Back to Crystal Black page
Crystal Black free download for Mac

Crystal Black Reviews

1.6.6
22 July 2013

OS X theme with glossy interface.

Pirx
25 September 2012

Most helpful

I totally appreciate this excellent effort! We need more of this! As a Linux Gnome junkie, I long for a nice dark theme for whitish-grey-in-whitish-grey OS X. With the arrival of the white dock Mountain Lion now achieved the ultimate mix of airport toilet and hospital flair.... Apple should really allow and support themes.
Like (6)
Version 1.6.2

Read 23 Crystal Black User Reviews

Rate this app:

jack2001
08 October 2014
non scaricate questa applicazione per nessuna ragione al mondo. per risistemare il vs. mac ci impiegherete ore.
Like
Version 1.6.6
ylluminate
28 February 2014
How are things coming here? I am saddened to see the slowed pace of development.
Like
Version 1.6.6
Pirx
25 September 2012
I totally appreciate this excellent effort! We need more of this! As a Linux Gnome junkie, I long for a nice dark theme for whitish-grey-in-whitish-grey OS X. With the arrival of the white dock Mountain Lion now achieved the ultimate mix of airport toilet and hospital flair.... Apple should really allow and support themes.
Like (6)
Version 1.6.2
3 answer(s)
ylluminate
ylluminate
27 October 2012
Dark themes are critical to Pro users. Working in darker studios and even developers with dimmed lights or at night make the light interface a curse and nightmare. I have begged Apple for years to facilitate an OS pro theme.
Like (6)
Aergern
Aergern
22 July 2013
@TGBX And you added nothing but taunt to this thread. What not just remain quiet vs. telling someone what they do or do not need... what they do or do not like and what is or is not required for anything. If you don't have something productive to add... the way to go is... quiet. kthanx.
Like (4)
ylluminate
ylluminate
22 July 2013
Yeah @Aergern, @TGBX really was way off base here. Sad to hear such negativity lack of insight in a rant. Oh well, as they say, consider the source and ignore the remark. We end up a lot happier that way! :)
Like (3)
P=NP
13 September 2012
This is one of the worst applications ever. The GUI is hideous and it feels as though you're using Windoze 98. It's really not all that surprising though, considering it was made by a non-professional person. I recommend to anyone considering to use this — don't bother.
Like (1)
Version 1.6.1
1 answer(s)
ylluminate
ylluminate
13 September 2012
What a negative review. I really don't believe that this author merits this kind of negativity here. I've found him to be quite accommodating and passionate about his product. Further, my interactions with him have been quite professional. This application is sorely needed for OS X as I've been pleading with Apple for 10 years now to give us a Pro dark theme to reduce eye bleed when you work in studios and darkened office areas, as well as the normal person who uses their laptop or workstations at night.
Like (4)
ylluminate
24 August 2012
The REQUIREMENTS area needs to be updates so that it no longer says it's not compatible with Mountain Lion.
Like (2)
Version 1.6
2 answer(s)
MacUpdate-Ryan
MacUpdate-Ryan
24 August 2012
Thanks for catching that ylluminate, I've updated the requirements.
Like (2)
umaromc
umaromc
13 September 2012
The Requirements are still the same; still states that it doesn't support ML but the description states it supports ML 10.8.2
Like
Jimw
15 August 2012
Create an LCAR's interface and I'll consider it, as many others would. That would be worth $10 to me or perhaps more.
Like (2)
Version 1.5.2
1 answer(s)
MichaelHaeusler
MichaelHaeusler
10 September 2012
I'd even pay more than $10 for an LCARS interface. :)
Like (1)
ylluminate
15 August 2012
This developer has exactly the right idea. We desperately need a dark theme that works. I am not keen on the shiny elements of this as I'd like a duller and more "OS X" appearance (i.e., keep nearly all the elements the same as standard, but darken them down down to black or near black, therefore pulling the ui on out of the forefront). Have had some odd issues, but this is definitely moving in the right direction.
Like (1)
Version 1.5.2
aquino0120
27 July 2012
Buggy, if you install Crystal Black be sure to uninstall before any update of your operating system. You will be stuck with missing graphics and unable to uninstall Crystal Black.
Like (2)
Version 1.5.1
Carlm54stl
19 June 2012
I used this for a week. I tried uninstall it and it won't go away. Used spotlight to find files for it and came up with none. Tried to install new version and it failed to install. There is no controls or preference button in menu bar now........???????
Like (5)
Version 1.5
5 answer(s)
Llscotts
Llscotts
19 June 2012
This guy is an idiot. You'd think the first thing he'd do is visit the developer website, wouldn't you? There's a wealth of information on using the software... a list of FAQs, Tips, a user's guide, etc. He can't seem to do the most basic thing: READ. Oh well... and then he thinks he's reviewed the software and his opinion is worth sharing? Sheesh.
Like (2)
Y-Guy
Y-Guy
25 August 2012
Wow. To the developer I was looking at buying this as the theme looked pretty interesting, but when I saw your comment to Carl I shocked that any developer would say anything publicly like "this guy is an idiot" that total lack of professionalism just cost you sale. Word of advice, move out of your mom's basement and learn to run a business.
Like (5)
Colossus9
Colossus9
26 August 2012
The developer should be jettisoned from MacUpdate for publicly being unprofessional on this site.
Like (4)
Jwiede
Jwiede
27 October 2012
To MFM (developer): Another lost sale here as well. As much as I think your product would be perfect for my needs, your behavior here was unprofessional enough to kill any interest I might have had in doing business with your company. Publicly apologize to Carlm54stl and all your customers, then (and only then) get MacUpdate to remove your insult-ridden missive, etc. and those driven away might reconsider. Shockingly poor conduct.
Like (3)
Llscotts
Llscotts
18 November 2012
Sorry if I offended anyone with my earlier comments. I do get frustrated with users who don't bother to understand the scope and options of software they then trash without doing any basic troubleshooting. As a Martian, I do tend to use the word "idiot" rather liberally, and sometimes I'm not very tactful.
Like (1)
pbeck
31 May 2012
This is an amazing and unique piece of software. If you have any interest in changing your interface from Aqua to something more interesting, it's a definite buy. Yes, as others have pointed out, there are some glitches. But I find that by disabling individual applications it's extremely usable. It also helps to use native Mac apps rather than those based on Java or those from Apple competitors like Adobe and Microsoft. This helps avoid some of the problems noted in previous reviews. The creative work behind CB is beautiful and brings joy. I do hope that the developers are proud of their achievement. All in all, I'm very pleased with Crystal Black!! It's a great looking interface and well worth the $8.00 purchase :)
Like (1)
Version 1.4
Claod
25 February 2012
C'est de la grosse merde, ça fout le bordel avec les autorisations et le parfeu apres la desinstallation. Le design est foiré, pas de barre transparente, aucun réglage réellement accessible. ZERO
Like (2)
Version 1.2.4
Pirx
17 February 2012
My sincere thanks for the herculean effort to bring some change to the dull greyness of OS X GUI. I really appreciate it. Having said that, there is just too much that does not look right when using this theme. But I thank again for providing a clean uninstall.
Like (2)
Version 1.2.4
Mac007
17 February 2012
This program has potential but it has some nasty problems with Apple's App Store, My Living Desktop, and Digital Sentry. Apple's App Store launches ok but then begins to flash on and off endlessly making the computer completely unusable. The only solution was to do a shut down which had to be attempted twice before it was successful. The other two apps would not load at all and Digital Sentry even popped up a warning message regarding CCI. Because of this I've had to uninstall CCI on both my laptop and my Mac Pro due to these problems. I'm afraid Apple is dead set on stopping these types of programs and it looks to get worse with Mountain Lion. Maybe that's why most developers have given up and gone on to other things. Sorry to be the bearer of bad news as I really wanted to like this app.
Like (1)
Version 1.2.4
1 answer(s)
Llscotts
Llscotts
03 April 2012
FYI, that was a bug that was quickly fixed and updated in a new release.
Like
Llscotts
07 November 2011
In you're trying Crystal Black on Lion, here's a tip to make the install complete: After restarting when the install program finishes, logout again, and deselect the checkbox that offers to reopen your windows when you log in again. Doing this will allow Crystal Black to load normally. For more information and answers to frequently asked questions, refer to the FAQ page on the Crystal Black website.
Like (1)
Version 1.2.2.2
Mac007
03 November 2011
Link to developer's website leads to dead end.
Like
Version 1.2.2.1
2 answer(s)
Llscotts
Llscotts
07 November 2011
That problem was solved.
Like (1)
Mac007
Mac007
15 February 2012
Indeed it has! Good job!!
Like
Culture-Of-One
01 November 2011
Latest update wiped all my settings and replaced them; had to go back and reconfigure the interface after installing. Also noted some issues with Mail: after adjusting the color settings in CB, whichever message is selected at the time in Mail winds up permanently highlighted (as if it were part of a thread). Even if the message is deleted, the highlighting remains in the Trash. Furthermore, it retains the highlighting color settings; if the settings are changed when it isn't selected, the message will still be highlighted in the old color scheme. Very odd behavior.
Like
Version 1.2.2
Magrathean
16 October 2011
There's a little thing called Crystal Black For iTunes which solves the problem of CB not working on iTunes 10.4. But now iTunes 10.5 is out. Does anyone know whether CB For iTunes works properly on it? I don't want to download iTunes 10.5 and try it out myself because my past experience with iTunes tells me that downgrading to a previous version of iTunes is a nightmare, especially if you've updated your music library since upgrading. Thanks in advance.
Like
Version 1.2.1
2 answer(s)
Llscotts
Llscotts
07 November 2011
An update for Crystal Black iTunes has been released.
Like (1)
Magrathean
Magrathean
07 November 2011
Thank you, MFM. =)
Like
WordWeaver
25 September 2011
Even though I am not really a theme person, because I like to keep my system as light and fast as possible, out of curiosity, and because it looked nice in the web screenshots, I went ahead and downloaded Crystal Black. I should have listened to the warning comments here instead. Not only was I not impressed by this theme running on Lion -- it looks like something out of the 1990's and has jagged edges around some of the icons, and other issues -- but contrary to the developer's claims, even though I used the uninstaller to remove it from my system, and have since rebooted my iMac, there are STILL remnants of this theme on my machine, such as with the App Store app. Even relaunching the App Store app a few times does not remove Crystal Black from its menu bar. I am not a happy camper.
Like (1)
Version 1.2.1
3 answer(s)
WordWeaver
WordWeaver
25 September 2011
I just wanted to update my previous comments. After running the Crystal Black uninstaller a second time last night, and rebooting my machine a second time, the remnants of Crystal Black finally disappeared from the App Store app menubar.
Like (1)
inplainview
inplainview
27 September 2011
I hear you dude. I hope EVERYONE reads this. This is a terrible, terrible app that makes some very bad changes to your OS. I am still finding issues. I am tempted to do a Time Machine restore just to see if I can put my system back before I installed this poorly written app. I can not remember the last time I have even been as disappointed as I am with an app.
Like
Musings From Mars
Musings From Mars
31 May 2012
To Inplainview: I think you misunderstood WordWeaver's second comment. He says the second uninstaller SOLVED his problem with the App Store. To everyone else: Please note that Inplainview was using a very old (in software years) version of Crystal Black, and that his experiences reflect relatively small bugs in the software that were quickly fixed. Also, in general, if you write a review of software, try to spend some time using it rather than reacting to one bug that may have pissed you off. If you find a bug, the best way of reporting it is to write the developer, which is easy enough to do, rather than reporting it here. I only visit this page once every few months or so. To submit a bug, visit the Crystal Black website and click the "Feedback" button at the top of the page.
Like
Culture-Of-One
24 September 2011
I'm having trouble upgrading. I currently have v1.2 installed, and see an update to v1.2.1 is available. CB v1.2 doesn't recognise the update as being a newer version, so I can't upgrade through the CB menu. Probably just isn't set up yet to recognise version numbers of x.y.z format. I'll try to download and install via this site instead.
Like
Version 1.2.1
1 answer(s)
Culture-Of-One
Culture-Of-One
01 November 2011
Same issue with upgrade to 1.2.2. My system tells me I have a newer version than is available!
Like
inplainview
24 September 2011
This is the worse application I have used to date. It jacked up my Safari (reset it), changed the way YouControltunes works, and is basically not a very well thought out application. I would not even bother to try it unless you are willing to a chance on your OS being hosed.
Like (1)
Version 1.2.1
2 answer(s)
Culture-Of-One
Culture-Of-One
24 September 2011
Oddly, I've never had any of these problems, and I've been using it for quite a while. CB is designed to alter the way things look, not the way they function, but there is the potential for some programs to be adversely affected. Usually if a program doesn't work well under the new graphics, you can disable CB for that app. It isn't a fix-all solution, but it's a start. The developer is very responsive to issues, and tries to address any bugs in a timely fashion. I highly recommend contacting him with your concerns, as perhaps he can address any problems in the next update. Or, he may have already experienced this problem and have a work-around for it. Some of these solutions are listed in the documentation.
Like (3)
inplainview
inplainview
24 September 2011
Thanks Culture of One for the reply. While some of the things you say may be true, I still find the fact that my settings on many apps have been changed by CB unacceptable. I would not recommend this app to anyone and I would caution anyone thinking of using it by saying that there are some very unexpected results. I am steering clear of this app for sure.
Like
Culture-Of-One
26 July 2011
Clearly Apple's iTunes 10.4 update is a little too Lion-ready; CBv1.1 won't work on iTunes 10.4. For those who really want CB to work on iTunes, don't upgrade to v10.4 yet!
Like
Version 1.1
1 answer(s)
Magrathean
Magrathean
13 September 2011
Hello. I'm a huge fan of keyboard shortcuts; I use most of them constantly, especially for window-handling. I'm also a huge fan of tabs in Safari; I open related websites in different tabs in a single window and only create a new window when I want to open a website that's completely unrelated to what's open in existing windows. I installed Crystal Black, which is absolutely beautiful (Cathode used to be my favourite theme when I used ShapeShifter), but since then Safari's "Close Window" and "Close Tab" keyboard shortcuts are messed up. If my active Safari window had more than one tab open, command+W would close the active tab and command+shift+W would close the entire multi-tabbed window; if it had only one tab open, command+W would close the window. When I installed Crystal Black, command+W was removed for tabs; it began closing entire windows regardless of the number of tabs open. I went to System Preferences > Keyboard > Keyboard Shortcuts > Application Shortcuts and set it so command+W would close the active tab and command+shift+W would close the active window, but this is rather uncomfortable (I hate not being able to close a single-tabbed window with command+W) and, I hope, only a temporary solution. I'd be grateful if you could look into this. I'm using Snow Leopard, by the way (with the Lion reviews I've read, I have absolutely no intention of going there for the time being). Thanks in advance. Cheers.
Like
Zephyris
07 July 2011
Why no love for lion?
Like (2)
Version 1.1
3 answer(s)
Ilovemymac
Ilovemymac
07 July 2011
Lion is not even out yet. Give the developers time to create a working version for Lion. You can't expect things like this to just work on new systems. The developers need to make sure it can work safely with out totally screwing up the system. Good things come to he who waits.
Like (5)
Zephyris
Zephyris
08 July 2011
Thanks for the speech but unlike you I visited the developers website which states he won't be releasing a version for lion.
Like (4)
Ilovemymac
Ilovemymac
08 July 2011
No need to be rude. Just making a statement. Why does everyone always have to come back with rude remarks on this site? You could have just said. "Thanks, but I visited the developers website which states he won't be releasing a version for lion." And left "unlike you" out of it. Let's be grown up people here.
Like (4)
Wts
25 April 2011
Reminds me of Unsanity's ShapeShifter.
Like (2)
Version 1.0