Back to Scrutiny page
Scrutiny free download for Mac

Scrutiny Reviews

9.4.3
20 January 2020

Suite of Web optimization tools.

persecutor
02 January 2020

Most helpful

That "egg-laying, milk-bearing woolly sow" keeps getting better and better!
Like (1)
Version 9.4.0

Read 28 Scrutiny User Reviews

Rate this app:

persecutor
02 January 2020
That "egg-laying, milk-bearing woolly sow" keeps getting better and better!
Like (1)
Version 9.4.0
larry-61
15 August 2019
Scrutiny is my go-to app for checking sites for broken links. As a website developer, it has all the options I need to fine-tune scans to avoid false positives. Seeing a "clean" report with just the truly broken links (without any "noise") is very valuable especially if you maintain a site over time.

Other features such as "Search pages", "Sitemap", "SEO" are icing on a very delicious cake!

When it comes to support, developer Sheila Dixon is top notch! She truly cares about her product and her users. She is thoughtful, professional and responsive - a real "shining star" in a sea of "dim bulbs".

Overall a great value for a truly useful, well-crafted piece of software.
Like (2)
Version 9.0.11
Detlevski
27 July 2019
$29,95 in 2011, did you make 576% more money the last 8 years? What a joke.
Like (2)
Version 9.0.9
2 answer(s)
Diarbyrag
Diarbyrag
05 August 2019
what the hell are you talking about ?

BTW MacUpdate... now you can only like comments and reviews ??
where's the unhappy face ?
I want to unlike this comment, Shiela is very responsive to comments and many versions have had free updates so I don't understand why you moan !
Like (1)
PeacockMedia
PeacockMedia
06 August 2019
You're suggesting that as version 1 was priced at $30 in 2011, the price should never rise to reflect its true value as the app develops?

If you don't find its features and functionality and our support worth the asking price, then it's clearly not for you and that's OK.

If it were overpriced, people would not buy it. But many companies, universities, nonprofits and individuals around the world feel that it's worth the price, including some big names. Everyone who buys it has had the chance to evaluate it for 30 days, so they can be sure it's for them. The ratings you see on this page and the testimonials on Scrutiny's home page are all genuine.

The app that I consider Scrutiny's nearest competitor costs more than Scrutiny *per year*. Scrutiny's price is a genuine one-off price with no IAP. There have been upgrade fees a couple of times in its history but not with every major version.

You may consider Integrity Pro, which lacks some of the advanced features and is less than half the price. Or Integrity Plus at $15 if you're only interested in link checking and sitemap generation.
Like (3)
josehill
28 June 2019
Phenomenally convenient, powerful collection of tools. Frequently updated and enhanced by the developer.
Like (1)
Version 9.0.5
persecutor
26 January 2019
Exactly what I wanted.
Like (1)
Version 8.1.22
Andymiller
26 February 2018
A really useful tool. I've just finished migrating my website to https and I was really pleased to find that, in addition to all the other stuff that Scrutiny does, it will also check for insecure content, so it helped me find all of the insecure links in odd places like the functions and footers files. Yes, the upfront cost may seem a lot, but compared with the cost of online services it's a bargain.
Like (2)
Version 7.6.10
Eric6
01 February 2017
I've been using Scrutiny for a few years now and it saved me many hours of manually checking links and building sitemaps. Recently, it helped me locate the links scattered through a hacked site. Shiela has been very responsive to bug reports and they were fixed promptly. Version 7 seems focused primarily on streamlining the user interface, which had rough edges in previous versions, and adds new features such as the ability to have multiple windows to scan multiple sites at once. A must-have tool for any web designer.
Like (2)
Version 7.1.1
Sandro-Bilbeisi
31 January 2017
I'm really happy with Scrutiny ; It has tons of features and it saves me hours of work when performing QA/QC for web site production . I'm also grateful for the free upgrade from v6 to v7. Thank you Sheila !
Like (1)
Version 7.1.1
1 answer(s)
Sheadixon
Sheadixon
31 January 2017
Thanks so much for the feedback!
For anyone reading this, I'd like to be clear that there is a small upgrade fee but (for a number of reasons) we decided to waive this for anyone who bought or upgraded to v6 since Jan 2016
Like
SunWolf
02 December 2016
Where have you got version 6.8.17 from? Checking for updates in Scrutiny 6.8.16 states that I've got the most recent version, PeacockMedia offers 6.8.16 for download on their website.
Like
Version 6.8.17
1 answer(s)
Sheadixon
Sheadixon
06 December 2016
The most recent version is always available from Scrutiny's home page on the peacockmedia website. The update system within the app (which told you you were on the most recent version) relies on us broadcasting a message, which we currently don't do for each and every minor point (depending how important it is that existing users update). This is because not everyone enjoys being notified very frequently (there's a complaint about this a little further down this discussion). Your question has made me realise that there's a difference between the app notifying the user of an update, and the user pressing a button to check for updates. In the latter case the most up-to-date version should be returned. Thank you.
Like (1)
capitalJai
04 November 2016
Scrutiny is a good tool for fixing up issues with your web site. I do recommend it to anyone who has smaller web sites that they need to check for important SEO and other errors on their web site. It is easy to use, fast and has a good developer behind it. I appreciate the consistent updates as well and would recommend it as an essential tool for improving a web site.
Like (1)
Version 6.8.15
tvalleau
18 April 2016
MacUpdate: please, Please, PLEASE stop -forcing- your ##$@!&&^ installer on us!!!!
Like (7)
Version 6.6.5
1 answer(s)
Sheadixon
Sheadixon
28 April 2016
I'm not happy about the installer either, and have asked MU not to supply any of my software in their installer, which I believe they're willing to do.

For anyone reading this, note that it's always been possible to simply download the app (within my own dmg) using the download link rather than the install link.
Like (3)
Why-Not
30 November 2015
While I love to see apps updated, the frequency is a bit much, at least for me. I want to get emails related to its upgrade, but I swear I am getting an email every few days for this app.
Like (1)
Version 6.0.8
4 answer(s)
Sheadixon
Sheadixon
05 December 2015
Noted, and updates will be less frequent from now on.

These are unusual times, v6 involved a complete rewrite of the engine and came out of beta a week or so ago. Inevitably there were a few problems found when more people started to upgrade, mostly minor or affecting very few users, but I'm still keen to get minor updates out to the server.

It's a difficult line to walk. I'm aware that some people are irritated by frequent minor updates, but on the other hand, I do get emails if there's a newer version on the server and people discover that they haven't received a notification via the app or from a site like this.

Anyhow, I will try to handle things better and thanks for your interest in Scrutiny.
Like (2)
Caberlin
Caberlin
09 February 2016
That's true… on the other hand: quick bug fixes and nice additions (like now where you can set a group of links to re-check.) - I am happy about the updates and the quick development and can live with the update process, which eats amost 1 minute of my valuable time.
Like
Why-Not
Why-Not
26 March 2016
Thank you for the reply. Makes perfect sense. Great software with a great developer make a great future. I got caught up on the updates, while realizing that several other pieces of software I love are never updated. If I had to choose, I choose the frequent updates. Sorry to be a stick in the mud earlier.
Like
Sheadixon
Sheadixon
28 March 2016
No problem, you had a point, I'm sure there's a happy medium :-)
Like
Hipwr
01 November 2015
I'm a licensed user of 4.5.1. I was obviously not paying attention and upgraded to version 5 not realizing it was a paid upgrade. I considered upgrading and thought there might be an upgrade path that cost less than the full retail price. However I was unable to find one because I cannot find the developer's web site. I then tried to find the download of 4.5.1 because the description of the application above states "v4 is still available and supported". Ok, then where is the link to download version 4?
Like (1)
Version 5.9.20
1 answer(s)
Sheadixon
Sheadixon
10 November 2015
Thank you for the feedback. I'm concerned that you couldn't find the site, Googling should easily find it, and there's a link on this Macupdate page.

There's a link on Scrutiny's home page for those wanting to upgrade - you can get a 5 licence for much less than the full price. (just email me your 4 licence and I'll sort it out)

I see now that the download for v4 is not easy to find (it did come up for me when I googled though) I'll make sure there's a link on Scrutiny's page. It's here if you'd like to download that version again:
http://peacockmedia.software/mac/scrutiny/scrutiny4.html

Like (4)
Reagan9000
18 October 2015
Super useful suite of specialty tools for analyzing websites. Best for web developers managing a large site or multiple sites. Developer is quick to respond to questions and issues, so am very happy with support. Given that there's a limited market for this kind of software, is reasonably priced at $95 (list) but the developer offers heavy discounts through MacUpdate a couple of times a year. I use this to manage a number of Wordpress sites, some quite large.
Like (2)
Version 5.9.16
adrianwilliams
10 May 2015
Nice suite of tools to fine-tune your website(s). It's possible to do very much the same using other tools (many free) but convenience comes at a price. Unfortunately, I missed the 70% discount so will be uninstalling the trial soon. I'll buy it when the price drops again. A big gamble on the price hike Sheila. I, for one, am a lost sale. Best of luck.
Like (4)
Version 5.8.5
3 answer(s)
Caberlin
Caberlin
23 May 2015
If you are an occasional web designer I see your point and waiting for discounts are an option for sure.

But if you do web design as a main job, then it might be worth comparing the cost of this software with the extra time and cost you spend using your mentioned "other tools". For me personally it paid off quickly.

(To get most of the validity checker I need to use Scrutiny also in combination with locally installed "other tools", I admit; the official free version of w3c checker has too tight limits for me.)
Like (1)
bowlerboy-jmb
bowlerboy-jmb
05 August 2015
If you've been paying attention recently, then you would have been able to obtain this fine software suite of tools at a bargain, since it was included in at least two different bundles. Developer Sheila Dixon may set a high retail price, in your opinion, but she also balances off her software offerings by participating in discount offers, as well as offering some elements for free. She even links to other, competitive resources. Check out her website to learn how fair she really is.
Like (1)
adrianwilliams
adrianwilliams
26 June 2019
I revisited Scrutiny today - It had been on my mac for a few years without being used - what a mistake !. I got a pop-up to try the latest version (9) so I did. Both comments from Caberlin and bowlerboy-jmb are perfectly valid. I simply missed the offers and don't spend much time searching for bargains. The offer to upgrade for $20 from my version 6 is a bargain I'll certainly take up. Great work Sheila ! and Great software :)
Like
Caberlin
19 May 2014
Version 5 now gets 5 stars from me. A decent feature-rich tool for me when quality-cheching my websites. It speeds up my production workflow a lot.
Like (2)
Version 5.0.9
Detlevski
09 May 2014
I have bought Scrutiny in 2011 for $29,95, my license works up to version 5. Now, 3 years later, with almost no inflation in the last 3 years, the price has tripled ? Oh yes, there is an upgrade path, for only 20 UK pounds ? Isn't that the same price I paid in 2011. I think I will stay a happy version 4 user ...
Like (3)
Version 5.0.6
2 answer(s)
Sheadixon
Sheadixon
09 May 2014
Good to hear that v4 is still working for you and be assured that version 4 will remain supported for the forseeable. Scrutiny has come a long way in 3 years and for your original 20 pounds you've received free updates and are using a version which has been selling for £35. It's a big step to go to £55. Unfortunately it has to be a commercial decision :-( v5 is a big step forward. The investment in time has been huge, particularly this year into v5, and I'm trying to make a living. I hear from organisations comparing it with Screaming Frog which sells for £100 *per year*. I think it compares very well feature-wise and extremely well price-wise, even at the new price. It's your call, I'm pleased to still have you as a Scrutiny user even if you stick at v4, and if you do decide to take the paid upgrade, your original purchase plus the upgrade fee will still be significantly less than the current price for v5.
Like (4)
Detlevski
Detlevski
09 May 2014
I have 100+ software licenses and most major versions require an update fee and yes, sometimes, well most of the times, with each major version prices go up, but 300%? I hope for you this commercial decision works out. Don't get me wrong, I like Scrutiny, but my earnings haven't tripled in the last 3 years.
Like (5)
bigglz
03 May 2014
There may be better, but this works a treat to keep an eye on and deal with site maintenance requirements. No complaints at all for what it does.
Like (1)
Version 5.0.3
Veltin
26 October 2013
If I will buy Scrutiny here (by MacUpdate) will it also Lifetime Lisence like on your Website? Did not found any information about it. Thx in advance
Like
Version 4.5.1
1 answer(s)
Sheadixon
Sheadixon
28 October 2013
Hi Veltin, thanks for your interest. Lifetime is as opposed to the annual fee that one of Scrutiny's competitors charges. Your licence will always work for this version and you will get free updates. I can't promise that there will never be a paid upgrade in the future but it would have to be a seriously major change and you will still be able to continue with the version you have. I've never made a paid upgrade and I have no plans to do so.
Like (1)
stefannoe
25 October 2013
Hi, I tested Srutiny and the program has found 8 Bad-Links, 7 but were ok. Most of them were links to PDF files. Why? Stefan
Like
Version 4.5.1
Rgator
25 October 2013
Ok, I’ve been working with ORGANIC SEO creation since about 1997. So I can tell you that some of the tools might be real and can actually help get things done. But the crap about checking and correcting meta keywords is the give away that this is NOT serious SEO ware! It has been about a dozen years since the search engines have last used meta keywords in the evaluation of search query for a website! Anyone that does real SEO knows that! http://googlewebmastercentral.blogspot.com/2009/09/google-does-not-use-keywords-meta-tag.html I’m giving them a one star for not being honest.
Like (3)
Version 4.5.1
2 answer(s)
Sheadixon
Sheadixon
25 October 2013
The meta keywords column wasn't originally in the SEO table, but it was requested by users. Most if not all search engines ignore meta keywords now but some people still like to include the field for completeness. I will consider making the column optional and off by default but a one star review for one column of many in the SEO table which is one tool of many in this app?
Like (11)
Reagan9000
Reagan9000
18 October 2015
There are other search engines besides Google. Yahoo and Bing still index meta keywords. Admittedly, Yahoo says that they get the lowest priority, and Bing says that meta keywords are a signal and "getting it right is a nice perk for us" but aren't heavily weighted.

There are reasons of course to minimize or avoid meta keywords, but that's up to the user and a fairly petty reason to give this hard working developer of pretty great software only 1 star.
Like
Peleve
31 January 2013
I have been using Scrutiny, and before that Integrity (also by the same developer), for over a year. It does an excellent job of finding broken links. I use it both on my desktop web development and remote servers. Early on I had questions and issues, and the developer was very responsive by helping out with a problem and listening to suggestions. One suggestion I lake to make now is to keep a list of previously tested websites so that one does not have to enter the site name every time you want to test another site.
Like (3)
Version 4.0
3 answer(s)
Sheadixon
Sheadixon
31 January 2013
Hi there, thank you for your review and rating. Unless I've misunderstood then Scrutiny will keep track of as many sites as you like, and remember the settings for each. (Integrity doesn't have this feature). See the screenshots above, your sites live in that sidebar on the left of the settings screen. Just press the little [+], fill in the details and press save. Scrutiny will even make a thumbnail if you'd like to view them that way. Let me know if you actually meant something different.
Like (3)
Sheadixon
Sheadixon
31 January 2013
It might also be worth mentioning a couple of advanced features - Scrutiny will let you save a set of settings - you can simply double-cilck that resulting settings file to start Scrutiny running with those settings, or even schedule that settings file using iCal. Also, if you maintain a few sites, you can check multiple sites with a single crawl. See the manual (under the Help menu) for more details of these.
Like (2)
Reagan9000
Reagan9000
18 October 2015
You can save all the sites you test. Command-N, enter the URL and name, and it's saved. I have 5 sites I test frequently and they're all there every time I launch the app.
Like
Yazarim
23 May 2012
Aòready reviewed but I repeat: Perfect. It makes me spare a real lot of time with my RapidWeaver site. Many thanks, developer: the idea of adding the possibility to check the links locally has been simply splendid.
Like (3)
Version 1.6.2
7 answer(s)
Yazarim
Yazarim
24 May 2012
Me again. Mmmm… I am afraid something is not working well in version 1.6.2 - In my Site the software used to find 700 links, now it finds more than 30.000! Version 1.6.1 and Integrity go on finding 700 links. HELP!
Like
Yazarim
Yazarim
24 May 2012
Oh, my God, old Integrity, I mean. And locally. I do not dare anymore to check links on my published Site. HELP!
Like
Yazarim
Yazarim
25 May 2012
Me again, and feeling very ashamed. It seems that the problem does not depend on Scrutiny or Integrity, but on the new RapidWeaver 5.3 beta 3. I will check more thoroughly.
Like
Yazarim
Yazarim
25 May 2012
And me, again. Sorry but I hope that my experience could possibly be of help for some other user. Tehe problem definitely depends on this version of Scrutiny (162) when used LOCALLY. When used on my real Site on ts server, the links checked are correctly 700 and not more the 30.000 (!). I am mailing the developer on the issue
Like
Sheadixon
Sheadixon
25 May 2012
Sorry for the delayed reply - macupdate isn't the best place to ask for help. Thanks for your email today, I've identified and fixed the problem, emailed you a workaround and will put the fixed 1.6.3 out as soon as possible. As you've noted, this problem only affects the crawling of sites locally and I'm happy to email the workaround to anyone who gets in touch.
Like (2)
Yazarim
Yazarim
26 May 2012
Sheila, you are always perfect. As a matter of fact, though, I was not asking for your help here: before asking it in the correct way, with a mail, as I did, I wanted to be sure that the problem depended on Scrutiny and not on my configuration. As soon as I have been sure, I have reported and you fixed. Brava ("A" because you are woman, "bravO" is a man…)
Like (1)
Sheadixon
Sheadixon
26 May 2012
it's fine, I just meant to say that I see emails right away but may not see comments here for a while. Thank you for the Italian tip. I don't speak it but as a musician I know many words and it's beautiful, bella.
Like (2)
Caberlin
24 March 2012
Good software. helps me finding bugs quicker. A tip for validation: I found out that for the validation it is very important to set the software to make only a few requests per minute. Otherwise the validation gets stopped in the middle because the company that provides the validation locks out your IP for a while (because they obviously do not like automated requests of a certain frequency). Btw: Why is their free version, named "Integrity", receiving frequent updates, and this paid version not?
Like (1)
Version 1.3.4
1 answer(s)
Sheadixon
Sheadixon
28 March 2012
Thanks for the review and the tip. It is frustrating that the w3c do block requests after x pages; I can't find this documented. They have asked that software does not make requests more frequently than a second and Scrutiny does respect this. I do try to update both apps roughly monthly, and the version histories (available in full at peacockmedia) do show this. The free Integrity (just a link checker) may have had a little more attention in the last month because of a problem that required a fairly quick release.
Like (1)
Detlevski
26 November 2011
Scrutiny is a handy app, validation seems nice but always times out and I have not discovered a way to disable validation. Interface and GUI have some glitches. Why is the menu name scrutiny and not Scrutiny (capitalised) ? Despite this I consider buying it. But there still is some work to be done.
Like
Version 1.3.2
3 answer(s)
Sheadixon
Sheadixon
07 February 2012
Thank you for your feedback, much appreciated. It's now possible (since 1.3.3) to switch off validation and / or SEO checks. By default Scrutiny uses the public instance of the w3c validator, which has its limits. It's possible to download install the validator (free) and set Scrutiny to use that. See Scrutiny's FAQs at peacockmedia.co.uk for more details about that.
Like (1)
Sheadixon
Sheadixon
28 March 2012
1.4 now has some improvements to the interface, and I've finally managed to fix the lowercase 's' which like a bad penny wouldn't go away!
Like (1)
Detlevski
Detlevski
29 March 2012
;-)
Like
Don-Morris
18 November 2011
From my survey of and blog post on link checkers: "Two tools from the same developer were next to come across my desktop. Integrity is a basic link checker, while Scrutiny adds sitemap, SEO, and HTML validation features. As I began reviewing link checkers, certain features became important to me; both of these applications allow the user to set per-site delays to the scanner, so as not to overload the server, and have the ability to pause a scan and optionally scan for missing images. "However...Scrutiny has some odd user interface issues that make me uncomfortable using it. Also, [it suffers] from a bug that makes the scanner treat URLs with 'www.' in them as a different site than those without the subdomain. The developer has indicated that this will be fixed in a later version. "...my faves are ______ and Scrutiny. Scrutiny, as noted above, isn't a polished app. And there are features found in other apps I'd like it to have, like robots.txt exclusion and full resource checking. However, the price is more appealing than ______'s.
Like
Version 1.3.2
Singley
09 November 2011
I've tried out the demo version, and I would like to review it. It's a very nice app, the design is user-friendly. Instant download, no need to leave email/name: want to try it out - go ahead. Scrunity checks links, SEO stuff, HTML validation, generates an XML sitemap. 300 links were found for a tiny website I checked in less than two minutes, so the tool is really fast. These were both back links and internal links. 239 of them were reported as bad, mostly these were 404 error internal links. Thank, Scrunity, I'll fix that! So Scrunity found 61 backlinks to my website - pretty much the same I used to detect with yahoo site explorer. Btw, where does Scrunity get back links from? Then I moved to the Sitemap option. I liked the "only include checked and followed urls in sitemaps" option. Also you can set up the default change frequency (the same option to all pages only, I guess - please correct me if I'm wrong) and priority (that was marked as automatic only, maybe because of the demo version). In the SEO section you get info on page title, url, description, keywords, main headings. All is accurate. HTML validation states valid/invalid/abort, or, abundant in my case, "the request timed out". Thanks for the great tool, I think webmasters who don't need advanced options, a variety of xml sitemap generation option to choose from, can make great use of it to spot main on page problems and remove obstacles to high rankings! I personally was amazed by the number of 404's found :)
Like (4)
Version 1.3.2
2 answer(s)
Sheadixon
Sheadixon
09 November 2011
Really appreciate the review, thank you. The priority for the sitemap is auto-generated. Note that you can manually alter the allocated change frequency by editing within the table, the same isn't true for the priority. I can see that that would be useful, so I'll add it to the enhancement list. (No features are hidden in the demo mode) You may find some useful tips and more information on the app's FAQ page, available via the Help menu. I'd like to look into your back links question, please could you contact me (email address is on my site). You can double-click each link to see which page(s) it appears on and this should answer your question but it will only find links on your site, not links to your site from other people's (at least not yet!!) Thanks again. S
Like (2)
Singley
Singley
10 November 2011
Hi Shiela, thanks for your detailed feedback! I apologize to misinterpret the link data - there are really no links from other people's websites, so there's no back link question left :) Cheers, Anne
Like
Sheadixon
16 September 2011
have decided that it would only be fair to give a licence key (when implemented) to those who have reported problems. If you find anything, don't forget to tell me the site that you're testing and your version of OSX
Like (4)
Version 1.2
1 answer(s)
Sheadixon
Sheadixon
05 October 2011
I did wrote this during the Beta period in order to encourage bug reports and have sent keys to those who got in touch. I didn't intend it to apply after the Beta period and I can't seem to delete the comment now. Bug reports are still very welcome, but I can't now send a key in exchange.
Like (4)