Back to Trim Enabler page
Trim Enabler free download for Mac

Trim Enabler Reviews

4.2
19 December 2018

Improve solid-state drive performance.

Libertyforall1776
09 December 2012

Most helpful

The app does not work on 10.8.2 with an OWC Mercury 6G SSD. *sigh* :(
Like (3)
Version 2.2

Read 65 Trim Enabler User Reviews

Rate this app:

Lesoth0
21 May 2019
Works really well in Mojave (to 10.14.5 thus far).. Have it on multiple upgraded 5690 MacPro 5.1's with Samsung SSDs as Boots and Storage.
Like
Version 4.2
DragonMaster
24 February 2018
This is a MUST have if you want to have SMART on all of your drives! Recognized by DriveGenius and others.
Like (1)
Version 4.1.2
birou
01 October 2017
Beware! Trim Enabler 3 is not working with High Sierra and Cindori asked me to pay extra to upgrade to 4 so that I could use it on 10.13. Thus beware before investing in apps that are not future proof (as a matter of fact Condori are one of the few - if none - developer I know who asks for money after purchasing their product so that it works on macos upgrades!!). Buying this product will most probably draw as well some more money from your pocket sometime in the future. Not to mention that you can enable trim in the terminal with one line of code...
Like (1)
Version 4.1
Shk747
29 August 2017
google how to enable trim on macs, apple's own site shows what to do ;-)
Like (2)
Version 4.0.5
JacobsG
15 October 2016
Not sure anyone would still need this. macOS enables this for all SSD support trimming.
Like (2)
Version 3.6
3 answer(s)
anonymous-thrush-1121
anonymous-thrush-1121
17 October 2016
man trimforce
Like (1)
rardin
rardin
17 October 2016
True for OS X 10.10.4+ , but not earlier versions of the OS.
Like (1)
Lounge-Deluxe
Lounge-Deluxe
03 August 2017
you can also enable Trim for a Thunderbolt SSD. The Trimforce command does not seem to accomplish this.
Like
rardin
15 October 2016
There is an issue with version 3.6 that causes the Trim Enabler pane not to appear when the program is started on at least some systems (reported so far for systems running 10.7.5 and 10.8.5). The developer is working on resolving the problem.
Like
Version 3.6
1 answer(s)
rardin
rardin
17 October 2016
This problem appears to be resolved in version 3.6.1, which was released yesterday.
Like
BenjaminW
12 July 2016
Not sure but doesn't OSX10.11 enable trimming for support for all SSD even if it is not an official SSd from Apple?
Like (3)
Version 3.5.1
2 answer(s)
Abramurkwian
Abramurkwian
12 July 2016
You are right. Trim Enabler is not needed since Yosemite. There is a terminal command "trimfoce" (enable/disable) which control all SSDs. Moreover, Trim Enabler must not be used together with trimforce!
Like (1)
Lounge-Deluxe
Lounge-Deluxe
13 July 2016
Also the trimforce command through Terminal doesn't enable trim for external thunderbolt ssd drives, with Trim Enabler you can.
Like
TCalhau
25 February 2016
Exceptional program! Worth every penny! Thanks to the developer! =D
Like
Version 3.4.3
Coolapic
09 December 2015
Trim Enabler is no longer working (at least for me) under 10.9.5 since I instaled the latest security update (2015-008 released today december 9 - 2015). Looks like the patch isnt sticking anymore, despite turning it ON and reboted numerous times. Hope there will be a fix soon. Otherwise it's a great software that I purchased long time ago !
Like
Version 3.4.2
morton.d
23 October 2015
Good stuff, have used it for years (payed version) but thanks to Apple - no longer needed
Like
Version 3.4.2
Mcr
06 July 2015
IF YOU OWN A SAMSUNG EVO OR EVO PRO, 840 OR 850, be sure to install the latest firmware before turning on TRIM support
http://www.samsung.com/global/business/semiconductor/minisite/SSD/global/html/support/downloads.html

There is a lot of confusion about the multiple issues with the Samsung and the need for firmware update. Some users are insisting the problem is only with Linux, and you don't need a firmware update. Not true, there are actually TWO critical issues discovered so far with the EVO drives, one Linux related, the other NOT.

One problem, related to the drives having an incorrect bit set that tells the OS what type of NCQ queing command it supports. The incorrect bit says that EVO supports beyond normal sequential queued TRIM commands (it does not) and then Linux attempts to implement (which does support more than sequential) and runs in to problems.

Windows and OS X ignore this bit because as of now, they only support 'normal' sequential TRIM, so is unaffected BY THIS ONE PARTICULAR PROBLEM.

HOWEVER, there is ANOTHER issue with Samsung EVO related to reading data that is 'old' (not been accessed for a long time) where the charge may degrade, requiring multiple attempts to read the data. This problem is not OS specific and deals with the actual physical nature of the drive itself. The latest firmware from April 15, 2015 fixes this by periodically 'refreshing' in the background all the data on the drive to keep the charge strong, even data that isn't accessed. This problem affects the drive regardless of OS, so highly recommended you update the firmware. Read more about this SEPARATE PROBLEM UNRELATED TO THE LINUX PROBLEM HERE:
http://www.extremetech.com/gaming/203449-new-samsung-840-evo-firmware-will-add-periodic-refresh-capability

Firmware update is provided as an ISO bootable CD image that will boot Macs or Windows PC., using a Linux micro kernel, that locates and updates the drive. I've updated without issues.

As for all the conspiracy theories about why Apple did not enable trim support for non Apple branded SSDs, until now, this is a perfect example. Apple no doubt tested all kinds of brands and manufacturers when deciding who to use in their own machines, and likely found that many had bugs in their implementation TRIM. This has been confirmed now in early drives using Sandforce controllers in which live data could be incorrectly marked and deleted by using TRIM. Apple did not want people turning on TRIM with other drives, and then be accused of data loss or issues which were outside of their control, and be BLAMED for it, as people would automatically assume based on their experience with rotational drives that 'it can't be the drive, it must be Apple'. BAM ! Class action suit. So after testing and finding out the brands they would NOT use in their machines, Apple decided the safe approach was only enable TRIM on the drives that passed their testing. Publicly, Apple would never issue a list of BAD drives; that's not their responsibility, and they have complex relationships with component manufacturers they have to protect. Company X may have a bad SSD that Apple won't use, but it still buys memory chips from X, for example.

To that point (that some SSDs brands are not fault free or were not early on) here it is mid 2015 and even a brand as popular as Samsung EVO, we're still discovering issues. If you have an older drive with a Sandforce controller, you may want to consider upgrading too. Note that OWC which sells SSDs using Sandforce controllers, from day one tried to convince everyone their drives didn't need TRIM (bogus)....well now we kind of know why they were saying that. Amazing how their marketing turned what was a undisclosed bug into a reason to buy the product.
Like (1)
Version 3.4
3 answer(s)
Libertyforall1776
Libertyforall1776
06 July 2015
First of all, there are NO 850/850 PRO firmware updates at the link you provided! So why are you spreading FUD about models unaffected/with no firmware updates?


As for OWC SSDs, I am still waiting for them to post to their blog an update to their position on TRIM for their Sandforce-based SSDs...
Like
Libertyforall1776
Libertyforall1776
06 July 2015
Update: OWC replies on trimforce:

http://blog.macsales.com/?s=Trimforce
Like
Mcr
Mcr
07 July 2015
To all, my typo error, I meant firmware is available for the models 830 and 840, not the 850. If you have an 850 model, it is not effected by the either read refresh or sequential trim bit error. I apologize.
Like
Libertyforall1776
05 July 2015
To enable TRIM on 10.10.4 and above, simply type sudo trimforce at the UNIX command prompt! You don't need a TRIM application any longer...
Like
Version 3.4
4 answer(s)
Soren0
Soren0
06 July 2015
According to the developer, Oskar, he says it's safer to enabler TRIM via the application then to use the trimforce command. See https://www.cindori.org/safely-enable-trim-on-yosemite-and-el-capitan/

He says "This is the easiest and safest way to enable Trim on OS X. It is even better than using the new built in trimforce command"
Like
Mcr
Mcr
06 July 2015
First thing, the full command is "sudo trimforce enable" not "sudo trimforce'

Secondly in reply to @Soren0 although I admire people for being loyal to Oskar, the idea that Trim Enabler is 'safer' than using Apple's now BUILT IN AND DOCUMENTED trimforce command in 10.10.4 is misguided and misinformed.

Apple has enabled trim in 10.10.4 using the same method they developed for El Capitan, There is a new Apple kext "AppleDataSetManagement.kext which is located in System/Library/Extensions which gets installed when you run the command 'sudo trimforce enable'. AppleDataSetManagement.kext injects a runtime option into IOAHCIBlockStorage.kext to enable TRIM. The new option is "Force Data Set Management = YES". No means no trim, YES, means enable TRIM.

IOAHCIBlockStorage.kext is the kext that Trim Enabler and all the other trim products traditionally PATCHED in the past, bypassing the Apple ONLY SSD check. The new injection method used by Apple requires no patching, it simply enables the new APPLE BUILT IN "Force Data Set Management = YES" option of IOAHCIBlockStorage.kext.

The reason Apple uses AppleDataSetManagement.kext to do the injection, IMO, is so they didn't have to modify IOAHCIBlockStorage directly, either for 10.10.4 or El Cap, minimizing dev and QA time. Turning it ON and OFF using a runtime injection option would not require binary changes to IOAHCIBlockStorage, which gets around Kext signing in Yosemite, and the new 'rootless' protection in El Cap.

Trim Enabler's new 'custom driver/kext', does EXACTLY what AppleDataSetManagement.kext does....at runtime it injects the Force Data Set Management = YES" option into IOAHCIBlockStorage.kext telling it to enable TRIM. It does the SAME thing, so IMO it is not 'safer', it's not dangerous either, the end game is the same, but one COULD argue that by adding another layer, based on a third party kext, if Apple does change the implementation in the future, it will break Trim Enabler, whereas if you use the new Apple command, presumably Apple will make sure any future 'under the hood changes' will still get handled correctly provided you use 'sudo trimforce enable' and everything passes through AppleDataSetManagement.kext as Apple intends.

The new custom driver in Trim Enabler, gets copied to /Library, instead of /System/Library. The reason a new driver is used by Oskar, is the same reason Apple used AppleDataSetManagement.kext, you need a process and method to perform the runtime injection. And, you no longer need to binary modify IOAHCIBlockStorage, meaning future updates to Yosemite don't break the function and require reapplying Trim Enabler, and you no longer need to disable kext signing, since you AREN'T changing IOAHCIBlockStorage. So, it is actually to Cindori's advantage to use the same injection method as Apple, it's safer, the only difference is the method of injection, 1) use Apple's kext, 2) build your own kext to handle the injection.

Of course, Trim Enabler is still the product of choice if you are still using 10.10.3 or earlier. Indeed, the Force Data Set Management = YES" option was already available in 10.10.3 (Apple has been considering this for awhile), but the AppleDataSetManagement.kext injection method was not included in 10.10.3, in this case Oskar's custom kext works fine and is actually preferable to modifying IOAHCIBlockstorage.

People HAVE successfully taken the AppleDataSetManagement.kext file from El Cap, copied it to 10.10.3, and then use another method to tell AppleDataSetManagement.kext to inject the right option into IOAHCIBlockStorage (sudo trimforce enable is not implemented in 1010.3) However, that other method does modify the file, so if you are using 10.10.3, using Trim Enabler's custom kext to do the injection is probably a better choice.

For the record, Trim Enabler is still a great product, even for 10.10.4 and later, it provides other features beyond just enabling TRIM (SMART status, etc), and Disk Sensei offers other features as well, so I am NOT trying to dissuade people from buying the product. BUT if you are ONLY interested in enabling TRIM and nothing else, on OSX 10.10.4 or later, using Apple's new built in method or Trim Enabler are effectively identical.

For those wondering why I don't include any links to substantiate, I am doing so on purpose, because again, this post is not about trying to bash Trim Enabler, I still use the product on all my pre 10.10.3 systems. But there has always been too much FUD about the whole TRIM thing, and misinformation about using 'sudo trimforce enable'. Google search is there, if you're interested.
Like (1)
Libertyforall1776
Libertyforall1776
06 July 2015
Depending on which SSD you have, there could be a "safety" concern -- mostly with older SSDs to enable TRIM at all. In fact at the link you provided, there is no substantiating of the safety concern with any specific SSD make/models.


Nah, they should probably read the help, which they will learn about first via the usage response! :)

[server:~] user% sudo trimforce
Password:
Usage: trimforce enable
trimforce disable
trim force help


Now, if Apple would only integrate the changes by Continuity Activation Tool, we would be golden! ;)
Like
Cindori
Cindori
06 July 2015
When I say Trim Enabler is safer than trimforce, I am referring to the fact that Trim Enabler stays 100% outside of the /System directory, while trimforce does not.

When I say Trim Enabler is easier than trimforce, I am referring to the fact that it is a easy-to-use and informative GUI application that does not require terminal work.

Both methods will enable Trim in OS X for 3rd party drives on 10.10.4 and above, but using Trim Enabler will also work on 10.10.3, and on El Capitan DP1 without disabling system security. This, together with the benefit of being an GUI app, is why I consider Trim Enabler a better option.
Like (1)
Carl1966
17 June 2015
Good news at last,

https://www.cindori.org/trim-in-os-x-el-capitan/

"In Mac OS X 10.11 El Capitan, Apple has done a full 180 and opened up parts of their driver that allows access to Trim functionality.
This is great news for Mac users around the world that are using 3rd party SSD’s. In Yosemite, we had to deal with lifting a lot of security features in order to benefit from Trim.
With this new driver functionality, we can enable Trim in El Cap (and upcoming Yosemite 10.10.4) without risking the issues with gray boot screen."
Like
Version 3.3
1 answer(s)
Mysticalos
Mysticalos
05 July 2015
Apples version still has some quirks though, reports of internal disks being flagged as external disks if they are 3rd party and trim is enabled with apples method. I did not like this so I'm still going with the patch apples kext to remove check method so My disks stay nice internal disks for now.
Like
grodgers
09 June 2015
I just bought a Samsung SSD 1 TB, 850 EVO for my late 2013 27" iMac, model 14.2. Then I heard it may not be compatible with Yosemite. I called Samsung, they said I need to download Trim Enabler, and it should be fine. He didn't inspire confidence though. Is he right? My SATA is 3.5". Do I need a case or enclosure for my 2.5" SSD? Can both drives coexist? thanks
Like
Version 3.3
Jimw
16 May 2015
Please note that some SSD drives do not support TRIM. It is easy to find out if your SSD drive supports TRIM .Do the following: -Launch "About This Mac" under the Apple menu -Click on "System Report" - After it loads, Click on "SATA/SATA Express" - Click on each of the drives till "Medium Type" in the list says "Solid State". - The line right below this will say "Yes" or "No" to "TRIM SUPPORT" If it says "NO" TRIM will NOT work on your SSD.
Like
Version 3.3
1 answer(s)
Jimw
Jimw
17 May 2015
I was mistaken. It only gives you the state of the SDD - i.e. whether or not TRIM is on or off, NOT if the drive supports it. This was pointed out to me by another MacUpdate user and I have verified it with my own drive.
Like
Might anyone be able to point to link that tells how to totally remove Trim Enabler and restore back to default? In this case, it was version 3.0, which was installed on 10.6.8, where it seems to be unsupported. If this info is on the developers site, I have not been able to find it.
Like
Version 3.3
1 answer(s)
MarcoB001
MarcoB001
11 May 2015
Before you uninstall Trim Enabler, it is a good idea to turn on all items you may have turned off in the Tweaks area.

After you have done it go to the Settings. Look at the bottom of the window, there is a Remove app and helper tools option. Just click Uninstall button and you are good to go.
Like
Markus-Winter
12 December 2014
I have a 500 GB Crucial M4 SSD in my MBP. After updating to Yosemite I disabled Trim Enabler. I don't know if this has anything to do with it but I just had the second time since then that the Microsoft Entourage database containing my mail got corrupted. The first time it happened I rebuild it and it went from 9.5 GB down to 6.6 GB. This time it seems I lost all email since 10th of November. Could NOT having Trim enabled be the cause of this?
Like
Version 3.3
ta-rex7
21 October 2014
Careful - Yosemite has a security feature that can be worked around for Trim to work. However, if you are not careful when playing with the system, you might get the gray screen of death (sort of). I had upgraded from Mountain LIon in my MBP 2.3 (Mid 2012) to Yosemite due to FCPX. But didn't want to mess with Yosemite new security features. Luckily I had Maverick on my Mac Mini (late 2011). Erased the Yosemite-SSD and Carbon Cloned the HD from the MacMini. Rebooted the MBP 2.3 and voila, back in business.
Like (1)
Version 3.3
anonymous-thrush-1121
19 October 2014
ver,3,3 and 3.2.6 not work and crash to OS X Yosemite boot on MacBook Pro(Early 2011) with Intel SSD 530. Trim Enabler 3.3 disable, OS X Yosemite boot OK.
Like
Version 3.3
Liselotte
19 October 2014
This is a good tool for SSD owners. But why does several SSD manufactures (Crucial, Intel, WD, Corsair) discourage to use tools like this? Just take a look a the manufacture forums.
Like
Version 3.3
iguan2001
18 October 2014
Bravo, good job. This soft works fine. The dev makes a good job !
Like
Version 3.3
Donmontalvo
17 October 2014
"Trim Enabler" requires disabling Kext Signing? I don't like the sound of that.
Like (1)
Version 3.2.6
2 answer(s)
Ralphbln
Ralphbln
18 November 2014
Well, Kext Signing did not exist (yes, it did, but wasn't enforced) before Yosemite. So, until a couple of weeks ago, we all lived happily without it. I wouldn't mind disabling it.
Like (1)
Donmontalvo
Donmontalvo
18 November 2014
Point taken, just hard to sell the idea of disabling an Apple security feature on enterprise workstations. I guess it depends on the tech and the company.
Like
Rjmorita
31 July 2014
Well, 3.2.5 still does not work with Yosemite beta. The app launches, at least, but I still cannot reboot after activating Trim. I had to reinstall Yosemite, again. I'm getting a lot of practice reinstalling the OS, though.
Like
Version 3.2.5
Eric•Woehler
31 July 2014
A query to those who know more about TRIM and SSDs than I do: I have a MacBook Air 2012 that came with SSD so I understand (correctly?) that there is no need for 3rd party TRIM as it is enabled with Apple devices? I ask as the System Information does not list TRIM as an option under the Storage tab. I do have an external SanDisk 128GB SSD that I use for Time Machine. I believe (from what I have read here and elsewhere) that I should install TRIM for this external SSD. As with the internal SSD, System Information does not list TRIM as an option under the Storage tab for the external SSD. Am I correct in my understanding? If someone who is more conversantwith TRIM could answer, I would be thankful, and I suspect others would be also. Is there anyway to check Apple support (or otherwise) for TRIM on SSD on MacBook Air? Thanks
Like
Version 3.2.5
3 answer(s)
Gazzmanzx6
Gazzmanzx6
31 July 2014
It will be enabled as it's an Apple supplied drive. So no need for software like this to enable it.
System Information shows TRIM support under SATA/SATA Express and then the drive name. It's not shown under Storage even though it does seem more obvious.
Like (1)
Eric•Woehler
Eric•Woehler
31 July 2014
thanks Gazzmanzx6 - appreciate your help.
Am I correct that I can use TrimEnabler for my external SanDisk?
Like
Gazzmanzx6
Gazzmanzx6
31 July 2014
Sorry can't help with that one. I don't have an external SSD drive.
Like
SoftRAID 4.5.3 https://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/43656/chameleon-ssd-optimizer do enable TRIM on OS X Yosemite PB1.ok!
Like
Version 3.2.4
1 answer(s)
anonymous-thrush-1121
anonymous-thrush-1121
28 July 2014
I tried Yosemite PB1 on MacBook Pro 15in(Early 2011) with Intel SSD 530.
Chameleon SSD and Trim Enabler does not success at TRIM enable.
But SoftRAID 4.5.3 success at TRIM enable.

Sorry, link missed http://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/13224/softraid
Like
Donmontalvo
07 April 2014
If you have SoftRAID, it can enable TRIM on 3rd party SSDs.
Like (3)
Version 3.2.2
2 answer(s)
Xenophon
Xenophon
07 July 2014
Nice pickup. Thanks. Does this apply to non-SoftRAID volumes, though?
Like
Cindori
Cindori
15 July 2014
Support for hardware RAID depends completely on the RAID card/controller. Generally, they don't support Trim.
Like (1)
Abramurkwian
14 February 2014
Version 3.2.1 was unusable on my Mac Pro 2010 with 10.9.2 (immediate crash). The current version does not have this issue anymore and now everything works as expected. Thanks!
Like (1)
Version 3.2.2
Mauromaitan
11 February 2014
hello there.....all good with this little app....but I have an issue with version 3.2.1....the graphics and writings in all screens are upside down.......any suggestions?? cheers
Like
Version 3.2.1
1 answer(s)
Cindori
Cindori
12 February 2014
Hi, this is a bug with the 3.2.1 version and OSX 10.7. Please downgrade to 3.1.3 while I sort this out. 3.1.3 can be downloaded here: http://groths.org/trimenabler/TrimEnabler3.1.3.dmg
Like (1)
Abramurkwian
09 February 2014
V. 3.2.1 crashes on my Mac Pro 2010 (10.9.1) - EXC_BREAKPOINT (SIGTRAP). Surprisingly, the previous version works fine...
Like
Version 3.2.1
1 answer(s)
Cindori
Cindori
12 February 2014
Hi, please create a topic on the support forums (groths.org/forums) where you detail the error and what system you are using.
Like
Brooklyn-Al
09 February 2014
Diarbyrag, Short answer...the preponderance of evidence is that TRIM would improve performance of the SSD, that is, provided, as in your case, you have a thunderbolt connector.
Like (1)
Version 3.2.1
1 answer(s)
Diarbyrag
Diarbyrag
12 February 2014
Hi Brooklyn_Al, will give it a go and thanks for replying cheers, G
Like
Monkeyjunkey
09 February 2014
3.2 had a glitch and 3.2.1 is out which fixes the problem.
Like
Version 3.2
Brooklyn-Al
21 January 2014
Are Trim enablers necessary for the newer SSD's drives? Presently, I have a LaCie 120GB SSD and the LaCie tech support indicated it is not needed.....is that correct?
Like (1)
Version 3.1.3
3 answer(s)
Brooklyn-Al
Brooklyn-Al
06 February 2014
FYI....the issue with a SSD with a USB connector is that the SSD will not be recongized by the Mac and hence no support....see full reponse: If we are talking about P9223 SSD on Mac.. SSD itself supports TRIM. But through USB 3.0 device is not seen as SSD so no TRIM support in USB 3. Through TBT, SSD is recognized by OS, so TRIM may work but Mac OS does NOT support TRIM on EXTERNAL SSD BY DEFAULT. With TRIM enabler Mac OS should manage TRIM on the external SSD. (but remember you "force" the OS to do something "special" that it is not supposed to do ...) Thank you, and please let me know if you have any further concerns. Eddy
Like (1)
Diarbyrag
Diarbyrag
09 February 2014
New to ssd so could someone translate this into plain English please If we are talking about P9223 SSD on Mac.. SSD itself supports TRIM. But through USB 3.0 device is not seen as SSD so no TRIM support in USB 3. Through TBT, SSD is recognized by OS, so TRIM may work but Mac OS does NOT support TRIM on EXTERNAL SSD BY DEFAULT. With TRIM enabler Mac OS should manage TRIM on the external SSD. (but remember you "force" the OS to do something "special" that it is not supposed to do ...) ie. short answer needed > is it required/does it help or is it a waste of time on new macs, I have new MacBook pro late 2013 & LaCie 120GB ssd rugged drive thanks
Like
Diarbyrag
Diarbyrag
09 February 2014
btw SSD is connected via Thunderbolt
Like
Gary30
20 September 2013
As of 9/19/13 links for Trim Enabler 3.1 resulted in a zero byte file download. The download through MacUpdate Desktop was a correct dmg file. I guess if that makes me a shill for MacUpdate, so be it...
Like
Version 3.1
Ratti
08 August 2013
It should be noted that Trimenabler is no longer totally free. For so called advanced features, like SMART status information , you have to pay $10.
Like
Version 3.0
3 answer(s)
Miner
Miner
19 September 2013
True, but these are new features. So what was free still is, for some new 'pro' stuff you have to pay. I actually don't need the 'pro' stuf, yet still payed because it is such a great app to bring out the potential of your SSD!
Like (4)
Ratti
Ratti
20 September 2013
"So what was free still is". Not Quite SMART was also available for free. There is nothing bad to support the developer though.
Like
Miner
Miner
20 September 2013
@Ratti You are right of course. It is just that I have many more apps that look at SMART for me so I did not put value on it, but that is personal indeed. I stand corrected!
Like
Molamola
07 August 2013
Version 3, which is a menu bar applet, misses an obvious interface element to quit the applet when I don't need it any more (cmd-q works when the menu is open). Haven't registered to try the pro features, but basic options seems to work fine.
Like (3)
Version 3.0
6 answer(s)
Sebehk
Sebehk
07 August 2013
Works as advertised, but I'm not liking the iOS 7 GUI. I wish developers stick more with the correct GUI for the correct operating system.
Like (3)
Abbott
Abbott
08 August 2013
I agree. Would much prefer an OS X interface over iOS. Part of the iOSification I really dislike is all the in-app purchase links, which I found very annoying. It's fine for the author to seek payment, but I'd much prefer a single subtle button like "find out about advanced options" button—just ONE button. Or else allow us to just click ONE place, say "not yet" and then have ALL of the add-in options simply be grayed out or vanish altogether. I'm sticking with v2.x, which had a very nice, clean, usable interface.
Like (1)
Dokter-mac
Dokter-mac
08 August 2013
I rather like the new interface via the Menubar (: Also have the pro version and the program works very well! On first launch the program warns me that, in my occasion on a 10.9 Preview, trim is already 'Activated' via Mac OS. I've also performed some tests with both the build in benchmark test and the Blackmagic disk speed test program. I can say for sure that, on my MacBook Air 13-inch Mid 2011 with a 1,8 GHz Intel Core i7, the performance is MUCH higher with Trim Enabler 3.0 activated!!! Sequential Reads reaches a steady 395 Mb/sec with Trim Enabler 3.0 activated. Sequential Write and Rewrite are a steady 255 Mb/sec with Trim Enabler 3.0 activated. Maybe it's because the Mac OS Trim in 10.9 is still in beta/preview, but the results are much lower and very unstable. Sincerely.
Like
anonymous-wombat-32
anonymous-wombat-32
02 October 2013
@Dokter_mac correct me if I'm wrong but isn't trim already enabled on the MacBook Airs with factory SSDs/flash storage? Also, doesn't trim only speed up writes not reads?
Like (1)
Dokter-mac
Dokter-mac
02 October 2013
@macambulance: You're asking very good questions! -Yes, the majority of Macs with an ssd HD installed from within the factory are Trim enabled by default. Only the very early ssd HD's where not enabled. Now if you upgrade your Mac with a ssd HD for a speed bump and you buy one in a store, then you have a big chance that trim is disabled. It's a PC thing... Windows you know ;). -On your second interesting question I have to answer also yes you're right! My test results with the benchmark app proves this also. It has to do something with how the flash memory in ssd HD's works... When you enable Trimming you're force the ordering of the MLC in a ssd to write/read/rewrite in a Page that it only can save in 4k! Even when you're file is 1k. The result of this ordering of the MLC is faster write/rewrite, for obvious reasons (all the MLC's in a Page are 4k). The reading of a trimmed ssd is in some cases also faster because of that. An example is when the ssd HD is almost full. It keeps the read speed constant. I hope that my explanation is somehow understandable for English speaking people :) My language is Dutch and I'm from Belgium you know... And please correct me if I have made a mistake because of that... Sincerely.
Like
anonymous-wombat-32
anonymous-wombat-32
02 October 2013
That's what I thought, which is why it was odd that your 2011 MBA would get such a noticeable read rate increase given that it would already have trim enabled without the need for 3rd party software. My 15" MBP has a Crucial M5 in it, and is definitely faster at saving large files with trim enabled, but I wouldn't expect it to start up any faster (only take 8 seconds as it is) ;)
Like (1)
Mcjf
24 April 2013
Everybody was talking about TrimEnabler so I gave it a try on my Mac mini (10.8.3) with a Samsung 830 (128GB). But it didn't work. Chameleon SSD Optimizer has less buzz going for it but at least it worked (or so it appears).
Like (1)
Version 2.2
1 answer(s)
Timta2
Timta2
05 June 2013
Strange, Trim Enabler works perfectly for me on my Mac Mini (10.8.3) and Samsung 830 (128GB). I just followed the directions from within the app and set it as a login item.
Like (2)
Kevin-D
06 January 2013
the new version Trim Enabler 2.2 Total errors .. 956345xx ....? :/ . Power loss: 9 previous versions works fine for me.. I had OCZ vertex 3..240gb.. snow leopard 10.6.8
Like (3)
Version 2.2
Libertyforall1776
09 December 2012
The app does not work on 10.8.2 with an OWC Mercury 6G SSD. *sigh* :(
Like (3)
Version 2.2
2 answer(s)
Libertyforall1776
Libertyforall1776
31 January 2013
Chameleon SSD Optimizer worked right off the bat, this did not.
Like (3)
MisterE
MisterE
04 March 2013
And it allows you to remove the sleep image file which wastes as much space on your SSD drive as you have in RAM. For example, if you have 8GB of RAM there will be a sleep image file on your SSD boot drive that is 8GB in size. I dumped this app for Chameleon SSD Optimizer and have never looked back
Like
Phillman5
20 September 2012
Does anyone have any guidelines to a threshold on how many errors is acceptable if you go to the S.M.A.R.T. data in Trim Enabler? I just installed Trim Enabler and it shows 162490621. Just seems like a lot. It does say I have over 8000 GB writes and 4000 GB reads and I image that is bit errors, so I have a bit error rate close to 2.5e-6, which seems high.
Like
Version 2.2
4 answer(s)
Phillman5
Phillman5
21 September 2012
What is this total errors number? This morning it showed 0, now it shows 6658364, much less than above after installation and permission repair. Does it get reset on every wake from sleep? Is there more documentation?
Like
Timta2
Timta2
23 September 2012
S.M.A.R.T. data usually never gets reset. Usually only the manufacturer can do this and requires special software. So that's the boolean value of one of the S.M.A.R.T. info lines. What is the particular S.M.A.R.T line you are describing? Are you sure it's an error and not some non-user despicable data (meant for the manufacturer?). I would suggested educating yourself on S.M.A.R.T. Start with the Wikipedia page.
Like
Timta2
Timta2
23 September 2012
Sorry, "decipherable" was somehow changed to "despicable" in this line... "Are you sure it's an error and not some non-user despicable data (meant for the manufacturer?)"
Like
Phillman5
Phillman5
13 October 2012
Timta2, then it seems that Trim Enabler is very misleading. If you click on the SMART icon, TE gives several values, I am looking at the one labeled "Total Errors". This shouldn't be rocket science. If there is more to it, maybe TE shouldn't say anything if it doesn't know how to report the SMART info for the particular drive.
Like
Markus-Steck
28 August 2012
TrimEnabler under Mac OS X 10.8.1 might give problems, there is a french article under Macbidouille.com pointing to that fact also giving a workaround. The english site is of the same is Hardmac.com but it does not yet contain a translation.
Like (1)
Version 2.2
3 answer(s)
Iturtle
Iturtle
28 August 2012
there seems to be a software patch available on Macbidouille.com
Like
Cindori
Cindori
07 September 2012
Hello, this is not an issue for Trim Enabler. It has an intelligent patching system to deal with stuff like this. More at: http://www.groths.org/?p=774
Like (1)
Iturtle
Iturtle
07 September 2012
thanks cindori! I can verify that it works without problems. I removed the macbidouille hack and applied trim enabler 2.2 with 10.8.1. no problems!
Like
ydksinister
31 July 2012
This app has worked perfect for me on Lion and now Mountain Lion. I have a 128 Crucial M4 and I have never had a problem, I have an early 2011 MBP 15" and I changed the 500gb for the SSD. I used this app straightaway because you need TRIM on and it works fine.
Like
Version 2.2
1 answer(s)
Iturtle
Iturtle
28 August 2012
maybe here is an alternative? http://chameleon.alessandroboschini.it
Like
Oger
10 July 2012
The problem I have with it enabled is that Lion crashes when coming out of sleep-mode. Imac 2009 27" with vertex 3 120gb. When I disable Trim all is well again.
Like
Version 2.2
nullmaster
05 July 2012
I'm not going to post a negative rating, since I can't completely attribute my issue to TRIM Enabler. However, I'm going to mention an experience I had about 6 weeks ago: I run DiskWarrior on my hard disks every month or so, and it always finds some minor manner of disk corruption that I tell it to fix. No big deal. Recently, I installed an Intel 320-series SSD into my MacBook Pro, and used TRIM Enabler with pretty good success. I ran DiskWarrior on the machine, and it came up with a HUGE laundry list of problems, the likes I've not seen in quite a long time and never on one of my own machines. After telling DW to fix the problems, my entire SSD was pretty much blown up and there was one folder with random junk on it after it finished. Luckily, I was using Time Machine (as my manual backups were 6+ months old) because I'd have lost a ton of data. The loss would have certainly been my fault, as backing up is the USER'S responsibility. The only two differences between my previous use cases were the fact I was running an SSD and that I was using TRIM Enabler. I've not heard of DiskWarrior having issues with SSDs before, so the only conclusion I can come to is TRIM Enabler somehow being related to the misallocation of directory data. Since I stopped using TRIM Enabler, none of my subsequent DW runs have resulted in the same type of issue using this SSD. I might try again once Mountain Lion is released and, presumably, TRIM Enabler is updated for it. Until then, I am personally steering clear.
Like (1)
Version 2.2
Shk747
05 July 2012
works with 10.7.5 12A256, but after running trim enabl. don't forget to repair permissions ..
Like
Version 2.2
1 answer(s)
Shk747
Shk747
06 July 2012
sorry, 11G15 (10.7.5)
Like
MacUpdate-Ryan
29 May 2012
Works well and as expected. Significantly increased the speed of my SSD. However, the patch does seem to become disabled when doing a major system update (i.e. 10.7.3 -> 10.7.4) and I only noticed it after a couple of days of my system running really slow. It'd be nice if it could continuously monitor the status of the patch. Also, if you try and run it from the DMG you'll have issues, make sure you move it to your drive first.
Like (1)
Version 2.1
bgusto
10 May 2012
LION USERS: DO NOT USE. This crashed my entire SSD and I lost EVERYTHING. Dev has no idea what the heck he's doing. Read more about why you SHOULDN'T use this: http://digitaldj.net/2011/07/21/trim-enabler-for-lion/
Like (1)
Version 2.1
1 answer(s)
Viswiz
Viswiz
11 May 2012
Have you even read the linked article? Trim Enabler 1.2 and lower was not compatible with Lion. All newer versions work fine with Lion. The mentioned replacement of a kernel component was replaced by a much more reliable method long time ago.
Like (6)
Lylehm
09 February 2012
http://groths.org/trimenabler/TrimEnabler.dmg Corrected download link.
Like (1)
Version 2.0
Mcleod-68
22 November 2011
Try this easy, free and reversible http://gdgt.com/question/in-os-x-lion-how-do-you-enable-trim-support-for-ssds-f16/
Like
Version 2.0
1 answer(s)
Lvdoc
Lvdoc
05 March 2012
That same article led to another article: http://digitaldj.net/2011/07/21/trim-enabler-for-lion/ And that led to a link to an Applescript that executes all of the necessary Terminal commands to enable the Trim function: http://www.mac-tv.de/Forum/attachment.php?attachmentid=5470&d=1312024613 I've tried it, and it works just fine. Thanks for pointing me in that direction.
Like
Macs007
20 November 2011
Is this app save to use? I mean, I don't want to mess up my SSD (dataloss). Any working references?
Like
Version 2.0
1 answer(s)
inplainview
inplainview
20 November 2011
As I posted there is a massive thread about this app over on Macrumors. Use the search. Some had issues with this app, others didn't. If TRIM does not come with your device, I would think twice about enabling a hack that not supported by 10.7.
Like
Macbond
20 November 2011
MacPro 1.1 / 10.7.2 / INTEL SSDSA2M160G2GC Starts and hangs, does not meet …
Like
Version 2.0
1 answer(s)
marcus27
marcus27
20 November 2011
I have the same problem, Starts and hangs. Mac pro 2010 OCZ-VERTEX2 & CORSAIR CMFSSD
Like