Back to Clear Day page
Clear Day free download for Mac

Clear Day Reviews

3.1.0
22 March 2017

Weather forecasts with alerts for U.S. and Europe.

Wts
02 June 2011

Most helpful

Jun 2, 2011 And yet another APP STORE ONLY. NO demo = NO purchase. Is creating a demo beyond the programming skills of this developer or is it just another stupid rule by Steve
Like (8)
Version 1.6.0

Read 17 Clear Day User Reviews

Rate this app:

windyx4
01 June 2018
Why is it down on my Macs and IOS devices?
Like
Version 3.1.0
Alrescha
13 August 2014
This app sends your MAC address to its servers. This is not allowed by Apple in iOS apps, and I am surprised that it is allowed in the Mac App Store. If you care about privacy at this level, I suggest you do not use product.
Like (2)
Version 2.0.4
Jazzyguy
12 August 2014
Since the Developer took away some of the features I really don't like it
Like (1)
Version 2.0.3
1 answer(s)
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
12 August 2014
I am going back to Meteorologist. It is a good program and it is free as in Beer.
Like
baxsur
13 July 2014
Very buggy! Must force quite each time.
Like
Version 2.0.3
Docjk
24 May 2014
I use Clear Day from the menu bar, only symbol and temperature showing. As long as I do not "click" on the menu symbol I do not get an accurate / reliable information. As soon as I do that and though force to update the data the information is pretty much correct. Why doesn't it update by itself continuously in the background? No matter how long I wait for an auto-update, as long as I don't unfold the menu bar dialog no correct update is performed. Otherwise it would be a fine feature perfectly satisfying me needs. Sleek sober little app in menubar supplying all information I desire... Animations are of little use for me...
Like (2)
Version 2.0.1
1 answer(s)
Alrescha
Alrescha
13 August 2014
This problem still exists as of the August 12 update. Symptoms are that the temperature goes black (the highlight goes away), and it reverts to some old value (at night when the real temperature is going down, Clear Day's temperature goes up).

I enjoy Clear Day on iOS, and I do not mind giving the author some more money, but it would be nice if it worked as expected.
Like (1)
Dana-Sutton
07 August 2013
I've tried a lot of these weather apps. Problem is, the results are only as good as the weather service to which each one subscribes, and an otherwise mediocre program + an accurate and reliable service gives more satisfactory results than a great program + a lousy service. In the case of this one, it is giving me temperature readings approximately 20 degrees too high (I live in Southern California, if you live in central Iowa your results may be very different). So it's hard to review these programs per se. In this case I don't blame the developer for the bad results, but the result is the same -- for me this program is useless. And it's a great example of why users should be able to demo-test programs before purchasing from the Apple Store. As soon as I launched this program for the first time I realized I had wasted my money.
Like (1)
Version 2.0
truthhurts
27 May 2013
It's certainly a pretty app, but this pattern of "rename the app to get people to purchase it again" isn't something I'm going to reward.
Like (2)
Version 2.0
1 answer(s)
Gudrick
Gudrick
27 May 2013
The update is free to current users and adds several features people often requested in reviews. Certainly a stand-up move by the developers. Good move on the name change too; name became too generic with similarly named apps.
Like (2)
Docjk
29 December 2012
After some days testing in Northern Norway: The animation feature is nice, but I barely use it. I have a better screen saver... :-) Wile the degree of temperature difference to local metrological service remains small the symbols for cloud coverage are not that accurate. Had full blown storm and heavy clouds all day - symbol showed "sun". Wind speed alarm on the other side was correct despite displaying 2 times less than the measured speed. And I have a suggestion. A correction for conditions above the Arctic Circle would be fine. A bit confusing to see the sun-symbol while the sun actually is not even above the horizon up here. The localisation based symbol for "sun under horizon" would be useful and would allow it to achieve paid app status even more.
Like
Version 1.6.9
Docjk
24 December 2012
Fantastic experience! I tried out halv a dussin other weather applications in the recent days, but they never really were able to find the place where I live. In addition the temperatures of the alternative places around me differed a lot. Some programs even simply shot themselves down. No Mac like experience. But this product is definitely worth the money. Quick, easy and comprehensive installation. Beautiful animation especially in full screen mode. But for me the menue bar will do. Completely satisfied so far. The only little flaw is the accuracy of the pin on the satellite map, it is placed somewhere in the middle of the Arctic Sea. Installed on iMac 27" late 2009, latest OS.
Like
Version 1.6.9
ktaro-Mac
28 March 2012
so beautiful...
Like
Version 1.6.9
Mac007
27 March 2012
I found a link to the developers official web site for those who are interested. http://www.vimov.com/
Like (1)
Version 1.6.9
1 answer(s)
Regular-Warren
Regular-Warren
27 March 2012
I added that to the listing. Thanks!
Like
Hans-de-Wolf
30 October 2011
In my opinion the half-star rating is unfair. For me, the application does work without problems and the movies by which it presents the weather look very nice (although they could be better in a higher resolution on a big screen such as on a 27" iMac). The maps also present a lot of information. Is it the best (most detailed and scientific )weather application? No - if you want to know what the weather will be at 11:00 AM on the next weekend. There are more detailed weather apps for that. Does it present the weather with nice eye candy? Yes - if you run it on an iPad or a Mac you can leave it on and give you an impression of the weather as a nice relaxing movie.
Like
Version 1.6.6
Brighton-Pete
29 October 2011
I am always leery of a developer's website being on youtube or some non-descript web page. They really should have a useable website.
Like
Version 1.6.6
Julsa1
04 September 2011
Paid it, tried it, removed it. It doesn't even display my location correct. According to this program I live in the sea ???? Useless eyecandy
Like (1)
Version 1.6.5
Joinerm
04 September 2011
I just paid to test drive this piece of junk. I would like my money back. Meteorologist still lives in my menu bar.
Like (3)
Version 1.6.5
GeogProf
29 June 2011
I'm in 100% agreement with the other sentiments here about developers who don't allow us to test drive their apps. However, I also feel that they should be penalized for this with half-star reviews. Make 'em feel it.
Like (6)
Version 1.6.0
1 answer(s)
-M-S-
-M-S-
04 September 2011
GeoProf - A 0.5 star review simply because an app is on the MAS isn't helpful for anyone. I have changed your review to a comment accordingly.
Like (5)
Wts
02 June 2011
Jun 2, 2011 And yet another APP STORE ONLY. NO demo = NO purchase. Is creating a demo beyond the programming skills of this developer or is it just another stupid rule by Steve
Like (8)
Version 1.6.0