Back to NoSleep page
NoSleep free download for Mac

NoSleep Reviews1.5.1

11 April 2019

Close your MacBook without putting it to sleep.

How would you rate NoSleep?
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
shineyyu7
shineyyu7
Apr 11 2021
1.5.1
5.0
Apr 11 2021
5.0
Version: 1.5.1
NoSleep is SO helpful~!!!! it is so easy to use and i would highly recommend it to any mac user
artie505
artie505
Dec 21 2020
1.5.1
1.0
Dec 21 2020
1.0
Version: 1.5.1
NoSleep is working for me in Big Sur without my having to jump through any hoops! :)
artie505
artie505
Dec 12 2020
1.5.1
1.0
Dec 12 2020
1.0
Version: 1.5.1
Will NoSleep ever be Big sur compliant?
leedrich
leedrich
Sep 20 2020
1.5.1
0.0
Sep 20 2020
0.0
Version: 1.5.1
Fixed Kernel Not Loaded error in Catalina. Go to your Mac Settings > Security & Privacy > General At the bottom of the screen you'll see 'Allow open application by Pavel.....' Boom!
reillyc
reillyc
Feb 18 2020
1.5.1
1.0
Feb 18 2020
1.0
Version: 1.5.1
I have tried to download No sleep many times but a message keeps popping up saying "No sleep kernel extension not downloaded". What do I do to get this app working?
martijnwesselink
martijnwesselink
Feb 12 2020
1.5.1
0.0
Feb 12 2020
0.0
Version: 1.5.1
If Nosleep won't startup, put Nosleep into logon (user/groups). This way it will startup.
artie505
artie505
Feb 9 2020
1.5.1
1.0
Feb 9 2020
1.0
Version: 1.5.1
I haven't looked at NoSleep in a while, so I just d/l'ed the latest version to see if its critical flaw has been fixed, and I"ve found that it hasn't, thus a one star review for an otherwise five star utility. NoSleep is the ONLY app/utility I"ve ever run across that allows you to set a pref and then unilaterally changes it with no warning, and in this instance, it could cost you your Mac. Try this: While operating your laptop on AC power, set your NoSleep pref pane for "Never Sleep on AC Adaptor;" now toggle your menu bar icon off, then on; now check your pref pane, and you'll find that along with "Never Sleep on AC Adaptor," "Never sleep on Battery" has been toggled on too. Congratulations! Your Mac is now ready to fry if you put it into your knapsack without realizing what you've done. Sorry, but no matter that the developer thinks that this is what people want, it is 100% TOTALLY INEXCUSABLE for an app/utility to unilaterally override a pref that has been set by a user with no notification.
foreverneilyoung
foreverneilyoung
Dec 13 2019
1.5.1
0.0
Dec 13 2019
0.0
Version: 1.5.1
I think it doesn't work with Catalina
tijosfx
tijosfx
Nov 27 2019
1.5.1
0.0
Nov 27 2019
0.0
Version: 1.5.1
Version 1.5.1: Not working with MacOs Catalina (MacBook Pro). Can't Install The error message is: NoSleep Kernel Extension is not loaded. Help me, please. Thanks
critifur
critifur
Nov 1 2019
1.5.1
3.0
Nov 1 2019
3.0
Version: 1.5.1
I really like NoSleep, but I am unable to figure out how to access it's preferences. The only functionality I have it to turn it on and off via the menu bar. It is not appearing in sys prefs, and I cannot get a drop down menu from the menu bar icon. Would someone let me know what I am missing.
june8
june8
Jan 7 2019
1.4.0
5.0
Jan 7 2019
5.0
Version: 1.4.0
1.5.0 works well with Mojave!
bro-guy978
bro-guy978
Sep 27 2018
1.4
1.0
Sep 27 2018
1.0
Version: 1.4
how do you get the app to work? or even appear on the laptop? ive downloaded the app, but it just pops up and the installer even tho ive tried to instal the app multiple times
alexandersp8
alexandersp8
Mar 28 2018
1.4
1.0
Mar 28 2018
1.0
Version: 1.4
How tf can you delete this app cause even though its deleted it still doesnt sleep when i want it to
gtwalleye
gtwalleye
Oct 12 2017
1.4
4.0
Oct 12 2017
4.0
Version: 1.4
I've been using NoSleep for the past six weeks or so, MacBookAir, Early 2015, with macOS Sierra 10.12.6. NoSleep is at 1.4 - and I've updated at least once since I've downloaded the app. I am a mobile user - I am often away with only my MacBook Air and when I come home I like to "dock" my MacBook Air with a KRADL Air mount - which closes the display lid my Air. I typically dock my Air as follows: - Close the MacBook Air without NoSleep running (the Air goes to sleep) - Plug in the MacBook Air - MacBook Air awakes, utilizes external display (via DisplayPort), USB Apple Keyboard and Magic Trackpad via Bluetooth - Start NoSleep and ensure it's enabled - Disable NoSleep by clicking on the ZZ's and uncheck Enable - Re-enable NoSleep by clicking on the ZZ's and check Enable After I do this it works pretty much everytime. I'm not sure why I have to disable then re-enable NoSleep after initiating it, but if I don't my MacBook Air goes to sleep. I have had one issue that caused me to hard reboot the Air - but it only happened once, not sure it was NoSleep's fault. I believe it's best for my battery to use it a few hours a day and when I'm docked I can run my machine unplugged. Thoughts?
chillycat
chillycat
Aug 27 2017
1.4
5.0
Aug 27 2017
5.0
Version: 1.4
Been using NoSleep on MBP[s] with model year[s] 10-12-15-17. Main use is for media server and have directed output [video/sound] HDMI to external "big screen" TV. So there's always an output plug connected, while lid is closed. Never an issue with any machine, any OS Version. Since we constantly stream network TV and watch 1000's of movies, if this app was anything less than a A+++++ product, we would had ditched it long ago.
ultrarelativistic
ultrarelativistic
Aug 1 2017
1.4
5.0
Aug 1 2017
5.0
Version: 1.4
ONLY app that works. even when closing lid (clam shell) it keeps my machine processing. Great for long running processes.
ahmetcan-ozbek
ahmetcan-ozbek
Mar 29 2017
1.4
0.5
Mar 29 2017
0.5
Version: 1.4
This app almost messed up my computer. Once you launch, it messes up with your configurations. Stay away
Orubin
Orubin
Jan 15 2017
1.4
1.0
Jan 15 2017
1.0
Version: 1.4
I am not impressed. Yes, this keeps the computer from sleeping just as it advertises. But even when I uncheck the NoSleep function, or quit the app, my computer will not go to sleep now. I have uninstalled the app, still, my computer is stuck in NO SLEEP hell, refusing to sleep even if I use the Sleep command on the Apple Menu. I too think this is garbage ware. I like the idea, and it was helpful when I wanted it to stay on a few times, but if you can't turn it off, and it wont go off even when turned off, then it has a major problem. Now, my computer refuses to sleep, forcing me to shutdown every night, or leave it on until it kills the battery.
lrtoh
lrtoh
Oct 24 2016
1.4
5.0
Oct 24 2016
5.0
Version: 1.4
Seems to be malfunctioned for MacOS Sierra. But perfect for El Capitan. MacBook Pro 13" Retina Mid 2014 128GB.
guidopalmeri
guidopalmeri
Aug 31 2016
1.4
2.5
Aug 31 2016
2.5
Version: 1.4
I have installed the application for two days, but when I put in the external monitor by the HDMI and close the screen, it shuts down after thirty seconds.
james-marinis1998
james-marinis1998
Jul 9 2016
1.4
5.0
Jul 9 2016
5.0
Version: 1.4
Awesome app that I think everyone needs
nostrand
nostrand
Jul 9 2016
1.4
3.0
Jul 9 2016
3.0
Version: 1.4
How do you successfully instal version 1.3? After I installed version 1.4 which did work, I uninstalled 1.4 and tried to install 1.3. 1.3 complained that the "plugin" or "extension" (I forget which) wasn't on my computer. Comparing the two packages: NoSleep 1.4 is 1.3 MB while NoSleep 1.3 is only 515 KB. NoSleep 1.3 claims to date to Saturday, February 25, 2012 at 2:49 PM while NoSleep 1.4 claims to date to Saturday, November 15, 2014 at 3:41 PM. What am I missing? I would prefer to run a more foolproof version of the software, but version 1.3 is claiming to be missing components under OS X 10.11.5.
spruso
spruso
Jun 8 2016
1.4
4.0
Jun 8 2016
4.0
Version: 1.4
Unlike some others, I am quite happy with version 1.4.0 of this software. It does what it is supposed to do. I previously ran version 1.3.1 on Mavericks, and as far as I am concerned version 1.4.0 is essentially the same except that it runs on El Capitan. Yes, if you turn it on to not sleep on the battery, of course you will flatten your battery and maybe damage your screen. A solution to this is to turn it on via the Preferences... menu item, when you can specify no sleep only when on AC power. Two minor improvements would be (a) turn the menu bar icon a different colour when activated, so you are less likely to miss the fact it is on (probably contravenes Apple's guidelines, but hey); (b) have a menu item to activate only when on AC power. PS, and it is frankly nonsense to call this MALWARE just because you don't like it.
AaronGreen3955
AaronGreen3955
Mar 3 2016
1.4
1.0
Mar 3 2016
1.0
Version: 1.4
Loved it til I realized it was the reason my Macbook Air battery would be dead in the morning if it wasn't plugged in. Yes, all the settings were correct and tried many fixes. Now I use InsomniaX which works great and doesn't kill the battery if the Macbook isn't plugged in!
sagaciouslyours
sagaciouslyours
Oct 11 2015
1.4
0.5
Oct 11 2015
0.5
Version: 1.4
PLEASE DO NOT INSTALL ON EL CAPITAN. RAN IN THE BACKGROUND EVEN AFTER EXITING AND IT DAMAGED MY SCREEN AND NOW PERMANENT BLUE LINE APPEARS ON THE SCREEN.
cto-dva-keep01
cto-dva-keep01
Oct 1 2015
1.4
0.0
Oct 1 2015
0.0
Version: 1.4
Since Google Code support is being phased out, does this have a future ? Read-Only prevents any updates/maintenance
vance-callinan
vance-callinan
Jul 6 2015
1.4
0.5
Jul 6 2015
0.5
Version: 1.4
Do not use this app. It keeps your computer running at full power at all times even when the laptop is closed and because of this it has permanently damaged my macbook pro's screen. I downloaded this app to keep my laptop from disconnecting from my external harddrive when I closed the screen however when I put my laptop in my backpack as I always do to take it to work it was apparently still running all processes at full speed generating a LOT of heat without being able to properly dissipate it all. This caused the screen to be irreparably damaged as the windows I had open are burnt into the screen and there are other lines burnt in to the screen over the parts of the laptop that get the hottest. I would not reccomend this app to any mac laptop owner because it is way too easy to forget that this app is running in the background and cause irreparable damage to your macbook.
emil-vissing
emil-vissing
Apr 8 2015
1.4
5.0
Apr 8 2015
5.0
Version: 1.4
Awesome! It just works..
rachelhodos
rachelhodos
Mar 13 2015
1.4
3.0
Mar 13 2015
3.0
Version: 1.4
I find this very useful. The only problem I have though is that occasionally I forget that it's on, and I close my Macbook without it being plugged in, and next thing I know I've completely run down the battery. I wonder if it would be possible to add a feature where, when you close your Macbook while NoSleep is enabled, the apple light on the back of your laptop would flash a few times? Would totally save some batteries out there!
ngxtri
ngxtri
Feb 8 2015
1.4
5.0
Feb 8 2015
5.0
Version: 1.4
Works perfectly on my Mac Book Pro late 2012, Yosemite OS X 10.10
TechGuru
TechGuru
Dec 24 2014
1.4
5.0
Dec 24 2014
5.0
Version: 1.4
Seems to be working well on my late 2013 MBPr running Mavericks 10.9.5
uni-goonie
uni-goonie
Dec 8 2014
1.4
1.0
Dec 8 2014
1.0
Version: 1.4
Loved this app (and paid $) until today, when it ran an auto update and installed the newest version which is completely incompatible with my older system. Not cool. Now wasting time attempting to restore from Time Machine to the older version.
GianMarco.Tavazzani
GianMarco.Tavazzani
Nov 27 2014
1.4
5.0
Nov 27 2014
5.0
Version: 1.4
I would give it a '6 stars rating' IF it could prevent in some way to shut down for exhausted battery if forgotten closed and unplugged for some more time
GianMarco.Tavazzani
GianMarco.Tavazzani
Aug 1 2014
1.3.3
5.0
Aug 1 2014
5.0
Version: 1.3.3
MacUpdate Desktop insists to 'update' it with the app having the same name but discontinued in 2003!
NomanS4449
NomanS4449
Jul 14 2014
1.3.3
5.0
Jul 14 2014
5.0
Version: 1.3.3
Cant update but the old version 1.3.3 works like charm on my os 10.9.4 :)
KaydianW7368
KaydianW7368
Mar 27 2014
1.3.3
5.0
Mar 27 2014
5.0
Version: 1.3.3
Just downloaded this app and it works for my late 2013 rMBP XD Kudos
TechGuru
TechGuru
Mar 13 2014
1.3.3
5.0
Mar 13 2014
5.0
Version: 1.3.3
Does not work on late 2013 MBPr. System sleep will override NoSleep and the wifi connection will still disconnect. Tested by downloading on battery with NoSleep, did not even close lid.
TechGuru
TechGuru
Mar 13 2014
1.3.3
5.0
Mar 13 2014
5.0
Version: 1.3.3
Does not work on late 2013 MBPr. System sleep will override NoSleep and the wifi connection will still disconnect. Tested by downloading on battery with NoSleep, did not even close lid.
ChrisE5937
ChrisE5937
Aug 15 2013
1.3.3
4.5
Aug 15 2013
4.5
Version: 1.3.3
A very simple applet that does exactly as it says. Usage and Tutorial - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S6r0Qy8ycs4
Herojig
Herojig
Aug 12 2013
1.3.3
5.0
Aug 12 2013
5.0
Version: 1.3.3
Does not work on an MBA 2013. But I gave it 5 stars for having a decent uninstaller.
anito
anito
Apr 1 2013
1.3.3
4.5
Apr 1 2013
4.5
Version: 1.3.3
Does what it says :) Have been looking around for a mac application which would allow me to shut my lid while keeping my application (e.g.. songs from internet etc) active. Why wouldn't Apple see sense and implement this simple option into their OS!
artie505
artie505
Mar 29 2013
1.3.3
1.0
Mar 29 2013
1.0
Version: 1.3.3
IMPORTANT HEADS-UP!!! If you set your pref for EITHER adapter OR battery, and you subsequently toggle NoSleep's menu bar icon off/on, BOTH adapter AND battery will become selected. The potential exists for a user who has opted for adapter only to unknowingly turn on battery and create a dangerous situation in which a MacBook could be closed and stuffed into a knapsack WHILE IT IS STILL GENERATING HEAT.
normb
normb
Mar 26 2013
1.3.2
0.5
Mar 26 2013
0.5
Version: 1.3.2
Will not run on my MB Air using 10.6.8 - just says : ooops NoSleep Kernel Extension is not loaded. How do I fix this ??
HPPOLLACK
HPPOLLACK
Jan 26 2013
1.3.1
4.5
Jan 26 2013
4.5
Version: 1.3.1
Magnificent app. Does exactly what it says. Works great on Mountain Lion.
kaiijy
kaiijy
Dec 18 2012
1.3.1
4.0
Dec 18 2012
4.0
Version: 1.3.1
When i first put eyes on NoSleep i've thought there wasn't an application for this kind of drill. Every time i wanted to go to bed and leave my MBP doing a backup or downloading a torrent, i had to hide it somewhere open, away from my cat. Now i can just close it and let it work I'm still getting used to everything, but so far it is a great application.
Schranke
Schranke
Dec 18 2012
1.3.1
5.0
Dec 18 2012
5.0
Version: 1.3.1
So i have tested this app on my rMBP some days now. This app makes life easier, since i can now close my mac and have it working on something. I often upload big files to dropbox for sharing and now i simply just drop them in before going to bed and activate NoSleep, next morning all is fine and dandy. The app is simple and easy to use. For this function you don not find an app there is easier to use.
artie505
artie505
Dec 11 2012
1.3.1
1.0
Dec 11 2012
1.0
Version: 1.3.1
NoSleep v1.3.1 repeatedly causes SysPrefs to crash in OS X 10.6.8...reverted to v1.3.0...useful and functional otherwise.
Sleek
Sleek
Dec 10 2012
1.3.1
5.0
Dec 10 2012
5.0
Version: 1.3.1
I upgraded NoSleep to 1.3.1 after uninstalling version 1.3.0 which worked great. Version 1.3.1 Kept on crashing on early 2011 Macbook Pro running Mac OSX 10.6.8 with 8GB Memory, I uninstalled v1.3.1 and installed v1.3.0 that works.
Sleek
Sleek
Dec 4 2012
1.3.0
5.0
Dec 4 2012
5.0
Version: 1.3.0
Excellent Preference Pane and quick access from Menu Bar. Works without hitch on My early 2011 13.3" Macbook Pro running Snow Leopard 10.6.8 with 8GB Memory
steve23094
steve23094
Aug 25 2012
1.3.0
3.0
Aug 25 2012
3.0
Version: 1.3.0
Was working under 10.8. Stopped working when I upgraded to 10.8.1.