Back to WinZip page
WinZip free download for Mac

WinZip Reviews

10 June 2020

Mac edition of established compression utility.

How would you rate WinZip?
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
dupap56
dupap56
Dec 7 2020
8.0.5151
1.0
Dec 7 2020
1.0
Version: 8.0.5151
Install if you want to a taste of the nightmare that is Windows software
bsmit
bsmit
Oct 30 2019
7.0.4564
1.0
Oct 30 2019
1.0
Version: 7.0.4564
Big download then prompted to pay and then crashed on Catalina. What gives?! Found a free unzipper instead that works great.
chofutaro8
chofutaro8
Oct 26 2019
7.0.4564
1.0
Oct 26 2019
1.0
Version: 7.0.4564
Should've paid attention to fwilkinson's review. Over 200mb. Expensive, clunky, slow. Tried to install other products. Crashed. Please stop bringing Windows crapware to Mac!
Virtualruffy
Virtualruffy
Jun 12 2019
6.5
0.5
Jun 12 2019
0.5
Version: 6.5
No need for this over priced piece of bantha excrement. There are many free alternatives available including Betterzip The Unarchiver and so on. I made the mistake of installing the win version on a pc and after the trial ran out it began constant nags and annoyances -which continue to this day even AFTER uninstalling it. So nice that they bury nagware that is not removed when the program is uninstalled and someday I'll have to spend time researching how to remove the garbage. So, like on South Park when the Yo Gabba Gabbaites told Foofa about showing her 'strange' on TV -Don't Do it!
scott-macdonald
scott-macdonald
Mar 31 2019
6.2
2.0
Mar 31 2019
2.0
Version: 6.2
Winzip works great but it forgets you purchased it. I have had to purchase it more than once and there are plenty of options for this product so why bother with the hassle.
Mrtomato
Mrtomato
Mar 23 2016
4.0
1.0
Mar 23 2016
1.0
Version: 4.0
This really is a frustrating piece of software. It is very picky about the kinds of files it will recognize. For example, I sometimes want to edit or pull an image from a cbr file and the easiest way to do this (that I know of) is to append the .zip extension to the file and open it up. Entropy does this without a problem Unarchiver (I think that's what it's called) did too (when I last used it). Winzip gives me errors. It also doesn't like numbered archives. I found some ancient (by web standards!) files that ended with a sequential number string (xxxxx.0001, xxxxx.0002 etc) and wanted to know what they were. Winzip volunteered to open them (it has a habit of doing this without asking) but couldn't. Entropy, again, opened them no problems (turns out it was an archive of old TV shows BTW). Entropy was last updated in 2013 and still blows Winzip out of the water. Now, the thing that really irritates me about WinZip is the number of steps required to open an archive in the first place! I can't choose a default place or way to open an archive, so when I want to open an archive I have to click the "unzip" icon, then choose from a list of services that I want to open the archive on my mac, then choose the location on my mac where I want to open the archive, then open the archive. So annoying! I was going to rate this two stars, but because the developers want $30 for something of this quality, I think one star is fair.
fwilkinson
fwilkinson
Nov 2 2015
4.0
0.5
Nov 2 2015
0.5
Version: 4.0
Make it more mac-like. Don't install bullshit just let me drag and drop to apps. not that hard is it
MichaelHaeusler
MichaelHaeusler
Sep 21 2015
4.0
0.5
Sep 21 2015
0.5
Version: 4.0
Very buggy on 10.10.5. Furthermore, now there's the XCodeGhost spyware problem. WinZip for iOS was coded using a spyware infested Xcode. So it's possible that the OS X version is infested as well. I don't know how probable that is, and I don't know if the spyware can also run on OS X, and not only on iOS, but I suggest everyone stay away from WinZip until we know more.
Jbaret
Jbaret
Aug 12 2015
4.0
1.0
Aug 12 2015
1.0
Version: 4.0
Just doesn't work with Yosemite 10.10.4. It falls into an infinite loop due to the use of setShowSplitter which is a deprecated function.
Stalar
Stalar
May 20 2015
3.0
1.0
May 20 2015
1.0
Version: 3.0
They could at least change the name of the software... If you really need something more than system built-in tools (i.e. for RAR files, 7ZIP, segmented files, password protected archives etc.) then the BetterZIP is simply the best. And I am not developer of BetterZIP. I have just checked and it turned out that I purchased my first copy/version of BetterZIP in late 2007 !!! And it never let me down.
Edac2
Edac2
Apr 22 2014
3.0
4.0
Apr 22 2014
4.0
Version: 3.0
If you need only to open ZIP files, then the built-in ZIP capabilities of OS X will suffice. WinZIP lets you view the contents of a ZIP archive, delete individual items (like the invisibles that drive Windows users crazy) and quickview items (oddly with a button, rather than using the spacebar). There are newer ZIP formats that OS X can't open that WinZIP handles flawlessly. The only thing I found that it can't do is let you rename files within an archive.
Michael-Vilain
Michael-Vilain
Apr 18 2014
3.0
2.0
Apr 18 2014
2.0
Version: 3.0
The "product" they're selling here is available in so many other products for far less. A Mac-aware version comes with the MacOS which won't litter your zip files with dot or resource files. And the company just won't take "unsubscribe" for an answer. So I've taken to reporting their marketing emails after my unsubscribe request to their ISP as SPAM. Don't bother with this product or company unless you need to be sure that the zip files you create are 1000% compatible with windows. I've never had a problem with the free or native alternatives already available on MacOS.
Philosopherdog
Philosopherdog
Nov 18 2012
2.0
1.0
Nov 18 2012
1.0
Version: 2.0
Compression is already build into the mac, and if you want the best archiver on the mac, it's already free and called the unarchiver. It's what 7 zip is on the PC. Winzip was bad on the pc and now they're taking it over to the mac. Ug.
uffy935
uffy935
Nov 17 2012
2.0
4.5
Nov 17 2012
4.5
Version: 2.0
I am a long time MAC user. Recently I had to download big spanned files. I tried unarchiever but it did not work. I gave WinZip a try and it was very easy to handle (UI) and it worked well. I was a bit surprized how well it worked but now WinZip Macedition is one for me.
Dellsuxx
Dellsuxx
Nov 17 2012
2.0
5.0
Nov 17 2012
5.0
Version: 2.0
From what I can remember Winzip was one of the most reliable Windows utilities for many years. Although I've been a dedicated mac convert for the past 6 years I never once had a problem with Winzip software. They where a great company and I'm very happy to see them up and running on the OSX platform.
Klez
Klez
Oct 19 2011
1.5.0475.0
5.0
Oct 19 2011
5.0
Version: 1.5.0475.0
This program is very handy. Simple, clean, and easy to use. In Osx we have lots of archivers, but all of them lack a proper graphical interface or simply decompress all the files without asking on the same directory. You can configure the program to show the contents When you open a file and then extract the selected file(s) you want where you want. Adding an aditional file to a ZIP archive is as easy as drag and drop. Should be improved: Stability, i´ve opened some 7zip files that crashed randomly the program. Interface localized in more languages. Currently is only in English A bit pricey for being a "simple" program. I think 20 bucks is a more realistic price, not 30.
DOCa-Cola
DOCa-Cola
May 19 2011
1.5.0475.0
4.5
May 19 2011
4.5
Version: 1.5.0475.0
It has been a long time that i have been using WinZip on my Windows system, i think that has been even before 2000 that i switched to WinAce and later Winrar. Now i am a Mac user since a few years and am quite happy with tools like the integrated Zip functionality or The Unarchiver. But you don't always want to extract the whole archive to get just one file. That's why i have bought BetterZip back then. I don't like the UI of BetterZip, it is not thoroughly thought of to be user friendly. I saw that now a mac edition of WinZip is available and thought to give it a try. I was surprised how fast and convenient to use it was. I also like the UI which is much more within UI guidelines than BetterZip is. I hope they don't bloat the mac edition like they did with the Windows version later on. It can handle all archive types and is not limited to Zip like the name may suggest. I think the name WinZip doesn't fit too well at all, but i can live with that. They probably think they get more attention with their "famous" windows counterpart. WinZip IMHO currently the best archiving software for mac. If you are someone who likes to view the contents of an archive before extracting it.
jamesnrth
jamesnrth
May 14 2011
1.5.0475.0
1.5
May 14 2011
1.5
Version: 1.5.0475.0
All the features it gives and more can be had for free by using other apps. Just search for ZIP on MacUpdate Name annoys me to no end. Don't call Mac software WinAnything for Mac that's just LAME! What's next? WinAmp for Mac? MacUpdate for Windows? What a joke!
Libertyforall1776
Libertyforall1776
May 9 2011
1.5.0475.0
0.0
May 9 2011
0.0
Version: 1.5.0475.0
With Zip built-in to Mac OS X now, what is the point of this app?
Nukefixer
Nukefixer
May 3 2011
1.0.0393.0
5.0
May 3 2011
5.0
Version: 1.0.0393.0
Fantastic program
Pirx
Pirx
Apr 30 2011
1.0.0393.0
2.5
Apr 30 2011
2.5
Version: 1.0.0393.0
WinZip praises its encryption of archives. However, the encryption option is only available when choosing the "e-mail archive" function, which then opens Mail.App to send the encrypted archive. No thought has been wasted, apparently, on the following: - The user only wants to create an encrypted archive, he does not want to e-mail it. - The user does not use Mail.app, but another e-mail client. - Zipping from the context menu is desireable. I strongly suggest to rectify the a.m. errors asap and to implement functionality similar to the Windows version.
Nontroppo
Nontroppo
Apr 28 2011
1.0.0393.0
2.5
Apr 28 2011
2.5
Version: 1.0.0393.0
Actually, the UI is not too bad, this uses a landing window with big icons to create or open archives; it is not simple (poor) port of the windows UI. Non-standard installer, but a built-in uninstaller to compensate and very mac-like preferences. However, for the price this has very few features. BetterZip is $10 cheaper and much more powerful in terms of supported formats, integration and UI flexibility for extraction (not to mention the wonderful quicklook plugin).
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
Apr 28 2011
1.0.0393.0
0.0
Apr 28 2011
0.0
Version: 1.0.0393.0
I like what the appearance of this utility says about development on the Mac - that long time Windows developers are finally taking the Mac seriously. I wouldn't want to discourage them in that effort. In this case they do have a branding problem, though. On the one hand, WinZip is a well established product on Windows so they have some brand equity to trade on; on the other hand, a Mac utility with "Win" in the name will be an instant turn-off for long time Mac users. I agree they would probably do better on the NAS if Apple will let them in than here on MacUpdate which tends to attract experienced Mac hands who are accustomed to browsing for software and updates online. In an interesting aside, they priced WinZip at 4 cents less than Stuffit. In fact I still use Stuffit Expander sometimes because it will unpack files that OS X's built in decompression utility won't.
Fishscale
Fishscale
Apr 28 2011
1.0.0393.0
0.0
Apr 28 2011
0.0
Version: 1.0.0393.0
Winzip stick to what you do, windows. The mac side is covered. Way too many free alternatives and great shareware apps already available, namely BetterZip. Thanks for your interest in developing mac software but please develop something unique and needed. You will probably have better luck putting this on MAS to catch new scared windows converts.
Germano60
Germano60
Apr 28 2011
1.0.0393.0
0.0
Apr 28 2011
0.0
Version: 1.0.0393.0
I agree with Moxiesozo. There's no point in paying for something which is already built-in in the Finder and in the OS X itself, with no real added value for the everyday user.
Moxiesozo
Moxiesozo
Apr 28 2011
1.0.0393.0
0.0
Apr 28 2011
0.0
Version: 1.0.0393.0
-- Almost 30 bucks for a tool to compress/encrypt files? The Finder has built-in zipping, and Disk Utility offers encryption. Both of these are FREE with the from-the-factory Mac OS X installed on every Mac. Save your hard-earned money.
Celio-Vibenna
Celio-Vibenna
Apr 28 2011
1.0.0393.0
4.0
Apr 28 2011
4.0
Version: 1.0.0393.0
Very nice utility, finally a Mac edition for one of the best sellers in Windows OS world. Simple, fast and powerful.