Back to Trim Enabler page
Trim Enabler free download for Mac

Trim Enabler Reviews4.3.6

04 January 2021

Improve solid-state drive performance.

How would you rate Trim Enabler?
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
Michael-Vilain
Michael-Vilain
Jan 4 2021
4.3.6
1.0
Jan 4 2021
1.0
Version: 4.3.6
Steer clear of this company, especially for something as key as a disk utility. Their Zendesk customer support site was disabled and they never responded to my report that their app was flagging that it was out of date when it wasn't.
jhindman9
jhindman9
Aug 12 2020
4.3.4
4.0
Aug 12 2020
4.0
Version: 4.3.4
I've have had this App and used this before on an ssd and nowon this one and am able to track the health of this one also.
Hanspoot
Hanspoot
Jan 5 2020
4.3
0.0
Jan 5 2020
0.0
Version: 4.3
Use Terminal command for free TRIM: sudo trimforce enable Type password, type y (twice) and wait for restart.
Lesoth0
Lesoth0
May 21 2019
4.2
5.0
May 21 2019
5.0
Version: 4.2
Works really well in Mojave (to 10.14.5 thus far).. Have it on multiple upgraded 5690 MacPro 5.1's with Samsung SSDs as Boots and Storage.
DragonMaster
DragonMaster
Feb 24 2018
4.1.2
5.0
Feb 24 2018
5.0
Version: 4.1.2
This is a MUST have if you want to have SMART on all of your drives! Recognized by DriveGenius and others.
birou
birou
Oct 1 2017
4.1
0.5
Oct 1 2017
0.5
Version: 4.1
Beware! Trim Enabler 3 is not working with High Sierra and Cindori asked me to pay extra to upgrade to 4 so that I could use it on 10.13. Thus beware before investing in apps that are not future proof (as a matter of fact Condori are one of the few - if none - developer I know who asks for money after purchasing their product so that it works on macos upgrades!!). Buying this product will most probably draw as well some more money from your pocket sometime in the future. Not to mention that you can enable trim in the terminal with one line of code...
Shk747
Shk747
Aug 29 2017
4.0.5
4.5
Aug 29 2017
4.5
Version: 4.0.5
google how to enable trim on macs, apple's own site shows what to do ;-)
JacobsG
JacobsG
Oct 15 2016
3.6
0.0
Oct 15 2016
0.0
Version: 3.6
Not sure anyone would still need this. macOS enables this for all SSD support trimming.
rardin
rardin
Oct 15 2016
3.6
0.0
Oct 15 2016
0.0
Version: 3.6
There is an issue with version 3.6 that causes the Trim Enabler pane not to appear when the program is started on at least some systems (reported so far for systems running 10.7.5 and 10.8.5). The developer is working on resolving the problem.
BenjaminW
BenjaminW
Jul 12 2016
3.5.1
0.0
Jul 12 2016
0.0
Version: 3.5.1
Not sure but doesn't OSX10.11 enable trimming for support for all SSD even if it is not an official SSd from Apple?
TCalhau
TCalhau
Feb 25 2016
3.4.3
4.5
Feb 25 2016
4.5
Version: 3.4.3
Exceptional program! Worth every penny! Thanks to the developer! =D
Coolapic
Coolapic
Dec 9 2015
3.4.2
4.0
Dec 9 2015
4.0
Version: 3.4.2
Trim Enabler is no longer working (at least for me) under 10.9.5 since I instaled the latest security update (2015-008 released today december 9 - 2015). Looks like the patch isnt sticking anymore, despite turning it ON and reboted numerous times. Hope there will be a fix soon. Otherwise it's a great software that I purchased long time ago !
Guest
Guest
Oct 23 2015
3.4.2
0.0
Oct 23 2015
0.0
Version: 3.4.2
Good stuff, have used it for years (payed version) but thanks to Apple - no longer needed
Mcr
Mcr
Jul 6 2015
3.4
0.0
Jul 6 2015
0.0
Version: 3.4
IF YOU OWN A SAMSUNG EVO OR EVO PRO, 840 OR 850, be sure to install the latest firmware before turning on TRIM support
http://www.samsung.com/global/business/semiconductor/minisite/SSD/global/html/support/downloads.html

There is a lot of confusion about the multiple issues with the Samsung and the need for firmware update. Some users are insisting the problem is only with Linux, and you don't need a firmware update. Not true, there are actually TWO critical issues discovered so far with the EVO drives, one Linux related, the other NOT.

One problem, related to the drives having an incorrect bit set that tells the OS what type of NCQ queing command it supports. The incorrect bit says that EVO supports beyond normal sequential queued TRIM commands (it does not) and then Linux attempts to implement (which does support more than sequential) and runs in to problems.

Windows and OS X ignore this bit because as of now, they only support 'normal' sequential TRIM, so is unaffected BY THIS ONE PARTICULAR PROBLEM.

HOWEVER, there is ANOTHER issue with Samsung EVO related to reading data that is 'old' (not been accessed for a long time) where the charge may degrade, requiring multiple attempts to read the data. This problem is not OS specific and deals with the actual physical nature of the drive itself. The latest firmware from April 15, 2015 fixes this by periodically 'refreshing' in the background all the data on the drive to keep the charge strong, even data that isn't accessed. This problem affects the drive regardless of OS, so highly recommended you update the firmware. Read more about this SEPARATE PROBLEM UNRELATED TO THE LINUX PROBLEM HERE:
http://www.extremetech.com/gaming/203449-new-samsung-840-evo-firmware-will-add-periodic-refresh-capability

Firmware update is provided as an ISO bootable CD image that will boot Macs or Windows PC., using a Linux micro kernel, that locates and updates the drive. I've updated without issues.

As for all the conspiracy theories about why Apple did not enable trim support for non Apple branded SSDs, until now, this is a perfect example. Apple no doubt tested all kinds of brands and manufacturers when deciding who to use in their own machines, and likely found that many had bugs in their implementation TRIM. This has been confirmed now in early drives using Sandforce controllers in which live data could be incorrectly marked and deleted by using TRIM. Apple did not want people turning on TRIM with other drives, and then be accused of data loss or issues which were outside of their control, and be BLAMED for it, as people would automatically assume based on their experience with rotational drives that 'it can't be the drive, it must be Apple'. BAM ! Class action suit. So after testing and finding out the brands they would NOT use in their machines, Apple decided the safe approach was only enable TRIM on the drives that passed their testing. Publicly, Apple would never issue a list of BAD drives; that's not their responsibility, and they have complex relationships with component manufacturers they have to protect. Company X may have a bad SSD that Apple won't use, but it still buys memory chips from X, for example.

To that point (that some SSDs brands are not fault free or were not early on) here it is mid 2015 and even a brand as popular as Samsung EVO, we're still discovering issues. If you have an older drive with a Sandforce controller, you may want to consider upgrading too. Note that OWC which sells SSDs using Sandforce controllers, from day one tried to convince everyone their drives didn't need TRIM (bogus)....well now we kind of know why they were saying that. Amazing how their marketing turned what was a undisclosed bug into a reason to buy the product.
Libertyforall1776
Libertyforall1776
Jul 5 2015
3.4
0.0
Jul 5 2015
0.0
Version: 3.4
To enable TRIM on 10.10.4 and above, simply type sudo trimforce at the UNIX command prompt! You don't need a TRIM application any longer...
Carl1966
Carl1966
Jun 17 2015
3.3
0.0
Jun 17 2015
0.0
Version: 3.3
Good news at last,

https://www.cindori.org/trim-in-os-x-el-capitan/

"In Mac OS X 10.11 El Capitan, Apple has done a full 180 and opened up parts of their driver that allows access to Trim functionality.
This is great news for Mac users around the world that are using 3rd party SSD’s. In Yosemite, we had to deal with lifting a lot of security features in order to benefit from Trim.
With this new driver functionality, we can enable Trim in El Cap (and upcoming Yosemite 10.10.4) without risking the issues with gray boot screen."
grodgers
grodgers
Jun 9 2015
3.3
0.0
Jun 9 2015
0.0
Version: 3.3
I just bought a Samsung SSD 1 TB, 850 EVO for my late 2013 27" iMac, model 14.2. Then I heard it may not be compatible with Yosemite. I called Samsung, they said I need to download Trim Enabler, and it should be fine. He didn't inspire confidence though. Is he right? My SATA is 3.5". Do I need a case or enclosure for my 2.5" SSD? Can both drives coexist? thanks
James
James
May 16 2015
3.3
0.0
May 16 2015
0.0
Version: 3.3
Please note that some SSD drives do not support TRIM. It is easy to find out if your SSD drive supports TRIM .Do the following: -Launch "About This Mac" under the Apple menu -Click on "System Report" - After it loads, Click on "SATA/SATA Express" - Click on each of the drives till "Medium Type" in the list says "Solid State". - The line right below this will say "Yes" or "No" to "TRIM SUPPORT" If it says "NO" TRIM will NOT work on your SSD.
Thinking-Differently
Thinking-Differently
Mar 6 2015
3.3
0.0
Mar 6 2015
0.0
Version: 3.3
Might anyone be able to point to link that tells how to totally remove Trim Enabler and restore back to default? In this case, it was version 3.0, which was installed on 10.6.8, where it seems to be unsupported. If this info is on the developers site, I have not been able to find it.
Markus-Winter
Markus-Winter
Dec 12 2014
3.3
0.0
Dec 12 2014
0.0
Version: 3.3
I have a 500 GB Crucial M4 SSD in my MBP. After updating to Yosemite I disabled Trim Enabler. I don't know if this has anything to do with it but I just had the second time since then that the Microsoft Entourage database containing my mail got corrupted. The first time it happened I rebuild it and it went from 9.5 GB down to 6.6 GB. This time it seems I lost all email since 10th of November. Could NOT having Trim enabled be the cause of this?
ta-rex7
ta-rex7
Oct 21 2014
3.3
3.0
Oct 21 2014
3.0
Version: 3.3
Careful - Yosemite has a security feature that can be worked around for Trim to work. However, if you are not careful when playing with the system, you might get the gray screen of death (sort of). I had upgraded from Mountain LIon in my MBP 2.3 (Mid 2012) to Yosemite due to FCPX. But didn't want to mess with Yosemite new security features. Luckily I had Maverick on my Mac Mini (late 2011). Erased the Yosemite-SSD and Carbon Cloned the HD from the MacMini. Rebooted the MBP 2.3 and voila, back in business.
anonymous-thrush-1121
anonymous-thrush-1121
Oct 19 2014
3.3
0.5
Oct 19 2014
0.5
Version: 3.3
ver,3,3 and 3.2.6 not work and crash to OS X Yosemite boot on MacBook Pro(Early 2011) with Intel SSD 530. Trim Enabler 3.3 disable, OS X Yosemite boot OK.
Liselotte
Liselotte
Oct 19 2014
3.3
4.0
Oct 19 2014
4.0
Version: 3.3
This is a good tool for SSD owners. But why does several SSD manufactures (Crucial, Intel, WD, Corsair) discourage to use tools like this? Just take a look a the manufacture forums.
iguan2001
iguan2001
Oct 18 2014
3.3
5.0
Oct 18 2014
5.0
Version: 3.3
Bravo, good job. This soft works fine. The dev makes a good job !
Donmontalvo
Donmontalvo
Oct 17 2014
3.2.6
0.0
Oct 17 2014
0.0
Version: 3.2.6
"Trim Enabler" requires disabling Kext Signing? I don't like the sound of that.
Rjmorita
Rjmorita
Jul 31 2014
3.2.5
0.0
Jul 31 2014
0.0
Version: 3.2.5
Well, 3.2.5 still does not work with Yosemite beta. The app launches, at least, but I still cannot reboot after activating Trim. I had to reinstall Yosemite, again. I'm getting a lot of practice reinstalling the OS, though.
Eric•Woehler
Eric•Woehler
Jul 31 2014
3.2.5
0.0
Jul 31 2014
0.0
Version: 3.2.5
A query to those who know more about TRIM and SSDs than I do: I have a MacBook Air 2012 that came with SSD so I understand (correctly?) that there is no need for 3rd party TRIM as it is enabled with Apple devices? I ask as the System Information does not list TRIM as an option under the Storage tab. I do have an external SanDisk 128GB SSD that I use for Time Machine. I believe (from what I have read here and elsewhere) that I should install TRIM for this external SSD. As with the internal SSD, System Information does not list TRIM as an option under the Storage tab for the external SSD. Am I correct in my understanding? If someone who is more conversantwith TRIM could answer, I would be thankful, and I suspect others would be also. Is there anyway to check Apple support (or otherwise) for TRIM on SSD on MacBook Air? Thanks
anonymous-thrush-1121
anonymous-thrush-1121
Jul 27 2014
3.2.4
0.5
Jul 27 2014
0.5
Version: 3.2.4
SoftRAID 4.5.3 https://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/43656/chameleon-ssd-optimizer do enable TRIM on OS X Yosemite PB1.ok!
Donmontalvo
Donmontalvo
Apr 7 2014
3.2.2
0.0
Apr 7 2014
0.0
Version: 3.2.2
If you have SoftRAID, it can enable TRIM on 3rd party SSDs.
Abramurkwian
Abramurkwian
Feb 14 2014
3.2.2
0.0
Feb 14 2014
0.0
Version: 3.2.2
Version 3.2.1 was unusable on my Mac Pro 2010 with 10.9.2 (immediate crash). The current version does not have this issue anymore and now everything works as expected. Thanks!
Mauromaitan
Mauromaitan
Feb 11 2014
3.2.1
5.0
Feb 11 2014
5.0
Version: 3.2.1
hello there.....all good with this little app....but I have an issue with version 3.2.1....the graphics and writings in all screens are upside down.......any suggestions?? cheers
Abramurkwian
Abramurkwian
Feb 9 2014
3.2.1
0.0
Feb 9 2014
0.0
Version: 3.2.1
V. 3.2.1 crashes on my Mac Pro 2010 (10.9.1) - EXC_BREAKPOINT (SIGTRAP). Surprisingly, the previous version works fine...
Brooklyn-Al
Brooklyn-Al
Feb 9 2014
3.2.1
0.0
Feb 9 2014
0.0
Version: 3.2.1
Diarbyrag, Short answer...the preponderance of evidence is that TRIM would improve performance of the SSD, that is, provided, as in your case, you have a thunderbolt connector.
Monkeyjunkey
Monkeyjunkey
Feb 9 2014
3.2
0.0
Feb 9 2014
0.0
Version: 3.2
3.2 had a glitch and 3.2.1 is out which fixes the problem.
Brooklyn-Al
Brooklyn-Al
Jan 21 2014
3.1.3
0.0
Jan 21 2014
0.0
Version: 3.1.3
Are Trim enablers necessary for the newer SSD's drives? Presently, I have a LaCie 120GB SSD and the LaCie tech support indicated it is not needed.....is that correct?
Gary30
Gary30
Sep 20 2013
3.1
0.0
Sep 20 2013
0.0
Version: 3.1
As of 9/19/13 links for Trim Enabler 3.1 resulted in a zero byte file download. The download through MacUpdate Desktop was a correct dmg file. I guess if that makes me a shill for MacUpdate, so be it...
Ratti
Ratti
Aug 8 2013
3.0
0.0
Aug 8 2013
0.0
Version: 3.0
It should be noted that Trimenabler is no longer totally free. For so called advanced features, like SMART status information , you have to pay $10.
Molamola
Molamola
Aug 7 2013
3.0
4.0
Aug 7 2013
4.0
Version: 3.0
Version 3, which is a menu bar applet, misses an obvious interface element to quit the applet when I don't need it any more (cmd-q works when the menu is open). Haven't registered to try the pro features, but basic options seems to work fine.
Mcjf
Mcjf
Apr 24 2013
2.2
1.0
Apr 24 2013
1.0
Version: 2.2
Everybody was talking about TrimEnabler so I gave it a try on my Mac mini (10.8.3) with a Samsung 830 (128GB). But it didn't work. Chameleon SSD Optimizer has less buzz going for it but at least it worked (or so it appears).
Kevin-D
Kevin-D
Jan 6 2013
2.2
1.5
Jan 6 2013
1.5
Version: 2.2
the new version Trim Enabler 2.2 Total errors .. 956345xx ....? :/ . Power loss: 9 previous versions works fine for me.. I had OCZ vertex 3..240gb.. snow leopard 10.6.8
Libertyforall1776
Libertyforall1776
Dec 9 2012
2.2
0.0
Dec 9 2012
0.0
Version: 2.2
The app does not work on 10.8.2 with an OWC Mercury 6G SSD. *sigh* :(
Phillman5
Phillman5
Sep 20 2012
2.2
0.0
Sep 20 2012
0.0
Version: 2.2
Does anyone have any guidelines to a threshold on how many errors is acceptable if you go to the S.M.A.R.T. data in Trim Enabler? I just installed Trim Enabler and it shows 162490621. Just seems like a lot. It does say I have over 8000 GB writes and 4000 GB reads and I image that is bit errors, so I have a bit error rate close to 2.5e-6, which seems high.
Markus-Steck
Markus-Steck
Aug 28 2012
2.2
3.5
Aug 28 2012
3.5
Version: 2.2
TrimEnabler under Mac OS X 10.8.1 might give problems, there is a french article under Macbidouille.com pointing to that fact also giving a workaround. The english site is of the same is Hardmac.com but it does not yet contain a translation.
ydksinister
ydksinister
Jul 31 2012
2.2
5.0
Jul 31 2012
5.0
Version: 2.2
This app has worked perfect for me on Lion and now Mountain Lion. I have a 128 Crucial M4 and I have never had a problem, I have an early 2011 MBP 15" and I changed the 500gb for the SSD. I used this app straightaway because you need TRIM on and it works fine.
Oger
Oger
Jul 10 2012
2.2
2.5
Jul 10 2012
2.5
Version: 2.2
The problem I have with it enabled is that Lion crashes when coming out of sleep-mode. Imac 2009 27" with vertex 3 120gb. When I disable Trim all is well again.
nullmaster
nullmaster
Jul 5 2012
2.2
0.0
Jul 5 2012
0.0
Version: 2.2
I'm not going to post a negative rating, since I can't completely attribute my issue to TRIM Enabler. However, I'm going to mention an experience I had about 6 weeks ago: I run DiskWarrior on my hard disks every month or so, and it always finds some minor manner of disk corruption that I tell it to fix. No big deal. Recently, I installed an Intel 320-series SSD into my MacBook Pro, and used TRIM Enabler with pretty good success. I ran DiskWarrior on the machine, and it came up with a HUGE laundry list of problems, the likes I've not seen in quite a long time and never on one of my own machines. After telling DW to fix the problems, my entire SSD was pretty much blown up and there was one folder with random junk on it after it finished. Luckily, I was using Time Machine (as my manual backups were 6+ months old) because I'd have lost a ton of data. The loss would have certainly been my fault, as backing up is the USER'S responsibility. The only two differences between my previous use cases were the fact I was running an SSD and that I was using TRIM Enabler. I've not heard of DiskWarrior having issues with SSDs before, so the only conclusion I can come to is TRIM Enabler somehow being related to the misallocation of directory data. Since I stopped using TRIM Enabler, none of my subsequent DW runs have resulted in the same type of issue using this SSD. I might try again once Mountain Lion is released and, presumably, TRIM Enabler is updated for it. Until then, I am personally steering clear.
Shk747
Shk747
Jul 5 2012
2.2
4.5
Jul 5 2012
4.5
Version: 2.2
works with 10.7.5 12A256, but after running trim enabl. don't forget to repair permissions ..
MacUpdate-Ryan
MacUpdate-Ryan
May 29 2012
2.1
4.0
May 29 2012
4.0
Version: 2.1
Works well and as expected. Significantly increased the speed of my SSD. However, the patch does seem to become disabled when doing a major system update (i.e. 10.7.3 -> 10.7.4) and I only noticed it after a couple of days of my system running really slow. It'd be nice if it could continuously monitor the status of the patch. Also, if you try and run it from the DMG you'll have issues, make sure you move it to your drive first.
bgusto
bgusto
May 10 2012
2.1
0.5
May 10 2012
0.5
Version: 2.1
LION USERS: DO NOT USE. This crashed my entire SSD and I lost EVERYTHING. Dev has no idea what the heck he's doing. Read more about why you SHOULDN'T use this: http://digitaldj.net/2011/07/21/trim-enabler-for-lion/
Lylehm
Lylehm
Feb 9 2012
2.0
0.0
Feb 9 2012
0.0
Version: 2.0
http://groths.org/trimenabler/TrimEnabler.dmg Corrected download link.