Back to Fantastical page
Fantastical free download for Mac

Fantastical Reviews

26 March 2021

Create calendar events and reminders using natural language.

How would you rate Fantastical?
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
hchbiker
hchbiker
Feb 8 2021
3.3.4
0.0
Feb 8 2021
0.0
Version: 3.3.4
So sad. I paid a one time price for (great) software only to have it pulled out from under me. I will not have a calendar app draining my account every month.
larrymcj
larrymcj
Dec 29 2020
3.3.3
5.0
Dec 29 2020
5.0
Version: 3.3.3
Almost without exception, every negative review posted about Fantastical anywhere zeroes in on the pricey subscription - not the app itself, which is simply wrong. I don't like subscriptions, either but it's tough to deny Fantastical its throne in the digital calendar kingdom. If you disregard the subscription and focus on the app, there is simply not a better calendar app out there for macOS, iPadOS, or iOS. None! If the subscription is too steep, then simply don't purchase it. There are a lot of free and less featureful calendar apps out there. But if you want the best, and don't mind paying for it, Fantastical is it.
daveu
daveu
Nov 24 2020
3.3.1
5.0
Nov 24 2020
5.0
Version: 3.3.1
I'll say right up front, I'm with you all, I hate subscriptions, too. I've abandoned many an app that went subscription, but not Fantastical. It's exactly what I wanted and always dreamed a calendar app would be, but no one else came close. There are exactly two subscription apps I use, this and 1Password... and they both have the same palatable aspect. They have a reasonable annual cost versus adding on to the massive pile of monthly bills our lives all incur already. And looking at the value it provides for a one time cost for an entire year, I figured I could handle it. Not to mention, many apps of this caliber will have a major paid upgrade every 1-2 years, it ends up not being that much of a difference in the big picture.
Dmb
Dmb
Nov 6 2020
3.2.3
1.0
Nov 6 2020
1.0
Version: 3.2.3
I used to love and use Fantastical 2 every day. Moving to the subscription model is too much for me. I thought I would be able to continue to use Fantastical 2 on MacOS 10.13.6 (my mac can’t upgrade to a higher version), but I find that it crashes. I located the problem: the syn with Google Calendar. The lack of google integration is annoying, but as long as I use the ickoud calendars only, everything is fine. I don’t use Fantastical on iOS, but Calendars 5, a paid app by Readdle, very good.
Kitmos
Kitmos
Sep 4 2020
3.1.5
2.0
Sep 4 2020
2.0
Version: 3.1.5
Sadly Fantastical stopped working for me last week and support has been no help at all to solve the problem
Yetowila
Yetowila
Aug 1 2020
3.1.4
1.0
Aug 1 2020
1.0
Version: 3.1.4
It hurts me very much to give Fantastical a bad review. In the past I loved Fantastical 2 (until it developed some problems with the synchronization recently). When I watched Fantastical 3, I was highly shocked: A calendar app with subscription? No, thanks. I understand that a subscription has many advantages for developers, but years ago I left 1Password for the reason, now I will leave Fantastical 3. A price of almost 60 dollars per year is just too much - thanks, but no thanks.
Sampler
Sampler
Jun 27 2020
3.1.1
0.0
Jun 27 2020
0.0
Version: 3.1.1
MU Staff. The $3.33 is the monthly price with a year's subscription. Billed monthly, it's $4.99
Aeschylus
Aeschylus
Jun 26 2020
3.1.1
3.0
Jun 26 2020
3.0
Version: 3.1.1
I loved Fantastical, but found the subscription rate to be a bit too expensive. Also, I wan't happy using the companion on my iPhone, as it doesn't have the same features Reminders has (allowing converting an email to a reminder that you can click on and see the original email). So even though I could keep on using the v2 features, they weren't enough. The v3 features would make this a more useful app than Apple's apps, but given the new pricing model, I'll have to pass. If you definitely need the v3 features and can afford the subscription, I'm sure this app will deliver what you're expecting. But with nearly everything wanting a subscription. the cost of paying for all of them would be many $hundreds / year, and that's just too much.
kosovarnye@yahoo-com
kosovarnye@yahoo-com
Jun 16 2020
3.1
1.0
Jun 16 2020
1.0
Version: 3.1
I will Never Never Never pay for a subscription! Just as I had to give up 1Password after being a long time user and fan, I will toss Fantastical and never give it a second thought as I switch to a more deserving (meaning less greedy) app developer and their product. If other people would simply say NO, the subscription model would go the way of the dinosaur. Sad to say, but most consumers are weak-minded and passive.
Robio
Robio
Apr 26 2020
3.0.12
4.0
Apr 26 2020
4.0
Version: 3.0.12
I see a lot of people are upset about the new subscription model. I do agree it's *way* overpriced (do the math: after 5 years you'll have paid $200!), but as a purchaser several years ago, the now-paid features I use (like multiple calendar sets and duplicate combining) haven't been taken away. Having said that, I don't use most of the premium features anyway (tasks, invites & scheduling, Hangouts/Zoom, templates), so do with that what you will. Having said all that, Fantastical is still the best calendar app for Mac by leaps and bounds, with a much better UI and features nobody else has. The calendar sets are a huge improvement over every other app (with a keystroke, I can quickly switch between work calendars, private calendars, and calendars I share with family), the Menu Bar UI is great, v3 finally makes the full-screen view an actual app that you can reach via CMD+TAB. Shortcomings: User cannot choose to show empty days in the scrolling view (I want to see my empty days!), all-day events with short names appear side-by-side instead of in a list (which makes events just look like a jumble), I'd prefer timed events to be in a colored bar just like all-day events instead of just having a colored dot (should be an option), and v3 changed the Menu Bar dropdown to be white on top, so the fields for entering new events and searching now blend in with the calendar instead of standing out like they should. So, in short, leaps and bounds better than any competitor, but room for improvement, and yes, the new subscription pricing is way too much. Fantastical has always been pricy, but changing from $50 once to $40 *per year* is ridiculous, and this bad choice is going to hurt the app's market share and discourage new user uptake, which is a shame because Fantastical is fantastic.
The_Blinded
The_Blinded
Apr 25 2020
3.0.12
5.0
Apr 25 2020
5.0
Version: 3.0.12
Great app, nice graphics, functional! I wouldn’t swap it for another calendar. Luckily I bought it before it became accessible only through subscription! I just need the basic functions!
MacFoolish
MacFoolish
Apr 10 2020
3.0.9
1.0
Apr 10 2020
1.0
Version: 3.0.9
I have been a longtime user of Fantastical, although on and off, I have been using it since their first version. I loved the app which I used instead of the Apple calendar apps on all my devices. Now, to push Fantastical 3's subscription plans they stripped Fantastical of basic features such as fullscreen view on iPhone. This is a perfect example of a developer being GREEDY beyond the minimum respect for his longtime customers. I feel cheated out of the basic benefits I had in exchange for a load of crap useless features for me. They know that many of the features they put on their subscription plan are useless for most people, so they ripped some basic features off from the exiting package and shoved them in the paid subscription version. Shameful, really! Not even Apple would do it that away. I will hold on to the app, hoping that Flexibits makes a u-turn. It is perhaps not surprising that I could not find the option to contact them on their webpage. They do not want to talk to us... which says it all.
ibornery
ibornery
Mar 28 2020
3.0.8
1.0
Mar 28 2020
1.0
Version: 3.0.8
Fantastical 2 was the best Smart phone calendar ever made. THEN THEY GOT GREEDY AND RUINED IT WITH FANTACTICAL 3. Prior to the update, Fantactica 2 was almost perfect and all features worked well and would work on your Apple Watch. I love this app so much that I bough a copy for my iPhone, my iPad and 4 more copies, one for each of my adult children. Then FLEXBIT GOT GREEDY and turned it into a monthly subscription that brought nothing new I wanted to use. It will no longer work with my Apple Watch and does not even give me the option for a complication on the watch to use. I have written to Flexbit and they only sent me link to suggestions that do not work. They will not work with me on this issue and have ignored my emails for help. I WANT MY FANTASTICAL 2 BACK. ibornery@aol.com
suprandr
suprandr
Mar 16 2020
3.0.8
1.0
Mar 16 2020
1.0
Version: 3.0.8
the new pricing model is SO disappointing.
Localboy56
Localboy56
Mar 2 2020
3.0.7
5.0
Mar 2 2020
5.0
Version: 3.0.7
Fantastical’s subscription price is quite reasonable for an app I use on all my devices every day. Very happy with it!
Big77
Big77
Feb 19 2020
3.0.5
0.0
Feb 19 2020
0.0
Version: 3.0.5
Does not warn of paid upgrade. New subscription option does not fill my needs and is overpriced in my opinion. Managed to downgrade to V2 for now but will switch to a different app. I don't wish to have anything to do with flexibits anymore.
Jerryb
Jerryb
Feb 15 2020
3.0.5
0.0
Feb 15 2020
0.0
Version: 3.0.5
It seems like very time they get the watch version working, they break it in the next version. Now, the watch version no longer gets updated. Totally useless and now Fantastical goes into the trash once and for all. And BTW, the new layout is terrible.
Ok14me21
Ok14me21
Feb 12 2020
3.0.4
5.0
Feb 12 2020
5.0
Version: 3.0.4
Fantasical is just Fantastic!
claus-in-iceland
claus-in-iceland
Feb 12 2020
3.0.4
1.0
Feb 12 2020
1.0
Version: 3.0.4
Fantastical is "history" for me. For this price and as a subscription, no thanks.Their discussion to switch to subscription, my discussion to use a different calendar software. One star for ... hmmm ... not sure.
claus-in-iceland
claus-in-iceland
Feb 12 2020
3.0.4
1.0
Feb 12 2020
1.0
Version: 3.0.4
Fantastical is "history" for me. For this price and as a subscription, no thanks.Their discussion to switch to subscription, my discussion to use a different calendar software.
OhEssex
OhEssex
Feb 11 2020
3.0.4
1.0
Feb 11 2020
1.0
Version: 3.0.4
MacUpdate - how is it that Cookie08's 4-star, 1 week old review that has 1 Like (as of now) appears front and center at the top of the comments list with a big green "Most Helpful" checkbox?? There are literally tons of reviews for the same version with plenty more Likes all panning this software with MUCH lower ratings. This just isn't right. BTW - I'm certainly not arguing with Cookie08 here - he's entitled to his opinion. My beef here is entirely with MacUpdate.
Raha
Raha
Feb 7 2020
3.0.3
1.0
Feb 7 2020
1.0
Version: 3.0.3
Fantastical 3 Upgrade Violates App Store developer guidelines - is it legit, legal ? Paid for a great app - Now a Smooth rip off - Just one example that we paid for separately for both iPhone and iPad - Day/week/month/year full screen view now has to be paid for again - taking away functionality! Plus giving us nasty pop ups free! More examples below Apple App Store Developer Guidelines - iOS iPadOS Mac 3.1.2(a) Permissible uses - “If you are changing your existing app to a subscription-based business model, you should not take away the primary functionality existing users have already paid for.” ? 3.1.2 (b) Upgrades and Downgrades - “Users should have a seamless upgrade/downgrade experience...” ? 2.3.1 - “to make the App Store a trustworthy ecosystem...” ? Existing Fantastical 2 users who had already paid per device now have to pay (again) subs to access features we previously had paid for The following features have been removed for fantastical 2 users: (Gone :-( Day/week/month/year full screen view Time to leave notifications Apple watch viewing - you now need to make an account to do this?! Shared calendar change notifications Full fledged Push updates Full fledged Calendar sync Family sync - previously, one account was needed, however now, each user needs to purchase a subscription. so if you have a family, each one must sub. Now we constant reminders to upgrade and reduced functionality. No saying what nasty surprise the developer/company Flexibits Inc will throw at us in future Really wonder what the Apple iOS ipados App Review Team gets paid for!
Swindle
Swindle
Feb 7 2020
3.0.3
1.0
Feb 7 2020
1.0
Version: 3.0.3
Been happy using this app for years. Not anymore. Yet another app that has decided to move to subscriptions. Uninstalled.
Cookie08
Cookie08
Feb 5 2020
3.0.3
4.0
Feb 5 2020
4.0
Version: 3.0.3
The app now getting much better with running in background with out the app loading Yea!
Michael-Vilain
Michael-Vilain
Feb 1 2020
3.0.1
1.0
Feb 1 2020
1.0
Version: 3.0.1
Nope. Will not become an income stream. $3.33/mo or $39/year isn't worth it. Sticking with V2 which isn't a subscription.
Loeribas
Loeribas
Feb 1 2020
3.0.1
0.0
Feb 1 2020
0.0
Version: 3.0.1
The price tag is misleading. MacUpdate should indicate when a price is for a subscription.
Methuselah
Methuselah
Feb 1 2020
3.0.1
0.0
Feb 1 2020
0.0
Version: 3.0.1
I've enjoyed using Fantastical for several years, now. It has a couple of features that make it a little more attractive than Apple's Calendar. But, it's not $40 a year better! I'll try this new update (v. 3) for a while. If I like it, fine. If the expected ads, and other rumored changes, aren't to my liking, I will switch back to Apple's Calendar. I will not pay an annual premium.
bdikkat
bdikkat
Feb 1 2020
3.0.1
1.0
Feb 1 2020
1.0
Version: 3.0.1
This has now become a total and utter rip-off.
snozdop
snozdop
Feb 1 2020
3.0.1
0.0
Feb 1 2020
0.0
Version: 3.0.1
Flexibits are on another planet with the new v3.0 update. Firstly, they think they are being "beyond generous" (their words on Twitter), by allowing paid customers to continue using the features they already paid after auto-updating to the new version!! Wow! Well, thanks very much, I guess... Secondly, the v3 user experience is hugely reduced for v2 users. Many people have had to jump through numerous hoops just to use the app and sign up for a never-needed-before Flexibits account. Parts of it still aren't working for many even after a couple of bug-fix releases. The nice clean interface of v2 is gone and it's now a minefield of asterisks and popups advertising the premium features. Using the app has gone from being a pleasure to a chore trying to avoid mis-clicks triggering yet another advert, and there's no option to turn these ads off. Thirdly, the pricing ($40 a year) is ridiculous, especially if you only use it on one platform. They say it's to fund future development and they have a full roadmap of enhancements and new features to implement. However, they haven't published this roadmap, so potential customers have no idea what they're actually paying for going forward. Fantastical already does pretty much everything a calendar app needs to so its difficult to see what 'must-have' features there are left to add. Developers either add very little to subscription apps because they know they've got your money anyway, or start adding more bloat and features nobody wanted to try to justify the cost. Considering Fantastical v2 (for iOS) came out over 6 years ago, the pace of development hasn't exactly been fast.
Scott-C-H-
Scott-C-H-
Feb 1 2020
3.0.1
1.0
Feb 1 2020
1.0
Version: 3.0.1
I don't understand how Flexibits thinks it's reasonable to expect anyone with common sense to pay $40/year minimum for a "calendar on steroid." It's a solution in need of problems to solve. Most people don't need or want a fancy calendar loaded with bells and whistles. The only type of people who would pay for Fantastical 3 is Flexibits fanboys and productivity porn addicts who would rather spend more time optimizing and tweaking their workflows than doing the actual work.
rmattbill1
rmattbill1
Jan 31 2020
3.0.1
1.0
Jan 31 2020
1.0
Version: 3.0.1
Switch to subscription model--NOPE.
Guy-Engler
Guy-Engler
Jan 31 2020
3.0.1
1.0
Jan 31 2020
1.0
Version: 3.0.1
I'm Not continuing with you Flexibit. I have used Fantastical and then Fantastical 2 on all my devices: Mac, iPhone, and iPad, for ages. If I'm being treated in such disrespect by asking me to pay another 40$ a 'full features" annual subscription, then, I'm jumping off the boat and returning to Apple Calendar. Stopping using Fantastical on all my devices at once!
Guy-Engler
Guy-Engler
Jan 31 2020
3.0.1
1.0
Jan 31 2020
1.0
Version: 3.0.1
I am abandoning the sinking ship. If after paying full price for Fantastical, and then for Fantastical 2 on all platforms, and still. got to pay 40$ a. year, I'm returning to Apple calendar on all my Mac, iPhone, and iPad. I'm very disappointed.
OhEssex
OhEssex
Jan 31 2020
3.0.1
1.0
Jan 31 2020
1.0
Version: 3.0.1
These guys just peed and pooped in their own pool with all of their customers still in it. I'm abandoning Fantastical and just going back to simpler times with Apple's products.
ysgweebly
ysgweebly
Jan 30 2020
3.0
1.0
Jan 30 2020
1.0
Version: 3.0
I've been a long term user and paid full price ($70) for the app on all platforms. The fact that we aren't being grandfathered in (beyond the continued use of the Version 2 features we've already paid for), is incredibly frustrating. Now please note, I have nothing against subscription models in principle, and I love supporting devs that make the apps I love, but when the loyal customer base isn't treated with respect that is horrific business planning. DayOne did this right. Existing paid users got to keep a lifetime discount when they switched to the subscription model, and I love paying it! They respected their customers, and we existing Fantastical 2 users have been disrespected. I wouldn't mind paying $20/yr. for Fantastical. I really wouldn't. But $40 a year, when I've already spent $70, is absurd. Flexbit has unreal expectations, and until they fix this their reputation will suffer.
KatRoss
KatRoss
Jan 30 2020
3.0
1.0
Jan 30 2020
1.0
Version: 3.0
Before downloading the 3.0, keep a backup of the old one Just if you don't want to be pestered by UPGRADE now and loosing features. I'm really upset that it essentially broke the Mac app: it removed Day, Week, Month, and Year views (all views!) with a message "Day view is only available with Fantastical Premium". Where is the promise about keeping all the features you had in Fantastical 2?! If they wanted to go to a subscription method, fine, but do not delete the apps I paid for in full. Other developers have just created a new version of their app and left their old paid apps as "Classic" and left them unsupported.
michaelsmull
michaelsmull
Jan 30 2020
3.0
1.0
Jan 30 2020
1.0
Version: 3.0
I'm done with Fantastical as well. I paid for Desktop and iPhone. Today I looked down at my watch and I had a message it lost touch with fantastical. I found out that they updated to this new subscription model and they say you can keep the same features without the subscription. Then why is it gone on my watch? I am not doing another subscription. Everything is a subscription. I paid for the app and now what I paid for no longer works. I don't find it to be all that much better than the apple products that come free with my computer. Good by Fantastical. No longer fantastic.
akeiler
akeiler
Jan 30 2020
3.0
1.0
Jan 30 2020
1.0
Version: 3.0
Went to a subscription model with mandatory account creation - pricing model (for a calendar app, this is a joke) is ridiculous. I deleted the App across all my devices... it was good while it lasted. (before V3)
cinam
cinam
Jan 30 2020
3.0
1.0
Jan 30 2020
1.0
Version: 3.0
The subscription plan - its very bad!! Bye, bye fantastical! Developers are greedy.
TwisterMc
TwisterMc
Jan 30 2020
3.0
5.0
Jan 30 2020
5.0
Version: 3.0
The subscription plan may not be great, but all my Fantastical 2 features still exist after upgrading and without paying. That's a win in my book.
Tim27
Tim27
Jan 29 2020
3.0
5.0
Jan 29 2020
5.0
Version: 3.0
Did ANYONE commenting on the subscription model even bother to read the blog post on their website? It specifically says, “ All of the features from your prior purchase of Fantastical 2 will continue to work with the new Fantastical.”
Macjogi
Macjogi
Jan 29 2020
3.0
1.0
Jan 29 2020
1.0
Version: 3.0
After many years and payments I've deleted my favourite calendar app because I won't pay so much money for a calendar app.
jozpy1
jozpy1
Jan 29 2020
3.0
1.0
Jan 29 2020
1.0
Version: 3.0
My definite "NO" to this subscription model. I feel cheated as I have purchased it at the full price. They are surely going to neglect those ones who are not paying them regularly. I've deleted the app.
JamesHarrisPhoto
JamesHarrisPhoto
Jan 29 2020
3.0
4.5
Jan 29 2020
4.5
Version: 3.0
Ugh! Version 3 Premium is now a subscription. Back to BusyCal.
Mikmaksen
Mikmaksen
Jan 29 2020
3.0
1.0
Jan 29 2020
1.0
Version: 3.0
Subscription or reduced features? No thanks, bye Fantastical!
JohnnyFave
JohnnyFave
Jan 29 2020
3.0
1.0
Jan 29 2020
1.0
Version: 3.0
Yet another subscription... NOPE!
rbkok73
rbkok73
Oct 15 2019
2.5.12
0.0
Oct 15 2019
0.0
Version: 2.5.12
I've switched to Noteplan. A new app with neat Todo integration:)
Paulo Neto
Paulo Neto
Oct 8 2019
2.5.11
5.0
Oct 8 2019
5.0
Version: 2.5.11
With each update it gets even BETTER! The Fantastical is the best in its class!
JamesHarrisPhoto
JamesHarrisPhoto
May 29 2019
2.5.9
4.5
May 29 2019
4.5
Version: 2.5.9
This is continues to be my main daily business calendar. When Apple split Calendar to have Reminders as a separate app, it made no sense to me. Events and tasks should be in the same program. Well Fantastical is a better calendar and reminder app than either of Apple's apps are individually. My only complaint is there's not enough contrast in the light theme mode, so I have to use the dark theme mode. Other than that, it's the best calendar/reminder app I've used on the Mac.
Brookhaven
Brookhaven
May 28 2019
2.5.9
0.0
May 28 2019
0.0
Version: 2.5.9
Now on sale with Bundlehunt for $12 plus $5 entry fee for the bundle. HTH (May 2019)