Back to Paprika Recipe Manager page
Paprika Recipe Manager free download for Mac

Paprika Recipe Manager Reviews3.6.4

12 January 2021

Simple recipe management for everyone.

MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
dougsjps
dougsjps
May 10 2020
3.4.5
2.0
May 10 2020
2.0
Version: 3.4.5
I like the app but why in the world do they charge for every device that you use? They make a big deal about being able to use the cloud to move recipes from one device to another and they even tell you that they charge for each device bit I was surprised when I went to put the app on my laptop and the price was 3 times the cost of what I put on my iphone. Really! I bough the app. Let me use it on my devices. I want to be able to take my phone to the grocery store with my shopping list, but I want to be able to type the recipes in using the keyboard on my laptop. But not for another $15.
Xenos
Xenos
Sep 8 2019
3.3.7
0.0
Sep 8 2019
0.0
Version: 3.3.7
Ridiculously narrow-minded idea that you need to change the system language if you want to use another language in the Paprika Recipe Manager.
dboc
dboc
May 5 2019
3.3.5
0.5
May 5 2019
0.5
Version: 3.3.5
Lock in syndrome. Can't export markdown files. Do think twice before committing to this software.

Could as well just use Zettlr and go markdown all the way. It provides an effective system to keep your stuff in sync across devices if you use an online storage or NAS for that matter. And it's future proof - stay in control of your files.
sup3rny4nb0y2
sup3rny4nb0y2
Jan 12 2019
3.3.4
2.0
Jan 12 2019
2.0
Version: 3.3.4
It doesn’t have export option in MarkDown, even though you write your recipes in it using MarkDown! It’s so stupid and looks just like user lock. I can’t rely on it, there’s no future proof…
Dbullock
Dbullock
Nov 14 2018
3.3.0
5.0
Nov 14 2018
5.0
Version: 3.3.0
This is an excellent program. You fill out the recipes you plan to eat over the next week, then Paprika breaks them down to the component parts you need to buy at the store. Then you go to the store and open Paprika on your iPhone (or other), and check off the list as you buy each item. It's really pretty brilliant!!
jandcc
jandcc
May 5 2018
3.2.3
3.0
May 5 2018
3.0
Version: 3.2.3
I have Paprika Recipe Manager 1 on my iMac, I would like to purchase and install Version 3. I read somewhere that it was a bit of a pig to update from 1 to 3, is this so ? Has anybody done this ?. Thanks in advance..
Happy-Dance
Happy-Dance
Dec 23 2017
3.1.1
5.0
Dec 23 2017
5.0
Version: 3.1.1
Paprika for Mac OS is half price till the end of the year, in case you were considering it. iOS version is now universal and 40% off till year's end also. I just bought it an hour ago so I can't review it yet.
Cortig
Cortig
Nov 17 2017
3.0.1
5.0
Nov 17 2017
5.0
Version: 3.0.1
Great new version. In addition tot he new user interface, v3 brings support for multiple pictures in the recipe and a share extension for Safari: that’s a very nice improvement over v2 (at least as far as my use is concerned :-) ).
Marcossi
Marcossi
Jan 31 2017
2.2.0
3.0
Jan 31 2017
3.0
Version: 2.2.0
Just downloaded the app and imported from MacGourmet Deluxe. Paprika seems much more stable but missing many features from MacGourmet Deluxe. If MacGourmet Deluxe was updating their apps I wouldn't have changed.
Panocha
Panocha
Feb 18 2016
2.2.0
0.0
Feb 18 2016
0.0
Version: 2.2.0
It looks nice, and if it was able to be purchased outside of the MAS, and could use other sync methods, like DropBox, and a NAS on your own LAN, then I would actually consider paying for it.
Happy-Dance
Happy-Dance
Feb 18 2016
2.2.0
5.0
Feb 18 2016
5.0
Version: 2.2.0
Paprika has just released a big update to their app, v2.2.0 now, I believe, that includes an english language engine in the browser that will analyze and d/l a recipe from any site, not just ones that have added by the company. Now that’s a game changer, huh? Look, I understand the reluctance to pay $20 for an app with no trial period, I would not likely do that either. Oh yeah, and pay again for the iPad and iPhone apps, too. I've had this app a long time and never even used it. I don’t even remember how I got it; I think it might’ve been in a software bundle that I bought for other software. Maybe it was just real cheap and I wanted to try it. I was using MacGourmet Deluxe at the time and inertia kept me using it. Over time I became frustrated with MacGourmet and remembered Paprika in my Application folder and gave it a try. After a couple of weeks with Paprika I imported all my MacGourmet recipes and have been using Paprika ever since. I bought the iPad version since I'm often watching TV and roam recipe sites during lulls in the programing. I bought the iPhone version so I can be at the supermarket and check a recipe to see what I need to buy for a meal I want to make. And the automatic syncing makes sure all the app versions have the latest recipes.Yeah, they’re not giving away their apps but I'm hoping they’ve got a solid business plan that’ll keep them in business a long time because I love this app. Not selling yourself too cheaply is a good way to stay in business. I really wish that they’d release a trial version of Paprika so a lot more people can find out how ridiculously great this program is.
rw49
rw49
Jan 8 2015
2.1.3
5.0
Jan 8 2015
5.0
Version: 2.1.3
Regularly upgraded and just gets better and better. You can easily change portions. Both the Mac and IOS versions are good. I use it all the time with my iphone and the programme even stays open all the time when you're cooking. For those worried about no trial - go ahead and get it. You'll not regret it.
Xenophile
Xenophile
Dec 16 2014
2.1.1
0.0
Dec 16 2014
0.0
Version: 2.1.1
This looks awesome, better than MacGourmet for which development seems to be in maintenance only mode. The Hindsight Labs website is well designed and informative, and app screenshots show a seemingly elegant interface. The total price for both the OS X and iOS apps is certainly fair assuming the app is as good as it looks... And there is the problem: I must assume the app is good because there is no way to try it. Now why would I spend good money based on an assumption when I already have several recipe managers?
Mikebenda
Mikebenda
May 10 2014
2.0.3
4.0
May 10 2014
4.0
Version: 2.0.3
After finally abandoning all hope that YummySoup will ever be updated, I purchased Paprika. Importing my YummySoup library worked fast and effortlessly. I haven't yet used all of Paprika's features, but like how the application looks and works. It's simple interface is benefit as it's easy to use and navigate. The web import feature works great! There are three things I don't like about this application. First, instead of using iCloud, the recipes are synced across devices using the developer's server. If Paprika goes the way of YummySoup, we're screwed. There are already reports of the servers going down. Second, Hindsight Labs didn't develop a universal app for iOS, rather they sell a separate iPhone and iPad app, each costing $5. It feels greedy. I've just spent $20 on the Mac app; I really don't want to shell out another $10... And third, there is only one format for printing and no way to print a range of selected recipes. You have one format and have to select and print each recipe. Not very user friendly.
Drdul
Drdul
May 4 2014
2.0.3
4.5
May 4 2014
4.5
Version: 2.0.3
Best recipe app I've tried. The sync works (almost) flawlessly, with only kind glitch in several months of use. I generally add and edit recipes on my Mac, use it on my iPad when cooking and god minor edits, and use it on my iPhone to check recipes when shopping. I use the scaling feature a lot, and it could use some more work. I'd like to see if convert units when scaling. If I scale 3/4 of a cup by 1/4, for example, Paprika sticks to the same unit and shows 3/16 cup rather than a more useful 3 Tbsp. I'd also like an option simple formatting in the Directions section, like bold, italics and bullets.
JD-1
JD-1
Apr 22 2014
2.0.3
5.0
Apr 22 2014
5.0
Version: 2.0.3
This is one of the best apps of any kind that I have ever used. It's easy to input your recipes and to have everything organized. The integration with their iOS apps makes having your info always handy and beautifully displayed so it's easy to access when in the kitchen. They also releases updates & bug fixes on a regular basis when needed. All in all, it is a joy to use. Highly recommended!
anonymous-bandicoot-3081
anonymous-bandicoot-3081
Apr 16 2014
2.0.2
5.0
Apr 16 2014
5.0
Version: 2.0.2
I use this app nearly everyday. I type my recipes on the Mac and use my iPad in the kitchen ... nice couple. ;-) It would be great to upload more than one picture for a recipe.
Mhoutman
Mhoutman
Mar 26 2014
2.0.1
5.0
Mar 26 2014
5.0
Version: 2.0.1
After using apps both YummySoup and SousChef (abandon ware) and the last version of MacGourmet I switched to Paprika. IMHO a great recipe manager with great sync to awesome iOS versions. Love this app on both iOS and OS X and it is highly recommended :)
lacwbo
lacwbo
Nov 29 2013
1.4.2
0.0
Nov 29 2013
0.0
Version: 1.4.2
No trial? Forget it!
Pir-anha
Pir-anha
Sep 14 2013
1.4.2
0.0
Sep 14 2013
0.0
Version: 1.4.2
sorry: no trial, no sale. paprika looks really nice, but with software i use as much as a recipe manager, how it behaves in actual use really matters. with physical goods i can return them if they turn out not to "fit" me, but with digital content that is not possible. please consider making a trial version available.
Scott-r
Scott-r
Sep 11 2013
1.4.2
0.0
Sep 11 2013
0.0
Version: 1.4.2
For me, no trial version=no sale. I've been burned before by apps that look pretty but fail with actual use. If the developer can't be bothered to put a limited demo up, I've come to think that they're either they're hiding something embarrassing or they simply don't care enough to get my business.
cjred
cjred
Mar 21 2013
1.4.2
4.5
Mar 21 2013
4.5
Version: 1.4.2
Indispensable tool for me! Since it inception it sold me. Then they enhanced more features + syncs with my iDevices and meal plans. Now its retina optimised. couldn't ask for more!
rw49
rw49
Sep 6 2011
1.0.0
5.0
Sep 6 2011
5.0
Version: 1.0.0
I've tried many recipe programmes but none were to my liking. Despite the fact that there's no trial version of Paparika I got such a friendly and prompt response to an email that I sent that I decided to order it and haven't regretted it. I've already manually copied over my small collection of 120 recipes with no difficulty at all. I've also tried the web recipe search side and it works very well. All in all a very nice programme with no excessive frills. I'd like to be able to italicise or bold where required, particularly with sub headings in Ingredients. I look forward to development as this will, I'm sure, go from strength to strength.
Pedro-Fardilha
Pedro-Fardilha
Aug 23 2011
1.0.0
3.5
Aug 23 2011
3.5
Version: 1.0.0
For a initial (1.0.0) version it lays a decent ground for what I hope will be a very good app. Quite decent GUI that needs some small improvements (3 clicks to delete a single recipe is way to much). I like what I see and all I can is hope that the devs will keep on improving it. I would say that it mainly lacks the following: • Batch delete (as far as I was told, already in their to-do list); • Assign a category to several recipes; • Print multiple recipes in some sort of booklet format (ideally let us customize it); • Allow to select by star rating; • Translation in other languages. • Kill switch for the cloud since, allowing to completely delete whatever might be there. Right now it's the best one to sync with the iPad / iPhone version that I could find. And, for me, that alone puts it on a really good spot. So, all I can say to finish this quick review is: devs, keep up the good work!