Back to Funter page
Funter free download for Mac

Funter Reviews5.4.1

21 June 2021

Show and hide hidden and system files.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
Macmuser
Macmuser
Nov 1 2018
4.3
4.0
Nov 1 2018
4.0
Version: 4.3
Very, very fast, easy to use and FREE. I used it to find many things I couldn't dig out with the Finder, Spotlight or EasyFinder. Dropped one star because of it's weird way of using the menubar and needing to be quit manually. It offers far more than a way to show invisible files and folders
AlVarnell
AlVarnell
Oct 21 2018
4.3
0.0
Oct 21 2018
0.0
Version: 4.3
For MacUPdate: Again, please note that v4.3 is for 10.13 & 10.14 only!
Mindplay
Mindplay
Oct 19 2018
4.3
0.5
Oct 19 2018
0.5
Version: 4.3
I don't see the point of this. You can just hit CMD + SHIFT + . to toggle invisible files.
Hal-Itosis
Hal-Itosis
Oct 19 2018
4.3
0.0
Oct 19 2018
0.0
Version: 4.3
“switch hidden files' visibility in Finder” Already built into macOS: ⌘ ⇧ . [command-shift-period] -HI-
AlVarnell
AlVarnell
Sep 28 2018
4.2
0.0
Sep 28 2018
0.0
Version: 4.2
Version 4.2 is only for macOS 10.13 & 10.14.
RogerKatz
RogerKatz
Apr 29 2018
2.9
0.0
Apr 29 2018
0.0
Version: 2.9
The current version, 4.0, is available at the Mac App Store.
James
James
Sep 23 2017
2.5
0.0
Sep 23 2017
0.0
Version: 2.5
Version 2.5 under Sierra sucked up all available memory when scanning for remaining disk space on my MacPro and slowed my machine to a slow crawl.
Mixel
Mixel
Jan 15 2017
2.4
4.0
Jan 15 2017
4.0
Version: 2.4
Why does an app which is supposed to just show/hide files always use up ~3 to 6% of my CPU? I mean.. What is it doing? It surely shouldn't be doing anything when its just there in the background?

It works and I'll change my review score if they answer this.. but it's pretty weird.. Even things like Alfred don't use this much background CPU..
kate_k
kate_k
Nov 8 2016
2.4
5.0
Nov 8 2016
5.0
Version: 2.4
I don`t like using Terminal, so this app is a great helper for me to hide and unhide files in the quickest way.
JoeDasin
JoeDasin
Sep 19 2016
2.3
5.0
Sep 19 2016
5.0
Version: 2.3
My junior brother would like to use my laptop often, and I, of course, allow him, as he doesn't have his own mac. After such "another user" I sometimes just can't find some necessary files. So, this app is like a savior in those cases. I'm glad to have it on my mac.
ZachP3614
ZachP3614
Sep 14 2016
2.2
0.0
Sep 14 2016
0.0
Version: 2.2
Downloaded to test for someone else, I prefer firing up terminal.... I *really* dislike the app throwing up notifications about disk cleanup etc , and also don't like the ads to other apps within the app. Not a fan sorry.
MichaelHaeusler
MichaelHaeusler
Jul 26 2016
2.1.1
5.0
Jul 26 2016
5.0
Version: 2.1.1
Funter and other software like DesktopUtility are surely valuable for users. But the best thing (at least in my humble opinion) is to get to know your OS and find out how to do all these things from the command line, you know, actually *learn* something. Then you might want to program/script stuff yourself, access commands like show/hide invisible files e.g. in BitBar running your own script, or using workflows in the Finder. And then publish your stuff on Github, so we can all benefit. :)
KatRoss
KatRoss
Aug 4 2015
1.2
0.5
Aug 4 2015
0.5
Version: 1.2
Yesterday I downloaded and used Funter once. It wasn't what I was looking for and I deleted both app and prefs. Today I have a request from Automountd to connect to port 111 (sunrpc) , protocol 17 UDP to domain funter.app. What's that?!? I don't have the app anymore. Where is the ghost trying to connect my computer and where?
alexey-shulev
alexey-shulev
Jun 5 2015
1.0.0
5.0
Jun 5 2015
5.0
Version: 1.0.0
Simple alternative for annoying writing in the terminal
GeogProf
GeogProf
Apr 16 2013
1.0.0
0.0
Apr 16 2013
0.0
Version: 1.0.0
DesktopUtility does the exact same thing for free, but in addition to 'Hide/Unhide Invisible Files,’ it throws in the ‘Hide User Library’ and ‘Force Empty Trash’ commands to its menubar item's menu. That last one is at least as useful as hiding/showing invisible files. http://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/38299/desktoputility
R397
R397
Mar 20 2013
1.0.0
5.0
Mar 20 2013
5.0
Version: 1.0.0
Best for this purpose!
matjulski
matjulski
Aug 24 2012
1.0.0
5.0
Aug 24 2012
5.0
Version: 1.0.0
This was exactly what i was looking for :D
YVrubel
YVrubel
Sep 19 2011
1.0.0
5.0
Sep 19 2011
5.0
Version: 1.0.0
I need the utility which switch on/off show hidden files by one click. I have compared a lot of tools called like "Hidden Files". And found that Funter is just what I want. Great idea to put the button to the Menu bar! Thanks, guys.
Mike#1
Mike#1
Sep 16 2011
1.0.0
5.0
Sep 16 2011
5.0
Version: 1.0.0
Yes, without detail description... Just an icon with one command on main menu that switches displaying hiddens. I could escape from using terminal command to switch the mode. Thnks! P.S. use the terminal command to do the same "defaults com.apple.finder ShowAllFiles true"
GeogProf
GeogProf
Sep 16 2011
1.0.0
0.0
Sep 16 2011
0.0
Version: 1.0.0
When they write the description of their software for its MacUpdate.com post, why do so many developers refuse to explain HOW it works? How it does what it does is the most important characteristic of any app, and it’s what sets it apart from all other such software. Literally everyone wants to know HOW a product functions before they’ll consider buying it, and this applies equally for people considering whether to download and test drive freeware, too. But some devs seem to purposely craft application descriptions that fancifully illustrate WHAT they do without indicating HOW they do it. In their effort to interest consumers in their products, they happily employ the most stale and off-putting marketing-speak ad nauseam, in some cases while forgetting or ignoring that the opening in the marketplace that inspired them to create their app was caused by the market failure of a competing developer who used the same kind of obfuscating boilerplate marketing — because consumers hate having to go to the developer’s website or download and test an app just to lean how it works and whether it meets their needs. For instance, this one’s been listed all day long, but by midnight it had been downloaded only 86 times despite that it’s free. Why? Because there are dozens of other apps on MacUpdate that show and hide hidden files, mostly for free, and when looking for one that works a certain way (perhaps as a toggle switch, or from a menubar item), it’s a waste of time to download and try all the ones that can’t immediately be determined to meet your needs because they give no description, give a dreamy but meaningless bullsh1t marketing description (like this one), or simply make no sense (like this one). Believe it or not, I try to take the developers’ perspective about this, but that just deepens the mystery because there’s no shortage of examples of how clear, concise, nonmarketing-speak information about HOW an app works (especially a new one) almost always does more to sell it than any other marketing factor except price. Yet software developers commonly write multi-paragraph app descriptions that do everything except describe how their apps work. Other major marketing mistakes illustrated here but commonly made by both native and non-native English-speaking developers are the use of unintelligible phrases, back-to-back dichotomous sentences, or counterproductive ideas about the product. Even in the developing world, it’s not hard to find a fluent or native English speaker to copyedit short marketing materials, even for free. But this site is replete with developers who anguish over every line of code but make only minimal effort to write or edit the few paragraphs that will have far more impact on their app’s success than its UI or functionality, opting instead to copy verbatim the halfassed, cheesy or nonsensical dreck from other failed developers’ MacUpdate app descriptions. It’s sad to see.