Back to Lion Tweaks page
Lion Tweaks free download for Mac

Lion Tweaks Reviews

2.0.2
26 July 2012

Tweak certain features in OS X 10.7 and 10.8.

JacobsIvan
03 August 2011

Most helpful

Not sure why we need another tweak tool. There are already enough biting this area -- Onyx, Tinkertools, Itweax, MacPilot, ... The UI is plain ugly but as usual this is more or less a personal opinion. Also, most tweaks in this app are not Lion specific. No offence meant though.
Like (6)
Version 1.1

Read 36 Lion Tweaks User Reviews

Rate this app:

roberts-carter2001
27 July 2015
I don't like this App :(
Like
Version 2.0.2
roberts-carter2001
27 July 2015
I don't like this App :(
Like
Version 2.0.2
roberts-carter2001
27 July 2015
I don't like this App :(
Like
Version 2.0.2
Eric•Woehler
02 November 2012
Is it possible for Lion Tweaks to change the colour scheme for Reminders? The grey/red GUI is a shocker (in my opinion). Any chance this is something that can be 'tweaked'?
Like
Version 2.0.2
Harv
10 July 2012
Does anyone yet know if LionTweaks works with Mountain Lion (10.8)? My curiosity stems from the rumor/fact that Simbl does is incompatible with 10.8.
Like
Version 2.0.1
5 answer(s)
MacUpdate-Ryan
MacUpdate-Ryan
10 July 2012
I haven't tested it as I'm not running Lion yet, but the dev did update the description about a week ago so that it now mentions 10.8. Given that, my guess is at least some of the functionality works.
Like
Harv
Harv
10 July 2012
I think I've got that part, Ryan. But I'll be curious what the developer (whom I applaud) has to say about those features that require Simbl, such as "requiring color in the Finder sidebar". Well, I believe that's an example.
Like
f-bek
f-bek
21 July 2012
Hi Harv! Some tweaks from Lion Tweaks will work in 10.8 Currently developing the new "Mountain Tweaks" app with tweaks that support both 10.7 and 10.8. Check out the website http://tweaksapp.com in a few days.
Like
Fking
Fking
25 July 2012
be warned. i just installed ML, and ran lion tweaks (to 'aluminize' my ical and address book). now both apps are X-ed out, marked as damaged or corrupted. they DO open (oddly enough) from launchpad, but won't open from the apps folder...!!
Like
Fking
Fking
25 July 2012
i need to amend my earlier comment! basically, ical and address book are now replaced by "calendar" and "contacts". so those apps in applications don't exist anymore (which is why, LOL, they don't open). apologies to the developer; am looking forward to an update to make this work with calendars and contacts!
Like
mossie
07 July 2012
I've installed on my new Macbook Pro (Retina display) running 10.7.4 It doesn't change the iCal or Address Book from leather to aluminium. Is it something to do with the resolution of the images? I use it successfully on older machines, thanks for working on this.
Like
Version 2.0.1
1 answer(s)
f-bek
f-bek
08 July 2012
You are right. You can't change iCal and Addressbook on the Retina MBP, because they use hi-res images. :/
Like
R397
07 July 2012
Good addition to Lion. Will be good to add "enable noatime for a system disk" feature for SSD drives.
Like (1)
Version 2.0.1
Nigel2112
24 June 2012
Hi. Love the software, thanks! I just can't get sidebar colour to work. I go through the procedure as instructed, installing SIMBL and so on but still i have no colour. i didn't restart my computer. Any help would be appreciated.
Like
Version 1.4.3
1 answer(s)
f-bek
f-bek
06 July 2012
Hi Nigel, If you look in your /Library/Application Support/SIMBL/Plugins/ folder and see if you have a file called ColorfulSidebar.bundle? If you have, everything should be allright, as long as SIMBL is installed correctly. It is, however, a problem with SIMBL and Lion causing you to have to restart finder on each startup. You can do that by launching "Terminal.app" and writing "killall Finder".
Like
Dushi
14 June 2012
Good addition for Mac
Like (1)
Version 1.4.3
Michael-Wayne
26 May 2012
Great App.....but I need to understand what you have implemented in order to enable Trim. Groth (Trim Enabler) and Grant Parnell have gone head to head on this and Grant is the winner ..... http://digitaldj.net/2011/07/21/trim-enabler-for-lion/ I use Grants method on my Mac 10.7.4 with an Intel SSD 320. Its flawless and does the job. I would like to use your simple click 'Enable' 'Disable' Trim as I wouldn't need to pfaff about in Terminal but need to know who's method you use as this determines the use and trust in this oft debated question. I have rated you highly irrespective of Trim issue. Get this Trim thing right and you are on a winner. Thanks
Like (1)
Version 1.4.3
4 answer(s)
f-bek
f-bek
26 May 2012
Hi Micheal. I can confirm that I'm using the exact same method as Grant is describing on his website. Thanks for downloading and rating! Fredrik Wiker
Like (1)
Michael-Wayne
Michael-Wayne
26 May 2012
Thanks for response...Do I still have to Reboot after making selection to make changes? Thanks
Like
f-bek
f-bek
26 May 2012
I was doing some testings earlier today and it seems like you have to perform a restart.
Like
Michael-Wayne
Michael-Wayne
27 May 2012
Ok...keep us all up to date if you find any gremlins. Thanks
Like
Mattvs2004
25 May 2012
Great App. I finally have color in Finder again. Definitely makes it easier without having to run the Terminal to correct my Library issue.
Like
Version 1.4.3
2 answer(s)
Mattvs2004
Mattvs2004
25 May 2012
Incidentally though, I'm noticing that the color doesn't want to stay. What gives?
Like
f-bek
f-bek
26 May 2012
The problem with the colours is a problem caused by SIMBL, the engine for this tweak. SIMBL has not been probarly updated by the developer to support Lion without bugs - therefore this happends. So there is not much I can do, before the developer of SIMBL fixes it. A temporary fix however, can be done in three different ways. 1) You can press the "Enable colours in Finder-sidebar" button in Lion Tweaks on each startup. 2) You can find a way to manually restart Finder after each startup. 3) You can use this file (http://ifredrik.com/applications/simbl_finder_fix.sh) and place it with your startup-items. This will automatically restart finder on each startup.
Like
Stephen-Strum
15 May 2012
First of all, I love Norway having lived in Bergen many years ago. But, I have some issues with the Lion Tweaks. I made a recent move to Lion and so far think it sucks and my first impression is that it will eat up more time and cause more frustration than the benefits I will hope to see happen. The FINDER is for me such a critical part of OS X. To make the icons grayed out is just plain STUPID. The Lion Tweaks does not solve this problem completely. After every restart one has to repeat the process with Lion Tweaks; for me this is a partial resolution. On a positive note, my MacBook Pro (MBP) was bought back in the "dark ages" of 2008 and so Lion does not recognize Airdrop. Lion Tweaks seems to have fixed this but will not know for sure until I use it. A second work-around for the colorful icons is to RELAUNCH the Finder by using Command-Option-ESC (force quit shortcut keys) and select FINDER and select Relaunch. That is no less work than opening up Lion Tweaks and checking the colorful icons box. Moreover, if one uses the Force Cut as above, and if you are using Total Finder (a great app BTW) then Total Finder has to be restarted too. So far I am very grumpy about Lion. I think Apple Developers have their cerebral cortex inserted in the lower portion of their GI tract. I hope I apologize for this slam of a company I have been so wildly enthusiastic about.
Like
Version 1.4.2
1 answer(s)
f-bek
f-bek
25 May 2012
Thanks. I'm really sorry about the problem. The problem with the colours is a problem caused by SIMBL, the engine for this tweak. SIMBL has not been probarly updated by the developer to support Lion without bugs - therefore this happends. So there is not much I can do, before the developer of SIMBL fixes it. A temporary fix however, can be done in three different ways. 1) You can press the "Enable colours in Finder-sidebar" button in Lion Tweaks on each startup. 2) You can find a way to manually restart Finder after each startup. 3) You can use this file (http://ifredrik.com/applications/simbl_finder_fix.sh) and place it with your startup-items. This will automatically restart finder on each startup. I hope this cleared things out, and was to help! Thanks for downloading and using Lion Tweaks, Fredrik Wiker
Like
mymon
02 May 2012
Where is "disable Launchpad"? ;)
Like
Version 1.4.2
1 answer(s)
Stephen-Strum
Stephen-Strum
15 May 2012
Just pull off the dock like any icon you do not want on the dock. If you use a mouse Right click the launchpad icon and select "remove from dock"; if using a trackpad then put cursor on dock item, select control and right click on trackpad and "remove from dock". All of these work.
Like
Tim27
26 March 2012
Bounces in the Dock for a bit, then quits. Using 10.7.3
Like
Version 1.4.2
1 answer(s)
f-bek
f-bek
26 May 2012
Still not working?
Like
Stef-Vandenabele
18 February 2012
Great app to make Lion even look better. Thank you for keeping this free.
Like
Version 1.4.1
1 answer(s)
iFredrik
iFredrik
12 May 2012
Thank you! Lion Tweaks will always stay free! :-)
Like (1)
Stormchild
04 February 2012
The button to disable iTunes Dock "animations" (pop-up notification that displays the artist and song name whenever the current track changes) doesn't work for me. It enables them successfully, but does not disable it when you click the (badly-named) "No" button. (Lion Tweaks 1.4, OS X 10.7.3, iTunes, 10.5.3) Fortunately, you can disable them yourself with this Terminal command (this is all one line; copy and paste it as a whole): defaults write com.apple.dock itunes-notifications -bool FALSE; killall Dock
Like
Version 1.4
1 answer(s)
iFredrik
iFredrik
17 February 2012
Thank you! Fixed in version 1.4.1! :-)
Like (1)
alep
24 January 2012
Hello, I have installed this app to remove local Time machine backups. it worked but now I can no longer enter time machine, not even when connected to the external back up disk! can anyone help?
Like
Version 1.4
Harv
25 November 2011
I found the coloring of Finder's sidebar, works as designed. Bravo! But, upon restart, I found the default colorless icons returned, and I must (re)enable this setting/preference. Is it moi, or is there a solution that I missed?
Like
Version 1.4
5 answer(s)
iFredrik
iFredrik
25 November 2011
I have not experienced that, but maybe it's linked to what Mac007 says below? Fredrik - Developer
Like (2)
Foulger
Foulger
27 November 2011
Also me too - I have checked ~/Library/Application Support?SIMBL/Plugins and the colourfulSidebarplugin is installed
Like
GianMarco-Tavazzani
GianMarco-Tavazzani
14 January 2012
you must simply restart the Finder after you restarted the Mac, Bizarre but it works!
Like (1)
Harv
Harv
14 January 2012
GianMarco-Tavazzani, Your tip re relaunching the Finder worked as advertised. Many thanks and a hearty bravo!
Like
GianMarco-Tavazzani
GianMarco-Tavazzani
14 January 2012
Too good… you made me blush… I discovered it just for case, no skills beside the usual attention to uncommon behaviours. Any way thank you, you encourage me to share even more my 'discoveries' By the way, today i could have back the colours on iTunes, but I still couldn't find a way for Mail!!!
Like
Mac007
25 November 2011
The app requires SIMBL which is not currently compatible with Lion according to comments on that apps page on MacUpdate. I removed SIMBL due to problems with it long ago. Has anyone had experiences with SIMBL and Lion that are more favorable?
Like
Version 1.4
4 answer(s)
iFredrik
iFredrik
25 November 2011
You are right. SIMBL are compatible with Lion - but something is not right. It looks like Finder sidebar icons get reverted each time you restart - and you have to reenable them in Lion Tweaks. http://osxdaily.com/2011/08/25/get-color-sidebar-icons-back-in-mac-os-x-10-7-lion-finder-windows/
Like
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
25 November 2011
The link iFredrik provides below takes you to an OS X Daily page with links for SIMBL and the ColorfulSidebar SIMBL plugin which works - without using Lion Tweaks. ColorfulSidebar has apparently been around since August, but has gotten no coverage that I've seen till now, perhaps because it's from a Japanese developer, sad to say. It works when you quit and restart the Finder. I haven't tried a restart yet. In any case, all my color icons are back, which is a hallelujah moment for me.
Like
GeogProf
GeogProf
26 November 2011
SIMBL is NOT compatible with Lion, no matter what anyone says. In my family, SIMBL was installed on 7 Lion Macs, and at work it was on 11 of my colleagues' Lion Macs, plus mine — all set up for very different uses with very different software installations — and every one of those 19 Macs experienced multiple SIMBL crashes every day until nearly all of us has to trash the piece of crap in the last 2 weeks. Since he hasn't updated it in nearly a year nor responded to ANY of the panicked queries on its MacUpdate page, clearly the developer has abandoned SIMBL — and all the other developers and users who relied on it.
Like
Simbasounds
Simbasounds
11 May 2012
Hi iFredrik, I sent you an email with an installer I wrote: a work-around for the SIMBL Finder relaunch issue.
Like
Franko
25 November 2011
Finder Sidebar colours!!! Worth its weight in gold. Thank you, dev.
Like
Version 1.4
2 answer(s)
Ruskiwi
Ruskiwi
25 November 2011
+1 Worth it just for getting color icons in the Finder sidebar again!
Like
iFredrik
iFredrik
25 November 2011
That's great to hear guys! ;-) Thank you!
Like
zwibidida
20 November 2011
Great app. Can't wait to update for more features like "Disable auto versioning" "Restore colors in Finder sidebar, iTunes and Mail" and "Restore upper-right button in Finder windows". Keep up the good work!
Like
Version 1.3.1
Robert-Poland
08 October 2011
I specifically installed this app so I could turn on the user Library Folder. It didn't. 2008 MBP OS 10.7.1.
Like
Version 1.3.1
8 answer(s)
doneagle
doneagle
09 October 2011
Try "desktop utility" Robert, it works for me. :-) 2009 imac (early) OS 10.7.1 It also has a couple of other tweaks that help, one being secure empty trash,when all other ways fail.
Like
SickTeddyBear
SickTeddyBear
09 October 2011
You don't need any so-called "utility". Just open Terminal, cut & paste this in the Terminal window, and hit enter: chflags nohidden ${HOME}/Library Now type "exit", and close Terminal. Simple.
Like (1)
jessica@jessicawilliams-com
jessica@jessicawilliams-com
09 October 2011
You can go to the user Library by holding down the option key, going to GO in the Finder's menu, and you'll see Library in the menu. It will also show up in your Recent Folders list. You can also turn off most features you don't like in Lion, such as Resume, Mission Control, etc. Third-party apps such as Desktoputility and TinkerTool (and I believe Onyx) can make your Library Folder permanently visible, and by going to MacWorld.com you can get a full synopsis of how to make Lion behave nearly exactly as Snow Leopard did, including two panes in Mail. I personally like the changes, and I think most users who add a Magic Trackpad will really 'get' what Lion's about, with its 'gestures'. But everybody likes what they like, and the sorely-missed Steve Jobs gave us plenty of options. I have a feeling that learning the gestures may be pretty important in future iterations of the Mac's OS. I also hope touch-screens are coming to desktop computing, and a lot of devices will link up together as one unit. (And yes, you can turn many of Lion's features off or on in Terminal. To find the appropriate command line scripts, visit MacWorld.com where you can make Library visible via the OS core itself. There's also tons of new and free Automator actions and even Applescripts. And lots of tutorials about the new OS.)
Like
iFredrik
iFredrik
09 October 2011
That was strange. I have never heard about anyone with that problem. As to do it manually, the tips has been posted in this thread by others.
Like
Robert-Poland
Robert-Poland
09 October 2011
Thanks for all the replies. For the record, chflags nohidden ${HOME}/Library didn't work when I tried it days ago. But by adding sudo that worked. sudo chflags nohidden ${HOME}/Library. I'm disappointed that the developer didn't respond with a fix to Lion Tweaks.
Like
iFredrik
iFredrik
09 October 2011
The problem is non existing Robert. I am sorry to tell you that the problem is only at your end. :/
Like
Raddle
Raddle
10 October 2011
Works great for me.
Like
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
13 January 2012
@ Negritude: While it's possible to set user library visibility, among many other things, using Terminal, it can be a challenge for the non-coders among us to remember what tweaks we've done in Terminal. Using a utility of one kind or another to adjust these settings makes it easy to see what we have and have not done and to restore the default settings if we need to.
Like
Tim27
08 October 2011
If I could remove all instances of that really awful linen background texture, I would. Is there a way you can make this software do that in addition to just the LaunchPad? It looks like a website pattern from 1997.
Like (2)
Version 1.3.1
Dana-Sutton
27 August 2011
Nice, useful little utility. But what I'd REALLY like is an option to switch off autosave, which keeps unexpectedly interrupting my workflow when I'm dealing with large Page documents, as my work obliges me to do. I'm tired of looking at beachballs.
Like
Version 1.3
2 answer(s)
iFredrik
iFredrik
28 August 2011
Hi there, Glad to here that you enjoy the application. As to the autosave issue, unfortunately there is nothing I as a developer can do about that (it is system controlled by Apple). I tried to search for a answer online, but noone has seemed to come up with anything - so until Apple adds a option for that in the OS there is nothing I or we can do. ;-) - Fredrik Wiker (Lion Tweaks Developer)
Like
Lvdoc
Lvdoc
08 October 2011
I still had a copy of iWork from before the Lion update. I simply reverted back to that. I don't know if that will work for you, but you might give it a try.
Like
gineok
24 August 2011
It seems that I am tired. I don't find the way to select an app to disable its own Resume function
Like
Version 1.2
3 answer(s)
iFredrik
iFredrik
26 August 2011
It's the third option from the bottom left. :-)
Like
gineok
gineok
26 August 2011
I'm not completely dumb. I saw the item but I don't know the way to select an apply to change its behavior gineok
Like
iFredrik
iFredrik
27 August 2011
You must use the applications identifier. You find the application id in multiple ways. i.e you can go to your Preference folder, and search it up or you can find other tips here: http://i1.no/0dba/ Good luck! :-)
Like (1)
Mark-Lee
12 August 2011
Isn't the "permanent scrollbar" available normally via the system preferences?
Like
Version 1.2
Ilovemymac
09 August 2011
What I want to know, is if there is a way to disable "full screen" completely from the entire system? Yeah, full screen is nice and all, but not when your using multiple displays. The fact that it renders the second display completely useless is just stupid. Any chance this can be changed?
Like (1)
Version 1.2
1 answer(s)
Imarc845
Imarc845
15 August 2011
I agree Apple REALLY dropped the ball on this one. I've sent them feedback several times (once for each of my Macs) about it. Hopefully, they'll fix it in 10.7.1... until then, I just don't click the Fullscreen doodad. I think it would be hard to remove a built-in UI feature like that one; one might be able to leave the arrows there and NOP them, though.
Like
Islandmacman
09 August 2011
Sure there are other apps like this, but what the heck, I like it.
Like (5)
Version 1.2
Shk747
08 August 2011
hi dev, can you add "disable open windows after restart" in the restart-window, forever ?! this is very annoying to uncheck "everytime"...
Like (2)
Version 1.1
3 answer(s)
f-bek
f-bek
08 August 2011
Will see. Developing version 1.2 right now (in beta), one of the new functions will be to 'disable resume for a single app', i'm going to explore how I can bring that function to a system level. Thanks for the tip, and great that you enjoyed Lion Tweaks. - Fredrik
Like (1)
Lvdoc
Lvdoc
09 August 2011
As a temporary solution until Apple fixes that whole restart problem, go here: www.gizmoblurb.com The "clean" scripts really work. (They simply send a restart, or shutdown, or log out command. This brings up the dialog box with the little check mark for whether to resume everything. Many of us would manually uncheck that little box, but it's annoying to keep doing this every single time we restart, etc. The scripts uncheck the box for you and then click the appropriate button for whatever function you've chosen to do.) It's a rather convoluted way to have to go about doing the disable-window thing; heaven knows if Apple will fix that. They seem bent on forcing us into some kind of behavioral mode.
Like (2)
Shk747
Shk747
09 August 2011
hi fredrik, thank you very much !!!
Like
tomtomklub
07 August 2011
I was in a hurry to swap out the new faux-leather iCal and AddressBook interfaces in Lion for something a little less old English and this did the job right quick. Woo hoo!
Like (1)
Version 1.1
JacobsIvan
03 August 2011
Not sure why we need another tweak tool. There are already enough biting this area -- Onyx, Tinkertools, Itweax, MacPilot, ... The UI is plain ugly but as usual this is more or less a personal opinion. Also, most tweaks in this app are not Lion specific. No offence meant though.
Like (6)
Version 1.1
Macolyte
03 August 2011
Beautiful. Works exactly as advertised. Lion Tweaks dismissed the atrocious skins in iCal and Address Book, cleanly and easily. The interface is straight forward, the developer is clearly attentive and responsive, and the software is free. Bravo!
Like (3)
Version 1.1
ccstone
02 August 2011
Hey Fredrik, I don't care for the warning about LT needing to be in the Application Folder - particularly when it already *is* there. Why not just test for it and complain only if it's not there? on run set appFolder to path to applications folder set myPath to path to me tell application "Finder" set myParent to (parent of myPath) as alias if appFolder ≠ myParent then display dialog "Please Move Lion Tweaks to the Application Folder." end if end tell end run -- Best Regards, Chris
Like (2)
Version 1.1
3 answer(s)
f-bek
f-bek
02 August 2011
Thank you, Will implement that in the next version. - Fredrik
Like (4)
f-bek
f-bek
02 August 2011
Just updated the application. Updated the application with your suggestion. Same version number, same URL. Thank you, Fredrik
Like
ccstone
ccstone
03 August 2011
That's cool. Thank you. -ccs
Like (1)
Macnerd1984
02 August 2011
Simple little app which allows you to mess with a few bits and pieces in Lion's interface. For the things I tried, it worked fine. Simple to use, no fuss - Handy! Wondering if there's a way to disable re-opening windows when an app is quit then re-opened; that's driving me mad. I guess you could say that it might offer a few more tweaks, but it's not really a criticism. Fills a specific need and does it well, free too - What's not to like?
Like (1)
Version 1.1
3 answer(s)
f-bek
f-bek
02 August 2011
Hey Matthew, Great to hear that you liked the software. It is really simple to disable the so-called "Resume" function. Just open up System Preferences -> Go to General -> And disable the "Restore windows when quitting and re-opening apps." checkbox. - Fredrik
Like (1)
GeogProf
GeogProf
03 August 2011
Unfortunately Ifredrik, that doesn’t work. I’ve disabled it, enabled it and disabled it again repeatedly, and it has no effect. There are threads in just about every extant OS X board about it. It’s just one of the many, many, many, many major screwups in Lion that have deeply shaken my 19-year love affair (platonic, of course) with Macs. Apple’s new megalomaniacal focus on consumer electronics is making them profoundly careless with the platform that made their success in other sectors possible.
Like
Macnerd1984
Macnerd1984
03 August 2011
Oh tits - What an idiot; I can't believe I missed that - I spent ages looking too. Anyway, thanks for the info Frederik; appreciate the help! Seriously, Formica, if Lion "shakes your love affair with Macs", get a PC. It's the first version of Lion, and it has a few bugs - Big deal. Honestly, I don't get what there is in Lion that anyone would get so dramatically worked up over. Personally, I don't like some of the new UI features (scroll direction, lack of scroll bars by default), but I changed them back to how they were before and now it works fine for me. I've found it to be a solid UG on all 5 of my Macs (of course, YMMV). Slowly over the coming months some of the options people miss/don't like, or bugs that are appearing (and there are a few) will get sorted and all will be OK.
Like (2)
GuerillaTech
02 August 2011
I would like to make a correction to my previous post and rating. This app doesn't deserve to be one starred, i only chose that at the time because of how suspicious it was. I was able to download the app, use it as it is advertised, and even go to the dev's site. for that, i'm giving it its proper rating now. If possible, could someone delete my first rating?
Like (4)
Version 1.0
2 answer(s)
f-bek
f-bek
02 August 2011
Thank you. Very glad you liked it, and understood that nothing was wrong. ;-) - Fredrik
Like
MacUpdate-Ryan
MacUpdate-Ryan
02 August 2011
I deleted that first rating for you :)
Like (1)
Flying-meat
01 August 2011
technically speaking, Enable/Disable the library folder is incorrect. you could enable/disable finder visibility, or show/hide the library folder. the library folder is there, whether you can see it in the finder or not.
Like (2)
Version 1.0
1 answer(s)
TheRoxzilla
TheRoxzilla
02 August 2011
I agree, the user folder is not being disabled, just its visibility.
Like