Back to Flexiglass page
Flexiglass free download for Mac

Flexiglass Reviews

1.7.1
27 February 2019

Window manager.

julia555sara
27 April 2016

Most helpful

Like Flexiglass because it allowed me to personalize my keyboard. It's very convenient for me as I use my mac for work a lot, so the app just helped me to save my time. By the way, my friends also like it^^
Like (5)
Version 1.6.1

Read 25 Flexiglass User Reviews

Rate this app:

Memphisbird
22 June 2017
I have been a longtime user of Zooom, but it doesn’t work with some apps any longer (Opera browser, for one), and it’s no longer being supported. ​There are a number of window organizers available for Mac, but I don't want to just move my window to a corner or to the top or to the bottom. I want the complete flexibility of using a key or keys and moving my mouse over the window to resize or move, just like I could do in Zooom. Flexiglass does exactly that. It does more than that, actually, but that was the selling point for me. I downloaded the demo from their website (yes, a demo, almost unheard of anymore) in the morning and bought the app in the evening. I didn't need the 15-day demo period to know I was going to buy it. It works perfectly with all the apps I use every day and all the browsers I use. I did have a problem with the app not accepting my license key, though, and I sent an email to the support address. I got a response in NINE MINUTES! Good to go!
Like (2)
Version 1.6.1
1 answer(s)
Nulana
Nulana
08 June 2019
Thanks! Flexiglass is still supported. We have released an update in October 2018 and March 2019.
Like
Scott-C-H-
29 January 2017
Here goes another "system enhancement utility" gone abandonware, just like TotalFinder, TotalSpace, Zooom2, Optimal Layout, FinderPop, to name a few. Looking at their blog, Remotix is the only app they care about at this point. I’ve paid for a lot of Mac utility software like this only to end up seeing them become an abandonware. This is why I have decided to never pay for and install “system enhancement utilities" like this on my Mac. It is a matter of time before the developer finds it either impossible or not worth the trouble to maintain it. Apple updates the OS, and this type of utility is almost guaranteed to break in some way. It is more challenging and tricky to fix because this kind of utilities needs to address far more variables than a typical stand alone application minding its own business within its boundary. Here is how it always turns out; You buy a piece of software like this thinking you can miraculously improve the user experiences. Then, you start spending more time tinkering and troubleshooting as you use it more. Soon, you become a volunteer beta tester for the developer while you also become unnecessarily attached to its novel, optional functionality. After a while, you stop seeing updates and bug fixes, and then you painfully realize that the developers of the utility abandoned it for one reason or another. You will be left with a lot of frustration as a result of your novel setup ripped apart only because some developers no longer felt like doing anything with it. I'm sick and tired of this classic pattern with indie developers and wasting my time and money in the process. I found that, in the long run, these “system enhancements” added more complexity, frustration and “needs” to tinker with, and that just one troubleshooting session would erase any little bits of time I might have saved by using this type of utility. I found that I was much better off just making good use of all the default features on my Mac and eliminate the “needs” to use this type of “enhancement” all together. Any small gains in user experience are not worth the massive trade-off of depending on this type of utilities.
Like (3)
Version 1.6.1
1 answer(s)
Nulana
Nulana
08 June 2019
We are sorry you feel that way. Yes, we've been very busy developing Remotix. But we have released several updates to Flexiglass as well.
Like
Paganel
13 December 2016
constantly falling
Like
Version 1.6.1
1 answer(s)
Nulana
Nulana
09 June 2019
In case of app failure could you please drop us a line at support@nulana.com?
Like
julia555sara
27 April 2016
Like Flexiglass because it allowed me to personalize my keyboard. It's very convenient for me as I use my mac for work a lot, so the app just helped me to save my time. By the way, my friends also like it^^
Like (5)
Version 1.6.1
1 answer(s)
Nulana
Nulana
09 June 2019
Thanks!
Like
TheBloke
28 November 2015
I used this for a couple of years at my last company, and I liked it because it was the only app I knew of that let me add actions to the window title buttons (red/yellow/green) - like maximise/close app. I've now come back to using Mac and installed Flexiglass trial, expecting to purchase it for myself. But then I discovered BetterSnapTool, which does more than Flexiglass for 1/5 the price ($1.99) I'm afraid that Flexiglass is completely eclipsed by BetterSnaptool, which has literally every feature that Flexiglass has as well as many more, at a much lower price. There's simply no reason to buy Flexiglass right now with its current feature set. Also, I must say I find Flexiglass' constant Trial reminders to be highly annoying. I know I'm on a trial, you don't need to remind me randomly several times a day, popping up a window distracting me from what I am doing! If you insist on trial reminders, at least make them Notifications so I don't get new windows stealing focus all the time. I do feel bad saying an app is completely pointless, so here are some suggestions for things Flexiglass could add that would make it worth considering in future: 1. Multiple window tiling: the ability to select two or more windows, and have them tiled on screen, either horizontal or vertical. Eg two or three windows = halves/thirds; four windows = quarters in each corner, etc. Ideally, with automatic re-size - if I resize one window, the other window(s) dynamically resizes as well (like Windows 10 has.) 2. Snapped-together windows ('magnetic'): join two or more windows, such that when I move window A, window B is moved together with it.
Like (2)
Version 1.6.1
1 answer(s)
TheBloke
TheBloke
28 November 2015
Actually I just realised that BetterTouchTool also provides the ability to remap the window title buttons (red/yellow/green) - and this tool is completely free.

So I think it's safe to say that even BTT does all that Flexiglass does, for nothing, and then BST for $2 does it even better.
Like (2)
ylluminate
03 February 2015
To be fair, I'd like to make a remark before I rate this. This app is probably the cleanest / easiest app of its type at the moment. I quite like it when compared to Moom and such (Moom is really neat, but disappointingly overly complicated in a couple areas). One thing I would very much like to see, for us multi-monitor / head users with large displays is a grid system to allow easier control over areas of the screen. Such a large granularity adjustment for 27 and 30 inch monitors leaves much to be desired. I frequently have an additional column or row in the mix aside from the traditional four quadrants.
Like (3)
Version 1.6
2 answer(s)
Nulana
Nulana
08 February 2015
Thanks. The grid system is in development now but we can't make any promises on how quickly it will be implemented.
Like (1)
ylluminate
ylluminate
13 October 2015
Still looking forward to this @Nulana!
Like (1)
Iliketrash
19 February 2014
See my comments below. This is one of those can't-do-without programs. It quicky becomes second nature and resizing and moving windows the "old" way is just too much work. Nice job.
Like (2)
Version 1.5.4
TheSocalEskimo
26 November 2012
I love this product, I really do. Absolutely superb features, ease of use, customizing options. But this product seemed like it was causing a lot of problems. The biggest thing was that it would not let my mac mini restart. It would go to the white screen as with the loading circle to shut down but never get any further than that till I would have to hard shut down my computer. Another thing that it would affect would be that sometimes I could not open my preferences pane accept by restarting(hard shut down) of my computer. And I don't know if it's related to flexi glass but now some of my usb ports on my computer are not even working even though I uninstalled flexi glass... Not happy here. I really really really want this to work, I used to use mondo mouse till I upgraded to Mountain Lion as it was not supported, and had to find alternatives like flexiglass. Still looking for one. I really really want to like this product and would, but it just causes too many serious problems. Also if anyone was wondering. Even though I upgraded to mountain lion, I have not had any of these problems after Mountain lion upgrade until installing flexiglass. Uninstalling flexiglass has fixed all the problems accept for my usb ports which makes me believe that that was not caused by it, but everything else without a doubt was. I deeply regret not being able to recommend this product and because of these problems I can't give the value or overall rating anything but the lowest score since it is not worth the consequences. I hope that you guys can fix some of these issues in the future.
Like (3)
Version 1.5.2
Mark-Lee
01 July 2012
I have everything turned off in the app (move, resize, layouts), but whenever I move my mouse cursor, the app spikes to 3% of CPU usage. Whaaaa?
Like (4)
Version 1.5.2
Iliketrash
27 March 2012
Still waiting for a fix for the bug where this program misinterprets trackpad readings during window drags, making the window move much faster than expected. Otherwise, this program is potentially the most efficient with regard to CPU and RAM usage of its competitors. The best of the breed was Zooom2 but it doesn't work correctly when resizing windows on Lion.
Like (1)
Version 1.5.2
3 answer(s)
Nulana
Nulana
05 April 2012
Thanks, we are working on it.
Like
Iliketrash
Iliketrash
15 May 2012
Well, it seems that selecting the Mouse setting rather than Multitouch Trackpad is a workaround. What i missed before I paid for this is that the window resizing is not four-quadrant, meaning that windows can't be expanded to the left or top. I hope this gets fixed real soon.
Like
Iliketrash
Iliketrash
19 February 2014
I just saw my comment about "window resizing is not four-quadrant," from a couple years ago. Not sure what I was seeing then but I've used this program hundreds of times a day since then. Window resizing is left half, right half, top half, bottom half, quarter-screen (top left, top right, bottom left, bottom right), full screen, and centering. I might be forgetting something here. Also the ability to drag or arbitrarily resize any window without bothering to hit the toolbar or the 1-2 pixel invisible region at the edge of a window is sublime. This is a five-mouse program.
Like
Revco
28 February 2012
Not Shareware. App Store only. $7.99 US = $7.42 AUD. On the Australian App Store for $8.49 AUD. Nice software but I really don't like the App Store.
Like
Version 1.5.2
4 answer(s)
Nulana
Nulana
29 February 2012
Thanks for the feedback. You can buy Flexiglass through Plimus. http://nulana.com/support
Like
Revco
Revco
29 February 2012
Huh? It's $9.99 US if I buy from you. You don't make it easy trying to find the link to buy on your site. For anyone else looking, it's… https://secure.plimus.com/jsp/branded_store.jsp?developerId=712012
Like (1)
Nulana
Nulana
29 February 2012
It's $7.99 on Nulana's support page (link + promo code).
Like
Revco
Revco
03 March 2012
Nope. Nothing about a Promo Code there. Bought BetterSnap Tool instead.
Like (1)
Trashie
16 January 2012
Good app does some nice missing features but the memory use of this app seems to be very high....
Like
Version 1.5.1
Vyselegend
15 December 2011
Your app is very functional, useful, practical, and helpful. Unlike the eye candy confusing mess that mostly is the app Moom.
Like (1)
Version 1.5.1
Nerdnase
08 December 2011
I use it every day and especially like the features for two screen setups. Works well. (I have to turn it off when using Photoshop because it interferes with cloning key shortcut).
Like
Version 1.5.1
Surfspirit
29 August 2011
Too much CPU and RAM!!!
Like
Version 1.3.1
enigma2k
14 August 2011
I really like the app but it suffers from stability issues under Lion and I would really love to have the option to bring windows to the front while moving/resizing like it is possible with Zooom2. I really don't get why such a basic feature is not already implemented...
Like (2)
Version 1.3
Best option for Lion right now when it comes to emulating the window management features of X11. Only down side is it seems to slow my cursor down when I'm moving windows.
Like
Version 1.3
Stig77
08 July 2011
Doesn't Better Touch Tool do all this (and a lot more)?
Like
Version 1.2
4 answer(s)
Nulana
Nulana
16 July 2011
Just try the free trial to find out.
Like
Trashie
Trashie
26 July 2011
No that is one big bug nightmare and is useless in lion most of the nice gesturers are now built into lion you will need out the box. Had it's day but is not needed now. Who wants to gesture up all those wacky combos. Lion has the ones you can remember and is fine for me. Flexi glass has a much superior way of dealing with snapping. Try it you will see. The keyboard shortcuts are really nice for the old school who still think keyboard shortcuts are better than gestures. ;)
Like
Stig77
Stig77
26 July 2011
I'll have to disagree with that. I've been using BTT with Lion without any problem. I like the key combinations I've made and think the app is great. I do suppose it's what each person is used to, to some degree.
Like (1)
Trashie
Trashie
27 July 2011
I don't mean to say BTT does not work on Lion I just mean once you add in all the lion built in gestures I don't think you need it anymore. Apple have done a great job choosing the easiest most natural ones to remember. Not to mention if you switch all that and use other Macs without your BTT config your going to get in a right old muddle. That is why I try not to mess with keyboard shortcuts or you sit down on another Mac and oh what a headache. But then again I am not a one Mac person. BTT was a pioneer for sure but with Lion it is just not required for me. For extension I still think keyboard shortcuts built into apps are easier as I seem to able to remember them over fancy gesture patterns. The only gestures I can remember are easy ones like Apples in Lion. I used about the same on SL via BTT myself but with Lion I am happy now with Apples built in way. On a side note I think jitouch is far more polished than BTT.
Like
Ronl
04 July 2011
Tech support is unresponsive. Before I purchased this software they were very responsive, but now that I purchased it emails to them on June 13th (i.e. 3 weeks ago) have went unanswered. Nothing... not even a 'we'll get back to you on it.' I have multiple problems using dual monitors and they appear to be either in denial or simply unable to fix the problems. I would not recommend any developer that does not provide reasonably quick responses.
Like (3)
Version 1.2
5 answer(s)
Nulana
Nulana
04 July 2011
Please check your sent e-mail messages.
Like (1)
Ronl
Ronl
04 July 2011
I definitely have not received any emails from Nulana tech support in weeks.
Like (2)
f-rol-orange-fr1926
f-rol-orange-fr1926
12 August 2011
I have problems with Flexiglass, the only app which do crash my computer. I send crash report and i asked help on their Support. At first in french, aweek ago. No response. So i asked help again on their website, in my best english. On their site it is mentioned "We guarantee a response for every request within 2 business days. If you don't get a reply from us, check your junk/spam folder ... and more". No response, nothing in my spambox. Not fair at all, This is a behavior indecent.I regret having purchased this app at the developer. No after sales service. Do not buy ! Regards, F Rol (France)
Like (1)
Ronl
Ronl
12 August 2011
Apetwr, I would suggest you do as I did... I got a refund. This app has great potential but it appears that there are some features that are not able to be resolved as yet.
Like (2)
f-rol-orange-fr1926
f-rol-orange-fr1926
13 August 2011
Hi, With reference to my reply of 12 Aug, I write to tell you that I have received a response of the developer this morning 13 Aug. This allows me to register again Flexiglass 1.2 ho works fine with OS X 10.6.8. But I cannot update to v 1.3, it crashes my computer. I await now a solution definitif to be able to update without crashes. regards, F Rol (France)
Like (1)
Shmk
03 July 2011
I am getting this error running rampant in the console Flexiglass[4069] [AXHelper] error: copyElementAtPosition: AXUIElementCopyElementAtPosition(165.0:571.0) returns kAXErrorCannotComplete.
Like
Version 1.2
1 answer(s)
Nulana
Nulana
13 August 2011
Please contact us via support@nulana.com
Like
Kohoutek
14 June 2011
On 10.5.8, tried to install trial version of 1.2, but it won't open. Exception occurs. Here's the error: Exception Type: EXC_BREAKPOINT (SIGTRAP) Exception Codes: 0x0000000000000002, 0x0000000000000000 Crashed Thread: 0 Dyld Error Message: unknown required load command 0x80000022 Would like to at least try the software, thanks.
Like
Version 1.2
1 answer(s)
Nulana
Nulana
13 August 2011
Please contact us via support@nulana.com
Like
Magosilvan
02 June 2011
Great little App in continuous evolution. No crashes on my Macs neither under Leopard nor Snow Leopard.
Like (2)
Version 1.2
Randy-Crawford
23 May 2011
This app is really great except that it crashes frequently (quite frequently) on my computer. I have the feeling it is because I have multiple monitors. It seems to crash most often when I move/resize a window to a monitor other than the main one. It kills zooom2. It's not much trouble to relaunch it, but I hope to see the crashing fixed.
Like (1)
Version 1.0.6
2 answer(s)
Nulana
Nulana
24 May 2011
Could you please upgrade to the new version?
Like (1)
Randy-Crawford
Randy-Crawford
05 June 2011
I've found that this app is always being worked on. As I've upgraded to the newest version, the problems have basically gone away. I use this continuously now, and if there is a question or problem the developer is very responsive. They seem determined to have a great product and as far as I'm concerned they've achieved just that!
Like
Jeff-Wholeman
21 May 2011
Great app but why MAS version still on 1.00????
Like (1)
Version 1.0.5
3 answer(s)
Web-Jive
Web-Jive
21 May 2011
I purchased this application via the App Store as well and I also track progress on Macupdate.com. The Macupdate (paid version as well) is at 1.06, while the App Store version is at 1.0. The developer seems to have made a sizable amount from the app store and is neglecting to update the version we purchased from the App Store. My advice, don't purchase this app until the developer starts updating the App Store version. The developer is already talking version 1.1 on Macupdate while the App Store version is stuck on 1.0.
Like (2)
Macintosh-Sauce
Macintosh-Sauce
22 May 2011
I just noticed that too when I went to check the preferences. It's missing a whole bunch of stuff. If this isn't updated asap I am going to demand a refund from Apple.
Like (1)
Nulana
Nulana
24 May 2011
It takes a little bit more time to update Mac App Store version. The update is waiting for approval.
Like (3)
Ronl
11 May 2011
Seems excellent so far (testing) and it has rave reviews at the app store. Just needs windows that have been 'snapped' to an edge to resize to their original sizes when moved away from their 'snapped' positions (i.e monitor edges).
Like (3)
Version 1.0.2
3 answer(s)
Nulana
Nulana
11 May 2011
Thank you, Ronl. You can resize windows to their original sizes with keyboard shortcuts. We'll implement the same thing for mouse.
Like (1)
Ronl
Ronl
11 May 2011
It would be nice (as asked by other reviewers on the App Store... if the resizing was automatic when the window was moved away from the edge to which it was anchored. I have to remember so many shortcuts using the Adobe Creative Suite that I would't bother using the Layout feature if I need to use keyboard shortcuts to resize windows after moving them away from the edge.
Like (3)
star-affinity
star-affinity
21 May 2011
”Just needs windows that have been 'snapped' to an edge to resize to their original sizes when moved away from their 'snapped' positions (i.e monitor edges).” Just downloaded this for the first time (version 1.0.6) and this seems to be the way it behaves as far as I understand. So I guess your (and others) feature request was implemented. :) This software must be really nice for a Windows users switching to the Mac and missing some features when it comes to window management.
Like (2)