Back to Smart Converter page
Smart Converter free download for Mac

Smart Converter Reviews

3.0.1
01 November 2019

Convert video simply and efficiently.

RogerKatz
22 October 2019

Most helpful

The current version at the Mac App Store is 3.0.0
Like (1)
Version 2.4.1

Read 25 Smart Converter User Reviews

Rate this app:

RogerKatz
22 October 2019
The current version at the Mac App Store is 3.0.0
Like (1)
Version 2.4.1
powloo1978
19 April 2019
I used to love it but now it just crashes each time I try to use it macOS High Sierra. iMac (21.5-inch, Mid 2010)
Like
Version 2.4.1
thorpreuss
12 December 2018
it keeps crashing just after installation
Like
Version 2.4.0
jhudson185
10 April 2018
i love it thanks
Like
Version 2.4.0
pixxieduust
25 March 2017
I had the free version and it worked great (although it's super fucking annoying not being able to turn off the send to iTunes option) but then it just randomly stopped letting me convert videos for no reason and when I google it nothing comes up. Super fucking annoying.
Like (1)
Version 2.3.0
makeingcool
29 September 2016
If you want to converter mkv to apple tv , you can step by step guide at http://www.avdshare.com/mkv-to-apple-tv-converter
Like
Version 2.2.3
jetandlee
14 August 2016
Anyone??? I am completely new to all of the Smart Converter Pro and UTorrent and Itunes conversion..and I saw that you have been using SCPro for a long time..can you PLEASE help me with this question.. Up until last night when I would use UTorrent to download a TV show, then from my SCPro, convert for Apple TV..it would automatically send it to Itunes..now this morning, it will not send it to Itunes. Can you tell me how to fix this? Also...I have, I think, just the model Apple TV, not an Apple TV 1 or 2, etc....the SCPro is set at the bottom to Apple TV, but then under the More button, it says Apple TV1..so I don't understand this. I am in South Africa and am totally lost without being able to see my US TV shows... hoping that you will be so kind as to help me on this... Thank you..Lee
Like
Version 2.2.3
1 answer(s)
Virtualruffy
Virtualruffy
17 December 2017
It sounds like you may have a bad preference file. You can try creating a new user and running the program under that user. If it works then your user has a bad pref. You would then need to go through your library folder's preference folder (which may be hidden depending upon your OS) and figure out which is the pref file for the program and then remove the pref.
If the program fails under a new user then the programs prefs in the main library are probably bad. Find and delete. Good luck.
Like
AddingtonJudson69
16 June 2016
Good and love the speed.
Like (2)
Version 2.2.3
uce-hole
21 November 2015
It free & kept up to date moreover it works where other software fails so Im cutting it some slack.
Like
Version 2.0.4
Virtualruffy
25 July 2015
I was surprised that it took video clips that quicktime claimed were bad and converted them successfully to then open in quicktime. However, I am EXTREMELY ANNOYED that I have no choice in whether the video gets dumped into iTunes or not. I don't want every fricking clip dumped into itunes!!!!!!!!!!! There is no setting to turn this off or change it which is R E T A R D E D!!!!!!!!! There is no excuse to force the clips into itunes. Just dump them into a folder and give me the CHOICE whether I want them imported or not! I'm going to dig into the package and see if I can find the setting and remove it. There is also no choice as to the folder or its location that the program uses to store the videos. So you end up with the same video in both itunes and in ~/Library/Movies/SmartConverter/ folders. Are you listening Developer??! FIX THIS!
Like (1)
Version 2.0.4
4 answer(s)
Mikaelf
Mikaelf
29 January 2016
The add to iTunes setting has been optional as far back as I can remember. Been using this software for a long time.
Like
Virtualruffy
Virtualruffy
01 February 2016
Mikaelf> please specify where you found such a setting. I have not found it and I went through all settings again. There is nothing listed and no options offered. Or you may have the pro version which may offer it. I don't have the pro version so i don't know.
Like
Mikaelf
Mikaelf
01 February 2016
You're right. I've used the Pro version so long I forgot about the difference. They are all listed on the Pro version in the Mac App Store. It's worth the $15. Lots more options.
Like
Wts
Wts
15 March 2016
Well, the Developer has Smart Converter PRO that does what you want however you have to pay him $15. which i have because it is well worth the money to get that feature plus some extra features. Check out his web page.
Like
AddingtonJudson69
14 November 2014
Really a good free video converter. Smooth and fast. But just a converter, can not edit video and make movie. So I use this free convert to convert videos for my iphone and buy another similar app called Total Video Converter Pro ( http://www.etinysoft.com/total-video-converter-hd.html) to burn DVD.
Like (3)
Version 2.0.2
WisdomL0RD
08 September 2013
Converting to iPad reveals anamorphic deformation on all movies I tried. Useless app.
Like
Version 2.0.1
Stephen-Fry
01 September 2013
Converting mkv to the Apple TV preset doesn't work. I get audio without video. It also took an incredible long time to convert the file. For a 15 minute video it needed +1 hour! Handbrake did the same job with playable results in less then 5 minutes.
Like (1)
Version 2.0.0
HarveyWaxman3735
18 June 2013
Can't download SmartConverter for mac OS 10.5.8
Like
Version 1.5.3
tomtomklub
03 February 2013
I tried this specifically to convert wmv files to mov for viewing in QT-compatible players (I prefer not to use Telestream's Flip4Mac products because of their licensing and privacy practices). I found it to be more than adequate in doing this. It was fairly quick. There are no preferences to fiddle with - so no need to choose codecs, bit rates, FPS, etc. - just drag and drop, hit the button, and off it goes. Playing the converted mov file in QT alongside the original wmv file in VLC, I detected very little loss of quality. The FPS, bit rates, etc. were identical to the original wmv file. The one thing I didn't like was how the application automatically added converted files to iTunes as well as a folder in the Movies folder.
Like (1)
Version 1.5.1
G4jay
11 August 2012
Love the speed. BUT... it converts movies that have surround sound into STEREO. Darn!
Like
Version 1.4.3
2 answer(s)
Aadams77
Aadams77
20 March 2013
Not (necessarily) true, at least with v1.5. This application has a very simple interface: 1) Drop your video or music file on the Smart Converter window, 2) Select your desired playback device, and 3) Click the Convert button. I just did two successful conversions from .mkv format to .mp4 format (for use on my PS3). Both files had DTS audio and caused Handbrake and Subler both to choke (at least using the PassThru setting for audio, which may have been my problem), but the both files successfully for use on PS3 (the video was just copied over while the audio was transcoded from DTS to AAC 5.1 Ch.) NOT having to downgrade DTS or Doby 5.1 audio to 2.0 channel stereo was a BIG concern for me in a mkv to MP4 converter for me as well. This one DOES do the job, and does it really well. The most likely issue that I can think of that you might have been running into is limitations of your selected playback device. SOME devices do not support multi-channel audio (I think I remember reading that XBox 360 is one of them, but could be mistaken), perhaps your selected device is such a device...in which case, Smart Converter would appropriately convert to the best quality compatible audio format. Hope that helps, and good luck sorting things out! ;)
Like (1)
sjk
sjk
09 April 2013
"I just did two successful conversions from .mkv format to .mp4 format (for use on my PS3). Both files had DTS audio and caused Handbrake and Subler both to choke (at least using the PassThru setting for audio, which may have been my problem)" Handbrake usually isn't the preferred choice for converting MKV format with H.264 video to MP4 because it lacks video passthru, causing slow and unnecessary H.264 to H.264 encoding. "but the both files successfully for use on PS3 (the video was just copied over while the audio was transcoded from DTS to AAC 5.1 Ch.)" Interesting. I've used iFFmpeg for that purpose. Likely Smart Converter also uses ffmeg, but automates and simplifies more with less flexibility.
Like
Ota-Jeremy-Paul
24 July 2012
Easy to use. Simple and fast. I like it very much!
Like
Version 1.4.3
PorkPieHat
28 February 2012
Link does not work.
Like (1)
Version 1.4.0
1 answer(s)
PorkPieHat
PorkPieHat
28 February 2012
Jeez, even the 2 ways to download it on the developer's website don't work. Way to go, Shedworx.
Like (1)
Masterminter
12 October 2011
Freezes randomly when converting on OS X 10.7.2 Didnt produce one converter file. Free but worthless. Handbrake is the way to go if you need a free converter.
Like
Version 1.3.0
GeogProf
19 September 2011
I don’t quite understand Jazzguy’s comment because Smart Converter has proven to me to be anything but stable (or smart, BTW). It crashes every other time I ran it on my Mac OS 10.7.1 iMac and 10.6.8 MacBook — both new-ish and immaculately maintained. Additionally, Smart Converter doesn’t make DVDs, MPEG2 or Matroska (.mkv) files, and there is no ability to select, change or adjust anything at all, so it’s ridiculously barebones and utterly useless, like most of Shedworks software. To be fair, I gave it a 5-star Ease of Use rating simply because it’s never used by anyone I know, therefore extremely easy. Nice that it’s free, though.
Like (1)
Version 1.2.0
Jazzyguy
18 August 2011
Smooth and Perfect application. NOT unstable in any way. I tried it with a wmv movie and it converted it to mov and moved it into iTunes. I love it and it is free! Great GUI and it does exactly what it says it does.
Like (2)
Version 1.2.0
STV70
13 July 2011
Simple but not stable program. Crashed several times.
Like (5)
Version 1.0.0
A sound start, but still has a ways to go for a free converter compared to others out there... and there are plenty for those who know how to look for them. Even for those daunted by HandBrake's settings, using it straight up with just some basic features, is still better. However, for those who use their Mac as a "magic box" that just does things for them, and are satisfied with not having to make choices, this app has a strong place in the community. Still, it could be more without losing that appeal.
Like
Version 1.0.0
Old-Peter
11 July 2011
The UI is kinda nice and simple. But it lacks advanced features. Didn't produce a working movie for my iPod something many converters doesnt seem to do anyway. But it is already much better compared to Vidconvert which is the main competitor for simple converters. Free is great too. However, still some work to do but promising nevertheless. I will keep an eye on this.
Like (3)
Version 1.0.0
Snake-One
11 July 2011
Pretty fast. I would even say a bit faster than Handbrake, but lacks a few options like choosing destination folder, etc. In any case, this is a very good beginning.
Like (5)
Version 1.0.0