some are blocking it. https://sitecheck.sucuri.net/results/pinsapp.com What happened?
Like
Version 2.0.2
1 answer(s)
ObjectiveSheep
ObjectiveSheep
19 August 2015
Thanks for the heads up but I just checked and it's not blacklisted at all.
Like
x0x0
11 May 2015
I think this app could really use a Privacy Policy, as requested on the dev support forums: https://pinsapp.uservoice.com/forums/133572-pins-support/suggestions/7715340-privacy-policy
Like (2)
Version 2.0.1
Essadee
30 April 2015
UI seems a bit clunky to me, but that's personal preference. Capabilities of the software appear reasonable on the surface, but I can't get Pinboard import to work at all, because it crashes: /* Application Specific Information: *** Terminating app due to uncaught exception 'NSInvalidArgumentException', reason: '+entityForName: nil is not a legal NSManagedObjectContext parameter searching for entity name 'Tag'' abort() called terminating with uncaught exception of type NSException */ UI isn't polished enough for my taste and I'm not interested in debugging this app. I think if I were going to buy software like this today I'd go with Spillo (which I'm non-commital about because I usually use a SSB via Fluid directly to Pinboard which is pretty nice with the custom userstyle I feed it.)
Like
Version 2.0.0
1 answer(s)
ObjectiveSheep
ObjectiveSheep
02 May 2015
Hi there. Just fixed a Pinboard/Delicious password encoding issue and an update is now available. Please contact me at support [at] pinsapp.com and I'll be happy to see if this gets things going for you. I'd also love to talk some more about your feedback on the UI, I'd love to hear more about that.
Like
x0x0
26 April 2015
What does it needs to constently connect to the developer site, even after the license is accepted, and I chose not to look for update? Is it a sync feature? If so, how can I opt-out of it since I don't intend to use the sync feature. And why does it connect to settings-crashlytics-1410998606.us-east-1.elb.amazonaws.com? and there's no preference to opt-out of it? Thank you.
Like
Version 2.0.0
2 answer(s)
ObjectiveSheep
ObjectiveSheep
26 April 2015
Pins will hit the pinsapp.com server to check if there's any update available. It does so at startup and there's currently no option to opt out. It's not the sync feature. No sync will happen unless you request it to.
Crashlytics is a standard framework that sends crash data to its servers to help the software developers track crashes (anonymously) and fix those in newer releases (see https://crashlytics.com). Hope that answers your questions :-)
Like
x0x0
x0x0
11 May 2015
Thanks for your reply.
Like
JADNC
26 April 2015
I purchased my 2.0 upgrade directly from the developer's website, due to his prior excellent customer service. I also enjoy his program, which is quite useful. I particularly like the fact that it allows me to view and work with my pinboard.in information. I really like this program, and think folks will find the developer very responsive. Highly recommended.
Like
Version 2.0.0
1 answer(s)
ObjectiveSheep
ObjectiveSheep
26 April 2015
Thank you!
Like
Hermie
21 April 2015
Thank you Fabio, at first glance version two seems to work a whole lot better.
Like
Version 2.0.0
1 answer(s)
fabio-5
fabio-5
21 April 2015
I'm really happy to hear that :-)
Like
Dellsuxx
09 January 2015
Just decided to give Pins one last shot before deleting this waste of money spent almost six months ago and not only did Pins crash again and again and again but it just caused my first major Firefox crash this year that had to be restarted three times In a row so I could delete the Pins browser extension. What a piece garbage and time waster this app is. To top It off Pins now wants me to sign Into Dropbox,(NSA spyware). Screw you Fabio!
Like (2)
Version 1.8.2
1 answer(s)
fabio-5
fabio-5
21 April 2015
Please do give it another shot with version 2. I'm pretty sure you won't be disappointed and I'd love to know your opinion.
Pins doesn't want you to sign into dropbox (it's an option dude, like you can use your own dropbox account if you want for synching) and it's no spyware (do you really think it could be on the Mac App Store if it were?). Oh and thanks for your kind greeting.
Like
dabcca
04 January 2015
I liked it when it was working, Now it crashes on launch. Moving on....
Like
Version 1.8.2
1 answer(s)
fabio-5
fabio-5
21 April 2015
Crashes on Yosemite have been fixed in version 2.0
Feel free to give it another shot if you like.
Like
Mykl.biz
13 December 2014
I haven't yet added any bookmarks, have scarcely done more than launch the demo app, a few times, and every time it becomes unresponsive (spinning beachball) or just crashes.
Like
Version 1.8.2
1 answer(s)
fabio-5
fabio-5
21 April 2015
Hi there. I think you won't be disappointed with the new version. Give it a shot and let me know.
Like
Eugenev3565
27 June 2014
Looks promising. I like the way Pins handles tags, but it would be even better if, as soon as 1 tag is selected only the tags are shown that occur in combination with the already selected tag, so that one can ‘drill down’ more easily. More serious are a few nasty bugs. The search window from the menu bar is completely messed up as soon as I start scrolling the search results. Settings are not kept after quitting and restarting the application, that includes the account settings for synchronization. I would buy the application when these bugs are fixed.
Like (1)
Version 1.8.2
3 answer(s)
fabio-5
fabio-5
21 April 2015
You now have the option to either add or subtract from displayed bookmarks while selecting tags. This means that you can either 'drill down' or see all bookmarks that correspond to all selected tags. Version 2.0 should also fix all other stuff you were talking about. I'd be happy to know what you think of it.
Like
Eugenev3565
Eugenev3565
21 April 2015
I'm afraid that in Version 2 the option to substract from displayed bookmarks only works until the next restart of Pins. After that the option must be chosen again in the preferences. The other bugs I reported earlier seem solved, but the software still responds annoyingly slowly sometimes.
Like
fabio-5
fabio-5
21 April 2015
I'll check the preference option persistence. Thanks for the heads up. Will be fixed soon.
Like
ylluminate
26 June 2014
Any word on whether it works with large collections yet?
Like (1)
Version 1.8.2
2 answer(s)
Kong
Kong
16 August 2014
As indicated by the author I tried to import a html-bookmarks file I previously exported from URL Manager Pro with maybe 3000+ bookmarks and a good many subfolders. The app stopped importing after about a dozen bookmarks… The author promised to look into the issue but I have not gotten a reply for over a month now… a bit disappointing because it does look promising.
Like (2)
fabio-5
fabio-5
21 April 2015
Yes it works with large collections now (v 2.0) though html import with very big files is sometimes still a little problematic (working on that). Best option could be to split up large browser exports if possible at all. If any html file halts the process feel free to contact support [at] pinsapp.com and I'll be happy to help you along.
Like
Alex-Macinsky
25 May 2014
Great app. Is there anyway to hide the dock icon, and only have in the menubar?
Like (1)
Version 1.8.0
1 answer(s)
fabio-5
fabio-5
21 April 2015
No, dock icon will stay but you can choose to not open the app's main window when it starts (preferences) and just use the menubar.
Like
Frankof
20 February 2014
"All your bookmarks in one place!" sounded like I really really need this program. I was happy to find it in a software bundle recently, and it was one of the reasons I bought the bundle. Downloaded, installed, opened: NO bookmark in one place! Not a single one. How can that be? I had a look in the documentation, and quickly realized: I misunderstood. This program does not organize anything FOR you. YOU have to organize the bookmarks in the program. What a disappointment. For years, decades even, every single browser I installed had an function to import bookmarks from other browser with a single click - or even fully automatically. Not so this program. To make your bookmarks "work" in this program, you have to manually export them from each of your browsers separately, then import it into the program. Which means, the bookmarks are NOT imported automatically, and also will NOT be synchronized automatically when I add a new bookmark in one of the browsers. In essence, the program creates a lot of work, rather than saving it. Maybe I just do not see the point. But why does this program not work like a self-synchronizing storage place for the bookmarks of my folders? In the sense that: I open the program, and ALL my bookmarks are in one place (as the slogan says). THAT would be really useful. I don't want to import stuff manually, or use a browser plugin to add the bookmark to the program AFTER I have also added it to the browser itself. The authors say you can synchronize the bookmarks between computers, but you have to register for an account. Why? We all have iCloud and/or Dropbox to provide platforms for cross-machine syncing - the program cannot work with either of it. So, the program should basically do three things: Get bookmarks from all browsers automatically, provide additional features for the bookmark handling, and allow synchronizing via iCloud and/or Dropbox. As it is now, the program can do only the second thing. What a disappointment.
Like (11)
Version 1.7.1
3 answer(s)
Calmeforet
Calmeforet
25 June 2014
Thanks for the review, which saved me a few dollars and a lot of frustration. Really appreciate reviews like yours.
Like (2)
fabio-5
fabio-5
21 April 2015
Nowhere is it stated that Pins will/should do this. It's a great bookmark manager but it doesn't feature/promise synching back to browsers. I'm afraid you misunderstood. That's why there's a website with features and a demo you can try out. I think this review is based on the wrong premises and might be totally misleading.
Like
Frankof
Frankof
21 April 2015
You must be kidding, Fabio. Just think about it again yourself. What are bookmarks for? To make our life easier. What do we expect from a bookmark manager? To make our life even more easy. And here Pins totally fails. The absolute minimum requirement for a bookmark manager would be to automatically import bookmarks from browsers (every browser in the last twenty years could do that, but you want us to manually export them from a browser to a HTML file and then manually import them into Pins - seriously???). In one other post from today you write: "html import with very big files is sometimes still a little problematic (working on that). Best option could be to split up large browser exports if possible at all." I mean - come on. Get the work done like even Internet Explorer did back in the late 90s, before you even think of selling this half-baked app.
For people using more than one browser (that would be the majority nowadays, I guess) a bookmark manager must import from them all, flag duplicates, and then let me organize the rest. Getting them back into the browsers would be the next thing I expect. What is a one-way import good for? Now with version 2 it still cannot import and sync bookmarks from/between browsers, and you say my review is "totally misleading"? Seriously, you have to re-think your product before attacking customers for their review. I regret every dollar you earned from me. Period.
Like (1)
aaffonso
20 February 2014
Bookmarks is an important part of my computer life and I always looking for good way to organize them. After a difficult start (it could be more intuitive) now I in love with Pins and with a promised Pinboard/Delicious integration it will be the perfect bookmark software for my needs.
Like
Version 1.7.1
1 answer(s)
fabio-5
fabio-5
21 April 2015
Thanks for your kind words :-)
Like
peppershaker
17 February 2014
Pins conflicted with Pages. Pages quit every time I tried to make a change to a document. Removing Pins solved the problem
Like
Version 1.7.1
1 answer(s)
fabio-5
fabio-5
21 April 2015
How on Earth could Pins conflict with Pages? Seriously dude... sorry for saying so but that's just nonsense. Apps have sandboxes and cannot conflict with other apps or their data. Apple made it this way for users to have a safe environment... period.
Like
Jbinfrisco
12 February 2014
Really enjoying this app. Been looking for something like Pins! for awhile. Still in development so will update features rating down the road. Ability to drag links out of Pins! and into other apps like Omnifocus, Evernote would be nice feature.
Like
Version 1.7.1
1 answer(s)
fabio-5
fabio-5
12 February 2014
Dragging bookmarks out of Pins sounds like a useful feature... putting it on my todo list :-) Thanks!
Like
Buck-Wheat
04 February 2014
I outlined the problem I am having with my first message here. The next message I sent was asking for a timely response. The third message I questioned your lack of support. Now all my messages have been erased and my questions were never answered. Buck
Like (2)
Version 1.7.1
1 answer(s)
fabio-5
fabio-5
04 February 2014
Hey Buck, they didn't get erased... they're just on another page (the sale page). I also did respond telling you to please send me an email to support@pinsapp.com so we can sort out the issue together :-)
Like
Ser-5d809358
03 February 2014
I tried with chrome Firefox and Safari. And I cannot drag-and-drop as they demonstrated in the video. I get nothing but errors when I try to update 1.7.2
Like (1)
Version 1.7.1
1 answer(s)
fabio-5
fabio-5
04 February 2014
Hi Ser, just download the new version 1.7.2 from the Download link and overwrite your current copy in /Applications... that will do the trick (having issues with this version's automatic update). About Firefox and Safari please be sure to have the URL selected and drag on the Dock Icon. An easier way to add bookmarks is to use the browser extensions (or the bookmarklet) so you'd only have one click to do! Those are available on the pinsapp.com website bottom right
Like
roydv58
30 January 2014
I've been using Pins for over a year. This is a very useful way of working with bookmarks. Having the bookmarks outside of the browser is counterintuitive, until you decide to switch browsers. Yes there are add-ons that try to do that. This is easier. An then there's all the functionality that turn your bookmarks into a real resource. The software has not been without it's bugs, and there are still some features that I'd like to see. The couple of times I've contacted Fabio, his response has been immediate and determined to find a solution. It's good value even at the usual price. On discount today, it's a steal.
Like (2)
Version 1.7.1
mmac79
19 September 2013
My favourite bookmark manager so far and i tried a lot. Including Delish and Pearltrees (online) the latest. I have to say: This will be finally a tool i will be using to gather all my bookmarks and keep them up to date. The usability is superb and functionality rich. go and grab it, it's a bargain!
Like (2)
Version 1.6
I bought it from the Mac App store and I noticed the 1.5 release yesterday. So I decided to give it a second try. The Pins menu key combination works now. You still must select a link or folder, before you can drag it. If you don't know this, you'll end up giving it up. This is a usable release, so I'll keep using it. The Firefox extension is broken with Firefox 22. I hope this will be fixed soon!
Like (1)
Version 1.5
1 answer(s)
fabio-5
fabio-5
30 January 2014
Firefox extension is working now :-)
Like
Mykl.biz
07 February 2013
The interface seems clean and promising. But the demo version crashed the first time I ran it, before I'd even added a single bookmark; I was simply looking through the menus. I'm sorry, but apps that are likely to crash should be considered Beta (at best) and not ready for sale.
Like (1)
Version 1.5
roydv58
06 February 2013
At first I hated this app. Like many other reviewers, I felt that it was money wasted. One of the issues is that it does not automatically sync bookmarks across machines as is possible with a number of other free apps. But as a bookmark manager it excels. After importing my collection of bookmarks, and organizing them properly (after various bookmark synchronizers had created chaos), and adding the pins extension to the browser, my bookmarks are better than ever. Now, having chosen the appropriate folder it Pins, I can hit the pins icon once to add a page (or pages) to the folder where I want it. The search add-in in the Mac toolbar makes finding bookmarked sites a breeze. A decent sync capability would raise the rating to 5.
Like
Version 1.5
cliveH
30 October 2012
Importing bookmarks (from Safari) went OK. However, importing of images does not work (yes, I was patient). Also, when I dragged (after waiting a few seconds) the favicon from the URL field in Safari to a folder, either nothing happened or the Pins application crashed. I'm using OS 10.6.8. On the surface, Pins seems to be a really good solution for bookmarks management. I have learnt, however, that the reality does not match up to the promise. I have wasted my money and, importantly, my time (through having to research to ensure I'm following the right steps). I'm sure you're working hard on your product, Fabio, but right now it has too many fatal defects to be on the market other than in alpha/beta form.
Like (2)
Version 1.4
Moadib
24 October 2012
Pins Help says : "Moving Bookmarks into a folder To move one or more bookmarks into a folder select them and drag them onto the desired folder to move them from their old folder into the new one. To drag keep your left mouse button clicked for about one second before starting to drag. Bookmarks can only be moved into folders, onto the inbox or into the trash bin. Moving Folders Folders can be ordered at will by dragging them around. Make sure that the folder you are moving is highlighted before dragging it. A Folder can also be dragged onto another folder thus becoming a subfolder." I just bought this App yesterday. It could be great but for the moment the "drag and drop" feature does not operate when I try to move bookmarks or folders. iMac Ci7 running under a French version of Mac OS X Mountain Lion 10.8.2. In addition, the link to Pins website return "Application Error"... I'm waiting for some help.
Like (1)
Version 1.4
3 answer(s)
fabio-5
fabio-5
25 October 2012
Sorry.. site has had some glitches yesterday. Could you try downloading Pins again (overwrite existing one) and see if this fixes things? Could be a corrupt download. Let me know.
Like
Moadib
Moadib
25 October 2012
I trashed the App et download a new one from your website. After five or six manipulations, the "drag & drop" is off. I quit and relaunch the App and I can do 2 or 3 manipulations and ... it stops.
Like
fabio-5
fabio-5
25 October 2012
That is really strange. Anybody else having this very same issue? In the meantime drop me a line at support@pinsapp.com saying that it's Moadib.. I'll provide you with another copy to try.
Like (1)
Tundern
24 October 2012
Why have I just paid $6.99 for what turns out to be the Demo version of Pins (should be free) and whose import function does not work? It opens up a window in which my 3 browsers are greyed out. I didn't spend $6.99 to start typing all of my bookmarks in manually. I want my money back already.
Like
Version 1.4
4 answer(s)
fabio-5
fabio-5
24 October 2012
You should have received your serial so you have not paid for a demo. You can import an exported html file, not your browsers directly. You can have your money back... but giving half a star because you misinterpret the manual is pretty unfair.
Like (2)
Tundern
Tundern
24 October 2012
I entered my very long serial code and still it was the demo version which loaded. Where will I find these exported html files? How do I export them? I could see none of this when I looked in the manual under but perhaps the demo manual is different to the full version.
Like (1)
fabio-5
fabio-5
24 October 2012
please send me your serial on fabio@pinsapp.com and I'll check. In case there are issues I will provide you with a new one. I'll also send you some links on how to export your bookmarks from most common browsers. In the manual (same for demo and not) please look under the paragraph "Importing from your browser, synchronization and sharing" it is extensively covered there. Drop me a line me and we'll find out about the serial problem.
Like (2)
Tundern
Tundern
25 October 2012
When I re-enter the serial number copied from the PDF of the MU Promo receipt and click on Register, Pins tells me that the serial number is incorrect.
Like
Alec-Kinneartunu
23 October 2012
I would like to buy Pins to replace/improve on Delicious. Unfortunately Pins doesn't play nicely with the default Delicious export, missing all of one's notes and keeping only the title. http://export.delicious.com/settings/bookmarks/export I can't afford to lose years of notes (most important part of the page is already inside deliciois in most cases).
Like
Version 1.4
2 answer(s)
fabio-5
fabio-5
24 October 2012
Good point. Let me address that in 1.5
Like (2)
fabio-5
fabio-5
04 September 2013
Delicious import completely fixed (including notes) in version 1.6
Like
Ompilf
23 October 2012
I've downloaded the trial, imported my bookmarks from Firefox and then started to play around a bit. Generally I like it and tended to buy it, but the app has already crashed twice within a few minutes (I'm using 10.6.8) when I was adding new bookmarks by drag&drop from browsers. Anyone else having this experience? ... @ the developer: Is there a chance that bugs will be fixed very soon?
Like
Version 1.4
7 answer(s)
fabio-5
fabio-5
23 October 2012
Could you send me some more info on support@pinsapp.com? I'm sure we'll find the bug in time for it to be fixed on the next release. Thanks
Like
Ompilf
Ompilf
25 October 2012
Ciao Fabio, have you received my email? It actually happens (crashes) every time I drag&drop a url to pins. No exceptions ... Saluti!
Like
fabio-5
fabio-5
25 October 2012
Hi there... not sure I received your mail... how do I know it's yours? Sorry but I'm getting many so it's hard for me to tell which one is yours. Anyway I had some server problems so maybe downloading Pins again and overwrite the existing one could do the trick. Please let me know.
Like
Ompilf
Ompilf
26 October 2012
email came from morox-music; I have just re-downloaded the app, but the problem isn't resolved ... hope you can fix this soon & good luck with it!
Like
fabio-5
fabio-5
26 October 2012
Sorry did not receive your email. Can you please resend it? Try using fabio@pinsapp.com Thanks
Like
Ompilf
Ompilf
26 October 2012
Sent, let me know if you received it ...
Like
fabio-5
fabio-5
26 October 2012
Yep, got it thanks!
Like
Johnkgerken
23 October 2012
I've been looking for a better way to organize bookmarks for a while and this seems like it could be a really useful tool. But for me it's lacking one thing: the ability to autosync between Pins and the browsers on my machine. What I don't want is to have to open Pins every time I need a bookmark. What I'd rather be able to do is organize my bookmarks in Pins and have it silently in the background update my bookmarks in Chrome, Firefox and Safari. Then I'd be able to use the changes directly from whatever browser I'm using. I'm going to watch for updates. If something like this is added in the future, you'll have a customer. Oh, one other feature request: It'd be great to have a feature that would validate links - I'm sure a bunch of my bookmarks in delicious are stale.
Like (1)
Version 1.4
1 answer(s)
fabio-5
fabio-5
23 October 2012
I know... it's actually a feature that is becoming more and more popular. Thinking of finding a way to do that in the future... hope you can be a customer then :-)
Like
Ubrgeek
23 October 2012
I'm really hoping to like this app. Just downloaded it and imported my bookmarks (exported from Pinboard in HTML. Tried to import from the xml export but no luck). Doesn't seem to be grabbing screen grabs but it's tough to know because there doesn't seem to be a feedback mechanism like a status bar. Tried deleting them and it did, but I selected them all and it only deleted in 50-batch increments. On average does it take to grab all of the screen captures? (Giving it three stars until I can figure out if it does what I need.)
Like
Version 1.4
2 answer(s)
Ubrgeek
Ubrgeek
23 October 2012
I seems to have another issue. After deleting all of the bookmarks and trying re-import, it shows that it's imported all of them, but the please wait message stays on. It's taken much more time to import than the first time. Also, neither time did they show up under the "import" folder, just the All Bookmarks folder.
Like
fabio-5
fabio-5
23 October 2012
Import only supports html. To also grab the thumbnails select a folder on the nav bar, right click and select "fetch missing images". Or else you can select any number of bookmarks in the bookmarks list and then press the fetch image button on the toolbar. On average it could take a while to fetch everything depending on the site being visited (yes, to fetch a thumbnail Pins actually needs to load that site). Hope this helps
Like
NotUsed
22 February 2012
$20? Really? That's quite steep for a one trick pony. Even if the one trick is good.
Like (2)
Version 1.4
1 answer(s)
fabio-5
fabio-5
22 February 2012
You can always try the demo and see if the trick is good enough for the price :-) F
Like (3)
EndoLab
13 February 2012
Very good app. The best of its class. Still young and a little bit buggy – that's why I put 4 and half ★ to be honest – but the dev is working hard on it and he his also very nice and responsive (thanks Fabio). I've tried a few bookmarks managers but Pins beats them all. Finding bookmarks by tags/title/note's content in the menubar or via hotkeys it's blazing fast. Exactly what I wanted. The G.U.I. is nice and organizing bookmarks by folders/subfolders is very practical to make the hierarchy I need and the "show last added bookmarks on top/bottom" or "keep bookmarks arranged by title/date top/bottom" and "keep highest/most visited bookmarks on top" make it a very good bookmarks manager, the missing one. Add: and it never had a crash
Like (3)
Version 1.3.1
3 answer(s)
fabio-5
fabio-5
14 February 2012
Thanks for your review, Fabio
Like
Anastasio
Anastasio
24 February 2012
I agree with Endolab. Pins is still young and in some ways a bit unripe, but it's clean, it's elegant, it's well thought out. In the past, I tried several other similar applications, but could never make up my mind to purchase one of them. Then I discovered Pins, and it took me exactly one hour to conclude that it's worth its twenty bucks, and to overcome my qualms. And I'm still happy with my choice. Complimenti, Fabio! Keep up the good work!
Like
ObjectiveSheep
ObjectiveSheep
28 February 2012
Grazie Anastasio, Fabio
Like
Vajra7
09 February 2012
This application rocks!! It’s really easy to use after you get the hang of it, and works flawlessly. The developer is extremely responsive to questions (within hours I had answers) and this means a lot to me. With a click of a button from Safari I can load a bookmark to this manager. (Use the Safari extension for this.) Then it’s only a matter of going there and placing the bookmark in a folder. One note: you have to wait a second after clicking an bookmark image before it will “stick” and you can drag and drop it. YOU’ll have to learn this. This is a very pretty and fine bookmark manager, with a developer that cares about it.
Like (1)
Version 1.3.1
1 answer(s)
fabio-5
fabio-5
14 February 2012
Thank you for your review, Fabio
Like
Pugwash
25 January 2012
I bought this yesterday and really like Pins. The site thumbnails are nice and sharp as opposed to Webbla's which are blurry which sort of defeats the purpose of a visual database. Now to the Drag and Drop of bookmarks into folders a reviewer below states that this doesn't work. I didn't think so either, but there is a knack. Instead of dragging a bookmark and dropping it straight onto the folder, you have to drag it to the left of the chosen folder to highlight the folder then drop. A quirk. This is only version 1.3 so I'm sure this will be improved in the future. There are also comments below about the importing of bookmarks and that this is slow. In comparison with Webbla, importing is slower but I'd suggest that this may be related to the quality of thumbnails generated for each site imported. As I said before Pins are nice and sharp whereas Webbla's are blurry. The developer might be able to shed some light on this. Sorry to waffle on but I mainly wanted to let people know about the Drag and Drop quirk.
Like
Version 1.3
1 answer(s)
ObjectiveSheep
ObjectiveSheep
31 January 2012
Hi Pugwash, yes fetching the images takes longer because the quality is 800 by 800 pixels. Drag and drop works if you keep your mouse clicked for about a second before starting to drag bookmarks... I understand that this is sometimes not intuitive but it's the way the object I'm using currently works. I plan to change this in a future release. You are right that Pins is still young and there is a lot to be done... I'm working hard on it so it will be better and better as time goes by. Thanks for your review, Fabio
Like (1)
Grandpa-John
20 January 2012
Major bug that I noticed with the first version that I put to service (1.3). Trying to permanently trash bookmarks that are in the trash folder does not work. This version (1.3.1) does not work either. The result is I have a load of bookmarks in the trash folder that I can do nothing with. The help file says: use the "delete" command in the menu (nope), right click the trash icon (nope) use the delete key (nope) use the "-" icon at the bottom (nope). Sorry, but nothing works!
Like
Version 1.3
3 answer(s)
fabio-5
fabio-5
21 January 2012
Thank you for notifying this issue. I'm on it and I will release the fix asap.
Like
fabio-5
fabio-5
21 January 2012
I checked. You are right about the "Delete" function not working on bookmarks in the Trash list (fixed by the way.. available soon). You can still, however, right click on the Trash icon on the left bottom (in the Folder View) and select "Empty Trash"... this works.
Like (1)
Grandpa-John
Grandpa-John
21 January 2012
Thanks for responding so quickly. I will look forward to the update.
Like
pprofpopp
14 January 2012
To be honest, I bought this because it looked useful and was a bargain at $10. In brief, i think its potential outweighs any current problems. On the problem side it struggles to import large numbers (over 2000) bookmarks and would not sync across my Air and imac, crashing regularly. BUT...and this is why I'll be sticking with PINS...the support from Fabio the developer has been exceptional and I'll happily stay with a product when thee is that level of support and plus, if we don't support new developers to iron out the glitches in new products, where will we be. After deleting the PINS app support folders in the library and 'starting from scratch' things worked fine, including syncing. This is the second reason why I'm staying with PINS. A 'fresh start' with my bookmarks. If you are like me, you may over the years have amassed hundreds or even thousands of bookmarks in various different browsers (I was up to about 3000 in safari, chrome and firefox). To be honest, I probably regularly use about 30 of those and probably couldn't tell you what all he others even were :-) I'm going to use PINS to gradually bring in and organise the bookmarks that I really need and use and am actually looking forward to the 'decluttering' experience. So 3.5 stars for what is a good product and potentially a great one with the kind of first rate support that we wish we had from our software all the time.
Like
Version 1.2
1 answer(s)
Anastasio
Anastasio
15 January 2012
In my case Pins didn't struggle at all to import my 1258 bookmarks from Chrome. It was merely a question of importing a HTML-file containing the addresses, and then giving Pins some time. Within twenty minutes or so all my 1258 bookmarks were ready to be consulted, manipulated, commented, and provided with stars and comments. It's a simple as that!
Like
Mextex
13 January 2012
I would have bought it yesterday at MUpromo, but I got a message that the website security certificate is no longer valid when I pressed on the BUY button. I wonder if I am the only one?
Like
Version 1.2
2 answer(s)
Sheagirl
Sheagirl
13 January 2012
No I got the same message...
Like
fabio-5
fabio-5
15 January 2012
That seems to have been a problem several users have encountered. I would try contacting macupdate (support AT macupdate) directly and ask if there is any way to get the discounted app because this issue blocked you from buying it at 50% off
Like
FalstaffA
12 January 2012
@ObjectiveSheep: What is your license upgrade policy for Pins? I've noticed on your website's Twitter stream that you have submitted version 1.3 of Pins to Apple for review, thus my inquiry. Thanks for your anticipated prompt reply.
Like
Version 1.2
3 answer(s)
fabio-5
fabio-5
12 January 2012
Unfortunately the Mac App Store does not allow developers to have an upgrade policy for apps bought outside of the store. So if you are buying from a non Mac App Store source you will have a serial number and an email and you can register multiple copies on all your macs (you can use multiple copies if you buy if from the Mac App Store as well of course) but Apple will still claim its fee if you download it from their store. I'm sorry it's this way but that is the Apple way and there is nothing we developers can do about it. So basically there is no compatible license policy at all. So if you like to keep the apps on your apple account I suggest you buy it on the Mac App Store instead. Hope this answers your question and thanks for asking.
Like
FalstaffA
FalstaffA
12 January 2012
@ObjectiveSheep: Thanks for your prompt reply to my question. Allow me to elaborate and be more specific; What is your upgrade policy for non-MAS Pin purchases? If I buy Pin 1.2 through today's MacUpdate Promotional offer of 50% off usual price, would there be any additional charge(s) for updates and upgrades in the future? Most independent developer like you offer free updates within a similarly numbered iteration of their software (e.g. 1.0.0 to 1.0.9) and charge a discounted upgrade fee when the software's development reaches the next version (e.g. 1.2 to 2.0.) Thanks again for your feedback.
Like
fabio-5
fabio-5
12 January 2012
Pins upgrades will be free up to version 2.0 both on the Mac App Store and outside. Thanks for asking
Like (1)
Lumpo
03 November 2011
I have some real issues with this software. I may be doing something catastrophic and so won't rate at the moment. Importing my bookmarks from the Safari-exported file... After 35 mins 10 bookmarks (out of 1000+) were imported; drag and drop does not work. Pins appears to be ready to accept a drop but nothing happens. Synchronising bookmarks... Have only managed to get 13 into the system and when asked to synchronise with my DropBox folder, after 10 mins it is still processing... Meaning it's probably hung. Any advice on getting this to do basic Mac things (drag and drop, import, synchronise) would be welcomed. If nothing is possible this may not be ready for release.
Like
Version 1.0
1 answer(s)
ObjectiveSheep
ObjectiveSheep
11 November 2011
Hello, please update to version 1.1 which has just been approved on the Mac App Store. The issues you address should be fixed. Drag and drop works but you should keep your left mouse button clicked for about a second before starting to drag. Sync has been completely rewritten and now works with a free online account so you don't need to use dropbox anymore. I guess you are using Lion... sync was actually malfunctioning on version 1.0 but that has been fixed now. 1000+bookmarks... wow. It should be working ok now because in version 1,1 preview fetching is done in the background. If you need anything else you can contact me on the feedback forum on the pinsapp.com website. Thank you for your interest in Pins and I appreciate your not rating yet.
Like (2)
Michaelthegeek
02 October 2011
If you are a bookmark fan such as I then you will love the Pins Application. Pins is the best bookmark management app I have found thus far. One of the most wonderful features is folders. You can name the folders and drag your bookmarks to them, you can even drag urls to the pins icon to add or import bookmarks from your browser, One great feature is the available browser extension to add bookmarks, the supported browsers are, Google Chrome and Safari. The extension can be installed from the prefs menu. Adding the browser extension will place a Pins icon in the browsers menubar. How you sort bookmarks is up to you and vey easy. I've been using Pins for several days and I still have more features to discover. I will post more here and on Tumblr soon. I have to thank the developer for making a great Mac App!!!
Like
Version 1.0