Back to Smart Converter page
Smart Converter free download for Mac

Smart Converter Reviews

28 August 2020

Convert video simply and efficiently.

How would you rate Smart Converter?
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
tonyarabish
tonyarabish
Apr 9 2020
3.0.1
4.0
Apr 9 2020
4.0
Version: 3.0.1
iDealshare VideoGo is just the right MKV to Apple TV Converter! It can easily and batch convert MKV files to Apple TV MP4 which is also compatible with iTunes on Mac or Windows.
olyman127
olyman127
Jan 11 2020
3.0.1
0.0
Jan 11 2020
0.0
Version: 3.0.1
I just got Smart Converter Pro 3. Does anyone know how to turn off the Apple TV part of this program? Every time I convert a video I save it in my movie folder, but it also sends it into the Apple TV (iTunes) folder. Is there a way to turn this setting off. I paid $14.99 for this program because I heard there was a way to turn this feature off. Anyone know how to do this? Thanks in advance.
RogerKatz
RogerKatz
Oct 22 2019
2.4.1
0.0
Oct 22 2019
0.0
Version: 2.4.1
The current version at the Mac App Store is 3.0.0
powloo1978
powloo1978
Apr 19 2019
2.4.1
1.0
Apr 19 2019
1.0
Version: 2.4.1
I used to love it but now it just crashes each time I try to use it macOS High Sierra. iMac (21.5-inch, Mid 2010)
thorpreuss
thorpreuss
Dec 12 2018
2.4.0
1.0
Dec 12 2018
1.0
Version: 2.4.0
it keeps crashing just after installation
jhudson185
jhudson185
Apr 10 2018
2.4.0
3.0
Apr 10 2018
3.0
Version: 2.4.0
i love it thanks
pixxieduust
pixxieduust
Mar 25 2017
2.3.0
1.0
Mar 25 2017
1.0
Version: 2.3.0
I had the free version and it worked great (although it's super fucking annoying not being able to turn off the send to iTunes option) but then it just randomly stopped letting me convert videos for no reason and when I google it nothing comes up. Super fucking annoying.
makeingcool
makeingcool
Sep 29 2016
2.2.3
3.0
Sep 29 2016
3.0
Version: 2.2.3
If you want to converter mkv to apple tv , you can step by step guide at http://www.avdshare.com/mkv-to-apple-tv-converter
jetandlee
jetandlee
Aug 14 2016
2.2.3
0.0
Aug 14 2016
0.0
Version: 2.2.3
Anyone??? I am completely new to all of the Smart Converter Pro and UTorrent and Itunes conversion..and I saw that you have been using SCPro for a long time..can you PLEASE help me with this question.. Up until last night when I would use UTorrent to download a TV show, then from my SCPro, convert for Apple TV..it would automatically send it to Itunes..now this morning, it will not send it to Itunes. Can you tell me how to fix this? Also...I have, I think, just the model Apple TV, not an Apple TV 1 or 2, etc....the SCPro is set at the bottom to Apple TV, but then under the More button, it says Apple TV1..so I don't understand this. I am in South Africa and am totally lost without being able to see my US TV shows... hoping that you will be so kind as to help me on this... Thank you..Lee
AddingtonJudson69
AddingtonJudson69
Jun 16 2016
2.2.3
3.5
Jun 16 2016
3.5
Version: 2.2.3
Good and love the speed.
uce-hole
uce-hole
Nov 21 2015
2.0.4
5.0
Nov 21 2015
5.0
Version: 2.0.4
It free & kept up to date moreover it works where other software fails so Im cutting it some slack.
Virtualruffy
Virtualruffy
Jul 25 2015
2.0.4
0.0
Jul 25 2015
0.0
Version: 2.0.4
I was surprised that it took video clips that quicktime claimed were bad and converted them successfully to then open in quicktime. However, I am EXTREMELY ANNOYED that I have no choice in whether the video gets dumped into iTunes or not. I don't want every fricking clip dumped into itunes!!!!!!!!!!! There is no setting to turn this off or change it which is R E T A R D E D!!!!!!!!! There is no excuse to force the clips into itunes. Just dump them into a folder and give me the CHOICE whether I want them imported or not! I'm going to dig into the package and see if I can find the setting and remove it. There is also no choice as to the folder or its location that the program uses to store the videos. So you end up with the same video in both itunes and in ~/Library/Movies/SmartConverter/ folders. Are you listening Developer??! FIX THIS!
AddingtonJudson69
AddingtonJudson69
Nov 14 2014
2.0.2
3.5
Nov 14 2014
3.5
Version: 2.0.2
Really a good free video converter. Smooth and fast. But just a converter, can not edit video and make movie. So I use this free convert to convert videos for my iphone and buy another similar app called Total Video Converter Pro ( http://www.etinysoft.com/total-video-converter-hd.html) to burn DVD.
WisdomL0RD
WisdomL0RD
Sep 8 2013
2.0.1
2.0
Sep 8 2013
2.0
Version: 2.0.1
Converting to iPad reveals anamorphic deformation on all movies I tried. Useless app.
Stephen-Fry
Stephen-Fry
Sep 1 2013
2.0.0
1.5
Sep 1 2013
1.5
Version: 2.0.0
Converting mkv to the Apple TV preset doesn't work. I get audio without video. It also took an incredible long time to convert the file. For a 15 minute video it needed +1 hour! Handbrake did the same job with playable results in less then 5 minutes.
HarveyWaxman3735
HarveyWaxman3735
Jun 18 2013
1.5.3
0.0
Jun 18 2013
0.0
Version: 1.5.3
Can't download SmartConverter for mac OS 10.5.8
tomtomklub
tomtomklub
Feb 3 2013
1.5.1
4.5
Feb 3 2013
4.5
Version: 1.5.1
I tried this specifically to convert wmv files to mov for viewing in QT-compatible players (I prefer not to use Telestream's Flip4Mac products because of their licensing and privacy practices). I found it to be more than adequate in doing this. It was fairly quick. There are no preferences to fiddle with - so no need to choose codecs, bit rates, FPS, etc. - just drag and drop, hit the button, and off it goes. Playing the converted mov file in QT alongside the original wmv file in VLC, I detected very little loss of quality. The FPS, bit rates, etc. were identical to the original wmv file. The one thing I didn't like was how the application automatically added converted files to iTunes as well as a folder in the Movies folder.
G4jay
G4jay
Aug 11 2012
1.4.3
2.5
Aug 11 2012
2.5
Version: 1.4.3
Love the speed. BUT... it converts movies that have surround sound into STEREO. Darn!
Ota-Jeremy-Paul
Ota-Jeremy-Paul
Jul 24 2012
1.4.3
4.5
Jul 24 2012
4.5
Version: 1.4.3
Easy to use. Simple and fast. I like it very much!
Guest
Guest
Feb 28 2012
1.4.0
0.0
Feb 28 2012
0.0
Version: 1.4.0
Link does not work.
Masterminter
Masterminter
Oct 12 2011
1.3.0
1.5
Oct 12 2011
1.5
Version: 1.3.0
Freezes randomly when converting on OS X 10.7.2 Didnt produce one converter file. Free but worthless. Handbrake is the way to go if you need a free converter.
GeogProf
GeogProf
Sep 19 2011
1.2.0
0.5
Sep 19 2011
0.5
Version: 1.2.0
I don’t quite understand Jazzguy’s comment because Smart Converter has proven to me to be anything but stable (or smart, BTW). It crashes every other time I ran it on my Mac OS 10.7.1 iMac and 10.6.8 MacBook — both new-ish and immaculately maintained. Additionally, Smart Converter doesn’t make DVDs, MPEG2 or Matroska (.mkv) files, and there is no ability to select, change or adjust anything at all, so it’s ridiculously barebones and utterly useless, like most of Shedworks software. To be fair, I gave it a 5-star Ease of Use rating simply because it’s never used by anyone I know, therefore extremely easy. Nice that it’s free, though.
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
Aug 18 2011
1.2.0
5.0
Aug 18 2011
5.0
Version: 1.2.0
Smooth and Perfect application. NOT unstable in any way. I tried it with a wmv movie and it converted it to mov and moved it into iTunes. I love it and it is free! Great GUI and it does exactly what it says it does.
STV70
STV70
Jul 13 2011
1.0.0
2.5
Jul 13 2011
2.5
Version: 1.0.0
Simple but not stable program. Crashed several times.
anonymous-dingo-653
anonymous-dingo-653
Jul 11 2011
1.0.0
2.5
Jul 11 2011
2.5
Version: 1.0.0
A sound start, but still has a ways to go for a free converter compared to others out there... and there are plenty for those who know how to look for them. Even for those daunted by HandBrake's settings, using it straight up with just some basic features, is still better. However, for those who use their Mac as a "magic box" that just does things for them, and are satisfied with not having to make choices, this app has a strong place in the community. Still, it could be more without losing that appeal.
Old-guy
Old-guy
Jul 11 2011
1.0.0
2.5
Jul 11 2011
2.5
Version: 1.0.0
The UI is kinda nice and simple. But it lacks advanced features. Didn't produce a working movie for my iPod something many converters doesnt seem to do anyway. But it is already much better compared to Vidconvert which is the main competitor for simple converters. Free is great too. However, still some work to do but promising nevertheless. I will keep an eye on this.
Snake-One
Snake-One
Jul 11 2011
1.0.0
4.0
Jul 11 2011
4.0
Version: 1.0.0
Pretty fast. I would even say a bit faster than Handbrake, but lacks a few options like choosing destination folder, etc. In any case, this is a very good beginning.