Back to PopClip page
PopClip free download for Mac

PopClip Reviews

1.5.8
11 October 2017

Cut, copy, and paste at your fingertips.

EndoLab
27 July 2011

Most helpful

Yes I know I use to criticize the MAS (see my old comments) because we can't try almost all the apps before buying. But there are some gems and this one is one of them. It was never more easy and fast to cut, copy & paste before I use PopClip. Very good "little app" who save me lot of time.
Like (3)
Version 1.0.1

Read 64 PopClip User Reviews

Rate this app:

Fishboy
13 July 2019
macOS 10.14 Mojave users: In case of trouble with PopClip, please do the following: 1. Quit PopClip 2. Go to System Preferences → Privacy → Acccessibility 3. In the list "Allow the apps below to control your computer", highlight PopClip and then remove it using the "-" (minus) button. 4. Use the "+" button add PopClip again to the "Allow the apps below to control your computer" list.
Like
Version 1.5.8
stoltenberg
22 June 2019
This is the first extension i'm installing on new macs. Should be part of the operating system :-)
Like
Version 1.5.8
LeMerlot
06 July 2018
Still a MUST have – couldn't work without it any more, because it saves sooo much time for me!
Like
Version 1.5.8
Big Johnson
13 March 2018
R.I.P. PopClip. No update in 5 months and no bug fix for the issue reported over 8 months ago.
Like (1)
Version 1.5.8
6 answer(s)
Scott-C-H-
Scott-C-H-
15 March 2018
EXACTLY. This is why I don't use this type of utilities anymore. The devs of this type of "system enhancement" utilities always end up abandoning their apps. Better to get used to using the Mac without third-party "enhancements" and skip all the needless fiddling that comes with them.
Like
Scott-C-H-
Scott-C-H-
16 March 2018
All that said, though... I really *do* miss the functionality that PopClip provides. That's why I keep coming back to this page to see if there is a new version that might be a game changer for me. I can't deny its usefulness no matter how much I try otherwise. Frictionless workflow is of paramount importance, and, after all these months, I'm still debating with myself whether my "software comes and goes" mantra is relevant. I mean, why use the Mac at all if it weren't for taking advantage of tools available to the platform?
Like
Scott-C-H-
Scott-C-H-
16 March 2018
...But then, I just tried PopClip again in light of this thread, and it turned me off rather quickly. It STILL won't activate reliably (it won't show up half the time), it gets in my way half the time, and so on. Sucks.
Like
Jim-Leff
Jim-Leff
19 May 2018
Wrong. It's actively developed. See beta: https://rink.hockeyapp.net/apps/58adb6c5bea28ffe22f304f2f383d089
Like
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
27 May 2018
Guess the developer is too busy developing to update their own website, which shows the last version was released on Oct. 2017.

But the link from J-L does in fact show an April 2018 update.


I disagree with Scott, though.

I’m not about to forego using a plethora of useful apps out of fear of them becoming obsolete someday.

What would I do without my clipboard utility, fan controller, display color temperature controller, screenshot utility, Dock helper, RAM releaser, menu bar organizer etc. etc. etc.?

To not take advantage of extremely useful software just because of abandonment issues is like saying you’ll never put a stereo in your car because the formants are always discontinued, like 8-track players, cassette decks and CD players.

You enjoy them for a while and then move on if they’re no longer relevant or functional.
Like (1)
Scott-C-H-
Scott-C-H-
05 September 2018
.
Like
petro-semenyuk13
16 February 2018
Looks good. I'll try.
Like
Version 1.5.8
gcoghill
25 December 2017
An extremely useful utility. It's in my macOS EDC list.
Like
Version 1.5.8
Big Johnson
25 November 2017
When it works correctly it’s a very helpful app.
Unfortunately that’s only about half the time (as another reviewer has also stated).

So it should be priced at half-off until it works 100%.

It often takes several tries at highlighting something before PopClip activates. It doesn’t seem to like when things are highlighted slowly so it do it fast and then it works (sometimes).

Maybe that’s not really making a difference at all, but at least it seems like I’m making it work by highlighting it faster.

And quite often when it does activate, its menu covers up something I need to click and I have to stop and wait a few seconds for the menu to disappear before I can continue.

I’ve suggested a preference for making the menu appear above or below the highlighted text, but that wasn’t implemented so I’m forced to pause frequently.

The app also has a bug that the developer has known about for nearly four months but failed to fix.

After copying and pasting a huge block of text, within seconds CPU usage climbs to 99+% and the fans start racing. The only way to stop it is to quit the app, then it can be reopened.

And I often forget I’ve killed the app until I try highlighting something several times and nothing happens.

The dev. was able to recreate the issue but has yet to do anything about it.
Like
Version 1.5.8
Scott-C-H-
11 November 2017
I am once again retracting my positive review after four months of frustrations. I like what PopClip is trying to do, but it fails to activate via drag & highlight half the time. Furthermore, it severely limits the number of actions showing up in the first pane, and, with 20 extensions installed, I often have to click a little arrow to go to the second pane to get to what I want. I hung onto it for four months but naturally shifted toward using OS X's default Contextual Menu and LaunchBar for pretty much everything I need to do. Now it's only annoying whenever it pops up.
Like
Version 1.5.8
2 answer(s)
Scott-C-H-
Scott-C-H-
13 November 2017
Well.... It took me only two days to painfully realize that PopClip's functionality is just too good to pass. (sigh) My workaround for PopClip not showing up consistently is to use Keyboard Maestro to execute AppleScript to toggle it manually via keyboard shortcuts. Yes, it is frustrating, but it's even more frustrating to work without PopClip. So there. Nicholas the developer, PLEASE fix it so it would pop up more consistently.
Like
Scott-C-H-
Scott-C-H-
06 December 2017
I've gone back and forth quite a bit on PopClip, but I'm solid in my conviction at this point: PopClip activates only half the time, it gets in my way when I don't want it to, and it's absolutely, utterly irritating to use. It's the idea sounds great in theory but does not work well in reality. I've been back to just using OS X default contextual menu and LaunchBar "Send To" trick, and I am doing just fine without PopClip. I've wasted an embarrassing amount of time going back and forth trying to make it work for me. No more!
Like
Scott-C-H-
04 July 2017
I would like to retract my previous review and give this gem five stars. I was 100% wrong. After a few months of working without PopClip, I now painfully realize how much I miss the functionality PopClip provides. I recently resumed using PopClip, and to my pleasant surprise, it activates consistently without any problems. It's just so much faster to do many little things with PopClip than trying to do it via keyboard, copy-paste, etc. After a few months of not using it, it feels like my handcuffs are gone. Thank you, the PopClip developer, to come up with this little gem!
Like
Version 1.5.7
Scott-C-H-
24 January 2017
I abandoned this tool because it doesn't activate itself consistently. Highlighting doesn't always trigger PopClip, so, I sometimes have to try highlighting the same word again and again to activate PopClip. For this reason, I had a Keyboard Maestro action to invoke PopClip via AppleScript. Now, I just use OS X's contextual menu, Services menu under the contextual menu, and Send-To command in LaunchBar, all of which work consistently and reliably.
Like
Version 1.5.6
1 answer(s)
Scott-C-H-
Scott-C-H-
04 July 2017
I would like to retract this particular review. I was wrong. After a few months of working without PopClip, I now painfully realize how much I miss the functionality PopClip provides. Excellent software!
Like
LeMerlot
09 October 2016
Simply a MUST have – it's sooo convenient!
Like
Version 1.5.6
TecHpRo
28 September 2016
PopClip is especially helpful if you work often with texts and need to copy/paste all the time. It saves time. At first, it can be strange to use this way off copy/pasting but when you get used to it, after few days, you will appreciate the app help.
Like (1)
Version 1.5.5
crisderaud
24 February 2016
Very useful to have! You will wonder why you didn't get it sooner. No reason not to have it.
Like
Version 1.5.5
Ivan-Jiang
01 January 2016
It gives quite a improvement to my workflow!
Like (1)
Version 1.5.4
RuslanI
08 September 2015
Excellent program! It is in my 10 best productivity apps for Mac. Not only there are numerous extensions available on the official site that greatly enhance the app but other prominent Mac users, like Brett Terpstra, make their custom extensions. Must have.
Like (1)
Version 1.5.4
demyson-and
12 August 2015
That's my favorite app. It's amazing how this little app makes my work more easier.
Like
Version 1.5.3
crisderaud
13 July 2015
I use this application continuously since I installed it. I find this app to be a necessary addition to my system.
Like
Version 1.5.3
Sgginc
05 June 2015
This gets better with each update. There are about 100 extensions to choose from and all I've tried work flawlessly. If your mouse/trackball oriented this is a must have. 4.5 stars average means it's GREAT!!! Thanks ... Ken
Like
Version 1.5.3
Brooklyn-Al
03 June 2015
This program is extremely useful; it saves an inordinate amount of computing time. Easily worth the $5 price tag. There are a few programs that I have purchased that were, well, less than impressive but PopClip is impressive.
Like (1)
Version 1.5.3
Annie-Walker
17 March 2015
Excellent program. I appreciate the innovation that took place when the developers started this project. I have used the program since it's inception and have no complaints. I recommend it highly. Low learning curve. Well done!
Like
Version 1.5.2
Dominique
10 November 2014
Excellent !
Like
Version 1.5.2
Dominique
10 November 2014
Très bonne appli à une exception près : on pense que l'action de "coller" va toujours s'appliquer à la dernière action de "copier". Or, il arrive souvent que le "coller" applique le "copier" antérieur au dernier "copier". (suis-je clair ?). Dans ce cas, il faut aller chercher dans la liste du stock de "copier" pour récupérer manuellement le dernier. Je ne comprends pas pourquoi ce bug n'est toujours pas corrigé depuis la 1.5.2 du 01/10/2014. Mais je soutiens cependant cette excellente appli très intelligente et peu chère pour ses qualités.
Like
Version 1.5.2
Steinar-Helgesen
02 October 2014
The frist app to be installed on any Mac i use. Love all the features. Its the best.
Like
Version 1.5.2
JulieStanford2318
22 September 2014
Bought this useful little app and loved it... until strange things started happening in Quark 9 the day after I installed PopClip: tQuark copy and paste began to behave like 'Paste without formatting' or (and this is weird) pasted formatted text (with colour/font formatting) in the right font, but in a completely random colour (even though it said in the palette that the colour was correct). I disabled Quark in the 'Disabled apps' option, but that didn't work. I've had to completely remove PopClip and now Quark is back to behaving itself normally. Really disappointed as this is a useful little app... but I use Quark all the time and PopClip less often, so there's no contest. (Three stars for its potential, would have been five stars if it hadn't upset Quark!)
Like
Version 1.5.1
Steinar-Helgesen
07 August 2014
The first app i install on every computer i use. Easy to add more functions so it works on many programs. The best 5 dollar ever spent.
Like
Version 1.5
Frankeed
07 June 2014
Very slick. I particularly like the way it works with OSX's built-in dictionaries. Highlight a word and you have the option of looking it up in the corresponding language dictionary (if you have it activated in the dictionary preferences). The only downside I've found so far is it conflicts with Command - Y (repeat the previous action) in Office applications.
Like
Version 1.4.10
Schmye-Bubbula
18 April 2014
I couldn't get PopClip to come up on any selected text in any Tweet at Twitter.com with Firefox 28.0, and the PopClip developer, Nick Moore, kindly responded by email to my inquiry with the solution: • Begin selecting the text. • Before releasing the mouse button, press Caps Lock. • "Learn" will appear as sole PopClick bar item; click! Voila!
Like
Version 1.4.10
Schmye-Bubbula
16 April 2014
Is there a way I can add thesaurus.com to its sister site, dictionary.reference.com, which is used in the Online Dictionary? There is a procedure involving the shift key for adding a new search engine as described here: http://docs.pilotmoon.com/article/38-how-to-change-the-search-engine ...but I couldn't get it to work trying to add my thesaurus site to the dictionary site. Maybe I was abusing the process and it *won't* work with anything other than the Online Dictionary. In any event, I sure would like a Theaurus.com extension! Any suggestions?
Like
Version 1.4.10
3 answer(s)
Schmye-Bubbula
Schmye-Bubbula
16 April 2014
Oh drat, can't edit my post. I meant to say above, "Maybe I was abusing the process and it *won't* work with anything other than the search engine."
Like
Schmye-Bubbula
Schmye-Bubbula
17 April 2014
OK, I was able to add thesaurus.com as the shift-key second SEARCH ENGINE (but not as a shift-key alternative to the Online Dictionary extension): • I went to thesaurus.com for a sample word: http://thesaurus.com/browse/PopClip ...to obtain the URL in my web browser's address bar. • I substituted "***" for the the lookup word: http://thesaurus.com/browse/*** • I selected that URL in the address bar and invoked PopClip. • I shift-clicked "Set Search Engine" • Now when I select any word and shift-click PopClip's magnifying glass icon ("Search"), it gets looked-up at thesaurus.com. memo: The PopClip page to download the Online Dictionary extension is here: https://pilotmoon.com/popclip/extensions/page/OnlineDictionary ...and it lists all the different dictionary websites it supports, but IT DOESN'T TELL HOW TO CHANGE TO THOSE OTHER DICTIONARY WEBSITES! memo #2: The "Change PopClip's Search Engine" procedure is here: http://docs.pilotmoon.com/article/38-how-to-change-the-search-engine
Like
Schmye-Bubbula
Schmye-Bubbula
18 April 2014
OK, I finally found the place to choose among the different dictionary websites that the Online Dictionary extension supports (or any other extension with options): • Go to the PopClip menu in your menu bar. • Select the "Actions" icon (the third one with a puzzle piece icon). • Click the pencil icon at the very bottom of the list (the one that lets you drag to change the order of extensions as they appear in the PopClip bar). • That list now in edit mode also lets you set options for extensions that offer them: Click the sprocket icon next to Online Dictionary to select the dictionary website you want. Voila! (I should have known that!)
Like (1)
flash1296gmailcom8977
01 February 2014
I consider this to be an indispensable productivity enhancer. Sadly it is not (YET) compatible with OS X 10.9.2
Like
Version 1.4.9
3 answer(s)
Shiny22
Shiny22
24 March 2014
I'm using it on 10.9.2...
Like
flash1296gmailcom8977
flash1296gmailcom8977
24 March 2014
Yes, it is now working properly under OS X 10.9.2 — build # 13C64
Like
flash1296gmailcom8977
flash1296gmailcom8977
25 March 2014
Latest version [1.4.10] continues to be a priceless productivity enhancer.
Like
macpayne
22 December 2013
I knew this app since its initial release, and same as @Tiance, I tought it was just a cut/copy/paste gimmick. But now I have to say that I was wrong. It's unexpectedly genius. Just try it yourself, you'll know ;)
Like (1)
Version 1.4.9
Tlance
17 October 2013
I stupidly thought this was a simple copy/paste gimmick. Silly me. All the good points made so far are true. I used it for less than a few minutes and saw it's value SO far beyond copy/paste. Note: That was before I started taking advantage of extensions! As for Firefox? YMMV but I have no problems so far. The idea that you can do it's stuff for free is so short-sighted. Whether you're a keyboard maestro or a right-click guru, the app + extensions is an elegant time & energy saver for such a modest cost. The popup which is sometimes unnecessary? You quickly adapt. Plus, it goes away with a mouse move away from the popup. In fact, I'm not sure I wouldn't like it to stick around a bit, just in case. The developer? As responsive and accommodating as any. I am making it a point to explore his other work. Documentation on site is concise and complete. 5 stars easy.
Like (2)
Version 1.4.8
Andrewrodney
14 October 2013
As others have correctly stated, once you use this a few days, you'll wonder how you worked without it. A gem!
Like (2)
Version 1.4.7
AllanS6399
12 October 2013
PopClip doesn't work in Firefox. Why not?
Like
Version 1.4.6
1 answer(s)
Pilotmoon Software
Pilotmoon Software
15 October 2013
HI Allan – generally it should work with Firefox, however there have been incompatibilities with Firefox for some people. I have been working to fix this. Perhaps it has improved with the latest update? Feel free to contact me on support@pilotmoon.com and I'll investigate.
Like
Big Johnson
23 September 2013
Developer is an A-HOLE! I contacted them about a problem I've been having in Firefox, where whenever I highlight text, it's automatically copied to the clipboard. When I disable PopClip, it stops doing that. Developer emailed back "Unfortunately PopClip and Firefox are not good friends." "I wonder, do you have any Firefox extensions installed?" So I sent him a reply with a list of extensions. "Since there are known problems with Firefox, why wouldn't you make it known on the release notes, rather than keep it a secret so you can rake in people's money? Even though you don't know what the problem is and not everone may have them, you should still state that some users have reported issues with Firefox." Obviously he wants to keep it a secret that his software doesn't work well in Firefox, because his next message said "I will no longer be responsing to your meails. Nick Moore support@pilotmoon.com"
Like
Version 1.4.6
1 answer(s)
polocanada
polocanada
06 October 2013
@BigJohnson What's your problem?
Like (8)
gorges
18 September 2013
Brilliant app. Now i'm addicted ;)
Like (1)
Version 1.4.6
larrymcj
13 February 2013
Really nice app, and if I could get past its single obtrusive problem...I'd use it. But no matter where you are on your Mac, if you left-click...the bubble pops up and gets in your face. So in URL windows, anywhere, you have to live with this bubble that you're probably not going to use.
Like (3)
Version 1.4.4
3 answer(s)
Fishscale
Fishscale
24 June 2013
Agreed. If it had an option to stay hidden until invoked via hotkey or hidden until called by applescript I would use PopClip. I 100% agree with you. This is an iphone concept that happens to be nice in situations on the mac but not all the time. Nice summary of it's achilles heal for at least a few of us.
Like (2)
Stilgar
Stilgar
04 June 2014
This comment is over a year old, does it still apply to the current version?
Like
larrymcj
larrymcj
04 June 2014
Stilgar, yes it is. I do still use the app and have just acclimated to it. Given the way PopClip works, I don't think the issue can ever be eliminated.
Like
Carlos-Sz
20 January 2013
It is an amazing application. It feels more like an OSX feature. After a few days using it I just can’t live without it. Don’t forget to give this application a fair chance. The extensions make this application very flexible and you can fine tune it for your needs. I have even made a MacUpdate extension. Usually, I see a new app and I go here to see what users are saying about it. With the extension things are a lot easier. Select an App name, PopClip is shown and then I just click the extension button and MacUpdate search results are displayed right away. Finally, I just wish there was a small button to bring the last 10 clipboard items, just like a small clipboard history within PopClip. This application is more than recommended!
Like (1)
Version 1.4.4
Martin-Smatanik
05 January 2013
Great app! I don't understand why this isn't part of operating system...
Like
Version 1.4.4
Xenon-
04 January 2013
Simply the best app that I have. So simple but can't live without it
Like
Version 1.4.4
@timi
04 January 2013
How are keyboard shortcuts -not- at your fingertips?
Like (1)
Version 1.4.4
Chaloots
04 January 2013
The app looks interesting, is reasonably priced, but with the exception of the option of emailing selected text, I seem to be able to do pretty much all PopClip can do (Search in Spotlight, Search with Google, Look up in Dictionary, not to mention the Services options) with right-clicking (or a two-finger tap on a MacBook Pro trackpad). What am I missing?
Like
Version 1.4.4
1 answer(s)
Sherman-Wilcox
Sherman-Wilcox
05 January 2013
Are really quick and easy way to throw stuff into Yojimbo? Super efficient formatting (all caps, lowercase, etc.) of selected text in any document? Very fast way to open a selected link in Google Chrome or Firefox? Quickly made an appointment out of selected text in Fantastical?
Like (1)
Dzitao
11 December 2012
This is an amazing and awesome, yet so simple app. I now don't know how I got along without it. It's totally become part of my workflow. Makes life easier since it works just like my IOS device. Apple seriously needs to bake this in to OS X (not that I want the developer's to miss out) but it feels just like part of the OS. Thanks so much developers!!
Like
Version 1.4.3
kapps
06 December 2012
Awesome. No other word for it. Question: Does anyone know if there is a way to re-order the extensions ?
Like
Version 1.4.3
Kukaracha
04 September 2012
Rather good utility app that I use sometimes. Works well. If you feel comfort with shortcuts, there will be no advantages for you (cmd+c etc). If you prefer mouse-way, this app for you.
Like
Version 1.4.3
Sgginc
21 August 2012
I use this continuously and love it! I am trackball oriented. You can double click on a word and look it up in the dictionary immediately or highlight several words (or one) and search Google. Fast and quick. Never fails. Just works perfectly. Copy and paste matching style or not. Copy and paste with a return after the paste or not. It doesn’t get any better!!!!!
Like (1)
Version 1.4.3
Drdul
17 July 2012
A handy little app that I use all the time, especially to search for words and open links. I would love to see an (optional) clipboard history feature added to the Paste function. FYI: You can paste text plain by holding down the shift key when clicking Paste.
Like (3)
Version 1.4.2
Stickman67
17 July 2012
Sometimes I find the keyboard the most efficient tool in my arsenal. At other times it's the mouse. When I'm selecting text for copying and pasting, it's simply efficient to be able to slightly move the mouse to copy, cut or paste, rather than having to remove my hand and move it up to the keyboard, or right-click and scroll through a menu. Simple, intuitive, familiar (through iOS), brilliant. I've more than saved my $4.99 in time in just a few days. This is a winner!
Like (3)
Version 1.4.1
4 answer(s)
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
17 July 2012
You can right click for free, and your hand is already on the mouse. How is this easier? No scrolling needed, copy is the third or forth item in the contextual menu.
Like (1)
Cosjr
Cosjr
17 July 2012
@Dividravenmoon . . . try pop clip for a while and you will see the difference. There's simply no comparison to the right clicking thing.
Like
Stickman67
Stickman67
17 July 2012
Depending on what application I'm using, what plugins it has, and so on, my contextual menu can be quite long, and hence there is scrolling involved. But it's more than just copying and pasting. I forgot to mention the spell check function, which, to be fair, doesn't always show a valid replacement, depending on how badly spelled the original is. But in my experience so far it's right much more often than not and again saves those valuable seconds that add up to minutes that add up to ... Just for the record, I'm not employed by Pilotmoon ... ;-)
Like
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
17 July 2012
OK, but right clicking still only takes one click. I use the Magic Trackpad, so two fingers down instead of one. Copy and Paste is always near the top of long context menus, if not the first item. Still I mostly use Command-C/V. Thats faster for me and I can do it with one hand. The Mac has built in spell checking, and in Lion, you get a menu that shows up with a list of alternate words, and you can even look up the definition of a word with a single right click. Obviously some people like certain things better than others, but I see no problem with the built in system. :)
Like
Sonnendeck
16 July 2012
Can't live without it!
Like
Version 1.4.1
novalue
26 March 2012
very useful tool for replacing the default shortcuts
Like (1)
Version 1.2.5
Larsen2k4
13 February 2012
I've just discovered this little helper - Tried the trial and immediately bought the full version from the App Store. Really handy while working with texts (especially with lots of source code). And it is running completely transparent and lightweight in the background after turning of the menu bar item. Very good.
Like (2)
Version 1.2.5