Back to Paprika Recipe Manager page
Paprika Recipe Manager free download for Mac

Paprika Recipe Manager Reviews

3.4.0
24 October 2019

Simple recipe management for everyone.

dboc
05 May 2019

Most helpful

Lock in syndrome. Can't export markdown files. Do think twice before committing to this software.

Could as well just use Zettlr and go markdown all the way. It provides an effective system to keep your stuff in sync across devices if you use an online storage or NAS for that matter. And it's future proof - stay in control of your files.
Like (5)
Version 3.3.5

Read 23 Paprika Recipe Manager User Reviews

Rate this app:

Xenos
08 September 2019
Ridiculously narrow-minded idea that you need to change the system language if you want to use another language in the Paprika Recipe Manager.
Like
Version 3.3.7
dboc
05 May 2019
Lock in syndrome. Can't export markdown files. Do think twice before committing to this software.

Could as well just use Zettlr and go markdown all the way. It provides an effective system to keep your stuff in sync across devices if you use an online storage or NAS for that matter. And it's future proof - stay in control of your files.
Like (5)
Version 3.3.5
1 answer(s)
Michael-Vilain
Michael-Vilain
10 July 2019
Yea, I had the same problem with the previous recipe manager, Yum, which had no facility to upgrade. Subsequent versions locked in it's use even more. Once I upgraded my OS and Yum broke, I did what I could to transfer to Paprika because it had the export option. If 3.x doesn't, I'm done with them and will switch to something like Zittr or FSNotes.
Like (1)
sup3rny4nb0y2
12 January 2019
It doesn’t have export option in MarkDown, even though you write your recipes in it using MarkDown! It’s so stupid and looks just like user lock. I can’t rely on it, there’s no future proof…
Like (3)
Version 3.3.4
1 answer(s)
Scott-C-H-
Scott-C-H-
15 April 2019
Yup. Exactly. That's why I ditched not just Paprika Recipe Manager but also all the other so-called "Everything Bucket" type apps. I keep all my data in plain text files written in either Markdown or JSON and store them in a Dropbox folder. I use a simple but effective file name convention which includes dates and tags. Slick and fancy? Nope. Usable and accessible in a long run? Yup. No need to rely on a particular app and a company. No need to worry about whether some indie developer might feel like keeping up a few years down the road.

I have settled with this method a few years ago and never looked back. The massive problem with this type of application is that developers eventually abandon their apps. Don't take my word for it; Evernote Food, MacGourmet, and SousChef are abandonware now. Do you remember Journler, the journaling app that many Mac users loved to use? Phil, the developer of the app, decided one day that it wasn't worth keeping up. OS X got updated, and voila! Its exporter stopped working, so many of us were stuck figuring out how we could salvage thousands of entries. As you rightfully pointed out, Paprika's export feature is very limited.
Like (3)
Dbullock
14 November 2018
This is an excellent program. You fill out the recipes you plan to eat over the next week, then Paprika breaks them down to the component parts you need to buy at the store. Then you go to the store and open Paprika on your iPhone (or other), and check off the list as you buy each item. It's really pretty brilliant!!
Like
Version 3.3.0
jandcc
05 May 2018
I have Paprika Recipe Manager 1 on my iMac, I would like to purchase and install Version 3. I read somewhere that it was a bit of a pig to update from 1 to 3, is this so ? Has anybody done this ?. Thanks in advance..
Like
Version 3.2.3
Happy-Dance
23 December 2017
Paprika for Mac OS is half price till the end of the year, in case you were considering it. iOS version is now universal and 40% off till year's end also. I just bought it an hour ago so I can't review it yet.
Like
Version 3.1.1
1 answer(s)
Happy-Dance
Happy-Dance
24 January 2018
I've been using this since Christmas and it's as good as I hoped. I'm glad they finally added a trash can so I can recover accidentally deleted recipes. If you're happy with v2 then maybe there's no compelling reason to upgrade but I'm glad I did.
Like
Cortig
17 November 2017
Great new version. In addition tot he new user interface, v3 brings support for multiple pictures in the recipe and a share extension for Safari: that’s a very nice improvement over v2 (at least as far as my use is concerned :-) ).
Like
Version 3.0.1
Marcossi
31 January 2017
Just downloaded the app and imported from MacGourmet Deluxe. Paprika seems much more stable but missing many features from MacGourmet Deluxe. If MacGourmet Deluxe was updating their apps I wouldn't have changed.
Like (2)
Version 2.2.0
Panocha
18 February 2016
It looks nice, and if it was able to be purchased outside of the MAS, and could use other sync methods, like DropBox, and a NAS on your own LAN, then I would actually consider paying for it.
Like (1)
Version 2.2.0
Happy-Dance
18 February 2016
Paprika has just released a big update to their app, v2.2.0 now, I believe, that includes an english language engine in the browser that will analyze and d/l a recipe from any site, not just ones that have added by the company. Now that’s a game changer, huh? Look, I understand the reluctance to pay $20 for an app with no trial period, I would not likely do that either. Oh yeah, and pay again for the iPad and iPhone apps, too. I've had this app a long time and never even used it. I don’t even remember how I got it; I think it might’ve been in a software bundle that I bought for other software. Maybe it was just real cheap and I wanted to try it. I was using MacGourmet Deluxe at the time and inertia kept me using it. Over time I became frustrated with MacGourmet and remembered Paprika in my Application folder and gave it a try. After a couple of weeks with Paprika I imported all my MacGourmet recipes and have been using Paprika ever since. I bought the iPad version since I'm often watching TV and roam recipe sites during lulls in the programing. I bought the iPhone version so I can be at the supermarket and check a recipe to see what I need to buy for a meal I want to make. And the automatic syncing makes sure all the app versions have the latest recipes.Yeah, they’re not giving away their apps but I'm hoping they’ve got a solid business plan that’ll keep them in business a long time because I love this app. Not selling yourself too cheaply is a good way to stay in business. I really wish that they’d release a trial version of Paprika so a lot more people can find out how ridiculously great this program is.
Like (1)
Version 2.2.0
rw49
08 January 2015
Regularly upgraded and just gets better and better. You can easily change portions. Both the Mac and IOS versions are good. I use it all the time with my iphone and the programme even stays open all the time when you're cooking. For those worried about no trial - go ahead and get it. You'll not regret it.
Like (1)
Version 2.1.3
Xenophile
16 December 2014
This looks awesome, better than MacGourmet for which development seems to be in maintenance only mode. The Hindsight Labs website is well designed and informative, and app screenshots show a seemingly elegant interface. The total price for both the OS X and iOS apps is certainly fair assuming the app is as good as it looks... And there is the problem: I must assume the app is good because there is no way to try it. Now why would I spend good money based on an assumption when I already have several recipe managers?
Like
Version 2.1.1
4 answer(s)
larrymcj
larrymcj
20 December 2014
I have owned every recipe management app ever made for a Mac, including MacGourmet Deluxe. On a scale of 1 to 10 MacGourmet is about a 3 and Paprika is somewhere near a 15! Seriously, this is one of the most beautifully crafted apps you'll ever install on your Mac. I cook a lot, and also use the iOS version so my recipes are always right with me for display in the kitchen. The days of trial software are almost over, and if you purchase this from the Mac App Store and don't like it, it's very easy to obtain a refund from Apple.
Like (4)
cjred
cjred
20 December 2014
just to add, Timers, meal plans, builtin browser to get your recipe and syncs with your iDevices..
Like (1)
larrymcj
larrymcj
20 December 2014
Cjred is correct...plus it has so many other features. I really wasn't doing a complete review, I just wanted to reply to Xenophile's comment. There is no other recipe app that has a better built-in browser to download recipes from internet recipes sites. And Paprika has just started testing new software that will allow it to interface with even more sites.
Like (1)
Xenophile
Xenophile
02 January 2017
Thanks to everyone who suggested reasons to buy Paprika. I bought it and am reasonably satisfied. My only criticism is the lack of decent formatting for the recipe instruction sections. I can live with it but it feels unfinished to me.

Like
Mikebenda
10 May 2014
After finally abandoning all hope that YummySoup will ever be updated, I purchased Paprika. Importing my YummySoup library worked fast and effortlessly. I haven't yet used all of Paprika's features, but like how the application looks and works. It's simple interface is benefit as it's easy to use and navigate. The web import feature works great! There are three things I don't like about this application. First, instead of using iCloud, the recipes are synced across devices using the developer's server. If Paprika goes the way of YummySoup, we're screwed. There are already reports of the servers going down. Second, Hindsight Labs didn't develop a universal app for iOS, rather they sell a separate iPhone and iPad app, each costing $5. It feels greedy. I've just spent $20 on the Mac app; I really don't want to shell out another $10... And third, there is only one format for printing and no way to print a range of selected recipes. You have one format and have to select and print each recipe. Not very user friendly.
Like (1)
Version 2.0.3
3 answer(s)
Mikebenda
Mikebenda
10 May 2014
And I just found a bug. You cannot rename the recipe. In edit mode, a blank field appears for the name. Adding text only appends it to the existing name.
Like
Mousee
Mousee
13 May 2014
I cannot reproduce your bug here, if I understood correctly what's happening on your side. After opening Paprika, I chose a recipe, went into edit mode and I was able to replace the name of the recipe and save it. After quitting/relaunching Paprika the new name was there. I was then able to put the real name back in. OS X 10.9.2 here.
Like
Mikebenda
Mikebenda
14 May 2014
Thanks for your reply. It seems to be happening with only one recipe. I'll delete it and try re-entering it by hand. One thing I noticed, in the description field of all of my recipes (which I imported from YummySoup) there is a space *before* every comma.
Like
Drdul
04 May 2014
Best recipe app I've tried. The sync works (almost) flawlessly, with only kind glitch in several months of use. I generally add and edit recipes on my Mac, use it on my iPad when cooking and god minor edits, and use it on my iPhone to check recipes when shopping. I use the scaling feature a lot, and it could use some more work. I'd like to see if convert units when scaling. If I scale 3/4 of a cup by 1/4, for example, Paprika sticks to the same unit and shows 3/16 cup rather than a more useful 3 Tbsp. I'd also like an option simple formatting in the Directions section, like bold, italics and bullets.
Like (1)
Version 2.0.3
JD-1
22 April 2014
This is one of the best apps of any kind that I have ever used. It's easy to input your recipes and to have everything organized. The integration with their iOS apps makes having your info always handy and beautifully displayed so it's easy to access when in the kitchen. They also releases updates & bug fixes on a regular basis when needed. All in all, it is a joy to use. Highly recommended!
Like (1)
Version 2.0.3
I use this app nearly everyday. I type my recipes on the Mac and use my iPad in the kitchen ... nice couple. ;-) It would be great to upload more than one picture for a recipe.
Like (1)
Version 2.0.2
Mhoutman
26 March 2014
After using apps both YummySoup and SousChef (abandon ware) and the last version of MacGourmet I switched to Paprika. IMHO a great recipe manager with great sync to awesome iOS versions. Love this app on both iOS and OS X and it is highly recommended :)
Like (2)
Version 2.0.1
lacwbo
29 November 2013
No trial? Forget it!
Like (3)
Version 1.4.2
2 answer(s)
rw49
rw49
15 March 2014
That's what I thought, but the developers are very quick to reply, there are regular upgrades both for the Mac and iOS versions, and I find it indispensable for cooking, particularly with the ease of changing proportions automatically which always puts a smile on my face when I cook for different numbers of people. I love this programme, but each to their own! ;-)
Like (2)
Xenophile
Xenophile
20 December 2014
Agreed. $20 is a lot to spend on a blind purchase.

The proprietary sync method is also troubling. If Hindsight Labs goes belly up, then no more sync, even if their apps continue to work on OS X and iOS. MacUpdate is littered with good recipe managers from defunct developers, so this is a real concern.
Like
Pir-anha
14 September 2013
sorry: no trial, no sale. paprika looks really nice, but with software i use as much as a recipe manager, how it behaves in actual use really matters. with physical goods i can return them if they turn out not to "fit" me, but with digital content that is not possible. please consider making a trial version available.
Like (2)
Version 1.4.2
Scott-r
11 September 2013
For me, no trial version=no sale. I've been burned before by apps that look pretty but fail with actual use. If the developer can't be bothered to put a limited demo up, I've come to think that they're either they're hiding something embarrassing or they simply don't care enough to get my business.
Like (4)
Version 1.4.2
cjred
21 March 2013
Indispensable tool for me! Since it inception it sold me. Then they enhanced more features + syncs with my iDevices and meal plans. Now its retina optimised. couldn't ask for more!
Like (3)
Version 1.4.2
rw49
06 September 2011
I've tried many recipe programmes but none were to my liking. Despite the fact that there's no trial version of Paparika I got such a friendly and prompt response to an email that I sent that I decided to order it and haven't regretted it. I've already manually copied over my small collection of 120 recipes with no difficulty at all. I've also tried the web recipe search side and it works very well. All in all a very nice programme with no excessive frills. I'd like to be able to italicise or bold where required, particularly with sub headings in Ingredients. I look forward to development as this will, I'm sure, go from strength to strength.
Like (4)
Version 1.0.0
Pedro-Fardilha
23 August 2011
For a initial (1.0.0) version it lays a decent ground for what I hope will be a very good app. Quite decent GUI that needs some small improvements (3 clicks to delete a single recipe is way to much). I like what I see and all I can is hope that the devs will keep on improving it. I would say that it mainly lacks the following: • Batch delete (as far as I was told, already in their to-do list); • Assign a category to several recipes; • Print multiple recipes in some sort of booklet format (ideally let us customize it); • Allow to select by star rating; • Translation in other languages. • Kill switch for the cloud since, allowing to completely delete whatever might be there. Right now it's the best one to sync with the iPad / iPhone version that I could find. And, for me, that alone puts it on a really good spot. So, all I can say to finish this quick review is: devs, keep up the good work!
Like (2)
Version 1.0.0