Back to Timing page
Timing free download for Mac

Timing Reviews

2019.3
25 October 2019

Discover how you spend time on your Mac.

bobembry
12 March 2019

Most helpful

Before buying make sure you understand the long-term cost → https://timingapp.com/pricing. If you buy the expert version, it is going to cost you $99 up-front and then $50 per year. This is an anti-customer pricing model—-buyer beware
Like (5)
Version 2018.4.4

Read 26 Timing User Reviews

Rate this app:

Flavum
25 October 2019
Lots of fake reviews for this product. Good way to scare off potential customers - like me.
Like
Version 2019.3
hsledge
17 October 2019
Fantastic app. Easy to use, tracks everything, doesn't slow down other processes, very good customer support. I wouldn't be without it--it lets me track client time (I'm a freelancer) without turning on/off and manual timer (and forgetting half the time). I also use it to figure out what my most productive tasks/times are so I can maximize my productivity. Five stars!
Like
Version 2019.2
dhruvkh
11 October 2019
This app is a game changer for my consulting job. I'm terrible at keeping track of how I spend my time switching between 5-10 clients in a day, but Timing just does it for me! The UI is super intuitive... Beautiful app!
Like
Version 2019.2
patrick-141
24 May 2019
The easiest to use, least time consuming and most accurate time tracking app out there .- and it's super affordable. I have used Office Time, Toggl, Timecamp and Timely each for years and Timing is light years ahead of these other apps. Don't waste your time tracking time, get Timing and get it sorted today.
Like (1)
Version 2019.1
Skeller
09 May 2019
Super Applikation, sehr hohe Qualität, einfache Bedienung. In Setapp enthalten. (Great App, highest Quality, easy to use, included in Setapp)
Like (1)
Version 2019.1
Raskin-Support
09 May 2019
Best time tracker ever. Awesome graphics, good interface, friendly and fast support.
Like (1)
Version 2019.1
mboettger1
08 May 2019
This app is one of a handful of apps I use multiple times a day. I LOVE this app for its ease of use, its beautiful design and exceptional reporting!!! This is app is at the center of my side hustle and I don't know what I would do with out it!
Like (1)
Version 2019.1
jdspugh-1
18 April 2019
Great timer. German quality. Has the simple features I need for freelancing, and a lot more if you really want to automate the way you track your time. I bought the "Productivity" version.
Like (1)
Version 2018.4.6
raquo
18 April 2019
Great app. Very polished, obviously made with love and craftsmanship. If you have problems procrastinating, this app is a must have. I am not superhuman, I get distracted while working, and that costs me money and career prospects. This app is an elegant self-accountability solution that reliably puts me back on track. It's worth every cent.
Like (1)
Version 2018.4.6
bobembry
12 March 2019
Before buying make sure you understand the long-term cost → https://timingapp.com/pricing. If you buy the expert version, it is going to cost you $99 up-front and then $50 per year. This is an anti-customer pricing model—-buyer beware
Like (5)
Version 2018.4.4
2 answer(s)
Daniel Alm
Daniel Alm
18 April 2019
Hi Bob,

Daniel here, the developer of Timing. Just a quick heads-up that you can use Timing indefinitely after purchasing it. The $49 upgrade after one year is optional and only required to get new updates to Timing and use our sync service for another year. Developing the app on an ongoing basis and keeping our sync service running requires a significant investment from our side, and those paid upgrades ensure that we can "keep the lights running".

This also benefits you, the customer, in the long term: The alternative would be to purchase an app now that would be discontinued after a few years because further development could not be funded, which would not be in your interest, either. And that outcome is exactly what our pricing model avoids.

Best Regards,
Daniel Alm
Like
Uncoy
Uncoy
04 October 2019
Daniel, you could make sync webdav dependent like either Tyme 2 or Timelime and there's no reason consumers would have to pay you $50/year to use your server. It's kind of extortion isn't it?
Like
Version 2019.2
dgs-nyc
12 March 2019
This software works quite well and it does indeed do a great job at tracking and reporting your time. I love it, and am just waiting to see what else Daniel will build! dgs
Like (1)
Version 2018.4.4
peter24099
24 January 2019
Really great app that helped me a lot in figuring out where all my time goes. Its UI is beautiful and really intuitive (i.e. I didn't have to invest a lot of time to use the time tracker). At first I found the price point to be a bit steep, but after using it for a while it really is worth every cent of it.
Like (1)
Version 2018.4.3
NamaStacy
18 August 2018
Timing has been extremely helpful and has taken some of the pain out of time tracking. Setting up rules to track time to specific projects is truly a safety blanket and I’ve gotten to the point where I don’t need to use my former time tracking app. The ease of use and speed in which I can assign chunks of time that didn’t match an existing rule is great.
Like (1)
Version 2018.2
julesgreig
26 July 2018
I've looked around for a Tracker which respects privacy and after a lot of trial and error have settled on Timing. As much as there are similarities between different trackers and different approaches to categorising, I've found that the most important thing to me was that there was 0% risk of my data being compromised. Thanks for a thoughtfully made app - Privacy by design.
Like (1)
Version 2018.2
Brandondrew
26 July 2018
Before I bought Timing I was skeptical, because I've seen other apps that aim to solve the same problem, and they have all been simplistic and inadequate. Timing on the other hand was able to be useful for me immediately, and with a little bit of time spent "training" it in my ways of categorizing different activities, it has become one of my essential utilities. I really could not possibly live without it, now that I've grown accustomed to just letting it keep track of my time for me. Instead of rounding _way_ down to make sure I don't overcharge my clients, I have accurate records of how much time I spent doing work for them, and I can therefore bill confidently and completely. I would _gladly_ pay $100 for it, now that I've seen how indispensable it is.

I'm not saying that it is absolutely perfect, because it does have some rough edges, but the developer is very open to feedback and very responsive. But it's nonsensical to downgrade an app based on the hypothetical possibility of improvement (though some people do that). The value that this provides me with is unsurpassed. Therefore, if it were possible, I would gladly give 25 stars! It deserves them!
Like (1)
Version 2018.2
efekurnaz
04 July 2018
I'm freelancing for over 5 years. Timing is the only time management app that I ever actually use. You can see every tiny detail about what you've been doing. You'll see how much time you've spent checking reddit, watching youtube. Racing for the productivity percentage is also fun!
Like (1)
Version 2018.1
csaborio
22 September 2017
I started using this app because I am subscribed to Setapp. I have long been looking for something like this and it was there under my nose the whole time. The idea threw me off at the beginning because it thought it only gave you a breakdown on how much time you spend on each app, which I thought was useless. After actually using the app, I realised that it has an incredibly smart way to track down what you do. The project/category classification makes it so easy to put your tasks where they belong. Starting and finishing a task takes no effort once you start using the app and you can reuse the project/categories you have defined. The UI is really beautiful. I tried using OfficeTime to track things but even though it gets the job done, the UI is so ugly it really makes you not want to use the app. This app is beautiful and that motivates you to go back and keep using it. I also like how you can tag activities. I use this so I can have projects that I tag as 'billable' and then I can easily transfer that to my invoicing software. If this program could generate invoices, it would just be golden. Absolutely love it. I have tried countless task trackers (Klok, office time, etc.) and this one excels its competition in every aspect.
Like (1)
Version 2.2
2 answer(s)
Ptk3
Ptk3
09 March 2018
Can you enter custom tasks with your SetApp subscription? This is what make the app valuable, and become heavily paid in version 2 (you have to pay 49$ for this feature)
Like
Daniel Alm
Daniel Alm
20 June 2018
The Setapp version includes the full feature set of Timing Expert, so entering tasks is indeed possible.
Like
YellowSubmarine
24 August 2017
really great app. Not as difficult to understand as the busy UI might lead you to think. Make sure to watch the video tutorial, it was quite helpful. Probably the best and most complete offline timing app I've tried so far.
The only con is the price , you really need the higher 80€ version for the saved filters, they're quite indispensable to make sense of your data. That's a bit too much in my opinion. ( or you could get it as part of Setapp, but I hate subscriptions)
Like
Version 2.1.1
nn00
09 August 2017
Best time tracking app out there period. Having used RescueTime, Desktime, Harvest, and countless others, I can honestly say Timing is the best time tracking app I have ever used. Very user friendly, doesn't slow down my mac in any way, and above all, it's extremely customizable! With Timing, you can choose your own colors for projects, customize reports to your hearts content, and time track with a level of detail simply not present in other programs. But more than anything, the developer is super helpful and gets back to you very fast, even on weekends! Five stars for an outstanding time tracking program and stellar customer service!!!
Like (1)
Version 2.1.1
k43114
04 July 2017
Timing 2 is a really well-designed and useful app, with a responsive developer who continues to make improvements. It may look complex at first glance but when you start using it, you realize quickly that it's very intuitive and user-friendly. For the privacy-minded, it's a great alternative to web-dependent apps like the information recorded by Timing about your activity stays on your Mac.
Like (1)
Version 2.1.1
Quorm
10 May 2017
Version 2.0 is a nice visual improvement. Has potential. E.g., should be able to automatically create a rule by option-dragging an unclassified activity to a project. Feature doesn't work yet. Should be able to make a rule by assigning an app to a project in the rule editor for that project. Feature doesn't work yet. Etc. Etc. Maybe in a few releases this app will improve. It has good bones, but needs a wee bit more attention to the rules engine.
Like
Version 2.0
1 answer(s)
Daniel Alm
Daniel Alm
31 May 2017
Hi, thank you for the feedback! We have had no other reports of rules not working. Could you please contact us via support at timingapp.com so we can help you out?

Also, please note that project rules in Timing 2 do not apply retroactively! Filter rules do apply retroactively, however.
Like
Gog4
22 August 2016
It would be great if they had a mobile version as well.
Like
Version 1.7.2
brewsterandy
17 August 2016
Useful and handy app. Recommend it. =)
Like (1)
Version 1.7
Bfulop
03 February 2015
Stable and light. I like that I can drag and drop URLs, file paths, applications into whatever category I want. So for example I can track urls that are "productive work" but I can also track sites that are "time wasters" (facebook, etc.). I haven't seen that other apps can do that. It also supports AppleScript which is a plus for me.
Like (3)
Version 1.4.8
Rick72
26 May 2012
After upgrading to 1.2.2 thru the AppStore it crashes on launch. I did a reboot to make sure some processes where updated but it still crashes. Running OSX 10.6.8
Like
Version 1.2.2
1 answer(s)
Rick72
Rick72
27 May 2012
Contacted the developer and he responded the next day (sunday!!) with a fix! :-)
Like (1)
greenleader
30 November 2011
I own Timings and use it daily. Works well and doesn't get in the way or hog resources.
Like (1)
Version 1.1.1