Back to iBoostUp page
iBoostUp free download for Mac

iBoostUp Reviews9.0.1

05 April 2021

Optimize your Mac, fix performance and errors.

MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
Petit_Sac
Petit_Sac
Apr 6 2021
9.0.1
5.0
Apr 6 2021
5.0
Version: 9.0.1
Up to version 9 now and it's still pretty good, but I have to say the screenshots on this site are very outdated. Is this page developer approved or does the whole macupdate just scraping the web pages without image refresh I'm wondering? If the developers are watching this page, I would suggest a new feature to show your machine's temperature on the main screen.
Petit_Sac
Petit_Sac
Mar 23 2021
8.9.8
5.0
Mar 23 2021
5.0
Version: 8.9.8
The iBoostUp update candence (about once a month) is impressive and the features keep improving. I really love the new security features like Spyware Doctor, Keylogger Guard, HID Implant Guard, etc. The good thing about these functions is that unlike some other apps, they are able to detect as yet unknown threats to your privacy. Did you know that 'The Unarchiver' has integrated analytics? I did't know it either, but Spyware Doctor's heuristic warning alerted me. Now I am using a different unarchiver.
ShotBlocker
ShotBlocker
Mar 8 2021
8.9.8
0.0
Mar 8 2021
0.0
Version: 8.9.8
This is not a review per se, it is a discussion of the class of software to which this program belongs. As a public service to the MacUpdate community, I've found as many of these "cleaner" apps on this website as I could and listed them them below. Before you even *think* of installing any of them, PLEASE read this: https://discussions.apple.com/docs/DOC-8841. There are now 76 (that's SEVENTY-SIX) programs in the list, and it seems like new entries in the 'Mac cleaner' market space pop up every day, metastasizing like a cancer. Unfortunately, more is not better. They are all of dubious value. Many have no reviews here. Many have what look to be essentially fake 5-star reviews with no useful commentary. Many -- probably the most accurate and honest -- have negative reviews, by users who have been burned by them. Most of the developers' descriptions boast about what a great job they do, but the truth is, there are no good, comprehensive, head-to-head reviews of these programs by impartial 3rd parties. True experts in macOS maintenance advise against using any of them, because in general they serve little useful purpose and they can easily do more harm than good. Macs simply do not need "cleaning." (See for example: https://www.thesafemac.com/the-myth-of-the-dirty-mac/) Some of these programs are notorious for being little more than malware. Many have "disk" in their name, although disks, especially internal ones, are now a thing of the past. (Although macOS still comes with the storage drive initialized as "Macintosh HD," a quaint relic of a bygone era.) You are well-advised to read any program documentation and make a RELIABLE BACKUP before attempting any changes. If I have missed any programs that should be on the list, please leave a comment and let me know. I will rate all these programs with one star, probably one more than they deserve. And I would appreciate comments. If you disagree, please speak up. But if all you can come up with is 5 stars and a sentence or two saying that program X is great and I don't know what I'm talking about, please save your breath. No one here will take you seriously. And I apologize for the almost unreadable formatting, a severe limitation of MacUpdate itself, which compresses maximum text into minimum space, leaving no whitespace for readability. :: BEGIN LIST:: Aooro : AppCleaner & Uninstaller : AutoTrash : Avast Cleanup : AVG Cleaner : AweCleaner : Broom : BuhoCleaner : CCleaner : Clean Disk : CleanGeeker : CleanGenius : Clean Me : CleanMyDrive : CleanMyMac X : Cleaner One Pro : Cocktail : Combo Cleaner : Disk Aid : Disk Analyzer Pro : Disk BoostUp : Disk Clean Pro : Disk Cleaner : Disk Cleaner Pro : Disk Diet : Disk Doctor : Disk Expert : Disk Health : Disk Janitor : DiskKeeper Advanced Cleaner : DiskKeeper Cleaner - Modern : DiskKeeper Pro : Disk Manager: Disk Sensei : Disk Xray : Disk Xray Lite : Doctor Disk Cleaner : FastScanner Pro : Hard Disk Manager : HD Cleaner : iBooster : iBoostUp : iCare : iMac Cleaner : MacBooster : Mac Cleaner : MacClean : MacClean360 : MacCleaner Pro : MacCleanse : MacEnizer : MacMaintenance : MacMaster : MacOptimizer : MacTuneUp : Mechanism8 : Mojave Cleaner : More Disk Space : Omni Remover : Power Booster : PowerMyMac : Precious Disk : Pro Disk Cleaner : Quick Cleaner : SubRosaSoft Drive Cleaner : Sensei : Startup Manager : Stellar SpeedUpMac : TrashMe 3 : Washing Machine : WeCleanse : WinZip Mac Optimizer : Wise Mac Care : Wise mCleaner : XustoDisk : Xustomite :: END LIST :: The only system maintenance tools I recommend are 1) TinkerTool System, a true bargain priced at only $14 for a single license. TTS is a an exceptional piece of quality engineering, safe when used properly, and superbly documented, with in-depth tutorials for every option. One of its many components is called "Uninstallation Assistant," which will find and remove app components, probably better -- and more safely -- than anything listed above. 2) OnyX, from Titanium Software, has a loyal following and gets good reviews here. 3) I have used Northern Softworks' "Cache Cleaners" in the past (the latest being "Big Sur Cache Cleaner," which I have not used) and their products were always first rate. Still, the same warnings apply. You can't just go hacking into your Mac, removing files willy-nilly, not knowing what function they perform. As for the SEVENTY-FIVE, listed above, it is safe to say that nobody who really knows what they're doing with Macs and macOS will touch them. Don't get sucked in by a pretty interface. You may very well regret it. -SB
vallee-blanche
vallee-blanche
Dec 17 2020
8.6.2
5.0
Dec 17 2020
5.0
Version: 8.6.2
Freed up loads of space. Love the Spyware Doctor function because it found a PUP that others missed. Had a question and support were very responsive and incredibly polite. Really cannot fault this app at all.
chofutaro8
chofutaro8
Dec 14 2020
8.5.3
5.0
Dec 14 2020
5.0
Version: 8.5.3
Latest version is 8.6.2 and looking better than ever on my 13" MacBook Pro. Previously you had to scroll around on smaller screens (was totally fine on the iMac and 15" MBP) Apparently this now has full support for Apple Silicon based machines. Getting my new one next week and will let you all know.
dupap56
dupap56
Dec 7 2020
8.5.3
5.0
Dec 7 2020
5.0
Version: 8.5.3
Many handy functions. Always easy to use. I've been using the app for about 5 years. Works really well on all 3 of my Macs: an ancient MacBook Air running El Capitan, iMac running Catalina and a Macbook Pro running Big Sur.
anilmushi
anilmushi
Dec 1 2020
8.5.3
5.0
Dec 1 2020
5.0
Version: 8.5.3
Really good. Works perfectly on Big Sir.
mussarat56
mussarat56
Nov 26 2020
8.5.3
1.0
Nov 26 2020
1.0
Version: 8.5.3
after installing software my imac external hard drives disappeared from desktop to reappear at one time and disappear again. since my backup was also in one of those i was scared and i deleted the software. after restart all is good and back to normal. when i asked for refund and posted my opinion i was called BAD MOUTH by support, good bye got tricked but that is okay life is full of surprises
mussarat56
mussarat56
Nov 23 2020
8.5.3
1.0
Nov 23 2020
1.0
Version: 8.5.3
iBoostUP app does not refund purchase amount if you don't like it, you have to get used to it one way or the other, SOLID PURCHASE and this is FAIR
mussarat56
mussarat56
Nov 23 2020
8.5.3
1.0
Nov 23 2020
1.0
Version: 8.5.3
iBoostUp, i requested for a refund and told all of you about it giving me problems, a TRAP, they replied that i am Badmouthing the product on the internet, very bold step in taking care of customers, i am impressed by the support@iboost.com
mussarat56
mussarat56
Nov 22 2020
8.5.3
1.0
Nov 22 2020
1.0
Version: 8.5.3
has messed up my imac, will not detect time machine backup and other external drives, and speed is not excellent either, no place to ask for refund either, paid yesterday, be careful from this TRAP, JUNK i feel
chofutaro8
chofutaro8
Nov 13 2020
8.2.7
5.0
Nov 13 2020
5.0
Version: 8.2.7
Nice incremental update for Big Sur and new free cleaning options. Latest for me is 8.4.
zlazkow
zlazkow
Nov 1 2020
8.2.7
1.0
Nov 1 2020
1.0
Version: 8.2.7
Totally agree with James(July 4, 2020). I tried it. Useless. Even the "free features" are not exactly free. Different "free" scanning features, do not remove anything. You have to PAY. Each feature has....a different PRICE! Their FAQ has all answers....except the PRICE. Onyx does everything and better.
James
James
Jul 3 2020
8.1.2
0.0
Jul 3 2020
0.0
Version: 8.1.2
I would not consider this product as it is being sold using a "Bait & Switch" marketing trick. Yes it can be downloaded and used with limited functionality but I could not find anywhere that it listed the cost of the optional paid features, if it used a subscription model for paid features, or what the basic features included. It seems that the only way to become a fully informed consumer to make a purchase decision is to download and install it, then if you not find the basic features, whatever they are useful, or the costs of the advanced features, then you have to figure out how to uninstall it and get rid of all the support files it may install on your machine. In general if a developer is not up front with the actual cost of a product I more then likely will not even consider trying it. It simply poses the question to me, "What are they trying to hide and for what reason". I believe consumers have an inalienable right to know the actual cost of a product so that they can make an informed decision before obtaining it.
chofutaro8
chofutaro8
Jul 3 2020
8.1.2
5.0
Jul 3 2020
5.0
Version: 8.1.2
Following up from last year: the constant updates and new features lead me to upgrade. IMHO totally worth it, the anti-spyware function found several of my installed apps were riddled with analytics and trackers. Still good as a cleaner and a good scanner for peace of mind.
ericstengaard
ericstengaard
Dec 10 2019
7.7.79
1.0
Dec 10 2019
1.0
Version: 7.7.79
Keeps shutting down when I try to open :(
JacAbu
JacAbu
Sep 1 2019
7.4.48
5.0
Sep 1 2019
5.0
Version: 7.4.48
Most Excellent - aggressive developers - upgrade is worth it.
chofutaro8
chofutaro8
Apr 27 2019
7.0.37
5.0
Apr 27 2019
5.0
Version: 7.0.37
Does everything you'd want a cleaner to do and more. Would rate 5 if it was completely free.
RogerKatz
RogerKatz
Oct 14 2016
5.5
0.0
Oct 14 2016
0.0
Version: 5.5
The current version is apparently 5.5.3
PHdJ
PHdJ
Apr 6 2016
5.3
1.0
Apr 6 2016
1.0
Version: 5.3
Until now the paid version of iBoostUp looked promising but it is using more than 52 (!) Gb of RAM on my iMac with 24 Ram installed, thus memory swapping like crazy (El Capitan 10.11.4) whilest running the Disk Usage functionality ... that cannot be normal, right?!
iBoostUp's Memory Booster couldn't even solve that (it's own) issue ... :-(
Skapplin
Skapplin
Jan 23 2016
5.2
1.0
Jan 23 2016
1.0
Version: 5.2
Note that this is not altogether free. Many better features require purchases. From their own site:

* Free for premium users, also available for purchase seperately on Mac OS 10.7 (Lion) or above.

Apps like these are not really needed. Don't waste money on them.
fwilkinson
fwilkinson
Dec 22 2015
5.0
5.0
Dec 22 2015
5.0
Version: 5.0
Been using for about 2 months now. Awesome app no complaints and loving the new UI in version 5.
grantburgress71
grantburgress71
Nov 26 2015
4.5
4.5
Nov 26 2015
4.5
Version: 4.5
It frees a lot of space, and speed up the startup and Internet connection...
LionessSue
LionessSue
Nov 23 2015
4.5
5.0
Nov 23 2015
5.0
Version: 4.5
Handy & free. Many options and settings. Love it!
fwilkinson
fwilkinson
Nov 2 2015
4.5
5.0
Nov 2 2015
5.0
Version: 4.5
seems ok
Dougster
Dougster
Jun 7 2015
4.2
1.0
Jun 7 2015
1.0
Version: 4.2
Crashes on start up, so I've had to reinstall previous version.
Bart-Pans
Bart-Pans
Feb 11 2015
4.0
0.0
Feb 11 2015
0.0
Version: 4.0
Any pros using this instead of Onyx?
GianMarco.Tavazzani
GianMarco.Tavazzani
Nov 8 2014
3.98
0.0
Nov 8 2014
0.0
Version: 3.98
Maybe we should introduce a new category of apps, perhaps 'Halfware'? "Shyware'? '-'-"-Only-after-the-weddings-,-dear-!-"-ware'? Anyway it's for sure not a freeware nor a shareware which allows a full test and therefore not a proper rating.
PieterOpie
PieterOpie
Mar 23 2014
3.92
0.0
Mar 23 2014
0.0
Version: 3.92
One the one hand I have an app which requires extra bits that you pay for OR on the other hand I can choose from a whole slew of apps which do the same thing (and more) without the need for extra add-ons, all of which are absolutely FREE> Decisions... decisions... oh me oh my, which shall I install (if I haven't already done so)? A resounding no thank you. I'm fine. But thanks for the infomercial. ±}
Jeff-H-
Jeff-H-
Jun 9 2012
3.2
2.5
Jun 9 2012
2.5
Version: 3.2
I'm an owner of this software and have bought a few of the "functions" as well. Save your $...everything that this app/software does (and will do with purchased "plugins"), are readily available for free, and from what I've seen the free apps that I'm thinking about (and use), have way more features.
Cowicide
Cowicide
Jun 3 2012
3.2
0.0
Jun 3 2012
0.0
Version: 3.2
Does this give your Mac the cocaine?
GianMarco.Tavazzani
GianMarco.Tavazzani
Jun 3 2012
3.2
0.0
Jun 3 2012
0.0
Version: 3.2
Guys, can't you remember the old good times when our reviews were COMPARATIVE and USEFUL for both the users and the developers? And more, do you remember when the authors were describing what their app was doing? Now the comment are too often: "Good, nice, humm", nobody seems to care if its good but we had already better ones or if it's really a WOW, the author says it's WOW and not which kind of reasons made him think that there is a hole in the market and he had a great idea worth of his efforts were necessary for us folk and… often they even forget to tell us what is new in a new version. Let's restart to be enthusiast and love to go deeper on both sides in a mutual help to let grow this wonder that are our Macs (and WC, Windows Computers, dragged our of the mud with the usual delay of 12 years) by the time when the 2 Steves gave us a vision1
JamesHarrisPhoto
JamesHarrisPhoto
Jun 2 2012
3.2
0.0
Jun 2 2012
0.0
Version: 3.2
I bought this app and even upgraded to the premium version, and it's still just "okay". Not the best, not the worst. But does the developer really think that the REAL users in these reviews are fooled by the fake 5-star reviews from the likes of jul.lom, EddieMor (three 5-star reviews alone since March), and CodySimpsonlover? Or is it just another AMAZING coincidence that this app is the ONLY software they ever reviewed? And they joined MacUpdate just to review it?
Forn
Forn
Mar 25 2012
3.0
2.0
Mar 25 2012
2.0
Version: 3.0
It is not free. There are no "stop" possibilities to quit an ongoing test.
BillHicks
BillHicks
Mar 24 2012
3.0
3.0
Mar 24 2012
3.0
Version: 3.0
I use Onyx, Lion Cache Cleaner, TechTool Pro and CleanMyMac, this doesn't touch any of those apps, but its a fun little free app for the novice.
Dremwkr
Dremwkr
Mar 24 2012
3.0
4.0
Mar 24 2012
4.0
Version: 3.0
For a free program it does fine, it does do system upkeep. It has a really good clean interface and is easy to use. I have given it a good work out under MtLion dv2 and it ran great, which tells me that the basic coding in it is solid and reliable. I paid for (in app) for the Premium Package, and it ran well too. The premium pkg was I think less than $10 and includes not only all the current extras but any future extras the developer is working on (I am assuming that he is...). I agree with the other reviewers that this app should either: 1. Name this free app something like iBooster Free or iBooster QuickClean and the Premium version something like iBoosterPro or iBooster+ in the MacApp store. OR 2. Just call it iBooster in the MacApp Store but note right up front at the top that the free version does like QuickClean, Disk Health, Firewall check, Startup Items, etc. and "can be upgraded for $X" to include: (Specify additional functions). It also needs to say up front that it is written for and works only with Lion or better. Having said all that, it should be noted that even the "Premium" version does not do every thing that say Onyx does for free. In consideration of that, anything charged for more than $5 is basically on the wrong side of the Laffer curve (i.e. what I am saying is the Developer will maximize revenues on the program if he does no exceed beyond the apex of the curve which I think is about $5). As a practical matter, if the developer can get this thing to do more and better, THEN charge more. Just say'n.
Greedyfranky
Greedyfranky
Mar 24 2012
3.0
1.0
Mar 24 2012
1.0
Version: 3.0
This app is not free! There dozens op free alternatives with more features. One star because the developer is not correct about the price setting.
Greedyfranky
Greedyfranky
Mar 24 2012
3.0
1.0
Mar 24 2012
1.0
Version: 3.0
This app is not free. There are dozens of free alternatives with more features. One star because the developer is not correct about the price setting.
Baannongdong-Kap
Baannongdong-Kap
Mar 2 2012
2.9
2.5
Mar 2 2012
2.5
Version: 2.9
This app saved me 9+Gb! Overall very helpful app. Problem with lack of directions manual; only FAQ which was not very helpful. Some features must be bought to be used (usually titled "Lite" with "Pro" including opening all features).
I(pod)mac
I(pod)mac
Jan 25 2012
2.6
0.0
Jan 25 2012
0.0
Version: 2.6
I'm not so sure that this application be still free, since it is the second time that I have to paid to use a feature (this time: duplicate file finder).
I(pod)mac
I(pod)mac
Jan 21 2012
2.5
0.0
Jan 21 2012
0.0
Version: 2.5
I downloaded this app from the developer's site and from MacUpdate and the version number is always 2.4, not 2.5.
Afcgbbob
Afcgbbob
Jan 1 2012
2.4
2.0
Jan 1 2012
2.0
Version: 2.4
My G5 2.0 gig died and it was nice to know I still have my connections from my writing days because one friend sent me a G5 2.7 gig due to our long friendship. Anyhow off topic, I wanted to try iTuneUp but sadly it was for Intel only. So I went to his web site hoping to find a leopard version. In all the versions he wrote not one was PPC based and there were many versions there. I just cannot understand why he could not of written on universal one before making it Intel only. Due to this I have to give it a overall rating of two for not letting leopard users from getting a crack at it before going totally PPC. I know Apple has know called most G5's obsolete but my G5 is considered Vintage for some reason. I wish I would of had a chance to try it. End of Line...
thebookman
thebookman
Dec 23 2011
2.2
3.5
Dec 23 2011
3.5
Version: 2.2
Was dubious due to some negative reviews but quite polished for a free app and had no problems. The screenshot looks different to what came up on my mac. Suggestion: Camino cookies should be handled.
Chas830
Chas830
Jun 20 2011
1.1.3
0.5
Jun 20 2011
0.5
Version: 1.1.3
Never worked.
George-Baron
George-Baron
May 20 2011
1.1.3
0.5
May 20 2011
0.5
Version: 1.1.3
1.1.3 still crashes on "System Report" on my late 2006 Core 2 duo iMac. Not willing to try again on my 27" i5 quad core iMac until the developer gets it together.
gacorrea
gacorrea
May 18 2011
1.1.2
0.5
May 18 2011
0.5
Version: 1.1.2
Completely messed up my Mac. Ended up having to reinstall OS 10.6.3 and all associated updates. The only favorable thing this utility alerted me to is that MacKeeper was putting stress of my CPU.
Rjmorita
Rjmorita
May 17 2011
1.1.2
0.0
May 17 2011
0.0
Version: 1.1.2
Granted, it has some bugs. The documentation is sparse. But the response by the tech support has been good so far. After all, it's free. Give it some time. Hopefully, it will improve.
Flash1296
Flash1296
May 17 2011
1.1.2
0.0
May 17 2011
0.0
Version: 1.1.2
Freezes my 27" Quad Core iMac every time. "Not ready for prime-time"
WillemDeJong
WillemDeJong
May 13 2011
1.1
4.0
May 13 2011
4.0
Version: 1.1
Still working fine for me on the iMac 27 inch. The flash component inside Chrome is what it alerts on most. Would be nice to have a bit more detail on what it's cleaning in manual mode. People are saying no contact info but as far as I can tell they've always had the forum contact information on their website. I'm going to join now and see if they respond.
George-Baron
George-Baron
May 13 2011
1.1
0.5
May 13 2011
0.5
Version: 1.1
Well, although the Optimize function did it's thing (whatever that is) on my older late 2006 iMac. When I just tried the "System Report" all it does is crash, crash, crash.