Back to MegaSeg page
MegaSeg free download for Mac

MegaSeg Reviews

6.1.1
13 November 2019

Professional DJ and radio automation.

Jonathan-Gleeb
26 July 2012

Most helpful

This app have always been a crappy app and will stay that way until somebody with a clue does a complete rewrite. The autoplay of Traktor DJ Studio is way way better for a broadcasting radio studio and very stable too. Don't get me started on DJing.
Like (2)
Version 5.8.4

Read 14 MegaSeg User Reviews

Rate this app:

Jonathan-Gleeb
26 July 2012
This app have always been a crappy app and will stay that way until somebody with a clue does a complete rewrite. The autoplay of Traktor DJ Studio is way way better for a broadcasting radio studio and very stable too. Don't get me started on DJing.
Like (2)
Version 5.8.4
Drewman21
20 March 2012
MegaSeg has been a great automation solution to our college radio station for 10 years and it has been great. The developers took a few of our suggestions for making it better for our use and implemented them in the next version they released. We run it over summer vacation at our station and it runs for 3 months without issue. For the money its a great app if you are looking for a solution for a low power or school radio station. The manual is a bit long but it does cover EVERYTHING you need to know and some you might not even thought of. Once it is setup you are good to go for a long time without worry.
Like (1)
Version 5.8.1
Maclover1-1
23 November 2010
Ugliest interface ever... stuck somewhere in 1995.. For the same price you get Traktor Pro or Virtual DJ or Deckadance..
Like (1)
Version 5.5.2
1 answer(s)
Caberlin
Caberlin
25 March 2012
You cannot compare this with Traktor Pro - different tasks. This one is for automated radio shows. Special feature is that you can time events, change song moods at a certain time or have a special announcement at midnight. And a very fine grained automated protection against song repetitions, like radios need it. Traktor Pro, DJay, etc. are more for live entertainment fun with a DJ present. Interface is 90ies, I agree on that ;-) But Traktor also does not look especially "nice", to be honest.
Like
Caberlin
05 May 2007
(Comment on my previous Review for 4.0.1.) Dropouts are gone(!) on my Mac with the new 4.0.2. (If you still have dropouts, try how it is with "keep drives spinning" OFF in the prefs.) Also the developer is now very responsive to reports and questions. Since this were the only main points annoying me with the app, and they are gone, I can now update my personal rating to a full 5 stars. I start really loving this toy.
Like
Version 4.0.2
Caberlin
21 April 2007
good: nice and clean interface. great for a half-automatic party with the ability to drop in special songs from a wishlist at a given order or given time!! (think of a midnight special at a birthday party)... much superior to iTunes in that respect. bad: still Dropouts on my MacBookPro at many songs and/or certain button clicks does not sync nicely yet with iTunes (tons of errors with importing tags and stuff) search features could be much improved. If the few bugs are removed it will be my favourite toy for private party dj-ing... You should also check out Disco XT, that one goes the same direction with it's automatic playlist... At the moment I prefer the UI of Megaseg but Disco XT has no dropouts and that counts.
Like
Version 4.0.1
Anonymous
19 July 2005
(Pardon my english) This kuffin hitsh doesnt work correctly. For more than weeks, i try to setup events and playlists. Yesterday, the first Day them works fine, correctly loaded n played for bout 12 hours. Last Night, the loading of events n playlists stopped. And now, the programmed n saved events wouldnt run anymore. Reboot n Reload without any improvement. Anybody knows help?! Thx 4 answering. :(
Like
Version 3.1.4
Anonymous
11 January 2005
If your only goal is to replace iTunes for your home entertaining, ok it doesn't worth the price... But if you're running a commercial radio, broadcasting 24h/day, the price is just a joke ! This app is VERY stable, the database is tweakable, the level of customization is good, etc... I was on the move to leave the mac platform for broadcasting uses until I've found this jewel !
Like
Version 3.0.1
Anonymous
11 January 2005
are you kidding me?? 169 bucks for this "carbon" app.... no way!!!
Like
Version 3.0.1
Anonymous
24 November 2004
Comment from Switzerland (in bad English): I think, this is a "Builded with RealBasic"-Application, so there's no way to be "fast or stable". Beware! RealBasic is very, very good to learn some basics in programming (thanks RB), but that's all. Don't pay money for "Builded with RealBasic"-Applications! Sorry for being such a smart ass, but I wasted too much time with RealBasic: it was full of non-working "features"... and after a few months I stopp'd working with this crap-basic-compiler-nonsense-stuff. Sorry again! I don't start RB-Apps on my Mac. If I start one, after a few seconds I KNOW this is builded with REALBasic (slow, crashes, flickers) - most of the RB-Freaks aren't good programmers, they are like kids exploring de world of a sandbox with the illusion they stay in the heaven.
Like
Version 3.0
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
18 August 2005
funny thing is: this particular RealBasic application (is it really written in RB?) is pretty darn stable and almost offers real-time performance. Can't say that of some other non-RB DJ'ing apps...
Like
Version 3.1.5
HI_Bob
HI_Bob
24 March 2006
Hi, Anonymous. I'm having some difficulties with MegaSeg 3.1.6 on a MacMini running MacOS X - 10.3.4 I belive it was. I'm trying to understand anything about what is going on. Could you elaborate some on what characteristics I should expect from an application built of RealBasic? The issue I am having is that from time to time it just stops playing music for about 30 seconds with the spinning rainbow disk, and then it resumes. What I have observed with Activity Monitor is that when it is open, and not doing anything it consumes 15% of the CPU. When it is playing music, it takes 20%. The 15% is puzzling. I would expect an idle application to take nearly nothing while waiting for an input event. Is this related to a behavior you would expect from RealBasic? The other observation from Activity Monitor is that MegaSeg seems to run either 4 or 5 threads when idle, and 1 more thread when playing music. You can reliably start and stop the playlist and see the thread count go up and down by 1, and simultaneously the CPU usage goes up and down by 5%. When it goes into the aberrant "stopped playing" mode, the CPU usage flutters down in the 0-1% range and the number of threads drops to 1 less than the normal idle thread count (3 or 4). If you or anyone else out there could shed any light on MacMini issues or RealBasic issues or specific MacOS version issues that might be at play here, I'd be most appreciative. Oh. Other symptoms and environmental things are: This is being run on a very restricted account which can only run MegaSeg (I specifically enabled the ability to run Activity Monitor to see what was happening). I have run Disk Utility and Repaired the disk Permissions. I have booted it in safe mode to attempt to kill any rogue processes. I have cleaned out the MegaSeg logs. None of this had any noticeable effect. The 30 second episodes were first noticed at a rate of a few episodes per day, which was annoying. Over the past several weeks, it has progressed to several (5-15) episodes per hour, which is unusable. The music is on an external disk. The music is in wave format. The library contains almost 18000 songs. MegaSeg is set to keep all disks spinning. Bob
Like
Version 3.1.6
Anonymous
21 October 2004
Is there any way to get this program to send its output to the audio port on an Airport Express (like iTunes does)? Also, is there a way of mixing in an additional signal coming from an analog audio input into the stream? To truely be a full dj solution for us we need that analog input to accept signals from a microphone preamp, satellite receiver etc. With the ability to feed to an Airport Express we could do remote broadcasts, or feed directly to our transmitter site. We'd use a modified Airport Express with an external antenna, and have an antenna on our laptop's wireless card as well.
Like
Version 2.7.4
Mike Baker
20 October 2004
MegaSeg is used at WJJG-AM 1530 as well as WLTL-FM 88.1 with good reason. It surpasses any Windows or Linix application. Automation part of the time and live assist the rest of the time can be accomplished easily with MegaSeg. No training needed at a comercial radio station and great for a high school radio station. Mike Baker And The Forgotten 45's Host on WJJG-AM 1530 and Supervisor at WLTL-FM 88.1 Lyons Township High School District 204
Like
Version 2.7.4
Djdarlek
20 October 2004
I actually coughed up £100 for this program over a year ago.. i was so so so so so gutted after trying Traktor 2.5.3..... no beat-matching! no fun!
Like
Version 2.7.4
28 July 2004
I purchased MegaSeg, and am very disappointed with it. I was very enthused with the program being a vinyl dj. However, the program has many bugs, and the audio skips and drops out to a random pattern. Maybe someone else has had this problem and can help me. Fidelity is slow to respond to my questions and is unfamiliar wiht this problem. If anyone can help me I'm open to suggestions, because the programmers at Fidelity aren't helpful.
Like
Version 2.7.3
Anonymous
17 February 2004
This is THE best and most extensive DJ program for the mac. Well worth the money if you are serious about transitions and features.
Like
Version 2.7.2