Back to Dash page
Dash free download for Mac

Dash Reviews

4.6.6
18 September 2019

Instant search and offline access to any API documentation.

hced
08 January 2013

Most helpful

This is the best documentation browser I've come across so far. Very useful. Wishing it was easier to roll your own docsets, though, or that there were more available.
Like (4)
Version 1.7.5

Read 30 Dash User Reviews

Rate this app:

Scott-C-H-
05 September 2018
I tried it for a while and even bought a license for it. But it faded away from my daily workflow because I ran into more than a few cases in which the documentation for some .js libraries wasn't available in Dash format. It can be handy if you need offline access to many languages and frameworks. But, in practice, I'm very rarely off-line, and I find it more versatile to search on Google.
Like (1)
Version 4.5.0
Helmo-Hass
24 March 2018
@ dev.
[What's New
Version 4.1.6:
Fixed an embarrassing issue which I can't publicly reveal in the release notes.]

Could it be ...was already licensed for al? :)
kidding !!
Like
Version 4.1.6
chadatmacupdate
16 February 2018
love this app!
Like (1)
Version 4.1.4
iareed0
14 February 2018
It seems interesting.
Like
Version 4.1.4
pooyakamel
28 May 2017
Snippet manager + API docs all at once! great.
Like
Version 4.0.3
Broz
21 February 2017
Is there an upgrade price for owners of version 3? I've not found it...
Like
Version 4.0.0
1 answer(s)
Kapeli
Kapeli
21 February 2017
Yes. See https://blog.kapeli.com/dash-4 for details.
Like (1)
Penpoints
21 February 2017
Dash has always been a great app. I've used it since version 1. Now with the new interface and dark mode in version 4, it's BEAUTIFUL too.
Like
Version 4.0.0
D9
28 June 2016
A wonderful tool that's a must in any developer's toolkit. The unobtrusive but universal interface is well thought-out. The documentation resources are extensive and customizable. And last, but most importantly, the Search function is robust and extensive.

Need to find a bit of code, looking for the best implementation, or want to get clarification on definitions and methods for elements, Dash is the quickest, most thorough means to accomplish this.
Like (1)
Version 3.3.0
SofiaClarkson
13 January 2016
Not bad
Like
Version 3.2.1
nanometer
21 August 2015
The app is really good in terms of GUI-design and general responsiveness, it is definitely unmatched on the Mac platform. However, I do have some complaints to make now that a new paid update is released. There is nothing worth paying $19.99 for in the Dash 3 update if you already have Dash 2.

If however the developers decide to better the quality of many essential docsets such as the MySQL docset I might consider purchasing the upgraded version despite the almost 4x increase in price. What makes the app after all are the docsets themselves. If I were them I'd focus on improving the indexing and theming of the current docsets.

Idk if this is relevant or not, but I also own the iOS version of Dash and most docstets are definitely not fit for such a small screen as the iphone 5 screen for example. The Dash team should focus on optimizing their current docsets to fit a small mobile device.
What they should improve is:
- Zooming, pages should not be zoomed out. Long words should be word-wrapped, and in worst cases cut in half. (It's better to cut a function name for example in half rather than having the whole page show on half of the screen, and have the other half of the screen blank.). They should also avoid fixed sizes on images. Make them small and make it so that the user can click the image to enter a new ios storyboard-page where he/she can zoom and look closely at the image. Tables should be wrapped in a container so that the data doesn't overflow.
- Minimize the file size of the docsets. I know that Dash 3 has a functionality to handle archived docsets (I hope it will be implemented in iOS too), which is a step into the right direction. But there is still much room for improvements in the docstets themselves. For example: Why is the "Drupal 8" docset 500+ MB in large? That's absolutely crazy, and quite frankly not something you would like to have on your phone. To fix this they should remove unnecessary footers/headers from the pages and optimize the HTML itself a little. Btw, some Drupal 8 doc pages are absolutely unreadable in iOS, especially pages that have tables in them.

The last thing they should improve is page lengths. Some pages, such as the ones in the MySQL docs, are really long and they are about many different functions. For example, the documentation about SELECT and UPDATE is on the same page. The page is probably thousands of lines long. In my opinion it should be split in several pieces to avoid accidentally scrolling to the wrong subject.

Don't let all the negativity in my review make you think this is a bad app, it's not. It's the best one out there and is the way to go if you need offline documentation on Mac OS X. However, as I described, there are some issues. If you need an all-in-one documentation app for Mac, get Dash despite what I wrote above it's the best you'll get.
But certainly avoid their iOS version until they fix what I mentioned above, that is where you will encounter most the problems. That is because many documentation pages are simply not optimized for the mobile world yet so the Dash team have to put increased effort on making them readable on the iphone.

Summary: Dash is getting really pricey and if they want to justify the price-increase they have to fix their existing docs, both on Mac and iOS.
Like (1)
Version 3.1.0
1 answer(s)
nanometer
nanometer
21 August 2015
Just to make it clear!! It's pricey if you already own Dash 2. If you don't own Dash 2 then $20 is absolutely reasonable. I was trying to answer the question: "Is it worth it to upgrade or not?" Because that's something I've asked myself, and for the reasons I've described above, I've decided not to purchase the upgrade.
Like (1)
chadatmacupdate
10 July 2015
I have been using Dash since version 1, and find it incredibly useful. I generally code in about 5 or 6 different languages, and use many different frameworks in each language - Dash is my go-to solution for searching documentation. By creating document sets, I can search across several different frameworks and APIs for each language, which is great. In some cases I use the google and Stack Overflow searching options as well to look up solutions posted by others. Each update has added nice features and polish - this is one app that every Mac developer should have, no matter what type of code they write.
Like (1)
Version 3.0.2
Fire-Mobile-Studio
09 April 2015
Good! Simple and useful tool!
Like (1)
Version 2.2.4
vipicon
07 April 2015
Great App!
Like
Version 2.2.4
sketchdesigner
07 April 2015
Dash is good! free me from searching api everywhere.
Like (2)
Version 2.2.4
Geekkkker
07 April 2015
Like it so much! Itmake my life easy, Cool!
Like (4)
Version 2.2.4
Leon-Belmont
11 March 2015
One masterpiece just saving developers' asses. I wish this could have a version for Linux.
Like
Version 2.2.4
Big77
11 March 2015
New in Dash 2.2.4: • Added Lua 5.3 docset • Better support for the new appledoc docset template • Better support for the latest OS X and iOS docsets • You can now switch tabs using CMD+1-9
Like
Version 2.2.4
applehelpwriter
11 February 2015
This is an A-list app, polished, professional and reasonably priced at $20. I only wish more apps were of this standard (I only wish I could write my own apps at this standard!!).

The Doc management and the ease with which you can call them is superb. The integration with StackExchange is a massive bonus. I now don't need to go searching online or mess about trying to fill in the gaps in Xcode's piss-poor has-to-be-online documentation viewer.

The snippet insertion feature is also fantastic and works across all apps on the system. You can save and insert snippets into Xcode, WingIDE, Script Editor, Sublime, TextWrangler etc etc.

Absolutely brilliant.
Like
Version 2.2.3
2 answer(s)
jefferis
jefferis
30 June 2015
Hi, it seems the first 5 reviews of this are spammers. So... I question the rankings.
However, I have a simple question... I am more interested in keeping up with the API's from places like Facebook and Google, but I don't think this program has anything to do with that... right? Not sure if it would help me because I’m not writing API's, just trying to get connections to services.
Like (1)
applehelpwriter
applehelpwriter
30 June 2015
You're right. It has nothing to do with google/facebook apis.
Like
Xplicit
28 October 2014
I was thinking about switching from CodeBox to Dash. Too bad, Dash has no import feature. So noswitch, bit disappointing though.
Like (1)
Version 2.2.0
1 answer(s)
applehelpwriter
applehelpwriter
11 February 2015
That's simply not true. Go to Preferences > DocSets and press the little + button at the bottom to import your own docsets.
Like (1)
Bazineta
02 October 2014
I would give this six stars if I could. Constantly improved, integrates withAlfred, my IDE, my editors, lightning fast. Absolutely indispensable.
Like (2)
Version 2.2.0
aadams
01 October 2014
Use on a daily basis. Makes me more productive.
Like
Version 2.2.0
trungpt
10 July 2014
A great software for developers. Just wish we had it cross-platform.
Like
Version 2.1.2
GavinS8292
02 July 2014
I don't do software development without Dash being installed!
Like (1)
Version
Kris-nx
07 November 2013
I'm extremely happy with Dash. Its constantly open and find it very useful when developing a new web app or site. I'm having great difficulty finding anything wrong with it or a feature it "might" be missing as all the info I need is in one place. Much thanks to the developer!
Like (2)
Version 1.9.2
Philosopherdog
20 October 2013
I've personally been reluctant to stick my snippets in this tool because I'm not crazy about having them locked in a proprietary db format that I can't look at in a web browser from any machine. So, I've been using gist on github. I would love to see Gist integration. I'm also mostly doing ios development and I personally find dash does little more than the existing docset, in fact I find it does less. I've been using appkido for docsets. Not pretty but it gives you much more power to jump around the docset.
Like
Version 1.9.1
2 answer(s)
Kapeli
Kapeli
05 November 2013
Just a note: the snippets database is a very simple SQLite database. It's definitely not easily accessible (you need a SQLite app), but it's not locked or proprietary. I'd love to hear more about which aspects you found lacking in Dash. If you have some time, please drop me an email at http://kapeli.com/contact.
Like (3)
Philosopherdog
Philosopherdog
18 November 2013
Thanx for answering my concerns. I didn't realize the snippets were accessible in sqlite format. Perhaps some sort of export/import function might be convenient. I'm going to try out the snippets manager then and see if I can get into it.
Like
Leoofborg
11 April 2013
This is THE BEST documentation browser. Period. With the makeover with 1.82 + the new Alfred2 integration the best got better. Tip: If you thought the 'old HUD was ugly... try it again. Get Dash out of your Dock and into the menubar.. and: Use the Alfred or Terminal integration. It's GREAT. Things like: (open Alfred) 'dash php:(what you want)' or 'dash write' ..(all write command to all languages that you have loaded). Dash is pretty darned scary. We need more of this, please.
Like (4)
Version 1.8.2
hced
08 January 2013
This is the best documentation browser I've come across so far. Very useful. Wishing it was easier to roll your own docsets, though, or that there were more available.
Like (4)
Version 1.7.5
1 answer(s)
Dariusw
Dariusw
08 January 2013
Please drop me an email if you have any ideas on how to improve docset generation. This is one of my top priorities, but I haven't found a solution yet...
Like (4)
Dariusw
05 November 2012
Note to users: the screenshots shown on MacUpdate are out of date. For the latest screenshots, check out the App Store. I can't change the ones here (MacUpdate error).
Like
Version 1.7.2
2 answer(s)
Regular-Warren
Regular-Warren
05 November 2012
Please detail the error you are having a shoot me an email: updates AT macupdate DOM com. Thank you!
Like
Dariusw
Dariusw
28 December 2012
Any progress on allowing developers to update screenshots?
Like
anonymous-gecko-4267
11 October 2012
Best document viewer. I use it everyday. The author is kind and make a rapid development on it.
Like (1)
Version 1.7.1
gatovadio
29 December 2011
now, this is the best icon ever plus infinite.
Like (3)
Version 1.2.3
1 answer(s)
Prince-Isaac
Prince-Isaac
19 February 2012
+1. I really like the app and how easy it is to use.
Like