Back to Audirvana page
Audirvana free download for Mac

Audirvana Reviews

3.5.26
19 November 2019

Core Audio-powered music player with high-quality sound.

DragonMaster
08 September 2019

Most helpful

Got it and love it! I have over 14,000 albums onboard and it handles them all quickly and accurately. My only issue is that you cannot access your Mac's volume control when this app is running. Aside fro that I find it to be a remarkable audio app! Oh yes, it works on Catalina with no issues at all.
Like (1)
Version 3.5.20

Read 52 Audirvana User Reviews

Rate this app:

josvg
19 October 2019
This is a great application if you want to hear your music in the best possible quality quality. I tried several others, but this one is the best and it also could stream your music to UPnP-devices, like the ultraRendu.
Like
Version 3.5.24
RunHomeSlow
11 October 2019
i don't use plugins, audio units, Streaming, i don't upsample... yep, i just play the song i have from a computer with Audirvana going to my DAC with USB, to my AMP, through my speakers... i can tag my albums like i want... i don't use iTunes or (Music now) either... but i use the remote that is available also and... yes, what! ALL IS PERFECT... go simple, enjoy your music... If you got ears, you gotta listen! :)
Like (1)
Version 3.5.23
1 answer(s)
RunHomeSlow
RunHomeSlow
11 October 2019
here we can edit answer... but if you wanna know, i have 3300 albums, 40000 songs... all playing well, all tag, with all integrated in smart playlists...
Like
Version 3.5.23
tooloud
08 October 2019
If you want to use Audio Units with this, which is why I bought it many years ago (and it ran flawlessly) you can forget about it. It simply doesn't work with AU engaged. Nothing. No sound. I figured it was a bug they'd sort out so I left it over a year before updating and they haven't fixed it. Check their support forum and you'll see its the same with everyone. Worst customer response I've come across in a long time. To know that their product fails in one vital area and just leave it broken for years when it's a unique selling point. I'm speechless. Now I'll spend all day tomorrow trying to go back to a 2 year old version that worked.
Like
Version 3.5.21
DragonMaster
08 September 2019
Got it and love it! I have over 14,000 albums onboard and it handles them all quickly and accurately. My only issue is that you cannot access your Mac's volume control when this app is running. Aside fro that I find it to be a remarkable audio app! Oh yes, it works on Catalina with no issues at all.
Like (1)
Version 3.5.20
RunHomeSlow
08 September 2019
Yes most helpful version comment is for 2.0.2 in 2014, thank you macupdate.com We are now at 3.5.20 in 2019. If you can't use that simple player with your DAC or on a network or with a PC, now with a remote on MAC and PC... stay with iTunes... let Apple rules you :)
Like
Version 3.5.20
1 answer(s)
RunHomeSlow
RunHomeSlow
11 October 2019
that one star was for macupdate...
Like
Version 3.5.23
tooloud
19 June 2019
I own the Plus version and downloaded the latest upon release. I use it with a high end studio quality audio interface and I possess a lot of Audio Unit plugins. This was never a problem for the old version, but now it simply won't play a single track. I have contacted support whose sole advice was to trash all preferences and download the app again. Same thing, no sound. Nothing.
Like
Version 3.5.13
2 answer(s)
Phylo
Phylo
07 August 2019
Strangely, same thing to me no visible solution
Like
RunHomeSlow
RunHomeSlow
08 September 2019
try popular forums if you can type... like: https://audiophilestyle.com/forums/forum/10-software/ or https://community.audirvana.com/categories
Like
Version 3.5.20
Evgin
10 December 2018
Et voilà, le meilleur est crevé et devenu ordinaire. C'est du passé pour moi. Rien n'est éternel. J'avoue quand même que j'ai passé un bon moment avec.
Like
Version 3.2.14
2 answer(s)
plop1
plop1
25 December 2018
Hello, je débarque dans le domaine et j'ai acheté une licence le mois dernier, tu peux me dire ce qui te déçoit maintenant? C'est quoi ton plan B?
Like
RunHomeSlow
RunHomeSlow
27 March 2019
J'aimerais bien savoir aussi son pas ordinaire qu'il a trouvé...

plop1... t'inquiète pas... en plus la version 3.5 est tout près et gratuite :)
Like
Rikyman
03 March 2018
No other App for audio in my system can accomplish the quality Audirvana can whit my DAC, the interface is not beautiful but the sound is fantastic.
Like (1)
Version 3.2.6
hanno-baumgartner
12 February 2018
Ich finde der Sound ist nicht schlecht, aber auch nicht überragend. die Bedienung ist eine absolute Katastrophe. Wie letztes Jahrhundert.
Like (1)
Version 3.2.5
1 answer(s)
Suricate15
Suricate15
12 October 2019
Die ältere release, also vor 3.5 war in dieser Hinsicht wesentlich besser. Kann aber mit 10.14 und 10.15 leider nicht verwendet werden
Like
Version 3.5.23
Skooks57
12 January 2018
I have the "Plus" version and just updated to 3.2.5. It produces good sound, but it does not load my music library properly. There are some albums showing multiple times but with only one song in each showing. I have tried to fix this problem, but with no success!
Like
Version 3.2.5
om2
10 December 2017
I use the pro version for some years now. Excellent sound, but, and this is the bad point, it's very often not working. This means it crashes, does not want to update the music library or the library disappears without notice. For a payed app - and not cheap - just not the way one could recomend it.
Like
Version 3.1.8
3 answer(s)
joe-exp
joe-exp
20 December 2017
What's the pro version?
There is no such thing....
Like
robfol
robfol
20 December 2017
There is no Pro version. The app is 100% reliable. What are you talking about?
Like
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
16 July 2018
Obviously they mean the PAID version.

And just because something is 100% reliable for YOU robfol, doesn’t mean it is for everyone else (it certainly isn’t for me).

Every time I’ve installed it to try it again, I’ve encountered anomalies almost immediately.

ALL my iTunes tracks are played too fast (podcasts and music), giving them a chipmunk sound (shaves about 13 seconds off a 3-minute track).

And "support" has always been vey unsupportive at diagnosing/fixing it, so I keep uninstalling and hoping it’ll get corrected someday.

There’s nothing particularly unusual about my audio system: Mac playing iTunes through desktop speakers connected to headphone jack. I do have Boom 3D installed which has caused some issues with Audirvana (or vice versa).

But since Audirvana doesn’t mention any incompatibility with Boom, it shouldn’t be the cause of speed-playing.
Like
tooloud
18 November 2017
The ability to use Audio Unit plugins lift this into true professional quality.
Like (1)
Version 3.1.8
robfol
02 September 2017
Just the best music software for Mac. Superb sound quality, easy use and with the latest version I can push via UpNP to my active speakers and control everything from the iPhone app. Regular updates and good support too. Forget Roon, Jriver etc and get this app..
Like (1)
Version 3.1.2
M85
06 April 2017
Of the money investd over the years in audio gear, this has been the best value, maturing as has my appreciaion of fine detail. Use a dac and izotope settings. Absolutely awesome app.
Like (1)
Version 3.0.4
Maclover1-1
25 February 2017
iTunes sucks, I think we can all agree (spinning beachball, slow as hell, terrible search.. used to be decent many years ago.. or I have bad memory). Audirvana is.. well.. as a sound "plugin" for iTunes.. makes sound better but the iTunes as a search interface etc is still crappy. and slooooooow.. Audirvana unfortunately, apart for being much faster as a standalone, is a badly thought out eyesore (please hire some good UI devs, everything's ugly about this app, starting with its cheesy logotype), the search is crappy.. possibly worse than iTunes'. I have yet to find a real audiophile solution.. ready to fork over 3x more than this if anyone comes up with something really good.. like that's ever going to happen.
Like
Version 2.6.4
Big Johnson
25 December 2016
This app BLOWS!

I’ve tried it in the past and don’t remember it having all these GUI issues, but the reviews below indicate they were still present.

The search function ROYALLY SUCKS!
Whan I search for something, I want ALL results to appear in the search results, just like iTunes.

With this (cr)app, you’re shown a list of items to choose from:
Do you want to see the ARTISTS including that term, ALBUMS including that term, COMPOSERS including that term, or TRACKS including that term?

I WANT TO SEE THEM ALL, GODDAMMIT!!!
IN ONE F’N LIST!!!


It often fails to find tracks that are in its own database.
Tonight I was in iTunes where I started playing "She’s a Beauty," by the Tubes.
I decided it would sound better in Audirvarna, so I switched to it and typed "beauty" in the box.
One Go Go’s album and three Go Go’s tracks were found, nothing else.

Then I typed "tubes," and two albums and eleven tracks were found. I clicked on TRACKS, and all eleven appeared in a list, and the 6th one down was "She’s a Beauty."

WTF?!
What a POS!

And any music player that doesn’t support iTunes ratings is OUT for me!
I have thousands of unrated tracks, and when I’m playing them in a third party audio player and I rate one, the app had damn well better transfer the rating to iTunes!!!

Otherwise I WILL NOT waste time playing them outside of iTunes, no matter how much better they may sound.

And I do prefer the sound of Audivarna over iTunes played through Hear to my desktop speakers. So it’s a shame its GUI sucks so bad!

Not only that, but it’s VERY SLOW to open and load its database after caches have been cleared (which I do regularly).
iTunes takes about 7 seconds, Audivarna takes about 28 seconds, or 300% longer, while it says "Loading library..."
Like
Version 2.6.1
5 answer(s)
joe-exp
joe-exp
31 January 2017
Why don't you just stick to iTunes!
Like (1)
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
31 January 2017
Why don’t YOU kiss my ass?
Like (2)
joe-exp
joe-exp
31 January 2017
BigJohson is a compulsive moaner and has a small Johnson!
Like (1)
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
31 January 2017
What a pathetically ineffective retort!

What’s next - you gonna tell me that you’re rubber & I’m glue?
Maybe I AM glue, because your tongue seems to be stuck in my sphincter.

Try again after you’ve rehearsed your vitriolic raillery.
Like
RunHomeSlow
RunHomeSlow
25 August 2017
Just click on the name categorie from the list: Albums, Artist or Tracks, then you'll see them all... if i type 'Rush' i have choices: Albums or the Artist containing this name or Tracks containing that word
Like
meandjo
05 December 2016
Sound quality is quite good, but the interface is a horrible buggy mess. It is loaded with inexplicable behaviour and major features that just don't work. The UI lacks basic functionality present in even the most basic Mac applications. The app relies heavily on metadata, but its handling of tags is abysmal. Tags that work perfectly in every other application and tag reader refuse to work in Audirvana. The only good parts of the application are the parts written by Izotope, rather than the developer himself. If this was open-source software, accurately described as alpha status, it would be worth a look. For $80, it's criminally deficient.
Like (1)
Version 2.5.4
1 answer(s)
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
18 September 2017
RunHomeSlow, you obviously misunderstood what you read.

I said, "Whan I search for something, I want ALL results to appear in the search results, just like iTunes."

I don't want to only see artists or albums, I want to see
EVERY-F'N-THING containing my search term!

iTunes allows me to see them ALL.
Then if I need to I can filter by artist or album.

iTunes doesn't allow a genre search, but by selecting "All" it will search all fields, including genre.

Maybe I want to look for all AAC files. That's not an artist or album, so Av+ can't do it.
Like
brad maestas
05 October 2016
I've been a user for several years now and I've had time to compare it to some of the other players out there and I have come to like this one the most. It still has some way to go with regards to its UI (I'm a UI/UX Designer) but there have been obvious improvements. That and its ever-present sound quality has kept me aboard.

Getting Audirvana, albeit in its very humble non-Plus form back then, coincided with my desire to get the most out of my growing digital library that included HD formats. Initially I used it with the Audiogengine D1 DAC via Toslink as a source for both my mid-level ($4K) loudspeaker setup and for my headphones, modified Grado SR80e, modified Senn HD580II and Senn HD650s. I've since upgraded both my loudspeaker and headphone front ends but what hasn't changed is Audirvana+ as my source player. Once it went from only-iTunes-integrated-mode to a standalone-with-growing-pains, that's when I knew it might be something I could use in the long run.

The breaking of Direct Mode is a minor inconvenience in Sierra but I do hope it gets resolved soon. We still have Integer Mode and Exclusive Mode. I run it with the iZotope64 converter and the Nyquist cutoff set to 2,00 and it makes for thrilling listening sessions, especially with something like the Grado RS1. Lowering the Nyquist to 1,00 does make for a less-fatiguing session with those kinds of phones. I keep it pegged at 2,00 and just switch to the Senns when my ears get tired.

$10 for the mobile integration seems a bit steep and I have not sprung for it yet. I hope they continue to mature this product. I think it's one of the best high-res players on the market.
Like (1)
Version 2.5.4
Wgscott
17 April 2016
Absolutely outstanding, and Tidal integration just made it even better. The customization settings, which include AU plugins (including all of those available through OS X, like various equalizers), up-sampling, volume dithering, ability to play DSD, ability to use Dirac room correction's AU plugin, an outstanding GUI available in stand-alone mode, the ability to run it in "iTunes integrated mode" in which the player uses iTunes as a GUI, and most of all, the sound quality, make this well worth every penny.
Like (1)
Version 2.5
kingjj
16 April 2016
"Audirvana Plus has no equalizer, no trendy special effects, just the best sounding music” Well, if “best” equals “loud” to you, then sure. this app plays mp3s awfully loud. Unfortunately, awfully tinny as well… I guess the gui is slick enough, and it seems to work well. But the playback has that distinctive iTunes metallic bite, just twice as loud as iTunes. Clementine is free, has more features, and sports the ability to cut those mids.
Like
Version 2.4
5 answer(s)
Lvdoc
Lvdoc
16 April 2016
Perhaps, but there are any number of free and rather high-quality AU plugins one can use with Audirvana to also modify whatever sound elements you dislike. Given that you apparently already modify sound using Clementine's EQ, I don't see much difference in that regard. I will, of course, grant that you're right about "free" being a significant advantage.
Like
kingjj
kingjj
17 April 2016
In response to Lvdoc: I was reviewing the app as it is. Which, according to the first line of the developers own copy, "has no equalizer"
Like
Lvdoc
Lvdoc
17 April 2016
I understand. And I'm not trying to knock either you or Clementine. All I'm saying is that if one goes, for instance, here:

http://www.producerspot.com/best-free-equalizer-eq-vst-au-plugins-on-internet

or here:

http://bedroomproducersblog.com/2011/03/03/bpb-freeware-studio-best-free-parametric-equalizer-vst-plugins/

one can get a free, high-quality equalizer to use with the AU plugin feature of Audirvana. It would take, tops, 2 minutes to go there, download it, and tell Audirvana to use it.

Moreover, since different EQs tend to each have their own sound, one can better customize Audirvana to what they seek.

One can also go here:

http://www.resoundsound.com/25-best-free-vst-au-plugins-pc-mac-2013-part-1

To find a 3-part series that lists all kinds of great, free, au plugins one could also use to further refine the sound.

So, Audirvana might not have an EQ built in, but why would it need to? It still gives you the option to have one, and then some, quickly and inexpensively (other than, of course, the cost of Audirvana).
Like (3)
Lvdoc
Lvdoc
30 June 2016
kingjj: The more I listen, the more I'm agreeing with you about that metallic sound. I can't quite find a better word for it; I agree it's something with the midrange. I'm not sure I prefer Clementine as an alternative. I'm not knocking it, just not sure it's the sound I want. I do recognize that in several ways, Audirvana has some very clear, good sound. But it's almost as if it has too much fidelity, if that's possible.
Like
Electronman
Electronman
05 January 2018
That "metallic bite" that you mentioned is from playing an mp3 file, which have horrendous crappy quality. If you want clear sound, play Apple lossless or AIFF files. Then you'll hear clean sound.
Like
joe-exp
15 March 2016
This software keeps on getting better and better. Huge speed increase in Version 2.4 and the A+ Remote app. The Soundquality is top notch! Hands down the best Audio Player app on OSX and I have tried them all.
Like
Version 2.3.3
Ochre
09 March 2016
Anyone know of video playback software that incorporates some or all of the audio playback-enhancing features offered by Audirvana? I rarely use my Mac for prolonged audio listening sessions, but would appreciate some audio improvements when watching, eg. blu-rays ripped to MKV. VLC, for example, offers nothing along these lines.
Like
Version 2.3.3
1 answer(s)
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
01 February 2017
WHAT?!

VLC includes an equalizer, what more do you need? That alone will offer "some audio improvements."
Simply go to Window>Audio Effects, and an EQ window pops up. How 'bout that! That’s probably all you need.

I rarely use it because I have Hear installed, which can greatly enhance the sound of most system audio above and beyond what an EQ can do. https://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/27310/hear
Like
Lvdoc
17 September 2015
I can't find any place on your site to email you. Did iTunes 12.3 break direct mode? Everything was working fine until I updated to the new iTunes today. In direct mode, I can't get a clear signal to come through. It does work okay in Exclusive Access Mode, but could you please look into this? Thanks!
Like
Version 2.2.2
3 answer(s)
Lvdoc
Lvdoc
17 September 2015
Direct mode still not working with 2.2.3.
Like
RunHomeSlow
RunHomeSlow
26 September 2015
You can try this site...
http://www.computeraudiophile.com/f11-software/audirvana-2-2-ios-remote-25262/
Like
Lvdoc
Lvdoc
26 September 2015
Thanks!
Like
M85
12 September 2015
I have an external DAC in a pretty nice audio system (worth a few grand in a total), but even listening through headphones directly into a Mac, the sound benefits are clearly evident - once you've developed a sense of what you're listening to.
It's like differentiating $10 wine from the good stuff - once you recognize the difference you don't want to look back and looking forward, the sky's the limit. The sound (which has taken a few leaps even further higher in the recent releases), the Audirvana remote, the playlist management... all from one guy..... This software is just awesome.
You won't hear it's full potential in iTunes integrated mode. Turn on Direct Mode, Exclusive Access, and Integer Mode (if available in your setup).
Compared to some of the other software out there, like Fidelia the price/performance of Audirvana is a no-brainer. I love it.
Like (1)
Version 2.2.1
3 answer(s)
Lvdoc
Lvdoc
12 September 2015
If it would offer system-wide hot keys, I'd go for it. I agree with the sound quality, but if I want to change songs, or especially if I need to adjust the volume, it's annoying to have to bring the app to the front and make whatever changes I need. I'm not a big fan of apps that use hog mode, although I recognize it may be necessary to obtain maximum sound quality.
Like
chawya22
chawya22
14 September 2015
Lvdoc - The media keys on the Mac Keyboard (Play, Pause, Previous Track, Next Track and Volume up and down) can control Audirvana, even while it's in the background. If you're using a DAC, then of course you can control the volume from there. Depending on how you set Audirvana preferences, you can still use the media keys to adjust the volume.
Like
Lvdoc
Lvdoc
16 September 2015
Ya, actually, my comment was totally misinformed and moronic, now that I've done some more research. What worked for me was to take it out of Exclusive Access Mode. Whereas I understand the value of that, it got in the way of the kind of control I sought. (I can now set custom keys through other programs, etc.)

Even so, the sound is still better than anything else I've tried. For that matter, I would add that the MU description of "no trendy special effects" tends to sell Audirvana short. I can also use several AU plugins that I really like to bring about certain special effects.
Like
Mikael-B
22 June 2015
Until someone posts a verifiable audio nullification test I remain unimpressed with all of these apps purporting to "a better sound". I am indeed impressed with my audio interface and paid a lot of money for that. I'm not using iTunes for playback and paid for my playback application (not this one).

IMHO, bits are bits and "better sound" as far as application is concerned is just another reference for distortion you prefer. Unless you can prove other apps are inferior in moving bits to your audio interface this "better sound" is just distortion or an illusion on your part.
Like (1)
Version 2.1.1
1 answer(s)
joe-exp
joe-exp
23 December 2015
Ignorance is bliss!
Like
pasion-beso
27 April 2015
Only 4 stars because no drag and drop. This feature was removed from the current version by some genius...yeah. So for the player to not be frustrating, and to use a remote, it must be used with iTunes. The sound quality is 5 stars. Much better than buggy Amarra which crashes, skips, or just goes silent. Once drag and drop is implemented back into the UI, this app will be back up to 5 stars.
Like
Version 2.0.11
1 answer(s)
M85
M85
12 September 2015
Drag and drop was added back this summer:)
Like
Mousee
22 March 2015
Two years ago Sheagirl alerted Macupdate that the price shown here was not the correct one. As of today the audirvana site lists a price of $74 for a new purchase and $39 for an upgrade, while macupdate still shows the incorrect price of $49. Please macupdate, could you correct the price on this page?
Like (2)
Version 2.0.10
Wts
02 March 2015
This is my preliminary comments : I just discovered this fantastic app that has really improved my sound experience even thru my head set. My personal beef about the way this app would be that when i select iTunes integration it opens up iTunes. And then i have iTunes running in the back ground . All my iTunes files are in a iTunes folder just play that folder!!!! I note that although the sound file being played i named in the heading but it does not highlight that file in the playlist.
Like
Version 2.0.9
Lvdoc
10 December 2014
I have to add my two cents. I don't know if I read this definition here or elsewhere. If it was here, my apologies. I'm not trying to steal your thunder! "A music lover listens to music with his sound system. An audiophile listens to his sound system with music." I am definitely an audiophile, and I've spent a lot of time (and, unfortunately, money) to find the best audio experience I could with my Mac. I had initially purchased Fidelia. It's a very good program, and I prefer the interface to Audirvana. I also think it sounds better than iTunes. However, for a time, I was having trouble with it. It was fine; turns out I had a bad file that was messing with it. But during that time, I went looking for alternatives and gave Audirvana a try. And I have to say, Audirvana has a superior sound. Like others, I'm not a big fan of the Audirvana interface; they could learn a bit from Fidelia. (That's why I took 1/2 star off the rating.) I have opted to integrate Audirvana with iTunes and use iTunes as the interface. The Audirvana manual says that one will not get quite the same level of quality when using it with iTunes (as one would with using Audirvana's music player), and this has been true; however, the difference is negligible, and I still get excellent sound. One of the primary selling points for me, for either Fidelia or Audirvana, is the ability to use AU plugins. I have several that perform certain effects I can't find elsewhere, and this has been a real boon for my listening experience. Finally, I would add (as have others) that I use a DAC with my system. If you're already at the point of shelling out big bucks for a program like this, then you might as well get the best audio experience you can. Using a DAC makes a significant, noticeable difference.
Like (3)
Version 2.0.6
Mrtomato
12 October 2014
Audirvana Plus is a really great app, especially if you use an external or 3rd party DAC. If you have HD music (i.e. 24bit music) AND a DAC, it's even better. The app has a number of features that help you to get the best sound out of your music files. The one most apps have now is hog mode. This basically prevents any other application or process from hijacking the sound source you are using. With hog mode on, you won't hear system notifications through your sound source. It also has a number of other settings that will allow you to further push back any system interference and to bypass CoreAudio. And it has a bunch more in the way of tweaks that allow you to tailor the sound. In addition to the sound, one of the best things about Audirvana Plus is its handling of SACD ISOs. Not only will it play a SACD ISO, it can also extract songs from them in m4a format at your desired bit depth and sample rate. Finally, a few words about the new version 2. It has some kinks. The file tagging system it uses is so rigid, I'd call it buggy. For instance, if you organize albums by album artist, some albums will split (so one song might show up as a separate album). It doesn't matter that the album artist tag is the same either. In some cases, the only way to get albums back together again is to clear most of the tags on some of the files and add them again. Also, most of the people who are unhappy with the new version are upset because it no longer has drag and drop functionality. I haven't really experimented with it to see if there are viable workarounds. My main criticism of the new interface is simply that it could use some fine tuning. Playlist icons could be a little more elegant, the drop down view should be closable with a second click on the album, the column view should show all of the columns it promises to show, and couple of boilerplate smartlists wouldn't be all bad either. Still, of all of the 3rd party players out there, Audirvana Plus is by far my favorite.
Like (4)
Version 2.0.2
Maclover1-1
04 October 2014
Am already expected to pay an upgrade of about 50% of the full price after purchasing this just 3 months ago.. GRR!
Like
Version 2.0.2
jkesler
18 September 2014
Great sounding audio playback from most(all?) high-quality audio formats. Can directly control your audio device (onboard audio or external DAC) for bit perfect playback. Heck, it even plays DSD files! The interface is a little rough in the new version (2) but works well.
Like
Version 2.0.1
chawya22
16 September 2014
The displayed GUI, in the above description, is from the version1.5.x and is no longer used as a default in 2.x. The exception is, iTunes Integration Mode still uses this GUI but Audirvana 2.0 does not open in this view as a default.
Like
Version 2.0.1
Maclover1-1
07 July 2014
I tried pretty much all of these "audiophile" apps.. My choice finally went to Audirvana. I shied from spending money on this until now (I had bought Neutrino.. but often forgot to use it.. and Audirvana sounds better to me, actually it sounds really great !). iTunes integration is very straight-forward and since I like iTunes as my music management base, I just want better sound without yet another browsing interface. Speaking of which I wish the Audirvana player had some skins.. I'm not a big fan of "make believe real-world objects" on screen.. but it's really not that important as it can even be deactivated.. it would be icing on the cake.. I have yet to master all the preferences, but so far it works really well ! The SysOptimizer makes it access tracks and scrubbing really fast. Basically it kicks ass !
Like
Version 1.5.12
Megaman
23 May 2014
Sounds great however I find this software buggy. For one thing, it takes ages for it to get itself ready to play a friggin' song. Then if often can't decide which audio output to use. The icing on the cake is that it kills Spotlight and Mail searching when it's been launched (I get full functionality when I quit). If it was a Beta I'd understand but at the price I paid for the Pro version, I expect the basics covered.
Like
Version 1.5.12
1 answer(s)
jkesler
jkesler
18 September 2014
(I think the delay has to do with the audio device you use. In my experience it is waiting for the device to switch format before playing. You can turn off the setting that kills spotlight and mail in the preferences)
Like
Sheagirl
06 March 2013
Mac Update: The price according to the developers website is $79.00 not $49.00. This is not easy to spot intact I could not find the price until I clicked on the purchase button. However the $49.00 price is no where on the site only the $79.00 price.
Like
Version 1.1.1
1 answer(s)
ANDREW-HILLS
ANDREW-HILLS
27 April 2013
Have been doing a player comparison Decibel (have had that for a long time ) cheap and good 4* Amarra HiFi had this for a few days 4.5* and today Audirvana Plus, very impressed with this using B&W MM1s this is the best sound i have managed from this set up (low listener fatigue,been listening for many hours) so i give this 5* based on my setup. Hope B&W will make some MM2s that will have a DAC that works with bigger sample rates.
Like
Purps
06 March 2013
Uh... 1.46. is the latest version: Release 1.4.6 - New tuned method for Integer Mode playback for better sound quality. This new "mode 1" is set by default, the previous one (called "mode 2") can be selected in the user preferences - Check and set Audirvana Plus to be the default application to open .audlic files. This enables to load the license file by simply opening it. Bug fixes: - Fixed stalled playback bug in iTunes integrated mode - Fix potential crash on 32bit architectures - Fix truncated text in German SysOptimizer panel - Do not hang when iTunes (11.0.2) is exiting while playing Your entry hasn't been updated since 2011. o_0
Like
Version 1.1.1
2 answer(s)
Sheagirl
Sheagirl
06 March 2013
I get that the playback quality of music is a very personal thing. Even for me now that I have both Decible and Amarra HIFI find my self selecting one or the other based on the type of music and how it's being played ie headphones or attached speakers. But when I went back to purchase Audirvana and found that the $49.00 price was temporary and they now want $79.00 I had to pause. I'm just not sure the sound difference (and to me it is a preference ) justifies the price difference? I'm going to have to really think about that even though I would really like to own it.
Like
ANDREW-HILLS
ANDREW-HILLS
27 April 2013
Meant to say i think the price is worth it very happy with it having made comparison (see my earlier reply)
Like
hwgray
09 December 2012
Try Amarra Hifi, at the same 49-dollar price. www.sonicstudio.com/amarra/amarra_hifi.html I also own Audirvana, but I think that Amarra Hifi is the better. For those not wishing to take my word for, there's a fifteen-day, try-before-yiu-buy trial-period.
Like
Version 1.1.1
8 answer(s)
Sheagirl
Sheagirl
05 January 2013
Your right I also decided on Amarra HiFi after extensive eval of Audirvana Plus, Decibel and Amarra HiFi. I will be purchasing Decibel soon though. I really like Audirvana and before long will probably own all three. Amarra HIFi although not offering as many options as Audirvana just seemed to have the best sound on the broadest number of test files. Decibel seemed to push a heavier bottom sound while Audiravana brought everything to the mid range losing some of the lows, IMHO. They are all good programs and Amarra HiFi blends well with iTunes, plays my Flac files and offers a 15% discount on their web site. I wasn't sure how long the discount on Amarra HiFi would be available so I purchased it first. I will be looking for the others to offer discounts as well.
Like (1)
hwgray
hwgray
05 January 2013
"Your right" Thank you! Digital music is my hobby. So, I own every Mac music-player that there is. My collection of sounds ranges from music of the Roaring Twenties to whatever I find that I like after I post this. No single player works for *every* kind of music from *any* kind of source, naturally. But, IMO, the Amarra HiFi works the best, for the price, for more different kinds of music.
Like
Sheagirl
Sheagirl
05 January 2013
Correction: Amarra HiFi does not play Flac files natively but converts them to AIFF. Have to upgrade to the $189.00 version to get native play of FLAC files.
Like
hwgray
hwgray
06 January 2013
"Amarra HiFi does not play Flac files natively but converts them to AIFF." Sigh! Nothing's perfect! I use Pro Audio Converter to convert FLAC to ALAC. Since my set-up uses only Apple and NuForce hardware, I find that to be a satisfactory solution. FWIW, some providers of high-density digital recordings, like HDtracks, now offer native ALAC versions, as well as native FLAC, WAV, AIFF, Vorbis, etc. versions of their music, so conversion is no longer required, even for those of us willing to go that route. Apple is beginning to acquire a bit of the Microsoft advantage.
Like
Purps
Purps
06 March 2013
Odd... I still prefer Audirvana.
Like (1)
hwgray
hwgray
12 March 2013
"Odd... I still prefer Audirvana." That's not odd at all. The ear wants what the ear wants. When it comes to music and to music-players, the bottom line is "Different strokes for different folks."
Like
Tomeg
Tomeg
23 October 2013
"Different strokes for different folks" may provide a hint to evaluate between different products, on the basis of one listener's perceived differences and preferences, versus another's. For example (mine): I listen overwhelmingly more to classical music over other genres. Amarra is my preference, perhaps for that reason only. Or, there may be other performance differences betw. Amarra and Audirvana that are audible to some but not to other's, and vice versa. I suggest an additional slogan: "Variety is the spice of life."
Like (1)
hwgray
hwgray
24 October 2013
We agree on Amara, Tomeg. But, sadly, "Variety is the spice of life" is no longer true for me, probably because I'm too old to change being nearly eighty years old. I enjoy a variety of genres of music, but pretty much only stuff from back in the day. Somebody posted a list of about a dozen things that snobby assholes say to try to go one up on people. First on the list was, "I prefer their earlier work." That's not what I say, since, at my age, it's impressive enough that I'm still alive and thinking and don't have "Old-Timer's disease." :-) But, it's certainly the way that I feel! Different strokes for different folks. ;-) Pure Music is another good music-player..
Like (1)
Purps
02 September 2012
Simply amazing. Makes songs sound more vibrant and rich... even coming out of my laptop speakers. With an actual speaker setup it's just unreal.
Like (1)
Version 1.1.1
2 answer(s)
Fervid
Fervid
08 September 2012
Agree with you 100%. I have my tunes coming out through a pair of B&W MM-1's and the sound is awesome! One question though, how come my version is 1.3.5 and yours is 1.1.1? Maybe you need to update? Macupdate is showing as version 1.1.1 too!?
Like (1)
Purps
Purps
08 September 2012
The version number being displayed under responses is the latest version number on the page of MacUpdate at the time of posting... which... as you can see... is outdated. I'm using version 1.3.9.7.
Like (1)
Shock-J
20 April 2012
You're way behind. The latest version is 1.3.2.
Like
Version 1.1.1
Ibigmac
05 December 2011
Audirvana PLUS is out on the homepage. With optional iTunes integration. Like it, but not free (49$).
Like
Version 0.9.4
Eyeless
19 September 2011
Lots of opinions when it comes to audio, but just listen a minute to an mp3 track I ripped (legally) from a YouTube video with Audio Hijack (regular edition under 10.7.1), I can clearly hear the difference to iTunes (which would no play the song until I quit Audirvana, but Audirvana could play it while iTunes was running). In my opinion it sounds much better than iTunes (for whatever reason). And this from listening to it through the in-built speaker in a MacBook Air ... more audiophile than this one has not to be in judging the difference. (Normally I listen mostly these days only to mp3 Lame encoded VBR high quality on an older iPod Nano (as it sounds much better than through my iPhone) and with Yuin pk-2 (which gives the most easy access to decent sound, I think).)
Like (2)
Version 0.9.4
JavierRD
16 September 2011
what's this "cpu over"? i see this message in red appear in 0.9f
Like
Version 0.9.4
nobody2011
12 September 2011
Since Jul.22-2011 theres a new version (0.9.5) out. Following the link for downloading this one ... thanx to the dev. for Audirvana http://code.google.com/p/audirvana/downloads/detail?name=Audirvana%200.9.5.zip&can=2&q=
Like
Version 0.9.4
Jazzyguy
16 August 2011
I am using version 0.9.5 I am getting some skipping on vocals. I tried these tracks in iTunes and there are no problems. I wonder if the new version may have some problems.
Like (3)
Version 0.9.4
Bonzo333
16 July 2011
I am absolutely blown away how this makes my logitech z4 speakers sound like bose soundsticks. My thanks to the developer for ending my search for getting good sound out of my mac and for free yet. I am so impressed I had to make a donation. Keep up the good work!
Like (2)
Version 0.9.4
R397
01 July 2011
Thanks to developer for sharing this BEST player for FREE.
Like (1)
Version 0.9.4
Arjuna
01 July 2011
Great application, one of the best audiophile solutions and the only free of them. I still prefer Fidelia for sound quality, though difference is very slight. And in my view Audirvana surpasses all other commercial applications of this sort. One bug that I noticed – playback may hang sometimes when simultaneously other processor intensive applications are running, which is much less so with Fidelia. Hope the developer makes it work more smooth. Also wanted feature to import from iTunes library without a need to start iTunes.
Like (1)
Version 0.9.4
Michaelthegeek
01 July 2011
Thus is great! I'm shocked at how good this is.
Like (1)
Version 0.9.4
Wgscott
01 July 2011
Absolutely outstanding. I am listening to it right now. This software is at least as good as some of the commercial options that charge hundreds of dollars (or more). I've followed this since its inception, and the developer is extremely engaged and helpful, and his focus has been on getting the best possible sound quality, rather than feature bloat. This is a simple, sleek, light-weight player that does several things that iTunes is unable to do: 1. Automatic sampling frequency switching. If you have music sampled at a frequency other than 44.1 kHz, and you want bit-perfect playback, in iTunes you need to quit the program, open Audio MIDI Setup, reset the sampling frequency manually, and then re-open iTunes. Unless you are willing to put up with that ritual, the alternative is iTunes re-samples your music. Audirvana does everything right, and on the fly. 2. Memory playback. Tracks are (optionally) loaded into memory prior to playback, to give the best possible sound quality. There are also options for "hog mode" and "integer playback" to further improve things. 3. Ability to create playlists on the fly. You can use this in conjunction with iTunes. Just drag and drop tracks into Audirvana's playlist window, and you can create playlists on the fly (which you can optionally save).
Like (2)
Version 0.9.4