Back to Captur page
Captur free download for Mac

Captur Reviews

3.2
10 October 2016

OS X interface for screen-capture command.

Agusman-Haryadi
25 March 2011

Most helpful

because it's simple...
Like (4)
Version 1.0

Read 17 Captur User Reviews

Rate this app:

Big Johnson
11 February 2017
Works, but has some bugs:

If you press Esc to cancel a capture, that should be the end of it.
Not so with this app.

After pressing Esc, the "Save to" window appears.
Then you must press the Discard button and you’re asked to confirm.
But when you press OK, you’re told it’s "unable to delete" because "the file doesn’t exist"

Of course it doesn’t exist, it was CANCELLED!

Like
Version 3.2
1 answer(s)
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
11 February 2017
Forgot to mention that CapturHelper is f’d up.
Applications/Captur.app/Contents/Library/LoginItems/CapturHelper.app

The icon has a circle/slash on it and Console throws these messages every 10 seconds:
com.apple.xpc.launchd[1] (com.haerulrijal.CapturHelper) Could not find and/or execute program specified by service: 45: Operation not supported: com.haerulrijal.CapturHelper

I downloaded directly from dev’s site and it has the same problem.
Like
Andy49
26 September 2016
Does not work on Mac OS Sierra.
Like
Version 3.1
1 answer(s)
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
11 February 2017
Version 3.2 should (I haven’t tested it on Sierra).
Like
ErvinsStrauhmanis
25 April 2016
Many thanks to the Dev for this little gem! Whenever I need to take a screenshot—I use Captur. It's simple, stylish, fast, free—all I need from a screenshot app.
Like
Version 3.0
Drdul
02 June 2012
Captur is a simple screenshot app and nothing more. No fancy annotation tools, no automatic uploading to the cloud. All it does is sit in the menubar and take screenshots, which is all I wanted for my wife, who doesn't take enough screenshots to remember the keyboard shortcuts.
Like (1)
Version 2.3
Lupulus
09 December 2011
I'm a Designer and printer, not a geek. I like things that work when you ask/need them to with no feats of memory; this appears to do this. Having no keystroke to wiggle my fingers round is a personal bonus. I'm suffering from shrinking tendons in my fingers, and Shift/Cmd/4 is getting to be a bit of a struggle. It's nice having a visual cue for what sort of capture you want to do, as well, and otherwise IT JUST WORKS. How nice.
Like
Version 2.3b
Pengman
08 November 2011
VERY good, easy to use. Definitely a keeper. Much more versatile than a simple screenshot.
Like
Version 2.3b
Zerroeffect
29 July 2011
I'd love to check this software out as I think it adds a little to the default screen capture kb shortcuts, but the dl link doesn't work. Please fix.
Like
Version 2.3b
Neploleppard
29 July 2011
I suppose this is "slightly" easier than just using the built in grabber that can be easily activated with a key command. Just a wee bit easier. Dear Macupdate: You missed this one, too.
Like
Version 2.3b
hous
29 July 2011
if correct memory hungry feature, captur would be one of the best freeware in the mac-world now it uses 3-4 thread and eat 18-20 Mb memory without take any action anyway thanks the developer for his work.
Like
Version 2.3b
Foyan
29 July 2011
Great app ! Works like a charm and rocks.
Like
Version 2.3b
novalue
05 April 2011
free competitor for little snapper
Like
Version 1.3.2
mark-strahl
03 April 2011
There are people who can easily remember shortcuts, passwords and foreign names. I'm not one of those and I love this app!
Like (1)
Version 1.3.2
Maximas
30 March 2011
Simple and usable.
Like (1)
Version 1.2
Sebnix
30 March 2011
Grab.app do the job as well
Like (3)
Version 1.2
Trance
29 March 2011
hey, it's free, simple, and very useful, what more do u want?
Like (3)
Version 1.1
1 answer(s)
Mattstanford
Mattstanford
30 March 2011
Agreed. And so's Skitch.
Like (1)
iGMX
29 March 2011
It would be easier to just memorize the default shortcuts for OS X screen capture functions. http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=61544 It's easy. :)
Like (4)
Version 1.1
3 answer(s)
Trance
Trance
29 March 2011
it would also be useful to memorize the hieroglyphics, just in case apple ever decides to include them as commands for something ...there's never enough things that we can add to our limited memory, the more the better
Like (6)
Stickman67
Stickman67
29 March 2011
Many of the little free apps available here fulfil functions that might otherwise be possible through keyboard shortcuts, the Terminal, Automator, and so on. But you need the time, the know-how and the desire to learn and implement these things and not everyone has or even needs to spend time learning every little wrinkle about what their Mac can do. If a developer makes the effort to create a piece of software like this, then makes it available at no cost, then so be it. Maybe giving a product a half-star review because you can do something another way isn't quite fair? ;-)
Like (10)
PieterOpie
PieterOpie
29 March 2011
SOURPUSS.....
Like (5)
Agusman-Haryadi
25 March 2011
because it's simple...
Like (4)
Version 1.0
1 answer(s)
cottinghamk
cottinghamk
25 March 2011
I bet cmd-shift-4 is simpler.
Like (4)