Back to Disk Diet page
Disk Diet free download for Mac

Disk Diet Reviews

5.4.6
28 November 2019

Clean your drive and get more space for your Mac.

teamNOOB
08 May 2019

Most helpful

No issues here. Does what it says, good UI, reasonable price.
Like (1)
Version 5.4.4

Read 16 Disk Diet User Reviews

Rate this app:

qawqaw2803
13 July 2019
гарна програма
Like
Version 5.4.4
teamNOOB
08 May 2019
No issues here. Does what it says, good UI, reasonable price.
Like (1)
Version 5.4.4
Dbrooks787
01 July 2017
What he said... just works. reasonable price.
Like
Version 5.4.1
Medivad
22 June 2017
Just Works very well Reasonable Price Just Get It. Bye
Like
Version 5.4.1
Medivad
22 June 2017
Just Works very well Reasonable Price Just Get It. Bye
Like
Version 5.4.1
Elva123
20 June 2017
Love it a Lot.
Like (1)
Version 5.4.1
Aynsley
08 January 2017
Simple, efficient and intuitive. I feel more comfortable using Disk Diet than some of the power utilities I own. Technical support is excellent. There was a bug in the version I d/l and the developer released a fix in a couple of days. Highly recommended.
Like (1)
Version 5.4.1
lucasm248
21 January 2016
Love it!
Like (1)
Version 5.3.1
zo219
21 December 2013
I wouldn't be so quick to clean out foreign languages from System files anymore. Certainly not since Mavericks. Long-time Mac user and cleaner of anything, but ....Just saying.
Like (1)
Version 4.5.1
1 answer(s)
PlatinumM
PlatinumM
21 May 2015
You shouldn't have any issues with cleaning out extra language packs with Mavericks or even Yosemite. Disk Diet has an internal list of apps that it should skip for this type of cleaning (so everything stays good).
Like
Eric•Woehler
20 October 2013
further investigating - seems the newly-added option to clean out the iPhoto Trash is the problem, at least for me. (a) I don't use iPhoto so there is no iPhoto Trash (b) the option to delete the iPhoto Trash appears locked - I can't uncheck the option (c) DD searches in vain for my non-existent iPhoto Trash, opens iPhoto while searching, and hangs while searching but then eventually crashes big time (uncaught exceptionn invalid argument etc) have removed it and won't be using it again unless someone else tests it and finds that it works (and that you can uncheck the option re iTunes Trash).
Like (1)
Version 4.1
3 answer(s)
PlatinumM
PlatinumM
20 October 2013
Hi Eric, I'm sorry that the iPhoto trash cleanup is causing an issue. I have resolved it and submitted the fix to Apple for review. I've requested an expedited review so you (and the other customers having this issue) can get the update ASAP. Thanks, - Matt
Like (1)
Eric•Woehler
Eric•Woehler
21 October 2013
Hey Matt - thanks for prompt response - greatly appreciated. Great service and looking forward to using updated app!
Like
Tunabelly Software
Tunabelly Software
21 October 2013
Good news, Disk Diet 4.2 has been approved and it resolves the issues related to cleaning the iPhoto trash. It's available now as a free update in the Mac App Store. Please feel free to email me anytime if you have any issues or questions about the new version.
Like (2)
Eric•Woehler
20 October 2013
has been v stable until vers 4.1 - upgraded earlier today and now DD crashes on disc scan pls fix - was excellent app!
Like
Version 4.1
Eric•Woehler
25 July 2013
I have a query re Adobe software and this app. If you have used other language-stripping apps, you know that if you strip Adobe apps of un-used languages, they cease to work (esp Acrobat) and require a re-install. Does this app deal correctly with Adobe CS software? If you have Adobe CS 5.5 or CS 6 on your Mac and have run this app, do the CS apps still work? This would be a strong point in its favour.
Like
Version 4.0
1 answer(s)
Eric•Woehler
Eric•Woehler
06 September 2013
Bought it this morning after discussions with dev. Additional features coming in next version. I have used other apps (Monolingual and Xslimmer) but DD found anouther 400MB on my MB Air to remove in the form of languages I don't use. App delivers for great price, can recommend based on my own usage/experience.
Like (1)
Melis
02 February 2013
I did not test this because there is no trial version. But looking into this it doesn't offer any additional features not found in free alternatives.
Like (1)
Version 3.1
1 answer(s)
JasonE
JasonE
02 February 2013
Really? You spent more in time writing that complaint than it would have cost to purchase it.
Like (1)
Jazzyguy
20 October 2012
Works Great! I was able to get rid of a lot of wasted space on my HD!
Like (2)
Version 3.0.2
Evaluator
18 January 2012
Can't argue with the price. Most of this can be done for free, but $2 is about as close to free as one can get... What baffles me is that: I now have four pieces of software that include the ability to eradicate non-English software. I run these applications regularly, as I am using an SSD main drive and it is too small and must be kept lean until I can afford a larger one. These applications, including this one, keep telling me I have loads of non-English software. This is simple not possible, at least logically it makes no sense to me. Does this non-English software regenerate itself? Can someone suggest how this unwanted software can be kept off my computer?
Like (2)
Version 1.6.2
2 answer(s)
Evaluator
Evaluator
21 January 2012
FYI, I download iCleanLanguage after seeing it posted above. It claimed (immediately after I ran Disk Diet) that my computer had 1,666 foreign language files. I now have 5 utilities to clean-up language files and none seem to work.
Like (1)
Mike666
Mike666
04 February 2012
@Dthdunn: Every time you update an application, framework, or the system, those extra language resources get put right back, so this kind of utility is something you have to use routinely.
Like (1)
Pripyat
15 October 2011
I am impressed. I've been able to delete 11.9GB from my Mac. The application is simple, but effective. Worth the $0.99 the developer charges for it.
Like (2)
Version 1.5.1