Back to FUSE for macOS page
FUSE for macOS free download for Mac

FUSE for macOS Reviews

17 October 2021

Extend native file handling in OS X (was OSXFUSE).

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
Oct 18 2021
4.2.1
1.0
Oct 18 2021
1.0
Version: 4.2.1
NOT for M1 Macs! I don't care what the developer notes say. FUSE is INERT on M1 Macs. I've been through this twice now. NO, it's NOT compatible with M1 Macs. All you find it does is seriously screw up your system boot then NOT work. Don't install it. Ignore it. I don't say this often but: The developers seriously screwed up and have NOT properly tested 4.1.2 on M1 Macs. /rant
brian163
brian163
Oct 15 2021
4.1.2
0.0
Oct 15 2021
0.0
Version: 4.1.2
4.2.1 was released 01 Oct 2021 https://osxfuse.github.io/2021/10/01/macFUSE-4.2.1.html
sstoupak
sstoupak
May 18 2021
4.1.1
0.0
May 18 2021
0.0
Version: 4.1.1
macFUSE 4.1.2 macOS 10.12 or later Apple Silicon or Intel Released on 16 May 2021
boxcody
boxcody
Oct 8 2019
3.10.3
4.0
Oct 8 2019
4.0
Version: 3.10.3
This version is not working with the newest macOS update Catalina 10.15.
DRNash
DRNash
May 15 2019
3.8.3
0.0
May 15 2019
0.0
Version: 3.8.3
The current version is 3.9.0, which was released on 3 May (i.e. 3 days before the supposed update to 3.8.3 on MacUpdate)
RogerKatz
RogerKatz
Sep 24 2017
3.7.0
0.0
Sep 24 2017
0.0
Version: 3.7.0
The current version is 3.7.1
OhEssex
OhEssex
Sep 26 2016
3.5.2
0.0
Sep 26 2016
0.0
Version: 3.5.2
Yay - *finally* a stable (non-beta) release in the version 3 realm!
AlVarnell
AlVarnell
Jul 27 2016
3.4.1
0.0
Jul 27 2016
0.0
Version: 3.4.1
As others have been pointing out, Fuse v2.8.3 is the release version. Version 3.4.1 is still a developer preview and probably not something the average user should be trying.
Gazman
Gazman
Jun 5 2016
3.3.3
0.0
Jun 5 2016
0.0
Version: 3.3.3
Can I use this to make NTFS drives read/writable on El Capitan? If so, how? Thanks
berend-van-berkum
berend-van-berkum
May 31 2016
3.3.2
5.0
May 31 2016
5.0
Version: 3.3.2
Just installed the latest stable release from osxfuse.github.io on El Capitan. Mind to enable the MacFUSE compatibility, MacFUSE itself will not work. Installed sshfs too and macfusion is working again. I would not install this version (3.3.2 beta), just use latest stable version 2.8.3.
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
May 24 2016
3.3.1
1.0
May 24 2016
1.0
Version: 3.3.1
NOTE that the current public release version of OSXFUSE is 2.8.3. The version 3 series is so far a 'Developer Preview' and is NOT intended for general use. That includes version 3.3.1. Visit the developer's website for v2.8.3.
Djefis
Djefis
Apr 9 2016
2.8.3
4.0
Apr 9 2016
4.0
Version: 2.8.3
Seem to be read only.
Macintosh-Sauce
Macintosh-Sauce
Jan 29 2016
2.8.3
0.0
Jan 29 2016
0.0
Version: 2.8.3
Question here... I am running OS X 10.11.3 and Windows 10 Pro (using Boot Camp) on my MacBook Pro. I'd like to be able to transfer some music files over to the Windows side from the Mac side. Will OSXFUSE let me do this without damaging the Boot Camp installation? Thanks!
MichaelHaeusler
MichaelHaeusler
Nov 6 2015
2.8.1
4.5
Nov 6 2015
4.5
Version: 2.8.1
Really great, plain and simple. I just wish we had btrfs for OSXFUSE.
TCalhau
TCalhau
Nov 4 2015
2.8.1
0.0
Nov 4 2015
0.0
Version: 2.8.1
Release of OSXFUSE 2.8.2 Posted on 25 Oct 2015 See: https://osxfuse.github.io/2015/10/25/OSXFUSE-2.8.2.html
Juniper
Juniper
Oct 15 2015
2.8.1
4.0
Oct 15 2015
4.0
Version: 2.8.1
Somehow it's not working on El Capitan, NTFS drives seem to be read only. Hope they fix it.
Markus-Winter
Markus-Winter
Sep 29 2015
2.8.0
0.0
Sep 29 2015
0.0
Version: 2.8.0
Current version is 2.8.1 BUT won't install on OS X El Capitan unless it has been installed before upgrading. The problem seems to be that El Capitan does not allow the creation of the necessary folders in usr. If you installed it BEFORE updating to El Capitan then there is no problem.
sstoupak
sstoupak
Aug 14 2015
2.7.5
0.0
Aug 14 2015
0.0
Version: 2.7.5
The current version is 2.8.0. Released 14 June 2015. http://sourceforge.net/projects/osxfuse/files/osxfuse-2.8.0/osxfuse-2.8.0.dmg/download
Welandr
Welandr
Mar 1 2015
2.7.5
4.0
Mar 1 2015
4.0
Version: 2.7.5
LUV IT ...BUT CONFUSING WITH OLD BOOTCAMP BKP´S. NEED EASYER SUPPORT FOR NONE NERDS.
TCalhau
TCalhau
Oct 21 2014
2.7.1
0.0
Oct 21 2014
0.0
Version: 2.7.1
The current version is 2.7.2 Released 20-Oct-2014 ^^
Maclover1-1
Maclover1-1
Sep 17 2014
2.7.1
0.0
Sep 17 2014
0.0
Version: 2.7.1
QUESTION.. I used to install this on my Mac since the McFuse days, then when cleaning things up for my Yosemite install I deleted it.. I never once had an app request it since.. my question is.. what's the point of installing this, what apps actually need it ?
Meiner2er
Meiner2er
Sep 16 2014
2.7.1
4.0
Sep 16 2014
4.0
Version: 2.7.1
Have it on two Mac Pros and a Macbook Air and never had an issue in three years. I think, some reviewers should widen their perspective instead of blaming OSXFuse for everything, including bad weather.
Gmadey
Gmadey
Jul 3 2014
2.6.4
4.0
Jul 3 2014
4.0
Version: 2.6.4
From the osxfuse project site, it looks like the latest Stable Release is OSXFUSE 2.7.0
Marba
Marba
Aug 23 2013
2.6.1
2.0
Aug 23 2013
2.0
Version: 2.6.1
I encounter the following problem. dyld: Library not loaded: /usr/local/lib/libfuse. 2.dylib Referenced from: /usr/local/bin/ntfs-3g Reason: image not found I give the following ratings because I had successfully read/write NTFS and function transparently. But thanks for the efforts made.
Mertonian
Mertonian
Aug 21 2013
2.6.1
0.5
Aug 21 2013
0.5
Version: 2.6.1
Lots of people have had the same issues I had. They were not limited to Spotlight and my hardware was a brand new Retina MacBook Pro. With AppleCare, which I would have used had I any other "hardware issues." One need not look far to find others with exactly the symptoms I reported, including the FUSE forums. I think it's curious that the last reply to my review came just days after I asked the FUSE team to cease emailing me with very personal responses. If the developer really wants to be treated like professionals they should learn to act like one.
RichardGuay1742
RichardGuay1742
Jul 31 2013
2.6.0
5.0
Jul 31 2013
5.0
Version: 2.6.0
Love this app!
Mertonian
Mertonian
Apr 24 2013
2.5.5
0.5
Apr 24 2013
0.5
Version: 2.5.5
Terrible, horrible even—for me—malware. Before you install do a search for "how to uninstall OSXFUSE." And also MacFuse. Like others I had HD-destroying, months long kernel panics before I realized it was this, and I'm still suffering because the "developer" won't help. You can delete it via the PrefPanel but parts remain, doing who-knows-what because they remain active. Just check Activity monitor for what the "MDS" panic means. I fell for these reviews and hope others won't make the same mistake.
sjk
sjk
Aug 10 2012
2.5.1
0.0
Aug 10 2012
0.0
Version: 2.5.1
2.5.x is currently a Developer Preview and 2.4.2 is still the latest Stable Release.
Max66
Max66
Dec 29 2011
2.3.8
4.0
Dec 29 2011
4.0
Version: 2.3.8
Working well as a replacement for MacFuse but I would like to see an update that fixes the timeout issue on Lion with NTFS-3g The suggested fix (https://gist.github.com/1100318#gistcomment-41742) has been there since July but still no new version that includes it (it's December now).
Neal
Neal
Dec 18 2011
2.3.8
0.0
Dec 18 2011
0.0
Version: 2.3.8
I can't find a free NTFS binary that works with this, so still unable to mount read/write BootCamp HD...anyone point me toward a suitable candidate?
Cowicide
Cowicide
Dec 18 2011
2.3.8
0.0
Dec 18 2011
0.0
Version: 2.3.8
Is this completely compatible with Parallels 7?
Germ65
Germ65
Sep 10 2011
2.3.4
3.0
Sep 10 2011
3.0
Version: 2.3.4
OK. How's this different from MacFUSE? Do we need both? Do we need to un-install MacFUSE????